View Full Version : Hibs Reserves v Brentford Reserves (Wednesday)

02-10-2019, 09:56 AM
This afternoon at ER, 2pm KO
Noticed Brentford have a couple of 1st team players in their squad, wonder if we will do similar
A few of our 1st team squad players not had much game time of late!

Brentford beat Aberdeen 3-1 at the weekend, so this will be a tough game for Hibs
Looking forward to it

02-10-2019, 09:59 AM
Noticed Brentford have a couple of 1st team players in their squad, wonder if we will do similar

Brentford beat Aberdeen 3-1 at the weekend, so this will be a tough game for Hibs
Looking forward to it

Is this a closed doors game?

02-10-2019, 10:00 AM
Is this a closed doors game?

At Easter Road and £8 entry fee

02-10-2019, 10:06 AM
At Easter Road and £8 entry fee

Is that not a ridiculous price for a reserve game?

c31
02-10-2019, 10:11 AM
Is that not a ridiculous price for a reserve game?

Its just a friendly as well - who ever pitched this joke price should be made to explain why!!

02-10-2019, 10:19 AM
Its just a friendly as well - who ever pitched this joke price should be made to explain why!!

As its at Easter Road maybe there are running costs involved.

02-10-2019, 11:42 AM

It’s not a friendly, it is part of the reserve competition we are in

02-10-2019, 11:44 AM

Theyve played games at ER before and not charged £8.

02-10-2019, 12:03 PM

It's being played at 2pm on a Wednesday afternoon.
The potential crowd is pensioners, students and the unemployed.
Madness to pitch it at £8 entry and to expect a crowd from the above groups.

02-10-2019, 12:10 PM

So they attempt to fleece their own fans to pay for it. Shocking price to charge for an reserve friendly.

02-10-2019, 12:14 PM
Dear all, this is a thread about the game
If you want to have a moan about the pricing, please take it elsewhere

02-10-2019, 12:16 PM

Marciano Shaw Murray and Newell starting

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC

Bobby Moore
02-10-2019, 12:17 PM
The potential crowd is pensioners, students and the unemployed.

Agree with this 100% :agree:

02-10-2019, 12:17 PM
So they attempt to fleece their own fans to pay for it. Shocking price to charge for an reserve friendly.

Grand scheme of things people choose to go or not. Would hardly be making much out of it to be called fleecing anybody.

02-10-2019, 12:18 PM
Grand scheme of things people choose to go or not. Would hardly be making much out of it to be called fleecing anybody.

02-10-2019, 12:19 PM

You wouldn't go anyway so not sure why you would bother. They could pay fans to go and you woukd find something to complain about

02-10-2019, 12:19 PM
Marciano Shaw Murray and Newell starting

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC

Ta
Wonder who’s playing left back, or is it 352

02-10-2019, 12:20 PM

Well said. Very strong team today - if i wasn't working id head along.

02-10-2019, 12:21 PM
Ta

Can young Doig play left back? Sure he came on and played left back in the Dunfermline friendly?

02-10-2019, 12:22 PM
Sould be a comfortable win with that team

02-10-2019, 12:25 PM
Ta

Would be surprised if the first team don't play 3 at the back we would play that way in reserve games.

Block Sadicki Stirling Doig back 4? :dunno:

02-10-2019, 12:27 PM
Sould be a comfortable win with that team

Brentford have a strong youth set up. They pick up a lot of the players who don't make it from the bigger London clubs.

02-10-2019, 12:30 PM
Brentford have a strong youth set up. They pick up a lot of the players who don't make it from the bigger London clubs.

Yep - im expecting Brentford to win. Is Kano playing?

02-10-2019, 12:35 PM

No idea, I am sitting in an office working. :greengrin

02-10-2019, 12:38 PM
The potential crowd is pensioners, students and the unemployed.[/B]

£4 for concessions.

02-10-2019, 12:44 PM

He’s in the squad but don’t know if he is starting

02-10-2019, 12:44 PM
Doig has played LB before, I imagine he’s slotting in there again today

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

02-10-2019, 12:45 PM
TEAM NEWS: Here's how #BrentfordB start today's match with
@HibernianFC
: Shepperd, Roerslev, Oksanen, Zamburek, Tue Jensen, Brissett, Mogenson, O'Connor, Yearwood, Tsaroulla, Bech Sorensen.

02-10-2019, 12:47 PM
@HibernianFC
: Shepperd, Roerslev, Oksanen, Zamburek, Tue Jensen, Brissett, Mogenson, O'Connor, Yearwood, Tsaroulla, Bech Sorensen..

02-10-2019, 12:52 PM
@HibernianFC
: Shepperd, Roerslev, Oksanen, Zamburek, Tue Jensen, Brissett, Mogenson, O'Connor, Yearwood, Tsaroulla, Bech Sorensen.

Seem to have quite a significant contingent of young Danish players plus other from other countries. Mogenson scored 2 and Jensen 1 when they beat Aberdeen.

02-10-2019, 12:54 PM
Seem to have quite a significant contingent of young Danish players plus other from other countries. Mogenson scored 2 and Jensen 1 when they beat Aberdeen.

I’m sure Jensen is a 1st team player for them

02-10-2019, 12:56 PM
I’m sure Jensen is a 1st team player for them

Think there is two of them. Mats Jensen is the first team player who they signed from Celta vigo for 3.5m. But another called Tue Jensen who is a reserve player.

hibbytam
02-10-2019, 01:01 PM
For some reason this is being streamed on youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71cLdpON-K4

02-10-2019, 01:02 PM
Numbers 7 and 24 are Brentford 1st team players returning from injury

02-10-2019, 01:06 PM
Goal. Penalty. 1 nil to Hibs.

02-10-2019, 01:08 PM
You wouldn't go anyway so not sure why you would bother. They could pay fans to go and you woukd find something to complain about

Why wouldn’t he? Unless I’m mistaken he goes home and away week in week out.

badabing67
02-10-2019, 01:16 PM
For some reason this is being streamed on youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71cLdpON-K4

So it is wow thanks :aok:

02-10-2019, 01:19 PM
2-0

02-10-2019, 01:19 PM
2 nil, corner and free header.

02-10-2019, 01:22 PM
Shaw the scorer?

02-10-2019, 01:24 PM
Shaw the scorer?

Yes, both goals.

02-10-2019, 01:25 PM
3 nil

02-10-2019, 01:25 PM
3-0 Hibs

02-10-2019, 01:27 PM
Josh Campbell with the 3rd.

02-10-2019, 01:31 PM
Josh Campbell with the 3rd.
Thought he was at Arbroath?

02-10-2019, 01:32 PM
Thought he was at Arbroath?

Like all players Hibs have loaned out they are available to play for the development team, with the exception I think of Mackie at Dundee

02-10-2019, 01:37 PM
looking pretty good so far, crisp passing and finding space.

02-10-2019, 01:41 PM
Fair play to Brentford for streaming this.

02-10-2019, 01:41 PM

The owner of Brentford also owns Midtjyland in Denmark.

02-10-2019, 01:43 PM

Just a small team them 😊

02-10-2019, 01:44 PM

Didn't realise that.

02-10-2019, 01:45 PM
Penalty for Brentford. 3 - 1

02-10-2019, 01:48 PM
Stramash in the Hibs box, cleared on the stroke of half time.

02-10-2019, 01:48 PM
Rocky giving them an easy chance at the end there.

02-10-2019, 01:49 PM
Stramash in the Hibs box, cleared on the stroke of half time.

Cannae beat an old fashioned stramash! 😁

02-10-2019, 01:49 PM
Pissed all over them for 44 minutes, then a penalty and a really wonderful save has kept it to 3-1.:thumbsup:

Some very good fast breaking stuff from us, especially wide left. :top marks

02-10-2019, 01:53 PM
Loving the guy with his daughter 7 rows back from the dugouts.

I'll take her out for a couple of hours, let you get some peace. I'm taking her to the park. 😉

02-10-2019, 02:03 PM
Double substitution by the Bees at the start of the second half.

02-10-2019, 02:06 PM
How did that O’Connor boy play for them? The same boy who left us a few months ago & no-one knew why we were letting him go

02-10-2019, 02:08 PM
The big lad sadiki isnt the most mobile eh.

02-10-2019, 02:13 PM
3 - 2

Brentford have upped the tempo in the second half.

02-10-2019, 02:13 PM
3-2 Cut back.....decent strike. Poor defending as a team

02-10-2019, 02:23 PM
A good first 35 minutes. Totally dominated before Brentford started to get a hold on the game.
3-2, game on

02-10-2019, 02:42 PM
Newell is not looking good here

02-10-2019, 02:48 PM

Injured? Or just pish?

His biggest weakness is when we don't have the ball. The other team play a one two and he does not track the runner.
He is good if you give him the ball but he is never going to hunt it down or win it back when the other team has it.

MartinfaePorty
Ref must have left his cards at home, for both teams

02-10-2019, 02:49 PM
His biggest weakness is when we don't have the ball. The other team play a one two and he does not track the runner.
He is good if you give him the ball but he is never going to hunt it down or win it back when the other team has it.

Scott Allan works a lot harder than Joe Newell.

02-10-2019, 02:51 PM
Injured? Or just pish?

Not working hard enough.
Probably doesn't want injured but did not impress.
On the upside has played some minutes at Easter Road

xyz23jc
02-10-2019, 02:53 PM
FT 3-2 to the Hibees.

02-10-2019, 02:53 PM
I only saw last 15, was v scrappy. Newell had 1 very good run before being fouled.

02-10-2019, 03:00 PM
I only saw last 15, was v scrappy. Newell had 1 very good run before being fouled.

Was very keen to go to ground rather than keep going. Could have made himself look good had he kept going.

GreenPJ
02-10-2019, 03:00 PM

We already have Slivka for that who is a far better player but again is a man down when he/we don't have the ball.

02-10-2019, 03:02 PM
Sounds like a useful runout and good win.

Steve88
02-10-2019, 03:05 PM
How was Block's performance?? (In no way is me pinpointing a youth DM related to our current DM hole issue in the first team ;) )

Also, these games being streamed live, great idea!!!

02-10-2019, 03:09 PM
How was Block's performance?? (In no way is me pinpointing a youth DM related to our current DM hole issue in the first team ;) )

Also, these games being streamed live, great idea!!!

He is playing as a FB for us. Brentford streamed the game - not Hibs.

hibsboy07
02-10-2019, 03:09 PM
Good first half a bit lax in the second. Good result though and must say I enjoyed watching

02-10-2019, 03:27 PM

Never in doubt 😉

Didn't realise that about Brentford

1875-Hibernia
02-10-2019, 03:29 PM

Looking forward to it

If I’m honest I didn’t know game was on - Which is a shame as I was off today.

Would you please be so kind to provide an objective report on the game? In particular how Murray, Shaw and Newell got on. I did see Murray crossed it in for Shaw for a header. Thank you

02-10-2019, 05:17 PM
If I’m honest I didn’t know game was on - Which is a shame as I was off today.

Would you please be so kind to provide an objective report on the game? In particular how Murray, Shaw and Newell got on. I did see Murray crossed it in for Shaw for a header. Thank you

All the cross border games were posted on the Hibs website last week, and the Reserve league cup ties are on the SPFL website
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10316

I thoroughly enjoyed the game. Hibs thought playing against a higher of development team would be good for the lads, and I agree
This was a fast paced game, played mostly on the ground, and was a tale of 2 halves

1st half Hibs completely dominated Brentford, and up until Brentford scored with the penalty, they hadn’t had a shot at goal
Hibs were playing through them with the midfield of Josh, Innes and Fraser, and were playing cracking football and creating lots of opportunities
Both Gullan and Oli looked lively, and the early penalty settled us down
Oli added a 2nd, flashing header from a Fraser Murray corner
Third goal was a well worked move, and Josh got in the box to score
Think the goal just on HT gave Brentford a lift

2nd half Brentford were on the front foot, and most of our attacks were on the break. We lost a 2nd goal, but think the defence did well to minimise Brentford opportunities!
Well deserved 3 points, wonder how the table looks now

02-10-2019, 06:48 PM
https://www.brentfordfc.com/fixtures/brentford-b/201920/october/Hibernian-vs-brentford-on-02-oct-19/#

Brentford B report.

1875-Hibernia
02-10-2019, 08:29 PM
All the cross border games were posted on the Hibs website last week, and the Reserve league cup ties are on the SPFL website
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10316

I thoroughly enjoyed the game. Hibs thought playing against a higher of development team would be good for the lads, and I agree
This was a fast paced game, played mostly on the ground, and was a tale of 2 halves

1st half Hibs completely dominated Brentford, and up until Brentford scored with the penalty, they hadn’t had a shot at goal
Hibs were playing through them with the midfield of Josh, Innes and Fraser, and were playing cracking football and creating lots of opportunities
Both Gullan and Oli looked lively, and the early penalty settled us down
Oli added a 2nd, flashing header from a Fraser Murray corner
Third goal was a well worked move, and Josh got in the box to score
Think the goal just on HT gave Brentford a lift

2nd half Brentford were on the front foot, and most of our attacks were on the break. We lost a 2nd goal, but think the defence did well to minimise Brentford opportunities!
Well deserved 3 points, wonder how the table looks now

Since I deleted twitter I tend to forget about the website. I appreciate your report here and it's good to hear the young lads are doing well! it seems to me that Shaw and Murray regularly do well for reserves. Hopefully both can start getting some first team game time and kick on a bit more.

Thanks again. Good man!

02-10-2019, 09:01 PM
Is Neil mcfarlane the ex jambo?

02-10-2019, 09:18 PM
Never in doubt 😉

Didn't realise that about Brentford

Think they binned their younger age group academy concentrating solely on bringing players in either from abroad or cast offs from bigger city teams.

02-10-2019, 09:21 PM
How did Kane O’Connor play, does he look like he’ll be a loss?

02-10-2019, 09:27 PM
Is Neil mcfarlane the ex jambo?

That’s the boy, was really enthusiastic on the touch line today

02-10-2019, 09:58 PM
Loving the guy with his daughter 7 rows back from the dugouts.

I'll take her out for a couple of hours, let you get some peace. I'm taking her to the park. 😉

02-10-2019, 10:07 PM

I think that’s what the poster is suggesting the boy with the girl has said to the mother and not volunteering dodgy babysitting services 😆😆😆

02-10-2019, 11:23 PM
We already have Slivka for that who is a far better player but again is a man down when he/we don't have the ball.

Slivka is far more engaged with the game than Newell.
There is laid back but Newell is horizontal.

03-10-2019, 07:27 AM
I think that’s what the poster is suggesting the boy with the girl has said to the mother and not volunteering dodgy babysitting services 😆😆😆

A set of quotation marks wouldn't have gone amiss though. I also first read it and was bit like WTF :confused: :faf::faf:

03-10-2019, 12:35 PM
A set of quotation marks wouldn't have gone amiss though. I also first read it and was bit like WTF :confused: :faf::faf:

:greengrin 😂😂😂😂

03-10-2019, 05:25 PM

Me anaw!