View Full Version : The young team
27-09-2019, 08:16 AM
They'll go the same way as all wee Ultra groups if they carry this on. Other than the Green Brigade, Union Bears and the Crystal Palace guys every group similar to this has ended up packing it in and all for pretty much the same reason - they end up segregating themselves from the wider support due to their antics and it ends up being 30 fannies acting like wee fannies.
Motherwell away was a great example of leading the chanting. Get down the front of a stand/section and try and lead the singing. Granted you can't control everyone about you but if someone is singing a song you don't like don't provide a drumbeat to it and start something else. Sing Hibs songs FFS. Mercer is a **** and i'm glad he's pan breid but at Killie away in a cup game i couldn't give one **** about him or his wife. I've been to stacks of Republic marches and Rebel nights over the years and a decent interest in Irish politics but again, couldn't give a **** about rebel songs at a Hibs match - that's Celtic's thing, similar to Hertz its Rangers' thing when they try it.
Get down the front, try and control your members and the block, get Hibs songs sung and Hibs flags flying and watch people support you. Keep up with the cringey pish like the shoes off nonsense, the heat of lisbon song for Scott Allan and the Mercer song and you'll end up like the other 99% of ultra/singing groups in this country.
Another problem is our away support as a whole. Other than Tynie, Ibrox and Parkhead our travelling support is truly abysmal. No singing, no standing, no colour, little backing or passion. Not strictly us, other than Rangers and Celtic the rest of the country are the same. Like going to the theatre now.
27-09-2019, 08:49 AM
I bet you half the people moaning about this did not even attend the game and think they have the right to say these guys are not fans. If you have a problem with what they are singing sing over them do something other than comming on the internet and being a keyboard warrior. For some reason .netters seem to think they are a higher brand of Hibs fans.
I'm always surprised at how many Hibs fans make out that they're a higher brand of Hibs fan than .netters.
Truth is, neither is true. There are erses that use .net, and there are erses that don't.
The clever folk are able to separate individual posters' views from an entire website/forum.
27-09-2019, 08:56 AM
...There are erses that use .net....
Thanks Matty, it's nice to have one's talents recognised
😉
27-09-2019, 09:11 AM
There's a problem knowing what each group is and represents. Is 'since 1875' the group that organise the display, and are they the same as the 'singing section' in block 25?
I still don't know the answer to my question, can anybody explain the different groups, please?
27-09-2019, 09:23 AM
I bet you half the people moaning about this did not even attend the game and think they have the right to say these guys are not fans. If you have a problem with what they are singing sing over them do something other than comming on the internet and being a keyboard warrior. For some reason .netters seem to think they are a higher brand of Hibs fans.
Gie yersel peace.
They are Hibs fans. That's the problem.
HibeeHibernian4
27-09-2019, 09:54 AM
I still don't know the answer to my question, can anybody explain the different groups, please?
Since 1875 organise the displays and are located in Section 25 of the Famous Five.
At away games they seem to be joined by hanger ons who are younger and shall we say edgier with their songbook.
27-09-2019, 10:02 AM
Valid point.
And more singers wouldn’t go a miss. ER is dead.
You think ER is dead now lucky for you that you missed the 80's. But we survived that and will survive this.
27-09-2019, 10:14 AM
Boring old has been moaners. Damn... guilty. :greengrin
I’m written a song about the young team in response.
“I hate you all because you are younger and better looking than me.
And have hair.
And teeth. “
It does need some work. :greengrin
Has potential...
You could be capo of the over 50's ultra's where we have tartan rugs instead of banners. Half pint and nip over red bull and whatever. Civilised chat about cricket rather than shouting about the UDA....
27-09-2019, 10:42 AM
It’s quite simple really, as much as 99.99999% of us will agree about the UDA being ****bags, we don’t want to hear Hibs supporters singing sectarian nonsense, nor do we want to be seen to be tolerating the equally ****my IRA for instance, neither do we want to seen as some cringey, embarrassing wannabe wee Celtic.
I went 10 ish years from 16 to when I started working weekends over the last few years and you’re lucky if I missed 15/20 away games in that time (and yes I’ll have sung a rake of close to the bone stuff, but never anything sectarian), so fairly sure I’m more than qualified to give my opinion. Yes, going to Rugby Park on a Wednesday night qualifies you as a Hibs supporter but if folk want to sing garbage about Irish militant groups then you’d be more suited going to watch one of the Glaswegian clubs that tolerate that Neanderthal, knuckle dragging pish.
Quite embarrassing how much a certain element are determined for us to be seen as Celtics wee cousins. The vast majority of us couldn’t care less about singing sectarian crap or Irish politics here I’m afraid. That’s no being easily offended or a snowflake as believe you me I’m as far removed from that as you can get, just a case of not wanting lumped in beside Old Firm gluebag bigots who lap up that *****
Couldn't agree more with that. You have got to admire the young teams passion for the club and the singing is in the main absolutely superb however they really need to stop the mini Celtic guff.
Helensburghhibs
27-09-2019, 11:12 AM
Since 1875 organise the displays and are located in Section 25 of the Famous Five.
At away games they seem to be joined by hanger ons who are younger and shall we say edgier with their songbook.
Out of interest and this may be the issue you may have distancing the group from it. Does the banner and the drum not belong to your group?
27-09-2019, 01:33 PM
You think ER is dead now lucky for you that you missed the 80's. But we survived that and will survive this.
Wasn’t suggesting it’s a chronic issue, more that everyone has a part to play in creating an atmosphere. Not just a select few.
27-09-2019, 01:43 PM
About time they made up a song we can all get behind how about one for that admin pricks.
27-09-2019, 02:48 PM
Has potential...
You could be capo of the over 50's ultra's where we have tartan rugs instead of banners. Half pint and nip over red bull and whatever. Civilised chat about cricket rather than shouting about the UDA....
27-09-2019, 03:38 PM
Has potential...
I heard there was a race to get into the over 50s ultras, it's the balderdash.