View Full Version : Big Ron

Torto7062
14-09-2019, 08:31 PM
I have a feeling he will be watching all what's been happening and forming an opinion on the steps forward.
For me the management has to change God knows who we would get. Maybe the Motherwell boss.
I'd also think the recruitment team might need shook up as well

Hibeewilly
14-09-2019, 08:33 PM
I have a feeling he will be watching all what's been happening and forming an opinion on the steps forward.
For me the management has to change God knows who we would get. Maybe the Motherwell boss.
I'd also think the recruitment team might need shook up as well
He was at the game today so saw it first hand

14-09-2019, 08:37 PM
Time for Ron to pony up.

14-09-2019, 08:39 PM
He was at the game today so saw it first hand

Was he?? :confused:

Hibeesforever
14-09-2019, 08:39 PM
Too late for the owner to step up with funds, these are the players until January...I think Ron will get a surprise at the ferocity of the Hibs support protest if things dont pick up...

14-09-2019, 08:41 PM

Did he not let you know he was attending like? I wonder if he has an away season ticket.

14-09-2019, 08:44 PM

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/70289712_1424465617702703_7064031337065218048_o.jp g?_nc_cat=101&_nc_oc=AQkpElPR6khZqbTAqGkMq5QhDUhqPiwb6M4L0OBnLuC aUgPLBs9x5jpQ_I-_YBIPknbD470AbGc4NJXlPBGD1ceU&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr3-1.xx&oh=7c59f18971ccfe891517ded2c3205d4c&oe=5DF4E7FF

Hibeewilly
14-09-2019, 08:45 PM
Yes HC.....a couple of the guys up at the back of our bus (Carlton) got their photo taken with him in the supporters bar under the main stand. He came in with a Killie director obviously being shown round after their revamp

14-09-2019, 08:47 PM
Yes HC.....a couple of the guys up at the back of our bus (Carlton) got their photo taken with him in the supporters bar under the main stand. He came in with a Killie director obviously being shown round after their revamp

You go on the Carlton?

Hibeewilly
14-09-2019, 08:48 PM
You go on the Carlton?
Yes......so do you:aok:

14-09-2019, 08:48 PM
Did he not let you know he was attending like? I wonder if he has an away season ticket.

Behave, usually people talk at games, never heard that he was there today. Glad he was though. He witnessed that pish first hand.

14-09-2019, 08:49 PM
Behave, usually people talk at games, never heard that he was there today. Glad he was though. He witnessed that pish first hand.

Seems like you’re out the loop bud.

14-09-2019, 08:50 PM
Yes......so do you:aok:

Aye. :aok:

14-09-2019, 08:51 PM
Whether he was there or not, Archie Paton is his eyes and ears as RP was to STF. Archie was there.

Hibs4185
14-09-2019, 08:51 PM
I always tell myself in various things I do that if things starts horribly, then it can only get better and it often does.

Hopefully Big Ron as the same optimism!

14-09-2019, 08:53 PM
He’s not had a very good start at the club.

He won’t have much to market or promote if things keep going the way they are. I guess we can have a community sports centre out at Tranent though.

14-09-2019, 08:54 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/70289712_1424465617702703_7064031337065218048_o.jp g?_nc_cat=101&_nc_oc=AQkpElPR6khZqbTAqGkMq5QhDUhqPiwb6M4L0OBnLuC aUgPLBs9x5jpQ_I-_YBIPknbD470AbGc4NJXlPBGD1ceU&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr3-1.xx&oh=7c59f18971ccfe891517ded2c3205d4c&oe=5DF4E7FF

Pretty inconclusive imo

14-09-2019, 09:00 PM
Pretty inconclusive imo

This is one of those whoosh moments right? Or do you suffer from glaucoma? :greengrin

14-09-2019, 09:01 PM
Whether he was there or not, Archie Paton is his eyes and ears as RP was to STF. Archie was there.

Do you think Paton picks the new manager or Dempster?

14-09-2019, 09:03 PM
When did Wee Ron become big Ron?

14-09-2019, 09:23 PM
Who?

14-09-2019, 09:28 PM
He’s a ****ing jinx get him to ****

14-09-2019, 09:29 PM
He’s a ****ing jinx get him to ****

[emoji23]

14-09-2019, 09:29 PM
Do you think Paton picks the new manager or Dempster?

That’s a very good question.

14-09-2019, 09:31 PM
This is one of those whoosh moments right? Or do you suffer from glaucoma? :greengrin
This made me chuckle, magic :aok:

EskbankHibby
14-09-2019, 09:38 PM
I’m fine about Ron and all things Hibs at the moment which might not seem too popular but there you are.

I know we are ***** in terms of results but, ironically, having seen the game today I thought we were pretty good in spells. Ron/the club have just advertised for 3 positions between 30-50k (2x50k positions) in commercial/relationship development- basically sales.

Ron, like all new gaffers, is monitoring and measuring. He’s acted on the commercial side of things as they are underperforming. He will be analysing the performance/football side of things with the same objective view.

Either Hecky turns it around (my hope) or he is measured as a failure and moved on.

That’s why I feel ok about things, it might be **** just now but it will get better with or without Hecky.

For the record if Hecky goes I don’t think it will be Christmas I think it will be in November. He has to be given time but a new manager would have to work with the squad before the January transfer window.

14-09-2019, 09:43 PM
So that’s two away games in a row he’s been at.Wonder why so many posters on different threads think he’s disappeared or is elusive?

14-09-2019, 09:51 PM
If we lose to Hertz he will have a big decision to make. After today its clear most of the fans have lost faith in the manager, carry that form on into the derby and we could be looking at hundreds demonstrating in the car park post match, something that hasnt happended after a match since the end days of Pat Fenlon.

Welcome to the fun filled world of club ownership Ron.

14-09-2019, 09:54 PM
If we lose to Hertz he will have a big decision to make. After today its clear most of the fans have lost faith in the manager, carry that form on into the derby and we could be looking at hundreds demonstrating in the car park post match, something that hasnt happended after a match since the end days of Pat Fenlon.

Welcome to the fun filled world of club ownership Ron.

Happened under Butcher when we got relegated by Hamilton? That got particularly nasty if IIRC.

14-09-2019, 10:33 PM

Welcome to the fun filled world of club ownership Ron.Don`t remember demonstrations before Fenlon left . His record as manager wasn`t great but still one of the best of our managers in the last 20 years . Has a better managerial CV ( not just at Hibs ) than Stubbs for example .

14-09-2019, 10:38 PM
He was in Scotland over the two week international break I’m sure. I’m sure Archie Paton will be keeping him right outside of anything being fed to him by LD etc. He isn’t daft and will know it can’t continue for much longer.

19-09-2019, 12:05 PM
I was probably just too young to really understand what was going on with Celtic, even if i was aware of it at the time, but just listening to Si Ferry's latest interview with Peter Grant, it got me wondering if there could be similarities between Ron Gordon buying Hibs and Fergus McCann at Celtic?

People that remember it better than me may correct me on this but did he not come in and focus on the infrastructure at Celtic rather than the team at first? Sure his first priority was redeveloping Celtic Park? I think he also let Tommy Burns remain in charge for a good while and it was a wee while before he really let his presence be felt?

Maybe not and i could be talking rubbish but it was just a thought i had when Peter Grant was talking about Fergus McCann.

19-09-2019, 12:47 PM
He first had to stop Celtic going bust for which he never forgave Bank of Scotland.He then cleared out any remnants of the Kellys and the Whites.He didn’t buy into the ridiculous salaries they had been paying players and of course wouldn’t(quite rightly)Give Paul McStay or the “three amigos” long term contracts .For this He was hated by many Celtic fans.After all what had he done but saved the club and won the league and rebuilt the stadium and made money for the club and himself.

19-09-2019, 01:00 PM
What height is "Big Ron"? Is he actually tall?

Or is this just our version of "Mr" Romanov?

19-09-2019, 01:48 PM
What height is "Big Ron"? Is he actually tall?

Or is this just our version of "Mr" Romanov?

https://i2-prod.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article17349287.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_19119778.jpg

Smaller than both Big Rod Petrie, and Big Leanne Dempster, though bigger than the diminutive Tom Farmer.

Torto7
19-09-2019, 01:50 PM
He first had to stop Celtic going bust for which he never forgave Bank of Scotland.He then cleared out any remnants of the Kellys and the Whites.He didn’t buy into the ridiculous salaries they had been paying players and of course wouldn’t(quite rightly)Give Paul McStay or the “three amigos” long term contracts .For this He was hated by many Celtic fans.After all what had he done but saved the club and won the league and rebuilt the stadium and made money for the club and himself.

He was friends with my dad and came to visit our house a couple of times when we were wee. My dad used to work for Tom Farmer(he edited the kwik fit magazine) and McCann used to have regular meetings with Sir Tom at his offices in Murrayfield. I think they shared an outlook on business and society in general.

All I remember of him as was that he was an absolute midget. Even at that age he was barely teller than me and my brother.

Of course McCann had to build a stadium and was smart enough to know how big Celtics potential support was.

Ron Gordon already has a stadium built.

I think he's sticking to learning the ins and outs of the business at the moment and will start to make moves around the turn of the year. What that'll involve is anyone's guess. I can't imagine a guy like Archie Paton is too impressed with our corporate dealings. He's been involved with some big sporting brands on that side of things. Munster, Atp tour, Golf etc.

I reckon there will be some folk very unsettled by the takeover which is human nature but I do wonder if that atmosphere behind the scenes is contributing to the dire start to the season.