View Full Version : Paul Hanlon

Exuberance1875
30-09-2019, 06:19 PM
Has he ever been sent off?

30-09-2019, 06:20 PM
I’m not googling but reckon once if at all.

30-09-2019, 06:21 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/pain-of-relegation-was-factor-in-keeping-paul-hanlon-at-hibs-1-4325040

30-09-2019, 06:22 PM
Got sent off up at Inverness in 2010.

30-09-2019, 06:22 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/9207787.stm

30-09-2019, 06:23 PM
Too late 👍

30-09-2019, 06:24 PM
Handball on own goal line v Inverness - wasn’t the penalty saved? Alas nay.

30-09-2019, 06:27 PM
Didn’t he end up in goals one game or am I going mad?

30-09-2019, 11:33 PM
Didn’t he end up in goals one game or am I going mad?don't know, but do recall him scoring in extra time which was in a crucial cup game:wink:

02-10-2019, 10:18 AM

mad unfortunately :greengrin

MikeyS
02-10-2019, 10:33 AM

I can only remember Darren Jackson going in goals for us when Leighton (possibly) got sent off.

green with envy
02-10-2019, 11:39 AM
I can only remember Darren Jackson going in goals for us when Leighton (possibly) got sent off.

I'll continue with the thread going off on tangent.

I also remember Arthur Duncan replacing Jim McArthur in goals at Ibrox.:greengrin

02-10-2019, 11:56 AM
I’m old apparently, and I remember Peter Cormack going in goals 🥺

02-10-2019, 12:00 PM
I’m old apparently, and I remember Peter Cormack going in goals 🥺 against hearts at tynecastle in a 1-1 draw if my memory serves me right. Sure he got bundled over the line by big Alan Anderson but the goal was disallowed.

02-10-2019, 12:46 PM

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191002/e1b01e3e0f6ac9e8f688368c91bfb980.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

02-10-2019, 12:49 PM

Was at Parkhead vs Septic when we were 1-0 up. Think we drew or got beat

Fanforlife
02-10-2019, 12:54 PM
[QUOTE=eastterrace;5946939]against hearts at tynecastle in a 1-1 draw if my memory serves me right. Sure he got bundled over the line by big Alan Anderson but the goal was disallowed.[/QUOTE Cormack also went in goals V St.Mirren when Willie Wilson got injured,Wilson came back on and played on the wing with a huge bandage on head,nae subs back then.😁

02-10-2019, 01:04 PM

Was at both he had two shut outs :greengrin

What a player he was!

02-10-2019, 01:08 PM
mad unfortunately :greengrin

Thought so, cheers for confirming :greengrin

02-10-2019, 01:09 PM
Did someone not go in goal for Chris Jackson against Stirling in the cup or something like that? I’m mad so might again be using my imagination.

02-10-2019, 01:14 PM
I'll continue with the thread going off on tangent.

I also remember Arthur Duncan replacing Jim McArthur in goals at Ibrox.:greengrin

Graham Mitchell going in goals at Tannadice????

This might be 90+2 chance to get his own back on me :greengrin

delbert
02-10-2019, 01:25 PM

Leighton had a head gash and while being treated, Darren went in goals, Leighton tried to come on a few minutes later but was rightly refused by ref Sandy Roy cos he was still bleeding heavily. Unfortunately Darren wasn’t watching and took off keepers top without telling anyone, play restarts and Celtc score into unguarded goals, chaos !! Goal chopped off and Jackson ordered back in, Leighton returned a few minutes later, Celtc mumped like crazy about goal being chopped off with brain of Britain and Laws of the Game expert, captain Paul McStay stating in Monday’s press ‘ I didn’t know there had to be a keeper, that’s a new one on me !!’

02-10-2019, 03:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191002/e1b01e3e0f6ac9e8f688368c91bfb980.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I forgot about that quality keeper shirt. :top marks

02-10-2019, 03:52 PM
Graham Mitchell going in goals at Tannadice????

This might be 90+2 chance to get his own back on me :greengrin

I’m lost as it is, no chance 😁

02-10-2019, 05:36 PM
Did someone not go in goal for Chris Jackson against Stirling in the cup or something like that? I’m mad so might again be using my imagination.

Chris jackson wasnt a goalkeeper

02-10-2019, 05:49 PM
Chris jackson wasnt a goalkeeper

Again I think I’m getting mixed up with Chris Jackson scoring for Stirling to put us out. Was it Chris Reid in goal?

02-10-2019, 08:25 PM
In 73/74 season we beat Killie 5-2 in cup at ER. We were 2-0 down early on. IIRC Jim McArthur got injured & either Des Bremner or John Blackley went in goal & we scored 5 without reply. Think Sloop scored that day so may have been Des who went in goal.

02-10-2019, 08:28 PM
I've always thought the guy who goes in goal has to be a damn good sport. It shows character.
In Cormack's case he probably fancied diving about like Yashin!

02-10-2019, 08:50 PM
Did Andy Millen once go in goal for us?

I seem to remember that....

03-10-2019, 09:07 AM
Zibi played 50-odd games in goal for us despite not being a keeper.

03-10-2019, 10:50 AM
Did Andy Millen once go in goal for us?

I seem to remember that....

Possibly against motherwell, I might be making that up though!

Prof. Shaggy
03-10-2019, 11:04 AM
Possibly against motherwell, I might be making that up though!

I'm sure Millen took Leighton's place the one time he was sent off away at Motherwell. Jocky Scott was caretaker for the game(?) which ended 1-1. I'm not mad but might be making all of that up.

03-10-2019, 11:12 AM
19/10/1996

1-1 Away to Motherwell

The Prof is spot on

Leighton sent off

Subs used Cameron Weir and Dow

Ray Wilkins played in midfield that day

Jocky Scott Manager

Kevin Harper scored for HIBS

Please excuse crayon they don’t allow us anything sharp in here

03-10-2019, 11:15 AM
For some reason I feel that Millen ended up in goal for us twice. :dunno:

JXM73
03-10-2019, 11:25 AM
https://youtu.be/wftMkim8NPA

03-10-2019, 11:39 AM
David Farrell no end up in goals tae ?

04-10-2019, 08:58 AM
https://youtu.be/wftMkim8NPA

Can we all take a moment to reflect upon the rank splendour of that "oil on water" goalie top. Mid 90's chic par excellence

04-10-2019, 09:21 AM
Has any outfielder ended up in goals against us? Something is telling me an outfield Hun went in goals against us at Ibrox last season for a minute or two?

Other than that I can’t remember it.

Was it Sheffield United who never used to have a sub goalie as Jagielka doubled up as that?

04-10-2019, 09:32 AM
Has any outfielder ended up in goals against us? Something is telling me an outfield Hun went in goals against us at Ibrox last season for a minute or two?

Was it Sheffield United who never used to have a sub goalie as Jagielka doubled up as that?

Ross McCrorie went in goal for them for about 2 minutes after McGregor got sent off for kicking McNulty last season.

04-10-2019, 11:04 AM
19/10/1996

1-1 Away to Motherwell

The Prof is spot on

Leighton sent off

Subs used Cameron Weir and Dow

Ray Wilkins played in midfield that day

Jocky Scott Manager

Kevin Harper scored for HIBS

Please excuse crayon they don’t allow us anything sharp in here

A very memorable day for me. My uncle invited me to hospitality at Motherwell so I was in a glass box at the back of the wee stand behind the goals, noising up the besuited locals. :greengrin I had Kevin Harper first goalscorer at 16/1 and of course Jim Leighton's only career red card. He came charging out of his box to make a clearance and clattered the guy. Jocky Scott still went radge at the red card though and flew off the bench, throwing the crutches he was on at the time away in disgust and nearly falling over.

greenlad
04-10-2019, 05:45 PM

Steve Morrison, Assistant Manager and retired midfielder aged about 45 played the 90 mins against Hibs for Clydebank in a Scottish Cup replay at Cappielow in 2000. Their only GK was injured and they literally had no one else to step in.

3-0 in the rain and I remember Paul Hartley scoring.

04-10-2019, 06:03 PM
Steve Morrison, Assistant Manager and retired midfielder aged about 45 played the 90 mins against Hibs for Clydebank in a Scottish Cup replay at Cappielow in 2000. Their only GK was injured and they literally had no one else to step in.

Stuart Lovell, Dirk Lehmann and Franck Sauzee scored that night.

04-10-2019, 10:18 PM

Hartley scored in the first game

04-10-2019, 10:29 PM

Me too.

Twice!

04-10-2019, 11:14 PM

Following on from my last point, Phil Jagielka went in goals and made a save from RVP for SU against Arsenal in a 1-0 SU win... Christian Nade was the only goal scorer that day :greengrin

Jim Herriot
04-10-2019, 11:32 PM
Not wanting to tempt fate of course, but if both Maxwell and Marciano were injured or sent off tomorrow, who would take the gloves?

04-10-2019, 11:59 PM
Not wanting to tempt fate of course, but if both Maxwell and Marciano were injured or sent off tomorrow, who would take the gloves?

Joe Newell. He’s never a footballer so in goal may be more productive.

05-10-2019, 07:16 AM
Joe Newell. He’s never a footballer so in goal may be more productive.

Honestly haven't seen enough of him to know one way or the other.

05-10-2019, 07:42 AM

Heckingbottom would probably put Lewis Stevenson in goal.

05-10-2019, 09:10 AM
Has he ever been sent off?

You know what’s going to happen now this weekend.:rolleyes: