View Full Version : New Manager Serious Options

the tornadoe
31-08-2019, 04:22 PM
Who do we get in ? Who would be available at a reasonable price ? Serious options only !

-Jonesy-
31-08-2019, 04:23 PM
Didn’t we do this last week??

31-08-2019, 04:24 PM
Stubbs + doolan + taff
Or
Strachan

31-08-2019, 04:24 PM
Anyone who has a good eye for a good player, other managers on the SPL seem to pick them up easy enough

31-08-2019, 04:25 PM
stubbs + doolan + taff
or
strachan

lol!

sean04
31-08-2019, 04:26 PM
I think davie moyes would be a great option. I know it hasn’t worked out for him after Everton but Man Utd was always going to be tough after Ferguson left. Sunderland was a nightmare club aswell

31-08-2019, 04:27 PM
He could also do a wee stint in the mid-field.
He can spot a good player as well and he is/was a Hibby.

31-08-2019, 04:27 PM
lol!

What’s amusing champ

31-08-2019, 04:28 PM
Stubbs + doolan + taff
Or
Strachan

Strachan 🤣🤣🤣👏👏👏 I can just imagine his interviews now... Why did you take SA off Gordon? I'm a football manager, I don't have to answer things like this.

The real issue is the squad is bogging. Not sure Klopp could get this team to win against Motherwell.

Said before Hecky got gig, Stubbs is the man, without doubt.
Before anyone states the obvious by saying he failed to win promotion from championship, he had hertz & rangers to contend with Lennon didn't and only won the league with one point more than Stubbs had the previous season.

I think davie moyes would be a great option. I know it hasn’t worked out for him after Everton but Man Utd was always going to be tough after Ferguson left. Sunderland was a nightmare club aswell

Wit we could not even pay his tax bill get real man, would not want him even if we could.

the tornadoe
Didn’t we do this last week??

We did but this time it's a serious question !!

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 04:35 PM
Who do we get in ? Who would be available at a reasonable price ? Serious options only !

Levein's jacket is on a shaky peg.

31-08-2019, 04:41 PM
Try and get Billy Reid up the road. Not someone from the usual football agency we seem to be friendly with.

TheReg!
31-08-2019, 04:44 PM
Can see Ron appointing a Foreign manager

hibIBZ
31-08-2019, 04:47 PM
Before anyone states the obvious by saying he failed to win promotion from championship, he had hertz & rangers to contend with Lennon didn't and only won the league with one point more than Stubbs had the previous season.

Not for me, Stubbs was great for us but has been a total disaster and quickly sacked since leaving us.
I think this is the big question, if we get rid what do we do that wouldn't cost much

Robinson from motherwell, they were perfectly set up to do is today and they clearly wanted it more

31-08-2019, 04:48 PM
Anyone who can get the players to have some pride/determination in themselves - not a lot to ask for !

WestStandWillie
31-08-2019, 04:49 PM
Bob Bradley or Nobby Solano

Steve Clarke is normally on the shortlist...

Stubbs with his 2 sidekicks.

If nothing else it will lay the ghost to rest one way or another. Plus just imagine the ovation when they were reintroduced to the crowd.

Beyond that I don't have a huge knowledge of who is available so I can't offer much more. Roberto Di Matteo was seriously linked with Killie, is he still available?

Fergos
31-08-2019, 04:51 PM
Try and get Billy Reid up the road. Not someone from the usual football agency we seem to be friendly with.

Unless there is a change in tempo with Ron I can’t see the board acting and Heck going anywhere.

If they do then this would be a decent option, at least to consider.

thebausburst
Stubbs all day long, signings were brilliant, 2 national cup finals in same season with a championship side I mean come on is this even a debate you could live to a 100 and you’ll NEVER see that again! And he won the Scottish Cup in case anyone forgot!

Alex mcleish stubbs or strachan

BegbieHSC
31-08-2019, 04:52 PM
Martin O’Neill?

This looks like a set of players that will wilt in the big games (see 6-1). Bringing back Stubbs with no money to spend after riling up certain opposition teams/ supporters in his previous stint is a recipe for disaster. Legend, Big no thanks from me.

Foreign manager we’ve never heard of.

31-08-2019, 04:53 PM
We should have appointed Stubbs when Lennon left and re-assessd at the end of the season. Given he made it clear he was interested, but we didn't appoint him I can't see happening now. Whoever is appointed will need to struggle on until January with the mess Heckingbottom has created.

31-08-2019, 04:54 PM
No wonder your crazyhibby. :confused:

Garry Holt.

Paul1642
31-08-2019, 04:55 PM

Macleish and Strachan are dinosaurs and we will be looking much like Craig Leavan’s hearts side in no time. As for stubbs it could go either way and I would hate to see it not work out for a club legend on his second spell as seems I happen a lot with Hibs. Also I seen to recall a fair few people calling for him to be sacked prior to the cup final and he has had no success since then.

31-08-2019, 04:57 PM
Strachan, Doolan & Taff for me.

31-08-2019, 04:59 PM
Strachan, Doolan & Taff for me.

Strachan already turned us down we should go with Stubbs, Taff & Doolan bring back the "A"-Team.

31-08-2019, 05:00 PM
Problem now is that whoever replaces Heckingbottom has got his duds to work with. For all dempsters good work , she really has pulled a colin calderwood out of the hat here. Hopefully she isnt to stubborn to accept this and move on.

31-08-2019, 05:05 PM
Motherwell manager maybe?

31-08-2019, 05:13 PM

Another one? When was the last time we didnt have a foreign manager? John Hughes?

31-08-2019, 05:17 PM

Stuart Baxter or Bruce Rioch

31-08-2019, 05:18 PM
Not convinced Stubbs would be able to turn this around. He turned up at just the right time but still struggled to compete for top spot when Hertz and The Rangers were in the championship with us. I'd hate to see a Scottish Cup winning legend come back to us, only to fall flat and ultmately be booed back out.

Not sure who the answer is either mind. :confused:

31-08-2019, 05:19 PM
Stuart Baxter or Bruce Rioch

Hahaha. Thanks for cheering me up [emoji2][emoji106]

31-08-2019, 05:20 PM
Hahaha. Thanks for cheering me up [emoji2][emoji106]

😁

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 05:23 PM
If you want Moyes, you better hurry, as the Yams have already identified him as their man. https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/184536-david-moyes/

What is really worrying is how quickly a discredited, out of work manager can suddenly become the next messiah. This is all starting to go a bit Butcheresque.

Strachan already turned us down we should go with Stubbs, Taff & Doolan bring back the "A"-Team.

Serious question, can you give me an example of a former manager returning to a club and repeating the success they had the first time? I can't think of any, and I reckon it's because such appointments are usually made to placate fans, rather than with anything to do with their track record since leaving.

31-08-2019, 05:24 PM
No wonder your crazyhibby. :confused:

Garry Holt.
Agree he is doing a brilliant job at Livi. Still unbeaten.

31-08-2019, 05:26 PM
Agree he is doing a brilliant job at Livi. Still unbeaten.

The Livi fans that I know say that Holt isn’t the main guy ..they have an assistant who is really in charge of tactics and coaching - think he doesn’t have the qualifications or credentials to be named as head coach though ...

31-08-2019, 05:27 PM
Motherwell manager maybe?

Aye, quite like him and he tries to play decent fitbaw and knows the Scottish Premiership which I think is almost vital at the moment. Not sure I’d go back for Stubbs tbh, not managed at Premiership level beyond a few games for St Mirren and he was pretty hopeless there.

31-08-2019, 05:27 PM
Unless there is a change in tempo with Ron I can’t see the board acting and Heck going anywhere.

If they do then this would be a decent option, at least to consider.

Yeah, sadly I agree mate.

31-08-2019, 05:28 PM
Whoever we bring in hopefully we scrutinise their performance in previous roles first beforehand as opposed to just appointing someone who can talk a good game and say the right things in an interview.

31-08-2019, 05:30 PM
Said it a couple of weeks ago, Robinson from Motherwell.

MagicSwirlingShip
31-08-2019, 05:32 PM
Scott Gemmill?

green with envy
31-08-2019, 05:32 PM

I would take the man in charge of Motherwell. Knows the league and picks up decent signings unlike the imposter of ours.

hibs#1
31-08-2019, 05:41 PM
Ronny Deila.

31-08-2019, 05:41 PM
Not Stubbs or Doolan.

Someone that has a good knowledge of the Scotland game and understands the size of the club and expectations.

31-08-2019, 05:44 PM
If you want Moyes, you better hurry, as the Yams have already identified him as their man. https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/184536-david-moyes/

What is really worrying is how quickly a discredited, out of work manager can suddenly become the next messiah. This is all starting to go a bit Butcheresque.

Serious question, can you give me an example of a former manager returning to a club and repeating the success they had the first time? I can't think of any, and I reckon it's because such appointments are usually made to placate fans, rather than with anything to do with their track record since leaving.

Spoil-sport, always room for a first time.

31-08-2019, 05:46 PM

Hearts have already claimed him going by Brokeback tonight 🤔

31-08-2019, 05:47 PM
Not Stubbs or Doolan.

Someone that has a good knowledge of the Scotland game and understands the size of the club and expectations.

Said it on another thread if no Stubbs then what about Danny Lennon, he can also fill in for injury in mid-field

31-08-2019, 05:47 PM
Ronny Deila.

Funny you should say that, sure John Collins has been at a couple of games this season, i certainly saw him at one and think someone else said he was at another game. He was Delia’s assistant so you just never know 😉

31-08-2019, 05:49 PM
Funny you should say that, sure John Collins has been at a couple of games this season, i certainly saw him at one and think someone else said he was at another game. He was Delia’s assistant so you just never know 😉

He was at tincastle the day.

lenny leith
31-08-2019, 05:50 PM
No thanks to Strachan. Leave him to Dundee. Phew we don’t need another football director

yerauldda
31-08-2019, 05:51 PM
Ronny Deila.

He’d be my pick.

31-08-2019, 05:52 PM
Ronny Deila.

The guy who couldn't get Celtic playing decent fitba?
Aye, he'd work wonders with the dross we've got!

31-08-2019, 05:53 PM
He’d be my pick.

Based on what? He was ***** enough to assist us winning the cup? Fair call.

Weegreenman
31-08-2019, 05:54 PM

As long as it’s not Brad Bobley :greengrin

31-08-2019, 05:56 PM
Stubbs all day long, signings were brilliant, 2 national cup finals in same season with a championship side I mean come on is this even a debate you could live to a 100 and you’ll NEVER see that again! And he won the Scottish Cup in case anyone forgot!

It's very much a debate because the cups aren't our week in, week out bread and butter. What happened in 2016 has no actual bearing on what could happen in 2019/2020

HibeeHibernian4
31-08-2019, 05:57 PM
Stubbs. Doolan. Taff.

It’s that simple.

31-08-2019, 05:57 PM
Stay away from dinosaurs..McLeish etc.

Wasn’t Hecky our 2nd choice preciously ?

Bobo
31-08-2019, 06:00 PM

John Madden :tin hat: :wink:

hibs#1
31-08-2019, 06:06 PM
The guy who couldn't get Celtic playing decent fitba?
Aye, he'd work wonders with the dross we've got!

He knows the league, and should have a good knowledge of players in scandanavia which could be good to exploit.

Can't say I remember much about his time at Celtic but there fans are even more unrealistic and demanding than ours so I wouldn't be taking any advice off of them.

CLASS OF 72 -73
31-08-2019, 06:07 PM
Pardew or Hughton if our rich Ron will pay if not STUBBS

31-08-2019, 06:09 PM
People need to forget about Stubbs.

If he wasn’t even under consideration last time he’ll not jump to the front of the queue this time round.

hibs#1
31-08-2019, 06:09 PM
Pardew or Hughton if our rich Ron will pay if not STUBBS

I'd say no to both of those, wage demands would be crazy regardless.

Ellahappyhibee
31-08-2019, 06:10 PM
Scott Brown, knows the league, knows Hibs

hibeerealist
31-08-2019, 06:10 PM

Would have Stubbsy back, yes from me.

hibeerealist
31-08-2019, 06:12 PM

If nothing else it will lay the ghost to rest one way or another. Plus just imagine the ovation when they were reintroduced to the crowd.

Beyond that I don't have a huge knowledge of who is available so I can't offer much more. Roberto Di Matteo was seriously linked with Killie, is he still available?

31-08-2019, 06:21 PM
I'd love Stubbs and his gang back but somehow I can't see it happening.

Personally I think we really missed a trick not getting Michael O'Neil but he'll cost far too much to pay off NI.

We don't necessarily need someone who knows Scottish football but just someone who is tactically aware, plays attractive football and able to motivate the team.

Any chance of getting Henrik Larsson from Heisingborg ? edit, he left them on 23rd August, so free.

ThatDayInMay
31-08-2019, 06:23 PM
David Moyes
Chris Hughton
Gary Rowett
Roberto Di Matteo
Gus Poyet
Tony Pulis
Martin O’Neill
Aitor Karanka
Nigel Adkins
Garry Monk

Just a quick list compiled via Transfermarkt. May all be out of our price range perhaps but plenty of options out there nonetheless.

Marvellous
31-08-2019, 06:23 PM
I'd love Stubbs and his gang back but somehow I can't see it happening.

Personally I think we really missed a trick not getting Michael O'Neil but he'll cost far too much to pay off NI.

We don't necessarily need someone who knows Scottish football but just someone who is tactically aware, plays attractive football and able to motivate the team.

Any chance of getting Henrik Larsson from Heisingborg ?

He'd be resented by the fans for answering too many questions about Celtic in his press conferences. Definite non-starter.

Togs91
31-08-2019, 06:24 PM
Am i the only one who wouldnt want stubbs? Yes, cup winning hero, always will be. But couldnt get us promoted, and had an absolute MARE at st mirren!?

31-08-2019, 06:25 PM
Am i the only one who wouldnt want stubbs? Yes, cup winning hero, always will be. But couldnt get us promoted, and had an absolute MARE at st mirren!?

You’re not alone.

31-08-2019, 06:31 PM
Somebody cheap please who won’t cost a lot when we inevitability pay them off.

No, I'm with you.

Tully
David hopkirk done well at livi on a shoestring budget

31-08-2019, 06:32 PM

He league record with us was also awful.

31-08-2019, 06:34 PM
David Moyes
Chris Hughton
Gary Rowett
Roberto Di Matteo
Gus Poyet
Tony Pulis
Martin O’Neill
Aitor Karanka
Nigel Adkins
Garry Monk

Just a quick list compiled via Transfermarkt. May all be out of our price range perhaps but plenty of options out there nonetheless.

Jesus that list doesn’t inspire me at all.

Fwiw I actually quite like Steve Robinson at Motherwell.

31-08-2019, 06:36 PM
Time to get Lennon back to unite the fans 😉

31-08-2019, 06:36 PM
Derek Adams would be decent.

THESHIP
31-08-2019, 06:37 PM
Can’t understand why people wouldn’t want Stubbs. Had an excellent eye for a player and played attractive football. Gave us our mojo back after being a complete and utter shambles. Get him back along with Doolan and Taff.

ThatDayInMay
31-08-2019, 06:37 PM
Jesus that list doesn’t inspire me at all.

Fwiw I actually quite like Steve Robinson at Motherwell.

Totally agree. Goodwin another excellent option imo.

31-08-2019, 06:38 PM
Stubbs for me. He’d give the place an instant lift and he knows the club inside out.

31-08-2019, 06:39 PM

Good shout. Always thought Hibs had it the wrong way round when he was assistant and Calderwood manager

31-08-2019, 06:39 PM
Same guy I asked for when Lennon left.

Alex Neil please.

31-08-2019, 06:40 PM

Alex Neil please.

Not a chance we could get him.

31-08-2019, 06:41 PM
This looks like a set of players that will wilt in the big games (see 6-1). Bringing back Stubbs with no money to spend after riling up certain opposition teams/ supporters in his previous stint is a recipe for disaster. Legend, Big no thanks from me.what on earth are you talking about? Who did he rile up?

31-08-2019, 06:41 PM

Alex Neil please.

Isn't he managing in English Championship just now?

31-08-2019, 06:44 PM
Stubbs back would be a disaster. We'd end up relegated

31-08-2019, 06:45 PM
Good shout. Always thought Hibs had it the wrong way round when he was assistant and Calderwood manager

Me too. He’s available and likes building a squad.

We're heading in that direction now.

Whit? 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

31-08-2019, 06:47 PM
Phil Parkinson would be good, out of work right now.

Steve Austin
31-08-2019, 06:48 PM
Hi all long time hibee from the north!
The players seem frightened to attack and play like they have shackles on on!,or handbrake on!:confused:.
steve Robinson might be a good shout:wink:.
He has an eye for a player and likes his teams to have width and players seem to have freedom.

Keyser Sauzee
31-08-2019, 06:48 PM

That’s actually a very good shout

31-08-2019, 06:50 PM
Hi all long time hibee from the north!
The players seem frightened to attack and play like they have shackles on on!,or handbrake on!:confused:.
steve Robinson might be a good shout:wink:.
He has an eye for a player and likes his teams to have width and players seem to have freedom.

Stunner of a first post 👍 I would take a chance on Robbo too but would Motherwell deal with us after choring Dempster?

Santa Cruz
31-08-2019, 06:56 PM
Unfortunately I don’t think there will be a change in manager any time soon. Generally a new manager will get longer at just about any team.

Torto7
31-08-2019, 06:59 PM
Jack Ross will probably get it when Sunderland punt him. It would be similar to the Mcinnes appointment after he failed at Bristol.

I don't actually mind the Scott Brown shout. If he's got his badges and fancies it. He'd get time with the support and judging how ***** this current squad looks he'll need it. If we go with experience the pressure will be higher and this squad isn't up to handling pressure by the looks of it. The next appointment is vital, we need to avoid a downward spiral again.

Box 17
31-08-2019, 07:00 PM
Tommy Wright.

Worked wonders on a shoestring budget with St J. Was rewarded with a longer contract last season.

Not so great this season so far but they did lose a couple of their better players. Probably looking to move on himself.

Knows the league inside out and how to set up a team.

31-08-2019, 07:01 PM
Unfortunately I don’t think there will be a change in manager any time soon. Generally a new manager will get longer at just about any team.

Sadly I tend to agree. I think LD will give him till Xmas and then review things. He’s *****ed what was apparently our biggest ever transfer budget on players who don’t start games. We’ll get more of the manager needs time to bed in his new players and playing style lines from LD. Worrying times.

I read a few comments on twitter from bolton fans before the **** hit the fan and they claimed he was tactically inept.

hibeerealist

Alex Neil please.

He will I’ll be earning at least twice what the Hibs job pays at present, no chance.

31-08-2019, 07:02 PM
Tommy Wright.

Worked wonders on a shoestring budget with St J. Was rewarded with a longer contract last season.

Not so great this season so far but they did lose a couple of their better players. Probably looking to move on himself.

Nah. He would give me the fear. Reminds me of a mix of Butcher and Malpas.

31-08-2019, 07:02 PM
Tommy Wright.

**** off with Tommy Wright

Torto7
31-08-2019, 07:03 PM
Tommy Wright.

Sounds like Terry Butcher pre Hibs:paranoid:. He's not suited to Hibs imo.

31-08-2019, 07:04 PM
Jack Ross will probably get it when Sunderland punt him. It would be similar to the Mcinnes appointment after he failed at Bristol.

I don't actually mind the Scott Brown shout. If he's got his badges and fancies it. He'd get time with the support and judging how ***** this current squad looks he'll need it. If we go with experience the pressure will be higher and this squad isn't up to handling pressure by the looks of it. The next appointment is vital, we need to avoid a downward spiral again.

Scott Brown ?!!!

The Captain of Celtic going for 9 in a row. He’s never coached a team and we think he’s going to leave mid season for a relegation battle. This place is mental.

31-08-2019, 07:06 PM
How would Brown get time with fans? He's a smelly Celtic bawbag.

Torto7
31-08-2019, 07:07 PM
Scott Brown ?!!!

The Captain of Celtic going for 9 in a row. He’s never coached a team and we think he’s going to leave mid season for a relegation battle. This place is mental.

Not this season. We would need to appoint an interim. Which is risky yes but I do think Brown will make a smashing manager.

hibeerealist
31-08-2019, 07:09 PM

:confused: You been drinking??!!

31-08-2019, 07:10 PM
Football is a simple game that I fear Heckingbottom is trying to over complicate.

Changing personnel and formations for different opponents, always talking about tactics and where players should be etc etc.

Play a balanced team consistently and implement small things which they understand and can implement.

Motherwell today was nothing fancy but it was effective, you need to earn the right to play and they done that by winning the battle. From there they dominated the midfield, for it wide and ran at us.

I don’t beleive Motherwell have better players than us, but they have a balance, understanding and mentality of not wanting to lose.

Of our midfield, who in there is really not wanting to concede a goal? I don’t mean as in they want to concede, I mean having that burning desire to keep a clean sheet - the same way forwards do for scoring goals.

Not this season. We would need to appoint an interim. Which is risky yes but I do think Brown will make a smashing manager.

Brown is exactly what we need just now but as a player. Sadly it just won’t happen. Even if he was available I’m sure our manager would prefer a player from Halifax Town or Macclesfield.

Cataplana

WestStandWillie
31-08-2019, 07:11 PM
The amount of people on here wae a staunner for Tommy Wright. He’s a shocking manager who’s only clinging onto his job based on a cup win a few years back.

31-08-2019, 07:12 PM
The amount of people on here wae a staunner for Tommy Wright. He’s a shocking manager who’s only clinging onto his job based on a cup win a few years back.

Agreed. Awful manager but still superior to our current one which says it all.

31-08-2019, 07:14 PM
Stubbs for me. He’d give the place an instant lift and he knows the club inside out.

My fear is after the lift we'd have sauzeeesque depression

31-08-2019, 07:17 PM
He will I’ll be earning at least twice what the Hibs job pays at present, no chance.

No doubt, but what is he ever going to win with PNE?

greenlad
31-08-2019, 07:20 PM

Eddie Howe, Nigel Pearson, Walter Smith, Neil Lennon . But those are the exceptions to prove the rule.

31-08-2019, 07:22 PM

Has there not just been one person suggesting him?

Bob Box Fish
31-08-2019, 07:22 PM
Michael O’Neil for me but he has a long term contract with NI ?

brisbanehibs
31-08-2019, 07:24 PM
Derek Adams?

31-08-2019, 07:24 PM
Strachan with McDonagh as assistant?

31-08-2019, 07:27 PM
I really cant be arsed with strachan and his pathetic smart comments to reporters. Funny in his own head.

Box 17
31-08-2019, 07:28 PM

He's that awful that he's not only won the cup (and didn't desert them straight afterwards for something better, incidentally), but has consistently managed to get his side punching above their weight and into the top six in most of the years he's been with them. And with a club on a fraction of the resources we have at our disposal.

CloudSquall
31-08-2019, 07:29 PM
Robbie Nielson

seanshow
31-08-2019, 07:31 PM

Alexi Lalas or the Hanson brothers from the movie Slapshot as Co managers.

31-08-2019, 07:31 PM
a young coach at an EPL club, theres 1 at high flying wolves doing well

dunfyhibby
31-08-2019, 07:35 PM
Anybody who can install heart, passion, desire, commitment. You don’t have to be the best skill wise but those four values must be a given!

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 07:37 PM
a young coach at an EPL club, theres 1 at high flying wolves doing well

:tsk tsk:

HibeeHibernian4
31-08-2019, 07:37 PM

You’re either at it or really unintelligent, which is it?

31-08-2019, 07:38 PM
Scott Brown, knows the league, knows Hibs

Good shout but think he's still heavily involved Celtic

darwenhibby
31-08-2019, 07:41 PM
David Gray And Darren McGregor??
The boys at Ross County do a good job on a much smaller budget
What about the two guys Lincoln?
They seem to have built a tidy team down there!!

MinceAndTatties
31-08-2019, 07:42 PM
He's that awful that he's not only won the cup (and didn't desert them straight afterwards for something better, incidentally), but has consistently managed to get his side punching above their weight and into the top six in most of the years he's been with them. And with a club on a fraction of the resources we have at our disposal.
You are much too sensible for this forum. Fancy judging a manager on his record over a long period. St J will do OK again this season as their second half at ER shows. TW is capable of rebuilding. Hope you had your tin hat on.

Box 17
31-08-2019, 07:56 PM
You are much too sensible for this forum. Fancy judging a manager on his record over a long period. St J will do OK again this season as their second half at ER shows. TW is capable of rebuilding. Hope you had your tin hat on.

It's not rocket science M & T.

We are crying out for a manager with an excellent track record. And there is no one better on that front in the SPL, that we can realistically get, than Tommy Wright.

31-08-2019, 07:58 PM
Tommy Wright has the feeling of Butcher mk2 to me. I seriously doubt he is going to get us playing football either.

chippy
31-08-2019, 08:16 PM
Tommy Wright has the feeling of Butcher mk2 to me. I seriously doubt he is going to get us playing football either.

Jim Goodwin,

Still Smiling
31-08-2019, 08:26 PM
Not Stubbs, he had no plan B and if he had not won the cup I think he would have been out. Terrible run in the play offs.

Allan45
31-08-2019, 08:28 PM
Always give a manager time, we are going backwards, time to get a manager in before Kate October

#2 Double Tap
31-08-2019, 09:10 PM
I really cant be arsed with strachan and his pathetic smart comments to reporters. Funny in his own head.

agree.....would be a horrible choice because of his personality......he does tick a lot of the other boxes though.

give us an italian or a dutch guy!

31-08-2019, 09:14 PM
Not Stubbs, he had no plan B and if he had not won the cup I think he would have been out. Terrible run in the play offs.

No plan B, except that time he changed to his plan B and we won the cup :faf:

You don't need a plan B if plan A works as well as his generally did

BlackSheep
31-08-2019, 09:29 PM
Michael O’Neil for me but he has a long term contract with NI ?

A long term contract should not be deterring is now... what’s the point in having a new rich owner if he isn’t willing to speculate to help us in a time we are down.

31-08-2019, 09:34 PM
Here’s one:

Young manager
Knows Scottish football
Successful in terms of building teams
High scoring team in his current employment
Could be tempted to a bigger club like Hibs

Interested?

BlackSheep
31-08-2019, 09:35 PM
Here’s one:

Young manager
Knows Scottish football

Interested?

I’ll bite....

....who?

31-08-2019, 09:36 PM

agree.....would be a horrible choice because of his personality......he does tick a lot of the other boxes though.

give us an italian or a dutch guy!

Ha ha so Gordon has a wee laugh or dig at journalists that are desperate to hang him high he should not be our manger. He would be an absolute coup for the club to get.

Agreed

Stephen Robinson fits the mould of a young, up and coming manager. His Motherwell teams have always been super fit, pressing teams hard, competitive and full of desire. It's desire we seem to lack under PH.

What's more, he seems to get most out of his young players. Guys like Porteous, Murray, Shaw and Campbell have the ability, but they need a manager to give them a real platform.

31-08-2019, 09:38 PM
Stephen Robinson fits the mould of a young, up and coming manager. His Motherwell teams have always been super fit, pressing teams hard, competitive and full of desire. It's desire we seem to lack under PH.

What's more, he seems to get most out of his young players. Guys like Porteous, Murray, Shaw and Campbell have the ability, but they need a manager to give them a real platform.

Except the only expectation Robinson has to fulfil is to avoid relegation.

hibs#1
31-08-2019, 09:45 PM
Here’s one:

Young manager
Knows Scottish football

Interested?

Not if it's Robbie Neilson.

HibeeJude
31-08-2019, 09:49 PM
Anyone take Kevin Nolan? Win rates of over 40% with both Leyton Orient and Notts County. Particularly impressive given that they both went to pot after he left which suggests he was doing well in a poor situation

31-08-2019, 09:50 PM
Jack Ross would be ideal if/when he gets sacked from Sunderland.

Someone with knowledge of the Scottish game is essential and should not be overlooked imo

thegaffer12
31-08-2019, 09:54 PM
Agreed. Awful manager but still superior to our current one which says it all.

His team have less points than us

31-08-2019, 09:57 PM
Not if it's Robbie Neilson.

He's a no purely because he takes the wrong approach in derbies, though last night's result may be an indication that he's learned from his time at Hearts in that respect.

31-08-2019, 10:02 PM
And his team came to ER last week and left with a victory. Are you saying you’d rather have PH than TR?

I must have fallen asleep i thought it was a draw:rolleyes::confused::greengrin:greengrin

31-08-2019, 10:02 PM
Except the only expectation Robinson has to fulfil is to avoid relegation.

He fulfils it and knocks on the door of the top six with a team of players making their breakthrough.

We can either look at managers who are looking to take a step up or ones that have tried and had to step back down. I'd rather the step up.

31-08-2019, 10:03 PM
And his team came to ER last week and left with a victory. Are you saying you’d rather have PH than TR?

No they didn’t.

31-08-2019, 10:03 PM
I must have fallen asleep i thought it was a draw:rolleyes::confused::greengrin:greengrin

Whoops. Time for me to log off. I was thinking of last years game!

31-08-2019, 10:05 PM
Changing manager would be expensive with compensation etc so doubt we`d go for any big name as we couldn`t afford wages etc and most fans have already got season tickets so revenue would not go up much even with big name as new manager . Serious options : Danny Lennon ( had St Mirren playing good football in top league and has done well recently . And is a Hibby ) , Jim Goodwin , Peter Grant , ... Older candidate ? Ex Ireland manager Brian Kerr . Other names to consider : Ex Raith player and manager Antonio Calderón - great track record in Scotland and Spain and still has links to Scotland ,.. Would also be looking at managers of clubs in Ireland and Scandinavian countries where there is summer season and season finishes soon .

31-08-2019, 10:09 PM
Tommy Wright is a dinosaur.

We can do better.

Though that’s if we have any £ left as paying off the manager and his assistant won’t be cheap.

Are we still paying off Lennon too?!

Plus the crazy ££ we have wasted on these new players.

31-08-2019, 10:11 PM
George Burley or Mark Venus

hibs#1
31-08-2019, 10:24 PM
He's a no purely because he takes the wrong approach in derbies, though last night's result may be an indication that he's learned from his time at Hearts in that respect.

Nothing particularly against him, his record in Scotland is pretty good just really don't think an ex hearts player and manager would be a good choice right now.

31-08-2019, 10:28 PM
Anyone take Kevin Nolan? Win rates of over 40% with both Leyton Orient and Notts County. Particularly impressive given that they both went to pot after he left which suggests he was doing well in a poor situation

Next Bolton manager.

31-08-2019, 10:29 PM
Danny Cowley at Lincoln I’ve always liked.

And he’s a good Essex boy so I could sell the role to him well.

31-08-2019, 10:32 PM
Personally would give it to Stubbs. Can't really be bothered going down the rabbit hole argument again that normally comes with suggesting him in these threads but that's just my opinion, sorry.

WestCoastHibby
31-08-2019, 10:36 PM

Good shout

31-08-2019, 10:38 PM
Personally would give it to Stubbs. Can't really be bothered going down the rabbit hole argument again that normally comes with suggesting him in these threads but that's just my opinion, sorry.

Stubbs imho was very close to the sack before the cup win. His record since is laughable so it a no for me.

31-08-2019, 10:40 PM
Jack Ross would be ideal if/when he gets sacked from Sunderland.

Someone with knowledge of the Scottish game is essential and should not be overlooked imo

He’s been playing at being the Hibs boss ever since he went to Sunderland.

Chorley Hibee
31-08-2019, 10:41 PM
George Burley or Mark Venus

🎶Craig Levein's a ******ing ***** 🎶

31-08-2019, 10:44 PM
🎶Craig Levein's a ******ing ***** 🎶

I was singing that too when I read that one 😀

31-08-2019, 10:45 PM
Walter Smith, it's a no bad shout govan how this thread has gone.

#2 Double Tap
31-08-2019, 10:52 PM

i did say he ticks a lot of boxes......but he does come across as a bit of a pr ick imo.........

anyone just watch that boxing......that was a great fight!

ionahibby
31-08-2019, 10:53 PM
Stubbs + doolan + taff
Or
Strachan

I like Stubbs but Doolan was the brains behind it all.

31-08-2019, 10:57 PM
Why does it always revert back to Stubbs?

I'm eternally grateful to the man and his team for that win. But it's done. And rightly so. He wouldn't take us forward in this league.

We had the man to do that in Lennon. But for some reason or another (might have been his reasons) it didn't work out.

Like him or hate him we're not getting a manager or a feel around the place like that for a long time again.

hibsboy69
31-08-2019, 10:58 PM
Gary Holt - done great at Livingston

31-08-2019, 11:08 PM
I like Stubbs but Doolan was the brains behind it all.
Was he? That’s a myth that has been going around for a while, I’m not convinced. Why hasn’t Doolan gone on to be a manager? Maybe it was just a good partnership that clicked.

#2 Double Tap
31-08-2019, 11:09 PM
some total random names;

ben garner

paulo sousa

montella vincenzo

eduardo berizzo

luis garcia

roberto di matteo

joe dunne

paul clement

aitor karanka

gary rowett

david wagner

fillipo inzaghi

luigi de biagio

reading that back filipo hahahaha i am blaming the rum and coke

31-08-2019, 11:14 PM
Why does it always revert back to Stubbs?

I'm eternally grateful to the man and his team for that win. But it's done. And rightly so. He wouldn't take us forward in this league.

We had the man to do that in Lennon. But for some reason or another (might have been his reasons) it didn't work out.

Like him or hate him we're not getting a manager or a feel around the place like that for a long time again.
It reverts back to Stubbs because he was our best manager in about 20 years. People knock him for not getting promoted, but in our first season he worked wonders to get us into second place after the mess he inherited. His second season saw us get to both major cup finals, the toll that took had an effect on our league form, but we still ended up with more points than we did the following season when we won the league. Oh and he did what no manager in living memory managed, he won us the Scottish Cup. Apart from all that I’ve no idea why anyone would want him back.

31-08-2019, 11:16 PM
Stubbs. I know he's been pish since leaving Hibs but sometimes there's such a thing as a good fit. Stubbs was brilliant for Hibs - seemed to instinctively know what was required and served up football that had the fans purring.

Auckland Hibs
31-08-2019, 11:20 PM
I think we need someone who has Scottish experience - can't help but think that Hecky has underestimated the league & the style of football.

31-08-2019, 11:20 PM
It reverts back to Stubbs because he was our best manager in about 20 years. People knock him for not getting promoted, but in our first season he worked wonders to get us into second place after the mess he inherited. His second season saw us get to both major cup finals, the toll that took had an effect on our league form, but we still ended up with more points than we did the following season when we won the league. Oh and he did what no manager in living memory managed, he won us the Scottish Cup. Apart from all that I’ve no idea why anyone would want him back.

I will never ever question the impact Alan had on our club. Or the outstanding job he did for us in winning the cup. So I'll never bad mouth the guy. But him coming back isn't the answer and I don't think it'll end well.

Also Lennon is a much better manager than Stubbs. Not even close. The football we played under Lennon is the best I've seen at ER.

When we were 3-0 up against The Rangers on the last day of the season was up there with the best I've ever felt at a football game.

#2 Double Tap
31-08-2019, 11:24 PM
I think we need someone who has Scottish experience - can't help but think that Hecky has underestimated the league & the style of football.

We need someone with a higher level experience.......any top league in europe would do, playing lower league football the player standard is always surprise surprise lower :P

Thats why they fail to spot classy players but guys who perform at higher levels can notice them right away

31-08-2019, 11:34 PM
I think Michael O'Neill would be interested if the job was available.

He would be a top Managerial appointment although the compo may be a problem. If he did become Hibs next Manager the sky would be the limit. He turned average players into a team punching above their weight at NI.

31-08-2019, 11:34 PM
Whoever it is , they should get no more than a 6 month contract as they will undoubtedly go from genius to idiot in that period of time.

31-08-2019, 11:37 PM
I will never ever question the impact Alan had on our club. Or the outstanding job he did for us in winning the cup. So I'll never bad mouth the guy. But him coming back isn't the answer and I don't think it'll end well.

Also Lennon is a much better manager than Stubbs. Not even close. The football we played under Lennon is the best I've seen at ER.

When we were 3-0 up against The Rangers on the last day of the season was up there with the best I've ever felt at a football game.

Have to disagree the football was better under Stubbs for me. The 4-0 scudding of the Huns in his first season will live with me for the rest of my life. I grew up watching them tear us apart and that day we played some of the sexiest football I’ve ever seen us play and humiliated them in the process. Oh and we didn’t blow that lead either.

31-08-2019, 11:49 PM
Lennon is the best manager we've had since I've been watching Hibs and yet a sizeable number of fans still turned against him so it really doesn't surprise me that people are panicking after 4 league games. I'm hoping though that the people running the club have cooler heads and show a wee bit of guts to stick with Hecky. 9 new players to bed in and most of our defence injured or recovering from injury are mitigating circumstances for a disappointing start.

01-09-2019, 12:27 AM
Robinson of Motherwell or Strachan.

Squirrel 1875
01-09-2019, 12:29 AM
If Michael O’Neill is interested then we couldn’t turn that down. Would be an insanely good hire.

01-09-2019, 12:30 AM
If Michael O’Neill is interested then we couldn’t turn that down. Would be an insanely good hire.

Big compo required to the NI FA. Is he even interested? :dunno:

BlackSheep
01-09-2019, 12:38 AM
Big compo required to the NI FA. Is he even interested? :dunno:

What’s the use of having a new rich owner if he’s not gonna put his hand in his pocket when we need it.

01-09-2019, 12:40 AM
What’s the use of having a new rich owner if he’s not gonna put his hand in his pocket when we need it.

He already has though, he added to the transfer budget...

01-09-2019, 12:49 AM
Robinson of Motherwell or Strachan.

I said Robinson after Lennon left, I think he is very decent.

01-09-2019, 12:51 AM
I said Robinson after Lennon left, I think he is very decent.

:agree: Done a fair amount with not very much.

tonyrougier123
01-09-2019, 03:39 AM
Nigel pearson ,chris coleman, gary holt.

01-09-2019, 04:10 AM
I think Robinson is decent, his teams are always competitive and hard to beat.

Dont know if he’s got a bit lucky with Campbell, Turnbull, Hastie etc coming through the ranks.

Hes another that’s bought from the English lower leagues, including the national league with some degree of success.

Long and Hylton that scored today came from Blackpool and Soulihull Mooors?! There left back also came from Cambridge United

I think the issue with us is the balance the squad and not individual ability. James, Jackson, Allan, Middleton and Vela all have quality and look good signings. Newell and Doidge have shown flashes but need a lot more.

01-09-2019, 04:17 AM
Lennon is the best manager we've had since I've been watching Hibs and yet a sizeable number of fans still turned against him so it really doesn't surprise me that people are panicking after 4 league games. I'm hoping though that the people running the club have cooler heads and show a wee bit of guts to stick with Hecky. 9 new players to bed in and most of our defence injured or recovering from injury are mitigating circumstances for a disappointing start.

Is that you Paul? 😂

01-09-2019, 04:46 AM
Stubbs imho was very close to the sack before the cup win. His record since is laughable so it a no for me.

No he wasn't, Leeann has said she tried to persuade him to stay, he left for personal reasons.

seanoheimhin
01-09-2019, 05:29 AM
some total random names;

ben garner

paulo sousa

montella vincenzo

eduardo berizzo

luis garcia

roberto di matteo

joe dunne

paul clement

aitor karanka

gary rowett

david wagner

fillipo inzaghi

luigi de biagio

reading that back filipo hahahaha i am blaming the rum and coke

David Wagner who is currently manager of Schalke, one of the bigger clubs in the Bundesliga?

Some of these suggestions are as mad as Chris Hughton who has a proven record of winning the English Championship, or Michael O Neill whose compensation payment puts off clubs who have 5 or 6 times our budget...

Get real here lads and lassies - someone like Robinson at Motherwell makes sense for us right now. Proven at our level, ambitious, plays decent football, and has a bit of bite about him.

01-09-2019, 05:52 AM

A sizeable number of fans turned against him because we were sitting 8th the time the January window came round and we were ****ing awful

Not just because some fans didn’t like him it

We need someone in who knows the league, partly the reason PH has failed

01-09-2019, 06:56 AM

That would be my choice too. The style of play and quality of signing was night and day. I would also be getting him to recommend 2 or 3 before the window shuts tomorrow night.

It is a perfect time for change with the international break but imo needs to happen now and personally think it will happen.

01-09-2019, 06:56 AM
Towards the end of Lennons stint he became easy to dislike.

He was always moaning about something whether it be the board, wanting backed, Kamberi or whatever it was. He was becoming embarrassing and when we wanted answers after a bad defeat he would send out Parker to handle it.

Being 8th and murder just added fuel to the fire.

01-09-2019, 07:00 AM

Neil Lennon

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 07:09 AM
Neil Lennon

He's not even been there a year, in what way is that repeating previous success?

I think I'm starting to see the root of the problem here. A simplistic, knee jerk, short term outlook on problems and solutions.

01-09-2019, 07:10 AM
Why do you think he'd be interested, and does he have a driver since his drink driving ban?

Ridiculous post, bringing up a drink driving past to have a dig is shocking.

My old man
01-09-2019, 07:10 AM
Thierry Henry ????

Imagine the knowledge/advice he could pass on to Flo et al

#2 Double Tap
01-09-2019, 07:12 AM
David Wagner who is currently manager of Schalke, one of the bigger clubs in the Bundesliga?

Some of these suggestions are as mad as Chris Hughton who has a proven record of winning the English Championship, or Michael O Neill whose compensation payment puts off clubs who have 5 or 6 times our budget...

Get real here lads and lassies - someone like Robinson at Motherwell makes sense for us right now. Proven at our level, ambitious, plays decent football, and has a bit of bite about him.

mental note- do not post when you are pissed.

I agree with most of what you wrote, but i dont want robinson.......and on second thoughts, maybe it is you who needs a little bit more ambition and not the other posters who need a dose of reality.

01-09-2019, 07:20 AM
He's not even been there a year, in what way is that repeating previous success?

I think I'm starting to see the root of the problem here. A simplistic, knee jerk, short term outlook on problems and solutions.

Won the double what more could he do. :greengrin

01-09-2019, 07:33 AM
Thierry Henry ????

Imagine the knowledge/advice he could pass on to Flo et al

No thanks, lost the dressing room almost immediately at Monaco due to his arrogance and treatment of younger players.

My old man
01-09-2019, 07:42 AM
No thanks, lost the dressing room almost immediately at Monaco due to his arrogance and treatment of younger players.

Really
That’s your reason for a NO

Personally I think we could do with a manager with a bit of
arrogance
I mean it’s harmed mourinho’s career eh
We need to strip the cotton wool of the players and get them to get stuck in

01-09-2019, 08:02 AM
Really

arrogance

I’d say losing the dressing room of your only precious managerial appointment is a pretty big red flag to be honest. Mourinho had a successful track record that allowed him a bit of arrogance. Henry has no success in management and was in the process of taking Monaco down. However, that is all beside the point as we won’t be going for Henry, even if he was a decent manager we couldn’t afford him.

01-09-2019, 08:26 AM
Really

arrogance

He's on 5m a year with sky but he'll give it up to come here :faf:

Henry isn't a manager in a million years, awful at Monaco

01-09-2019, 08:27 AM

He shouldnt be hibs manager because hes ridiculously stubborn as we seen with scotland. And can you imagine having to listen to his wee smart arse comments if hearts beat us?

Reporter: "well gordon, what do you think went wrong today?"
Strachan "what do you think wrong today?"

Sorry but i Couldnt be arsed with that *****.

01-09-2019, 08:30 AM
He shouldnt be hibs manager because hes ridiculously stubborn as we seen with scotland. And can you imagine having to listen to his wee smart arse comments if hearts beat us?

Reporter: "well gordon, what do you think went wrong today?"
Strachan "what do you think wrong today?"

Sorry but i Couldnt be arsed with that *****.

He’s a very good manager. That’s the important part. Stick his interviews on mute.

01-09-2019, 08:33 AM
He’s a very good manager. That’s the important part. Stick his interviews on mute.

Hes an incredibily stubborn manager who refuses to admit when hes wrong. Ive had enough of those with lennon and heckingbottom.

Thankfully i think its highly unlikely he would take the job.

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 08:35 AM
Won the double what more could he do. :greengrin

Qualify for the Champions League?

01-09-2019, 08:37 AM
Hes an incredibily stubborn manager who refuses to admit when hes wrong. Ive had enough of those with lennon and heckingbottom.

Thankfully i think its highly unlikely he would take the job.

I would say the opposite and he backs his players very publicly. I don’t think he would take it either mind you.

01-09-2019, 08:38 AM
I have deleted it. Whether or not a manager has a drink problem is relevant though.

You deleted it after I quoted it. Do you have proof he has a drink problem or are you just flapping your gums.

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 08:39 AM
You deleted it after I quoted it.

Obviously. Feel free to delete your post, and the whole thing disappears. I'm not interested in an argument.

01-09-2019, 08:47 AM
I want a manager who see’s Hibs as his dream job, one who stays in or around Edinburgh, has his family up here, wants to build a legacy, gets the club, knows the Scottish game inside out and someone who the fans can relate to.

Kevin Thomson/Scott Brown will at some point be Hibs managers. Is this too early for them, probably and in Browns case his career still has a year or so to go so it’s unlikely but that’s where I’d be looking

01-09-2019, 08:49 AM
I want a manager who see’s Hibs as his dream job, one who stays in or around Edinburgh, has his family up here, wants to build a legacy, gets the club, knows the Scottish game inside out and someone who the fans can relate to.

Kevin Thomson/Scott Brown will at some point be Hibs managers. Is this too early for them, probably and in Browns case his career still has a year or so to go so it’s unlikely but that’s where I’d be looking

McDonagh? I suggested earlier he comes in as number two to Strachan for a year then takes the job next season.

Broony is the type we are missing in the middle of the park but he would get Celtic questions asked every other day.

Santa Cruz
01-09-2019, 08:50 AM

Kenny Miller?

01-09-2019, 08:55 AM
McDonagh? I suggested earlier he comes in as number two to Strachan for a year then takes the job next season.

Broony is the type we are missing in the middle of the park but he would get Celtic questions asked every other day.

Someone of that ilk.

01-09-2019, 08:58 AM
said on another thread, Gordon Strachan.

01-09-2019, 09:07 AM
Qualify for the Champions League?

Now you are nit picking. :greengrin

01-09-2019, 09:08 AM

Why?

01-09-2019, 09:08 AM
said on another thread, Gordon Strachan.

I can’t believe that he wasn’t the man to replace George Craig, I did hear that this was an option but it never materialised.

Strachan mentoring Brown/Murray/Thomson/McDonagh

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 09:13 AM
I can’t believe that he wasn’t the man to replace George Craig, I did hear that this was an option but it never materialised.

Strachan mentoring Brown/Murray/Thomson/McDonagh

Strachan doesn't particularly strike me as a people person. I wonder how good he would be in that role.

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 09:14 AM
Now you are nit picking. :greengrin

Could he still do a job for us though?

01-09-2019, 09:15 AM

Kevin thomson and scott brown......are u 14 or on drugs

01-09-2019, 09:37 AM
Strachan?

Jack Ross may only be a few weeks away from his P45 also..

01-09-2019, 09:38 AM
Strachan would be horrible.

crieffhibee
01-09-2019, 09:38 AM
Fancy Jack Ross to get the sack at Sunderland soon enough. Would take him.

01-09-2019, 09:39 AM

James is not the answer and will never coach at this level.

01-09-2019, 09:40 AM
Strachan?

Jack Ross may only be a few weeks away from his P45 also..

Another manager sacked down south?

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 09:40 AM
Fancy Jack Ross to get the sack at Sunderland soon enough. Would take him.

Should we be recruiting managers who were sacked from their last job?

01-09-2019, 09:44 AM
Why do people want Strahan? Because he grew up a Hibs fan? Last managed a club side 9 years ago

01-09-2019, 09:51 AM
James is not the answer and will never coach at this level.

Why not?

01-09-2019, 09:54 AM
Was he? That’s a myth that has been going around for a while, I’m not convinced. Why hasn’t Doolan gone on to be a manager? Maybe it was just a good partnership that clicked.

Doolan is a manager

01-09-2019, 09:54 AM

That was Mixu.

01-09-2019, 10:05 AM
Kevin thomson and scott brown......are u 14 or on drugs

Both.

Now that we’ve cleared that up you want to try to discus rather than acting like a prick?

crieffhibee
01-09-2019, 10:06 AM
Should we be recruiting managers who were sacked from their last job?

I would argue that most managers get sacked at some point. Fact of the matter is Ross knows the Scottish game and can get the team playing an exciting style of football. Also, having previously got the best out of Mallan at St Mirren surely he could do the same with him at Hibs.

01-09-2019, 10:07 AM
Lets be honest if Heckingbottom goes (and i don't think he's going anywhere soon) we'll bring in a promising coach type from down south. Thats the way the club want to go. We did it with Stubbs and our first choice Appleton before he turned it down. The only exception was Lennon who approached Hibs

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 10:10 AM
I would argue that most managers get sacked at some point. Fact of the matter is Ross knows the Scottish game and can get the team playing an exciting style of football. Also, having previously got the best out of Mallan at St Mirren surely he could do the same with him at Hibs.

Fair enough, both Yogi and Mixu both went onto better things after we sacked them.

01-09-2019, 10:16 AM
Why not?

He’s not good enough.

01-09-2019, 10:22 AM
He’s not good enough.

Is Heckingbottom, you’ve been a big fan of his on here?

01-09-2019, 10:24 AM
He’s not good enough.

In comparison to Hecky? He’s doing a fine job in his first role. He could learn from someone like GS then take over. A bit like Stephen Kenny at Ireland.

Roy Keane?

John Kennedy?

01-09-2019, 10:27 AM
In comparison to Hecky? He’s doing a fine job in his first role. He could learn from someone like GS then take over. A bit like Stephen Kenny at Ireland.

Roy Keane?

John Kennedy?

Keane would be box office but as we saw with Lennon that doesn't mean it'll work

01-09-2019, 10:29 AM
Stubbs, Taff & Doolan, get them back where they belong.

01-09-2019, 10:53 AM

Roy Keane?

John Kennedy?

John Kennedy is an interesting one. Has coached under a number of managers at Celtic and appears to be highly regarded. At some stage he will want to manage in his own right I would’ve thought? Perhaps Celtic but that’s a big move so some experience elsewhere first would suit him...

01-09-2019, 11:56 AM
Is Heckingbottom, you’ve been a big fan of his on here?

It would appear he’s not good enough. His refusal to play a DM of any kind has been his down fall.

01-09-2019, 11:57 AM
Stubbs and Dolan for me if we can get them both.