View Full Version : What’s your favourite derby goal?

21-09-2019, 09:04 AM
Which of the goals we’ve scored against them over the years sticks out as a personal favourite? Not necessarily the best or most beautiful ones, but the ones that mean something to you...

Mine is Eddie May sliding in to score in the last win we had against them before they went on a load of draws and some wins against us, because it’s really the first derby goal that I can vividly remember seeing in the flesh.

21-09-2019, 09:06 AM
Archibald at tynecastle , I was about 10 and lost my dad in the swayze , Didn't care i was going absolutely mental

thegaffer12
21-09-2019, 09:08 AM
Shinnie making it 3-0 at home when Cathro was in charge. Celebrated McGregor's even more before it was chalked off 😭

CloudSquall
21-09-2019, 09:13 AM
O'Connor in the "unbeatable" derby, caused absolute mayhem in the stands.

21-09-2019, 09:14 AM
Gary OConnors last gasp winner 1-0 in 2003 in the Brebner Red Card, half time pitch invasion, entire 2nd half with 10 men, Bollahs 7 year old daughters first Hibs game' Derby. The East went absolutely tonto.

21-09-2019, 09:17 AM
Latapys half volley in 6-2 game. Just quality from start to hitting the net.

21-09-2019, 09:23 AM
Benji’s winner against them. Absolutely magical.

21-09-2019, 09:23 AM
Zemmama v Hearts 2006 first 5 minutes. Sent Gordon and Pressley back to tynie in one movement and just passed it into the corner

21-09-2019, 09:43 AM
Sauzees goal at tynecastle in 1999

21-09-2019, 09:48 AM
Riordons exocet from 25 yards past Craig Gordon at the away end

Gave the smellies a first class view

21-09-2019, 09:49 AM
ALL of them against that manky mob

21-09-2019, 09:50 AM
Crops 2md goal in a fine 3-1 win at New Year 1974 was a thing of beauty. The crowd was 36,000. We then went on a 12 game unbeaten run against them.

21-09-2019, 09:58 AM
Geebsie. 27th August 1994 at Tynecastle to end 22 in a row. At last!

21-09-2019, 10:07 AM
Best ones from games I have been at:

February 2004: Derek Riordan from 30 yards. One of my first derbies and was sat in the front row middle of the West Stand. As soon as he hit it you just knew. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNi_g16Ra_U
April 2006: Abdessalam Benjelloun on 78 minutes, runs the length of the pitch to wind up the Jambos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDF9SweCJYk
April 2019: 7th or 8th visit to Tynecastle without a win for me. Horgan finally puts that to bed. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHeE4BcykHg

Absolutely love the derbies. No matter how awful either team may be, you are usually served up with something unexpected or ridiculous.

Hibiza
21-09-2019, 10:07 AM
Latapys half volley in 6-2 game. Just quality from start to hitting the net. beat me to it Nicho .just sublime.

21-09-2019, 10:08 AM
Big Gaz scoring the second in the unbeatable derby or John O’Neil equalising under Sauzee in the last min over there.

21-09-2019, 10:09 AM
Archibald at tynecastle , I was about 10 and lost my dad in the swayze , Didn't care i was going absolutely mental

I was fortunate enough to meet Archie a few years back and he still said it’s the most mental scenes he’d ever seen after scoring a goal.

21-09-2019, 10:12 AM
Brian Kerr's early goal that proved to be the winner in the first game of season mid 00's at Tynecastle. Fell down about 3 rows celebrating, my mate did the same and dislocated his shoulder. Carnage. One of those celebrations when you're absolutely knackered after it. Brilliant.

21-09-2019, 10:29 AM
Remember being at tynie when John O’Neil scored in the last minute to make it 1-1. I’ve never seen so many bits of plastic flying everywhere.

One of my first Edinburgh derby’s I think

eezyrider
21-09-2019, 10:30 AM
Garry OConnor's last minute goal in the 1-0 in 2003. Down to 10 men and up against it - this was pure magic.

EZ

Gloucester Hibs
21-09-2019, 10:31 AM
John O’Neil’s late equaliser was a good one, pandemonium in the Roseburn, got pushed about 3 rows forward, shins cut to ribbons! Dean Shiels winner was similar craziness.

21-09-2019, 10:32 AM
Gary OConnors last gasp winner 1-0 in 2003 in the Brebner Red Card, half time pitch invasion, entire 2nd half with 10 men, Bollahs 7 year old daughters first Hibs game' Derby. The East went absolutely tonto.

This is always the one that sticks in the memory for me too. Think it was because it was so unexpected. East was relatively sparse where I was standing too but those who were there went bonkers!

21-09-2019, 10:51 AM
Archibald at Tynecastle. Was in the away end and it went mental!

Juice-Terry
21-09-2019, 10:55 AM
Hanlon's equaliser at Tynie in the Scottish Cup - the one that forced a 'money spinning' replay. :greengrin

Weegreenman
21-09-2019, 11:03 AM
Brian Kerr's early goal that proved to be the winner in the first game of season mid 00's at Tynecastle. Fell down about 3 rows celebrating, my mate did the same and dislocated his shoulder. Carnage. One of those celebrations when you're absolutely knackered after it. Brilliant.

I remember that game well. Was at the game with a family member who’s now sadly passed away. Great memories of us going absolutely wild after we scored and then after the final whistle standing on our seats and singing our full repertoire and basically ripping the pish out of any Jambo that were brave enough to hang around.
It was such an inconspicuous goal we scored that day, never thought for one second it would turn out to be the winner! RIP J

Skol
21-09-2019, 11:07 AM
Sauzee in the Millenium Derby was worth a celebration

Weegreenman
21-09-2019, 11:12 AM
Two of the best well worked “ pure football” for me has to Horgan’s at Tynie and Latapy’s in the 6-2.

Shear class! No luck involved whatsoever!

Marvellous
21-09-2019, 11:16 AM
Latapy, 6-2 game. The announcer guy played “why does my heart feel so bad” by Moby after all the goals that night, still get chills thinking about it.

21-09-2019, 12:02 PM
Hanlon's equaliser at Tynie in the Scottish Cup - the one that forced a 'money spinning' replay. :greengrin

I’ve never celebrated an equaliser like that - proper limbs in the Roseburn Stand. There was an immediate sense that the goal was a hugely important one, but nobody really could foresee that it was one of the most pivotal goal in the clubs history. Almost as important as Gray’s winner. Get goosebumps and occasional damp eyes when viewing Hanlon's goal at Tynecastle. There’s been more spectacular derby goals, but none as important.

21-09-2019, 12:07 PM
John O’Neil’s late equaliser was a good one, pandemonium in the Roseburn, got pushed about 3 rows forward, shins cut to ribbons! Dean Shiels winner was similar craziness.

Sauzee was manager iirc..Riordan have the lay off ...

21-09-2019, 12:08 PM
Stanton’s equalising header in the 118th minute versus Hearts at Tiny and just to rub it in VAR said it was offside 😁

21-09-2019, 12:13 PM
Anyone mention Joe McBride jr Free kick at the Duncandome yet? That was joyous....

21-09-2019, 12:16 PM
Hanlon 90+1

21-09-2019, 12:27 PM
Archie’s goal was brilliant and probably tops it for me, but I remember Harper scoring the winner in the season we got relegated. The scenes in the old east were epic, I remember when the game finished everyone stayed until the team came back out.

21-09-2019, 12:29 PM
Brian Kerr at Tynecastle. Could've won by 2 or 3 that day. Near enough had a heart attack I went that mental celebrating

21-09-2019, 12:33 PM
Paul Hanlons equaliser at Tynecastle. Mayhem in the away end and of course it means so much more because we went on to win it. Probably one of the most important goals in the clubs history. Without that 21.05.2016 would never have happened.

Hearts thought the game was won that day by HT and in fairness many hibs teams in the past would have crumbled being 2-0 down at tynecastle but that team had a great mentality. That day gave them a real shock, they never expected that from us.

Absolutely magic looking back and the fond memories of the jambos at 2-0 singing Cheer up Alan Stubbs, 1902 etc etc :greengrin Absolutely beautiful. It absolutely SICKENS them no end that they were just minutes away from stopping us win the cup. Just a couple more minutes to hold on and all their 114 years, 1902, big team big cup etc patter would all still be in tact. They'll tell you it doesn't bother them but the more honest jambos will tell you that that is a sickner.

Clarence
21-09-2019, 12:38 PM
Kevin Harper’s volley in 1996. Jackson chipped it into the box, Keith Keith Keith headered it back to the edge of the box and Harper volleyed it sweetly passed Rousset. Queue a crazy celebration.

Just_Jimmy
21-09-2019, 12:44 PM
O'Neill in the 6-2 game. Great finish but more cos the wee man was outstanding that night. He was a top player for Hibs and the way he was treated at the end was very poor.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

21-09-2019, 12:50 PM
Hanlon at Tynie.

Caldwell at tynie was scenes. Last minute to win it.

Horgans second last year.

All the goals in the 3-1 were superb.

Just in general all of the goals against them haha

1959 Hibby
21-09-2019, 12:53 PM
First Hibs goal I ever saw: Alex Cropley at Tynecastle 1971

21-09-2019, 01:01 PM
Deeks volley for consolation goal at the bus shelter.

21-09-2019, 01:02 PM
Stanton's when the pubs open at Tynecastle goal.

21-09-2019, 01:31 PM
Cannot separate Archibald (PBS) Sauzee (PBS) Latapy (6-2)Griffiths (PBS ,free kick ) Deeks screamer past lady boy Gordon (ER) All joint first ,with special mention to Cummings and Hanlon (PBS )

21-09-2019, 03:45 PM
Sauzee's Teeth has to be worth a mention.

21-09-2019, 04:03 PM
From games I've been at I'd say Benji and O'Connor. Both late winners. The old east was bedlam for late winners especially against they mutants

Games I've missed. Riordan pen when we expected a tanking or the Hanlon equaliser in the cup game. Both caused major scenes and i wasn't even in attendance so can only imagine what it was like in the roseburn stand

21-09-2019, 04:04 PM
Albert Kidd, 1986.

21-09-2019, 05:09 PM

Mine too, probably my favourite ever Hibs goal, the way he hit is is something you can’t coach, you can work on timing and positioning etc but that was one of the most natural strikes of a football I’ve ever seen. I was right in line with it and the ball never budged in the air, stunning. Right footed cross by Murphy too!

21-09-2019, 05:28 PM
Tomorrow's winner will be right up there for me!!

21-09-2019, 05:29 PM
Sauzees goal at tynecastle in 1999

Big Gaz scoring the second in the unbeatable derby or John O’Neil equalising under Sauzee in the last min over there.

Stanton’s equalising header in the 118th minute versus Hearts at Tiny and just to rub it in VAR said it was offside 😁

Kevin Harper’s volley in 1996. Jackson chipped it into the box, Keith Keith Keith headered it back to the edge of the box and Harper volleyed it sweetly passed Rousset. Queue a crazy celebration.

Was at them all hard to pick the best :cb

21-09-2019, 05:31 PM
👍

21-09-2019, 05:31 PM

Struggle to find a better taken goal in any league in the world. A quite incredible finish. Such a shame it counted for nothing, if it had been a last minute equaliser or winner it would be played on repeat forever

BS44
21-09-2019, 05:39 PM
Hanlon 90+1

I can't decide between Hanlon or Cummings header in the same game

21-09-2019, 05:47 PM

Has to be this one for me as well. Worked with a load of Jambos during our dreadful run and took lots of stick. My son and I went mental when that goal went in.

HibeeHibernian4
21-09-2019, 05:49 PM

My answer too.

21-09-2019, 05:54 PM
Stanton's goal, deeeeeep into injury time at Tynie....sceenes

21-09-2019, 06:04 PM
Hanlon equaliser at Tynie. Never felt better at any game. Thought my head was going to pop.

21-09-2019, 06:06 PM
Geebsie. 27th August 1994 at Tynecastle to end 22 in a row. At last! I'm between Geebsie and Harper's Wonderland

21-09-2019, 06:15 PM

That was a very special moment which caused bedlam in the support. It has to be right up there for both impact and significance.

21-09-2019, 08:08 PM
Ulysses De La Cruz cross cum shot in the opening minutes followed up by a tap in in a 2-1 home win

700k well spent

GIRFUY!

hibs#1
22-09-2019, 10:25 AM
Wotherspoons in the cup.

sean04
22-09-2019, 10:26 AM

This for me, it was the icing on the cake to a demolition job. We were taking the pi55

22-09-2019, 10:42 AM
I’ve never celebrated an equaliser like that - proper limbs in the Roseburn Stand. There was an immediate sense that the goal was a hugely important one, but nobody really could foresee that it was one of the most pivotal goal in the clubs history. Almost as important as Gray’s winner. Get goosebumps and occasional damp eyes when viewing Hanlon's goal at Tynecastle. There’s been more spectacular derby goals, but none as important.

The lack of spectacular-ness is what makes it spectacular. Bouncing back from a save, Hanlon on the turn with his weak foot, puts it goalbound with little pace while falling over, and it squeezes through. :thumbsup:

CathroMustStay
22-09-2019, 10:53 AM
Loved Scotty Allan's 2 seasons ago.

Brilliant technique.

22-09-2019, 10:55 AM
As others have said the Hanlon equaliser.

Any last minute equaliser will be well celebrated but that one was extra special. We deserved to win not just a draw that day. We edged an even 1st half yet went in 2 goals down then battered them in the 2nd half.

I've never celebrated a goal like that. Even the winner in the final didn't compare as there was a bit of shellshock. It was absolute bedlam, I was sitting separate from family and friends but you would never have known it. Total strangers grabbing and hugging each other, folk spilling forward 5 and 6 rows. A wee laddie in front of me fell over the seat in front and a group of guys fell on top of him. He was in tears and when I asked if he was OK he just said 'Aye, I'm just so happy.'

One of those moments that you just hope to experience when you go to the football and it was a privilege to be there.

22-09-2019, 10:58 AM
The lack of spectacular-ness is what makes it spectacular. Bouncing back from a save, Hanlon on the turn with his weak foot, puts it goalbound with little pace while falling over, and it squeezes through. :thumbsup:

Don't forget Jamie Walker falling on his erse just as the ball leave Hanlons foot and trickles towards the net. That adds a nice comedy element.

hibsmad
22-09-2019, 11:03 AM
Boozy in the unbeatable derby. I absolutely lost the plot celebrating that goal.

Closely followed by Hanlon in the Scottish cup.

22-09-2019, 11:19 AM
Pat Quinns 3rd at Tynie in 1967

green viper
22-09-2019, 11:23 AM
Hanlons equaliser v hearts wouldnt have won the cup without it lol

22-09-2019, 11:26 AM
Counting only those that I saw in person (which rules out a few of the obvious answers):

Based on quality: Riordan's long-range curler in 2004.

Based on circumstances, celebration etc: O'Connor in the ten men derby.

22-09-2019, 11:42 AM
Sauzee at PBS in 1999. I wasn’t at the 2-2 cup game or I suspect it would be the equaliser.

22-09-2019, 12:07 PM

That's mine and I'm including the 0-7 in that.

22-09-2019, 12:12 PM
As others have said the Hanlon equaliser.

Any last minute equaliser will be well celebrated but that one was extra special. We deserved to win not just a draw that day. We edged an even 1st half yet went in 2 goals down then battered them in the 2nd half.

I've never celebrated a goal like that. Even the winner in the final didn't compare as there was a bit of shellshock. It was absolute bedlam, I was sitting separate from family and friends but you would never have known it. Total strangers grabbing and hugging each other, folk spilling forward 5 and 6 rows. A wee laddie in front of me fell over the seat in front and a group of guys fell on top of him. He was in tears and when I asked if he was OK he just said 'Aye, I'm just so happy.'

One of those moments that you just hope to experience when you go to the football and it was a privilege to be there.

My feelings exactly, on both Hanlon's goal and Gray's.

The reaction to Hanlon's was pure ecstasy whereas Gray's was just surreal. I felt like there was a risk of it being disallowed for about 5 minutes. Can't imagine how nervy I would've been if VAR was around.

22-09-2019, 12:18 PM
My feelings exactly, on both Hanlon's goal and Gray's.

The reaction to Hanlon's was pure ecstasy whereas Gray's was just surreal. I felt like there was a risk of it being disallowed for about 5 minutes. Can't imagine how nervy I would've been if VAR was around.

My mate was convinced Gunnarsson had scored I kept saying to him it was David Gray! David Gray! Sir David Gray!
Ya beauty!

22-09-2019, 12:26 PM
Wetherspoon in the cup was very important, not technically the best. They weren't getting the cup back after that! But Griffiths free kick was perfection.

22-09-2019, 12:41 PM
Latapy’s volley in the 6-2 game. Honourable mentions to O’Connor’s winner when we won 1-0 with ten men and Sauzee’s screamer in the Millennium derby.

22-09-2019, 01:31 PM
Spoony’s.