View Full Version : Vela

Weegreenman
22-09-2019, 06:00 PM
Not impressed 💩

22-09-2019, 06:01 PM
Good bit of pressing to win the ball back for the goal. That aside he’s a waste of space.

RossScott1991
22-09-2019, 06:01 PM
He has been absolutely honking soo far

Can’t run, can’t tackle , doesn’t get in the box. Not really sure what he brings.

22-09-2019, 06:03 PM
Won a few tackles today. Which is more than he has done since signing. Another one i wouldnt give a **** if they never wore a hibs shirt again.

22-09-2019, 06:06 PM
Seemingly one of the players flagged by the recruitment team as not good enough for the money spent but Hecky wanted him anyway, Boltonhibs said a week or so ago that he's been honking down there for the past 3-4 seasons, he's a very very average player and today it showed.

Robbo6-2
22-09-2019, 06:06 PM
What about when he kicked the ball out the park in 2nd half 😂😂

He made two tackles today, the rest of the time he was invisible. Reallly has been awful signing.
3 year deal too

Fifehibby74
22-09-2019, 06:07 PM
Gary Deegan mark2

22-09-2019, 06:07 PM
Terrible player.

22-09-2019, 06:08 PM
Very poor so far. Doesn’t really seem to excel at anything at all with some parts of his game severely lacking. It’s not a great combo.

HibsGW
22-09-2019, 06:10 PM
Can’t understand these players, he’s not a Scott Allan or a Stevie Mallan in the sense of having one thing he can clearly do well, whatever criticism we have for players at least those two have a strength, Mallan - goal threat and set pieces, Allan - bit of a goal threat but mostly a chance creator. Vela just annoys me because he has nothing, he does a job that any adult who keeps fit and likes football can do. He doesn’t take any responsibility with the ball, doesn’t batter into challenges with high energy, certainly isn’t an attacking threat and to top it off, doesn’t possess any great energy levels or anything, just that of a normal guy who looks after his fitness. There’ll be a good amount of people in the crowd every week who can offer what he can.

Mixu1875
22-09-2019, 06:15 PM
Pish. Just like every one of his signings.

22-09-2019, 06:17 PM
Hecky's signings look a right bunch of mediocrities. If he goes, will be able to move them on easily?

Huddy.

hibs#1
Gary Deegan mark2

Looks far worse than Deegan.

22-09-2019, 06:18 PM
Biggest culprit today, utter waste of space. Can't track, doesn't protect, Brian Kerr.

Who!

He looks soft as the rest of our current midfield.

CloudSquall
22-09-2019, 06:19 PM
I'd rather have Brian Kerr.

22-09-2019, 06:19 PM
Won a couple of challenges, but then goes missing for their second in the run up only to deflect the ball in. If he had sense he would’ve been at Hickey before he was anywhere near the ball.

22-09-2019, 06:20 PM
He's way out of his depth. Just not good enough. Like most of the signings under Heck.

supermcginn
The new matt thornhill.

Now we see why nobody else took a gamble on the 5 million pound man. Another player who is far too soft and slow for scottish football just like the rest of our genius managers signings

coldingham hibs
Wasn’t impressed with Hallberg either, blowing out his ars3 after about 40 minutes. Offered nothing.

22-09-2019, 06:21 PM
Pish

No better than Slivka and would not get close to game in our midfield of 2 years ago. Very poor signing and waste of a wage.

The Captain....
He has been absolutely honking soo far

Can’t run, can’t tackle , doesn’t get in the box. Not really sure what he brings.I've seen him accelerate from a jog to a canter once since we signed him..looks slow, unfit and gives the ball away. Get rid.

Our recruitment has been catastrophic.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

22-09-2019, 06:22 PM
I'd rather have Brian Kerr.

As bad as he was for us, he scored a winner at the PBS. Can't imagine Vela doing that.

22-09-2019, 06:23 PM
Strolled up thinking Scottish Football would be a piece of piss.

File in the ***** and hopefully gone soon to Southend in January.

Get Tommy Block in the team ahead of him if we can recall. Him and Fraser Murray.

Who?

Wasn’t impressed with Hallberg either, blowing out his ars3 after about 40 minutes. Offered nothing.

Tbf to him, it’s his second game with no pre season.

Who?

The one that looks like Horgan but slower

22-09-2019, 06:24 PM
Tbf to him, it’s his second game with no pre season.

Continue this for about six games then realise he’s ***** too probably.

CloudSquall
22-09-2019, 06:25 PM
As bad as he was for us, he scored a winner at the PBS. Can't imagine Vela doing that.

We can only dream at this point of a midfielder making the run Kerr did for that goal.

Stokesy's on fire
22-09-2019, 06:25 PM
I'm going go against the grain here and say that i think he is decent but with hecky in charge he is doomed. Shocking attempt to stop the diet huns from scoring that winner but the entire team had given in after we had went up 1-0.

22-09-2019, 06:26 PM
Continue this for about six games then realise he’s ***** too probably.

Well you don’t get singed for Udinese if you’re *****, he’s a punt but give him more than two games before we write him off too no?

22-09-2019, 06:26 PM
The one that looks like Horgan but slower

aint no one looks like horgan, only horgan.

THESHIP
22-09-2019, 06:27 PM
He is useless and was not willing to battle. His body language during the game said it all - defeatist mentality.

22-09-2019, 06:28 PM
We can only dream at this point of a midfielder making the run Kerr did for that goal.

Be fair, Vela did just that in the first half. Fresh air swipe when he should have scored, but still...

What about when he kicked the ball out the park in 2nd half 😂😂

He made two tackles today, the rest of the time he was invisible. Reallly has been awful signing.
3 year deal too

and will cost a lot of money to move on, along with a couple of others, somebody has seriously underrated the scottish top flight league

He looks lazy. Sportscene highlights showing how lazy he is

22-09-2019, 06:29 PM
Well you don’t get singed for Udinese if you’re *****, he’s a punt but give him more than two games before we write him off too no?

See Makalambay Chelsea and Slivka Juve.

Past history says he will be bang average.

Thought he was one of our better players today.

He looks lazy. Sportscene highlights showing how lazy he is

Disgrace at the second goal. Gutless.

22-09-2019, 06:30 PM
Badly at fault for the second goal. Looked as if he just gave up in the build up to it.

hibsdaft
22-09-2019, 06:30 PM
Thought he looked a bit better today, playing alongside Hallberg. Got to hope a new manager can get more out of these players.

22-09-2019, 06:31 PM
See Makalambay Chelsea and Slivka Juve.

Past history says he will be bang average.

Yes I know that, all I’m saying is writing him off after two games helps no one.

22-09-2019, 06:32 PM

Agreed. Il go against the grain and say he was one of the players I actually thought was up for the battle. Pressed them and won the ball back quite a lot as a result.

hibsdaft
I'm going go against the grain here and say that i think he is decent but with hecky in charge he is doomed

Yup, that's my hope too.

Puts in lots of unseen work.

22-09-2019, 06:33 PM
Puts in lots of unseen work.

By unseen, do you mean invisible? :greengrin

22-09-2019, 06:34 PM
Brian Kerr was ten times the player this guy is.

Unbelievable how badly wrong the summer signings have gone. We needed Newell, Vela and Doidge to come in and immediately improve the side. They all look out their depth

22-09-2019, 06:34 PM
Yes I know that, all I’m saying is writing him off after two games helps no one.

👍

22-09-2019, 06:38 PM
Poor at the basics, can't control the ball quickly, a slow thinker and an elementary passer.
Strong and can tackle but the previous sentence dooms him.
Full back? - perhaps

hibeerealist
22-09-2019, 06:39 PM

Who Vela???

What games are you people watching that come out with this utter c ra p?

How can you possibly have watched that game and then come out with that statement?

22-09-2019, 06:39 PM
Seemingly one of the players flagged by the recruitment team as not good enough for the money spent but Hecky wanted him anyway, Boltonhibs said a week or so ago that he's been honking down there for the past 3-4 seasons, he's a very very average player and today it showed.

If the comment about being flagged up by the recruitment team as not good enough for the money is true then that fact should be noted in the dossier to be compiled for the board justifying Hecky’s dismissal. It will be a big dossier but the board will feel they need to go through the proper process in order to get rid of him.

22-09-2019, 06:42 PM
To be fair that was probably his best game for us, make of that what you want.

22-09-2019, 06:44 PM
Total waste of a jersey.

22-09-2019, 06:45 PM
The Andrew Ridgeley of the SPFL

22-09-2019, 06:57 PM
Said before the game that he’s like the invisible man that has offered nowt since he arrived.

Today was another example of it. No wonder Hearts could run through our midfield, we didn’t have one.

jakedance
22-09-2019, 06:57 PM
There is nothing about this boy that looks good. A shocking signing for an essential position.

PH91
22-09-2019, 07:27 PM
Agreed. Il go against the grain and say he was one of the players I actually thought was up for the battle. Pressed them and won the ball back quite a lot as a result.

I agree although a big gripe is he gets on the ball a lot with yards of space ahead of him but never carries the ball into it. Always looks to pass.

I am absolutely *****ing sick to death of watching mallan and allan play in the same team. Pick one, play him, bench the other. I don't care which.

22-09-2019, 07:28 PM
Badly at fault for the second goal. Looked as if he just gave up in the build up to it.

He did that in the first half too, left Stevenson two on one by being too lazy to close down the man on the ball but then didn't even track the other player. Horrendous, probably the worst possible type of player we could have got for that role.

cabbage_88
22-09-2019, 07:31 PM
Absolutely brutal signing, genuinely had high hopes for this guy but he has been woeful. Posted missing in every game, cant tackle, can't pass, can't track a man, honestly don't know what he can do

22-09-2019, 07:33 PM
I'm just really confused by Vela.

I honestly don't know what type of player hes supposed to be? Also have no idea of whit his position is as it seems to change all the time. SO strange.

22-09-2019, 07:43 PM
Awful player who has the heart of a mouse. Genuinely haven’t a clue what he offers? Badly at fault for that 2nd winning goal.

22-09-2019, 07:43 PM
@Jack187571

Vela came out having a laugh with somebody, isn’t the players we’re needing, the boy next tae me certainly gave him it tight

Rotten attitude if true

22-09-2019, 07:46 PM
@Jack187571

Vela came out having a laugh with somebody, isn’t the players we’re needing, the boy next tae me certainly gave him it tight

Rotten attitude if true

Same as a few of PH’s signings in terms of attitudes on the park. He preached about signing the right type of person as well as player but it seems he’s badly ****ed up with Vela in both categories.

22-09-2019, 08:50 PM
Awful today. Might have been Bolton’s player of the year or whatever it was but the games up here are beyond him. Could have given him a red card today and we wouldn’t have lost a player.

22-09-2019, 08:57 PM
Really disappointed with what I`ve seen to date from Vela. Looked a player on his debut (against weak opposition) but has failed to really ignite, or fit into the image of the player he was talked up to be.

22-09-2019, 08:59 PM
Actually thought we had bigger problems than him today but his "work" for their winner is pathetic.

22-09-2019, 09:22 PM
Waste of a jersey.
If he doesn’t play we go 2 up top. Simple.

22-09-2019, 09:24 PM
Awful player who has the heart of a mouse. Genuinely haven’t a clue what he offers? Badly at fault for that 2nd winning goal.

You clearly never saw Ryan stand off Ikpeazu and give him the freedom of Easter Road to make the pass then. Awful niave defending by him and Vela.

mcfly
22-09-2019, 10:00 PM
Vela is the invisible man- don’t see him do anything

I think he was playing hide n seek today.

Waste of a jersey

A disgrace he has Marvs number 6 jersey

22-09-2019, 10:05 PM
Bartley v Vela
Milligan v vela

Vela loses both.

Going backwards with hecky

22-09-2019, 10:05 PM
Vela is simply a crap footballer who played for a crap team who has come up here for a wee jolly. He is our era's version of De Graaf. Utterly woeful footballer.

22-09-2019, 10:07 PM
He’s pish

It’s about time we realised how overrated the English lower leagues really are.

I’d rather pick up young hungry players from the scottish champ

22-09-2019, 10:09 PM
He doesn't even look like a footballer.

22-09-2019, 10:09 PM
He’s pish

It’s about time we realised how overrated the English lower leagues really are.

I’d rather pick up young hungry players from the scottish champ

When trusted players in the first team squad think he's garbage that's when I worry - and they were correct.

22-09-2019, 10:14 PM
Has a nice colourful pair of boots.

sean04
22-09-2019, 10:16 PM
I think he would be better in a better team. Hoping a change of manager and more positive attacking side will suit him

22-09-2019, 10:22 PM
I think he would be better in a better team. Hoping a change of manager and more positive attacking side will suit him

He's garbage Sean - pure and simple - he'll be out / away next window.

22-09-2019, 10:24 PM
He's garbage Sean - pure and simple - he'll be out / away next window.

With two and a half years left on his deal? Nobody wanted him when he was on a free. Don’t know how we move all these guys on.

22-09-2019, 10:26 PM
With two and a half years left on his deal? Nobody wanted him when he was on a free. Don’t know how we move all these guys on.

The next manager has a big mess to sort out.

22-09-2019, 10:29 PM

That’s what I thought as well.

22-09-2019, 10:30 PM
Actually thought we had bigger problems than him today but his "work" for their winner is pathetic.

Agree with this, thought he was fine but on reflection you’re absolutely right about their winner.

22-09-2019, 10:37 PM
When trusted players in the first team squad think he's garbage that's when I worry - and they were correct.

Who?

kevinc
22-09-2019, 10:42 PM

So you are saying PH overruled George Craig? Don’t believe this for a minute, recruitment team are culpable here, blame the manager when things go wrong take the credit for positive outcomes, *****in charlatans! Btw I want Heckingbottom gone but Leanne and George need to be accountable for failure as well as success.

22-09-2019, 10:44 PM
Who?

Players who have been at the club a few seasons and care about the club - read between the lines :aok: He's an awful player with a couldn't care less attitude. Any new (and knowledgeable) manager coming in will have him transfer listed :agree:

kevinc
22-09-2019, 10:50 PM

So you are saying PH overruled George Craig? Don’t believe this for a minute, recruitment team are culpable here, blame the manager when things go wrong take the credit for positive outcomes, *****in charlatans! Btw I want Heckingbottom gone but Leanne and George need to be accountable for failure as well as success.

TheCabbage
22-09-2019, 10:51 PM
Agree with this, thought he was fine but on reflection you’re absolutely right about their winner.

Poor from Porteous and Naismith to stand off uche in the first place though. Players were asleep most of the match tbf

JOD
22-09-2019, 10:57 PM
Plse tell me why we let Marv go?
He loved the club and surely was worth
another 2 year punt especially against
the dross we have now.
Another P H bad decision GTF.

22-09-2019, 11:00 PM
Poor from Porteous and Naismith to stand off uche in the first place though. Players were asleep most of the match tbf

Agreed - nothing to do with 'high press' or anything above and beyond what a footballer is expected to do - closing down is basic. None of them do the basics - that requires work :agree:

hibeerealist
23-09-2019, 12:25 AM
That’s what I thought as well.

What game you people watching, no wonder there seems an acceptance that things are ok at ER.

Happy Clappers on crack!!!!

hibeerealist
23-09-2019, 12:27 AM
the dross we have now.

PH decision and he let Milligan go too, the guy is a total a r se and way out of his depth.

gogsy23
23-09-2019, 05:53 AM
No better than Slivka and would not get close to game in our midfield of 2 years ago. Very poor signing and waste of a wage.

This is the trouble dylan, SJM and big marv were a solid dependable unit. Scott allan is constantly loking fruatrated during games with the lack of help around him.
Vela is very poor and goes missing far too easily. Todays game was lost in centre midfield. Their no 77 was able to drive and run at us in the space second half.

23-09-2019, 05:56 AM
This is the trouble dylan, SJM and big marv were a solid dependable unit. Scott allan is constantly loking fruatrated during games with the lack of help around him.
Vela is very poor and goes missing far too easily. Todays game was lost in centre midfield. Their no 77 was able to drive and run at us in the space second half.

A defensive midfield player would’ve been ideal yesterday and in most of our other games too. Hecky knows best though.

23-09-2019, 06:14 AM
A defensive midfield player would’ve been ideal yesterday and in most of our other games too. Hecky knows best though.

We certainly could have done with one the last 25 when we were out on our feet. Thought Vela looked promising in his first game like all signings pretty meh.

23-09-2019, 06:31 AM
I had never heard of him before he signed, but he'd played in the championship for years and i thought he cant be that bad if he'd done that.

He's pish, never thought we could get someone to take over the Joe Keenan role, but here we have someone for the next 3 years to do just that. :faf:

23-09-2019, 06:37 AM
I had never heard of him before he signed, but he'd played in the championship for years and i thought he cant be that bad if he'd done that.

He's pish, never thought we could get someone to take over the Joe Keenan role, but here we have someone for the next 3 years to do just that. :faf:

I dunno what his role is? Neither does he bybthe look of it.

23-09-2019, 06:40 AM
I dunno what his role is? Neither does he bybthe look of it.

To look pish, play pish and generally be pish every minute he's on the park, the Joe Keenan role. :wink:

23-09-2019, 06:42 AM
Good assist for the goal, must have thought job done then disappeared.

I don't think he's quite as bad as some are making out but he's certainly not what we're needing.

23-09-2019, 06:44 AM
To look pish, play pish and generally be pish every minute he's on the park, the Joe Keenan role. :wink:

See that ‘Paul Heckingbottom sales pitch’. Grrr! 😂

23-09-2019, 06:55 AM
Think the criticism of Vela is way over the top ..he competed ok for me yesterday ...won quite a few tackles, dropped for the ball, recycled it well - didn’t lose a lot of possession , could have closed tighter in some key moments - but you could say that of Porto and others too

What he is not is a Milligan type ..or a Glenn Whelan for that matter ..think it is more the system and role he is being asked to play that is the issue ..

Easy target after a bad result ..don’t see this thread being up here had Hallberg scores and we go on to win ...

Squirrel 1875
23-09-2019, 07:03 AM
Completely at fault for the second goal. He made his arrogant disinterest clear when he chose not to put any effort in the track back, allowing Heckey the space to shoot. Pathetic. Got a feeling there will be a clear out of these duds in January and he would be top of my list.

23-09-2019, 07:06 AM
Thought he looked a bit better today, playing alongside Hallberg. Got to hope a new manager can get more out of these players.Agree. Still not fit or match sharp. Think will be ok under a decent manager.

23-09-2019, 07:11 AM

It was always going to come to this.

We don’t have a DM and in previous derbies we have always had one on the pitch at some point.

Squad recruitment has been awful along with the idea we are the only team in world football who think they can be successful without a DM.

23-09-2019, 07:32 AM
the dross we have now.

We should be back in for him and Efe in January.

23-09-2019, 07:34 AM

The manager always has the final say over players.

How it work is he'll sit down with the recruitment team pre season and discuss what players and positions are needed and the type of players he wants, the recruitment team will have a list of player that have been scouted over the last year or so and they'll also scout any plays the manager himself has suggested to them, as he'll have his own contacts within the game( Lennon did this with Efe and Bogdan. ). I was told 2 players were flagged up as not good enough for the money they were forking out for them, Vela and Newell, GoalsMcGinlay on another thread mentioned the same thing. Even though they flagged them as not good enough for the money, Heckingbottom insisted they still be signed as they were his choice, this is where most of our money has gone, on over priced p1sh players from down south.

chippy
23-09-2019, 09:19 AM

Agree could get Efe now though but try for Shinnie and you get a homer ref in the package the n January?

23-09-2019, 09:30 AM
I'd love to know how many times he has received the ball from Hanlon, and given it straight back to him. Seems like the only thing he ever does. Midfielders are meant to receive the ball from defence and look forward...he just refuses to take responsibility and shovels it back to Hanlon....every bloody time !!! This always gives teams time to press us and leaves Hanlon to either pass it to Lewis, who is under pressure, or punt it long for Kamberi to fail to win.

HibsGW
23-09-2019, 09:33 AM
Think the criticism of Vela is way over the top ..he competed ok for me yesterday ...won quite a few tackles, dropped for the ball, recycled it well - didn’t lose a lot of possession , could have closed tighter in some key moments - but you could say that of Porto and others too

What he is not is a Milligan type ..or a Glenn Whelan for that matter ..think it is more the system and role he is being asked to play that is the issue ..

Easy target after a bad result ..don’t see this thread being up here had Hallberg scores and we go on to win ...

This for me is the issue with him, he isn’t an anything type. I’ve played football all my life and I keep myself very fit, i can run around and cover a bit of space and put a little bit of pressure on players like he does for 90 minutes. He doesn’t show any signs of attacking threat. He doesn’t have any standout physical attributes. He doesn’t have a particularly decent touch or awareness of what’s going on around him. He contributes nothing other than running and not to a high level like someone with the energy of a John McGinn. He is just a total filler of a player, fills a space in the team as we don’t have anyone else the manager is confident enough in to play there, there’s got to be players in the youth set-up that have more to offer than him because there are tonnes of Hibs fans out there that can offer more than he can with a ball at their feet

23-09-2019, 10:13 AM

We really shouldn't. The problem wasnt that we let Marv and Milligan go rather that we didn't replace them with a much needed upgrade.

23-09-2019, 10:28 AM
Vela has lost his drive and determination quite some time ago. He is a shadow of his former playing self. For sure he needed a fresh challenge to get him motivated again. That doesn’t look like it’s happened. He is showing the same traits as he has had over the last few years.

He will bring nothing to the team, and will be like a man down. He doesn’t hunt enough, get involved enough, fight in the right areas.

He can just about get into a position to receive a ball.

He brings nothing to the party.

A 3 year deal, whoever sanctioned that needs shooting ffs.

23-09-2019, 10:46 AM
I'd love to know how many times he has received the ball from Hanlon, and given it straight back to him. Seems like the only thing he ever does. Midfielders are meant to receive the ball from defence and look forward...he just refuses to take responsibility and shovels it back to Hanlon....every bloody time !!! This always gives teams time to press us and leaves Hanlon to either pass it to Lewis, who is under pressure, or punt it long for Kamberi to fail to win.

I wonder if this is to do with tactics, confidence, or maybe he’s just not a very good player?

I have no idea what Vela brings to the team either, but maybe he’d do a lot better alongside a more defensive midfield partner?

23-09-2019, 11:43 AM
Vela has lost his drive and determination quite some time ago. He is a shadow of his former playing self. For sure he needed a fresh challenge to get him motivated again. That doesn’t look like it’s happened. He is showing the same traits as he has had over the last few years.

He will bring nothing to the team, and will be like a man down. He doesn’t hunt enough, get involved enough, fight in the right areas.

Our illustrious manager sanctioned it, after he was told he wasn't good enough or worth the wages.

Gypsy King
23-09-2019, 01:21 PM
After his appalling performances of late I decided I'd have a little look about what his old clubs fans thought of him.

http://www.wanderersways.com/forum/topic/89720-josh-vela-gone/page/2/

Not good reading. Sounds exactly like the kind of character we were bringing in under Calderwood.

Unbelievably frustrating player to watch - Rumours of being bad news. Attitude poor.

Genuinely thought we had a player on our hands when I heard we signed him.

23-09-2019, 01:32 PM

Fair summary.

Compare to Whelan yesterday and you could see the difference.

I've wanted Vela to succeed but he's just not doing anything for the team.

He's basically a Slivka clone but I think he adds less.

23-09-2019, 01:43 PM
try and patch him elsewhere in January whilst his reputation in England is probably still not too shabby.

Boy adds nothing on the pitch.

HibsGW
23-09-2019, 01:47 PM
Fair summary.

Compare to Whelan yesterday and you could see the difference.

I've wanted Vela to succeed but he's just not doing anything for the team.

He's basically a Slivka clone but I think he adds less.

I don’t think Slivka is great by any stretch but Slivka adds much more than Vela does, better touch, better physically, bit more of an attacking threat and he brings something slightly different with being about 6 foot 3, Vela provides nothing

23-09-2019, 01:52 PM
I don’t think Slivka is great by any stretch but Slivka adds much more than Vela does, better touch, better physically, bit more of an attacking threat and he brings something slightly different with being about 6 foot 3, Vela provides nothing

Yes that’s what I was saying Slivka adds more.

HibsGW
23-09-2019, 02:31 PM
Yes that’s what I was saying Slivka adds more.

I’m agreeing with you and just stating my own opinion that I think even Slivka is a long way ahead of Vela as a player, that’s more a reflection of how poorly I rate Vela than how good I think Slivka is.

23-09-2019, 03:36 PM
After his appalling performances of late I decided I'd have a little look about what his old clubs fans thought of him.

http://www.wanderersways.com/forum/topic/89720-josh-vela-gone/page/2/

Not good reading. Sounds exactly like the kind of character we were bringing in under Calderwood.

Unbelievably frustrating player to watch - Rumours of being bad news. Attitude poor.

Genuinely thought we had a player on our hands when I heard we signed him.

They seem to be suggesting he's a bit of a bevvier and likes chan (suspect that a drug)

23-09-2019, 03:41 PM
They seem to be suggesting he's a bit of a bevvies and likes chan (suspect that a drug)

And he comes across as a total throbber.

23-09-2019, 03:47 PM
They seem to be suggesting he's a bit of a bevvies and likes chan (suspect that a drug)

Think it's cocaine.

CloudSquall
23-09-2019, 03:56 PM
Can't wait for the return of the George Street chronicles.

23-09-2019, 03:58 PM
Chuck him in the bin with the rest of the dross.

23-09-2019, 03:58 PM

Not a good assessment from the Bolton fans. This is a particularly worrying view:

Lacks*pace yes...and shooting ability, passing ability, heading, tackling,*strength to hold off a challenge, dribbling, a left foot and a football*brain. There are* loads of midfielders with more talent in Div*1.*

23-09-2019, 05:49 PM
Not a good assessment from the Bolton fans. This is a particularly worrying view:

Lacks*pace yes...and shooting ability, passing ability, heading, tackling,*strength to hold off a challenge, dribbling, a left foot and a football*brain. There are* loads of midfielders with more talent in Div*1.*

That is exactly the post that caught my eye

To me from the above list he lacks a football brain, shooting ability and passing ability plus unable to control the ball quickly enough.
All of which make him a non starter as defensive mid where the ability to read the game, control the ball and pass it are paramount.

Reading the whole Bolton thread he comes across as an arse who has long since stopped living the life of an athlete or working hard at improving his craft.

If guys on here found this thread, the recruitment team will have found it as well and would have made their own enquiries thereafter. This may be the reason they apparently warned the manager off signing him. Missing out on Ojo may have resulted in a panic and an ignoring of best practice. Who knows, not us.

It could of course all be rubbish but he makes Slivka look like Pele on and off the pitch.
The opinions of the senior players on this guy so far would be interesting.

23-09-2019, 06:02 PM
From having players like McGinn and McGeouch and big Marvin in the team to Vela shows how far the team has declined. Absolute garbage. Just not good enough to play at this level.

23-09-2019, 07:12 PM
That is exactly the post that caught my eye

To me from the above list he lacks a football brain, shooting ability and passing ability plus unable to control the ball quickly enough.
All of which make him a non starter as defensive mid where the ability to read the game, control the ball and pass it are paramount.

Reading the whole Bolton thread he comes across as an arse who has long since stopped living the life of an athlete or working hard at improving his craft.

If guys on here found this thread, the recruitment team will have found it as well and would have made their own enquiries thereafter. This may be the reason they apparently warned the manager off signing him. Missing out on Ojo may have resulted in a panic and an ignoring of best practice. Who knows, not us.

It could of course all be rubbish but he makes Slivka look like Pele on and off the pitch.
The opinions of the senior players on this guy so far would be interesting.

Probably why the rumour of the recruitment team flagging him as not good enough has came about, poor footballer and poor professional too.

28-09-2019, 02:59 PM
Impressed with him today

sean04
28-09-2019, 03:01 PM
Impressed with him today

Worked hard and battled. Just lacks the wee bit of class to make him stand out

Torto7
28-09-2019, 03:02 PM
Impressed with him today

Me too. There's a decent midfielder in there. He looks more comfortable playing with Hallberg. It was nice to see him getting in their faces.

28-09-2019, 03:07 PM
Thought he played well and getting a decent understanding with Hallberg..

28-09-2019, 03:10 PM
Still not seeing enough from him. Ran about a lot but always seemed to be chasing. He never quite seems to be there. And didn’t really offer much on the ball.

28-09-2019, 03:12 PM
Tbh I forgot he was on the park, I don't see what anyone saw from him today to merit extra praise. Hallberg, James, Whittaker, Doidge yes fully deserving of praise but Vela was just bang average again.

28-09-2019, 03:13 PM
I thought he was fantastic today, alongside Hallberg who looks composed on the ball.

thegaffer12
28-09-2019, 03:15 PM
First half I thought he did absolutely nothing and was wishing he would get subbed off. Second half I thought he battled well so fair play to him.

CL0762
28-09-2019, 03:19 PM
Still not seeing enough from him. Ran about a lot but always seemed to be chasing. He never quite seems to be there. And didn’t really offer much on the ball.

Agreed. Seemed scared to turn with the ball at times happy just to give it back to the centre halves/keeper most of the time.

Think there’s a player in there though.

28-09-2019, 03:20 PM
He showed a bit of steel in midfield today, wasnt fancy football but we need someone in there doing the less glamorous side of the game and he done it well today

28-09-2019, 03:22 PM
I thought of the two Hallberg was far more deserving of praise, really covered the defence well today which is what we've been missing big time.

DTS
28-09-2019, 03:27 PM
Since moving to him and hallberg protecting the back 4 we look a lot more secure, for me him and hallberg have the CDM slot and mallan will drop out in games where we want to attack more for Horgan/newell/Murray/kamberi

Bob Box Fish
28-09-2019, 03:31 PM
Vela was anonymous today, as he has been in every game since he joined. Mallan, Allan and Hallberg played well, as did Middleton.

28-09-2019, 03:32 PM
Vela was anonymous today, as he has been in every game since he joined. Mallan, Allan and Hallberg played well, as did Middleton.

Nonsense. Might not think he played well but he was certainly not anonymous.

28-09-2019, 03:33 PM

Not a chance you seen the game today if you thought middleton played well

28-09-2019, 03:34 PM
I think Middleton looked a bit lost. He was up against a good back to be fair. On another day he'll be dangerous.

28-09-2019, 03:35 PM
I think Middleton looked a bit lost. He was up against a good back to be fair. On another day he'll be dangerous.

Is he any better than horgan though?

28-09-2019, 03:35 PM

Middleton was more anonymous than Vela today.

28-09-2019, 04:11 PM
Middleton was our poorest player today. Vela did ok I thought.

28-09-2019, 04:27 PM
Vela has a wee channel he runs from the box to the half way line, he's lazy and hardly puts a challenge in, makes himself look busy without really doing anything.

28-09-2019, 04:29 PM

I agree. I thought Vela was a passenger.

Robbo6-2
28-09-2019, 04:59 PM
The weakest link imo.

He is a ghost.

Poor first half and slightly better 2nd but doesn't do enough for me.

duffers
28-09-2019, 05:23 PM
I too was very impressed with Vela today

28-09-2019, 05:26 PM
I too was very impressed with Vela today

Same here. He and Hallberg are starting to look like a decent central pairing. Considering they were up against the best midfield in the league, they both did well.

28-09-2019, 05:34 PM
Middleton was our poorest player today. Vela did ok I thought.

I’d agree with this

28-09-2019, 05:35 PM
I thought of the two Hallberg was far more deserving of praise, really covered the defence well today which is what we've been missing big time.

Agree. Keeps the ball well. Vela, IMO, does a lot of chasing but that’s because he’s never quite there quick enough in the first place.

I think with games Hallberg could be a good player.

28-09-2019, 05:40 PM
He’s the first of the five today that I’d look to replace. Just floated about, wasn’t up with play at times and didn’t do much of anything else.

duffers
28-09-2019, 07:36 PM
He’s the first of the five today that I’d look to replace. Just floated about, wasn’t up with play at times and didn’t do much of anything else.

From that, I’m taking it that 5 players didn’t get pass marks from you today? I was obviously at a different game. I wasn’t overly convinced with Middleton, other than that, every player done enough to get pass marks IMO

Bob Box Fish
29-09-2019, 09:49 AM
Vella reminds me very much of Brian Hamilton, just floating around having little impact on the game, maybe Hearts will fill their boots and take him off our hands?

29-09-2019, 10:04 AM
Vella reminds me very much of Brian Hamilton, just floating around having little impact on the game, maybe Hearts will fill their boots and take him off our hands?

Or maybe he'll win the league cup here.

29-09-2019, 10:07 AM

Brian Hamilton was better than Vela

:cb

29-09-2019, 11:16 AM
He reminds me of Fyvie.

29-09-2019, 11:20 AM
It annoys me how he gets little to no credit by some for his pressing and winning the ball back, he certainly has a bit of bite and dig about him.

He can influence games more, especially on the ball however.

He gets about the pitch well and seems to be at the edge of the box waiting for cut backs

29-09-2019, 11:28 AM
What a negative bunch we are? Always looking for someone to bitch about.

DavidDavidGray
29-09-2019, 12:00 PM
Been one of his biggest critics so far but thought yesterday was a good performance from him, admittedly one of his first in a Hibs shirt but thought he won the ball back well and was good with timing interceptions. Room for improvement obviously but couldn’t complain about anything he did

29-09-2019, 12:15 PM
I thought he would be a lot better with the reputation he came with in all honesty. He reminds me of when Lewis played in the middle of the pitch under Calderwood.

29-09-2019, 12:23 PM
I thought he would be a lot better with the reputation he came with in all honesty. He reminds me of when Lewis played in the middle of the pitch under Calderwood.

Think it shows how vastly over rated the English Championship and League one are.

29-09-2019, 12:24 PM
Think it shows how vastly over rated the English Championship and League one are.

Aye, it’s a massive eye opener.

cmcd
29-09-2019, 12:30 PM
Aye, it’s a massive eye opener.

I thought Vela was just fine but Middleton not for the first time was not at the races.Would rather have Horgan wide .opinions Eh

29-09-2019, 12:33 PM
I thought Vela was just fine but Middleton not for the first time was not at the races.Would rather have Horgan wide .opinions Eh

He was fine, I expected more when he signed though, Middleton I agree on. He looks void of confidence.

29-09-2019, 12:36 PM
He was fine, I expected more when he signed though, Middleton I agree on. He looks void of confidence.

I’m just not sure he’s very good. For a winger he doesn’t seem to have a trick. He’s not particularly quick. I’m not really sure what he offers.

29-09-2019, 12:40 PM
I’m just not sure he’s very good. For a winger he doesn’t seem to have a trick. He’s not particularly quick. I’m not really sure what he offers.

He looked very good for the national 21s.

Here’s Lucy!
29-09-2019, 12:55 PM
Came with a good reputation and has, so far, failed to impress.

Like Mallan though, almost undroppable in the eyes of the manager.

29-09-2019, 01:24 PM
Our team as a whole is average to poor, yesterday was a game they could all shine as they just needed to do one job, defend.

Ask this lot to take the game to a team and that's when they will struggle, they just cant do both jobs in attacking and defending, most of them just don't have the legs or the desire to do both.

This will result in us playing in lots of boring games where the football will be dire and the results poor.

Sorry to piss on everyone's cornflakes, but in my opinion this is how it is.

29-09-2019, 01:32 PM
Our team as a whole is average to poor, yesterday was a game they could all shine as they just needed to do one job, defend.

Ask this lot to take the game to a team and that's when they will struggle, they just cant do both jobs in attacking and defending, most of them just don't have the legs or the desire to do both.

This will result in us playing in lots of boring games where the football will be dire and the results poor.

Sorry to piss n everyone's cornflakes, but in my opinion this is how it is.

Very hard to argue against in all honesty.

29-09-2019, 01:34 PM

Horgan is horrific unless overstruck crosses and an inability to beat the full back is your thing.
Middleton did a lot of good defensive work which was probably the reason he managed little in forward areas.
It is what was required to keep Celtic out.

29-09-2019, 01:37 PM
I thought Vela did well.

He’s certainly not impressed overall though but sometimes you need to give players time to settle and get to grips with a league.

I’m still hopeful that there is a lot more to come from him and certainly not ready to label him Brian Hamilton yet!!

29-09-2019, 01:40 PM

The team have improved their effort over the last 2 games but the bits in bold above is a criticism still to be addressed and could be the next storm on the Heckenbottom horizon in the league matches against the smaller teams after the Aberdeen match.

29-09-2019, 01:47 PM

Spot on!

Just cannae see this lot scoring no pace or penetration no guile

Need to get Boyle back and would love to see Flo and Doidge playing together up front

H18S NX
29-09-2019, 01:53 PM

Sorry to piss on everyone's cornflakes, but in my opinion this is how it is........Cannae argue with that m8 :top marks

29-09-2019, 02:15 PM

I said similar elsewhere, liked the extra energy from yesterday but in general still a poor/average team, no pace but a lot of huffing and puffing without being overly dangerous in the final 3rd, looking forward to Boyle coming back.

hibeerealist
29-09-2019, 06:10 PM

Accurate summary for me BH, I will steer clear of your breakfasts though ta.

29-09-2019, 07:54 PM

But your opinion changes from game to game, a happy clapper one day a doom and gloomer the next.

my left peg
29-09-2019, 07:59 PM

Nah....give Fraser Murray a run of games.

29-09-2019, 08:02 PM
But your opinion changes from game to game, a happy clapper one day a doom and gloomer the next.

show me please.

LeithMike
29-09-2019, 08:05 PM

Good post. Our midfield is very static which does lend to being able to sit and defend but makes us very porous when we try to take the game to the opposition.

Wrong blend of players.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

AK86
29-09-2019, 09:22 PM
Vela just doesn't do enough. He is not particularly fast or energetic. He does not win many tackles, he doesn't make himself available for players with the ball, he does not offer a goal threat. He is one of these players who you have to look for during a game.
He is Tom taiwo, he has had a few games to bed in, and nothing makes me think he is anything more than average at best.
Quite simply, and maybe more accurate, he is not made for our league.
I would love to be proved wrong, but I'm quite confident I wont.

30-09-2019, 03:21 AM
Nah....give Fraser Murray a run of games.

Agree

Only player that shows any class composure and penetration on the ball apart from Scott Allan

Worries me that Hecky does not see this

Needs a run of 2-3 games to see if he can perform consistently as young players can be inconsistent and obviously Hecky and his team see him everyday

Looks like he is trying to shoehorn his duds into our team at the expense of homegrown natural talent

30-09-2019, 11:12 AM

Sense at last :agree: