View Full Version : Who will win the 2019/20 Champions League?

29-08-2019, 06:53 PM
Who do you think will win it?

There is no "not interested" option. If you're not interested, do not reply to this thread saying "you're not interested".

Full draw below:

Group A: PSG, Real Madrid, Club Brugge, Galatasaray
Group B: Bayern Munich, Tottenham, Olympiakos, Red Star Belgrade
Group C: Manchester City, Shakhtar Donetsk, Dinamo Zagreb, Atalanta
Group D: Juventus, Atletico Madrid, Bayer Leverkusen, Lokomotiv Moscow
Group E: Liverpool, Napoli, Red Bull Salzburg, Genk
Group F: Barcelona, Borussia Dortmund, Inter Milan, Slavia Prague
Group G: Zenit St Petersburg, Benfica, Lyon, RB Leipzig
Group H: Chelsea, Ajax, Valencia, Lille

29-08-2019, 07:08 PM
For 2018/19 Champions League, I went for Manchester City and was wrong.

I'm going for Manchester City again.

29-08-2019, 07:10 PM
One of the usual European big boys will win it so that’s City right out of the equation just like I said last season 👍

nellio
29-08-2019, 07:44 PM
Man City for me. Massive squad choc full of quality.

29-08-2019, 07:46 PM
One of the usual European big boys will win it so that’s City right out of the equation just like I said last season 👍

Your boys have a tough group

29-08-2019, 07:47 PM
Juventus

Unbelievable amount of talent in their squad

sauzee=legend
29-08-2019, 07:53 PM
Barca front line of

Saurez, Griezmann, Messi and Neymar if the deal goes through.
That would be very hard to stop

Saint Hibee
29-08-2019, 07:54 PM
Where’s the Celtic option?

29-08-2019, 07:56 PM
Your boys have a tough group

You think so?

Pretty confident of qualifying from that group.

29-08-2019, 07:57 PM
You think so?

Sorry wrong Red Bull, but they’ve won 5 out of 5

29-08-2019, 08:53 PM
I think Juventus could have a good chance. I've taken a wee punt on them in the poll.

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 09:16 PM
The old lady of Turin.

A wonderful soul, harshly treated, gained revenge in the most lady-like of fashions.

She has remarkably talented young boys under her arm, and is poised to once again, take her talent, show her talent, to the echelons of the world footballing governance.

Juventus!!

29-08-2019, 09:32 PM
Where’s the Celtic option?

Someone not listed above :dunno:

Probably the same place as the Hertz option :wink:

29-08-2019, 11:12 PM
The Old Lady.

29-08-2019, 11:18 PM
One of the Harlem Globetrotter teams

30-08-2019, 12:32 AM
Arsenal

30-08-2019, 06:14 AM
Athletico Madrid, dont know why though.

30-08-2019, 02:59 PM
CL - Juventus
EL - Man Utd

GreenOnions
30-08-2019, 03:52 PM
Anyone but Man City would be good. An example of where football has gone wrong IMO

17-09-2019, 06:12 PM
First set of matches tonight.

Liverpool away to Napoli.
Chelsea home to Valencia.
Dortmund home to Barcelona.

17-09-2019, 06:13 PM
Man City will win it unfortunately.

HibeeBigFly
17-09-2019, 07:33 PM
Man City will win it unfortunately.

I still feel they are three or more players short to win it. Quite staggering the amount of money them and PSG have spent to routinely get bundled out of Europe by the first half decent team they play. (Monaco, Sporting, Spurs etc in the Abu Dhabi era)

17-09-2019, 07:35 PM
I still feel they are three or more players short to win it. Quite staggering the amount of money them and PSG have spent to routinely get bundled out of Europe by the first half decent team they play. (Monaco, Sporting, Spurs etc in the Abu Dhabi era)

Agree - they look a bit light in central defence, especially now that Stones is out injured.

17-09-2019, 07:40 PM
Purely want to see City do it as they are truly a joy to watch. Players like Sergio Aguero deserve a Champions League medal in their locker.

17-09-2019, 08:48 PM
You think so?

So you should be, but they're getting beat by Napoli (again) as we speak.

17-09-2019, 08:50 PM
So you should be, but they're getting beat by Napoli (again) as we speak.

We got beat there last season too, didn’t do us any harm.

17-09-2019, 08:50 PM
Purely want to see City do it as they are truly a joy to watch. Players like Sergio Aguero deserve a Champions League medal in their locker.

Nah not good enough in Europe won’t win it this season either.

17-09-2019, 08:51 PM
2-0 Napoli.

17-09-2019, 08:52 PM

They are exciting to watch but you could be right. There’s always a vulnerability about them European wise the same as the other in PSG. English football is actually underrated these days though as it’s cool not to like it so the winner will probably come from England again as the Spanish sides are struggling.

18-09-2019, 12:35 PM
Barcelona (hopefully) or PSG.

I've never thought Liverpool will win the premier league before but strangely, this season, I already start to fancy them just after the City Norwich result. I really think last weekend could prove to be huge.

And I fancy City more than Liverpool in the champions league. (Realise both of these statements go against recent form/history).

I don't think either of them will be European Champions though.

18-09-2019, 03:10 PM
Gone for Man City. One or two more defeats in the league may see them change their priorities.

Bill Milne
19-09-2019, 09:14 AM
Does anyone really care? I don't!!

19-09-2019, 11:09 AM

The 47 people who voted on it probably? And the one that came on to the thread to tell us he didn't care...

19-09-2019, 11:10 AM

Cheerio then.

19-09-2019, 11:49 AM

Thanks for that! I think the title of the thread is pretty obvious, so if you're not interested why bother to open it and post a comment.

I can think of hundreds of .net threads that I have no interest in and yet I would never think of posting "Does anyone really care? I don't!!"

19-09-2019, 12:47 PM
As long as it's someone outwith Barca, Madrid, Juventus, PSG or Bayern then I'll be happy.

19-09-2019, 02:09 PM
As long as it's someone outwith Barca, Madrid, Juventus, PSG or Bayern then I'll be happy.

It hasn't been a great week for the English teams with Liverpool and Chelsea losing, Spurs drawing albeit away from home and only Man City winning.

However, you would expect at least one of those getting to the Semi or Final stages.

That said, I do wonder if it will be Atletico Madrid's year or whether RB Salzburg could do a 'Ajax'.

19-09-2019, 04:07 PM
Juventus with the squad they have should be winning it this year.

05-11-2019, 05:36 PM
Liverpool and Chelsea in action tonight as Champions League restarts.

Think it could be difficult tonight for Liverpool with one eye on the City game at the weekend.

27-11-2019, 03:05 PM
Group H looks interesting with Chelsea, Ajax and Valencia all on 7 points. Tonight, it's Valencia v Chelsea and Lille v Ajax.

Also tonight it Liverpool v Napoli.

Interesting games!

27-11-2019, 03:08 PM
Group H looks interesting with Chelsea, Ajax and Valencia all on 7 points. Tonight, it's Valencia v Chelsea and Lille v Ajax.

Also tonight it Liverpool v Napoli.

Interesting games!

Chelsea Even money is a stoater of a price. Valencia are utter *****.

27-11-2019, 04:47 PM
Feel like tonight is a must win for Chelsea. An Ajax and Valencia win tonight means both teams will just need a point in their last game to go through to the knockout stages, the last game is Ajax v Valencia, no doubt a draw would be agreed between both teams imo.

27-11-2019, 05:09 PM
i'd like Bayern Munich to win it this season

27-11-2019, 05:34 PM
Feel like tonight is a must win for Chelsea. An Ajax and Valencia win tonight means both teams will just need a point in their last game to go through to the knockout stages, the last game is Ajax v Valencia, no doubt a draw would be agreed between both teams imo.

Seems like I got that wrong. If either Valencia or Chelsea win they qualify. Must win game for Chelsea then or they are most likely out.

27-11-2019, 05:54 PM
Napoli fans walking around Liverpool city centre armed with golf clubs!

27-11-2019, 05:59 PM
Napoli fans walking around Liverpool city centre armed with golf clubs!

It will be caught on PAR

27-11-2019, 06:41 PM
It will be caught on PAR

Police have now confirmed it’s not true, flag poles only apparently.

27-11-2019, 06:51 PM
Chelsea Valencia has been awesome.

27-11-2019, 06:52 PM
Absolute sitter missed by Valencia there in the last minute. Chelsea will be the happier team with that result.

27-11-2019, 06:52 PM
Chelsea Valencia has been awesome.

How many glaring misses from Valencia!

11-12-2019, 06:50 AM
Teams qualified so far:

Group A: Paris St-Germain (winners), Real Madrid (runners-up)
Group B: Bayern Munich (winners), Tottenham (runners-up)
Group C: Manchester City (winners)
Group D: Juventus (winners)
Group E: Liverpool (winners), Napoli (runners-up)
Group F: Barcelona (winners), Borussia Dortmund (runners-up)
Group G: RB Leipzig (winners), Lyon (runners-up)
Group H: Valencia (winners), Chelsea (runners-up)

From Group C, either Shakhtar Donetsk or Dinamo Zagreb will qualify. In Group D, it's either Atletico Madrid or Leverkusen.

To be honest, no major surprises apart from maybe Zenit being bottom of their group.

11-12-2019, 09:13 PM
Draw I'd like to see made on Monday:

Chelsea v Barcelona
Liverpool v Atletico Madrid
Man City v Real Madrid
Spurs v Valencia
Napoli v Bayern
Dortmund v PSG
Atalanta v Leipzig
Lyon v Juventus

11-12-2019, 09:14 PM
Teams qualified so far:

Group A: Paris St-Germain (winners), Real Madrid (runners-up)
Group B: Bayern Munich (winners), Tottenham (runners-up)
Group C: Manchester City (winners)
Group D: Juventus (winners)
Group E: Liverpool (winners), Napoli (runners-up)
Group F: Barcelona (winners), Borussia Dortmund (runners-up)
Group G: RB Leipzig (winners), Lyon (runners-up)
Group H: Valencia (winners), Chelsea (runners-up)

From Group C, either Shakhtar Donetsk or Dinamo Zagreb will qualify. In Group D, it's either Atletico Madrid or Leverkusen.

To be honest, no major surprises apart from maybe Zenit being bottom of their group.

Atalanta did very well to get through in Group C.

11-12-2019, 10:34 PM
When do Hearts enter?

12-12-2019, 12:14 AM

Chelsea v Barcelona
Man City v Real Madrid
Spurs v Valencia
Napoli v Bayern
Dortmund v PSG
Atalanta v Leipzig
Lyon v Juventus

With your draw I'd go with

Barca
Liverpool
City
Valencia
Bayern
PSG
Leipzig
Juve

12-12-2019, 12:19 AM
When do Hearts enter?

Hearts play the winners of the world club championship for the right to represent planet Earth v the Martians.

NASA is working on a 400,000 seater space shuttle for the away leg.

12-12-2019, 12:41 AM
Psg.

13-12-2019, 12:21 AM
With your draw I'd go with

Barca
Liverpool
City
Valencia
Bayern
PSG
Leipzig
Juve

I'd fancy Atletico, Real Madrid, Spurs and Atalanta and then the others you mentioned.

16-12-2019, 10:23 AM
Dortmund v PSG
Real Madrid v Man City
Atletico v Liverpool
Spurs v Leipzig
Chelsea v Bayern
Napoli v Barcelona
Lyon v Juventus
Atalanta v Valencia

16-12-2019, 10:24 AM

Chelsea v Barcelona
Man City v Real Madrid
Spurs v Valencia
Napoli v Bayern
Dortmund v PSG
Atalanta v Leipzig
Lyon v Juventus

4 of them came to life. Spurs against Leipzig too, happy with that.

16-12-2019, 10:26 AM
Dortmund v PSG
Real Madrid v Man City
Atletico v Liverpool
Spurs v Leipzig
Chelsea v Bayern
Napoli v Barcelona
Lyon v Juventus
Atalanta v Valencia

Mostly ties to look forward too.

16-12-2019, 10:27 AM
Mostly ties to look forward too.

All four English teams could well get knocked out.

16-12-2019, 10:57 AM
I'll be betting against all the english. Tough ties

16-12-2019, 11:04 AM
Liverpool will see off Athletico

18-02-2020, 05:05 PM
Champions League returns tonight.

Liverpool away at Atletico Madrid - tough away game.

PSG away to Dortmund - could be a cracking game.

18-02-2020, 05:16 PM
Atletico have never lost a home tie in the knockout phase of European games under Simeone. Liverpool have failed to win in their last 5 ties away to Spanish opposition.

I fancy a draw tonight in that game.

JammyDoidger
18-02-2020, 06:25 PM
Liverpool to win the whole thing again.

18-02-2020, 06:30 PM
Atletico have never lost a home tie in the knockout phase of European games under Simeone. Liverpool have failed to win in their last 5 ties away to Spanish opposition.

Liverpool have never failed to get past a Spanish side in two legged champions league tie.

18-02-2020, 06:38 PM

Atletico aren’t quite up to their normal standard this season. Liverpool for me, have been playing within themselves for last few months and have a few more gears to go through. I think they’ll win tonight.

18-02-2020, 06:58 PM
Liverpool to win the whole thing again.

Now that's a display!!!

18-02-2020, 07:05 PM
Oops

18-02-2020, 08:50 PM
Fancy Leipzig to win it . 66-1

renato
18-02-2020, 08:53 PM
Haaland is outrageous, yet another brace. Dortmund must fancy scoring in Paris in the return leg

18-02-2020, 08:56 PM
Champions League wide open this year.

If I had to choose a winner now I would say Man City.

18-02-2020, 08:59 PM

The records continue

18-02-2020, 09:00 PM

I don't think City's defence is good enough to win it. Juventus would be my bet.

18-02-2020, 09:02 PM

18-02-2020, 09:04 PM
Mon the Atletico.

18-02-2020, 09:16 PM

Liverpool aren’t scoring three of Athletico score. They looked very tired tonight and at the weekend. City will fully focus on the champions league.

18-02-2020, 09:16 PM
I don't think City's defence is good enough to win it. Juventus would be my bet.

Even they are pretty **** this season.

18-02-2020, 09:20 PM
Liverpool aren’t scoring three of Athletico score. They looked very tired tonight and at the weekend. City will fully focus on the champions league.

Can city still play in it?

renato
18-02-2020, 09:21 PM
Juve’s midfield may cost them the Champions League this season, criminal for them that they didn’t strengthen in Jan. Their attack and defence are a match for any other team.

18-02-2020, 09:40 PM
Can city still play in it?

Yes their ban begins next season.

18-02-2020, 10:18 PM
Yes their ban begins next season.

Btw, City winning the CL and Liverpool winning the league is not what I ever want to see as I like Man Utd.

19-02-2020, 05:45 AM
I thought Athletic Madrid would win the Spanish league but that went bits up, so, I will have them win the Champs League:wink:

No ah didnae, I just read over the wjhole thread, seems I backed them for the Champs League from the beginning haha, old age:agree:

19-02-2020, 05:49 AM

Aye same as Liverpool weren't scoring 4 vs Barcelona

You'd think people would learn to stop counting them out. They are the best side in the world and could take 3 goals off of anyone.

19-02-2020, 08:58 AM
I'd like City to win it.

Mostly just because it would cause next year's tournament to be a bit of a joke.

I'd also like Sheffield Utd to win it next year if they finish 5th. That'd be a grand old laugh that.

19-02-2020, 09:06 AM

You'd think people would learn to stop counting them out. They are the best side in the world and could take 3 goals off of anyone.

Exactly I have no real concerns about Liverpool progressing.

19-02-2020, 10:06 AM
Great stat: Simeone has never lost a Champions League knockout game to a side that doesn't have Cristiano Ronaldo.

dalkeith stu
19-02-2020, 10:21 AM

The Atleti defence wont switch off like Barca's did!! Score 3??? They didn't even manage a shot on target last night with all their pressure!!😂😂😂

19-02-2020, 02:07 PM
The Atleti defence wont switch off like Barca's did!! Score 3??? They didn't even manage a shot on target last night with all their pressure!!😂😂😂

Will you never learn 😁

19-02-2020, 02:37 PM
Predictions for tonight's games?

Spurs with Kane and Son out, Leipzig with all their centre backs out via injury or suspension reportedly. I think there will be goals, 2-2.

Atalanta at home, got to fancy them ahead of Valencia.

19-02-2020, 02:49 PM

They won’t win everything as good as they are. They look tired, that much is evident. They could easily go out to Athletico who have been rotten this season.

19-02-2020, 02:50 PM
Predictions for tonight's games?

Spurs with Kane and Son out, Leipzig with all their centre backs out via injury or suspension reportedly. I think there will be goals, 2-2.

Atalanta at home, got to fancy them ahead of Valencia.

Leipzig great price to win tonight. They are class on the counter attack.

19-02-2020, 05:24 PM
They won’t win everything as good as they are. They look tired, that much is evident. They could easily go out to Athletico who have been rotten this season.

Might have to put our U23’s for the next round though.

19-02-2020, 08:58 PM
Really not surprised by the score tonight in the Spurs game. Will be a great viewing in the return tie.

19-02-2020, 09:02 PM
I was very impressed by Leipzig tonight. They could easily have won by a few more.

28/1 to win it looks better value than Spurs at 60s.

11-03-2020, 09:19 PM
Might have to put our U23’s for the next round though.

😂😂😂😂

11-03-2020, 09:21 PM
Exactly I have no real concerns about Liverpool progressing.

That kind of attitude got Liverpool pumped out this evening.

Told you, Man City.

11-03-2020, 09:37 PM
Not Liverpool :faf: :faf:

percy veer
12-03-2020, 12:58 AM
nobody, it will be cancelled

12-03-2020, 06:19 AM
That kind of attitude got Liverpool pumped out this evening.

Told you, Man City.

No it never 😂😂😂

The only attitude Liverpool had was to try and win a very difficult tie and they certainly tried, if you’re suggesting the players or the coaching staff had the wrong attitude you must have watched a different game!

12-03-2020, 08:13 AM
Where's the coronavirus option?

Tomsk
12-03-2020, 08:51 AM
No it never 😂😂😂

The only attitude Liverpool had was to try and win a very difficult tie and they certainly tried, if you’re suggesting the players or the coaching staff had the wrong attitude you must have watched a different game!

The 90 minutes was the best I've seen Liverpool play for a while. If I have one criticism I thought they rushed things when they got into the box ... and, of course, they didn't take their chances. But if you play like that every week you're going win more than you're going to lose.

Doubt Man City will win it. Look far too flaky at the back.

28-06-2020, 03:00 PM
I see that the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will be played as a straight knockout tournament in Lisbon, Portugal in August.

All these ties will be single-leg fixtures.

2019/20 UEFA Champions League schedule
7-8 August: Round of 16 second legs (venues to be confirmed) - Manchester City have yet to play their home leg against Real Madrid, Chelsea are away at Bayern Munich, Juventus are home to Lyon and Napoli are at Barcelona.
12-15 August: Quarter-finals (Lisbon) - confirmed through are Atletico Madrid, PSG, RB Leipzig and Atalanta
18-19 August: Semi-finals (Lisbon)
23 August: Final (Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica, Lisbon)

28-06-2020, 04:18 PM
Would love Napoli to win it. Football mad city

Garibaldis
28-06-2020, 07:10 PM
Bayern Munich have been brilliant, got to be favourites for me.

EI255
28-06-2020, 07:13 PM
Bayern. Been looking almost unbeatable since resumption of the Bundesliga. They look miles ahead of any English, French or Italian clubs right now.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

28-06-2020, 07:18 PM
Bayern Munich have been brilliant, got to be favourites for me.

I think they have been very good too however they lose too many goals to say they are far ahead of everyone.

The best finale for the neutral would Bayern v Man City it could be 4 - 3 for either team.

15-08-2020, 09:37 PM

Must be Bayern then. As I said City were never winning it 😂

23-08-2020, 06:36 PM
Should be a cracker tonight!

Not many in the poll voted for either a PSG or a Bayern Munich win. Who'll be the winner tonight?

I'm going for a Bayern Munich win - 3-2 in a very attack minded game.