View Full Version : Get Hecky to ****
18-09-2019, 10:27 PM
Genuinely curious as to why? Appreciate Lennon going to Celtic was hard to accept, but why didn't you give our new manager a chance?
Maybe I'm too soft but I'll give every new player/manager the benefit of doubt before being critical.
Agree. Weird not to give new guy time.
18-09-2019, 10:45 PM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1174419009036419072?s=21
I’ve said before that I quite like the guy but wee interviews like this haven’t done him much good when it comes to his popularity I don’t think.
It’s just a wee thing and it’s a throw away comment about the fans that ‘judge them on a game to game basis’ (or words to that effect)
To me there’s a bit of an implication there that he knows more than the fans that are only judging him on a game to game basis, like there’s some sort of bigger picture that we can’t see that he can.
Would that be so wrong to imply? He knows far more about the game than anyone on here.
18-09-2019, 11:08 PM
Would that be so wrong to imply? He knows far more about the game than anyone on here.
The point wasn’t whether he was right or wrong it was about his perceived arrogance.
Making condescending remarks like that about his own support, along with his smart arse ‘I didn’t know there was a law against taking Scott Allan off’ definitely show him up to be arrogant imo
19-09-2019, 05:48 AM
The point wasn’t whether he was right or wrong it was about his perceived arrogance.
Making condescending remarks like that about his own support, along with his smart arse ‘I didn’t know there was a law against taking Scott Allan off’ definitely show him up to be arrogant imo
To be fair to him his next interview he admitted the comment re Scott Allan was flippant. I have watched a lot of his interviews on Hibs YouTube channel and they have been good imo personable upbeat so not sure where the character assassination comes in. The bottom line is the results and performances have been poor however some do seem desperate not to give him the chance to turn it round. He has brought in 10 players on no planet was there not going to be a transition period. The signs aren't great until now though who knows what a Derby win can do.
19-09-2019, 05:57 AM
If only Heckingbottom had a piss easy start to his Hibs career like our previous manager did. He inherited a shambles, got us into the top six somehow and is now trying to build a new team. It doesn't happen over night. Pundits are saying we were good for long spells on Saturday, disgruntled fans are saying we were rotten. Truth is we're probably somewhere in the middle. We'll win the derby and probably push on.
19-09-2019, 06:18 AM
If only Heckingbottom had a piss easy start to his Hibs career like our previous manager did. He inherited a shambles, got us into the top six somehow and is now trying to build a new team. It doesn't happen over night. Pundits are saying we were good for long spells on Saturday, disgruntled fans are saying we were rotten. Truth is we're probably somewhere in the middle. We'll win the derby and probably push on.
Like the optimism... but it is not a “overnight” expectation here ...
We have been poor in every game since the split last season
We are now 10-11 games into competitive matches this season - and look soft and lack punch ..
we are not as bad as the angry fans suggest - but neither do we look like winning games ..it’s a horrible combo
How long would you give it if we get beat on Sunday ?
19-09-2019, 06:24 AM
I would normally be in complete agreement with you, managers who have been involved in the game for 30 odd years will know more than the likes of me.
The fact he thought we didn’t need a defensive midfielder has me questioning whether he knows Scottish football as much as some of us though, if he also thinks he’ll get the chance to implement long term plans without being judged on a week to week basis he’s either not as smart as he thinks or he’s naive. If there is some great master plan that only football experts like him can see he needs to combine that with some short term progress too, otherwise he won’t get the chance or budget to implement his plans.
19-09-2019, 06:34 AM
To be fair to him his next interview he admitted the comment re Scott Allan was flippant. I have watched a lot of his interviews on Hibs YouTube channel and they have been good imo personable upbeat so not sure where the character assassination comes in. The bottom line is the results and performances have been poor however some do seem desperate not to give him the chance to turn it round. He has brought in 10 players on no planet was there not going to be a transition period. The signs aren't great until now though who knows what a Derby win can do.
Ah, the old transition period excuse. Not seen that one since Collins, Mixu, Yogi, Calderwood and Butcher.
What I like about that particular excuse is that it always seems to ignore the other sides in our league that are doing well with just as many new signings.
FWIW I've probably peddled that same idea at one of those points. Unfortunately time tells you that it's usually just the straw that you clutch when there's literally nothing left to be positive about.
19-09-2019, 06:42 AM
I would gie him time alright. Two years in Saughton for playing winless, boring football.
19-09-2019, 06:46 AM
Wait, is there two 90+2 posters?
On one post he’s “not got a clue” and the next it’s “weird to not give the new guy time”.
I’m confused
19-09-2019, 07:06 AM
But lots of fans didn’t take to him before he was a failure.
True.
Harsh, unfair... and probably correct, as it turns out.
19-09-2019, 07:40 AM
He had a piss easy start to the league cup games followed by only one very tough game on paper in the league. He’s managed to base the whole thing up and the “shambles” must not be that bad as about seven of his summer signings can’t get in the team.
19-09-2019, 07:41 AM
True.
Harsh, unfair... and probably correct, as it turns out.
I don’t think so. All away games and the derby everyone was belting out Heckys at the wheel.
19-09-2019, 07:57 AM
Ah, the old transition period excuse. Not seen that one since Collins, Mixu, Yogi, Calderwood and Butcher.
What I like about that particular excuse is that it always seems to ignore the other sides in our league that are doing well with just as many new signings.
FWIW I've probably peddled that same idea at one of those points. Unfortunately time tells you that it's usually just the straw that you clutch when there's literally nothing left to be positive about.
More of a fact than an excuse. What is for sure he isn't getting much out of either new players or existing players.
Barman Stanton
19-09-2019, 08:29 AM
There was a thread on here earlier when plenty admitted they just simply didn't like him. For some reason his face just hasn't fit here.
Of course more and more are coming round to the fact he is just not upto the job. But regardless he was onto a loser anyway. Any slip up was going to be jumped upon way more than Lennon or Stubbs.
19-09-2019, 09:08 AM
There was a thread on here earlier when plenty admitted they just simply didn't like him. For some reason his face just hasn't fit here.
Of course more and more are coming round to the fact he is just not upto the job. But regardless he was onto a loser anyway. Any slip up was going to be jumped upon way more than Lennon or Stubbs.
He's boring, our team is boring and I'm bored of him.
Get him tae ****!
19-09-2019, 09:16 AM
He ain't half as boring as the same posters making the same point over and over again.
I think we are all agreed it's probably best he moves on but that doesn't explain the constant vitriol on these pages.
We have a derby on Sunday which is massive. We need to win regardless of who is manager.
Barman Stanton
19-09-2019, 09:19 AM
He ain't half as boring as the same posters making the same point over and over again.
I think we are all agreed it's probably best he moves on but that doesn't explain the constant vitriol on these pages.
We have a derby on Sunday which is massive. We need to win regardless of who is manager.
Agreed, its almost like toys out the pram with some at the moment.
19-09-2019, 09:24 AM
Does your point about the same posters making the same point over and over again apply to all posters and viewpoints on the scenario or just the ones you don't like?
Does it apply to the many almost carbon copies of your post above as well?
Boring.
19-09-2019, 09:31 AM
Does your point about the same posters making the same point over and over again apply to all posters and viewpoints on the scenario or just the ones you don't like?
Boring.
Ooh did your wee alarm go off?
19-09-2019, 09:36 AM
Yes, Sunday is massive for both clubs but you just can't possibly get excited about any Hibs game under him tenure.
Saying that it could end up 5-5 :greengrin
19-09-2019, 09:37 AM
Boring.
Some of the negative opinions are being dropped into totally unrelated threads on top of the numerous threads that they’re suited for. That’s the bit that’s really boring. Hearts might be appointing Neil McCann? Let’s pile in here and slaughter PH. Hibs have a job opportunity coming up in the offices. Let’s get tore into PH in here as well.
It’s understandable people having negative opinions but there’s some posters who are going out their way to plaster them everywhere, even if it doesn’t belong on the thread they’re posting on.
19-09-2019, 09:44 AM
Yes, Sunday is massive for both clubs but you just can't possibly get excited about any Hibs game under him tenure.
Saying that it could end up 5-5 :greengrin
Preferably 5-4 to us......
19-09-2019, 10:49 AM
Genuinely curious as to why? Appreciate Lennon going to Celtic was hard to accept, but why didn't you give our new manager a chance?
Maybe I'm too soft but I'll give every new player/manager the benefit of doubt before being critical.
I'd never heard of the guy so when he was announced I had no opinion either way. I kinda felt, meh, ach well, lets see how it goes. I was happy to give him a chance.
Then I saw his first interview and immediately I thought of Calderwood. Passionless and sounding like he couldn't care less when he was just in the door. Compare that to Lennon or Stubbs who were over the moon to be with us.
Fair enough he got us some results against the bottom six teams last year and we got wins over St J and Hearts. I didn't see any of that as the second coming though like some on here did. With the squad he inherited I was expecting us to beat bottom six teams and to compete with the top 6.
The performances and results post split were crap.
Then we move into the summer and he signs a whole load of dross. The crap form continues into the League Cup which he saw as friendlies.
Then the league starts and nothing improves. It's crap boring football with no results.
It's just been crap football for most of his time and I don't see him improving things. I think it will get worse.
I don't think he has a clue what he's talking about. Listen to any one of his interviews and he says nothing.
After the Motherwell game his line was that everyone needs to get better. Players, coaches, him, everyone at the club. What does that even mean? We need to get better?? Sherlock here eh.
I barely think he's a manager. I think he applied for a job that was way above his ability and he's now being found out. The longer he's here the more damage is being done.
So yeah, I'm not for giving him more time at all. I want him emptied pronto and I want an actual football manager to replace him. Someone that has heard of Hibs before applying would be a bonus!
19-09-2019, 11:33 AM
I'd never heard of the guy so when he was announced I had no opinion either way. I kinda felt, meh, ach well, lets see how it goes. I was happy to give him a chance.
Then I saw his first interview and immediately I thought of Calderwood. Passionless and sounding like he couldn't care less when he was just in the door. Compare that to Lennon or Stubbs who were over the moon to be with us.
Fair enough he got us some results against the bottom six teams last year and we got wins over St J and Hearts. I didn't see any of that as the second coming though like some on here did. With the squad he inherited I was expecting us to beat bottom six teams and to compete with the top 6.
Then we move into the summer and he signs a whole load of dross. The crap form continues into the League Cup which he saw as friendlies.
Then the league starts and nothing improves. It's crap boring football with no results.
It's just been crap football for most of his time and I don't see him improving things. I think it will get worse.
I don't think he has a clue what he's talking about. Listen to any one of his interviews and he says nothing.
After the Motherwell game his line was that everyone needs to get better. Players, coaches, him, everyone at the club. What does that even mean? We need to get better?? Sherlock here eh.
I barely think he's a manager. I think he applied for a job that was way above his ability and he's now being found out. The longer he's here the more damage is being done.
So yeah, I'm not for giving him more time at all. I want him emptied pronto and I want an actual football manager to replace him. Someone that has heard of Hibs before applying would be a bonus!
He could only piss with the cock he had last season and did very well with it. Remember that was a team that won one or two games in sixteen under Lennon.
19-09-2019, 11:34 AM
Ooh did your wee alarm go off?
There you are again deliberately antagonising people for a reaction.
Admins, are you going to do something about this incessant trolling?
19-09-2019, 11:38 AM
There you are again deliberately antagonising people for a reaction.
Admins, are you going to do something about this incessant trolling?
FFS are you 12?
19-09-2019, 11:39 AM
Some of the negative opinions are being dropped into totally unrelated threads on top of the numerous threads that they’re suited for. That’s the bit that’s really boring. Hearts might be appointing Neil McCann? Let’s pile in here and slaughter PH. Hibs have a job opportunity coming up in the offices. Let’s get tore into PH in here as well.
It’s understandable people having negative opinions but there’s some posters who are going out their way to plaster them everywhere, even if it doesn’t belong on the thread they’re posting on.
Football fans are fickle, the quicker you get over that the more enjoyable your life will be and you won't have to keep making boring and repetitive posts moaning about other people's posts.
Also, you're on a thread called 'get Hecky to ****' surely you weren't expecting it to be full of peace and love?
19-09-2019, 11:41 AM
FFS are you 12?
If I am would that make you a bully?
19-09-2019, 11:42 AM
Football fans are fickle, the quicker you get over that the more enjoyable your life will be and you won't have to keep making boring and repetitive posts moaning about other people's posts.
He was exactly the same as you from the very start of the season until Lennon was punted, but FFS moaning to the admins is as lame as it gets in my opinion.
19-09-2019, 11:44 AM
If I am would that make you a bully?
This is getting like the guy holding a gun trying to provoke the police into shooting him.
A painful watch.
19-09-2019, 11:45 AM
I don’t think so. All away games and the derby everyone was belting out Heckys at the wheel.
Yes they were, but there is no question that a decent proportion of fans were unconvinced by his appointment and have never been won over.
Tobias Funke
19-09-2019, 11:47 AM
Wait, is there two 90+2 posters?
On one post he’s “not got a clue” and the next it’s “weird to not give the new guy time”.
I’m confused
Haha, what a total fud. 😂 Absolute weirdo of a poster.
19-09-2019, 11:49 AM
This is getting like the guy holding a gun trying to provoke the police into shooting him.
A painful watch.
Try not to make your intentions too obvious, eh?
19-09-2019, 11:53 AM
Also, you're on a thread called 'get Hecky to ****' surely you weren't expecting it to be full of peace and love?
And this is one of the threads I’d expect people to be moaning on. And probably repeating themselves on because people like to have a moan. No issues with that.
It’s the folk that are railroading threads that have nothing to do with PH or what’s going on on the field into threads to slate him and the club that are boring.
19-09-2019, 11:54 AM
He was exactly the same as you from the very start of the season until Lennon was punted, but FFS moaning to the admins is as lame as it gets in my opinion.
There he is.
19-09-2019, 11:56 AM
And this is one of the threads I’d expect people to be moaning on. And probably repeating themselves on because people like to have a moan. No issues with that.
It’s the folk that are railroading threads that have nothing to do with PH or what’s going on on the field into threads to slate him that are boring.
That's the way it is when things are bad though, so you're going to have to get used to it or go read something that's more exciting until the good times arrive again.
19-09-2019, 12:00 PM
That's the way it is when things are bad though, so you're going to have to get used to it or go read something that's more exciting until the good times arrive again.
To be fair, you’re not wrong, it is how it’s going to be unfortunately.
19-09-2019, 12:30 PM
There he is.
Yip there he is pointing out the hypocrisy, when you were exactly the same last season, jumping on every thread to spread your misery.
Funny that eh?
19-09-2019, 12:33 PM
Try not to make your intentions too obvious, eh?
Nice try.
19-09-2019, 12:40 PM
Yip there he is pointing out the hypocrisy, when you were exactly the same last season, jumping on every thread to spread your misery.
Funny that eh?
Aye, we’ll just ignore the fact they were at least related to the topic of the thread. Which is exactly what I’ve been saying here. This pish is taking over threads that have absolutely no relevance to PH.
Do you understand what hypocrisy means? You don’t need to answer that, you’ve given numerous examples recently that you most definitely don’t.
Off you trot now, you’ve had your weekly lady boner over me for this week, see you again soon.
19-09-2019, 12:48 PM
Aye, we’ll just ignore the fact they were at least related to the topic of the thread. Which is exactly what I’ve been saying here. This pish is taking over threads that have absolutely no relevance to PH.
Do you understand what hypocrisy means? You don’t need to answer that, you’ve given numerous examples recently that you most definitely don’t.
Off you trot now, you’ve had your weekly lady boner over me for this week, see you again soon.
You will.
19-09-2019, 12:55 PM
To be fair, you’re not wrong, it is how it’s going to be unfortunately.
Funny that eh?
Nice try.
I’m going to grass on all of you if you don’t stop it
19-09-2019, 01:05 PM
Reported!
19-09-2019, 01:09 PM
Mon the Hibs
19-09-2019, 01:13 PM
Moan the Hibs
Fixed that for you....
19-09-2019, 01:18 PM
YOU'RE TEARING THIS FAMILY APART!!!! :boo hoo:
19-09-2019, 01:33 PM
This thread has become a total mess.
19-09-2019, 01:35 PM
Can we stick to rumours and signing news please?
19-09-2019, 01:36 PM
Someone made the point earlier that the thread title is pretty clear.
It's obviously going to be full of folk having a pop at the manager. Those who don't like that could easily stay out of the thread and there would be less bickering.
https://i.makeagif.com/media/10-30-2014/r0FmQR.gif
19-09-2019, 03:01 PM
Someone made the point earlier that the thread title is pretty clear.
It's obviously going to be full of folk having a pop at the manager. Those who don't like that could easily stay out of the thread and there would be less bickering.
There would also be less threads and little point in a forum.
Heedersnvolleys
19-09-2019, 03:21 PM
This place is dead when we had good times
hibeerealist
19-09-2019, 03:34 PM
Agree with all that Chief, sadly this is not going to end well and we are back to square one. LD and probably Ron will not want us to be known as a firing club where managers don’t get a chance however I believe PH has had his chance and offers nothing going forward!
Eaststand
19-09-2019, 03:34 PM
Hiya Lee, hiya pal
19-09-2019, 03:43 PM
There would also be less threads and little point in a forum.
It’s possible to disagree with people and discuss issues without the sly digs, cheap shots or name calling though.
I’m sure you’d agree with that!!
19-09-2019, 04:29 PM
This place is dead when we had good times
As has been previously discussed on here.
That's because there's just less to talk and speculate about. When things are going well it's simply a case of oh, that was good. Followed by agreement.
Everyone is happier and less people are looking to Hibs.net to find their answers or vent their frustration.
19-09-2019, 04:38 PM
YOU'RE TEARING THIS FAMILY APART!!!! :boo hoo:
https://media.giphy.com/media/3o751ZGnnh1aRKf34Q/giphy.gif
The Leith Dutch
19-09-2019, 06:50 PM
Ultimately the problem is that he's pressing everyone's buttons - a run of poor results in the league, plenty poor performances and some odd team selections.
At this stage it's heavily odds on that he won't turn it round so everyone being in limbo till he's punted is part of the issue here.
I get it doesn't accomplish anything with folk firing in everywhere but it'll be the same until he's fired.
Kind of feels inevitable.
19-09-2019, 06:51 PM
If we lose, he a goner we reckon?
Personally hope so. Interested in views
19-09-2019, 06:54 PM
Yes, I think so.
19-09-2019, 06:57 PM
I think regardless of how the next few games go he will hang on till the international break in 3 weeks.
19-09-2019, 07:11 PM
Possibly. If it's a tame loss then must be in big trouble. If we batter them but lose unluckily probably not.
19-09-2019, 07:16 PM
If we get pumped probably, if we marginally lose doubtful
The Leith Dutch
19-09-2019, 10:29 PM
For some reason I reckon he'll somehow cling on for the next 5 games and he'll get punted after losing to Hamilton.
I sincerely hope I'm wrong.
If we get pumped probably, if we marginally lose doubtful
:agree: 0-2 or 1-3, he'll survive.
20-09-2019, 05:49 AM
:agree: 0-2 or 1-3, he'll survive.
A 0-2 or 1-3 home defeat to the bottom of the league side is as bad as a pumping imo. Thankfully I don’t reckon we’ll have to concern ourselves with that.
20-09-2019, 06:21 AM
A 0-2 or 1-3 home defeat to the bottom of the league side is as bad as a pumping imo. Thankfully I don’t reckon we’ll have to concern ourselves with that.
I think he is toast if we lose, if we win it will just be delaying the inevitable.
Barman Stanton
20-09-2019, 08:19 AM
https://media.giphy.com/media/3o751ZGnnh1aRKf34Q/giphy.gif
I think this is lost on most. That film is something else :faf::faf:
"Oh hi Mark"
20-09-2019, 08:32 AM
I think he is toast if we lose, if we win it will just be delaying the inevitable.
I’d suspect so. Although I’m not sure a 1 goal defeat would lead to us pulling the trigger. Time will tell (or hopefully time will not tell in this case).
20-09-2019, 08:34 AM
I’d suspect so. Although I’m not sure a 1 goal defeat would lead to us pulling the trigger. Time will tell (or hopefully time will not tell in this case).
That would be 6 points from 33 or 36 since the split and 3 defeats in a row, 4 defeats for the league season. A defeat to nil would be 3 games without a goal as well.
20-09-2019, 08:38 AM
That would be 6 points from 33 or 36 since the split and 3 defeats in a row, 4 defeats for the league season. A defeat to nil would be 3 games without a goal as well.
I’m not debating that. I just don’t think the board we’ll be at the stage of pulling the trigger yet. No inside knowledge or anything, I’d just be a bit surprised to hear on Monday he was gone regardless of the result (unless it was somehow really bad).
Steven79
20-09-2019, 08:41 AM
Pretty much! No manager has ever recovered from this position and every minute we delay it will cost us in the long term.
mcfly
20-09-2019, 08:45 AM
Lose on Sunday and the anger from the stands will force the board to act.
Wrong appointment- awful signings = terrible results.
20-09-2019, 08:49 AM
A home defeat to Hearts, regardless of the scoreline, is unacceptable. Or it at least should be.
Steven79
20-09-2019, 08:51 AM
Lose on Sunday and the anger from the stands will force the board to act.
Wrong appointment- awful signings = terrible results.
How about a rubbish 2-2 draw with them coming back from 2-0 down to keep Dr Football in the job and we then sack our guy on Monday.
About the best case scenario coming out of this game as a comfortable win would just delay our agony and possibly mean Levein gets his jotters which I don't want to happen.
20-09-2019, 09:21 AM
A home defeat to Hearts, regardless of the scoreline, is unacceptable. Or it at least should be.
I presume you mean this weekend and not just in general?
How about a rubbish 2-2 draw with them coming back from 2-0 down to keep Dr Football in the job and we then sack our guy on Monday.
About the best case scenario coming out of this game as a comfortable win would just delay our agony and possibly mean Levein gets his jotters which I don't want to happen.
You would rather we draw against hearts in embarrassing fashion than win? Get a grip of yourself, if there was a hibs v hearts egg n spoon race I’d want us to win
Cataplana
20-09-2019, 09:49 AM
The blood lust on here is getting a bit uncomfortable. I think some are taking pleasure in this, making it almost impossible for him to turn it round.
The next guy will get even less time.
20-09-2019, 09:50 AM
You would rather we draw against hearts in embarrassing fashion than win? Get a grip of yourself, if there was a hibs v hearts egg n spoon race I’d want us to win
Aye, but Heck would try and carry it with a fork - having previously allowed our only spoon to leave the club.
20-09-2019, 09:53 AM
The blood lust on here is getting a bit uncomfortable. I think some are taking pleasure in this, making it almost impossible for him to turn it round.
Nonsense. The next guy will get whatever time he affords himself by translating his words into performances on the pitch.
If he doesn't he'll not last long either.
Cataplana
20-09-2019, 09:54 AM
Nonsense. The next guy will get whatever time he affords himself by translating his words into performances on the pitch.
If he doesn't he'll not last long either.
I rest my case.
Reason doesn't come into this, it's about some people exercising their "power and rights" as fans.
20-09-2019, 09:59 AM
Fans moaning on .net have nothing to do with him doing a dreadful job as the Hibs manager and aren’t making it impossible for him to turn it around.
If we start getting results folk will calm down. **** it, even if we started seeing some sort of hope within our performances over the next few games people might simmer a bit. Just now we are toothless and are beaten as soon as we go a goal down.
The next manager will get all the time in the world if he has us playing well.
20-09-2019, 10:04 AM
I rest my case.
Reason doesn't come into this, it's about some people exercising their "power and rights" as fans.
Aye, that's what it is right enough. It wasn't at all a description of all football fans the world over.
I'm repeating myself but fans are fickle, get over it.
20-09-2019, 10:09 AM
Yet another 'people who are unhappy are enjoying Hibs being rubbish' post.
It literally makes no sense. If these people were enjoying it then why would they want Heckingbottom out? Surely they would want him to stay and keep the crap coming if they enjoyed it so much?
It's just a sanctimonious dig at fellow Hibs when people have ran out of things to say imo. It's Hibs.net's own answer to Godwins Law.
To top it off we have the suggestion that this mythical satisfaction (coming from those who are the least satisfied - go figure) will somehow be ultimately responsible for Heckingbottom being a failure. In other words, it's the fans fault
20-09-2019, 10:13 AM
You should have been there in the 80s. Stanton and Blackley oversaw much of 22 in a row. Can never remember people calling for their heads. Maybe because greats from the Tornadoes. Miller ended it but took us on 17 in a row. Ironically towards the end if his 10 year stint he broke it and we dominated for a while. But he was getting stale and lost players and players were ageing. Performances were getting turgid and fans lost their patience. Social media has a lot answer for given the short time PH has failed plus the big turnover of players.
20-09-2019, 10:18 AM
Its up to him and his players:
Win on Sunday: Tick
Win next game: Tick
Win again: Tick
That is what is required not talk not what could have been not we played well for 30mins. He and the players have got themselves in this position and for me if there is a turnaround several wins in a row are needed from now.
No more excuses for anything or hard luck stories, wins are all I am interested in.
20-09-2019, 10:18 AM
If we lose Sunday what do people think will be the aftermath reaction of the fans? Protests outside the main stand? A loud chant of 'Hecky get tae ****' around the stadium?
20-09-2019, 10:22 AM
If we lose Sunday what do people think will be the aftermath reaction of the fans? Protests outside the main stand? A loud chant of 'Hecky get tae ****' around the stadium?
I think that’s probably a given.
I’m more intrigued what the reaction will be like if we win - not so much at the game but in the hours and days after.
20-09-2019, 11:20 AM
I assume the new owner will be attending on sunday?
20-09-2019, 11:36 AM
I rest my case.
When he won his first few games, this board was full of 'Hecky's at the wheel' bollocks.
Now he's signed poorly, spent big and his team have long since stopped winning, stopped fighting and stopped scoring, the fans want him out.
There's no mystery in either scenario.
20-09-2019, 11:52 AM
Eh?
Fans opinions on a manager now have a bearing on their ability to do their job??
That's a new one!!
20-09-2019, 11:56 AM
I don't think either of these will happen, worst case will be a loud chorus of booing at the final whistle.
Besides, it's how our board reacts that counts!
20-09-2019, 11:58 AM
Before answering here, my main hope for SUnday is that it is the start of the Real Heckingbottom era and that means a win, a convincing win, playing good football, with a solid midfield (I'd go Hjallberg, Vela, Slivka, with Allan in front of them, get Kamberi and Doidge started, and keep Mallan & Horgan & Middleton ready to come off the bench in second half)
But if it turns out differently, I'd have to say it'll be way worse than just a lame chant.
The lack of urgency from the Board, the lack of any sense of targets being set for the manager during this horrific run, that tells me it'll be near mutiny with a large (very large) number willing to gather in protest outside the main stand and attention turning towards the Board rather than the manager.
So, for a good many reasons, let's hope Heckingbottom is at it at the weekend, a solid win to get us on a better footing.
I'm willing to back the team - but he needs to show up too, it's "show time or be emptied" as far as I am concerned. Last Chance Saloon.
20-09-2019, 12:00 PM
You'd rather we surrendered a two goal lead to Hearts to draw, just so Levein (a manager who has a good record against us) can stay in his job, rather than a morale-boosting comfortable win for us and a shot at redemption for our manager?
Really?
Marvellous
20-09-2019, 12:05 PM
Anything other than being undefeated against Hearts forever is FAILURE. END OF.
FULL STOP. Sack the lot if we lose.
20-09-2019, 12:07 PM
I presume you mean this weekend and not just in general?
Ever. We're two similarly sized clubs.
20-09-2019, 12:08 PM
Anything other than being undefeated against Hearts forever is FAILURE. END OF.
FULL STOP. Sack the lot if we lose.
Untrue. But getting beaten by the side at the bottom.of the league never goes down well.
Marvellous
20-09-2019, 12:09 PM
Ever. We're two similarly sized clubs.
Then why is losing to them, ever, "unacceptable"? :hilarious
20-09-2019, 12:15 PM
Then why is losing to them, ever, "unacceptable"? :hilarious
Not in every game. If we're to remain the dominant club in Edinburgh, we should instill a mentality losing to them at home should be unacceptable under any circumstances. Away wins are a bonus.
Marvellous
20-09-2019, 12:19 PM
Not in every game. If we're to remain the dominant club in Edinburgh, we should instill a mentality losing to them at home should be unacceptable under any circumstances. Away wins are a bonus.
So under no circumstance is anything less than being undefeated forever at home acceptable but don't worry about the away games too much?
What?
20-09-2019, 12:22 PM
So under no circumstance is anything less than being undefeated forever at home acceptable but don't worry about the away games too much?
What?
Win the home games and remain competitive in the away games. I don't see why you'd disagree with or be confused by that? :confused:
Marvellous
20-09-2019, 12:25 PM
Win the home games and remain competitive in the away games. I don't see why you'd disagree with or be confused by that? :confused:
We're going to lose home games against Hearts. What do you propose is done about it when it happens, given that it's "unacceptable under any circumstances"?
Cataplana
20-09-2019, 03:34 PM
Aye, that's what it is right enough. It wasn't at all a description of all football fans the world over.
I'm repeating myself but fans are fickle, get over it.
They are not all fickle, and they don't always agree.
You represent one point of view, that is all.
20-09-2019, 04:10 PM
See Michael Appleton is the new Lincoln manager. Must have agreed to give him a cracking severance package.
20-09-2019, 04:13 PM
They are not all fickle, and they don't always agree.
You represent one point of view, that is all.
Football fans are fickle. Except from you obviously, as you're a far better supporter than the rest of us.
20-09-2019, 04:13 PM
See Michael Appleton is the new Lincoln manager. Must have agreed to give him a cracking severance package.
The Cowley Brothers will be a tough act to follow. But he speaks very well about the way he wants his teams to play, and his Oxford teams backed it up, by most accounts.
One who got away, we'll never know.
Cataplana
20-09-2019, 04:48 PM
Football fans are fickle. Except from you obviously, as you're a far better supporter than the rest of us.
Only the broken can truly see?
That is hardly fair, I know lots of people that are reasonable and balanced in their approach. (etc)
Love those films, but I think the third one was a disappointment.
20-09-2019, 05:03 PM
I'd seriously question the judgement of the board if they sacked a manager with a 45% win ratio after he's just had to turnover about half the squad and has had most of his defence injured at some point during pre season, just because everything hasn't clicked into place instantly in the new season. We'll be sacking a couple of managers every season at that rate.
20-09-2019, 05:16 PM
I'd seriously question the judgement of the board if they sacked a manager with a 45% win ratio after he's just had to turnover about half the squad and has had most of his defence injured at some point during pre season, just because everything hasn't clicked into place instantly in the new season. We'll be sacking a couple of managers every season at that rate.
There’s not clicking into place and there’s getting scudded 6-1 at Ibrox, 3-0 at Motherwell and 2-0 at Killie.
20-09-2019, 06:07 PM
The Cowley Brothers will be a tough act to follow. But he speaks very well about the way he wants his teams to play, and his Oxford teams backed it up, by most accounts.
One who got away, we'll never know.
Lets hope he is a roaring success so we can all get angry about that too.
20-09-2019, 07:18 PM
Lets hope he is a roaring success so we can all get angry about that too.
Well that's just silly. If results improve then Appleton wont matter. If results don't then that's where the anger comes from - not from Appleton doing well. Results have to improve because what we're getting isn't anywhere close to good enough.
20-09-2019, 07:42 PM
You should have been there in the 80s. Stanton and Blackley oversaw much of 22 in a row. Can never remember people calling for their heads. Maybe because greats from the Tornadoes. Miller ended it but took us on 17 in a row. Ironically towards the end if his 10 year stint he broke it and we dominated for a while. But he was getting stale and lost players and players were ageing. Performances were getting turgid and fans lost their patience. Social media has a lot answer for given the short time PH has failed plus the big turnover of players.
Pedant alert but I think you might have got your runs mixed up. Geebsie ended 22 in a row under AM.
j'adorehibs
20-09-2019, 07:56 PM
im not a fan but if he beats hearts and killie do we stick, regardless of the football? i dont want tolose games to sack a manger , if we lose both these he has to go but......
20-09-2019, 08:02 PM
Good points. But after years and years of supporting Hibs, you kind of get a sixth sense about when a manager just hadn't got what it takes. That's where we are right now. The question is not whether they'll have to sack him but when. We have a history of giving managers too much time (Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher being recent examples) and we suffer even more than we need to as a result.
Fergos
20-09-2019, 08:09 PM
Good points and I’m of the general thinking that the modern game / new internet obsessed football fan have a lot to answer for, a point I would make however is that it’s the general state of our play and performances that have made a lot of us jumpy. I always wants to back the man in charge but some of our performances alongside a lack of fight and leadership, which stems from the signings who didn’t replace some big characters, have me worried.
Cataplana
21-09-2019, 07:42 AM
Good points. But after years and years of supporting Hibs, you kind of get a sixth sense about when a manager just hadn't got what it takes. That's where we are right now. The question is not whether they'll have to sack him but when. We have a history of giving managers too much time (Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher being recent examples) and we suffer even more than we need to as a result.
Butcher came in January, and was sacked by June!
21-09-2019, 07:43 AM
Butcher came in January, and was sacked by June!
Butcher came in mid november.
Cataplana
21-09-2019, 07:45 AM
Butcher came in mid november.
Fair enough. What was the easiest we should have sacked him?
21-09-2019, 07:48 AM
Fair enough. What was the easiest we should have sacked him?
After Raith Rovers in the Cup
Cataplana
21-09-2019, 07:54 AM
After Raith Rovers in the Cup
Fair enough. How much time would the next guy be allowed?
The rate this place is going, Hecky's replacement won't get past half time in his first game if we are not winning.
More to the point, can any club afford the cost of going through three managers a season? It always leads to relegation.
21-09-2019, 08:21 AM
im not a fan but if he beats hearts and killie do we stick, regardless of the football? i dont want tolose games to sack a manger , if we lose both these he has to go but......
If he wins these two games he obviously buys himself some time. I don’t know how you could argue otherwise.
21-09-2019, 09:08 AM
Fair enough. How much time would the next guy be allowed?
The rate this place is going, Hecky's replacement won't get past half time in his first game if we are not winning.
More to the point, can any club afford the cost of going through three managers a season? It always leads to relegation.
McLeish, Sauzee, Williamson?
Burley, Rix, Ivanauskas?
McCoist, McDowall, McCall?
21-09-2019, 09:34 AM
Burley, Rix, Ivanauskas?
Still needs a keeper and a centre forward.
21-09-2019, 09:42 AM
Still needs a keeper and a centre forward.
Who said you had crap patter!? :cb
21-09-2019, 12:28 PM
Heck looks like The Mekon in that green seat.
paddy1875
21-09-2019, 01:43 PM
Heckingbottom is getting a tough time of it because we’re 5 games into the season and none of us know what the game plan actually is??
The talk was of a high press and fitness levels never seen before has gave us fans hope and a idea of something we want to see and we’re excited about.
Going by all the games this season iv not seen anything like it. I’ll compare it to going to buy a car, it’s been advertised as a soft top sports car but when you go to see it, it’s a big slow piece of scrap. Would you still buy it?
Would you think the guy selling it was off his heed and blowing smoke up your arse?
He’s made a rod for his own back here. Coupled with a few unproven signings that aren’t getting in the team.
21-09-2019, 01:50 PM
Pedant alert but I think you might have got your runs mixed up. Geebsie ended 22 in a row under AM.
Easy at my age and when you sat through those 39 games.
21-09-2019, 01:54 PM
Burley, Rix, Ivanauskas?
Worst haiku ever.
Cataplana
21-09-2019, 04:47 PM
Burley, Rix, Ivanauskas?
Cuthbert, Dibble, Pugh.
21-09-2019, 04:57 PM
Cuthbert, Dibble, Pugh.
Don’t get this one. Fairnie and flash’s weren’t great but I got what they were saying but no idea what you’re on about at all
21-09-2019, 05:10 PM
Appleton’s first game at Lincoln ...pumped 0-6 at home!
21-09-2019, 05:11 PM
Appleton’s first game at Lincoln ...pumped 0-6 at home!
Apparently he doesn’t take charge until Monday
mcfly
21-09-2019, 05:46 PM
I’d question the board if they don’t listen to the fans who pay their wages.
This manager was the wrong choice - he let go our 2 defensive midfielders and didn’t replace them - horrendous error
He’s signed lots of players and doesn’t play them.
£350k on a striker he doesn’t pick.
Sorry but the board have to admit they’ve made a mistake and admit they were wrong.
Fans aren’t happy and unless he turns this around ASAP he’s gone
Cataplana
21-09-2019, 07:07 PM
Don’t get this one. Fairnie and flash’s weren’t great but I got what they were saying but no idea what you’re on about at all
Sorry mate, the only chance of it being funny is if you get the reference to Camberwick Green.
Fail😬
21-09-2019, 08:39 PM
Not to mention the fact that its "Cuthbert Dibble Grubb".
Cataplana
22-09-2019, 07:56 AM
Not to mention the fact that its "Cuthbert Dibble Grubb".
My humiliation would not have been complete if I'd corrected that.
scooby
22-09-2019, 08:18 AM
My main gripe is that the football is horrendous and boring, and we don't look like winning a game in our league.
All bar one of his wins since the split last season have been against lower league teams.
22-09-2019, 08:35 AM
My humiliation would not have been complete if I'd corrected that.
22-09-2019, 04:02 PM
Press conference at 9 a.m. tomorrow to announce his sacking. That was as predictable as the day ending in a Y. I said on here yesterday I didn't trust the manager and the team to beat the bottom side at home, but a draw was the bare minimum Hecky would need. He couldn't even do that against a team which hasn't a league game in six months.
End this now. ******* embarrassing. There is no way back for him.
22-09-2019, 09:00 PM
https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=web&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwi_n8miqOXkAhUtxoUKHV97DvIQzPwBCAM&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Ffootball %2F47242376&psig=AOvVaw2J_X1FVrCPAxqIeYBXpeGM&ust=1569272101580537
Interesting to note that absolutely nothing either heckingbottom or stockdale promised has come to fruition.
"High pressing team" no
"Promote youth" no
"Attack minded" no
We are a pedestrian neither attack minded or defensive minded team who can luckily neither attack or defend that ignores better youth players to play tried and tested failures in midfield ahead of them.