View Full Version : Bus Windows

Ardenttwo
26-09-2019, 06:46 PM
Just seen a tweet from a Killie fan saying it was a disgrace for some of the Killie fans to be putting bricks through on of our buses windows. Anyone know anything about this

linlithgowhibbie
26-09-2019, 08:44 PM
No

26-09-2019, 08:55 PM
Used to happen frequently on trips to Ayrshire.

Here’s Lucy!
26-09-2019, 09:03 PM
Kilmarnock and Ayr, Morton and Airdrie, Dundee, Glasgow, Dumbarton, Aberdeen, Stirling, Perth.

They don’t like bus windows either.

Hardly breaking news!

26-09-2019, 10:22 PM
Hardly breaking news!

Surely that's exactly what it is! ☺

26-09-2019, 10:27 PM

:greengrin:

27-09-2019, 12:24 AM
Airdrie and Motherwell in the 70s. Often a fresh air journey home.

27-09-2019, 01:58 AM

Yes it is, that's crystal clear to me.....

Bill Milne
27-09-2019, 09:24 AM
Just seen a tweet from a Killie fan saying it was a disgrace for some of the Killie fans to be putting bricks through on of our buses windows. Anyone know anything about this

I was on the Carlton bus and I didn't see anything like this.

Hibs4185
27-09-2019, 09:30 AM
I’ve only been to a couple of night time games at rugby park many years ago but I always remember being in a convoy of coaches with a police escort. Was always a bit dodgy leaving the ground

27-09-2019, 10:53 AM
Huns without bus fares like buses without windows :greengrin

27-09-2019, 11:16 AM
Kilmarnock and Ayr, Morton and Airdrie, Dundee, Glasgow, Dumbarton, Aberdeen, Stirling, Perth.

Hardly breaking news!

Add Edinburgh in to that list too :wink:

Here’s Lucy!
27-09-2019, 11:18 AM

Yes it is, that's crystal clear to me.....

Add Edinburgh in to that list too :wink:

:faf::faf:

Touche!

Cataplana
27-09-2019, 11:19 AM
Your bus had windows? Bloody luxury!

CropleyisGod
27-09-2019, 11:54 AM
Huns without bus fares like buses without windows :greengrin

1979 Cup Final...bus tries to take an alternative route from Hampdung to avoid the traffic...cue two wee neds with rocks..one comes through my window and hits me in the side (the window took the brunt!)...two of the guys on the bus nearly wrestle the driver to the ground to get him to stop about 50m from the wee neds. As half the bus spilled out and hared after them they must have sh*t themselves :greengrin

27-09-2019, 12:02 PM
Your bus had windows? Bloody luxury!

You had a Bus? Spoilt youngsters.

When I were a lad, I had to bl**dy walk t'game.

27-09-2019, 12:03 PM

You forgot to mention it was uphill both ways......

27-09-2019, 12:05 PM
You forgot to mention it was uphill both ways......

And it were always bl**dy rainin!!!

27-09-2019, 02:21 PM
And it were always bl**dy rainin!!!
Wasn't raining, it was snowing. Six feet deep every Saturday and I had to walk from Elgin and back.......

27-09-2019, 02:25 PM
Wasn't raining, it was snowing. Six feet deep every Saturday and I had to walk from Elgin and back.......

and try telling that to youngsters nowadays and they won't believe you

linlithgowhibbie
27-09-2019, 03:23 PM
True story, a lad on our bus who is now in his 70s used to cycle to Easter Road from Bo'ness for the matches when he was a teenager.:agree:

27-09-2019, 04:17 PM
Worst ever bus journey with no windows had to be a trip back from Inverness on a 16 seater back in the late 70's.
We beat Dundee in a pre season tourney final involving 2 of the Inverness clubs, Hibs and Dundee. The bus left Inverness around closing time after the older guys had a heavy session and pissed off a few locals. As we set off a window was bricked and the 7 hour journey home was a nightmare. To top it all I had to walk back to Porty from the top of Easter Rd cos the buses didn't run that early on a Sunday.

Ardenttwo
27-09-2019, 04:22 PM

Hardly breaking news!

OK next time someone is killed with a brick through a bus window I will post it then maybe just maybe you will recognise this as breaking news. Jeezo some folk

Here’s Lucy!
27-09-2019, 04:22 PM
and try telling that to youngsters nowadays and they won't believe you

10/10

Here’s Lucy!
27-09-2019, 04:26 PM
OK next time someone is killed with a brick through a bus window I will post it then maybe just maybe you will recognise this as breaking news. Jeezo some folk

Goodness, no need to be so touchy, it was a light-hearted response to your post.

Perhaps I should have written ‘What’s new’?

Tomsk
27-09-2019, 06:32 PM
Went to a game at Parkhead in the 70s. Driver was obsessed about his windows - must have had previous. Anyway, he said he wanted to get away quickly and demanded everyone be back on the bus 10 mins after final whistle. Although I don't know what difference that would have made. Still, we are all on the bus as instructed and the windows are intact. Silly bugger left the bus in reverse. Turns the engine on and the bus jolts back and hits a pole. Back window shatters. Much hilarity and mocking of poor driver. But boy was it was effin' freezing on the way home.

majorhibs
27-09-2019, 07:48 PM

Naebody disputes potential big consequences. Wee diffo tho in them days, cctv not invented, polis usually not interested, kinda the norm home & away in them days, & you went cos you were right keen on seein yer team! Hence went occasionally it went pear shaped ie nae windaes bus hame in Scottish torrential rain/tornadoes etc, ye got on with it as ye’d nae choice! Some stinkers o days, but some class memories tae! 1 thing I’m happy enough about tho is I didn’t have to share windowless long journeys hame fi fitba wi the delicatesses nowadays, they would’ve got in the road ae the barry singin that was goin on.

ben johnson
27-09-2019, 08:04 PM

I used to dribble a ball all the way to the stadium
Came out at full time and went to get the ball where I stashed it
Stolen !!
Had to walk home.

27-09-2019, 08:36 PM
These bus window breaks are a real pane

27-09-2019, 09:27 PM
Remember when we had the temerity to draw 1-1 with the old Huns in the Scottish at Hampden (beat them in the replay), drove all the way home with every window in our double decker smashed.
I was also hit with a ‘ginger’ bottle, needed stitches!

27-09-2019, 10:09 PM
Pat Stanton told the story that when the Team Coach turned up Easter Road headed for Hampden for the 1972/73 League Cup Final someone lobbed a brick through one of their windaes at Bothwell Street

By the time they got through to Hampden they were the “ Wide awake club” and ready for anything :greengrin

:cup:

Happy 75th Birthday Pat!