View Full Version : Sir David

29-08-2019, 11:34 AM
Out for 12 weeks

29-08-2019, 11:35 AM
I’d be looking for another right back tbh.

29-08-2019, 11:36 AM
Ffs

29-08-2019, 11:36 AM
That 4 year deal is looking pretty expensive right now.

29-08-2019, 11:37 AM
I’d be looking for another right back tbh.

Definitely qualifes as a change in circumstances.

29-08-2019, 11:37 AM
His time is coming to an end sadly. Needs replaced, but really needed replaced close season.

Stokesy's on fire
29-08-2019, 11:38 AM
have to get a loan player in to cover for David

29-08-2019, 11:38 AM

I've no issue with it. Delighted he's at the club be it playing, limping about, coaching or in a suit.

29-08-2019, 11:39 AM

It's not necessarily 4 years as a player though. Some is as a player and some in a coach/ambassador type role to be determined.

29-08-2019, 11:40 AM
Think his playing days are coming to an end. Shame as he's a leader on the park. New RB needed asap.

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 11:45 AM
Not so good.

Not the player he was, we know that, but still a cult hero and a legend.

A new right back is now a priority, perhaps SDG given some sort of coaching role?

29-08-2019, 11:45 AM
I've no issue with it. Delighted he's at the club be it playing, limping about, coaching or in a suit.

Precisely. In years to come, him and Daz will have a massive part to play in helping new players settle in and understand what it means to play for Hibs. I don't doubt both them will be well worth their salaries, whatever their roles are.

bigswissstriker
29-08-2019, 11:48 AM
He’s finished. Get a new right back in and give him a role with the under 20s.

Not so good.

A new right back is now a priority, perhaps SDG given some sort of coaching role?

Way too early to be writing him off as a player. He's only 31.

Think his playing days are coming to an end. Shame as he's a leader on the park. New RB needed asap.

We've got one, Tom James?

Have we got any decent young RB's on the books at the moment that could make the jump to first team?

Marvellous
29-08-2019, 11:50 AM
Not so good.

**** off man. He's 31. He'll be back in 12 weeks.

29-08-2019, 11:52 AM
His time is coming to an end sadly. Needs replaced, but really needed replaced close season.

He was excellent last season when he played - absolutely excellent.

Can’t believe some of the stuff on this thread already. Even if he was ‘finished’ the 4 year deal is completely justified for his services as a player and ambassador for the club.

29-08-2019, 11:53 AM

Have we got any decent young RB's on the books at the moment that could make the jump to first team?

Not sure when James is due back. Is he not long term too?

He’s finished. Get a new right back in and give him a role with the under 20s.

Injury prone? Yes. Finished? No. Give him a chance to at least get back from the injury before writing him off. Yes we need someone else in the meantime.

bigswissstriker

James is injured aswell.

29-08-2019, 11:54 AM

He was, with Tom James.

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 11:55 AM
**** off man. He's 31. He'll be back in 12 weeks.

Charming!

I assume you don’t agree then?

Why would they need to? None of them will be better than Whittaker.

David Gray is not a 'cult hero'. A cult hero is someone admired by a small number of people despite limited success. For Hibs think Jimmy Boco or Joe Tortolano. I can't think of a less appropriate term to describe David Gray given what he has achieved as captain of Hibs.

The man is a 100% bona fide, certified and indisputable legend.

Here’s Lucy!
Why would they need to? None of them will be better than Whittaker.

I agree.

29-08-2019, 11:57 AM
Get well soon, SDG. The quicker we have him back, the better the team will be.

loanheadhibby
29-08-2019, 11:58 AM
I can't think of another Hibs player who has had as much bad luck with injuries over the course of their Hibs career?

1 8 7 5
29-08-2019, 12:01 PM
Gutted. Our tough start just got tougher.

Get well soon SDG.

29-08-2019, 12:04 PM
Its an injury thats unrelated to any previous injuries hes suffered from. He was our best defender 2nd half of last season.

Also James is meant to be back within the next 2 weeks. Dont know if thats training or playing.

Bob Box Fish
29-08-2019, 12:09 PM
Hope he can return from this we play better when he’s leading.

Leanne handed out 8 years of contract between Gray and McGregor lucky to see 40 games from that investment....

Marvellous
29-08-2019, 12:11 PM
Charming!

I assume you don’t agree then?

Sorry. Just can't understand why people are so keen to retire the guy. He's injury prone as hell, no doubt, but let's see how it goes.

29-08-2019, 12:21 PM
People wanting rid and saying he's finished, did you not see how he got injured, not many players would've walked away uninjured after being whacked like that on his ankle, it was a real sore one.

Robbo6-2
29-08-2019, 12:25 PM
Feel sorry for him.

Must be brutal doing all the rehab and then only getting back for a few games.

No pro wants to be injured

29-08-2019, 12:26 PM
Its an injury thats unrelated to any previous injuries hes suffered from. He was our best defender 2nd half of last season.

Also James is meant to be back within the next 2 weeks. Dont know if thats training or playing.

It's certainly a positive that it's unrelated. :agree:

We're a different team when SDG plays. I hope he's back playing ASAP.

I liked James from what I seen of him also. It's good if he's back soon, but we need a solution as we need to be getting 4-6 points from our next 2 games.

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 12:32 PM
David Gray is not a 'cult hero'. A cult hero is someone admired by a small number of people despite limited success. For Hibs think Jimmy Boco or Joe Tortolano. I can't think of a less appropriate term to describe David Gray given what he has achieved as captain of Hibs.

My bad. I have wrongly used the term ‘cult hero’. Your definition of it is spot on.

Club hero and legend, undeniably. :aok:

Sorry. Just can't understand why people are so keen to retire the guy. He's injury prone as hell, no doubt, but let's see how it goes.

Not a problem, I knew exactly where you were coming from actually! :thumbsup:

29-08-2019, 12:32 PM
People wanting rid and saying he's finished, did you not see how he got injured, not many players would've walked away uninjured after being whacked like that on his ankle, it was a real sore one.

To be fair, plenty people were saying similar when he got his mysterious pre season injury. He was still well off the pace as it was.

Granted there isn’t much he could do about this one but he’s constantly playing catch up.

29-08-2019, 12:34 PM
It's not necessarily 4 years as a player though. Some is as a player and some in a coach/ambassador type role to be determined.
Well it's certainly not 4 years as a coach/ambassador (what does an ambassador do), so at least 1 or 2 years playing contract, whole thing needs reviewed.

RossScott1991
29-08-2019, 12:34 PM
Him and Mcgregor are knackered tbh. Should be phasing them out, they aren’t reliable anymore. Get James and another RB for next season, DG can be third choice.. even when he’s played he has lost soo much mobility can’t do that shift anymore

29-08-2019, 12:38 PM
Other than Flo, Steven Whittaker has probably been our best player this season.

This gives him an opportunity to play every week in what is his best position.

29-08-2019, 12:40 PM
Brutal luck. Here's hoping he, Daz, James and Boyler make full and swift recoveries.

Hibernian32
29-08-2019, 12:41 PM
When is James back can't be that long surely?.

29-08-2019, 12:42 PM
Vela can play right back aswell

29-08-2019, 12:42 PM

100% the ultimate legend in this club's history.

In my opinion of course.

29-08-2019, 12:43 PM
When is James back can't be that long surely?.

They said on the 7th of August he’d be out for several weeks

29-08-2019, 12:44 PM

He's been with us four years and made 168 appearances. So is averaging just over 40 games per season. For sake of fairness, he's played 2 this season, so 166 games over 4 full seasons being 41.5 games per season.

For a full back who was under immense pressure under the diamond formation favoured by stubbsy and who would be prime candidate for suspensions, that to me says that if anything, he is the opposite of injury prone.

Begbie79
29-08-2019, 12:47 PM
As much as i love SDG i think we should be dipping into the loan market for some cover in case its a case of the injury coming back.

Hibernian32
29-08-2019, 12:50 PM

Several is 3/4 weeks should be back for the Derby and maybe killy

29-08-2019, 12:55 PM
More bad news on the injury front for us. Anyone who watches us knows we are a better and more rounded team when SDG, (imho).

If you see this SDG, get back here pronto, we need you. Oh! By the way tell the others who are injured to do the same. Thanks.

29-08-2019, 01:07 PM
Anthony Ralston would be an ideal replacement /loan

29-08-2019, 01:22 PM

What good is a player you see for less than half a season?

29-08-2019, 01:30 PM
He’s finished. Get a new right back in and give him a role with the under 20s.Have a word....shocking

29-08-2019, 01:32 PM
Other than Flo, Steven Whittaker has probably been our best player this season.

This gives him an opportunity to play every week in what is his best position.Couldn't agree more been one of the few consistent performers this term and now earns a run at right back

29-08-2019, 01:34 PM

If the half you see of him is driving us on to Scottish Cup successes and making our team noticeably stronger in his position then it should be worth it - we just need to find a decent deputy for the other half season and see if he can still provide us with something whilst out injured.

Hibiza
29-08-2019, 01:36 PM

Spot on .

29-08-2019, 01:39 PM
What's Efe doing?

29-08-2019, 01:40 PM
Pish news. It’s up to Tom James to make the role his own now.

paddy1875
29-08-2019, 01:41 PM
He’ll get back fit again and and he’ll be straight back in the team. People saying he’s past it etc are going a bit over the top. He’s carried injury’s here and there since he arrived at hibs. The role he plays he’s hard and never backs out of tackles. He’s also been around the club from bad times to good. He knows what the fans expect and I’m sure he lets players know playing or not what it means to play for hibs. Anyone expecting a loan player to come in and do the same shift are mental.

29-08-2019, 01:41 PM

He will be back in 2-3 weeks. Have hearts anyone on the wing these days? Whittaker against them will be fine otherwise.

29-08-2019, 01:42 PM
What's Efe doing?

On the beach spending his Derby contract?

29-08-2019, 01:45 PM

Season 17-18 was the only one where he had a long term injury, so far he's played 34, 47 41, 12 and 32 games, not too shabby for an injury prone player. 168 games in 5 seasons is just over 35 games average.

29-08-2019, 01:46 PM
He will be back in 2-3 weeks. Have hearts anyone on the wing these days? Whittaker against them will be fine otherwise.

Mulraney.

hibeerealist
29-08-2019, 01:49 PM

29-08-2019, 01:51 PM
Mulraney.

He’s *****, it’s all good.

29-08-2019, 01:53 PM

Totally. David Gray is a hero/legend/god. Not just for that game I’ll add. (My son is also named after him 😆)

29-08-2019, 01:53 PM
Time to go 3-5-2

It makes sense with the centre backs we have.

The midfield needs 3 in it.

Flo and Doidge can form a partnership.

29-08-2019, 01:58 PM
Time to go 3-5-2

Daz is injured so we only have 3 fit CH's, he'll stay 4 at the back.

29-08-2019, 01:58 PM
Time to go 3-5-2

Yep I’d go with this

Jackson Mcgregor/Porteous Hanlon

Vela and Swedish guy sitting in midfield Allan just a head of them

Middleton one side and Horgan the other

Kamberi Doidge up top

Oh aye just remembered mcgregor is injured

29-08-2019, 02:09 PM
Yep I’d go with this

Kamberi Doidge up top

Horgan is never a wing back.

29-08-2019, 02:18 PM
That's horrific. We are a much poorer side with him. Just the kind of news Heckingbottom needs at the minute.

If there was an Injured XI Premier League, we'd absolutely walk it :rolleyes:

29-08-2019, 02:24 PM

Good shout, even as cover until Jan

29-08-2019, 02:27 PM
Yep I’d go with this

Kamberi Doidge up top

Playing wingback is a specialist role.

Vela could be a good shout at right back / wing back.

What happens if Whittaker gets injured ?

My worry is teams will target him at RB and his lack of speed.

This is where I am amazed we don't have a development player ready to be involved - who would that be ?

29-08-2019, 02:38 PM

It was his knee. Sounds like medial ligament possibly.

29-08-2019, 02:47 PM
Totally. David Gray is a hero/legend/god. Not just for that game I’ll add. (My son is also named after him 😆)

You named your son, Sir David?

29-08-2019, 03:01 PM
Hope he can return from this we play better when he’s leading.

Leanne handed out 8 years of contract between Gray and McGregor lucky to see 40 games from that investment....

And nobody at the club will be bothered.

That contract was about more than playing games for HIbs.

29-08-2019, 03:04 PM

Think he meant Gray 😁

heidtheba
29-08-2019, 03:10 PM

This. Every away game at Tynecastle I went to seemed to have some ex-Hearts player at half time, some 'legend', someone who was 'Hearts through-and-through', we didn't seem to have that at ER (although I've been away for years). I struggled to think of ex-Hibs players who really were seen by us in the same way as that lot saw those ex-players for half-time draws. We couldn't even get back the Sauzees due to off-field things. I think having someone who gets Hibs, who loves their time with us, who didn't ditch us for the Old Firm, who never shirked on the field and who got the results SDG did is vital to the future of the club. Imagine being a Hibs daft youngster and seeing that guy come through the door to give you a pep-talk about what it means to play for the club, or even imagine being someone who never heard of the club and has signed on the line at the last minute...

I'm delighted we're keeping some of the cup winning team around.

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 03:11 PM
Think he meant Gray 😁

Or, Sir? :greengrin

29-08-2019, 03:20 PM

29-08-2019, 04:53 PM
Playing wingback is a specialist role.

Vela could be a good shout at right back / wing back.

What happens if Whittaker gets injured ?

My worry is teams will target him at RB and his lack of speed.

This is where I am amazed we don't have a development player ready to be involved - who would that be ?

You are amazed we don't have a team of dev players ready for first team football? Who in the world has that?

29-08-2019, 05:08 PM

Sir David Lord Gray of 90+2. What a name!

29-08-2019, 05:15 PM
It was his knee. Sounds like medial ligament possibly.

Didn't realise it was his knee when I posted, still applies though that he is not injury prone as he took a real hefty whack during the challenge, a challenge he was in control if until Allan came through the back of the other player.

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 05:16 PM
Sir David Lord Gray of 90+2. What a name!

It could only be bettered if the wee chap was born on the 21st of May.

EVENTUALLY
29-08-2019, 05:17 PM
Yep I’d go with this

Kamberi Doidge up top

3 Central defenders have served Hibs very well in recent seasons and I'm firmly of the view that the make up of the current squad would be the way forward.

Whitaker could play in a back 3.

29-08-2019, 05:20 PM
And nobody at the club will be bothered.

That contract was about more than playing games for HIbs.

They are playing and coaching contracts, as was made clear at the time. Some folk seem unable to get that.

29-08-2019, 05:51 PM
3 Central defenders have served Hibs very well in recent seasons and I'm firmly of the view that the make up of the current squad would be the way forward.

Whitaker could play in a back 3.

One of my biggest concerns about PH going forward is that he is a devout 4 at the back man.

Being wedded to 4 at the back brings problems further forward with our available personnel. Playing 3 at the back would sort some of those (such as getting 2 strikers and Scott Allan central into the team) but does introduce others, such as what to do with Horgan and Middleton.

29-08-2019, 05:52 PM

What's that got to do with him being constantly injured?

29-08-2019, 06:58 PM
Well it's certainly not 4 years as a coach/ambassador (what does an ambassador do), so at least 1 or 2 years playing contract, whole thing needs reviewed.

Hands out the Ferrero Rocher at parties.

Here's the link to George Craig's interview about it. Skip to 4 mins in to hear about the coach/ambassador part. https://youtu.be/KA6jTUegPS8

29-08-2019, 07:01 PM

Nothing. It was a reply to someone who incorrectly described David Gray as a cult hero.

29-08-2019, 07:13 PM
Vela can play right back aswell

As well as where else? Has just drifted along so far and not shown himself to be honest.

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 07:14 PM

Nothing at all. It was in response to myself, who used the wrong terminology to describe SDG. I have long since admitted my error.

Nothing. It was a reply to someone who incorrectly described David Gray as a cult hero.

Correct.:aok:

Here’s Lucy!
29-08-2019, 07:16 PM
As well as where else? Has just drifted along so far and not shown himself to be honest.

I agree.

No set position seems obvious, so far. :aok:

29-08-2019, 07:17 PM
Pish news. It’s up to Tom James to make the role his own now.

The injury prone right back role? He's made a good start.

29-08-2019, 07:22 PM
The injury prone right back role? He's made a good start.

Sorry, but it was a dreadful tackle on him by the St mirren player

29-08-2019, 07:43 PM

I agree. I was just pointing out that we don’t need to sign another RB.

Vela was especially lost when Hecky moved him into the advanced midfield role on Saturday. I really don’t see what his strengths are so far.

Lennon apparently played him at RB for Bolton. When he signed for us there were a few jokes about that, “Lennon with his crazy team selections” etc. After a few games I’m starting to see why he ended up at right back for Bolton.

29-08-2019, 07:59 PM
I agree. I was just pointing out that we don’t need to sign another RB.

Vela was especially lost when Hecky moved him into the advanced midfield role on Saturday. I really don’t see what his strengths are so far.

Lennon apparently played him at RB for Bolton. When he signed for us there were a few jokes about that, “Lennon with his crazy team selections” etc. After a few games I’m starting to see why he ended up at right back for Bolton.

Fair enough, maybe Lennon was right and we have scored, like you I hope he shows up well in at least one position 👍

29-08-2019, 08:01 PM
James was signed to be Gray's eventual replacement so it's down to him to make that happen.

We have three natural right backs and Jackson/Porteous can go there if required. We don't need to sign another.

29-08-2019, 08:25 PM
Given our issues at RB, our lack of any defensive qualities in midfield and the fact that McGregor is also injured, should we not be thinking about bringing Tommy Block back, even if just for cover on the bench?

29-08-2019, 09:19 PM
Sorry, but it was a dreadful tackle on him by the St mirren player

Meant it as a joke, should've used a smiley. I don't think James is injury prone. It was a horrendous tackle, I couldn't believe Durmus didn't even get a yellow as it could've been a straight red. Compliance Officer should've taken a look at it. Talking of which, I've not heard of the Compliance Officer looking at anything yet this season when last season it seemed like there was something every week.

29-08-2019, 11:56 PM

That Whittaker laddie is doin' fine

30-08-2019, 06:18 AM
Just a question, does anyone think the reason we have so many injuries is due to our game being over physical or underskilled.
I believe players should be better protected from teams like hertz and dons. Skill needs to flourish, mibbe another reason why were pish in Europe and go out so early, as every other country or most have progressed from hacking to focussing on skill/tactical?