View Full Version : Efe keen on return to Scotland
03-01-2020, 06:04 AM
Efe was an absolute bomb scare at the start of each season each season he was with us. Up until October last season he cost us countless goals.
He’s not kicked a ball since the 28th December 2018. He’d likely need a couple of months to get to the level he was when he left.
I’d be really surprised if we went for him. We’ve got 4 decent CB’s and he’s been available to sign at any point since July. I don’t see why we’d now go for him now.
03-01-2020, 06:25 AM
Efe was an absolute bomb scare at the start of each season each season he was with us. Up until October last season he cost us countless goals.
He’s not kicked a ball since the 28th December 2018. He’d likely need a couple of months to get to the level he was when he left.
I’d be really surprised if we went for him. We’ve got 4 decent CB’s and he’s been available to sign at any point since July. I don’t see why we’d now go for him now.
That October point you make is a big exaggeration...and in addition, very few errors from Efe weren’t resolved by himself and his own pace...
03-01-2020, 06:31 AM
I would take Efe back in a heartbeat.
We already have 4 centre half’s but he is head and shoulder above all of them imo. We should be signing him and getting rid of Jackson to accommodate this.
His actual defending is underrated imo, one on one he was brilliant, had good pace and won a hell of a lot in the air. He’s very experienced and brings a calmness to the defence which we lack.
Did he make the odd mistake? Yes, and it was highlighted more as it was down to him trying to play out more, not an actually defensive error. He probably made less errors which lead to goals than the other 4 have.
We also miss him in an attacking sense, him being able to step out and beat a man would force the opposition to come onto us and free up space for others.
He’s not played in a year but is a fit guy anyway and I don’t think it would take him long to get upto speed, especially with this winter break.
We’ve went wrong with our recruitment lately but getting guys like Bogdan and Ambrose are big boosts imo.
We need proven quality blended with young players with motivation to succeed.
I think he was labelled a bomb scare at Celtic early on which has stuck with him rather unfairly in Scotland. He had one performance that sticks out for us against Aberdeen where he was very poor, but for me he was one of our best players most weeks and when he left was in exceptional form.
If Livi get him I’d be spewing
03-01-2020, 06:55 AM
He did not cost us countless goals, why write down nonsense
03-01-2020, 06:56 AM
Right now Efe would probably be our best centre back. Yes his age means he's a short term solution but we're leaking goals at an alarming rate.
If there is any truth Livi are after him then his wage demands can't be that high. We should absolutely be offering him an 18 month deal.
tonyrougier123
03-01-2020, 07:07 AM
Can anyone honestly say our defence has been the same since he left last year?
Its been a pretty bad year defensively without him either right back or centre back imo.
Why take a risk when we know what the big guy brings to the side?
03-01-2020, 07:17 AM
We don't need Efe. We need younger and fitter guys.
You would be hard pushed to find many fitter guys than Efe. The guy is an athlete. Never missed a single league game for us due to injury. Played every single game in the premiership in our first season back up. He's only 31 - Davjd Weir played at a high level until 40. Efe should be a priority.
03-01-2020, 07:28 AM
He did not cost us countless goals, why write down nonsense
Last season we conceded 6 goals up to October in 7 games. I'm really interested to see the exhaustive list of Efe mistakes.
Winston Ingram over to you.
Efe is great in a back 3 where he can be the spare man who has the freedom to launch attacks. He's far less good as a conventional cb who requires the discipline to man mark. All above is IMO of course. He certainly didn't cost us countless goals but neither did he only give away goals by losing possession. His performance at Molde, as an example was very poor. In addition to his probable lack of fitness there's another issue. Although Efe was a popular guy in the squad there were some ructions because of the perception that NL cut him much more slack than anyone else. I doubt Jack Ross will be prepared to change formation to resign and accommodate an ageing, probably unfit cb with a dodgy work ethos.
jax67
03-01-2020, 07:33 AM
Get Efe signed. The guy oozes quality.
Last season we conceded 6 goals up to October in 7 games. I'm really interested to see the exhaustive list of Efe mistakes.
Winston Ingram over to you.
You shouldn't counter nonsense by quoting equal nonsense. We conceded 19 goals in games Efe played through September last season. Dont be selective & ignore the 4 in the Faroes & the 3 at Molde.
03-01-2020, 07:51 AM
Cannae remember Efe costing us goals per se
He had his “ moments” but always seemed to get away with it
Kilmarnock away when Lenny punted him into midfield and a poor day at the office Aberdeen away are the only two I can think of where he might be culpable
As others have said the guy was class he should never have left but I think that ship may have sailed
03-01-2020, 08:02 AM
Efe is an exceptionally good player. We should be giving it a real go to get him in for a couple of years at least.
Cataplana
03-01-2020, 08:17 AM
Would he be as keen to turn up for training, or give his best for the team, if Neil Lennon isn't the boss)
03-01-2020, 08:18 AM
Efe hasn't played for over a year and never was the disciplined sort.
Could take him quite a while to get up to speed.
I cant understand why he hasnt played - seems a bit odd, its not like he will have been short of offers in the various transfer windows since then.
I loved the guy, but wonder if he just cant be ersed any more?
HFC93
03-01-2020, 08:24 AM
We don't need Efe. We need younger and fitter guys.
I can't remember Efe having any injury issues. He always played the full 90 minutes as well. Must have been one of the fittest guys at the club when he was here.
Robbo6-2
03-01-2020, 08:30 AM
Adam Jackson or Efe Ambrose
Absolute no brainer
03-01-2020, 08:34 AM
Guy comes to Hibs, gets his Visa, p1sses off at the earliest opportunity, signs for Derby who then got rid as soon as possible (without him playing a single game) and he hasn't worked since.
03-01-2020, 08:36 AM
Our defence this term have been sloppy in possession, caught well out of position, left players unmarked and generally been poor. All far far worse than anything I ever saw from Efe.
03-01-2020, 08:38 AM
Guy comes to Hibs, gets his Visa, p1sses off at the earliest opportunity, signs for Derby who then got rid as soon as possible (without him playing a single game) and he hasn't worked since.
Efe got a visa when he signed a 2 year deal in 2017 so i dont know where this myth has come from unless you think spending a year and a half at a club is "pissing off at the earliest opportunity"
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7594
"The defender, who can operate at centre-back and right-back, required an endorsement from the Scottish Football Association and a VISA prior to his deal being wholly ratified, and the Club are delighted that this has been achieved."
03-01-2020, 08:49 AM
Did he not only sign a deal until the summer anyway, so not really getting rid of him
We need to be looking at more permanent players.
In our position we dont have to rush into signing anyone.
BobMilne
03-01-2020, 09:06 AM
Come on then. Name these countless bomb scares?
I know the answer already
***** talker
03-01-2020, 09:32 AM
lol...did you forget the part..."was our best player for most of his stint....." :wink:
03-01-2020, 09:37 AM
Efe made less mistakes than all the defenders he played with, including Gray, McGregor and Porteous.
Wonderful player. Not a bombscare at all. Very consistent, excellent defender.
03-01-2020, 09:37 AM
This 'bombscare' word needs burying. I don't even know what it means. Unless it actually means 'one of our best defenders in the last ten years', in which case I agree with you.
03-01-2020, 09:55 AM
Efe was an excellent player for us and if we signed him he would be our best centre half. I don’t think we should though and I’m pretty sure we won’t. The reason being is that he is a right centre back and he would keep Porteuos out the team. The club have a massive potential windfall coming if he keeps developing the way he has so far. Nothing will be allowed to get in the way of that.
It’s a left centre half we need first.
03-01-2020, 09:58 AM
"Bombscare" is being kind to the Efe who started seasons.
By the time he got into his stride a few months later he was as accomplished a defender as I've seen play for us.
03-01-2020, 10:01 AM
Efe was an excellent player for us and if we signed him he would be our best centre half. I don’t think we should though and I’m pretty sure we won’t. The reason being is that he is a right centre back and he would keep Porteuos out the team. The club have a massive potential windfall coming if he keeps developing the way he has so far. Nothing will be allowed to get in the way of that.
It’s a left centre half we need first.
Porteous best performances for Hibs were with Efe before his injury.
03-01-2020, 10:05 AM
For me he was never a bombscare, ever. That was just lazy use of words for someone who made the game look easy and on occasion made errors. What he was on most occasions that he played for Hibs was a very competent, skilled defender who at times was worth the admission money on his own. I loved watching him in a Hibs jersey and was gutted when he left. If he could get that level back again I would have him back in a heartbeat
03-01-2020, 10:07 AM
By the time he got into his stride a few months later he was as accomplished a defender as I've seen play for us.
He was no where near a bombscare
Weegreenman
03-01-2020, 10:08 AM
Could be an absolute bomb scare at times.
Was brilliant some of the time.
A player that you never truly trusted but time and again he’d wiggle his way out of trouble.
I’d rather we went for a hard tackling no nonsense type.
Hibeewilly
03-01-2020, 10:15 AM
For me he was never a bombscare, ever. That was just lazy use of words for someone who made the game look easy and on occasion made errors. What he was on most occasions that he played for Hibs was a very competent, skilled defender who at times was worth the admission money on his own. I loved watching him in a Hibs jersey and was gutted when he left. If he could get that level back again I would have him back in a heartbeat
100% spot on IMO too
03-01-2020, 10:16 AM
100% should be trying to bring him back.
Hibs4185
03-01-2020, 10:18 AM
3 at the back with porteous, daz and Efe is the stuff of dreams. Porteous was always much better alongside Efe and big Daz is there as the experienced enforcer type.
Allows us to play an attacking 3-5-2 and accommodate 2 wide players. Also Efe is always like an extra midfielder when he strolls out of defence.
Absolute no brainer! Some of the stuff about him this morning is absolute madness.
H18S NX
03-01-2020, 10:21 AM
No brainer for me,get him back please.
03-01-2020, 10:27 AM
Could be an absolute bomb scare at times.
Was brilliant some of the time.
A player that you never truly trusted but time and again he’d wiggle his way out of trouble.
I’d rather we went for a hard tackling no nonsense type.
But why? I don't understand. Efe made less mistakes than any of our defenders and was a better footballer than all of them as well. I want more guys like that, not this 1970s hard tackling no nonsense pish.
He was brilliant pretty much all of the time. You don't need to tackle if you read the game and intercept the ball, he was brilliant at that.
03-01-2020, 10:28 AM
That’s how I remember him. Took a few games to get going each season and in those games he could live up to the bombscare tag, but once he was up and running he quickly hit his stride and was immense in the 17/18 season. He then somehow, despite the utter car crash around him, went up a further level in the first half of 18/19 season IMO.
There were stinkers in there, Aberdeen away, Killie in midfield, Asreras at home and Ross County at home in the cup. I was sceptical at first but he resoundingly won me round and would love to see him back.
03-01-2020, 10:28 AM
Come on then. Name these countless bomb scares?
I know the answer already
***** talker
My pleasure
Started off with a peach of an OG in Runavik
Dived in leaving the Tripolis striker a 1 on 1 to equalise in Greece
Let Stevie May run off him at a corner to set up Aberdeen’s opener in a 1-1 draw
Got caught in possession in his own box v Ross County at home in the league cup and gave away a pen booting Declan McManus in the air
Allowed Brophy to get in front of him to pull a goal back for Killie in a 3-2 win at ER.
There’s 5 goals he cost us all by mid Sept.
On top of that his performances were patchy to say the least. He was comical in the Tripolis home leg. They’d clearly target him and the wee boy on the left must have wracked up a record amount of megs on him. Killie at home he seemed determined to let Killie equalise culminating in him managing to get away with booting Kirk Broadfoot up in the air in the penalty area in injury time. Livi away was another honkin performance by him.
He was excellent after the winter break but absolute bombscare for the couple of months before it.
03-01-2020, 10:55 AM
https://giphy.com/gifs/skateboarding-upside-down-full-circle-8DumovutXELuM
03-01-2020, 11:08 AM
https://giphy.com/gifs/skateboarding-upside-down-full-circle-8DumovutXELuM
Is that Efe navigating the many Livingston roundabouts? Maybe he is signing for them after all.
pollution
03-01-2020, 11:25 AM
Never go back, always forward.
Our offer to him at the time was not good enough so he decided to look elsewhere which was his right.
I thought he was wrong at the time and so it was but again his choice.
We have moved on with a new manager so look ahead not back.
As for the bombscare: that was his Celtic European nickname I believe.
03-01-2020, 11:26 AM
Efe was great for us but Lennon rightly or wrongly let him away with murder to get the best out of him - and there was history there with Lennon bringing him to Scotland in the first place. I don't think he's disiplined enough to play under Jack Ross and that relationship isn't there. The ship has sailed, for me anyway.
03-01-2020, 11:30 AM
Never go back, always forward.
Our offer to him at the time was not good enough so he decided to look elsewhere which was his right.
I thought he was wrong at the time and so it was but again his choice.
We have moved on with a new manager so look ahead not back.
As for the bombscare: that was his Celtic European nickname I believe.
So we shouldn’t have re-signed Allan either?
Don’t get this nonsense about not looking back. We sign players for what they can do for us now and if they’ve played for us before then fair enough, that tends to help everyone know how they’ll fit in but of course it’s no guarantee they will do well or not.
03-01-2020, 11:31 AM
Not played football for over a year. Never got a kick at Derby? Anyone want to guess why. Good player but a stinking attitude. Let’s go out and find they next top class left sided CB to take over from Paul over the next few years.
TheGreenMan
03-01-2020, 11:48 AM
If Efe is a bombscare then wtf is Paul Hanlon?
EDIT - but he's one of our own though so he's exempt from criticism
TheGreenMan
03-01-2020, 11:54 AM
Nevermind how much he improved our attacking play by actually being composed enough to step out of defence, pick a pass and sometimes even beat a man to open up space. Of course with this comes additional risk and he'd occasionally lose the ball but lets count how many times Hanlon just launches it these days gifting the ball back to whoever we play. The pros far outweigh the cons that it's not even close. If we can get him in given how bad we've been defensively then we should do it.
03-01-2020, 11:56 AM
Efe Ambrose was one of our best centre halves in the last 20 years. All this bombscare stuff is unreal.
03-01-2020, 11:58 AM
Just to clarify, is there ANY chance he's even considering coming back to ER anyway?
03-01-2020, 12:00 PM
Nevermind how much he improved our attacking play by actually being composed enough to step out of defence, pick a pass and sometimes even beat a man to open up space. Of course with this comes additional risk and he'd occasionally lose the ball but lets count how many times Hanlon just launches it these days gifting the ball back to whoever we play. The pros far outweigh the cons that it's not even close. If we can get him in given how bad we've been defensively then we should do it.
Hanlon launches it when he has to, but he always plays wherever it is possible.
When we had Efe, the pair of them bringing the ball out of defence was a highlight of our play as a team.
OK, Paul probably isn't as good as Efe at that but we haven't had many who were - Sauzee and (before my time iso I'm going on what other folk say) Stanton probably being the two best footballing defenders we've had.
Efe's ability to bring the ball out of defence should absolutely not be used as a stick to beat Paul Hanlon.
03-01-2020, 12:04 PM
Not played football for over a year. Never got a kick at Derby? Anyone want to guess why. Good player but a stinking attitude. Let’s go out and find they next top class left sided CB to take over from Paul over the next few years.
Derby are a lot better than us would be my guess.
03-01-2020, 12:07 PM
Derby are a lot better than us would be my guess.
So why sign him in the first place?
munchar
03-01-2020, 12:13 PM
Paul, like Louie, although both tremendous servants are not & have never been top class. Can’t be sentimental. Efe’s at least twice as good as Hanlon. Stevenson produces nothing going forward, which is a big part of the modern game now. Steady at best, but to many sideways & backward passes.
03-01-2020, 12:15 PM
I’m sure I don’t really have to explain this, but they will have signed him because they could. He was available, won’t have cost them much in the scheme of things and he was cover for them.
They had a great run and he couldn’t get in a team that went to the play offs.
If not getting a game for Derby rules you out of playing for Hibs then we won’t have many options...
03-01-2020, 12:15 PM
Prefer we went out and got one who could take over from Paul now
TheGreenMan
03-01-2020, 12:19 PM
When we had Efe, the pair of them bringing the ball out of defence was a highlight of our play as a team.
OK, Paul probably isn't as good as Efe at that but we haven't had many who were - Sauzee and (before my time iso I'm going on what other folk say) Stanton probably being the two best footballing defenders we've had.
Efe's ability to bring the ball out of defence should absolutely not be used as a stick to beat Paul Hanlon.
Hanlon plays it safe to Stevenson or another defender these days if he plays at all. But generally he launches it or tries a long diagonal that he rarely makes. Efe was able to actually start attacks, not just knock a safe pass across the back 4. It's not specific to beating Hanlon, it's people who think we have '4 decent centre halfs' and dont want him back because of some tag that was labelled when he made some high profile errors against Juventus and the likes 7 years ago! Its ridiculous to not think he'd improve our team based on how we've defended this season.
03-01-2020, 12:23 PM
Efe Ambrose was one of our best centre halves in the last 20 years. All this bombscare stuff is unreal.
Correct.
03-01-2020, 12:29 PM
He's welcome back in a Hibs jersey whenever he wants in my opinion. I never understood the bomb scare reference. Would anyone call our current centre halves bomb scares who are making FAR more mistakes than Efe ever did? I doubt it. I think there's a larger discussion to be had about that label and the type of players who get them but that's for another time.
Efe was a pure entertainer and an absolutely great defender that was, and still is, criminally underrated in this country. Any club outside of Celtic and Rangers would be lucky to have him, even then I think he'd have a role to play in both Celtic and Rangers squads tbh.
I've said it before, probably in this thread, but after McGinn Allan and McGeouch all left that summer and the team started to dip in form, Efe was routinely the only one to put a smile on your face and get you excited during a game, and that's a centre half.
Did he leave us behind? Yes, but I have zero doubt in my mind that the club knew that was coming and signed him knowing/agreeing to that with the hope that they could MAYBE persuade him to stay when the time came. But let's be realistic in that the writing was on the wall for his pal Lennon when he left, and he probably had the opportunity to double his money at Derby. I wish he stayed but if that was the deal we had with him to get him to sign then it was a deal worth taking to get 2 years of an absolute class act.
Come home Efe. Your rooms how you left it son.
hibeerealist
03-01-2020, 12:35 PM
:agree: Sad but true. Lost count of the goals we have lost where Paul "could have done much better". He will be aware of this himself as he gives his all virtually every game and will know where he could have done better!!
03-01-2020, 12:52 PM
On Sunday at Livingston Hanlon had the best bit of creativity from anyone in green, bursting past 2 or three livi guys from half way and threading a great pass through for Doidge which led to a corner.
He has it in his locker.
03-01-2020, 01:13 PM
3 at the back with porteous, daz and Efe is the stuff of dreams. Porteous was always much better alongside Efe and big Daz is there as the experienced enforcer type.
Allows us to play an attacking 3-5-2 and accommodate 2 wide players. Also Efe is always like an extra midfielder when he strolls out of defence.
Absolute no brainer! Some of the stuff about him this morning is absolute madness.
We played that last year for a lot of games and I don’t think we won any
03-01-2020, 01:16 PM
They needed cover. Didn’t ever make the match day squad for them.
We helped get his residency Visa and offered him a good wedge to stay on a new contract but he chose to sod off for nowt in January due to a clause. Seemingly poor training ethic and got away with murder under Lennon, pissed off a few senior players and never engaged in any Hibs activities outwith the playing bit, like sponsors evening. We need to look forward and stop looking back at ex players.
03-01-2020, 01:21 PM
It’s a no from me , odd good game we need consistency
vercol36
03-01-2020, 01:26 PM
Christ, these folk calling Efe a bombscare can't watch much other football. Silly mistakes are, unfortunately, in the nature of a defensive role - Van Dijk often makes silly little mistakes, but my god does he make up for it!
03-01-2020, 01:34 PM
Really? I thought he was one of or most consistent performers.
03-01-2020, 01:41 PM
He had a lot more good games than bad, he was probably our best player before he left, that being said I wouldnt take him back just now as he will be no where near match fit
03-01-2020, 01:44 PM
He is more consistent than any defender to play for Hibs in 15 years at least. Odd good game is just incredible. Absolutely miles from the truth.
03-01-2020, 01:44 PM
We need a defensive midfielder and a forward, not Ambrose.
03-01-2020, 01:48 PM
Much as I loved Efe, tend to agree with this.
To criticise PH in line 1 (& 2 subsequent posts) then say PH is exempt from criticism in line 2, takes irony to a whole new level! 😊
03-01-2020, 02:11 PM
Everybody sees it different I'm not saying hes not better than Hanlon etc just think we could do better, he had a few rough games Aberdeen away springs to mind gms had him on toast , but he was right back that game. The way he conducted himself when returning from holiday is a bigger factor than consistency. Alsomthe way he couldn't get away quick enough let's move on from efe Ambrose
03-01-2020, 02:15 PM
On Sunday at Livingston Hanlon had the best bit of creativity from anyone in green, bursting past 2 or three livi guys from half way and threading a great pass through for Doidge which led to a corner.
He has it in his locker.
He was far from being the worst performer on Sunday.
TheGreenMan
03-01-2020, 02:20 PM
He was far from being the worst performer on Sunday.
Yet completely lost his man by turning away from the ball at a set piece for some unknown reason at the first goal, which he then in turn drags the ball over the line. He's been poor for far too long.
TheGreenMan
03-01-2020, 02:22 PM
To criticise PH in line 1 (& 2 subsequent posts) then say PH is exempt from criticism in line 2, takes irony to a whole new level! 😊
You know what I mean, he's given far more room for error and to some he's beyond criticism because of who he supports and length of service.
03-01-2020, 02:22 PM
Everybody sees it different I'm not saying hes not better than Hanlon etc just think we could do better, he had a few rough games Aberdeen away springs to mind gms had him on toast , but he was right back that game. The way he conducted himself when returning from holiday is a bigger factor than consistency. Alsomthe way he couldn't get away quick enough let's move on from efe Ambrose
Its already gone from odd good game to odd bad one :greengrin
Lets be honest, the guy was sheer class, one bad game away at Aberdeen doesn't change that.
munchar
03-01-2020, 02:25 PM
I’m amazed that people think we don’t need a defender, & that we can do better then Effe. Who exactly is better that we can get in for free?
03-01-2020, 02:33 PM
We helped get his residency Visa and offered him a good wedge to stay on a new contract but he chose to sod off for nowt in January due to a clause. Seemingly poor training ethic and got away with murder under Lennon, pissed off a few senior players and never engaged in any Hibs activities outwith the playing bit, like sponsors evening. We need to look forward and stop looking back at ex players.
I agree to an extent, but when a player of his quality is available and wants to come then it should be a no brainer IMO
03-01-2020, 02:39 PM
I think it was Captains Trip on here that made an excellent point (unusually :greengrin) that it was only those people watching that panicked with the things that Efe did.
Efe himself knew exactly what he was doing and was exceptionally competent at doing it, and so couldn't have been further from being a bombscare.
Gypsy King
03-01-2020, 02:42 PM
One of Heckingbottom's many failures was not bringing Efe back. The boy is a Rolls Royce at SPL level. Would be a catastrophic error of judgment from Ross to let him end up at Livi
03-01-2020, 02:44 PM
I’m sure I don’t really have to explain this, but they will have signed him because they could. He was available, won’t have cost them much in the scheme of things and he was cover for them.
They had a great run and he couldn’t get in a team that went to the play offs.
If not getting a game for Derby rules you out of playing for Hibs then we won’t have many options...
Surely it'd only rule out folk who were at Derby but didn't get picked? In which case there's still loads of options :greengrin
You know what I mean, he's given far more room for error and to some he's beyond criticism because of who he supports and length of service.
I think it's quite the opposite. It's a toss up between him & Stevie Mallan who gets most criticism on here. Just a thought, if Paul H had allowed himself to be out muscled the way Darren was for the 2nd goal on Sunday there would have been outrage on here.
Gypsy King
03-01-2020, 03:02 PM
Paul Hanlon isn't very good, neither is Stevenson . Its no really up for debate. Nae green tinted loyalty specs -Teams target lewis and Paul as they are weak. Efe is one of the best centre half's I've ever seen pull on the Green. Get him signed
03-01-2020, 03:06 PM
There’s absolutely no way we will be able to do better than Efe. The guy is a class act, the way he brought the ball from defence into the attacking area was brilliant. There was none of this passing the ball around the defence for a while before an aimless pass up the pitch when Efe was in the team. He was also an athletic defender with pace, he made the odd error, but no more than any other defender. His errors looked worse because he was trying to play out from the back. It would be criminal if he signs for Livingston without us trying to sign him first.
03-01-2020, 03:09 PM
He gets more criticism than any player at Easter rd. 😂😂
munchar
03-01-2020, 03:18 PM
Paul Hanlon isn't very good, neither is Stevenson . Its no really up for debate. Nae green tinted loyalty specs -Teams target lewis and Paul as they are weak. Efe is one of the best centre half's I've ever seen pull on the Green. Get him signed
100% And that’s not having a go at 2 magnificent servants. The way you judge a top player, is if there’s big clubs make a move imo. Efe, Scotty, Dylan & SJM got the money moved because they were consistently laying well. When it doesn’t work out for them elsewhere, that’s when we get the opportunity to bring them back to a place they enjoyed & played well. Efe & Dylan a must if there’s a chance.
shetlandhibee
03-01-2020, 04:15 PM
There’s absolutely no way we will be able to do better than Efe. The guy is a class act, the way he brought the ball from defence into the attacking area was brilliant. There was none of this passing the ball around the defence for a while before an aimless pass up the pitch when Efe was in the team. He was also an athletic defender with pace, he made the odd error, but no more than any other defender. His errors looked worse because he was trying to play out from the back. It would be criminal if he signs for Livingston without us trying to sign him first.
im pretty much in this camp all the way very sensible post :agree::top marks
03-01-2020, 04:38 PM
Come on Hibs!
Make it happen!
Bring back Efe!
The guy is class.
And while we're at it, bring back McGeouch too!
el hibs
03-01-2020, 05:05 PM
He's class and can also play defensive midfield.
EI255
03-01-2020, 05:06 PM
He shouldn't have left us in the first place!
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
TimeForHeroes16
03-01-2020, 05:08 PM
He's class and can also play defensive midfield.
Oh no no no no, CDM for efe got tried and tested Killie away and was a serious mistake. He is still class tho
pollution
03-01-2020, 05:09 PM
So we shouldn’t have re-signed Allan either?
Don’t get this nonsense about not looking back. We sign players for what they can do for us now and if they’ve played for us before then fair enough, that tends to help everyone know how they’ll fit in but of course it’s no guarantee they will do well or not.
That's a fair point but the difference is that Allan signed for a " better " club for a fee to Hibs whereas Efe left us for what/who?
I don't think re signing him looks like a good policy ie the player has done nothing football wise for a year.
03-01-2020, 05:23 PM
I’d love to see him back but wonder if he burned his bridges and Hibs not prepared to welcome him back. I could have understood him leaving in the January window if he had a club lined up but he didn’t, just seemed to want away regardless.
NC1875
03-01-2020, 05:50 PM
He left Hibs without even having another club lined up so he really wasnt fussed for being here. I’m pretty sure he signed for Derby after the window closed.
Not sure we’d get the same from him without Lennon here
03-01-2020, 06:07 PM
He left Hibs without even having another club lined up so he really wasnt fussed for being here. I’m pretty sure he signed for Derby after the window closed.
Not sure we’d get the same from him without Lennon here
You'd have to be his agent to know if that is true. I very much doubt it is.
I’d love to see him back but wonder if he burned his bridges and Hibs not prepared to welcome him back. I could have understood him leaving in the January window if he had a club lined up but he didn’t, just seemed to want away regardless.
I think Lennon going has a lot to do with it, he let Efe get away with a hell of a lot, late for training and not turning up for sponsored events, I don't think the board and club were overly happy about it.
03-01-2020, 06:28 PM
Nobody would seriously have Hanlon ahead of Ambrose? :greengrin
03-01-2020, 06:30 PM
Nobody would seriously have Hanlon ahead of Ambrose? :greengrin
Does it always have to be instead of? They played very well together.
03-01-2020, 06:33 PM
May be covered elsewhere but the only mistake I remember from Efe was at Pittodrie. I genuinely cannot remember another. Possibly the best playerHibs have had barring McGinn in many a long year.
03-01-2020, 07:00 PM
Efe is great in a back 3 where he can be the spare man who has the freedom to launch attacks. He's far less good as a conventional cb who requires the discipline to man mark. All above is IMO of course. He certainly didn't cost us countless goals but neither did he only give away goals by losing possession. His performance at Molde, as an example was very poor. In addition to his probable lack of fitness there's another issue. Although Efe was a popular guy in the squad there were some ructions because of the perception that NL cut him much more slack than anyone else. I doubt Jack Ross will be prepared to change formation to resign and accommodate an ageing, probably unfit cb with a dodgy work ethos.
Exactly my thoughts as well.
147lothian
03-01-2020, 07:10 PM
What a good post!
Anyone employed by Hibernian who doesn’t think Efe is a 100% hibs player should be sacked. He’s probably sitting on a beach right now listening to Bob Marley not giving a flying ****, looking at the SPFL table laughing at the jambos. I’d pay double my season ticket fee to watch him drop his shoulder and tear up the pitch just once.
jax67
03-01-2020, 07:16 PM
Anyone employed by Hibernian who doesn’t think Efe is a 100% hibs player should be sacked. He’s probably sitting on a beach right now listening to Bob Marley not giving a flying ****, looking at the SPFL table laughing at the jambos. I’d pay double my season ticket fee to watch him drop his shoulder and tear up the pitch just once.
This.👍
03-01-2020, 07:22 PM
I do agree with you, but I don't think we can just airbrush some of the baggage that comes with Efe out that easily though.
He is the quintessential Hibs player. Mercurially talented, utterly bonkers, hugely entertaining, very watchable, an underachiever that shouldn't really be spoken of in terms of moves to Hibs or Livi because with a wee screw of the nut he is capable of playing at a much higher level (see number of Nigeria caps, playing in a Celtic defence that kept a shutout against Barcelona etc).
It would be interesting to see how he'd get on under a manager other than Lennon - it is often said that Lennon allowing him to get away with murder brought the best out of him, maybe that's not true?
Anyway, at his age he should be about at his peak so any team that puts a bit of faith in him might be amply rewarded.
Paul H has played more than 400 games for Hibs under about 10 different managers. He has a remarkable 23 caps for Scotland U21 & also captained them. He's a Scottish Cup winner & made an outstanding contribution to that success. It's ok though, you say he's not really very good & it's not up for debate. No, thats only your opinion & one which isn't shared by all these managers & his fellow pros.
03-01-2020, 07:44 PM
On pure talent, the return of Ambrose is a no-brainer.
I think Lennon going has a lot to do with it, he let Efe get away with a hell of a lot, late for training and not turning up for sponsored events, I don't think the board and club were overly happy about it.
There were a few rumours on here when we had Ambrose about such behaviour, but it was tolerated because he produced the goods for us on the pitch.
I can see the board, caches and Mathie all remembering both that and how he left us (which was prior to Lennon's departure) and asking Ross if this is something he would put up with. If the answer is no, then would we get the performances we remember?
I do want him back, but not under any circumstances.
crash
03-01-2020, 07:58 PM
Wouldn’t want Ambrose back as I am not comfortable with defenders taking risks in our own half, would prefer us to get a strong back 4 who can defend and get the ball forward early to give our midfield and strikers a chance , hacked off with limited players playing slow football in our own half,
03-01-2020, 08:06 PM
He was a brilliant player for us, couldn't care less about the rest. Latapy was the same, you need to take the rough with the smooth sometimes at our level in my opinion
Although true, not every manager wants to deal with a player like that.
munchar
03-01-2020, 08:24 PM
If he was a model professional he would never be anywhere near our club. As a fan, just want to see the best players at Hibs. Efe is certainly one of them. Sometimes you need to accommodate these types, or do we just accept the players who are 100% professional, but lacking in ability?
03-01-2020, 08:31 PM
Although true, not every manager wants to deal with a player like that.
I agree with that, but I'm not the manager 😁
Not up for debate ? By you Obviously but not me .How many managers have continued to play both . If you think Efe is one of the best you have seen you cant have been around very long
Paul H has played more than 400 games for Hibs under about 10 different managers. He has a remarkable 23 caps for Scotland U21 & also captained them. He's a Scottish Cup winner & made an outstanding contribution to that success. It's ok though, you say he's not really very good & it's not up for debate. No, thats only your opinion & one which isn't shared by all these managers & his fellow pros.
03-01-2020, 09:05 PM
Does it always have to be instead of? They played very well together.
Not as well as Porteous did with Ambrose though.
03-01-2020, 09:47 PM
I don’t know where Porteous was great with Ambrose stuff is coming from. We were awful first half of last season and our defending was rotten.
Even then we mostly played a back 3 and didn’t win a single game playing that formation after John McGinn left.
03-01-2020, 09:48 PM
Not as well as Porteous did with Ambrose though.
Nonsense. Come on. There has to be at least a little bit of logic in debate. 😂
04-01-2020, 10:17 AM
You'd have to be his agent to know if that is true. I very much doubt it is.
It’s not a huge leap to assume that if ye leave a club at the end of December, if you have a club lined up and yer free, ye’d sign for that club immediately...not on the 12th of February.
04-01-2020, 10:21 AM
It’s not a huge leap to assume that if ye leave a club at the end of December, if you have a club lined up and yer free, ye’d sign for that club immediately...not on the 12th of February.
Maybe he had many clubs lined up and he chose them?
04-01-2020, 10:26 AM
Our defence IMO at times has been a shambles, does Efe improve the defence?
Does he improve the team yes or no it as simple as that.
For me he does improve team.
04-01-2020, 10:27 AM
Lennon gave Efe a lot of leeway at Hibs and Celtic. When he left Celtic, Efe struggled to adapt to the new management and became known for being a liability rather than a ball playing centre half.
I don't see him being successful in a team as rigid as Livi, and Jack Ross might feel similarly.
05-01-2020, 08:18 PM
Maybe he had many clubs lined up and he chose them?
7 weeks later?
06-01-2020, 06:26 AM
7 weeks later?
Quite possibly. He maybe chose Derby earlier and things like international clearance, contract etc still had to be sorted? Maybe Derby needed to move someone on?
06-01-2020, 07:24 AM
Everything other than Loyal Hibs opinion would point to Hanlon and Stevenson being pretty good players. Which they absolutely are imo.
06-01-2020, 07:34 AM
Quite possibly. He maybe chose Derby earlier and things like international clearance, contract etc still had to be sorted? Maybe Derby needed to move someone on?
He was a UK Citizen at the time so it was straightforward in that sense. He was brought in as cover after Curtis Davies ruptured his achilles in Mid-Jan.
He also had a few days on trial at the beginning Feb with them.
I think it's fairly safe to say he didn't have them lined up.
06-01-2020, 07:36 AM
Did he not have a team lined up and it fell through. He was then linked with a return at the end of the same window but it didnt happen. Im sure that was reported at the time
06-01-2020, 07:41 AM
Everything other than Loyal Hibs opinion would point to Hanlon and Stevenson being pretty good players. Which they absolutely are imo.
Both hibs legends who have stuck with the club through thick and thin
I remember the Sheep sniffing around Paul Hanlon and were quite keen
Paul Hanlon also missed the last two months of the run in to our relegation season through injury and I am convinced that if he had remained fully fit we would have held onto our Premiership status
Steven79
06-01-2020, 08:17 AM
Both hibs legends who have stuck with the club through thick and thin
I remember the Sheep sniffing around Paul Hanlon and were quite keen
Paul Hanlon also missed the last two months of the run in to our relegation season through injury and I am convinced that if he had remained fully fit we would have held onto our Premiership status
All things considered it was the best thing that ever happened to us.
06-01-2020, 08:24 AM
All things considered it was the best thing that ever happened to us.
” This is our silver lining” Alan Stubbs
06-01-2020, 09:07 AM
He was a UK Citizen at the time so it was straightforward in that sense. He was brought in as cover after Curtis Davies ruptured his achilles in Mid-Jan.
He also had a few days on trial at the beginning Feb with them.
I think it's fairly safe to say he didn't have them lined up.
So maybe he had something else lined up and they swooped in? Maybe did he just hate Hibs and couldn't wait to leave.
06-01-2020, 09:56 AM
So maybe he had something else lined up and they swooped in? Maybe did he just hate Hibs and couldn't wait to leave.
I don't think coming in 7 weeks after he left Hibs as swooping.
There is very little evidence to suggest he had something lined up. The facts suggest that he didn't and he just bombed us out in the hope of getting something better.
Gypsy King
06-01-2020, 10:24 AM
He's just not very good though. He tries and he has been a loyal servant but really, when it comes down to it. He doesn't have it. Its why he has been with us his whole career. Id be extremely interested to see his percentages of successful tackles, Interceptions, Aerial duals won and lost along with completed passes.
I'm fairly confident he would be in the lower percentiles comparatively to other CB's in top six teams In the SPL.
I'm Spartacus
06-01-2020, 10:26 AM
GET. HIM. IN.
No brainer for me, class act.
Gypsy King
06-01-2020, 10:29 AM
What would point to that? How many goals Hanlon has been directly at fault for? His regular Jekkyl and Hyde performance. The guy is a weak link and he is too soft.
06-01-2020, 10:59 AM
What would point to that? How many goals Hanlon has been directly at fault for? His regular Jekkyl and Hyde performance. The guy is a weak link and he is too soft.
400+ appearances, many of them as captain and being a first pick for about 10 different managers would point to that imo.
He’s probably never been good enough for a big money move, but that doesn’t mean he’s not good enough for Hibs. Same goes with Stevenson.
NC1875
06-01-2020, 11:03 AM
400+ appearances, many of them as captain and being a first pick for about 10 different managers would point to that imo.
He’s probably never been good enough for a big money move, but that doesn’t mean he’s not good enough for Hibs. Same goes with Stevenson.
Previous Hibs teams maybe in your opinion, but one with aspirations to finish 3rd, even 4th in the league ? Part of the reason we are where we are I’m afraid and some people find it impossible to admit it.
06-01-2020, 11:17 AM
Talking about 300 or 400 apps is his whole time. I am not talking about PH from 3-10yrs ago or LS I am saying as of the now the last 6mths or so have been defensively poor from both of them and in fact others in the squad.
06-01-2020, 11:17 AM
Previous Hibs teams maybe in your opinion, but one with aspirations to finish 3rd, even 4th in the league ? Part of the reason we are where we are I’m afraid and some people find it impossible to admit it.
He has been in previous Hibs teams that have done those things. The reason it's impossible to admit is because it's factually incorrect.
Gypsy King
06-01-2020, 11:30 AM
I have ever bit of faith in Ross and I reckon we will see Hanlon get phased out. Time will tell
Gypsy King
06-01-2020, 11:31 AM
He has been in previous Hibs teams that have done those things. The reason it's impossible to admit is because it's factually incorrect.
He also plaid 34 games in a team that was relegated
06-01-2020, 11:34 AM
He played in a Hibs team that finished 4th? And also a Hibs team that have won a cup, another of our main aspirations.
06-01-2020, 11:45 AM
We wouldn't have got relegated if he hadn't of got injured at the beginning of March
06-01-2020, 12:07 PM
Have you just borrowed your user name?
06-01-2020, 12:34 PM
Hanlons been a liability this season. If we had more options and less Injuries I would have no complaints if he was dropped. Ambrose is 10x a better player.
06-01-2020, 02:28 PM
We wouldn't have got relegated if he hadn't of got injured at the beginning of March
This. Although he’s been shocking for 18 months now.
Bay Area Hibees
07-01-2020, 06:13 AM
Agree!
Bay Area Hibees
07-01-2020, 06:24 AM
Agree!
07-01-2020, 08:42 AM
This. Although he’s been shocking for 18 months now.
He missed most of the 1st half of last season with a knee injury. I thought he was ok 2nd half of last season but agreed, he's been poor this season.
I can't help but think a lot of that is to do with the lack of protection from midfield. It'll be interesting to see if his form changes if we get a recognised defensive midfielder in.
07-01-2020, 06:47 PM
He's just not very good though. He tries and he has been a loyal servant but really, when it comes down to it. He doesn't have it. Its why he has been with us his whole career. Id be extremely interested to see his percentages of successful tackles, Interceptions, Aerial duals won and lost along with completed passes.
I'm fairly confident he would be in the lower percentiles comparatively to other CB's in top six teams In the SPL.
So why have so many managers stuck with him?
07-01-2020, 07:11 PM
Just noticed this. Go and find the stats and it might put you back in your box. His interception rate is in top 6 players in Scotland. His pass rate is better than any CH outside the old firm. His pass rate leading to a dangerous attack is also top 6. And that’s why he keeps getting picked when all the experts on forums saying he is rubbish. I’ll trust a trained coaches opinion first. 👍
07-01-2020, 07:14 PM
Just noticed this. Go and find the stats and it might put you back in your box. His interception rate is in top 6 players in Scotland. His pass rate is better than any CH outside the old firm. His pass rate leading to a dangerous attack is also top 6. And that’s why he keeps getting picked when all the experts on forums saying he is rubbish. I’ll trust a trained coaches opinion first. 👍
Now you’re letting facts get in the way of message board opinions, that will never do 😁
07-01-2020, 07:18 PM
Youve said all these things before. Do you have a link or know where to find these stats? They sound quite interesting and i would like to see where he and his team mates stand in relation to the rest of the league.
07-01-2020, 07:19 PM
So why have so many managers stuck with him?
Is the correct answer.
Yet folk on here know better.
Same goes for Stevenson. I have had concerns about aspects of his play since he first came into the Hibs team but year after year manager after manager have decided that he is the best guy to do the job at his pay grade. Common sense would suggest they can't all be wrong.
Professional sport is brutal and neither Hanlon and Stevenson are in the team on sentiment. Once they aren't up to it they will be removed, but as things stand they are still considered up to it by those whose opinion matters.
07-01-2020, 08:48 PM
Youve said all these things before. Do you have a link or know where to find these stats? They sound quite interesting and i would like to see where he and his team mates stand in relation to the rest of the league.
Go look for yourself.
07-01-2020, 08:51 PM
Go look for yourself.
Where? Thats what im asking. Assuming you arent making it up that is.
07-01-2020, 08:58 PM
Where? Thats what im asking. Assuming you arent making it up that is.
Google. I’ve looked it up in the past. It brakes down all the players. But if I was going to go on a forum to slate a player I’d have some actual evidence rather than just listening to the boy in the pub. The majority that slate him and Stevenson wouldn’t know a decent defender if he was sitting on their face.
07-01-2020, 09:01 PM
Google. I’ve looked it up in the past. It brakes down all the players. But if I was going to go on a forum to slate a player I’d have some actual evidence rather than just listening to the boy in the pub. The majority that slate him and Stevenson wouldn’t know a decent defender if he was sitting on their face.
I love Lewis, but for the sake of balance, the stats on him have not been kind these last two years. One of the least effective fullbacks in the Premiership at blocking crosses into the box.
Efe is an absolute class act and would undoubtedly improve us though.
07-01-2020, 09:26 PM
Stays are a funny thing though, they dont show you how humpty a player has been in a game, he could get battered about the place all game but then assist with a goal or have a block in the box and that's what a stat will show. I prefer to judge players on what I see, not what it says on a piece of paper. Hanlon when on form is a decent player for us as is stevenson and they would both walk into most clubs up here
07-01-2020, 09:30 PM
Look at our goals against stat.
A constant in an underperforming defensive unit. By no means all down to him but he’s hugely culpable. He’s meant to be the leader in there.
08-01-2020, 06:24 AM
Look at our goals against stat.
A constant in an underperforming defensive unit. By no means all down to him but he’s hugely culpable. He’s meant to be the leader in there.
Scott Allan is also a constant in an underperforming defensive unit. So is Kamberi. So is Porteous. They are all hugely culpable, defending is a team game.
Green Badger
18-02-2020, 01:03 PM
STV saying on twitter Efe has signed for Livingston, 18 month deal.
18-02-2020, 01:40 PM
STV saying on twitter Efe has signed for Livingston, 18 month deal.
Great signing for them unfortunately. But with the form of Jackson and McGinn , we didn’t need him .
Class player tho.
18-02-2020, 01:41 PM
Would fit in to our ‘new’ system perfectly.
But 14 months without a game. Obviously some reason nobody has taken a punt on him.