View Full Version : New Manager Serious Options

Pages : 1 [2]

01-09-2019, 12:06 PM
Stubbs? No thanks, he was already on his way to Rotherham before the cup final so definitely not for me.

Steve Austin
01-09-2019, 01:26 PM
Stunner of a first post 👍 I would take a chance on Robbo too but would Motherwell deal with us after choring Dempster?

:aok:Thank you,
Yes Robinson is a bit left field?,but his teams have a go and attack and attempt to play fitba!:rolleyes:.
where is the high press ,front foot attacking play from hibees?.
The players are not performing at all ,due to too much info on tactics and positions etc,They look actually frightened to express themselves at the moment.
management need to look at what they are trying to do here :confused::confused:.

01-09-2019, 01:56 PM
Sol Campbell?

Thought he seemed like a bit of an arse but did an excellent job for that club he was at that I’ve somehow forgotten. Think he may have also done some work with the English FA.

TheReg!
01-09-2019, 01:58 PM
Jose Mourinho is available, I’m sure Big Ron has deep enough pockets to get him in 😂

01-09-2019, 02:04 PM
Why do people want Strahan? Because he grew up a Hibs fan? Last managed a club side 9 years ago

Knows the Scottish game and doesn't take any 5hit from players. Also has great contacts in the game and imo he just fits what Hibs need. Someone who's passionate and cares about the club. FWIW I don't think he'd take it though.

hibeerealist
01-09-2019, 02:07 PM
John Kennedy is an interesting one. Has coached under a number of managers at Celtic and appears to be highly regarded. At some stage he will want to manage in his own right I would’ve thought? Perhaps Celtic but that’s a big move so some experience elsewhere first would suit him...

Sorry no from me.

01-09-2019, 03:45 PM
Craig Levein.

I expect he'll be available soon.

01-09-2019, 03:48 PM
Ricardo Gareca, you heard it here first! :-)

01-09-2019, 03:55 PM
Ricardo Gareca, you heard it here first! :-)

Now you’re talking!

01-09-2019, 03:58 PM
Get a Portuguese or German coach. I’d like to see a shift towards a style of football as well. Get back to passing the ball and entertaining.

Hibees1973
01-09-2019, 04:06 PM
The Hibs v Hearts game in a couple of weeks will be a showdown for Heckingbottom & Potter. Assuming they are both in place by the time the fixture comes round I reckon the loser will be hounded out of town pronto with the other one probably following not long after.

ThatDayInMay
01-09-2019, 04:08 PM
Get a Portuguese or German coach. I’d like to see a shift towards a style of football as well. Get back to passing the ball and entertaining.

Domenico Tedesco would be the dream.

01-09-2019, 04:09 PM
The Hibs v Hearts game in a couple of weeks will be a showdown for Heckingbottom & Potter. Assuming they are both in place by the time the fixture comes round I reckon the loser will be hounded out of town pronto with the other one probably following not long after.

Is that not similar to what happened with Fenlon?

Seem to remember him having a derby to save his job and we lost it.

01-09-2019, 04:14 PM
Is that not similar to what happened with Fenlon?

Seem to remember him having a derby to save his job and we lost it.

He wanted to quit before that game, Petrie talked him out of it telling him he couldn’t do so just before a derby.

01-09-2019, 04:17 PM
What's Alex Ferguson up to nowadays?

Here’s Lucy!
01-09-2019, 04:25 PM
Craig Levein.

I expect he'll be available soon.

That way, at least our midfield players would not take so much flak, as Potter doesn’t use midfielders and just zooms the ball over their heads.

01-09-2019, 04:29 PM
Kevin thomson and scott brown......are u 14 or on drugs

Is that really necessary?

01-09-2019, 04:29 PM
What's Alex Ferguson up to nowadays?

He's in Edinburgh on Saturday for Pat Stantons night. Somebody ask him SOS.

badabing67
01-09-2019, 04:58 PM
I said Robinson after Lennon left, I think he is very decent.

Was it him that got Motherwell to 2 cup finals in one season

badabing67
01-09-2019, 05:12 PM
FWIW I think Brian Rice would do a decent job us. Would prefer him to most of the names put forward on here

01-09-2019, 05:13 PM
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer?

Steve Austin
01-09-2019, 05:15 PM
Was it him that got Motherwell to 2 cup finals in one season

Yup,
On very limited budget !.Got them to two finals ,motivated,attack minded and passionate!:aok::cb

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer?

Don’t want someone else at the wheel.

FWIW I think Brian Rice would do a decent job us. Would prefer him to most of the names put forward on here

Fair play for bringing a different name in....what has he done in his brief managerial career to suggest that to you? Don't see anything myself...

01-09-2019, 05:23 PM
Derek Adams.

01-09-2019, 05:30 PM
He wanted to quit before that game, Petrie talked him out of it telling him he couldn’t do so just before a derby.

Should have won that game four or five as well.

Keyser Sauzee
01-09-2019, 05:31 PM
Martin Canning? In saying that I would hope for better but he didn’t do a bad job with Hamilton

01-09-2019, 05:32 PM
Should have won that game four or five as well.

Yup. Absolutely battered them

badabing67
01-09-2019, 05:40 PM
Fair play for bringing a different name in....what has he done in his brief managerial career to suggest that to you? Don't see anything myself...

Well you've got to start somewhere, like you say it is brief, but he has a limited budget, took over a team that looked relegation bound, started to get them playing better football and kept them up. Personally I think he would be an improvement on what we've got now. I think he would have us better organised, wouldn't difficult. Think he has a better knowledge of the game in Scotland. Might be worth watching the highlights against the yams yesterday. Complete contrast in resource but unlucky not to come away with all points. I think if he was given the resources PHB has been given the results would be night and day.

Steve Austin
01-09-2019, 05:43 PM
Well here's one from left field for you,Carlos Carvahal!:greengrin.
ex Sheffield weds and Swansea,plays good football with style and purpose.Has an eye for a player too!.:thumbsup:

01-09-2019, 05:44 PM
Well you've got to start somewhere, like you say it is brief, but he has a limited budget, took over a team that looked relegation bound, started to get them playing better football and kept them up. Personally I think he would be an improvement on what we've got now. I think he would have us better organised, wouldn't difficult. Think he has a better knowledge of the game in Scotland. Might be worth watching the highlights against the yams yesterday. Complete contrast in resource but unlucky not to come away with all points. I think if he was given the resources PHB has been given the results would be night and day.

Thanks for replying...interesting thoughts ..

Certainly we are performing at a low standard at the mo..

Don’t see him as the answer - but think you make some good points [emoji106]

Steve Austin
01-09-2019, 05:48 PM
Well here's one from left field for you,Carlos Carvahal!:greengrin.
ex Sheffield weds and Swansea,plays good football with style and purpose.Has an eye for a player too!.:thumbsup:

Derek Adams.

Bombed out out at Plymouth !!,results went south and lost dressing room!!:confused:

01-09-2019, 05:50 PM
Bombed out out at Plymouth !!,results went south and lost dressing room!!:confused:

Everyone has a shelf life at a club. They are skint and kicked above their weight for seasons. He fell out with his own dad though so thinking about it he might not be able to work with our recruitment team who recruit very little players.

01-09-2019, 06:07 PM
Getting to two cup finals isn't a reason to want Robinson. Fenlon got Hibs to twocup finals. Stubbs got to twoand actually won one.

01-09-2019, 06:15 PM
Getting to two cup finals isn't a reason to want Robinson. Fenlon got Hibs to twocup finals. Stubbs got to twoand actually won one.

Fenlon deserves great praise for getting us to two cup finals. We had a spell there where we were getting to so many we almost started taking it for granted. Given what Pat inherited, he worked wonders to get us to those finals. It's a real shame for him that one of them turned out the way it did, as that ended up being a huge stick to beat him with.

I think we've argued in the past about Fenlon's role in our relegation. I maintain the seeds were sown with that absolutely horrific summer transfer window that left us with a hopelessly imbalanced squad, devastating weaknesses in certain areas and big trouble ahead.

The horrible feeling I have is that this one feels exactly the same.

Steve Austin
01-09-2019, 06:21 PM

Well yes that's correct,but if you look at the way his teams have a go ,play with width and attitude?.
He seems passionate and he's picked up a few gems for Motherwell and blended that with youth from academy also?:agree:

HFC93
01-09-2019, 06:23 PM
You know things are bad when folk are suggesting Derek Adams.

01-09-2019, 06:34 PM

It’ll be a short list of candidates if we aren’t willing to hire someone who has lost a job before.

I’m thinking more of the taking Ross County from League two to finishing in the premiership top six, and Plymouth from league two to the verge of league one playoffs in the previous ten years of his career rather than the one poor season that things didn’t go his way and he ended up losing his job.

Knows the Scottish game inside-out and had his team consistently punching above their weight while he managed up here. Has done a decent job at Plymouth although had a poor season last year and is an available, affordable and realistic target for us if we have to pay to get rid of Hecky.

He came to Hibs before as assistant manager so I reckon he would jump at the chance to be our head coach.

01-09-2019, 07:15 PM
A really left field suggestion - Shaun Maloney. Currently assistant coach for Belgium...

hibeejeebies
01-09-2019, 07:28 PM

Only if he brings Yogi as his assistant... 😁

01-09-2019, 07:36 PM

If you're in Plymouth, how much farther south can you go?

Not So Young
01-09-2019, 07:43 PM
Not sure who would take the job

Gossip that Chief Exec is going does not promote stability

Ron has to have a big say in the decision as any new manager has to have his full support

Unfortunately for PH Ron can say he was not my choice

hibsforeurope
01-09-2019, 07:54 PM
Stubbs + doolan + taff

Has to be this for me. His style was more suited to Spl than championship. Give them till end of season then see.

01-09-2019, 08:18 PM
People have missed the obvious two Billy Davies and Jimmy Calderwood

01-09-2019, 08:35 PM
Has Stuart Baxter been mentioned?

edwards
01-09-2019, 08:37 PM
Same guy I asked for when Lennon left.

Alex Neil please.

Now that may be worth a shout and knows the scottish game

01-09-2019, 08:49 PM
Now that may be worth a shout and knows the scottish game

Not a hope.

01-09-2019, 08:57 PM
Based on what? He was ***** enough to assist us winning the cup? Fair call.

You want Billy Reid mate. Your opinion is invalid🤦🏻

01-09-2019, 09:06 PM
You want Billy Reid mate. Your opinion is invalid🤦🏻

:greengrin he’s strutting his stuff in the EPL the now mind.

It was a suggestion, I’m sure I’ll think of someone shocking to actually want as the next HC 😉

One Day In Time
01-09-2019, 09:19 PM
Who knows what goes on behind the scenes?

Robinson at Motherwell - not afraid to play kids and seems to get decent players from down south
Wright at St Johnstone - fire in the belly and a decent track record for a small club on a small budget
Alex Neil - probably little chance but we're a massive club and opportunity

01-09-2019, 09:30 PM
:greengrin he’s strutting his stuff in the EPL the now mind.

It was a suggestion, I’m sure I’ll think of someone shocking to actually want as the next HC 😉

Haha I have no idea who I’d bring in to be fair. Cannot continue with this though

01-09-2019, 09:38 PM
If you want Moyes, you better hurry, as the Yams have already identified him as their man. https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/184536-david-moyes/

What is really worrying is how quickly a discredited, out of work manager can suddenly become the next messiah. This is all starting to go a bit Butcheresque.

Serious question, can you give me an example of a former manager returning to a club and repeating the success they had the first time? I can't think of any, and I reckon it's because such appointments are usually made to placate fans, rather than with anything to do with their track record since leaving.

Walter Smith

Greenwich_Hibby
01-09-2019, 09:40 PM
Think this is part of the problem. In this money driven environment we are not a big club, we are English Div 2, and whilst historically we are a big club we no longer are. Attracting long term managers is unsustainable as we cannot provide the funds to meet the expectations.

That said, the current manager is a complete imposter and needs to be sacked now. A proven manager with knowledge of the Scottish game is the most sustainable way forward.

Robinson at Motherwell - not afraid to play kids and seems to get decent players from down south
Wright at St Johnstone - fire in the belly and a decent track record for a small club on a small budget

JimboHibs
01-09-2019, 10:18 PM

See the 'were a massive club' do you honestly think that nowadays ?
I agree we are a club with opportunity but never think of us as a massive club potentially we could be if say there was a British league and we were allowed to find our level and grow but as for thinking were a massive club i dont see it,i dont see how any club outwith Old Firm can grow within the current set up of the SPL.

01-09-2019, 10:26 PM
Fenlon deserves great praise for getting us to two cup finals. We had a spell there where we were getting to so many we almost started taking it for granted. Given what Pat inherited, he worked wonders to get us to those finals. It's a real shame for him that one of them turned out the way it did, as that ended up being a huge stick to beat him with.

I think we've argued in the past about Fenlon's role in our relegation. I maintain the seeds were sown with that absolutely horrific summer transfer window that left us with a hopelessly imbalanced squad, devastating weaknesses in certain areas and big trouble ahead.

The horrible feeling I have is that this one feels exactly the same.

This squad is never in a million years going down.

01-09-2019, 10:30 PM
Well yes that's correct,but if you look at the way his teams have a go ,play with width and attitude?.
He seems passionate and he's picked up a few gems for Motherwell and blended that with youth from academy also?:agree:

Hasn't he finished bottom 6 both seasons? McCall had them top 6 easily.

Basically people want him because his team beat us the other night. They also got turned over by Celtic, Hearts and couldn't beat Livi. Really nothing special on his CV at all.

tonyrougier123
02-09-2019, 12:30 AM
Strachan?

Jack Ross may only be a few weeks away from his P45 also..

I would take jack ross in an instant.

If he gets punted by sunderland we should be right in there.

Good shout 👍

gordoz
02-09-2019, 03:42 AM
Agree he is doing a brilliant job at Livi. Still unbeaten.

agree. think he would do well at hibs

Crammond Hibee
02-09-2019, 05:27 AM
David Hopkin ?

K-Zazu
02-09-2019, 12:43 PM
Where are Doolan and Taff?

HFC93
02-09-2019, 12:49 PM
I would take Jack Ross is he gets bumped by Sunderland. But if you look at the Sunderland message boards they're saying the same about Ross as what Hibs fans are saying about Hecky. Talks a good game, etc.

02-09-2019, 01:12 PM
Ian Murray

02-09-2019, 01:13 PM

Aye, they said that about the Fenlon/ Butcher squad as well.

If you have a squad as poor at creating and taking chances as that squad was, you're in trouble.

If you have a midfield as bad as ours, you're in big, big trouble.

When you get into one of those ruts (that we're not in yet, but it doesn't feel like it's a million miles away) then you're in relegation trouble.

02-09-2019, 01:15 PM
Ian Murray

Petrie was a big fan ....don’t think he has the same
Support in new regime ..nor currently a track record to be considered yet

Cataplana
02-09-2019, 02:11 PM
Does Marv have his coaching badges?

Cataplana
02-09-2019, 02:14 PM
Aye, they said that about the Fenlon/ Butcher squad as well.

If you have a squad as poor at creating and taking chances as that squad was, you're in trouble.

If you have a midfield as bad as ours, you're in big, big trouble.

When you get into one of those ruts (that we're not in yet, but it doesn't feel like it's a million miles away) then you're in relegation trouble.

My take on it is that other teams know what they are trying to achieve for the season. They will play the same way week in, week out, and take what comes their way.

Hibs at present seem to be disintegrating. Players are hiding, and there seems to be no team spirit at all.

Hecky gambled on having at least one of Gray or McGregor fit at any one time. Sadly, they are both out and the team seems like it is leaderless.

02-09-2019, 02:36 PM
Strachan, Doolan & Taff for me.

:agree::thumbsup:

Cabbage-Patch
02-09-2019, 03:02 PM
Martin O'Neill

rodhibs55
02-09-2019, 03:08 PM
Brian Rice ?

02-09-2019, 03:25 PM

We wont go down

02-09-2019, 03:34 PM

You are probably right.

We've heard similar over the years from being too big to go down (McLeish's team) to only needing so many points which we were sure to get (Butcher's).

This squad will be more worried about relegation than challenging for Europe. Which would we have expected given our recent income, backing from fans, and investment in the playing side? We are so far away from looking like the squad we're supposed to be it is unreal.

We might not go down - but that isn't enough.

Mr Green Genes
02-09-2019, 03:40 PM
Michael Stewart

percy veer
02-09-2019, 03:42 PM
neilson

02-09-2019, 03:47 PM
neilson

Not likely to get big support on here ..but in the event that we are looking, I’d take him ...

#2 Double Tap
02-09-2019, 03:47 PM
We wont go down

When St J are coming to Easter Road and playing us of the park, or when Morton are taking us to extra time and at various times throughout the game looking as good as St J did, no way can anyone say with confidence that we won't.

That last 20 mins v St J was close to , if not the worst any Hibs team has played in the last 10 years, truly frightening. Motherwell at the weekend was not much better, Tam Cowen on the radio said he thinks that is the worst Hibs team he has ever seen playing through there, that is from a completely neutral point of view.

The amount of times already this season when the opposition players have glided past our midfield and played simple passes that have cut us open with ease is extremely worrying.

02-09-2019, 03:51 PM
John Doolan is currently 1st team coach at Accrington Stanley.

David Unsworth is someone who I've heard good things about - Everton U23 Coach.

Michael Appleton is now the West Brom U23 coach - our supposedly 1st choice ??

Torto7
02-09-2019, 03:58 PM

He's highly rated they also won the league last year. Stubbs was coaching them prior to us. This is the best shout I've seen so far.:aok:

02-09-2019, 04:30 PM

Maybe with different people negotiating...

02-09-2019, 04:30 PM
We wont go down

Based on what? We couldn’t beat ****ing Stirling.

02-09-2019, 04:36 PM
He's highly rated they also won the league last year. Stubbs was coaching them prior to us. This is the best shout I've seen so far.:aok:

Unsworth was very close last time.

Torto7
02-09-2019, 07:22 PM
Unsworth was very close last time.

That's interesting I didn't know that.

I don't remember him being on the shortlist the papers reported. Heckingbottom, Appleton, Gemmill were all on it.

I wonder why the club didn't fancy him.

tonyrougier123
21-09-2019, 07:16 PM
If things don't pan out well for hecky,I would take ian mccall no problem.been around a while but always liked him.

21-09-2019, 07:23 PM
If things don't pan out well for hecky,I would take ian mccall no problem.been around a while but always liked him.

Chick Young says he’ll be appointed Partick Manager in the next few days

Just_Jimmy
21-09-2019, 07:26 PM
Jack Ross will be looking for a club soon.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

21-09-2019, 07:28 PM
Moyesie!

21-09-2019, 07:55 PM
Sean Maloney

21-09-2019, 07:59 PM
Shaun Maloney or Scot Gemmill

21-09-2019, 08:01 PM
Jack Ross will be looking for a club soon.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using TapatalkAlready in one, the failed to beat Bolton club. Very exclusive club.

the tornadoe
22-09-2019, 05:09 PM
Who do we get in ? Who would be available at a reasonable price ? Serious options only !
OK... started this thread a few weeks ago with all sincerity as I could honestly not see our current manager turning things around. The result today should be his final game in charge of our team.
So... again with serious options only who do we get in...it's going to take some serious cash if we are to get someone with a very good CV.. and also to bring in a couple of players that they may want to strengthen the team as they see fit. There are players out there, Efe for example but it will mean funds being made available to the new Manager..

Doh Rae Me
22-09-2019, 05:11 PM
Holt has to be logical choice.

22-09-2019, 05:13 PM
Stevie Robinson out of the Scottish league

Someone like unsworth be a shout

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

LeithMike
22-09-2019, 05:25 PM
Stevie Robinson out of the Scottish league

Someone like unsworth be a shout

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkDo we really know anything about Unsworth? Would be a gamble and we're not really in a position to get a gamble wrong or its relegation.

Dont see any obvious candidates though. Jack Ross has had a bad couple of years so may come with some baggage. Robinson might be the best candidate and ticks a lot of boxes.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

22-09-2019, 05:28 PM
Holt would take it in a heartbeat. He doesnt actually pick the team at Livingston though.

coldingham hibs
22-09-2019, 05:37 PM
Gary Holt as I’ve said before.

22-09-2019, 05:40 PM
Not sure holt has done it long enough - may as well appoint his assistant [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

22-09-2019, 05:48 PM
Surely there are foreign managers worth giving a try? Those pointing to Scottish managers, I can understand, but is our history littered with cup wins and league challenges? The reason I ask is we’ve commonly went for Scottish managers, a few Irish and a few English and my impression it’s always been a 50/50 chance of mediocrity or failure. We’ve only had a few that have achieved the expected and then we treat them as legends when in truth the club should be achieving much more than it does and on a much more frequent basis.

I get the impression club are trying to get ready for some Continental League that may not be coming and may not include us.

I’d unite behind a good young German, Italian, French etc. Coach any day. We’re so much like Scotland, we think an old Scottish manager is going to save the day...

22-09-2019, 05:59 PM
I'd be fine with Stubbs coming back on a deal until the end of the season. He had a great eye for a signing (though not much leeway to make any at present I guess).

Let's face it he couldn't be any worse than what we're saddled with at present.

sundo1875
22-09-2019, 06:01 PM
Mike Flynn from Newport. A young manager doing well down south.

22-09-2019, 06:01 PM
I'd be fine with Stubbs coming back on a deal until the end of the season. He had a great eye for a signing (though not much leeway to make any at present I guess).

i'd take that and it's the sensible solution in so many ways. Sadly I don't think Heckingbottom6 is going anywhere until Xmas.

22-09-2019, 06:04 PM
Lee Bullen a possibility?

I want Moyes but I think we’ll go for some untried or inexperienced coach from down south.

Box 17
22-09-2019, 06:09 PM
But any new manager will surely come from a very similar list of candidates they drew up the last time.

A list in which Heckingbottom was in the top two.

22-09-2019, 06:10 PM
Holt would take it in a heartbeat. He doesnt actually pick the team at Livingston though.

22-09-2019, 06:11 PM
Scot Gemmill or Shaun Maloney.

Lee Bullen a possibility?

I want Moyes but I think we’ll go for some untried or inexperienced coach from down south.

Bullen is a big jambo.

Not read the full thread - has Darren Fletcher had a mention?

22-09-2019, 06:12 PM
Holt has to be logical choice.

No no no - he's not even really the Livvy manager - he's just fronting the show because he has the coaching badges they needed.

22-09-2019, 06:13 PM
But any new manager will surely come from a very similar list of candidates they drew up the last time.

A list in which Heckingbottom was in the top two.

depends...we have a different owner now.

22-09-2019, 06:13 PM
Shaun Maloney or Scot Gemmill

Would take Maloney in a flash but he would jump at the Celtic gig if Lenny was launched.

22-09-2019, 06:14 PM

Bring him back along with the 2 that make him tick, they would change things around for sure.

22-09-2019, 06:18 PM
Would take Maloney in a flash but he would jump at the Celtic gig if Lenny was launched.

🤣 You'd take Maloney in a heartbeat? You think Maloney will be the next Celtic manager? Are you at it?

22-09-2019, 06:21 PM

He'll still be being touted for care taker job in 20 years time 😂

seanoheimhin
22-09-2019, 06:25 PM
The new manager is going to have a gargantuan job on their hands, whoever they are - not a million miles away from what Stubbs faced in terms of overhaul.

And for the board - How do we find the budget to get rid of the dead wood and sign players who will improve the team?

I don’t envy that task and I really despair unless we get moving on it sharpish!

22-09-2019, 06:28 PM
Whoever it is has a huge task on their hands with an unbalanced and poor team and being unable to do anything about it till January.

He’ll need to get us playing good football again with a tempo, creating lots of chances with crisp passing and good movement.

We need him to sound and come across as enthusiastic and passionate and to realise how big a club we are and what the standards are.

He needs to be able to push the board to get the best possible players in.

We need consistency as well, we seem to go through a hell of a lot of managers and it’s ridiculous.

For me I would want Jack Ross when he is inevitably sacked from Sunderland.

Gary Holt and Stephen Robertson are doing great jobs at their teams but my fear is that they wouldn’t be able to make the step up.

Cataplana
22-09-2019, 06:30 PM
Who's going to take the job when we have a team full of duds?

hibs#1
22-09-2019, 06:30 PM
Not that it matters for now but I wouldn't touch Jack Ross with a barge pole.

Sweet Left Peg
22-09-2019, 06:50 PM
The new manager is going to have a gargantuan job on their hands, whoever they are - not a million miles away from what Stubbs faced in terms of overhaul.

And for the board - How do we find the budget to get rid of the dead wood and sign players who will improve the team?

I don’t envy that task and I really despair unless we get moving on it sharpish!

Unfortunately, if a new guy comes in now, he's got to use someone else's signings to get us through to January. Stubbs had the best part of the whole summer to set his squad up. It was carte blanche for him and he did well. If Stubbs came back, I don't think it would work. We would need an experienced hand to sort us out, set us up in games with a strong formation, hard to break down and get a few points on the board. Assuming that we need a new manager, of course.

22-09-2019, 06:52 PM
Whoever it is has a huge task on their hands with an unbalanced and poor team and being unable to do anything about it till January.

He’ll need to get us playing good football again with a tempo, creating lots of chances with crisp passing and good movement.

We need him to sound and come across as enthusiastic and passionate and to realise how big a club we are and what the standards are.

He needs to be able to push the board to get the best possible players in.

We need consistency as well, we seem to go through a hell of a lot of managers and it’s ridiculous.

For me I would want Jack Ross when he is inevitably sacked from Sunderland.

Gary Holt and Stephen Robertson are doing great jobs at their teams but my fear is that they wouldn’t be able to make the step up.

You want a sacked jack Ross over Stephen Robinson who’s doing a great job at Motherwell with a shoestring covered in dug***** for a budget?