View Full Version : Scotland v Belgium

09-09-2019, 12:54 PM
Never started any kind of match day thread before so I thought I'd have a go at this one. Maybe I'll bring them luck...

09-09-2019, 12:55 PM
I'm not running a bus if anybody doesn't fancy going.

09-09-2019, 12:59 PM
I'm going through tonight and regretting this.

09-09-2019, 01:07 PM
I think we’ll see a bit of a reaction from fridays game, unfortunately it’s unlikely to be anywhere near enough against a top quality team like Belgium. It’s a win or go home game now and hopefully that brings out the best from us.

Leitherhibs
09-09-2019, 01:08 PM
I can foresee a really good performance tonight but ultimately one that will lead to glorious defeat, 2-1 Belgium.

Green Man
09-09-2019, 01:13 PM
Belgium are a very good side, and even if Scotland had performed against Russia I’d be expecting us to lose tonight. Not a criticism of Scotland here, just an acknowledgement of how good Belgium are.

Cardinal G
09-09-2019, 01:16 PM
I'm going through tonight and regretting this.

Snap. Feeling that we may get a doing.

09-09-2019, 01:17 PM
I'm going too. We generally put up a good show against the top seeds at Hampden, usually with nothing to show for it, so it'll be an entertaining game at least.

09-09-2019, 01:21 PM
Hecky out.

09-09-2019, 01:22 PM
Put your money on a Scotland win. Its Argentina '78 all over again!

09-09-2019, 01:26 PM
We'll be lucky to keep it under 3.

09-09-2019, 01:39 PM
This one should suit Clarke's tactics better, since the Belgians will be happy to be on the front foot.

So I think we'll keep it down to 4 or 5.

09-09-2019, 01:39 PM
Put your money on a Scotland win. Its Argentina '78 all over again!

I was going to say that this is the kind of game Scotland win.

09-09-2019, 01:40 PM
Mad Scotland 2-1 win setting us up for that familiar, pointless, hopes raised let-down later on. :brickwall

09-09-2019, 01:44 PM
I was going to say that this is the kind of game Scotland win.

Ten years ago maybe. You’d have always felt that we could cause an upset against the big teams at Hampden. No now though.

09-09-2019, 01:45 PM
I was going to say that this is the kind of game that Scotland win.

When did we last win a game like that? :dunno:

You can get 9/1 for a Scotland win. Best I can see for Belgium is 2/5.

It's the kind of game Scotland can lose 0-3 without Belgium breaking sweat. Again.

09-09-2019, 01:52 PM
Belgium -1 4/5 😂😂😂😂

09-09-2019, 02:07 PM
Belgium -1 4/5 😂😂😂😂

Belgium -2 16/5 :hmmm:

09-09-2019, 02:08 PM
Belgium half time/full time looks a decent bet at evens

09-09-2019, 02:17 PM
Hopefully Clarke is using these games now to build his team/tactics ahead of nations league qualifiers.

If we can get Griff back ASAP then that would help us out massively

09-09-2019, 02:31 PM
Snap. Feeling that we may get a doing.

Guaranteed Scotland will win tonight.

09-09-2019, 02:37 PM

That guarantee isn't worth the paper it's not written on.

09-09-2019, 02:38 PM
Belgium -2 16/5 :hmmm:

-1 printing money -2 is definitely being beat on with the findings from bet one 😉

09-09-2019, 02:45 PM
Belgium half time/full time looks a decent bet at evens

Agree that looks the value I think.

09-09-2019, 02:45 PM
That guarantee isn't worth the paper it's not written on.

MK Dons v AFC Wimbledon thread for this pish.

09-09-2019, 02:49 PM
MK Dons v AFC Wimbledon thread for this pish.

He offered a guarantee. There isn't one.

09-09-2019, 03:12 PM
I would be surprised if it is less than 2 goals of a defeat.

I just hope to see some progress and some good performances. Oh and Stephen O'donnell not on the pitch.

09-09-2019, 03:43 PM
If we are as feart of them as we were in the away game, we'll get pumped something awful.

Let's see if we can at least pose an attacking threat instead of cowering like tim'rous beasties until the 80th minute.

09-09-2019, 04:04 PM
Belgium -1 4/5 😂😂😂😂

I got belgium -1 at 11/10 this morning

09-09-2019, 04:16 PM
I’ll be hiding behind the couch, hands over eyes and ears singing La’ la ,la, la,la, la ......... I think they will take us apart. It might even be worse. :greengrin

09-09-2019, 04:35 PM
The one advantage of being an armchair Scotland fan is that if it turns bad it’s a simple task to switch off the TV. Hopefully won’t come to that but hard to see us take anything from the game.

09-09-2019, 04:44 PM
Don't think having these games on a Monday night does anything to add to the excitement.

Saturday day or night , Friday night or even a Sunday afternoon are all better than playing a game at 7.45pm on a Monday.

09-09-2019, 04:58 PM
5-1 Belgium. We'll do a David Narey (score first, make em angry).

Ardenttwo
09-09-2019, 05:08 PM
I’ll be hiding behind the couch, hands over eyes and ears singing La’ la ,la, la,la, la ......... I think they will take us apart. It might even be worse. :greengrin

Scotland 0 Belgium 9

09-09-2019, 05:23 PM
Glad to see McLean and Christie start. I love John McGinn as much as anyone but, leaving aside the 1st 10 minutes v Russia, he can have no complaints about being dropped. The same could be said if it had been either of the other 2.

Hopefully a bit of fight tonight and a performance that shows some pride.

JXM73
09-09-2019, 05:40 PM
Was going to watch, then saw that starting line up....brutal....

09-09-2019, 05:44 PM
How he can justify dropping Mcginn to bring Mclean in and McTominay still gets a start is beyond me

09-09-2019, 05:44 PM
Callum McGregor starting again shows all that is wrong with Scottish football if he’s playing instead of John McGinn

09-09-2019, 05:50 PM
I’m in the Clockwork Beer Co enjoying a refreshment. An absolute necessity given what will probably ensue.

09-09-2019, 05:54 PM
11 caps too many for O’Donnell

09-09-2019, 05:55 PM
11/10 Belgium -1 😂😂😂😂😂😂

09-09-2019, 05:59 PM
How he can justify dropping Mcginn to bring Mclean in and McTominay still gets a start is beyond me
Can only think its to try and bolster the midfield to keep the score down, then bring on McGinn if we need a goal?
Looks like he's playing (Clarke) for a 0-0 draw at home!!!!

09-09-2019, 06:03 PM
Scotland 0 Belgium 9

:greengrin Maybe not quite such a complete rout, but, if they don’t win by at least five goals, it will be a poor night for Belgium. Did one of their players not say on record that we were in the San Marino department. When your opponents have no respect whatsoever for you, you know you are kiboshed.

09-09-2019, 06:10 PM
:greengrin Maybe not quite such a complete rout, but, if they don’t win by at least five goals, it will be a poor night for Belgium. Did one of their players not say on record that we were in the San Marino department. When your opponents have no respect whatsoever for you, you know you are kiboshed.

That was Russia.

09-09-2019, 06:13 PM
Unfortunately there are no guarantees in life or football,

09-09-2019, 06:15 PM
Is Steven Naismith still injured, or didn’t he make the bench

09-09-2019, 06:17 PM
It doesn’t matter who he picks, no-one can get a tune out of players of this quality against this opposition.

Clarke’s team selections are just rearranging chairs on the titanic.

09-09-2019, 06:20 PM
I don’t think Clark rates Mcginn, that’s twice he’s dropped him after a defeat. Seems a bit like he’s blaming Mcginn for our poor performances. He wasn’t any worse than the others who played on Friday and he scored as well.

09-09-2019, 06:25 PM
Martinez on crack

09-09-2019, 06:25 PM
I don’t think Clark rates Mcginn, that’s twice he’s dropped him after a defeat. Seems a bit like he’s blaming Mcginn for our poor performances. He wasn’t any worse than the others who played on Friday and he scored as well.

Seems to me you may be rather correct with that observation m'lord.

09-09-2019, 06:31 PM
28/1 Belgium over 5.5 goals

09-09-2019, 06:33 PM

While I think McGinn is a terrific player, I don’t carry a torch for him, but I think that Clarke is making a huge mistake in subordinating his value to the Scottish team. For what it’s worth, I don’t go along with the hero/Messiah worship that Clarke attracts. He’s as good as the next guy but nothing much more IMHO. :tin hat:

09-09-2019, 06:37 PM

Pulled out injured - desperate to be fit for the derby

09-09-2019, 06:38 PM

Injured. God knows why he was picked in the first place.

09-09-2019, 06:45 PM
I'm going to say it again, I cannot stand that 'anthem'. Utter dirge. Surely we could come up with something more upbeat and stirring?

09-09-2019, 06:47 PM
I'm going to say it again, I cannot stand that 'anthem'. Utter dirge. Surely we could come up with something more upbeat and stirring?

I think Billy Connoly suggested the 'Archers' theme tune at one time?

09-09-2019, 06:49 PM
I think Billy Connoly suggested the 'Archers' theme tune at one time?
When he did that skit is was to replace God Save the Queen if I remember correctly....

Victor
09-09-2019, 06:51 PM

A large percentage of the support like it, so I think it unlikely that it will be changed. Probably best just to mute the sound or listen to your own choice, if you are in attendance!

JXM73
09-09-2019, 06:51 PM
So i guess thats what a high press looks like, encouraging start

09-09-2019, 06:52 PM
Good start.

09-09-2019, 06:53 PM
When he did that skit is was to replace God Save the Queen if I remember correctly....

Ah! Maybe,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, so I will change my suggestion to the theme tune of 'Tunes of Glory",,,,,,,,,,,
ask your Grandad.

09-09-2019, 06:54 PM
Play like this for the next 85 minutes and we might just nick something.

09-09-2019, 06:55 PM
Don't generally drink during the week but this is probably an emergency scenario. Especially if that is that tosser Provan co-commentating.

Play like this for the next 85 minutes and we might just nick something.

Umm...

Never mind, 1-0 Belgium

09-09-2019, 06:56 PM
Ahhhhhh ****.

09-09-2019, 06:56 PM
Sliced open easily. Bugger.

09-09-2019, 06:57 PM
Attacking Belgium not the best idea. 😂

Well no one saw that coming.

Shocking to let that happen from our free kick.

Well that takes away the fear of losing an early goal

09-09-2019, 06:58 PM
Attacking Belgium not the best idea. 😂

So naive.

Sliced open easily. Bugger.

Comic defending

Ripped apart so easy for Belgium.

09-09-2019, 06:59 PM
Meunier should’ve been booked there

Vermarlen even

09-09-2019, 07:00 PM
Ah! Maybe,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, so I will change my suggestion to the theme tune of 'Tunes of Glory",,,,,,,,,,,
ask your Grandad.
He's been gone 35 years and it's not important enough for me to enter the afterlife to ask him :greengrin

09-09-2019, 07:02 PM
He's been gone 35 years and it's not important enough for me to enter the afterlife to ask him :greengrin

I dunno, it's that or watch this for the next 75 minutes.

09-09-2019, 07:03 PM
Can't beat an international where the atmosphere is so flat you can hear the players' shouts.

09-09-2019, 07:03 PM
Turned over to Northern Ireland game. Fearing the worst at Hampden.

09-09-2019, 07:05 PM
San Marino held out much longer.

JXM73
Can't beat an international where the atmosphere is so flat you can hear the players' shouts.

Almost as bad as when they pack it out full of school kids...

It's champion. How long has Mertens had the peroxide blonde hair?

09-09-2019, 07:06 PM
Injured. God knows why he was picked in the first place.

He’s an excellent squad player for Scotland.

I hate our strip. Just saying.

And to think Strachan got ridiculed.

Not only are the players pish but Hampden is just a dire stadium. It's far too far from the pitch to create an intense atmosphere.

They should play games against smaller nations at Easter Road and the big games at Celtic Park or Ibrox. Obviously never in a million years will that happen though.

Playing not that bad here tbf.

09-09-2019, 07:07 PM
Not only are the players pish but Hampden is just a dire stadium. It's far too far from the pitch to create an intense atmosphere.

They should play games against smaller nations at Easter Road and the big games at Celtic Park or Ibrox. Obviously never in a million years of would that happen though.

Was anything but pish on 210516

Dropping our 3 best attacking players.. no wonder most folk aren’t the slightest bit interested in the national team.

Playing not that bad here tbf.

Really?

09-09-2019, 07:08 PM
Was anything but pish on 210516

It was pish for 92 minutes.

Nothing will change what that day represents but Hampden is a ****ing dump.

Dropping our 3 best attacking players.. no wonder most folk aren’t the slightest bit interested in the national team.

Yes but that decision makes a lot more sense now that we're a goal behind.

They should play games against smaller nations at Easter Road and the big games at Celtic Park or Ibrox. Obviously never in a million years will that happen though.

That’s pish.

France 06
Italy 07
Holland 04
Macedonia 09
Ukraine 07
Hibernian 16

All incredible atmospheres.

09-09-2019, 07:09 PM
So naive.

I'd say it was plain lazy rather than naïve. Somebody didn't bother their arse tracking Lukaku from the edge of our box.

Christ you can hear the shouts from the touch line.

It's champion. How long has Mertens had the peroxide blonde hair?

I don't know anything about players that don't have a Hibs connection!

2-0

2-0

That’s pish.

France 06
Italy 07
Holland 04
Macedonia 09
Ukraine 07
Hibernian 16

Atmosphere, I like a stadium with a certain atmosphere.

09-09-2019, 07:10 PM
So damn easy.

This is going to be a rout!

Really?

Yes, really. Does it go against the narrative of you wanting us to be terrible the full 90?

We'll be lucky if this finishes anything less than 5-0.

09-09-2019, 07:11 PM
Come on, Titin, gies a break, no?

Right lads this is clearly going to be Scotlandesque so in the spirit of denial of reality if this was a film, what film would it be?

Its a rout!

09-09-2019, 07:12 PM
Yes, really. Does it go against the narrative of you wanting us to be terrible the full 90?

Who pissed on your cornflakes? I'm just not seeing where/how we're playing quite well.

Clarke very quickly being found out. Of course Belgium are an excellent side, but we aren't even putting up a fight. Dreadful.

It was pish for 92 minutes.

Nothing will change what that day represents but Hampden is a ****ing dump.

It wasn’t pish when JC scores early doors the build up before the game the equaliser and the Sir David. Hampden represents much history highs and lows to everyone. When we win there it means more and seeing the national stadium automatically represents a big game feeling.

A defensive mess.

Clarence
Right lads this is clearly going to be Scotlandesque so in the spirit of denial of reality if this was a film, what film would it be?

It would be the Murren execution scene in Braveheart, over and over and over again.

Why drop so many players?

Torto7
09-09-2019, 07:13 PM
De Bruyne's fantastic to watch. He's like a hybrid of Beckham and Gerard.

We're very poor I'm afraid.

It wasn’t pish when JC scores early doors the build up before the game the equaliser and the Sir David. Hampden represents much history highs and lows to everyone. When we win there it means more and seeing the national stadium automatically represents a big game feeling.

JC?

murray26

Any horror film take your pick

Why drop so many players?

Keep the clubs of the players happy as it’s effectively meaningless?

It sounds like a friendly

09-09-2019, 07:14 PM

Debbie does Dallas. A total rodgering for 90 mins.

09-09-2019, 07:14 PM
JC?

Yes. Sorry sorry Stokes fae JC doon the line. **** knows how I got that wrong :greengrin

09-09-2019, 07:15 PM
Have you got a link to that?

That’s pish.

France 06
Italy 07
Holland 04
Macedonia 09
Ukraine 07
Hibernian 16

Hampden is ****ing ***** and should have been knocked down and rebuilt or moved to Murrayfield.

The 2016 cup final could have been played on the moon and it would still have had an incredible atmosphere such were the unique circumstances, it was nothing to do with Hampden being a great stadium.

JXM73

Titanic, slow pondering disaster and we all know the ending

JC?

Janthony Cokes

09-09-2019, 07:16 PM

Groundhog Day

09-09-2019, 07:16 PM
All lies. I'm 3 hours from Dallas and searched high and low for Debbie but she wisnae there.......

09-09-2019, 07:17 PM
I think this is the most apathetic about a campaign I can remember.

The Kazakstan game was an early kick in the balls (way to ruin a trip to San Marino!)

San Marino should have been a stomping, instead we got a lucky 0-2 win.

Cyprus drew Level with 3 to go, with a last minute winner saving our campaign.

Schooled by Russia and now a can being opened by Belgium.

Could be make the Moscow game with work. Have chinned off Cyprus. Saving my money.

The only glimmer of hope is the Nations Cup when we play teams of our own standard. However seeing how we played against “lesser” teams like Kazakstan, San Marino and Cyprus, I’m not holding my breath.

09-09-2019, 07:17 PM
Belgians are not even out of first gear here.

Woeful defending again

Torto7
09-09-2019, 07:18 PM
The Belgium team aren't even pressing us. They just stand off wait until it goes to the rb/lb pushed up the pitch then win the ball and break into the space behind at speed. There's lots of variation in their play.

Scotland look like they all met each other yesterday in comparison.

murray26
Number 3

That’s pish.

France 06
Italy 07
Holland 04
Macedonia 09
Ukraine 07
Hibernian 16

Correct - the best sporting atmospheres I’ve ever witnessed have been at Hampden, including Holland one above.

Obviously it’s been a while since we really enjoyed one there but that’s not because of the stadium.

People like Mulgrew should not be playing for Scotland.

Mulgrew? Not suprised, been less than average for years.

People like Mulgrew should not be playing for Scotland.

Who the hell do you play then????

09-09-2019, 07:19 PM
3-0

This could end up being double figures tonight if Belgium keep this up.

Zulu Dawn, no prizes for guessing which team is wearing the red tops...

3-0!

Jeez Phillips up top a converted winger who's scored 12 goals in 88 games for WBA, or how about playing Griffiths who's scored 107 in 210 for Celtic, couldn't make it up.

Mulgrew. Dug *****.

We are ****ing tragic.

Simples

This could be the humping of the century.

Lol.

SFA have a lot to answer to at grass roots level.

Torto7
That was pathetic.

09-09-2019, 07:20 PM
Mulgrew. Dug *****.

Problem is who steps in?? Grant Hanley??

Forever_Green93
How bad is our defence! It's pathetic.

Thief

We need to talk about Kevin!

09-09-2019, 07:21 PM
Nice jumping out the way of the ball by Phillips, ****ing embarrassing.

This could be the humping of the century.

It pretty much already is, regardless of the score. This is Belgium we're playing though.

If football games were just 15 minutes long we’d still be getting pumped.

Announce Hanlon.

took belgium 43 mins to score 1 against san marino, 30 mins to score 3 against us, whoever is responsible for the state of the national game...be ashamed

Is it possible that we have decided not to bother until the nations league play off thingy?

Does anyone seriously care anymore? Get this ****show over with and get club football back. Hibs might be ***** but they are our *****. Not a bunch of cretinious clowns wanting to add international footballer onto their c.v.

Play like this for the next 58 minutes and we might keep it to single figures.

Lol.

SFA have a lot to answer to at grass roots level.

Helmet Crabs at his least miserable when rubbing it in against fans of his own country. Who’d have thought it?

09-09-2019, 07:22 PM
Are we observing a 90 minutes silence tonight?

Is it possible that we have decided not to bother until the nations league play off thingy?

That’s what I’m doing now anyway!

Any manager should be able to set a team up to be hard to beat, and that’s all we should be doing against teams in the top 30.

Hampden is ****ing ***** and should have been knocked down and rebuilt or moved to Murrayfield.

The 2016 cup final could have been played on the moon and it would still have had an incredible atmosphere such were the unique circumstances, it was nothing to do with Hampden being a great stadium.

And the other games?

BTW I agree with you re ripping Hampden down, just saying it can generate a good atmosphere. It can’t half full getting pumped 0-3 by Belgium.

Who the hell do you play then????

Somebody that can defend better than him as weak as a kitten.

Not much choice but yes. Far from ideal but he's started the season well has he not... Minus that own goal.

09-09-2019, 07:23 PM
Announce Hanlon.

If Paul was going to be picked for Scotland it would have been by now.

I think this is the most apathetic about a campaign I can remember.

The Kazakstan game was an early kick in the balls (way to ruin a trip to San Marino!)

San Marino should have been a stomping, instead we got a lucky 0-2 win.

Cyprus drew Level with 3 to go, with a last minute winner saving our campaign.

Schooled by Russia and now a can being opened by Belgium.

Could be make the Moscow game with work. Have chinned off Cyprus. Saving my money.

The only glimmer of hope is the Nations Cup when we play teams of our own standard. However seeing how we played against “lesser” teams like Kazakstan, San Marino and Cyprus, I’m not holding my breath.

The teams we could face in the playoffs will be tough. Norway looked really good against Sweden last night and Serbia will always be a tough opponent.

That’s what I’m doing now anyway!

Me too. Binning off the remainder of the qualifiers. Might come out of hiding for the Nations League games.

Just have no enthusiasm. Despite being a well travelled, long serving member of the Tartan Army.

took belgium 43 mins to score 1 against san marino, 30 mins to score 3 against us, whoever is responsible for the state of the national game...be ashamed

That's quite a long list of names to be fair.

Not much choice but yes. Far from ideal but he's started the season well has he not?

Playing in the premier league should have got him a start.

09-09-2019, 07:25 PM
Announce Hanlon.

😂😂😂

Playing in the premier league should have got him a start.

Unfortunately that's the idea behind Mctominay and I wouldn't have him start.

Time for mass substitutions.

09-09-2019, 07:26 PM
Not much choice but yes. Far from ideal but he's started the season well has he not... Minus that own goal.

Sorry but I think he is a woeful player. How he gets game time in the top league is beyond me. 11 or so goals conceded in 4 EPL games so far for Norwich.

All about opinions mind!

Somebody that can defend better than him as weak as a kitten.

Mikey Devlin? David Bates?

Robertson is the perfect example of why you can’t just sign individual players without a plan of how they fit in at club level.. a wonderful player in the system that Liverpool play - possibly even the best in his position in the world.

Put him into the Scotland team where his strengths can’t be utilised and he looks below average.

All lies. I'm 3 hours from Dallas and searched high and low for Debbie but she wisnae there.......

She rarely left Dallas tbf.

09-09-2019, 07:27 PM

I really don't know what the sensible thing to do is with a team this bad, three goals downthis early at home against a team as good as Belgium. Sub everything? Park the bus? All out attack? Kick everything that moves?

09-09-2019, 07:27 PM
I’m getting a red face watching this. If this isn’t enough make people want to change things nothing will. We’re chasing shadows.

09-09-2019, 07:28 PM
Me too. Binning off the remainder of the qualifiers. Might come out of hiding for the Nations League games.

Just have no enthusiasm. Despite being a well travelled, long serving member of the Tartan Army.

Don’t get me wrong I’ll keep watching them - but even coming home to watch it tonight was like the feeling of going in to work. Just know it’s not going to be enjoyable but have to do it. But in terms of hope - it’ll be the playoffs before any of that is salvaged (obviously even more so given the score line here). I didn’t expect points out of either of these games.. was more hopeful of maybe sneaking something from Russia. More concerning that I didn’t expect to be questioning clarke’s selections so seriously and early!

But yeah in terms of attending games.. I may join you in hiding until then too.

mayo hibee
09-09-2019, 07:28 PM
Flicking back and over between the Scotland and NI games, the difference is incredible - NI tearing into the Germans in front of a packed stadium with a raucous crowd while Scotland are rolling over for the Belgians in a half empty atmosphere free Hampden.

On the plus side Conor Washington has just missed an open goal from two foot out.

09-09-2019, 07:29 PM
Helmet Crabs at his least miserable when rubbing it in against fans of his own country. Who’d have thought it?
:faf::faf:

I really like Lukaku.

Having no striker of note is a huge problem. Half decent international sides will usually have at least 2 very good strikers to pick from. No out ball, no-one who can hold the ball up, no threat. Phillips is a Championship winger for God's sake.

09-09-2019, 07:30 PM
Second half fightback??

That's quite a long list of names to be fair.

Could start with the person picking the team, devising the tactics, motivating the team?

In the good old days we made it hard for the opposition, then grew into the game.

Still. He done well at Kilmarnock.

Announce Hanlon.

On his form this season? Nah, no thanks.

supermcginn
Announce Hanlon.

😂😂😂 please no

09-09-2019, 07:31 PM
Second half fightback??

Only on this thread.

09-09-2019, 07:31 PM

How many are we allowed?

09-09-2019, 07:32 PM
Can we just stop this international thing and continue with the club games instead?

hopefully we can keep moral up for our next home game v san marino, 3 days after we will have got thumped in Russia

we simply can't let the san marinoians rodger us as well

Only thing worse than the Scottish performance is Provans putrid analysis, absolute torture.

Why does no one give de bruyne a booting? :greengrin

Don’t know what’s worse this Scotland team or the same commentators telling us how bad it is who have been there for all of it

This is pitiful. Belgium are a fabulous side but the Scottish players aren’t putting in an ounce of effort. 0-3 down and O’Donnell, Mulgrew and Marshall are playing wee triangles in their own defensive third?!? 11 cowards in blue. Not one of them get passing marks.

Andy Robertson still world class?

What are the Belgium players or even KDB ?

Like there’s have said waste of time following Scotland national team till SFA is disbanded.

Can’t wait to get back to league action with Hibs.

09-09-2019, 07:33 PM
On his form this season? Nah, no thanks.

Unfortunately agree. Looks a shadow of the player before that injury last season

09-09-2019, 07:34 PM
I’ve got one club team, one national team and one NFL team.

All three are dug*****.

I need to ask some serious questions of myself.

The downward spiral of the national side seemed to coincide with the Lion Rampants being replaced with St Andrew’s crosses as preferred flag of choice for Tartan Army. Bring ‘em back - got to be worth a try.

Second half fightback??

This could be the greatest comeback of all football time.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, doubt it though.

#2 Double Tap
Never started any kind of match day thread before so I thought I'd have a go at this one. Maybe I'll bring them luck...

don't be starting anymore hahaha

09-09-2019, 07:35 PM
My Belgium half time/full time bet is already offering a £20 cash out of a possible total return of £20.50. Wonder what the odds are for a Scotland win from here?

09-09-2019, 07:36 PM
hopefully we can keep moral up for our next home game v san marino, 3 days after we will have got thumped in Russia

Still time to move the San Marino game to lesser hampden. Appreciate international managers don't get players for long however you would have thought Clarke could have got the team a wee bit more organised defensively than to look like they are going to concede every attack. Same as Russia game.

don't be starting anymore hahaha

Guilty as charged m'lord.

My Belgium half time/full time bet is already offering a £20 cash out of a possible total return of £20.50. Wonder what the odds are for a Scotland win from here?

I'll offer you odds of 50,000/1.

mayo hibee
09-09-2019, 07:37 PM

Really?!

Sorry but I think he is a woeful player. How he gets game time in the top league is beyond me. 11 or so goals conceded in 4 EPL games so far for Norwich.

All about opinions mind!

That's the thing. You won't see me disagreeing that he's a very limited player, but he's the no nonsense type. Capable of marking and winning the ball in the air. I haven't rated Mulgrew for years and wouldn't have him in my team.

Guess we're splitting hairs as it wouldn't make a jot of difference no doubt! :)

This could be the greatest comeback of all football time.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, doubt it though.

If we rely on Snodgrass it will be the greatest PASSBACK display of all time

vuefrom1875
Mikey Devlin? David Bates?

Norman Bates🤔

Bet 365 offering 81 for a Scotland win.

Really?!

Bizarre question on a Hibs forum.

09-09-2019, 07:38 PM
This is pitiful. Belgium are a fabulous side but the Scottish players aren’t putting in an ounce of effort. 0-3 down and O’Donnell, Mulgrew and Marshall are playing wee triangles in their own defensive third?!? 11 cowards in blue. Not one of them get passing marks.

Effort, guts and determination are things that Scottish sides have always had. Nobody wants to run. Nobody wants to tackle. Nobody wants to stop crosses. Nobody wants to block shots.

They’re obviously miles ahead of us but we should be capable of much better.

#2 Double Tap
09-09-2019, 07:38 PM
I’ve got one club team, one national team and one NFL team.

All three are dug*****.

I need to ask some serious questions of myself.

always thought you was a jambo.:greengrin

09-09-2019, 07:39 PM

Yes it does, but it would be the same at any national stadium.

09-09-2019, 07:40 PM
That's the thing. You won't see me disagreeing that he's a very limited player, but he's the no nonsense type. Capable of marking and winning the ball in the air. I haven't rated Mulgrew for years and wouldn't have him in my team.

Guess we're splitting hairs as it wouldn't make a jot of difference no doubt! :)

Not sure I’d have either near the National Squad tbh. Thing is though I don’t think either can defend and not at this level anyway. And it’s shown with our back line this evening.

FWIW I don’t rate O’Donnell either!

09-09-2019, 07:40 PM
Can we sack the sfa?

09-09-2019, 07:42 PM
Andy Robertson still world class?

What are the Belgium players or even KDB ?

Like there’s have said waste of time following Scotland national team till SFA is disbanded.

of course he is Liverpools reserve team would beat Scotland.

Gordon Strachan must be peeing himself laughing.

Can we sack the sfa?

If they helped with the tactics then yes. Naive is an understatement.

Meanwhile Norn Iron are drawing at home with Germany with the likes of Conor Washington and Niall McGinn playing.

09-09-2019, 07:43 PM
always thought you was a jambo.:greengrin

‘Were’ a jambo.

All the grammatical comprehension of a docksider spoon-burner 😉

09-09-2019, 07:43 PM
Switch the proclaimers off, man. There's no justification for anything cheery just now.

09-09-2019, 07:44 PM
Unfortunately that's the idea behind Mctominay and I wouldn't have him start.

Agree

09-09-2019, 07:45 PM
Meanwhile Norn Iron are drawing at home with Germany with the likes of Conor Washington and Niall McGinn playing.

They have a decent manager

09-09-2019, 07:45 PM
They should play San Marino at Arbroath. They'd love it.

09-09-2019, 07:48 PM

80/1

09-09-2019, 07:49 PM
Thirty four years ago tomorrow night - on my 21st birthday and the night he died - I watched Jock Stein's Scotland draw against Wales, getting us a play off against Australia and ultimately qualification for the 1986 World Cup Finals.

I take the piss out of Scotland, joke about how crap we are, try hard not to let them get my hopes up and generally refuse to take internationals seriously. But I tell you I could ****ing weep when I remember the Scotland players and teams of my youth and the stature of our game back then compared to now.

They should play San Marino at Arbroath. They'd love it.

They should play Arbroath against San Marino. We'd maybe get a result that way.

Bizarre question on a Hibs forum.

Assuming you’ve been to see us this season.. not bizarre at all! :)

CorrieHibs
09-09-2019, 07:51 PM

They have a reliable defence and a great work ethic.

09-09-2019, 07:53 PM
How many left footed players do we need? No balance.

09-09-2019, 07:53 PM
They have a reliable defence and a great work ethic.

Now losing 1-0

09-09-2019, 07:55 PM
Christie couldn’t lace Mcginn’s boots.

09-09-2019, 07:55 PM
Now losing 1-0

Another goal in that match please.

09-09-2019, 07:56 PM
Good start to the half again. When's the Belgium goal coming?

09-09-2019, 07:57 PM
Maloney looks as if he doesn’t know whether to laugh or feel sorry for us.

Another night where McGregor and Christie turn up with horrific performances, yet they’re reliable week in, week out with Celtc every weekend. If you don’t want to play for Scotland, just **** off!!!!

Scottish fans need to be far more hostile towards the SFA, they have let them get away with murder.

No protests, no banners, no chanting letting the SFA know of their disapproval and no organised campaign to try and get proper change at the top of the structure.

Imagine fans at club level let their board with such constant ineptitude.

09-09-2019, 08:00 PM
Im sure its been asked before, but how did Belgium get so good? Do they benefit from being next to Holland, learning from the Ajax style model etc?

Its not weather, and they like a bevvy too............

09-09-2019, 08:01 PM
O'Donnell that was utterly embarrassing

Another night where McGregor and Christie turn up with horrific performances, yet they’re reliable week in, week out with Celtc every weekend. If you don’t want to play for Scotland, just **** off!!!!

They don’t exactly come up against De Bruyne at Fir Park though do they.

How Stephen O’Donnell is a professional footballer, I will never know!

What an embarrassing dive from O’Donnell. He’s a ***** enough player without drawing any additional attention to himself.

09-09-2019, 08:03 PM
They don’t exactly come up against De Bruyne at Fir Park though do they.

It’s not even the quality of the opposition but perhaps the quality of those around them in blue is a factor. They’re both so utterly negative!

Im sure its been asked before, but how did Belgium get so good? Do they benefit from being next to Holland, learning from the Ajax style model etc?

Its not weather, and they like a bevvy too............

They don’t have the Sfa.

Our clubs are too selfish as well. Fighting for the scraps from the Old Firm table. Scottish football will never change while this remains.

O'Donnell, what an arse diving like that, almost amateur stuff.

09-09-2019, 08:04 PM
Bit nervous about defending Scotland here, but that was never a yellow.

09-09-2019, 08:04 PM
O'Donnell, what an arse diving like that, almost amateur stuff.

He’s no where near that good.

09-09-2019, 08:05 PM

I really rate McGregor but he needs players to help him out imho. You can only do so much.

I know Ryan Jack was sent home but for me he’s a far better option than McTominay

09-09-2019, 08:05 PM
I agree, the guy did the triple rollover on the ground though to convince the referee.

09-09-2019, 08:06 PM

Embarrassing dive from mertens

On the whole, with the occasional exception, Scotland can’t develop players.

Discuss.

Biggest mistake of his career this from Steve Clarke. If he can't do it nobody really will be able too.

He should get himself back to club football ASAP.

They don’t have the Sfa.

Our clubs are too selfish as well. Fighting for the scraps from the Old Firm table. Scottish football will never change while this remains.

Fine, but look at Holland, its not like titles are shared out in that country either and they produce players, so whats the difference? Is the issue with us playing too many competitive matches as teenagers or something?

09-09-2019, 08:07 PM
Great we're now going to get a player that can't get a game in a **** Southampton team coming on.

09-09-2019, 08:07 PM
I really rate McGregor but he needs players to help him out imho. You can only do so much.

I know Ryan Jack was sent home but fir me he’s a far better option than McTominay

In a Celtc shirt, so do i. He’s great at what he does. But I’ve yet to see him have a decent game in a Scotland shirt. Probably due to said surrounding players!