View Full Version : Vegetarianism/Veganism

31-08-2019, 04:23 AM
Is anyone here a vegetarian or vegan? I would imagine a few are. I've been thinking about trying to go veggie for years on and off, but have never taken the plunge, the main reason being the restricted diet and faffing aboot. It's so much easier to be vegetarian now, due to the wide variety of things available, but I think something simple, like a ham sandwich when I'm hungry, would make me fall off the wagon. Not so much willpower as convenience, though I would definitely miss some of my favourite meat dishes.

If you're vegetarian, was it animal welfare issues or health benefits which convinced you, and did you find it hard at first?

Maybe I'll give it a trial run for a few weeks to see how it goes.

Bangkok Hibby
31-08-2019, 04:47 AM
Is anyone here a vegetarian or vegan? I would imagine a few are. I've been thinking about trying to go veggie for years on and off, but have never taken the plunge, the main reason being the restricted diet and faffing aboot. It's so much easier to be vegetarian now, due to the wide variety of things available, but I think something simple, like a ham sandwich when I'm hungry, would make me fall off the wagon. Not so much willpower as convenience, though I would definitely miss some of my favourite meat dishes.

If you're vegetarian, was it animal welfare issues or health benefits which convinced you, and did you find it hard at first?

I was veggie for nearly 15 years. Slipped a bit now but still don't go near any red meat. Main reason was animal welfare and the men in my family historically suffer from strokes and heart attacks so that gave me the extra push.
I never understood it when people say your diet is restricted. The opposite is the case. I loved being veggie and still think I'll go back.

31-08-2019, 05:14 AM

I was a veggie for 20 years from the mid-80s.

There was no real convenience foods around then - a tin of veggie ravioli could be bought in Holland and Barratt for over £3 but that wasn’t an option!!

Taught myself how to cook and it was easy enough. You learn how to blend flavours of different veg and use herbs and spices.

The worst veggie food is the stuff that just tries to replace meat with a vegetable (eg cauliflower steak!!)

Restaurants are miles better now. There was a few specialised places like Kalpna but generally you got one dish of veggie “option”.

allmodcons
31-08-2019, 05:24 AM

I'm pescatarian H&A. Have been for about 5 years. My eldest daughter went veggie at 8 years old (she's 20 now and vegan). The younger of my 2 daughters has been been veggie since she was 11 (she's 17 now). Anyway their influence and changes in family meals resulted in me and wife both becoming pescatarian.

Whilst I think I would struggle a little without fish I really don't miss meat, especially the processed stuff like bacon, ham, etc.

There are some really good 'substitute' foods around these days. I would challenge anybody to try a full Scottish breakfast at Glasvegan in Glasgow and tell me it's not good. Possibly the best cooked breakfast I've ever had!!!

I don't preach to anybody about the benefits but do think people should at least consider cutting back on their meat intake by having a veggie or vegan at least once or twice a week. It's good for the planet and good for your health so should be a no brainer.

allmodcons
31-08-2019, 05:28 AM

There was no real convenience foods around then - a tin of veggie ravioli could be bought in Holland and Barratt for over £3 but that wasn’t an option!!

Taught myself how to cook and it was easy enough. You learn how to blend flavours of different veg and use herbs and spices.

The worst veggie food is the stuff that just tries to replace meat with a vegetable (eg cauliflower steak!!)

Restaurants are miles better now. There was a few specialised places like Kalpna but generally you got one dish of veggie “option”.

Aye at £12 - £15 a pop that one is a joke.

There are some really good substitutes though. I love veggie haggis and veggie black pudding. Tasty food with none of the ***** in it!

31-08-2019, 05:53 AM
Never seen veggie black pudding but veggie haggis is good.

31-08-2019, 06:28 AM
Don't really eat red meat and will think hard about continuing to eat chicken once we're in the US. Not planning to give up fish, and will never, ever, stop eating cheese. Agree with everyone else that veggie haggis is good, though I doubt it's healthy.

31-08-2019, 06:41 AM

After being a committed carnivore all my life , I gave up meat at the start of this year. My wife has been veggie since a young age..but I had never once considered it...for a change of nutrition we did veganuary this year - month of vegan food..I found my body felt much better for it..so I did another couple of months..again, feeling good - and enjoying different food - I decided to keep up veggie (not our vegan) food..still at it .

I have added fish back in - just to add to the variety. Surprised that I’m not missing meat. Not even a bacon roll or a steak ..Definitely feel a lot better for it..it was simply about change of nutrition for me - not about animal welfare.

Have no interest currently in eating meat...

31-08-2019, 07:11 AM
I'm neither, but have certainly consumed less meat than before over the past couple of years. It's not even been a conscious "now we must eat less meat" thing, it has just sort of happened.

Meat here costs - in the main - a bloody fortune so we have red meat once or twice a month max and chicken or pork once or twice a week max as well. The days of meat being the absolute centrepiece of the dish with some token, tasteless veggies on the side are also no more.

31-08-2019, 07:12 AM
Is that Quorn stuff any good?

31-08-2019, 07:34 AM
I eat much less meat than I used to. As a family we are probably averaging 3-4 meat free evening meals a week and I rarely eat meat at lunchtime.

I enjoy cooking and I'm fairly competent and removing meat is a great way to incorporate new flavours and ideas into cooking. The main driver for me is the environmental impact of the meat industry, the figures are scary.

Whether I could go full blown veggie or vegan is another question? I'm not sure I could manage it at the moment.

31-08-2019, 08:05 AM
Pescatarian here - dont miss meat in the slightest, although cant deny a fillet steak smells bloody amazing

Body feels way better for it too

31-08-2019, 08:12 AM

Yes. It is. As is Tofu..but it is all about the seasoning and other ingredients.

A Tofu Pad Thai is now one of my favourite meals ....

Although, personally, I focus more on beans and pulses and great salads etc. Rather than meat substitutes too much ..greater variety ....

31-08-2019, 08:19 AM

It was a great improvement on Linda McCartney’s salt and soya rubbish when it came out.

They shape it an colour it but, in the end, it all tastes like quorn.

The sausages are OK.

31-08-2019, 08:20 AM
It was a great improvement on Linda McCartney’s salt and soya rubbish when it came out.

They shape it an colour it but, in the end, it all tastes like quorn.

The sausages are OK.

Some of McCartney’s veggie sausages are good imho....

31-08-2019, 08:21 AM
Some of McCartney’s veggie sausages are good imho....

I’m not keen on them. The sausage rolls where OK.

31-08-2019, 08:22 AM
I’m not keen on them. The sausage rolls where OK.

I like the “rosemary and onion” (I think ) ones....

31-08-2019, 08:24 AM
You get an amazing vegan bacon which is made of smoked tempeh.

It’s really hard to get, though. The 13th Note pub in Glasgow used to do bacon butties with it and there was a wee shop on Bath Street that would stock it and be sold out in a morning.

If they’re still making it, they would definitely benefit from some capital to grow the business.

31-08-2019, 08:25 AM
I would never consider going veggie, I'd really struggle not eating meat.
Each to their own though.

31-08-2019, 08:27 AM
I would never consider going veggie, I'd really struggle not eating meat.
Each to their own though.

That would have been me 12 months ago ..... much easier than I ever imagined. I’ve given up refined sugar to help weight loss - that is much harder ! [emoji2]

31-08-2019, 08:47 AM

When I was a bit younger I was in a relationship living with a vegetarian so I stopped eating meat to make things simpler.

It definitely, definitely expanded my knowledge of spices, herbs and seasonings.

There are very few cuisines that can’t be made without meat and some - certain Indian regionalities, eastern Med, even Mexican - where you would struggle to notice you aren’t eating meat at all.

31-08-2019, 09:02 AM
That would have been me 12 months ago ..... much easier than I ever imagined. I’ve given up refined sugar to help weight loss - that is much harder ! [emoji2]

Fair play mate, do you feel better/healthier without meat ?

I wouldn't have thought that there would be any difference (apart from passing wind) that you would feel physically.

I'm completely ignorant to the veggie cause, so interesting to hear.

Side note: I'm buying tripe today, to eat tomorrow as my wife is working. Eat what you want day 😁

hibbybob
31-08-2019, 09:19 AM
You get an amazing vegan bacon which is made of smoked tempeh.

It’s really hard to get, though. The 13th Note pub in Glasgow used to do bacon butties with it and there was a wee shop on Bath Street that would stock it and be sold out in a morning.

If they’re still making it, they would definitely benefit from some capital to grow the business.

Asda sell veggie bacon - can't say it one of my favourites tho!

31-08-2019, 09:33 AM
I’m not a veggie nor think that I would ever become one but I do have an interest in the revolution that’s slowly coming to the fore in the food chain.

I came across this company the other day as another example of how humans are starting to move beyond rearing or hunting animals for food.

https://www.bluenalu.com

It’s privately held but I have exposure through an investment company called Agronomics (small AIM listed vehicle that has Jim Mellon as a director).

I know most veggies are so simply because they are happy not to eat meat but I’m curious if those that are so because of animal welfare / environmental impacts in particular would change if the meat (or in this case fish) was ‘grown’ rather than farmed.

Ultimately I see lab grown meat and fish and the likes of vertical farming becoming commonplace as it has many many advantages over the more traditional methods.

31-08-2019, 11:52 AM
I’m not a veggie nor think that I would ever become one but I do have an interest in the revolution that’s slowly coming to the fore in the food chain.

I came across this company the other day as another example of how humans are starting to move beyond rearing or hunting animals for food.

It’s privately held but I have exposure through an investment company called Agronomics (small AIM listed vehicle that has Jim Mellon as a director).

I know most veggies are so simply because they are happy not to eat meat but I’m curious if those that are so because of animal welfare / environmental impacts in particular would change if the meat (or in this case fish) was ‘grown’ rather than farmed.

Ultimately I see lab grown meat and fish and the likes of vertical farming becoming commonplace as it has many many advantages over the more traditional methods.

I think you’re right. My only concern is I’ve seen Soylent Green :-)

31-08-2019, 11:55 AM
Fair play mate, do you feel better/healthier without meat ?

I wouldn't have thought that there would be any difference (apart from passing wind) that you would feel physically.

I'm completely ignorant to the veggie cause, so interesting to hear.

Side note: I'm buying tripe today, to eat tomorrow as my wife is working. Eat what you want day [emoji16]

I find my body feels much less bloated after eating..quite different actually - lighter ..and I am actually enjoying food more. More variety , different tastes ..

Not had tripe since au was a kid - couldn’t eat it - even when I was eating meat - done well , people seem to still love it ..

31-08-2019, 12:03 PM
I think you’re right. My only concern is I’ve seen Soylent Green :-)

Aha well a film I’ve not seen for long time but if I recall its plot correctly I’m saying this stuff will prevent such a thing from coming reality.

I was actually quite excited (yes I occasionally get excited at company announcements! [emoji2957]) the other day when the news was released re BlueNalu’s scaled up production facilities...the thought of being able to supply fresh, healthy, non polluted seafood to the masses without having to take the stuff from the ocean seemed to me to be a real glimpse of the future.

A future where humans can leave the oceans alone yet still eat as much fish n chips as we want without the need for trawlers dredging the ocean of life or one where McDonald’s serves burgers without having to kill a single cow might still be one with mucho calories but at least we will only be killing ourselves rather than the planet and it’s animals as well [emoji3]

31-08-2019, 12:15 PM
Aha well a film I’ve not seen for long time but if I recall its plot correctly I’m saying this stuff will prevent such a thing from coming reality.

I was actually quite excited (yes I occasionally get excited at company announcements! [emoji2957]) the other day when the news was released re BlueNalu’s scaled up production facilities...the thought of being able to supply fresh, healthy, non polluted seafood to the masses without having to take the stuff from the ocean seemed to me to be a real glimpse of the future.

A future where humans can leave the oceans alone yet still eat as much fish n chips as we want without the need for trawlers dredging the ocean of life or one where McDonald’s serves burgers without having to kill a single cow might still be one with mucho calories but at least we will only be killing ourselves rather than the planet and it’s animals as well [emoji3]

Yes, good post, we have exploited the land to a horrendous degree and it is fascinating to read the reporting on Macron and the Brazilian rain forests and the suggestion that Western ‘concern’ is more of an attempt to block off competition in agriculture.

The oceans are an incredible resource and one that as a species we don’t fully understand. Hopefully science and progressive thinking trumps the rapacious nature that humanity has shown over the centuries!

Mr Grieves
31-08-2019, 12:22 PM
Can anyone recommend a good website for quick and tasty veggie recipes?

31-08-2019, 12:27 PM

Ultimately I see lab grown meat and fish and the likes of vertical farming becoming commonplace as it has many many advantages over the more traditional methods.For me vertical farming is a logical step given population density in some areas, though hopefully we'll always appreciate in-season, traditionally grown produce.

There's a huge movement here for returning to a market of proximity, ie. avoiding big distribution/supermarkets by buying and selling directly and locally, cutting out the middle man/men as well as the need for long distance transportation and the manipulation of produce to increase it's shelf life.

This is obviously easier in rural areas, and it's not necessarily cheaper, but there's a marked improvement in the produce as well as the peace of mind of knowing exactly where what you are eating comes from and what has been done to it.

This applies to meat, fish & veg.

I don't know if I'd be able to trust laboratory produced meat.

31-08-2019, 01:14 PM
I'm neither, but for any vegans out there, there is a vegan Hotel opened in Pitlochry.

31-08-2019, 01:36 PM

You can go onto the BBC website and into the food section, then filter it for vegetarian recipes. Same with BBC GoodFood which I think is their spin-off magazine.

I would also recommend an Australian site, taste.au I think, let me know if that doesn’t work and I will get the right link, it is super fresh and healthy recipes.

Finally, brand websites can be great. One of my favourite and best veg recipes came from Merchant Gourmet. Just google.

31-08-2019, 02:08 PM
Asda sell veggie bacon - can't say it one of my favourites tho!

Most veggie bacon is dreadful.

Must go back to the 13th Note sometime!!

Saturday Boy
31-08-2019, 03:00 PM

I know you asked for a website, but.....

As a good way to try meat free meals, you can adapt many regular family dishes. If you’ve ever made a pot of chilli, replace the meat with beans. If you’re using kidney beans as part of the usual recipe, add black beans to replace the meat and vegetable stock in place of your usual.

If you’re cooking a curry, just replace the meat with potatoes or cauliflower. With both changes, you can reduce the cooking time so that you’re not making soup- beef and chicken take longer to cook.

Both small adjustments and because of the flavours and spices, you won’t miss the meat.
Having said that, I’m actually having a steak for dinner 😂😂

31-08-2019, 03:55 PM
Mildred’s cook book is worth a look.

Mildred’s is a long standing veggie restaurant in Soho.

Recommend the Mushroom and Ale Pie

31-08-2019, 04:16 PM
I'm neither, and currently have no plans on being either.

I do want to increase the number of veggie/vegan meals that I eat though. For health and environmental reasons more than animal welfare or moral issues.

I was actually thinking of starting a thread asking for veggie recipe ideas as I don't really have the knowledge when it comes to using things like lentils and beans etc.

I'm neither, but for any vegans out there, there is a vegan Hotel opened in Pitlochry.

Don't want to sound ignorant, but does that just mean all the furniture isn't made of leather or any other animal products? (As well as any restaurant obviously being a vegan one)

31-08-2019, 04:19 PM
Mildred’s cook book is worth a look.

Mildred’s is a long standing veggie restaurant in Soho.

Recommend the Mushroom and Ale Pie

Great place. Heading along there tomorrow....

31-08-2019, 04:22 PM

As a good way to try meat free meals, you can adapt many regular family dishes. If you’ve ever made a pot of chilli, replace the meat with beans. If you’re using kidney beans as part of the usual recipe, add black beans to replace the meat and vegetable stock in place of your usual.

If you’re cooking a curry, just replace the meat with potatoes or cauliflower. With both changes, you can reduce the cooking time so that you’re not making soup- beef and chicken take longer to cook.

Both small adjustments and because of the flavours and spices, you won’t miss the meat.
Having said that, I’m actually having a steak for dinner [emoji23][emoji23]To say that you won't miss the meat is pushing it a bit. I've had plenty good vegetable curries, but I much prefer those with meat.

31-08-2019, 04:24 PM

Having said that, I’m actually having a steak for dinner 😂😂

Good post.

Mushrooms are also a great meat replacement as they have a meaty texture and a bit of umami flavour.

31-08-2019, 04:35 PM

I do want to increase the number of veggie/vegan meals that I eat though. For health and environmental reasons more than animal welfare or moral issues.

I was actually thinking of starting a thread asking for veggie recipe ideas as I don't really have the knowledge when it comes to using things like lentils and beans etc.

Don't want to sound ignorant, but does that just mean all the furniture isn't made of leather or any other animal products? (As well as any restaurant obviously being a vegan one)

If you start the thread I will post a couple of my favourites but in response to your point, things like lentils, split peas and beans are incredibly straightforward once you’ve done them once.

As soon as you have cooked with them, using your own stove and own pans then it becomes very easy.

For beans, best to start with tinned rather than dried. Chickpeas, kidney beans etc etc only need five to ten minutes on the stove top, in a sauce or mix. They can stand up to longer in the oven if you are making some sort of bake.

Lentils and split peas respond best to simmering in stock for about half an hour. I think split peas take longer than lentils and red lentils are quicker than Puy or green lentils but others may disagree. You would want to add flavour and aromatics e.g. I sometimes make a casserole that is sausages (vegetarian or meat, baked in the oven) and green lentils, simmered in some stock and wine, with very finely diced onion, carrot and celery, plus a couple of bay leaves and some garlic, maybe a touch of thyme and a bit of soy or Worcestershire or Tabasco or chilli flakes. Just mix the sausages in at the end and serve with crusty bread.

Dried beans or pulses are silly cheap but you do have to soak them the night before. There is something satisfying about that but a tin of chickpeas is fifty pence so it isn’t like you are burning money by buying tinned stuff!

EDIT -I haven’t made anything with split peas other than soup for a couple of years, but the last time I did it was a dhal and the split peas took a lot longer than half an hour IIRC. Hopefully someone who cooks with them more regularly will be able to advise!

Saturday Boy
31-08-2019, 05:15 PM
To say that you won't miss the meat is pushing it a bit. I've had plenty good vegetable curries, but I much prefer those with meat.

It’s probably because I’ve never been a huge fan Indian food. My favourite Indian is a bowl of Dahl with some naan. I realise that makes me sound a real cheap skate 😂

Anyway, off to season the Aberdeen Angus sirloin for dinner.

01-09-2019, 01:35 AM
I'm starting Monday and will see how it goes. Supermarket tomorrow to buy up all their quorn, hummus and lentils :greengrin

I will probably last a few days then fall off the wagon! It might take a few attempts to acclimatise; we shall see. If I can stick to it, it will be interesting to discover if I feel better for it.

By the way, where can you buy the veggie black pudding? Man I'm going to miss black pudding :greengrin

01-09-2019, 07:23 AM
Much like Pretty Boy, we've been having around 4 nights a week where our evening meal is meat free. My breakfasts rarely include meat (the odd square sausage/bacon roll), and lunches are increasingly always veggie now too (again, the very odd exception where I'll have something with turkey in it).

A large part of the challenge for us is that I'm allergic to mushrooms, so all quorn based substitutes are out for me - as are things like veggie haggis etc...I've become quite adept at cooking things like tofu though, and recently tried both jackfruit and seitan meat replacements - I really enjoyed both!

Reasons are both health and environmental.

01-09-2019, 08:35 AM
I'm starting Monday and will see how it goes. Supermarket tomorrow to buy up all their quorn, hummus and lentils :greengrin

I will probably last a few days then fall off the wagon! It might take a few attempts to acclimatise; we shall see. If I can stick to it, it will be interesting to discover if I feel better for it.

By the way, where can you buy the veggie black pudding? Man I'm going to miss black pudding :greengrin
For me hummus is like coleslaw - you can buy the shop version and it’s great or you can make it at home and it’s great, but they taste completely different from one another.

01-09-2019, 08:39 AM
Much like Pretty Boy, we've been having around 4 nights a week where our evening meal is meat free. My breakfasts rarely include meat (the odd square sausage/bacon roll), and lunches are increasingly always veggie now too (again, the very odd exception where I'll have something with turkey in it).

A large part of the challenge for us is that I'm allergic to mushrooms, so all quorn based substitutes are out for me - as are things like veggie haggis etc...I've become quite adept at cooking things like tofu though, and recently tried both jackfruit and seitan meat replacements - I really enjoyed both!

Reasons are both health and environmental.

That’s pretty unfortunate with the mushrooms, you have my sympathy.

Aubergine has a meaty texture too. I’m not quite sure about jackfruit yet, think I like it :-)

Dmas
01-09-2019, 09:08 AM

I’ve went pescatarian recently, been 5weeks I still eat fish and dairy, going well really enjoying the meals we’ve been having. I used to have meat for every meal and so far I’m not missing it at all...other than a couple slices of black pudding for breakfast on a Sunday that’s been my only ‘need’.

Glad I’ve came across this thread could be a good source of information to keep it going and add different meals.

Just for an add on I saw joe wicks had a veggie cook book and it’s half price on amazon this weekend

01-09-2019, 10:27 AM
I've got a decent Lebanese fast food restaurant nearby. The falafel plate is to die for, but going hard core veggie just doesn't appeal to me, I just love my meat too much.

01-09-2019, 11:58 AM
Going to dig out the veggie classics again for the next two months.

I’ve been eating like a pig over the summer and need to get “beach body ready” for my holiday!!

Mr Grieves
01-09-2019, 12:19 PM
Cheers for the recommendations :aok:

01-09-2019, 12:37 PM

A link to the vegan Hotel

https://www.saorsahotel.com/

01-09-2019, 06:48 PM
Topical article in this weeks Economist about these guys...if this ain’t the future I don’t know what is!

https://www.intelligentgrowthsolutions.com

01-09-2019, 08:13 PM
Topical article in this weeks Economist about these guys...if this ain’t the future I don’t know what is!

https://www.intelligentgrowthsolutions.com (https://www.intelligentgrowthsolutions.com)

Put the champagne on ice for a bit..........

Is the World's Largest Vertical Farm Worth the Cost? ... Beyer reported that the AeroFarms building cost an estimated $39 million for what amounted to less than two acres of farm land, noting in contrast that an acre of farmland in Iowa has an average cost less than $8,000.

01-09-2019, 08:29 PM
Trying to have 1-2 days a week where we at least have a meat free evening meal. Made a terrific butternut squash & chickpea bhuna the other week and got a puy lentil bolognese tomorrow. Can’t fail with a good veggie pasta either and so easy to make; peppers, courgette, onion, chillies, chopped tomatoes. And I’d be quite happy to never have meat on a pizza.

01-09-2019, 09:07 PM
Put the champagne on ice for a bit..........

Is the World's Largest Vertical Farm Worth the Cost? ... Beyer reported that the AeroFarms building cost an estimated $39 million for what amounted to less than two acres of farm land, noting in contrast that an acre of farmland in Iowa has an average cost less than $8,000.

I'm pretty sure that in the pioneering phase of any form of emerging technology, these sorts of figures aren't unusual and tbh they are often the biggest hurdle that the emerging technology must overcome.

It normally sounds hilarious a few decades later.

01-09-2019, 10:17 PM
I'm pretty sure that in the pioneering phase of any form of emerging technology, these sorts of figures aren't unusual and tbh they are often the biggest hurdle that the emerging technology must overcome.

It normally sounds hilarious a few decades later.

Well indeed.

Human genome is a perfect example.

Cost of the first whole sequencing..$2.6bn

Cost now..$1,000.

The economist article is here:

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.economist.com/science-and-technology/2019/08/31/new-ways-to-make-vertical-farming-stack-up

GORDONSMITH7
02-09-2019, 03:10 AM
I have been Vegan for over 25 years now. Woke up one day thinking why the **** am I supporting the slaughter of animals and the equally brutal dairy egg and milk production indusries. The idea of millions of unwanted male chicks, in the egg producing, firing down shutes and liquidised for dug food was not appealing either.
One of the two early pioneer's of quality Vegan food were Mono and Sterio, both in Glasgow, which I would go to before Hibernian played the Ugly sisters and sometimes go back after the games as both had free live bands at night. Now in most Scottish cities there are great Vegan/Vegetarian eateries everywhere. I live in EH6 in Leith where within 15 minutes I can eat Vegan food . Harmonium in Henderson street is my favourite Vegan eaterie, though I had a terrific pizza in Oragano in Leith Walk the other day. I sometimes get the Vegan option at ER, a packet of plain crisps.
By the way the renowned Perthshire farmer /butcher Simon Howie apart from the usual stuff makes slendid Vegan/Vegetarian haggis and (Lorne)square sausage. Vegan black pudding can be had at Real Foods. Some folk have said to me you really should not eat substitute meat, etc whilst they stuff themselves with bits of slaughtered animals. Fact is no human is born V. The vast majority ate meat and dairy before taking the big jump. If the killing of no animal is involved I am delighted.
I have had my two 15 year auld grandkids in my house before attending ER with them,giving them Vegan burgers, with Vegan Mayo, salad on a bun, Vegan pizza with grated Vegan cheese melted, didnae have a clue and lapped them up. As my house is 10 minutes from ER it makes sense when it is £4 for an unappetizing looking half pizza.
I am delighted that since I joined the Vegan Society all those years ago, the numbers have grown dramatically particularly in the past period, I guess the factors are animal welfare, environmental concerns and health.
I am also glad that personalities likes of Tobey Maguire,Brad Pitt,Joaquin Phoenix, Benedict Cumberbatch,Lewis Hamilton and many others, have and promote a Vegan plant based diet.
One of my favourites is Alex Baldwin who was the voice on this......

Warning not for minors or squeamish.

https://youtu.be/ykTH_b-cXyE

BIG G

02-09-2019, 08:03 AM
A question for vegans, do you wear wool?

02-09-2019, 08:36 AM
A question for vegans, do you wear wool?

Not a vegan , but those I know don’t wear wool - Or any animal products ...

02-09-2019, 08:40 AM

A pal of mine has been vegan for 38+ years (as long as I've known him). He has no problem with wool.

02-09-2019, 08:42 AM
I've massively cut down my meat consumption but couldn't go full vegan/veggie. For evening meals i'm trying to go for one poultry meal, one meat, 2 fish and 3 "veggie" for the week. Because i'm eating less i can justify/afford the extra for a decent free range organic option.

Quite liking the look of the meat free burgers coming out, they're getting great reviews. Price is a tad expensive when you can get angus burgers for half the price but they should hopefully come down when the market grows and there is more competition out there.

For vegan's and vegetarians on here. Alot of you will go down that ethical route for animal welfare reasons. Do you you apply the same ethics when buying vegetarian options? Was reading the Independent last week and there was an article about the scale of slave labour for workers in the agricultural industry all over the world. Is it worse to eat meat reared by a responsible company, with the animal cared for and killed humanely, than it is to eat veg picked by someone working 17 hours a day for pennies? Not fishing btw, just interested.

02-09-2019, 08:48 AM
One of my favourites is Alex Baldwin who was the voice on this......

Warning not for minors or squeamish.

https://youtu.be/ykTH_b-cXyE

BIG G
Interesting vid, ta. Does much of it reflect current practice in the UK, or EU?

someone working 17 years a day for pennies
Copyright 4 Yorkshiremen

02-09-2019, 08:49 AM

It used to be really tough doing that but there seems to be a growing market catering for it. Vegan shoes are quite easy to get hold off for example. DMs do them.

02-09-2019, 09:03 AM
I wonder what the opinions on this thread would have looked like even 5 or 10 years ago?

The cultural shift in attitudes towards vegetarianism and veganism has been huge. You only have to look at the far greater range of veggie options available now when compared to the very recent past.

02-09-2019, 09:06 AM
It used to be really tough doing that but there seems to be a growing market catering for it. Vegan shoes are quite easy to get hold off for example. DMs do them.

Yep. Getting easier to buy birthday and Xmas gifts - used to be hard work ! [emoji2]

02-09-2019, 09:09 AM
I wonder what the opinions on this thread would have looked like even 5 or 10 years ago?

The cultural shift in attitudes towards vegetarianism and veganism has been huge. You only have to look at the far greater range of veggie options available now when compared to the very recent past.

It’s true. Much much better - a big shift in choices and quality ....still surprising though that a number of food places only have one (or no) veggie options ...sometimes you don’t fancy (for example) goats cheese...

A few veggie / vegan options are much more helpful and interesting...

02-09-2019, 09:16 AM
Maybe I'm being dim but why would anyone have an issue with wool?

If a sheep lives a good life (outside, able to wander free, munch what it wants, some protection from wild predators) but has its coat cut off once a year after it no longer needs it so that can be used by a human, where is the problem?

I'd have thought this would be very different to animals whose very existence is to live for slaughter, or to have their reproductive functions messed about with to provide eggs, milk and various other products.

As an aside, I wonder how much impact this thread is having on folk? I raised the question with my Mrs yesterday and she said she thought it was a subject I'd never raise. We're unlikely to go full veggie, but we've vowed to cut down our meat intake to a minimum, eat more fish and have a certain number of veggie meals a week.

One of the main drivers for me is that I have an adorable 18 month old daughter. She loves to eat chicken, and she has a little squirty chicken toy for the bath that she loves. Somewhere down the line we're going to have to have a conversation about "chicken" and how the "chicken" comes from the "chicken", and it doesn't sit all that comfortably with me at all.

02-09-2019, 10:41 AM
I’m delighted to see this thread as I decided to go vegan last week. I’ve stocked up on all the things I need and I’m starting today. I’ve decided to do it for health reasons, I suffer from psoriasis and I’ve read that a vegan diet is a good way to combat it. It seems to have lots of other health benefits as well. Tonight’s first meal is mushroom and potato curry from the bbc good food site and tomorrow it’s vegan chilli. It’s going to take a bit more time preparing meals than before, but I’m hoping it’s going to be worth it.

02-09-2019, 11:00 AM

If a sheep lives a good life (outside, able to wander free, munch what it wants, some protection from wild predators) but has its coat cut off once a year after it no longer needs it so that can be used by a human, where is the problem?

I'd have thought this would be very different to animals whose very existence is to live for slaughter, or to have their reproductive functions messed about with to provide eggs, milk and various other products.

As an aside, I wonder how much impact this thread is having on folk? I raised the question with my Mrs yesterday and she said she thought it was a subject I'd never raise. We're unlikely to go full veggie, but we've vowed to cut down our meat intake to a minimum, eat more fish and have a certain number of veggie meals a week.

One of the main drivers for me is that I have an adorable 18 month old daughter. She loves to eat chicken, and she has a little squirty chicken toy for the bath that she loves. Somewhere down the line we're going to have to have a conversation about "chicken" and how the "chicken" comes from the "chicken", and it doesn't sit all that comfortably with me at all.

Wool is more of a by-product of meat production than an end in itself, certainly in this country. When the sheep are deemed non-productive, ie. not likely to produce healthy lambs (the males of which will be slaughtered for lamb within a year), it's off to the slaughterhouse (and into the pies).

Cataplana
02-09-2019, 11:03 AM
Aye at £12 - £15 a pop that one is a joke.

There are some really good substitutes though. I love veggie haggis and veggie black pudding. Tasty food with none of the ***** in it!

Where can you get the black pudding. I enjoy a veg Lorne sausage and it would go well with that I think.

02-09-2019, 11:17 AM

Some of the farming practicing are viewed as barbaric by Vegans

https://www.peta.org/living/personal-care-fashion/whats-wrong-wool/

It’s similar reason why they don’t eat Honey...upsets the animals ....

02-09-2019, 11:50 AM
Where can you get the black pudding. I enjoy a veg Lorne sausage and it would go well with that I think.
I’d like to know that as well, also where do you get the vegan Lorne?

Cataplana
02-09-2019, 01:21 PM

Must confess, I've got a problem finding that too! I've had it in hotels, and in cafes, but haven't found a supermarket that stocks it yet.

It's fantastic on a roll.

02-09-2019, 07:25 PM
Vegetable moussaka with steamed rice tonight.

Tomorrow I'll be wearing a meat is murder t-shirt :greengrin. I'm going baw deep; let's see if it can last.

The ethical implications in relation to eggs, raised by Big G, is a very good point. I might have to stop eating eggs too.

02-09-2019, 07:30 PM

Used to get it in Aldi and Morrison’s - made by Simon Howie. Not looked for a while ..

02-09-2019, 08:09 PM
Used to get it in Aldi and Morrison’s - made by Simon Howie. Not looked for a while ..

Is that the black pudding?

02-09-2019, 08:12 PM

No mate. The Lorne. Never seen the black pudding ...

02-09-2019, 08:20 PM

Where can you get veggie lorne sausage?

EDIT: Aaah, I see!!

02-09-2019, 09:49 PM
Like many on here I've cut down my meat consumption in the last few years. Easier now that I'm living on my own half the time. I probably have 3-4 non-meat evening meals a week. Veggie stir fries and curries are great. Pretty much the only red meat I eat is from the local butchers and I've started getting into buying more organic meat again from Leith Market on a Saturday. The only way I'd ever give meat up is if it was prohibitively expensive or was made illegal though.

02-09-2019, 10:04 PM
Just bought a vegetarian cookbook online. Perhaps cooking will become something of a new hobby.

03-09-2019, 01:01 PM
There’s such an interesting range of reasons to become veggie, vegan is a step too far imo.

I’m involved in farming and we still try to go veggie at least twice a week.

What I will say is that for those of you who still want to eat meat, ensuring you buy Scotch assured meats means as high a welfare standards are followed as possible. Unfortunately there will always be stories in the media about sickos who get a kick out of torturing and hurting animals, but the farmers I know produce great products while ensuring their animals are treated as well as is possible.

03-09-2019, 03:05 PM
Where can you get veggie lorne sausage?

EDIT: Aaah, I see!!

Was in Sainsbury's there at lunch and they had Simon Howwie veggie lorne. £1.49 for three slices i think it was.

03-09-2019, 08:19 PM
Was in Sainsbury's there at lunch and they had Simon Howwie veggie lorne. £1.49 for three slices i think it was.
Thanks. Sainsbury’s seem to do more vegan stuff than the other supermarkets. I had the vegan chilli from the bbc good food website tonight. It was delicious, but it didn’t taste much like normal chilli. Tomorrow I’m making spinach, sweet potato and lentil dahl. I’m enjoying cooking again.

03-09-2019, 08:23 PM
A very simple ensemble tonight of hummus with flat bread, green olives and feta cheese.

The Mrs had bacon. I was drooling like a starving dug watching her.

03-09-2019, 09:34 PM
Just bought a vegetarian cookbook online. Perhaps cooking will become something of a new hobby.

Got a very good veggie Indian cookbook and have found sound very good and tasty recipies (if a bit hipster) in any of Ella Woodward's books.

03-09-2019, 09:46 PM
Got a very good veggie Indian cookbook and have found sound very good and tasty recipies (if a bit hipster) in any of Ella Woodward's books.

Indian’s always got good veggie options.

If you can still get it Madhur Jaffrey’s “Eastern Vegetarian Cooking” is really good and casts its net a bit wider still.

GORDONSMITH7
03-09-2019, 09:55 PM
Spoke with the sales manager of Simon Howie regarding Vegan items in Edinburgh. Square sausage going to be sold in Tesco who sell haggis and wee haggis already, haggis with truffle in Aldi soon and by the end of this month the breakfast pack, 2x sausage, 2x square sausage and 2x haggis, in Morrisons.
Simon Howie V haggis beats Macsween's V haggis hands down in my opinion.

BIG G

03-09-2019, 09:55 PM
Spoke with the sales manager of Simon Howie regarding Vegan items in Edinburgh. Square sausage going to be sold in Tesco who sell haggis and wee haggis already, haggis with truffle in Aldi soon and by the end of this month the breakfast pack, 2x sausage, 2x square sausage and 2x haggis, in Morrisons.

BIG G

That just in Scotland?

GORDONSMITH7
03-09-2019, 10:25 PM
That just in Scotland?

I would have thought so.

BIG G

GORDONSMITH7
03-09-2019, 10:27 PM
This site may be of interest to some.

https://veganedinburgh.com/

BIG G

03-09-2019, 10:44 PM

BIG G

Any mention of black pudding, big man?

03-09-2019, 10:47 PM
This site may be of interest to some.

https://veganedinburgh.com/

BIG G

Great link, thanks :aok:

04-09-2019, 06:34 AM
Never really understood why vegetarians are so keen to find products that imitate the meat version they are so against eating. Throwing the name vegan or vegetarian in front of a named meat product is strange indeed. It will never be black pudding so why call it so?

04-09-2019, 06:47 AM
Never really understood why vegetarians are so keen to find products that imitate the meat version they are so against eating. Throwing the name vegan or vegetarian in front of a named meat product is strange indeed. It will never be black pudding so why call it so?

I assume because it's shaped and textured in a way that makes it substitutable for the original meat product.

i.e I would know if I got veggie haggis to put it on a roll or have it with neeps and tatties.

Same with veggie chicken - you would use it in a curry etc.

The alternative would be to just call it something new which as well as making the above harder would make it harder to market as it couldn't play off the reputation that already exists for these food groups.

04-09-2019, 06:49 AM
If you start the thread I will post a couple of my favourites but in response to your point, things like lentils, split peas and beans are incredibly straightforward once you’ve done them once.

As soon as you have cooked with them, using your own stove and own pans then it becomes very easy.

For beans, best to start with tinned rather than dried. Chickpeas, kidney beans etc etc only need five to ten minutes on the stove top, in a sauce or mix. They can stand up to longer in the oven if you are making some sort of bake.

Lentils and split peas respond best to simmering in stock for about half an hour. I think split peas take longer than lentils and red lentils are quicker than Puy or green lentils but others may disagree. You would want to add flavour and aromatics e.g. I sometimes make a casserole that is sausages (vegetarian or meat, baked in the oven) and green lentils, simmered in some stock and wine, with very finely diced onion, carrot and celery, plus a couple of bay leaves and some garlic, maybe a touch of thyme and a bit of soy or Worcestershire or Tabasco or chilli flakes. Just mix the sausages in at the end and serve with crusty bread.

Dried beans or pulses are silly cheap but you do have to soak them the night before. There is something satisfying about that but a tin of chickpeas is fifty pence so it isn’t like you are burning money by buying tinned stuff!

EDIT -I haven’t made anything with split peas other than soup for a couple of years, but the last time I did it was a dhal and the split peas took a lot longer than half an hour IIRC. Hopefully someone who cooks with them more regularly will be able to advise!

I missed this first time round but thanks. :aok:

04-09-2019, 07:07 AM

I used to think that ..until ultimately becoming a pescatarian...soya and other non meat based products , like sausages etc have a different texture to many veggie food stuff - so not only do they often taste good, they bring variety and texture into the diet...

Also. Some people loves bacon , sausage etc - so it can be fun to eat them..some veggie sausages are excellent - and actually as good as many of the real things...

04-09-2019, 07:30 AM
Can’t ever see myself becoming vegetarian as I enjoy eating meat too much. I do reckon I’d be able to do it though.

Vegan on the other hand I have no idea how people manage with how much is restricted. Fair play to them for doing it though.

04-09-2019, 07:44 AM
Wouldnt define myself as anything but never buy any meat or cook it in the house. Stopped drinking dairy milk & started making my own oat milk last year. Im still eating cheese & have so far tried and failed to make a vegan version that comes close. Buy nothing processed & cook everything from scratch.

04-09-2019, 07:59 AM
Wouldnt define myself as anything but never buy any meat or cook it in the house. Stopped drinking dairy milk & started making my own oat milk last year. Im still eating cheese & have so far tried and failed to make a vegan version that comes close. Buy nothing processed & cook everything from scratch.

Do you feel better for it ??

04-09-2019, 08:23 AM
Our local small cafe at work have started doing a vegan lorne roll, so I tried it this morning. It's actually really nice. Notable differences, but a decent meat substitute.

04-09-2019, 12:31 PM

I think part of it is that there are many recipes that involve meat of a certain texture or shape so you need things like Quorn pieces to replicate the texture of a chicken curry or stir-fry or veg sausages for the dish I described earlier, or a sausage casserole or whatever.

And sometimes they just taste nice. I like Linda McCartney sausages though am not fussed for much else of the range. Similarly the Quorn Cumberland sausages. However I don’t particularly like beef sausages, don’t mind pork ones if they don’t have too much extra seasoning and quite like venison. So I’m happy with some, not with others.

04-09-2019, 12:41 PM

Its not quite what you are asking but there is a spread I make that basically involves sunflower seeds, sesame seeds and pumpkin seeds in equal quantities. You blend them with some finely diced celery, a dollop of ketchup and a splash of shoyu. I think there are a couple of other things that go in, I would need to be home to check the recipe ( I cut it out of a magazine and saved it!).

Anyway, once it is blended it has a texture somewhere between pesto and a soft pate. You can stick it on bread or toast or dip celery sticks or carrot sticks into it or whatever, but around five-ten minutes after eating it you genuinely physically feel the impact, it is hard to describe but really good.

The other massive healthy hit I would absolutely recommend is first thing in the morning. Juice three lemons into a pint glass and top it up with water. It rehydrates you a nights sleep and gives you a huge vitamin C kick to start the day.

04-09-2019, 03:59 PM
Some of the farming practicing are viewed as barbaric by Vegans

https://www.peta.org/living/personal-care-fashion/whats-wrong-wool/

It’s similar reason why they don’t eat Honey...upsets the animals ....

Victory for common sense.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/animal-activists-peta-banned-from-claiming-wool-is-as-cruel-as-fur-2t66vz0n9

https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/peta-ad-banned-wool-cruel-fur-asa-2019-a9090146.html

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/nov/28/it-is-more-cruel-not-to-shear-sheep

04-09-2019, 04:10 PM
Won’t change many Vegans views that ....they are very clear in their beliefs

04-09-2019, 04:18 PM
Won’t change many Vegans views that ....they are very clear in their beliefs

They are, I don't disagree, but they need to realise that wool is a natural and sustainable fabric that keeps you warm in winter and cool in summer. An average sheep will provide enough wool for about 20 jumpers over its normal lifespan.

I know that plants produce the raw materials for clothes, cotton, flax, even nettles and cannabis, but the process involves chemicals.

Then there is polyester, a petroleum based material. Give me wool anytime.

04-09-2019, 04:22 PM
They are, I don't disagree, but they need to realise that wool is a natural and sustainable fabric that keeps you warm in winter and cool in summer. An average sheep will provide enough wool for about 20 jumpers over its normal lifespan.

I know that plants produce the raw materials for clothes, cotton, flax, even nettles and cannabis, but the process involves chemicals.

Then there is polyester, a petroleum based material. Give me wool anytime.

I think it is much more about the treatment and distress of the sheep that vegans care about rather than the wool itself...not something I know too much about tbh...

Certainly know that my vegan family members don’t wear wool, and we need to find vegan friendly products for jumpers etc at gift times ...

GORDONSMITH7
04-09-2019, 04:25 PM
Its not quite what you are asking but there is a spread I make that basically involves sunflower seeds, sesame seeds and pumpkin seeds in equal quantities. You blend them with some finely diced celery, a dollop of ketchup and a splash of shoyu. I think there are a couple of other things that go in, I would need to be home to check the recipe ( I cut it out of a magazine and saved it!).

Anyway, once it is blended it has a texture somewhere between pesto and a soft pate. You can stick it on bread or toast or dip celery sticks or carrot sticks into it or whatever, but around five-ten minutes after eating it you genuinely physically feel the impact, it is hard to describe but really good.

The other massive healthy hit I would absolutely recommend is first thing in the morning. Juice three lemons into a pint glass and top it up with water. It rehydrates you a nights sleep and gives you a huge vitamin C kick to start the day.

Amigo I buy Vegan pesto and the Vegan tomato pesto from Morrisons. Delicious whether in pasta, though I use it on bread as a splendid spread.

BIG G

GORDONSMITH7
04-09-2019, 04:38 PM
Vegetarians and Vegans arnae Zombies I am easy with the honey thang, I am more concerned with Hibs getting out of a situation we should not be in.

BIG G

04-09-2019, 04:47 PM
Amigo I buy Vegan pesto and the Vegan tomato pesto from Morrisons. Delicious whether in pasta, though I use it on bread as a splendid spread.

BIG G

Thanks for that. We don’t have a Morrison’s for miles but I will make a point of stopping in and looking out for the pesto next time I am passing one.

I don’t eat a lot of bread though I like a bit of sourdough and keep planning to make it myself. I do now rarely use butter, spread or marg, always a splash of balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. But I can’t not have butter or spread when I have Marmite on toast!

GORDONSMITH7
04-09-2019, 04:57 PM
Thanks for that. We don’t have a Morrison’s for miles but I will make a point of stopping in and looking out for the pesto next time I am passing one.

I don’t eat a lot of bread though I like a bit of sourdough and keep planning to make it myself. I do now rarely use butter, spread or marg, always a splash of balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. But I can’t not have butter or spread when I have Marmite on toast!

Spend amigo, I am not stalking, your....nearest biggish store?
BIG G

04-09-2019, 05:06 PM
I think it is much more about the treatment and distress of the sheep that vegans care about rather than the wool itself...not something I know too much about tbh...

Certainly know that my vegan family members don’t wear wool, and we need to find vegan friendly products for jumpers etc at gift times ...

Except, it is crueler to not sheer sheep annually as only primative breeds shed their fleece naturally. Sheep can't sweat so overheat if the fleece is not removed.

Don’t get me wrong, vegans have their reasons, but I think they are often misinformed. Cruelty is almost non existent in Britain. South America and Australia is where practices are different, such as mulesing, Google it. Think about where the wool comes from is a better approach, merino from Australia and I would not buy it. I get my merino from the Falkland Islands.

Anyway this is a bit of a diversion, I eat meat but enjoy vegetarian food as well. Southpour in Newington has good vegan food.

04-09-2019, 05:11 PM
Except, it is crueler to not sheer sheep annually as only primative breeds shed their fleece naturally. Sheep can't sweat so overheat if the fleece is not removed.

Don’t get me wrong, vegans have their reasons, but I think they are often misinformed. Cruelty is almost non existent in Britain. South America and Australia is where practices are different, such as mulesing, Google it. Think about where the wool comes from is a better approach, merino from Australia and I would not buy it. I get my merino from the Falkland Islands.

Anyway this is a bit of a diversion, I eat meat but enjoy vegetarian food as well. Southpour in Newington has good vegan food.

Vegans often are very keen researchers...strong views on their beliefs....after being a long time committed carnivore and now not eating meat - it’s not a thing for me ...lots of good veggie and vegan food in central Scotland now. I had a veggie dinner in Islington in Monday which is easily one of my top 5 meals all time ...outstanding

04-09-2019, 05:15 PM

Sounds pretty good that !!

04-09-2019, 05:17 PM
Spend amigo, I am not stalking, your....nearest biggish store?
BIG G

Tons of supermarches near by but not a Morrison’s.

Hawick or the one just off the bypass by Oxgangs are the closest I think.

04-09-2019, 05:20 PM
Sounds pretty good that !!

Both the three seed spread and the lemon water are like the healthy equivalent of an alcohol shot, like a positive version of absinthe or tequila :-)

05-09-2019, 05:54 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-49579820

05-09-2019, 06:29 AM

That's the one element I really can't get on board with. There are so many tasty dishes that are properly veggie (ie involving actual vegetables, pulses etc) that I do not understand this lust to create a mediocre version of the exact stuff you're trying to cut out, except made of "reformed mushroom protein" or some other bizarre concoction.

05-09-2019, 07:15 AM

That's the one element I really can't get on board with. There are so many tasty dishes that are properly veggie (ie involving actual vegetables, pulses etc) that I do not understand this lust to create a mediocre version of the exact stuff you're trying to cut out, except made of "reformed mushroom protein" or some other bizarre concoction.

Most vegetarians/vegans become so when they're teens or later.

You can grow up liking sausages then decide, for whatever reason, that you're not going to eat them any more. If there are vegetarian products available that look and taste a bit like sausages then why not?

I don't see the problem.

05-09-2019, 08:53 AM

Well to be honest no :greengrin Its been a kind a slow change altering things here & there rather than ding things in one swoop. I certainly dont feel any worse or that Im lacking anything. I stopped drinking this year up until July & a good few folk asked me if I felt any better. Again I said that I didnt notice any difference. It wasnt until I had my first couple of pints did I notice I felt a lot more lethargic for the next couple of days. That could be the same if I started eating meat more regularly or back on dairy products daily.

So physically I dont notice much. I am happier with my choices though especially having more of an understanding of whats going into my body, almost illiminating the amount of animals that die for my dinner to 0 (as I said the odd time Im out I'll have a peice of meat), being more adventurous with my cooking & cutting right back on the amount of dairy (I was ignorant to how the dairy industry worked & watching some docs opened my eyes (still have pangs of guilt with the cheese).

I generally get ideas from the internet but regularly use these books because most of the receipes are so flavourful:

Veggie Burger Atelier - Nina Olsen
Thug Kitchen (Eat Like You Give A ****) - Thug Kitchen
Keep It Vegan - AIne Carlin
Vegan 100 - Gaz Oakley
Vegan In 7 - Rita Serano

05-09-2019, 11:33 AM
Most vegetarians/vegans become so when they're teens or later.

You can grow up liking sausages then decide, for whatever reason, that you're not going to eat them any more. If there are vegetarian products available that look and taste a bit like sausages then why not?

I don't see the problem.

To be clear, folk can do what they wish, I have no militant "problem" with quorn sausages, I just don't understand the thought process behind eating them when there's so much that can be done with vegetarian ingredients to create proper vegetarian dishes and I'd just be eternally disappointed with the veggie option if I knew what a proper burger or sausage tasted like from past experience.

Anyway, I'm not in danger of going full vegetarian, but if I ever did so, I'd be avoiding "meat substitute" products entirely I reckon.

05-09-2019, 05:52 PM
To be clear, folk can do what they wish, I have no militant "problem" with quorn sausages, I just don't understand the thought process behind eating them when there's so much that can be done with vegetarian ingredients to create proper vegetarian dishes and I'd just be eternally disappointed with the veggie option if I knew what a proper burger or sausage tasted like from past experience.

Anyway, I'm not in danger of going full vegetarian, but if I ever did so, I'd be avoiding "meat substitute" products entirely I reckon.

I'm going to try the vegetarian sausages and Quorn in a chilli, to see what they're like. I've never tried them before. Over time I will get experimental and probably cut down on meat substitutes.

GORDONSMITH7
05-09-2019, 07:08 PM

Howies do not do veg/vegan black pudding however The Real Lancashire Black Pudding Company do vegan black pudding called VPud as do the Bury Black Pudding Company. VPud is sold in Real Foods in Brougham Street, Tollcross and Broughton Street, £1.60 each.
I bought 3 yesterday while visiting my auld mum at Brougham shop, 1 for the weekend 2 for the freezer. It has loads of veg/vegan food. I also bought a tub of Creamy Sheeze spread, which I had on toasted,vegan bagels for lunch, made in Scotland by Bute Island Foods Ltd. Great on baked spuds to. They also do a great range of vegan pizza.

BIG G

05-09-2019, 07:15 PM
Howies do not do veg/vegan black pudding however The Real Lancashire Black Pudding Company do vegan black pudding called VPud as do the Bury Black Pudding Company. VPud is sold in Real Foods in Brougham Street, Tollcross and Broughton Street, £1.60 each.
I bought 3 yesterday while visiting my auld mum at Brougham shop, 1 for the weekend 2 for the freezer. It has loads of veg/vegan food. I also bought a tub of Creamy Sheeze spread, which I had on toasted,vegan bagels for lunch, made in Scotland by Bute Island Foods Ltd. Great on baked spuds to. They also do a great range of vegan pizza.

BIG G

Thanks for the tip; I will definitely take a look.

05-09-2019, 08:43 PM

On your point about a proper burger - I’m sure Burger King in America has rolled out an “Impossible Burger” (I think that was the name anyway) and by all accounts you probably wouldn’t know if someone gave it to you and didn’t tell you.

https://www.bk.com/menu-item/impossible-whopper

05-09-2019, 09:54 PM
Interesting study on those with vegan, vegetarian and omnivorous diets and the possible health implications. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-49579820 Everything in moderation, apart from bevvy watching Scotland tomorrow :greengrin

05-09-2019, 10:29 PM
Interesting study on those with vegan, vegetarian and omnivorous diets and the possible health implications. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-49579820 Everything in moderation, apart from bevvy watching Scotland tomorrow :greengrin

Guinness is full of protein, a great substitute for meat.

GORDONSMITH7
06-09-2019, 01:10 AM
Guinness is full of protein, a great substitute for meat.
I was delighted when Guinness became Vegan in 2016 amigos. Hasnae helped my waistline.

BIG G

GORDONSMITH7
06-09-2019, 10:52 AM
On your point about a proper burger - I’m sure Burger King in America has rolled out an “Impossible Burger” (I think that was the name anyway) and by all accounts you probably wouldn’t know if someone gave it to you and didn’t tell you.

https://www.bk.com/menu-item/impossible-whopper

Being sold in Burger King in the UK at the end of this year. meanwhile Tesco sell Beyond Burger by the Beyond Meat company, which are splendid in my opinion, pack of 2 (frozen Veg section) I bought them last night with some vegan friendly beers for the game tonight.

BIG G

06-09-2019, 10:58 AM
Being sold in Burger King in the UK at the end of this year. meanwhile Tesco sell Beyond Burger by the Beyond Meat company, which are splendid in my opinion, pack of 2 (frozen Veg section) I bought them last night with some vegan friendly beers for the game tonight.

BIG G
Is all beer not vegan? I hadn’t even thought about alcohol yet.

06-09-2019, 11:04 AM
Guinness used to use bits of fish in their processing.

GORDONSMITH7
06-09-2019, 11:19 AM
No mate.....

Alcoholic drinks are not naturally vegan. As Dominika Piasecka, spokesperson for The Vegan Society explains, animal products can be introduced in a drink’s production process.

“Some alcoholic drinks may not be suitable for vegans because of the filtering process prior to bottling,” she says.

“Companies may use isinglass (a substance obtained from fish bladders), gelatine, egg whites, sea shells and other animal products which capture impurities.”
However, I use this instead of trying to read every bottle label or can whether here or on holiday . Can select type of drink, even country.

http://www.barnivore.com/

BIG G

06-09-2019, 11:26 AM
No mate.....

Alcoholic drinks are not naturally vegan. As Dominika Piasecka, spokesperson for The Vegan Society explains, animal products can be introduced in a drink’s production process.

“Some alcoholic drinks may not be suitable for vegans because of the filtering process prior to bottling,” she says.

“Companies may use isinglass (a substance obtained from fish bladders), gelatine, egg whites, sea shells and other animal products which capture impurities.”
However, I use this instead of trying to read every bottle label or can whether here or on holiday . Can select type of drink, even country.

BIG G
Thanks. I’m going to be safe and drink vodka tonight.

06-09-2019, 01:11 PM

BIG G

As someone who has no interest in going vegetarian I’m actually looking forward to trying the BK burger. Very curious about it and want to see just how close to the real thing it actually tastes.

Only thing I will say is that the Impossible Whopper is apparently covered in mayo still and cooked on the same grill as the real ones (although after some feedback they may have changed that).

Will maybe give the Beyond Burgers a go!

GORDONSMITH7
06-09-2019, 04:36 PM
Thanks. I’m going to be safe and drink vodka tonight.
Here is a UK handy simplified one Milord, though vodka will go down well particularly if Scotland do the business.

https://www.veganfoodandliving.com/a-vegans-guide-to-ethical-alcohol/

All German beers have been Vegan for centuries. The 'Reinheitsgebot' (or German Beer Purity Law) of 1516 stipulates that German beer can only be brewed using four ingredients: water, malt, hops and yeast. I have grabbed 4 cans of Guinness for tonight.

BIG G

GORDONSMITH7
06-09-2019, 05:04 PM
As someone who has no interest in going vegetarian I’m actually looking forward to trying the BK burger. Very curious about it and want to see just how close to the real thing it actually tastes.

Only thing I will say is that the Impossible Whopper is apparently covered in mayo still and cooked on the same grill as the real ones (although after some feedback they may have changed that).

Will maybe give the Beyond Burgers a go!

There are very few plant based substitutes that replicate totally the 'original' I am easy with that, though many are also splendid tasting. Nobody is born Vegetarian/Vegan though many have a plant based diet because the parents are. However the majority who take the decision have enjoyed eating animal products for some time, in my case 40 years, though Vegan for 25 years since then. Any improvement in the limited options which were available then are positive not just for me but for the thousands of young and older folk who are taking this step.

BIG G

06-09-2019, 06:12 PM
You chaps ok with chicken puns on here?

06-09-2019, 07:30 PM
Here is a UK handy simplified one Milord, though vodka will go down well particularly if Scotland do the business.

https://www.veganfoodandliving.com/a-vegans-guide-to-ethical-alcohol/

All German beers have been Vegan for centuries. The 'Reinheitsgebot' (or German Beer Purity Law) of 1516 stipulates that German beer can only be brewed using four ingredients: water, malt, hops and yeast. I have grabbed 4 cans of Guinness for tonight.

BIG G

Does that include isinglass which is not actually in the beer but is used for clearing?

06-09-2019, 07:54 PM
You chaps ok with chicken puns on here?
Might be best to keep your beak shut.

Green Man
07-09-2019, 02:11 PM
On the subject of “meat replacements” - I had a seitan burger a while back. It was good, and I’d probably eat it again, but I haven’t been able to establish what seitan actually is, or what it’s made from. Can anyone enlighten me?

07-09-2019, 02:26 PM
On the subject of “meat replacements” - I had a seitan burger a while back. It was good, and I’d probably eat it again, but I haven’t been able to establish what seitan actually is, or what it’s made from. Can anyone enlighten me?

Wheat gluten.

GORDONSMITH7
07-09-2019, 02:26 PM

It is wheat protein,(gluten)

BIG G

Green Man
07-09-2019, 02:39 PM
Ta. So it’s basically wheat, with everything except the gluten removed? Sounds weird to make a burger from that :greengrin

GORDONSMITH7
07-09-2019, 02:50 PM
It is wheat protein,(gluten)

BIG G

Green Man also wiki Mock Duck I buy cans from the Chinese supermarkets in Leith Walk though Holland and Barret on offer at £1.04 per can. I drain it dry on kitchen paper then fry. It makes a splendid curry. Cans of WU CHUNG vegetarian mock pork and WU CHUNG vegetarian mock chicken which is made in Taiwan can be bought on Amazon.

BIG G

07-09-2019, 02:55 PM
No mate.....

BIG G

Stick to German beer. By law only ever 4 ingredients can be used. Malted grains, hops, yeast and water.

Green Man
07-09-2019, 03:01 PM
Green Man also wiki Mock Duck I buy cans from the Chinese supermarkets in Leith Walk though Holland and Barret on offer at £1.04 per can. I drain it dry on kitchen paper then fry. It makes a splendid curry. Cans of WU CHUNG vegetarian mock pork and WU CHUNG vegetarian mock chicken which is made in Taiwan can be bought on Amazon.

BIG G

I love duck but my wife hates it. Wonder if I could persuade her to eat the mock stuff.

GORDONSMITH7
07-09-2019, 03:04 PM
Ta. So it’s basically wheat, with everything except the gluten removed? Sounds weird to make a burger from that :greengrin

No mate. Mock duck, chicken,pork are gluten-based vegetarian food. It is made of wheat gluten, oil, sugar, soy sauce, and salt. It is thus high in protein.

Wheat gluten has been documented in China since the 6th century. It was widely consumed by the Chinese as a substitute for meat, especially among adherents of Buddhism. The oldest reference to wheat gluten appears in the Qimin Yaoshu, a Chinese agricultural encyclopedia written by Jia Sixie in 535.

BIG G

Green Man
07-09-2019, 03:22 PM
I need to look more closely at meat free options. I love eating meat but acknowledge that our current consumption is unsustainable. There are some excellent suggestions on this thread; I reckon I could pretty easily do a couple of days a week meat free.

GORDONSMITH7
07-09-2019, 08:06 PM
I need to look more closely at meat free options. I love eating meat but acknowledge that our current consumption is unsustainable. There are some excellent suggestions on this thread; I reckon I could pretty easily do a couple of days a week meat free.

If you fancy a pie mate on your two days transision, Tesco do a great two pack TESCO Vegan meat free Vegetable and Chicken style Pie, there is great flaky puff pastry shell with laticed top. Portobello mushrooms and vegetables in rich gravy.The chicken bit is splendid wheat protein/gluten/seitan. Have it with beans or I do at tub of Tesco green veg,5 mins in micro.

Dinnae let mockers get you down mate. Do your own thing at your own pace amigo. All this daftie stuff,bypassed them by years ago......

Scouse....

These coomments are strange indeed, Scouse would rather you and I would not put two fingers up to the multinational agribusiness. By the way I got this crap from a Manager, who worked for me, I was Senior Engineering Manager it became apparent that tossers couldnae accept that people for whatever reason who decided to adopt a plant based diet should not be restricted to eating lentils, preferable uncooked and wear sandles. Bernard Manning stuff. That was 20 years ago. Things thankfully have changed dramatically c. Some folk do not get that today.

BIG G

07-09-2019, 10:41 PM
If you fancy a pie mate on your two days transision, Tesco do a great two pack TESCO Vegan meat free Vegetable and Chicken style Pie, there is great flaky puff pastry shell with laticed top. Portobello mushrooms and vegetables in rich gravy.The chicken bit is splendid wheat protein/gluten/seitan. Have it with beans or I do at tub of Tesco green veg,5 mins in micro.

Dinnae let mockers get you down mate. Do your own thing at your own pace amigo. All this daftie stuff,bypassed them by years ago......

Scouse....

These coomments are strange indeed, Scouse would rather you and I would not put two fingers up to the multinational agribusiness. By the way I got this crap from a Manager, who worked for me, I was Senior Engineering Manager it became apparent that tossers couldnae accept that people for whatever reason who decided to adopt a plant based diet should not be restricted to eating lentils, preferable uncooked and wear sandles. Bernard Manning stuff. That was 20 years ago. Things thankfully have changed dramatically c. Some folk do not get that today.

BIG G

I do hope you’re not referring to me as a tosser because I asked a question that several people have in my opinion given reasonable and understanding answers to?

PS. I couldn’t give a flying **** about your choice of footwear 😂

GORDONSMITH7
07-09-2019, 10:54 PM
I do hope you’re not referring to me as a tosser because I asked a question that several people have in my opinion given reasonable and understanding answers to?

PS. I couldn’t give a flying **** about your choice of footwear 😂

By the way I got this crap from a Manager, who worked for me, I was Senior Engineering Manager it became apparent that tossers couldnae accept that people for whatever reason who decided to adopt a plant based diet should not be restricted to eating lentils, preferable uncooked and wear sandles. Bernard Manning stuff.

Your command of english interpretation isnae great, is right la.

BIG G

07-09-2019, 10:56 PM
By the way I got this crap from a Manager, who worked for me, I was Senior Engineering Manager it became apparent that tossers couldnae accept that people for whatever reason who decided to adopt a plant based diet should not be restricted to eating lentils, preferable uncooked and wear sandles. Bernard Manning stuff.

Your command of english interpretation isnae great, is right la.

BIG G

I’m fine with English, thanks.

08-09-2019, 11:33 AM
I’m fine with English, thanks.

Preferably a full English with lashings of deid porker in various forms. :greengrin

08-09-2019, 11:45 AM

What vegetables can be used to give that Sunday morning experience of 2 brekkie rolls and a coffee plonked in front of the tele for an hour? I'd hazard a guess and say none. However the veggie lorn and 2 quorn links i had this morning done that job perfectly well :wink:

08-09-2019, 11:46 AM
Preferably a full English with lashings of deid porker in various forms. :greengrin

Bacon, Link Sausage, Black pudding, Fried bread, Fried egg and beans would be my favourite. Not had that lot for years though, still trying to get rid of the excess it caused 😂

08-09-2019, 11:16 PM
I've noticed a few of the recipes I want to try in the veggie cook book require egg yolks. Is there a substitute which does the same job?

GORDONSMITH7
09-09-2019, 12:46 AM
I've noticed a few of the recipes I want to try in the veggie cook book require egg yolks. Is there a substitute which does the same job?

https://www.mydarlingvegan.com/replacing-eggs/

BIG G

09-09-2019, 06:15 AM
https://www.mydarlingvegan.com/replacing-eggs/

BIG G

Thanks Big G, there are some good substitutes there. I need to get some flax seeds!

GORDONSMITH7
09-09-2019, 09:14 AM
Thanks Big G, there are some good substitutes there. I need to get some flax seeds!

I use a little hoisin sauce instead of soy sauce.

https://youtu.be/DgGKulBuUs4

BIG G

09-09-2019, 09:18 AM

Flax seeds, known by a a friend who has all sorts of eating issues as fart seeds. Just a wee warning 😉

GORDONSMITH7
09-09-2019, 09:29 AM
I use a little hoisin sauce instead of soy sauce.

https://youtu.be/DgGKulBuUs4

BIG G

VeganEgg here. I buy it on Amazon at £4.90.Always have some. Using this afternoon in fact to make delicious banana bread.

https://followyourheart.com/products/veganegg/

BIG G

12-09-2019, 09:22 AM
Just stumbled across this thread and great to see. This kinda thing on a football form a few years ago would have just been a p*** take.

I've been veggie for about 10 years and it's incredible to see how much of progress has been made. It encourages me a lot to see non veggies involved in sharing recipes and ideas.

Not sure if it's been mentioned before but if anyone is looking for some recipes that are really interesting and a bit different I'd highly recommend Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi.

12-09-2019, 09:56 AM
I'm only ten days in, but I've already noticed that my stomach feels less bloated, which must be a consequence of not digesting meat.

12-09-2019, 10:11 PM
Jamie Oliver's new veggie cookbook (I'm sure some people find him an irritating arse, but his recipes are great) is really good. Will be making a dish or 2 from it this weekend.

Also, agree on the point made on this thread that 5, especially 10 years ago, a thread started to discuss the merits of vegetarianism would've panned out very differently.

14-09-2019, 01:17 PM
Jamie Oliver's new veggie cookbook (I'm sure some people find him an irritating arse, but his recipes are great) is really good. Will be making a dish or 2 from it this weekend.

Also, agree on the point made on this thread that 5, especially 10 years ago, a thread started to discuss the merits of vegetarianism would've panned out very differently.

Someone else has told me that’s very good as well. Might go and get it and try eating veggie a couple times a week.

19-09-2019, 08:29 AM
We have veggie meals quite regularly but this thread has inspired me. We have planned every dinner this week to be vegetarian. Enjoyed a black bean chilli on Tuesday and a sweet potato Dahl last night.

We try to eat fish a couple of times a week, meat once and the rest veggie.

We try to only buy meat once a week, from the butchers. I wanted to ensure the animal was as well kept as possible. It is more expensive but it stops us buying so much which is good.

mvteng
19-09-2019, 12:56 PM
Noticed that Killie were selling a Vegan pie last weekend. good to see :thumbsup:

19-09-2019, 01:08 PM
I made an aubergine and tomato bake last night, a recipe from the veggie cook book I have. Very proud of the outcome :greengrin

19-09-2019, 02:10 PM
Tried McDonald's vegan burger. Absolutely minging.

19-09-2019, 02:18 PM
Tried McDonald's burger. Absolutely minging.

Corrected that for you :greengrin

19-09-2019, 02:20 PM
Tried McDonald's vegan burger. Absolutely minging.

I presume the vegan burger there isn’t supposed to be an imitation of a beef burger?

19-09-2019, 02:24 PM
I made an aubergine and tomato bake last night, a recipe from the veggie cook book I have. Very proud of the outcome :greengrin

Don't take a picture. Just flush it.

19-09-2019, 02:33 PM
Don't take a picture. Just flush it.

It was braw. The wife hasn't joined me in going veggie, but she really enjoyed it too. The dug had a wee bit and was very impressed :greengrin

Something I've noticed is that I'm not snacking between meals. I thought not eating meat would leave me feeling hungry, but I've found the opposite is true and many of the meals leave me feeling full.

20-09-2019, 06:49 AM
Veggie haggis, neeps and tatties
Veggis sausage ragu with pasta
Cauliflower cheese and potato bake
Lentil curry and rice

My menu for the week so far. The bairn has loved all of it and even my girlfriend, the fussiest eater I know, has generally quite enjoyed it. Got a bean chilli for tonight and going to try sweetcorn and courgette fritters for tomorrow.

As I said previously a I've generally tried to do 2 or 3 days meat free every week but gone for the whole week this time. Not really missed meat at all, I cook most things from scratch anyway but it's been good to try new recipes and ideas.

20-09-2019, 07:09 AM
Great to see people changing their nutrition. I’m now 9months into no meat in my diet - that was from being a committed carnivore...

Enjoying food better , feel better, losing weight ...don’t really miss meat - certainly much less than. Ever expected.

Planning and variety is key - forward plan - make interesting things - and it is great ..

20-09-2019, 12:14 PM
Great to see people changing their nutrition. I’m now 9months into no meat in my diet - that was from being a committed carnivore...

Enjoying food better , feel better, losing weight ...don’t really miss meat - certainly much less than. Ever expected.

Planning and variety is key - forward plan - make interesting things - and it is great ..

Definitely. If you just live off beans on toast and Heinz tomato soup, you won't make it. I would recommend getting a veggie cook book to anyone doing it.

20-09-2019, 04:20 PM
Keeping it simple tonight: making my own tomato sauce for pasta and adding chickpeas and black olives.

20-09-2019, 04:55 PM
Definitely. If you just live off beans on toast and Heinz tomato soup, you won't make it. I would recommend getting a veggie cook book to anyone doing it.

Places like Dobbies are full of cheap cookbooks but there is no shortage of websites. The BBC is very decent as is taste.com.au.

I think the easiest way to think about it is breaking it down to protein, carbs and veg. There are different guidelines but as a rough rule, one quarter of the plate is protein, one quarter is carbs and one half is veg. Obviously if mushroom or aubergine is the hero then you aren’t getting as much protein.

Proteins are always my starting point. Split peas, lentils, the various beans, eggs, cheese, tofu, soy products and Quorn, whatever. Once you know what you are using then you can tailor the carbs and veg to whatever you fancy.

So, for the sake of argument, red lentils. You can go Italian and use them in a ragu with pasta or a bolognese. You can go Indian in a curry. You can go Mexican and use them in enchiladas. They make great, filling soups. Green lentils work in a curry too, or you can go Southern French and cook them in stock with a mirepoix and vegetarian sausages, or a sort of cassoulet with chickpeas and a rich tomato sauce.

I think the main point is that most veggie proteins are carriers of flavour, rather than being rich in flavour in their own right, so you adapt them to what you fancy rather than fitting around the protein itself.

24-09-2019, 05:14 PM
Trying quorn tonight in a spag bol. I haven't had chips in the past three weeks, which is because I mainly ate them with some kind of meat. So far so good.

24-09-2019, 07:48 PM
Trying quorn tonight in a spag bol. I haven't had chips in the past three weeks, which is because I mainly ate them with some kind of meat. So far so good.
I’m having that tomorrow. It took me a while to get vegan mince.

24-09-2019, 08:01 PM

Superb progress H&A. How did it go ??

24-09-2019, 08:23 PM
I've lost half a stone over the past month without even trying, I reckon the wee changes suggested on here are s big reason. I've just realised I've also not had chips for about a month.

Mrs Smartie has made a veggie curry once or twice that has been epic and I've had meat free fajitas a few times. A bit of aubergine and courgette and they're both top notch.

I tried the veggie Lorne and thought it was excellent.

24-09-2019, 08:37 PM
I've lost half a stone over the past month without even trying, I reckon the wee changes suggested on here are s big reason. I've just realised I've also not had chips for about a month.

Mrs Smartie has made a veggie curry once or twice that has been epic and I've had meat free fajitas a few times. A bit of aubergine and courgette and they're both top notch.

I tried the veggie Lorne and thought it was excellent.

Superb Smartie. I’m 9 months into it. Two stones down ....enjoying the nutrition now

25-09-2019, 12:56 AM
Superb progress H&A. How did it go ??

It was very nice. The quorn has an unusual texture, but I enjoyed the taste, which isn't much different from mince. Haven't been tempted to eat meat once in the past three weeks and I'm enjoying trying new recipes. Eating healthier and hope it lasts.

25-09-2019, 12:56 AM
Superb Smartie. I’m 9 months into it. Two stones down ....enjoying the nutrition now

Well done, that's a huge difference :agree:

25-09-2019, 01:25 AM
It was very nice. The quorn has an unusual texture, but I enjoyed the taste, which isn't much different from mince. Haven't been tempted to eat meat once in the past three weeks and I'm enjoying trying new recipes. Eating healthier and hope it lasts.

Quorn mince is a different texture, definitely. I prefer the soy own brand mince from Asda or Tesco, and actually Asda tbh, especially for spag bol or lasagne. The Quorn seems to work better in Mexican dishes.

They are still processed food, so not perfect, but healthier I guess.

25-09-2019, 02:21 AM
Quorn mince is a different texture, definitely. I prefer the soy own brand mince from Asda or Tesco, and actually Asda tbh, especially for spag bol or lasagne. The Quorn seems to work better in Mexican dishes.

They are still processed food, so not perfect, but healthier I guess.

I will try the soy mince.

25-09-2019, 02:31 AM
I will try the soy mince.

Good luck, all about the add-on flavours.

I chuck in loads of Tabasco and/or chillis, garlic and Worcestershire sauce.

And load up with the bay leaves from the start.

25-09-2019, 02:44 AM

Got to use Quorn to make a chilli later in the week and will be chucking in the chilli powder and finger chillies! :greengrin

25-09-2019, 02:49 AM
Got to use Quorn to make a chilli later in the week and will be chucking in the chilli powder and finger chillies! :greengrin

All about the balance. Don’t be afraid of sugar or tomato purée to temper it. Sounds good though

25-09-2019, 02:57 AM
All about the balance. Don’t be afraid of sugar or tomato purée to temper it. Sounds good though

And if ever I was recommending something, then buy some good quality dark chocolate , somewhere between 75 and 90%

Genuinely it is worth it

27-09-2019, 01:46 PM
All of last week, during the week veggie meals, all this week the same.

We never ate a great deal of meat prior but really making an effort now.

Even got a cheese sarny yesterday instead of chicken and bacon!

28-09-2019, 07:43 AM
Not done as well as some previous posters but made a couple of substitutions this week.

Instead of a regular burger I tried a veggie mozerella burger which was quite nice.

Last night I made a bean chili which I was very happy with. The flavour was good and it had a bit more to it texture wise than regular chili.

Carrot, onion, and garlic - chopped and fried. Then add diced peppers and a chili.
Add a tin each of chopped tomatoes, pinto beans, and black beans.
Then add seasoning to taste - chili powder, onion granules, smoked paprika, ground cumin, soy sauce, salt, and pepper.

Served with rice, spicy Doritos, and a small sprinkle of cheese.

Delicious! :aok:

28-09-2019, 03:47 PM
Brought up as the son of a butcher so never considered not eating meat which was always in plentiful supply. This thread has caught my imagination though so going to try a couple of things this week by way of a nice change. Prefer the idea of using vegetables, beans etc rather than quorn etc so will experiment this week and post my results.👍

beensaidbefore
28-09-2019, 07:17 PM
I love eating meat, but know I need to cut it down. We have started to mix quorn mince in with normal mince for chillie/bolognaise etc. You don't even notice it.

Not tried it but imagine you could also make 50/50 burgers. Good way to reduce meat I take without having to change from your usual menu. That said, some nice recipes on here I'll need to try. Keep them coming! :aok:

wpj
30-09-2019, 08:34 PM

I try to have at least two meat free days a week and will hopefully extend that over the next few months. As much as I love Worcester sauce it does contain anchovies so not veggy. I use Maggie's as an alternative but it doesnt need much to flavour a meal as it is quite strong. I love Worcester on my non veg days. I also have fish days which are primarily veg but a fish meal when I get home at night.

01-10-2019, 05:32 PM
It couldn't be more simple tonight: spaghetti with garlic and olive oil. The easiest of all pasta dishes to make and probably my favourite. Ten minutes and done.

01-10-2019, 06:03 PM
It couldn't be more simple tonight: spaghetti with garlic and olive oil. The easiest of all pasta dishes to make and probably my favourite. Ten minutes and done.

Done well. That’s a beautiful fresh dish ..[emoji106]

01-10-2019, 06:15 PM
Done well. That’s a beautiful fresh dish ..[emoji106]

Plenty of black pepper and fresh parmesan. Add a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice to the spaghetti.

01-10-2019, 06:28 PM

Plenty of black pepper and fresh parmesan. Add a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice to the spaghetti.

Sounds delicious!

01-10-2019, 06:39 PM
I try to have at least two meat free days a week and will hopefully extend that over the next few months. As much as I love Worcester sauce it does contain anchovies so not veggy. I use Maggie's as an alternative but it doesnt need much to flavour a meal as it is quite strong. I love Worcester on my non veg days. I also have fish days which are primarily veg but a fish meal when I get home at night.

:worried:Just make sure one of them isn't on the day we hook-up (I'll happily bring a packed lunch).

01-10-2019, 06:43 PM

Sounds great, out of interest did you actually use proper Parmesan Cheese or go for a vegan substitute?

01-10-2019, 06:58 PM
Sounds great, out of interest did you actually use proper Parmesan Cheese or go for a vegan substitute?

Proper parmesan. I haven't gone vegan.

01-10-2019, 07:25 PM
Proper parmesan. I haven't gone vegan.

Is parmesan one of those cheeses that isn't even vegetarian? Has some animal byproduct in it or something.

I remember being in a pub once and someone passed comment that the only meal in the vegetarian section had parmesan in it.

01-10-2019, 07:36 PM
Is parmesan one of those cheeses that isn't even vegetarian? Has some animal byproduct in it or something.

I remember being in a pub once and someone passed comment that the only meal in the vegetarian section had parmesan in it.

I hope not :greengrin

That's the thing, sometimes you can be taken unawares. I'm going to check the packaging.

01-10-2019, 07:41 PM
I hope not :greengrin

That's the thing, sometimes you can be taken unawares. I'm going to check the packaging.

It doesn't say either way on the packaging :confused:

Can you buy vegan parmesan?

01-10-2019, 07:55 PM
I'm on the Tesco website. They have a hard cheese called pecorino, which is vegetarian. I assume that's a replacement for parmesan?

01-10-2019, 08:07 PM

Had a wee Google, calf rennet is present for it to be called parmesan apparently. I assume that means for all parmesan.

01-10-2019, 08:18 PM
Had a wee Google, calf rennet is present for it to be called parmesan apparently. I assume that means for all parmesan.

I had no idea some cheeses aren't suitable for vegetarians. That's something I will need to check in future. Parmesan in the bin; it's expensive tae.

01-10-2019, 08:31 PM

Genuine Parmesan is made with animal rennet so not vegetarian.

01-10-2019, 08:33 PM

You can get a version not made with animal rennet. Not the real McCoy but close enough. Genuine is Parmigiano-Reggiano.

01-10-2019, 08:36 PM
You can get a version not made with animal rennet. Not the real McCoy but close enough.

Yes, I just assumed cheese is cheese. I didn't know parmesan isn't vegetarian. Big G pointed out that some beers aren't vegetarian/vegan; it's very easy to be caught out.

01-10-2019, 08:37 PM
Yes, I just assumed cheese is cheese. I didn't know parmesan isn't vegetarian. Big G pointed out that some beers aren't vegetarian/vegan; it's very easy to be caught out.

Gran Moravia is the perfect substitute made with vegetable rennet. La Favorita use it.

01-10-2019, 08:55 PM
Gran Moravia is the perfect substitute made with vegetable rennet. La Favorita use it.

Cheers, I've made a note of it.

wpj
01-10-2019, 11:39 PM
:worried:Just make sure one of them isn't on the day we hook-up (I'll happily bring a packed lunch).

There are many fine places to eat here I will do my due diligence when choosing somewhere 👍

02-10-2019, 12:19 AM
I'm on the Tesco website. They have a hard cheese called pecorino, which is vegetarian. I assume that's a replacement for parmesan?

Pecorino is a hard cheese with a similar texture to Parmesan, the difference is that Pecorino is made with ewe’s milk. I prefer it on the whole to Parmesan, though a good Gran Padano is also just as good and often cheaper.

Ewe’s milk has a slightly brinier tang to it, which I love. I would usually opt for Pecorino as a first choice but the other hard cheeses are generally more widely available and for some dishes, if you lose the brinieness of the Pecorino then you are as well saving a couple of quid and going with something cheaper.

As far as I am aware, Pecorino can be made with lamb rennet or vegetarian. I’m not sure but it might even be made with calf rennet on occasion, but I think the protected status stuff will probably be lamb rennet.

02-10-2019, 06:04 AM
Pecorino is a hard cheese with a similar texture to Parmesan, the difference is that Pecorino is made with ewe’s milk. I prefer it on the whole to Parmesan, though a good Gran Padano is also just as good and often cheaper.

Ewe’s milk has a slightly brinier tang to it, which I love. I would usually opt for Pecorino as a first choice but the other hard cheeses are generally more widely available and for some dishes, if you lose the brinieness of the Pecorino then you are as well saving a couple of quid and going with something cheaper.

As far as I am aware, Pecorino can be made with lamb rennet or vegetarian. I’m not sure but it might even be made with calf rennet on occasion, but I think the protected status stuff will probably be lamb rennet.

Cheers for that, MA. It's all a bit of a minefield; I will start checking everything very carefully.

02-10-2019, 07:45 AM
I’ve previously made a vegan “Parmesan” alternative. It’s really good, and really easy.

https://minimalistbaker.com/how-to-make-vegan-parmesan-cheese/

15-10-2019, 10:08 AM
I came across a video today of scenes inside an animal testing lab. Monkeys screaming in pain, dogs battered and bleeding, various animal being force fed, poisoned and in pain. It was just awful on so many levels. I can accept the argument that sometimes animal testing may be necessary for certain medical products but I always, obviously naively, assumed there was a level of dignity involved.

I always find myself getting caught up thinking about stuff like this and running it over and over in my mind. If I'm so angry about seeing it happen to a cat, dog or monkey why is it OK, in my mind, for a dairy cow to be unnaturally treated, a chicken to be kept in a confined space or a pig to be killed because I like bacon.

I've said above that my meat consumption has dropped dramatically in the last few years but I'm increasingly sure I'm not far off going down the vegetarian route full time with the longer term goal of going vegan. I'm just not sure I can reconcile liking the taste of meat with the feelings of guilt I get about it now.

15-10-2019, 09:50 PM
I came across a video today of scenes inside an animal testing lab. Monkeys screaming in pain, dogs battered and bleeding, various animal being force fed, poisoned and in pain. It was just awful on so many levels. I can accept the argument that sometimes animal testing may be necessary for certain medical products but I always, obviously naively, assumed there was a level of dignity involved.

I always find myself getting caught up thinking about stuff like this and running it over and over in my mind. If I'm so angry about seeing it happen to a cat, dog or monkey why is it OK, in my mind, for a dairy cow to be unnaturally treated, a chicken to be kept in a confined space or a pig to be killed because I like bacon.

I've said above that my meat consumption has dropped dramatically in the last few years but I'm increasingly sure I'm not far off going down the vegetarian route full time with the longer term goal of going vegan. I'm just not sure I can reconcile liking the taste of meat with the feelings of guilt I get about it now.

Buying meat and dairy produce that has come from farm assurance schemes means welfare levels are as good as you can achieve when rearing animals for consumption. Our schemes in Scotland/the UK rank fourth highest in the world and buying Scotch assured or red tractor means that you have guarantees of welfare.

It all sounds a bit clinical but if you still want to eat meat there are ways and means of doing it that mean better lives for the cows and pigs we eat. Scotch assured stuff is marked with a blue label.

16-10-2019, 09:25 AM

Similarly its why I've dropped my meat consumption massively and started buying free range and organic produce instead - it costs the same you just get less. Instead of 4 chicken breasts which is 4 meals i'll have 2 chicken breasts which is 2 meals then have 2 veggie teas to make up the shortfall. I'm not sure if organic and freerange means animal welfare is better but it helps my conscience.

Any meat-free sandwhich ideas for work lunch? That's almost as simple as slapping a bit of ham or chicken slice on a roll? Cheese looks mentally unhealthy when looking at the traffic light system and this would be the next stage of cutting my meat consumption down. Any good meatfree alternatives?

16-10-2019, 10:21 AM
Well I made a braw vegetarian moussaka last night. Six weeks in and I haven't missed meat at all. I'm also enjoying cooking.

16-10-2019, 10:25 AM
Similarly its why I've dropped my meat consumption massively and started buying free range and organic produce instead - it costs the same you just get less. Instead of 4 chicken breasts which is 4 meals i'll have 2 chicken breasts which is 2 meals then have 2 veggie teas to make up the shortfall. I'm not sure if organic and freerange means animal welfare is better but it helps my conscience.

Any meat-free sandwhich ideas for work lunch? That's almost as simple as slapping a bit of ham or chicken slice on a roll? Cheese looks mentally unhealthy when looking at the traffic light system and this would be the next stage of cutting my meat consumption down. Any good meatfree alternatives?

Obviously you have staples like cheese and pickle, egg mayo etc. A good thing is to cook some pasta and save a couple of portions in the fridge to take to work in your sandwich box. Take some hummus with carrot/celery to dip. Much more than sandwiches that you can eat cold.

16-10-2019, 11:38 AM
Similarly its why I've dropped my meat consumption massively and started buying free range and organic produce instead - it costs the same you just get less. Instead of 4 chicken breasts which is 4 meals i'll have 2 chicken breasts which is 2 meals then have 2 veggie teas to make up the shortfall. I'm not sure if organic and freerange means animal welfare is better but it helps my conscience

Roasted peppers and onions, cool then keep in a tub in the fridge, easy made sandwiches and really good.

16-10-2019, 12:11 PM

Falafel. Can get a relatively cheap mix that you add water to and fry or can buy premade. That and hummus in a pitta bread is nice, can even throw in some pomegranate seeds too. :aok:

16-10-2019, 12:51 PM

Hummus is a easy option...add a bit of sun dried tomatoes, pepper, lettuce etc...great sandwich...

Green Man
16-10-2019, 01:54 PM
I’ve recently changed from salami on my lunchtime bagel to hummus, as part of my attempts to eat no meat before dinner time. I was surprised to see Morrison’s had so many varieties of hummus - I’m on the jalapeño this week.

16-10-2019, 02:56 PM

If you scroll back, or click on the post count and then my name, I posted a recipe earlier for three seed spread. It is outrageously healthy and filling, and I genuinely can feel a positive hit just after I eat it. Perfect for sandwiches or oatcakes or the like.

Pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds aren’t particularly cheap. I haven’t checked but I suspect they average out no more expensive than meat or indeed cheese and have a vastly longer shelf life.

16-10-2019, 02:59 PM
Hummus is a easy option...add a bit of sun dried tomatoes, pepper, lettuce etc...great sandwich...

And again a recommendation for homemade hummus. It probably lasts a little bit longer than shop-bought and I suspect will have less salt in it. I also think it works out cheaper. The real cost is in the tahini but buying tahini probably forces you to see what else you can do with it, which automatically steers you towards healthy meals, so it’s a win.

16-10-2019, 03:27 PM

Could you post a picture of the recipe if possible?

In terms of your lemon juice, I used to have lemon and lime in my bottle of water until the dentist advised against it. Really bad for your teeth taking in all the acid that comes with them, unless you are eating at the same time - eating dilutes it.

Quite miss the flavour actually.

16-10-2019, 09:48 PM
Could you post a picture of the recipe if possible?

In terms of your lemon juice, I used to have lemon and lime in my bottle of water until the dentist advised against it. Really bad for your teeth taking in all the acid that comes with them, unless you are eating at the same time - eating dilutes it.

Quite miss the flavour actually.

You will have to bear with me. I am away on holiday and I had a look on Google but couldn’t find it.

I will dig it out when I get home but from memory it was as follows:

100g each of pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds blended into powder.

Two (but maybe one) finely diced sticks of celery.

A tablespoon of ketchup and a teaspoon of shoyu.

Blend it again, then see how it tastes. You can sweeten it with more ketchup or salt it with more shoyu.

I am sorry I can’t remember the whole recipe, if indeed there is more, but as I say I will look it up when I get home and post the full thing up. As it stands, I think they are the main components and you have to gauge it to your own individual taste.

As for the citrus, you are absolutely right, it isn’t great for your teeth, but you can modify it by eating at the same time or by brushing. We try to have overnight oats with it but don’t always succeed! I guess there is a compromise or a bargain between that and getting the vitamin hit in the morning. I would imagine putting it into sparkling water would make things even worse!

17-10-2019, 10:29 PM
You will have to bear with me. I am away on holiday and I had a look on Google but couldn’t find it.

I will dig it out when I get home but from memory it was as follows:

100g each of pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds blended into powder.

Two (but maybe one) finely diced sticks of celery.

A tablespoon of ketchup and a teaspoon of shoyu.

Blend it again, then see how it tastes. You can sweeten it with more ketchup or salt it with more shoyu.

I am sorry I can’t remember the whole recipe, if indeed there is more, but as I say I will look it up when I get home and post the full thing up. As it stands, I think they are the main components and you have to gauge it to your own individual taste.

As for the citrus, you are absolutely right, it isn’t great for your teeth, but you can modify it by eating at the same time or by brushing. We try to have overnight oats with it but don’t always succeed! I guess there is a compromise or a bargain between that and getting the vitamin hit in the morning. I would imagine putting it into sparkling water would make things even worse!

Not back home yet but re-read this and I think you can chuck everything in together and blend it at the same time, IIRC. It really depends on what texture you want i.e. leaving the finely diced celery intact for a bit of crunch (I always blitz it!). I think the recipe I use may call for a grated carrot too, which makes sense as it adds another bunch of nutrients, and also colour, because otherwise it is very gray-green!

30-10-2019, 04:59 PM
Could you post a picture of the recipe if possible? .

The recipe is cut out, with a load of others, and stuck in a photo album. The glossy page cover doesn’t really lend itself to a good picture, so I will just post the recipe.

50g each of pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds.
One spring onion chopped
Two sticks of celery diced
One carrot grated
2-3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
One tablespoon tomato ketchup
Two teaspoons soy sauce
salt and pepper

1. Grind the seeds finely in a food processor or a mill. I found a stick blender did the job.
2. Add everything else bar the salt and pepper and blend until the mixture holds together. Season to taste.

It works as a sandwich filling or toast topping or also with a crunchy salad. If having with salad it benefits from some bread for a different texture and it suits a dressing like yogurt and cucumber.

I also tended to add a wee bit more ketchup for the bind, and maybe a bit of heat - usually Tabasco.

03-11-2019, 08:03 PM
I've lost sixteen pounds in just two months, since giving up meat. It just shows you how bad fast food and other fatty meat products are. I really wasn't expecting such dramatic results so soon: I've gone from 13st 8 to 12st 6.

07-11-2019, 02:53 PM
Made a belting "what's left in the fridge" soup last night.

Chopped up and roasted some butternut squash, a red pepper and the 1 carrot - that my bugs bunny of a wife hadn't scranned - in the oven with some paprika, cumin and chilli powder.

Whilst that was happening, chopped up a couple of onions and sweated them off chucked in half a tin of chopped tomatoes and a splash of water, some S + P and then added the roasted vegetables and about 250g or so of red lentils.

Stirred it around a bit to get everything suitably coated and then added 1.5l of water and a veggie stock cube.

Let it all bubble away on a medium/high heat until it reduced/thickened a wee bit then left for the pub. My good lady wife liquidised it and when I got back it was waiting for me to heat up a wee bowl.

Delicious and has only got better by being left overnight as I just had some for lunch.

Believe me, if I can do it then anyone can!!

25-11-2019, 01:44 PM
The recipe is cut out, with a load of others, and stuck in a photo album. The glossy page cover doesn’t really lend itself to a good picture, so I will just post the recipe.

50g each of pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds.
One spring onion chopped
Two sticks of celery diced
One carrot grated
2-3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
One tablespoon tomato ketchup
Two teaspoons soy sauce
salt and pepper

1. Grind the seeds finely in a food processor or a mill. I found a stick blender did the job.
2. Add everything else bar the salt and pepper and blend until the mixture holds together. Season to taste.

It works as a sandwich filling or toast topping or also with a crunchy salad. If having with salad it benefits from some bread for a different texture and it suits a dressing like yogurt and cucumber.

I also tended to add a wee bit more ketchup for the bind, and maybe a bit of heat - usually Tabasco.

Thanks mate. Much appreciated.

I’ve just watched the documentary ‘Gamechangers’ on Netflix.

I had no intentions of going full vegan or indeed veggie but having watched that programme it has changed my outlook hugely.

I’ve always said if I went Vegan it would be because of the environment but now I’d see it as a two pronged approach.

We have now made the decision that we will buy no meat, not yet decided on fish, to cook in the house.

We will move slowly but surely toward more plant based products.

I am quite excited by the prospect.

I’d highly recommend watching the programme.

Thank you all for your advice and encouragement (indirect) so far.

25-11-2019, 09:13 PM
If anyone can watch the programme that was just on BBC 1 and not feel guilty about our meat consumption habits then I don’t know what will alter their views.

The impact of eating meat at the rate we do is devastating.

The programme is called Meat: A threat to our planet?

26-11-2019, 09:12 PM
If anyone can watch the programme that was just on BBC 1 and not feel guilty about our meat consumption habits then I don’t know what will alter their views.

The impact of eating meat at the rate we do is devastating.

The programme is called Meat: A threat to our planet?

I'm going to watch it on I-Player mate. It looks like good telly.

On another note, as this will be my first veggie Christmas, what's a good alternative to turkey for Christmas dinner, folks?

26-11-2019, 09:37 PM
I'm going to watch it on I-Player mate. It looks like good telly.

On another note, as this will be my first veggie Christmas, what's a good alternative to turkey for Christmas dinner, folks?

If you want something that feels a bit centrepiecey like a turkey might be, then a mushroom Wellington is a tasty, filling, and fairly traditional dish. I tend to go with that every few years.

I will have a think about some others. I remember one year making an open tart or pie that had cranberries, vegetarian blue cheese, butternut squash and other bits diced over the top. It was Christmassy because of the cranberries etc but a wee bit different. I will see if I can find the recipe. It is obviously lighter than a Wellington.

26-11-2019, 10:31 PM
If you want something that feels a bit centrepiecey like a turkey might be, then a mushroom Wellington is a tasty, filling, and fairly traditional dish. I tend to go with that every few years.

I will have a think about some others. I remember one year making an open tart or pie that had cranberries, vegetarian blue cheese, butternut squash and other bits diced over the top. It was Christmassy because of the cranberries etc but a wee bit different. I will see if I can find the recipe. It is obviously lighter than a Wellington.

Don't worry about a light meal. I want to feel the Christmas stodge :greengrin.I will look up mushroom wellington. Is there a veggie substitute for turkey, like that offered by quorn?

26-11-2019, 10:40 PM
Don't worry about a light meal. I want to feel the Christmas stodge :greengrin.I will look up mushroom wellington. Is there a veggie substitute for turkey, like that offered by quorn?

Sort of. And sometimes the supermarket own-brands are better, so for example, I like Asda soya mince better than Quorn mince, not by much, but just enough. Don’t have an Asda nearby though, so can only get it with home delivery :greengrin

I don’t think you will get a full-on substitute for turkey as such. Quorn and some of the own brands (and probably some posh artisan type brands) will do the equivalent of turkey or chicken breasts but I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like a substitute turkey crown or the like.

If it is a hearty meal then I think pastry is the way to go, with a Wellington or a fake steak pie - you can use mushrooms, various beans, lentils, or veggie mince, pieces, ‘bacon’ rashers, or any combination.

I think it is all down to the textures you like but with the caveat that meat releases juices in a way that meat subs don’t, so you need to be mindful of it drying out.

26-11-2019, 10:46 PM
Sort of. And sometimes the supermarket own-brands are better, so for example, I like Asda soya mince better than Quorn mince, not by much, but just enough. Don’t have an Asda nearby though, so can only get it with home delivery :greengrin

I don’t think you will get a full-on substitute for turkey as such. Quorn and some of the own brands (and probably some posh artisan type brands) will do the equivalent of turkey or chicken breasts but I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like a substitute turkey crown or the like.

If it is a hearty meal then I think pastry is the way to go, with a Wellington or a fake steak pie - you can use mushrooms, various beans, lentils, or veggie mince, pieces, ‘bacon’ rashers, or any combination.

I think it is all down to the textures you like but with the caveat that meat releases juices in a way that meat subs don’t, so you need to be mindful of it drying out.

Many thanks, mate :top marks

29-11-2019, 02:42 PM
Making my first vegetable curry tonight: madras with chickpeas, lentils and some fresh chillies. I've pre-bought the accompaniments - naan bread, onion bhajis etc.

Dmas
30-11-2019, 07:54 PM
Like a lot of people I’m planning on slowly going vegan in the new year (currently pescatarian for 8 months) due a couple of documentaries and articles read, where do people pick up their veg and pulses etc? Just usual supermarkets or is there cheaper ways? I always worry about the cost of going whole food plant based

30-11-2019, 10:01 PM
Like a lot of people I’m planning on slowly going vegan in the new year (currently pescatarian for 8 months) due a couple of documentaries and articles read, where do people pick up their veg and pulses etc? Just usual supermarkets or is there cheaper ways? I always worry about the cost of going whole food plant based
Not sure about the more ‘advanced’ stuff - jackfruit and the like - but a couple of tins of cannellini beans, kidney beans and chopped tomatoes for a bean chilli will cost you a fraction of buying the minced beef etc for a meat version. Other half is doing Veganuary just as a bit of a trial to see if she feels any better in doing so, so we’ve been making a bit of a plan in terms of potential meals etc or otherwise I expect it’ll be quite easy to fall.

Dmas
05-12-2019, 07:54 PM
Not sure about the more ‘advanced’ stuff - jackfruit and the like - but a couple of tins of cannellini beans, kidney beans and chopped tomatoes for a bean chilli will cost you a fraction of buying the minced beef etc for a meat version. Other half is doing Veganuary just as a bit of a trial to see if she feels any better in doing so, so we’ve been making a bit of a plan in terms of potential meals etc or otherwise I expect it’ll be quite easy to fall.

I’ve been having a bean borrito for lunch at work and it’s been great

05-12-2019, 09:08 PM

As said, canned beans and pulses are a lot cheaper than meat or fish. Dried beans and pulses are even cheaper. You probably need to go to a big supermarket, a specialist ethnic shop, or online to get them, depending on where you live, and then you have the extra work in overnight soaking etc. But it is so, so cheap to make food that way. And there is probably a bit more satisfaction as well.

06-12-2019, 07:49 AM
I was out for a Christmas lunch with a group of volunteers I am involved with, of the 17 people present only 4 had the turkey or lamb, 6 had Sole and 7 had mushroom wellington. These aren't young people making a point, but all bar one qualify for the free bus pass. :greengrin

06-12-2019, 07:51 AM
As said, canned beans and pulses are a lot cheaper than meat or fish. Dried beans and pulses are even cheaper. You probably need to go to a big supermarket, a specialist ethnic shop, or online to get them, depending on where you live, and then you have the extra work in overnight soaking etc. But it is so, so cheap to make food that way. And there is probably a bit more satisfaction as well.

I am fortunate that this young Polish girl set up a plastic free refill shop in Highland Perthshire.

https://www.handam.co.uk/

06-12-2019, 05:55 PM
I am fortunate that this young Polish girl set up a plastic free refill shop in Highland Perthshire.

https://www.handam.co.uk/

Looks really good.

08-12-2019, 03:18 PM
Looks really good.

I met her at the Christmas Market we were both selling at in Pitlochry and she said that she will be opening a shop in Aberfeldy next year. Amazing rise from the first market stall a year ago.

08-12-2019, 04:12 PM
I get my chickpeas, lentils and dried beans from asian supermarkets as way cheap than tesco’s etc..Sometimes lidle have tofu which i would stock up on..Ive saved loads since cutting out meat..once you have all your spices, nutritional yeast, liquid smoke etc