View Full Version : Embarrassing "support" today
24-08-2019, 10:40 PM
His comments are actually a bit cowardly IMO.
Take some responsibility.
24-08-2019, 10:44 PM
The fans didn’t help
The fans are not to blame. The fans over the past few seasons have been awesome and have produced some of the best atmospheres I’ve ever seen at Easter Road and Im going back a while. The problem is the awful football, tactics, momentum and signings of an utterly uninspiring manager who is taking us backwards. Its categorically NOT the long suffering fans fault and it’s infuriating that folk push this rubbish out. We pay year after year good money to follow Hibs desperate for success, it is not now or ever has been the fault of the fans when the club fail to deliver with record crowds and ST holders. Total and utter nonsense to blame the fans.
Rumble de Thump
24-08-2019, 10:44 PM
Yes. He blatantly states the anxiousness from the stands affected the players performance. I’m sorry but the players should be more than capable of playing at Easter Road in front of an expectant crowd. Instead they crumbled and we got dominated by ****ing St Johnstone!
You don't need to apologies. Which interview was this? The Hibs supporters should obviously support the Hibs team and put pressure on the opposition. Anything else would be bizarre.
Rumble de Thump
24-08-2019, 10:47 PM
The fans are not to blame. The fans over the past few seasons have been awesome and have produced some of the best atmospheres I’ve ever seen at Easter Road and Im going back a while. The problem is the awful football, tactics, momentum and signings of an utterly uninspiring manager who is taking us backwards. Its categorically NOT the long suffering fans fault and it’s infuriating that folk push this rubbish out. We pay year after year good money to follow Hibs desperate for success, it is not now or ever has been the fault of the fans when the club fail to deliver with record crowds and ST holders. Total and utter nonsense to blame the fans.
Can we be awesome when not winning the Scottish Cup, winning a league or qualifying for Europe? Definitely.
Partyraiser
24-08-2019, 10:49 PM
The fans didn’t help
The team was playing pish long before the fans turned, and the team was playing pish because of the way the manager set them up. To attempt to blame the fans for that today is a complete nonsense.
I've been defending heck and advocating giving him more time, but I'm losing faith and interviews like that do him no favours
hibeerealist
24-08-2019, 11:14 PM
What a heartless ****. What a terrible thing to say. Obvious to any watcher and 100% accurate, of course.
Nonsense and if if they can’t handle that today god help us in a derby.
hibeerealist
24-08-2019, 11:19 PM
The fans didn’t help
:confused: Aye blame the fans, better still let’s play without fans eh. Happy clappers could get special entry tickets as they will not shout at the players as it might upset them or make them nervous........
What a forum
:confused: Aye blame the fans, better still let’s play without fans eh. Happy clappers could get special entry tickets as they will not shout at the players as it might upset them or make them nervous........
What a forum
I said “the fans didn’t help” I didn’t blame the fans or excuse the performance you ****ing maniac
24-08-2019, 11:45 PM
Haven't listened to his post match excuses. If he has the temerity to blame the fans he might as well pack the bags tomorrow.
People booed when this idiot..... having played Allan in the wrong position......subbed him off. He is clueless and hopeless and needs sacked.
24-08-2019, 11:49 PM
Haven't listened to his post match excuses. If he has the temerity to blame the fans he might as well pack the bags tomorrow.
People booed when this idiot..... having played Allan in the wrong position......subbed him off. He is clueless and hopeless and needs sacked.
24-08-2019, 11:50 PM
Really wish you wouldn't sit on the fence. Just tell us what you really think.
green with envy
24-08-2019, 11:58 PM
Disgusting stuff. Hope the booers don't come back. Football might be back to calderwood days but support certainly is. Away games will be better like they were then, when people actually turn up to support the tea.
Really, i've been supporting Hibs H&A for over 40 years even up till now i go to every game and because I booed the decision for taking SA off, I should not go back?
25-08-2019, 12:36 AM
Really, i've been supporting Hibs H&A for over 40 years even up till now i go to every game and because I booed the decision for taking SA off, I should not go back?
You weren't supporting Hibs today if you were booing subs when we were winning. That isn't support. Do you boo family members if they don't follow your advice? Or do you support them and hope it works out?
25-08-2019, 12:44 AM
You weren't supporting Hibs today if you were booing subs when we were winning. That isn't support. Do you boo family members if they don't follow your advice? Or do you support them and hope it works out?
You’ve got to realise that people are frustrated at what’s going on. You are constantly having a go at folk who think we are going to end up in the **** again. The manager played our best creative midfielder out of position today then took him off. If you can’t see why the Hibs FANS showed their displeasure to this I’ve no idea what you were watching. Stop having ago at supporters, ridiculous!
25-08-2019, 12:49 AM
You’ve got to realise that people are frustrated at what’s going on. You are constantly having a go at folk who think we are going to end up in the **** again. The manager played our best creative midfielder out of position today then took him off. If you can’t see why the Hibs FANS showed their displeasure to this I’ve no idea what you were watching. Stop having ago at supporters, ridiculous!
I understand why people are frustrated.
We were winning, they booed the sub, we drew. How exactly did booing help?
25-08-2019, 12:58 AM
Booing doesn’t help obviously. We are heading in the wrong direction and it appears to the majority of the fans who’ve suffered all of this before that things are not right. Every Hibs fan went today wanting to win and I’ve never in all my years of going to ER heard a substitution booed like that. You are blaming the fans!! If we’d won today it would have been daylight robbery and blaming the Hibs fans is way off the mark. We’re not all experts but we’ve got loads of experience of spotting pish 😂
25-08-2019, 01:12 AM
I've read this nonsense a few times now - people were booing the manager, not the players. Quite simple to understand.
andybev1
25-08-2019, 01:19 AM
How exactly did taking Allen off help?
SideBurns
25-08-2019, 02:17 AM
I thought the fans were fine until he took off our most creative player. Jesus, we're a hard enough watch as it is without the chance that Allan might get us off our seats.
ColintonHibs
25-08-2019, 02:20 AM
He is and you you are in a small minority of Hibs fans if you think he is not!!
Doige is our best player
25-08-2019, 06:56 AM
If you booed do not go to next match then all will be fine only people in stadium will be folk who do not boo. Then we can seriously go for the title.
25-08-2019, 07:33 AM
If you booed do not go to next match then all will be fine only people in stadium will be folk who do not boo. Then we can seriously go for the title.
It will also help the scanners at the turnstiles as only around 1000 fans will turn up.
25-08-2019, 07:54 AM
The booing didn't help but that's not the 1st time Hibs players have gone into their shell this season.
For the 1st time in years we looked utterly terrified at Ibrox. Newall in particular just looked like a scared wee laddie and it showed in his performance. John McGinn was a very good footballer but what will take him to the very top is his attitude and mentality. 'Hearts away, love it'. Can you imagine that coming from Slivka, Mallan or Vela?
Football is a brutal game when the chips are down and it needs strong characters. If we don't have them then Heckingbottom et al better find some this week or there's going to be a lot more days like yesterday.
25-08-2019, 08:12 AM
The fans didn’t help
Support of the fans is very important but I honestly don’t think it was a factor yesterday.
Our team simply couldn’t keep possession and control the game. That spread anxiety to the stands, not the other way around.
25-08-2019, 08:18 AM
Wasn't booing myself but can't blame anyone who was booing. Spending money and wasting time to watch that utter garbage...again. The man is clueless and saying the atmosphere is in any way to blame is ridiculous because it's the same chronic football every week.
BlackSheep
25-08-2019, 08:20 AM
Heckingbottom states that the anxiety from the crowd bled into the field and affected the players.... but where on earth did he think the anxiety in the crowd cane from???
A pumping from Rangers, struggling at home to Morton and then a poor second half yesterday... it’s no wonder the crowd were anxious, we’ve seen it before and know what’s coming. I for one am sick of biting my nails and sitting on the edge of my seat in worry for the last 20 mins of every game!! I joked with friends that we need a 3 goal lead to relax... it’s actually true!!!
25-08-2019, 08:21 AM
Support of the fans is very important but I honestly don’t think it was a factor yesterday.
Our team simply couldn’t keep possession and control the game. That spread anxiety to the stands, not the other way around.
Spot on. The fans were only anxious because of the way the team were playing and have played previously.
WestStandWillie
25-08-2019, 08:27 AM
His comments are actually a bit cowardly IMO.
Take some responsibility.
Yep and those comments will most likely haunt him till he’s sacked next month. It’s now a case of when rather then if.
25-08-2019, 08:37 AM
Tame stuff compared to the 80’s. Players like Stevenson and Hanlon were poor yesterday and I don’t believe they’ve suddenly become crap overnight. The manager deserves the stick he got as the boos were firmly aimed towards him. Tactically inept, wrong substitutions and none of his signing have improved on the players who left.
Chefki Kuqi
25-08-2019, 08:41 AM
The booing at the Allan sub was ridiculous IMO, may not have agreed with the way Allan was deployed during the game but perhaps Heck was just taking care of his best player?
***** football though, disappointing that its panned out this way thus far but I’d wait until we’ve played all 11 other teams this year before making any decisions. Heck could come good, and I still think on balance he might, but he needs to be learning from these mistakes.
WestStandWillie
25-08-2019, 08:42 AM
What really grinds my gears is morons slamming seats. Oooh ya hard man.
25-08-2019, 08:50 AM
The booing at the Allan sub was ridiculous IMO, may not have agreed with the way Allan was deployed during the game but perhaps Heck was just taking care of his best player?
***** football though, disappointing that its panned out this way thus far but I’d wait until we’ve played all 11 other teams this year before making any decisions. Heck could come good, and I still think on balance he might, but he needs to be learning from these mistakes.
He clearly hasn't learned from his mistakes, he started Scott Allan in a similar position against St Mirren, him moving more central resulted in our winning goal. He wasn't great yesterday, I don't think anyone can disagree with that, but still contributed more than Mallan. Playing him out of position again, substituting him instead of Mallan deserves the reaction he received IMO.
Fergos
25-08-2019, 08:54 AM
The booing didn't help but that's not the 1st time Hibs players have gone into their shell this season.
For the 1st time in years we looked utterly terrified at Ibrox. Newall in particular just looked like a scared wee laddie and it showed in his performance. John McGinn was a very good footballer but what will take him to the very top is his attitude and mentality. 'Hearts away, love it'. Can you imagine that coming from Slivka, Mallan or Vela?
Football is a brutal game when the chips are down and it needs strong characters. If we don't have them then Heckingbottom et al better find some this week or there's going to be a lot more days like yesterday.
Totally agree. Said on another post that we are really lacking big characters, leaders in this side. Ibrox was a horrible example of this.
No Daz or SDG and we are bereft of character in Phs side. In losing Marv, Milli and SJM we lost more than just footballers, we lost players with the ability to lead.
25-08-2019, 08:55 AM
The booing is out of frustration. How that is interpreted and why folk were doing it is equally up for question. Why is it not embarrassing then that folk have jumped on the action and then used it to back fill their own agendas?
25-08-2019, 09:06 AM
Do not buy into the fans booing worked against the players at all. After the first 30 minutes we were brutal. He wasnt subbed until an hour in.
Chefki Kuqi
25-08-2019, 09:11 AM
Must admit after the second went in I gave the chair to my right a wee donk. Apologies, should know better.
Doige is our best player
You've came out with a few real beauties after the game, top trolling.:thumbsup:
25-08-2019, 09:20 AM
Stubbs and Lennon. For different reasons. While a lot of it was in the Championship, the one common thing throughout these years was a strong understanding of what the club were trying to achieve. Before Leeann joined we were inconsistent, as we are now, but we had lack of trust in Rod and Farmer. Leeann came in and the initial period felt like a healing period, Stubbs added to that as he spoke well and seemed a really likeable guy, we had heroes on the park. We played reasonably good football but lacked cutting edge. We won the cup. Stubbs leaves but we recruit Lennon who was a big name. We get promotion with relative ease and have a great first season back up. We ended up being a bit of an arrogant team, gung-ho sometimes but had things like the 5-5 game vs Rangers to enjoy.
This was a rewarding period, we could see the club trying to right some wrongs. Without saying any words the fans knew what was happening and what the priorities were. That’s gone now, especially with Ron taking over. I don’t have a clue what the club’s ambitions are, what our footballing philosophies are, nothing. It’s like going back to Rod and Farmer. Keep paying to come along, we’ve got big plans (buildings and infrastructure) or executive stuff but we’ll only tell you when it gets to that stage. All the while, please watch a shocking standard of football every week. Budgets haven’t changed...
Our football club has lost its way in my opinion. I think in some regards we’ve forgotten the key thing is to have a successful team now. Not planning for one in 30 years. Need kids growing up supporting Hibs and that won’t happen if nobody is going to the games...Chamber of Commerce and all that. All I’m bothered with is what’s going on at ER, get that right ffs.
Really good post. I wonder if Leeann and Ron are having a long conversation about things.
keith_darcy
25-08-2019, 10:35 AM
As like everyone else I am of the opinion Allan should never have been played wide right yesterday. However, I agreed with the decision to take him off. He had a really poor game - yes he was playing out of position but his touch was poor and he was very rarely finding a Hibs shirt when making a pass. Couple this with the fact he was offering no defensive cover for the full back. Heckys also came out and said he’s been carrying a knock all week.
The issue I’m more concerned about is that he pushed Vela further up the park to play behind Kamberi leaving Mallan and Slivka as the two deeper midfielders. I thought Vela was having a good game yesterday. He was showing good energy, breaking things up and winning his fair share of 2nd balls. After the substitutions we stopped winning tackles/2nd balls in the middle of the park which gave them complete control of the game.
25-08-2019, 10:48 AM
Stubbs and Lennon. For different reasons. While a lot of it was in the Championship, the one common thing throughout these years was a strong understanding of what the club were trying to achieve. Before Leeann joined we were inconsistent, as we are now, but we had lack of trust in Rod and Farmer. Leeann came in and the initial period felt like a healing period, Stubbs added to that as he spoke well and seemed a really likeable guy, we had heroes on the park. We played reasonably good football but lacked cutting edge. We won the cup. Stubbs leaves but we recruit Lennon who was a big name. We get promotion with relative ease and have a great first season back up. We ended up being a bit of an arrogant team, gung-ho sometimes but had things like the 5-5 game vs Rangers to enjoy.
This was a rewarding period, we could see the club trying to right some wrongs. Without saying any words the fans knew what was happening and what the priorities were. That’s gone now, especially with Ron taking over. I don’t have a clue what the club’s ambitions are, what our footballing philosophies are, nothing. It’s like going back to Rod and Farmer. Keep paying to come along, we’ve got big plans (buildings and infrastructure) or executive stuff but we’ll only tell you when it gets to that stage. All the while, please watch a shocking standard of football every week. Budgets haven’t changed...
Our football club has lost its way in my opinion. I think in some regards we’ve forgotten the key thing is to have a successful team now. Not planning for one in 30 years. Need kids growing up supporting Hibs and that won’t happen if nobody is going to the games...Chamber of Commerce and all that. All I’m bothered with is what’s going on at ER, get that right ffs.
Brilliant post, agree with all of it but your last paragraph is something I’ve been banging on about for a while now. That’s all LD.
She needs to decide if her 5 years are up or if she’s here long term.
Or maybe Ron needs to decide. A bit of leadership from him soon would be welcome. First 100 days coming up...
25-08-2019, 10:50 AM
Aye, it's a big problem right enough.
25-08-2019, 11:36 AM
One of the most toxic atmospheres i can remember at Easter Road. Even worse than the dark days of Lennon. The players confidence looks shot with all the booing. Really really sad. Im sure a bit of real support would have got us over the line today. I'm off this for a while before the inevitable abuse us directed my way.
So you’re throwing a grenade and then running away like a coward?
25-08-2019, 11:44 AM
There's been a fair bit of that since yesterday.
If you have an opinion, or want to make an unfounded accusation, at least stand your ground and argue your point.
25-08-2019, 11:48 AM
Totally agree. Said on another post that we are really lacking big characters, leaders in this side. Ibrox was a horrible example of this.
No Daz or SDG and we are bereft of character in Phs side. In losing Marv, Milli and SJM we lost more than just footballers, we lost players with the ability to lead.
Agree with both posts. It would help if the manager displayed some leadership too by owning his mistakes.
25-08-2019, 12:19 PM
Think Vela will be up for Hearts at Tynie. He takes players out in every game.
25-08-2019, 12:23 PM
I think the fans got behind the team after the first equaliser and when we scored. Then followed the team into a shell. The players set the tone for the fans. Been on a downward spiral since the start of last season.
25-08-2019, 12:24 PM
Think Vela will be up for Hearts at Tynie. He takes players out in every game.
That’s 17 games away, we need results and Vela contributing a lot more before then.
hibeerealist
25-08-2019, 12:29 PM
Doige is our best player
Comedian!!
broondog
25-08-2019, 12:31 PM
Have to disagree with those saying this is worse than the dark days of Lennon.weve made two awful appointments.one manager who knows Scottish football, can motivate, but his attitude meant it was always going to end in tears. Lennon was awful for us.hecky while he started well, doesn’t know Scottish football and isn’t a manager. Decent coach but he just doesn’t have an eye for a signing and the excuses after the match about it somehow being the fans fault, utterly pathetic.that performance and result warranted booing, it did. You may choose not to boo that’s fine but it shouldn’t affect the players who are profesionals.they need to know the pressures that come with playing for a big club and it must be better.agree the main fault is at Heckys door. Just hope we can bring someone in of a decent quality next time. 3 **** appointments in a row would be unforgivable. Get the next one right Hibs FFS
25-08-2019, 12:34 PM
Have to disagree with those saying this is worse than the dark days of Lennon.weve made two awful appointments.one manager who knows Scottish football, can motivate, but his attitude meant it was always going to end in tears. Lennon was awful for us.hecky while he started well, doesn’t know Scottish football and isn’t a manager. Decent coach but he just doesn’t have an eye for a signing and the excuses after the match about it somehow being the fans fault, utterly pathetic.that performance and result warranted booing, it did. You may choose not to boo that’s fine but it shouldn’t affect the players who are profesionals.they need to know the pressures that come with playing for a big club and it must be better.agree the main fault is at Heckys door. Just hope we can bring someone in of a decent quality next time. 3 **** appointments in a row would be unforgivable. Get the next one right Hibs FFS
Lennon wasn’t awful for us. That’s just silly.
hibeerealist
25-08-2019, 12:38 PM
I said “the fans didn’t help” I didn’t blame the fans or excuse the performance you ****ing maniac
Whatever Happy Clapper you are top man!!!
25-08-2019, 12:39 PM
The booing was merited and deserved - the players lacked desire and passion. Don't give 100% you'll receive what you deserve and the support were/are well within their rights to boo. The football is eye bleeding this season. It's like a Fenlon era again.
25-08-2019, 12:40 PM
If you have an opinion, or want to make an unfounded accusation, at least stand your ground and argue your point.
sixtwo
25-08-2019, 12:43 PM
I didn’t go to the game. After 20 odd years of being a season ticket holder I had enough. I don’t identify with this team of *****y English lower league players. I find them arrogant. I think the manager is the same. Fair play to those who go and vented their frustrations. They are more patient than me. They have the absolute right to boo. It’s the happy clappers that tolerate crap like butcher and Duffy and cause us to suffer
25-08-2019, 12:44 PM
Granades? Coward? Are you for real?
25-08-2019, 01:01 PM
Think you need to get down off your high horse pal. Absolutely nothing to do with you what a poster choses to do. My point was clearly made. Why do i need to stand and argue it?
25-08-2019, 01:05 PM
Funny how people are aggressively debating the boos...
Well paid footballers get protected because fans will have their back (because they are supporters). Whether rightly or wrongly the very same fans on here and elsewhere are willing to dish it out to fellow fans when they find a fellow fans opinion a lot of drivel. Same is true the other way.
Not taking sides, just find it hilarious that fans asking players and management for an apology after Rangers result were told to grow up and not expect everything to go their way in life, same fans seemingly continually protect grown men who are invariably not doing their jobs...I just don’t see where the tipping point is. We don’t have control on anything at the club so do we boo or do we stop turning up? We need some way of showing our displeasure. Do we wait for another relegation? Our standard of football is appalling, no way around that. It stinks.
It is a sport but at the core of it, it is still a job. Performances this season show players aren’t, willingly or otherwise, doing their jobs. Why should referees have to handle boos but football players paid much more shouldn’t?
All I hear this season is excuses. Hated Lennon’s management at times but I expect we’re mentally weak and walk overs now, it shows on the park.
Fans need to be mentally stronger so that players don’t get anxious, ok then...
Think we should stop the infighting and just agree we are just a bit garbage at the moment. Unite on that common ground.
25-08-2019, 01:08 PM
I didn’t go to the game. After 20 odd years of being a season ticket holder I had enough. I don’t identify with this team of *****y English lower league players. I find them arrogant. I think the manager is the same. Fair play to those who go and vented their frustrations. They are more patient than me. They have the absolute right to boo. It’s the happy clappers that tolerate crap like butcher and Duffy and cause us to suffer
Its nothing like Butcher or Duffy.
25-08-2019, 01:10 PM
One of the most toxic atmospheres i can remember at Easter Road. Even worse than the dark days of Lennon. The players confidence looks shot with all the booing. Really really sad. Im sure a bit of real support would have got us over the line today. I'm off this for a while before the inevitable abuse us directed my way.
Is that you Paul? Aye thats right create a thread to criticise the support and then say your going off it!
25-08-2019, 01:13 PM
Funny how people are aggressively debating the boos...
Well paid footballers get protected because fans will have their back (because they are supporters). Whether rightly or wrongly the very same fans on here and elsewhere are willing to dish it out to fellow fans when they find a fellow fans opinion a lot of drivel. Same is true the other way.
Not taking sides, just find it hilarious that fans asking players and management for an apology after Rangers result were told to grow up and not expect everything to go their way in life, same fans seemingly continually protect grown men who are invariably not doing their jobs...I just don’t see where the tipping point is. We don’t have control on anything at the club so do we boo or do we stop turning up? We need some way of showing our displeasure. Do we wait for another relegation? Our standard of football is appalling, no way around that. It stinks.
It is a sport but at the core of it, it is still a job. Performances this season show players aren’t, willingly or otherwise, doing their jobs. Why should referees have to handle boos but football players paid much more shouldn’t?
All I hear this season is excuses. Hated Lennon’s management at times but I expect we’re mentally weak and walk overs now, it shows on the park.
Fans need to be mentally stronger so that players don’t get anxious, ok then...
Think we should stop the infighting and just agree we are just a bit garbage at the moment. Unite on that common ground.
Hear hear!
sixtwo
25-08-2019, 01:25 PM
Its nothing like Butcher or Duffy.
In your opinion darling.
The Leith Dutch
25-08-2019, 01:26 PM
Agree - it stemmed from a player who was garbage all game and offered no defensive cover, during a period we were getting over run
Good player Allan is, hes not bullet proof - changes were designed to take back some grip in midfield
I posted in match thread that the balance is wrong in midfield - I actually think our biggest problem is Vela not being up to speed and totally knackered by 60 odd minutes, allied to the folk alongside him being inept defensively
Anyway - Heckinbottom will likely be gone in a few months....even if he turns things round there will always be a decent section of the support waiting to wail at the first sign of trouble
Totally agree that Allan isn't and shouldn't be irreplaceable.
But the bit in bold kind of brings home where a lot of the frustration comes from.
We were getting over run because the formation was appalling and had no functioning midfield.
While I want all our players to offer defensive options when we need it I feel we need to set up in a way that makes it less criticial that the attacking players defend.
It's unfortunately massively critical because we're opening the game with 5 attacking players so we were always going to be under the cosh.
jazza7-0
25-08-2019, 01:27 PM
Can't quite believe comparisons with previous managers at present, really think a little perspective is needed.
Firstly there is no doubt that we are going through a tough spell and normally that's where the support is so important, the twelve man!
So lets look at the facts. The manager has lost 20 percent, won 50 percent and drawn 30 percent of games played which is at petty good record.
Last season he was seen as being fairly astute in a number of games and at the start of the season there was no negatively on here and people were fairly optimistic.
Start judging the players brought in and the team around christmas and give the players support, it may just make a difference and help them settle in.
Think you need to get down off your high horse pal. Absolutely nothing to do with you what a poster choses to do. My point was clearly made. Why do i need to stand and argue it?
It's called trolling, make a statement or start a thread and sit back to watch the carnage unfold, if you had a point, then stay around and argue that point, otherwise you're just trolling.
25-08-2019, 02:54 PM
lol, jeezo your going wayyyyyyyy back eh, or do you prefer just to stick with lennon as per
:)
1875-Hibernia
25-08-2019, 03:00 PM
Took some time to reflect on this post “embarrassing “support” today” and give myself a cool head after the anger I left Easter Road with yesterday.
I don’t think the support were embarrassing at all. I agree most times that a huge section of fans are sheep at times and will echo what they’re hearing next to them. However, the boos imo were warranted- whether they were booing at the subs or booing at that lack of passion and drive on the park. Fans spend a hell of a lot of money at Easter Road. But it’s not just the money. It’s the lifetime hours and commitment you put in to it. That for me equals your right to express yourself in any non violent/aggressive way you choose how. PH has come out and said it’s mentally affecting the players and Stevenson said similar previously, I’m all for backing the team. In return I want passion and commitment and energy on the pitch and that’s not their right now.
The problem we have, again just imo, is that we already had an ageing defence and nobody supporting them. With a bare squad. We have brought players in but I realistically don’t see them all being here playing regularly in the next 3-4 years and that’s an issue. That also goes with PH, his tactics have been very questionable and his interviews constantly backtracking what he originally said. I don’t want to see RG being gun-hoe and replacing manager after manager, but I also don’t see PH being the man to take us forward and that’s where we should be looking to go forward. Not accepting mid table finishes. I want Europe and we should have the facilities and budget to push for Europe.
Unfortunately the atmosphere is as stale and hard as my steak pie I got yesterday
Heedersnvolleys
25-08-2019, 03:02 PM
So was it the booing that made us draw or was it the sub?
25-08-2019, 03:06 PM
Unfortunately the atmosphere is as stale and hard as my steak pie I got yesterday
treat yourself to a greggs in future, your wallet and stomach will appreciate it :aok: the more folk that stop buying the crap at ER the better chance something will be done about it
1875-Hibernia
25-08-2019, 03:17 PM
treat yourself to a greggs in future, your wallet and stomach will appreciate it :aok: the more folk that stop buying the crap at ER the better chance something will be done about it
You have my full backing for this. £10 for three waters and a pie is scandalous. Cheek not to give me plastic water bottle, in case of recklessness. I could’ve seriously hurt someone with the brick hard pie!
25-08-2019, 03:24 PM
Heckingbottom got his team selection and set up wrong yesterday...and he reaped the approbation of the crowd as a result. He seems prone to changing his team every week rather than play a settled one and it is hurting us.
He should concentrate players in their natural positions.
Flo up front with big Doige demands Allan in CM not out right.
Dont juggle your keepers. Rocky is the better of the two but his distribution is poorer but by swapping them each week the back 4 havent a clue where to expect the ball.
Everyone can see Mallan is struggling but one week hes not stripped and the next it doesnt matter how out of his depth he gets to plays the whole game.
Slivka brings more to the midfield when he backs up Allan.
One week you discover banging long diagonals to Middleton works, the next week you have him trying to be defensive getting in Stevensons road.
Whittaker, for all his detractors, is offering more defensively than any of our other wing backs on either side. He needs to be playing not on the bench.
Neither SDG or Lewey are fully fit and a yard off the pace. Until they are up to speed play the fit players.
Lets hope the Big Neep can inject some dynamism and the team kicks on but the manager needs to address his uncertainty and timidness as its being transmitted to the players and affecting performances.
25-08-2019, 03:43 PM
Hibs fans booing their own team?
Not Hibs fans in my book. Bloody disappointing performance and result but if we’d held on for 3 points, all would be fine.
Can’t be arsed with all these so called fans who behave like spoiled brats when things don’t go their wayA win would have just papered over the cracks yesterday mate...we were abysmal for 3 quarters of that match...imo we didn't even deserve a point.
We certainly did not deserve to win the match. I've been in the give Hecky more time camp till now but I'm starting to run out of support for him as the weeks go by...that's 3 weeks running where weve been pretty abject
Johnny Clash
25-08-2019, 04:24 PM
I suppose those who felt the need to boo were getting their message across to Hecky (and the board) rather than thinking it would do our players any good. Can’t imagine any team would play better getting pelters from the stands so I just hope this doesn’t become a trend.
25-08-2019, 04:31 PM
[QUOTE=Borderhibbie76;5904799]A win would have just papered over the cracks yesterday mate...we were abysmal for 3 quarters of that match...imo we didn't even deserve a point.
We certainly did not deserve to win the match. I've been in the give Hecky more time camp till now but I'm starting to run out of support for him as
The majority of us have been saying something is wrong either with personnel we have or our tactics. We have been prepared to watch and wait and 4 games in we are vindicated. However things could still turn around. We should not boo during a match as i believe it undermines our team. Especially booing substitutions is not on. That assumes that ee know more about game management and player conditions than staff. We do not. Please write to the club to make your views clear. Booing a team or even part of it is wrong when we are there to give them our support.
25-08-2019, 07:47 PM
I reckon we’ll see a pretty decent travelling support on Saturday. Often in times of struggles we see a rallying of the fans to help dig us out. Once folk start to cool down after yesterday’s late capitulation the attention will shift to Motherwell and enthusiasm and anticipation starts to rise and dare I say it, even look forward to the short trip to North Lanarkshire. I think we’ll see between 2 & 2,500 heading through.
25-08-2019, 07:58 PM
How else would you describe this?
25-08-2019, 08:00 PM
I reckon we’ll see a pretty decent travelling support on Saturday. Often in times of struggles we see a rallying of the fans to help dig us out. Once folk start to cool down after yesterday’s late capitulation the attention will shift to Motherwell and enthusiasm and anticipation starts to rise and dare I say it, even look forward to the short trip to North Lanarkshire. I think we’ll see between 2 & 2,500 heading through.
I like the sentiment but yesterday was not a late capitulation, it was just capitulation. Fans calming down doesn’t make the players play better.
Fans calming down and Hecky’s comments still annoy me. Reason being, imagine the reaction Real Madrid and Barcelona would get if they played shocking football every week? Fans would boo, fans would be outraged. Well beyond what happened at ER. I’m sure fans were told to calm down during Fenlon, Butcher, Calderwood, etc.
I hope whoever does travel next week gets their money’s worth because it’s not looking great. Next 3 games will see Hecky turn it round or him losing his job. We are losing home attendances rapidly so I doubt away support will strengthen. Hecky’s losing the fans.
Scotty Leither
25-08-2019, 08:10 PM
The only individual indulging in "embarrassing" behaviour is Heckingbottom himself with his cryptic, non-committal comments including such pearls as: "we're a work in progress and will be for a while"...to "anxiety from the stands" or "there'll be a lot of draws" (I bet the Board love him for that one) and the one that takes the cake, "players are nervous at playing at a busy Easter Road".
Not one of his signings has improved the team. I thought Jackson got pass marks for his goal yesterday, and the blocks he got in, but he's a stopper, nothing more and cuter forwards in this league will make a mess of him and that hesitant defence that ships goals for free.
We've been in this movie before, and Leanne risks undoing all the sterling work she's done in the last 5 years if this schism between the fans and the club gets any bigger. Time for her to chap Commissioner Gordon's door I think, and get this guy on his bike, because he doesn't want to be here and he's not doing himself or us any favours by hanging about either.
25-08-2019, 08:14 PM
How else would you describe this?
25-08-2019, 08:30 PM
All these posts having a go at the fans that booed a ***** performance - booing that only started at the baffling Allan substitution....
Yet none of these posters are asking why the previous 60 minutes - a whole hour of the game, where the fans had been right behind the team - were so abject and miserable.
Fans boo=their fault the team are ****
Fans cheer-the team are ****.... Hey ho nobody to blame!
Brutal patter that.
Can't have it both ways.
Fuzzywuzzy
25-08-2019, 08:48 PM
I keep reading about all the booing yesterday. Can anyone confirm whether anyone took it a step too far and hissed as well?
25-08-2019, 08:50 PM
I keep reading about all the booing yesterday. Can anyone confirm whether anyone took it a step too far and hissed as well?
I think someone shouted 'he's behind you'. Heckingbottom said 'oh no he isn't'. The ****.
One Day In Time
25-08-2019, 09:33 PM
A win would have just papered over the cracks yesterday mate...we were abysmal for 3 quarters of that match...imo we didn't even deserve a point.
We certainly did not deserve to win the match. I've been in the give Hecky more time camp till now but I'm starting to run out of support for him as the weeks go by...that's 3 weeks running where weve been pretty abject
Yeah heat of the moment from me and apologies to anyone I was snippy with. It would have papered over the cracks but we’d be sitting here tonight content with the three points. We’ll play much better and lose I’d wager.
Three weeks is nothing though. I guess I just want Easter Road to be a fortress, a bear pit where the opposition don’t want to be.
I don’t want to see our own squad being scared by the reception and atmosphere from their own
25-08-2019, 09:35 PM
You have my full backing for this. £10 for three waters and a pie is scandalous. Cheek not to give me plastic water bottle, in case of recklessness. I could’ve seriously hurt someone with the brick hard pie!
i am not kidding when i state a hammer drill would have had no effect whatsoever on the sausage roll i refused to leave the counter with at the st.mirren game, eventually getting my hard earned cash back, their comes a time when i/others must simply say...enough is enough, i've finally made my stand with the food...unfortunately i'm one more home game away from making a stand against the mediocrity on the pitch :agree:
1875-Hibernia
25-08-2019, 10:19 PM
i am not kidding when i state a hammer drill would have had no effect whatsoever on the sausage roll i refused to leave the counter with at the st.mirren game, eventually getting my hard earned cash back, their comes a time when i/others must simply say...enough is enough, i've finally made my stand with the food...unfortunately i'm one more home game away from making a stand against the mediocrity on the pitch :agree:
Tbf it’s the first time in a long time that I have purchased one. It will be the last. A rebellion against the food kiosk is as needed as a performance on the pitch!
25-08-2019, 10:39 PM
I'm not a boo-er - but I understand and accept that fans will let off steam - at HT/FT in particular - if the performance on the park is not deemed acceptable. And in the last few games we have certainly as a support had plenty to bump our gums about - following up a horrendous gubbing at Ibrox by conceding two 90th minute equalisers at home to two teams we should be beating comfortably if we have any European ambitions this season and so I wasn't surprised by the booing at 90 mins at both the last 2 home games even if I wasn't joining in. I don't hold with singling out players for abuse though and reckon we should be getting behind the team as much as we can in the 90 mins.
And so I partly take your point about the booing at StJ's first equaliser on Sat - it was a great goal created by a fantastic pass from our former (also unjustly booed) captain Liam Craig afterall. But you could also say that fans were booing the concession of an equaliser so very soon after an unforced tactical double sub by our manager from a winning position. We were under some pressure before the sub but if it was meant to take the pressure off and tilt the balance in our favour it clearly didn't work as St J dominated the second half and fully deserved their point.
So - even if you're not a boo-er by nature you have to concede there has been some justification for Hibees fans voicing their disquiet at what have been unconvincing performances under Hecky so far this season. I personally don't like to hear it but our fans are not robots and are only doing it cos they care.
26-08-2019, 09:45 AM
I booed at full time as I was frustrated at once again hibs losing a goal in the dying minutes. I was taken aback by the booing of the sub. But I dont blame any who did boo, playing our best and most influential player out wide is madness, and not the first time he has done this as he played Flo out wide last season too.
I've lost faith in Heckingbottom, the football is awful to watch, we have only 1 win against top 6 opposition, he talked about high pressing attacking football with the players being fitter than they have ever been before but all we do is hoof it up the park. How anyone can blame the fans for getting annoyed is beyond me.
Also just like to add that I sit in the west lower and there was no booing of Middleton, he got booed by the st Johnston fans and the hibs fans clapped him, and as for people calling out some fans in the west lower, the crowd were fine till st Johnston equalised and then some rightfully let out their frustration at Heckingbottom, as it was clear to see that a goal was coming.
26-08-2019, 11:01 AM
I'm not a boo-er - but I understand and accept that fans will let off steam - at HT/FT in particular - if the performance on the park is not deemed acceptable. And in the last few games we have certainly as a support had plenty to bump our gums about - following up a horrendous gubbing at Ibrox by conceding two 90th minute equalisers at home to two teams we should be beating comfortably if we have any European ambitions this season and so I wasn't surprised by the booing at 90 mins at both the last 2 home games even if I wasn't joining in. I don't hold with singling out players for abuse though and reckon we should be getting behind the team as much as we can in the 90 mins.
And so I partly take your point about the booing at StJ's first equaliser on Sat - it was a great goal created by a fantastic pass from our former (also unjustly booed) captain Liam Craig afterall. But you could also say that fans were booing the concession of an equaliser so very soon after an unforced tactical double sub by our manager from a winning position. We were under some pressure before the sub but if it was meant to take the pressure off and tilt the balance in our favour it clearly didn't work as St J dominated the second half and fully deserved their point.
So - even if you're not a boo-er by nature you have to concede there has been some justification for Hibees fans voicing their disquiet at what have been unconvincing performances under Hecky so far this season. I personally don't like to hear it but our fans are not robots and are only doing it cos they care.
I think there is a very big difference between singling out a specific player for a bit of booing and the more general booing at HT. I can understand that an individual will take it differently but surely if whole team is booed off they will feel they want to turn that around during HT? So they all just go in and cry or want to phone their mum or does the manager say listen to that noise lets sort it. I think booing at HT can have a positive effect if the players have anything about them. I think its needed sometimes just a reminder that to some (and quite a lot on Saturday) what they are watching is not good enough.
26-08-2019, 11:11 AM
Psychological research would disagree about it not affecting someone’s performance but what do they know?
Again, it's nothing to do with 'having something about them' or not. EVERYONE performs worse under critical negative environments. Its a fact.
I don’t think the supporters’ anxiety seeped through to the players," Jackson insisted.
"We’ve all played a lot of games now, we’re all grown men, thick-skinned. We have to do it ourselves and play our game, we need to play how we want to play in attack and in defence. It’s down to us.
"The fans pay their money don’t they? It’s their choice and we have just got to keep working.
So these facts and also the research any links to it? As I stated the booing had FA to do with result and somebody playing was not affected by it. We drew because we played pish end of.
29-08-2019, 04:00 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/49515412
See the manager still reckons the crowd reaction on Saturday “transferred to the players” I.e he blames the crowd for the players not performing. Lot of rubbish.
29-08-2019, 04:05 PM
See the manager still reckons the crowd reaction on Saturday “transferred to the players” I.e he blames the crowd for the players not performing. Lot of rubbish.
I never joined in with any booing, and don't believe I ever have when aimed at anything Hibs. But on Saturday I understood the frustrations when the boos came for the changes our manager made (clearly aimed at his decision to hook Scott Allan). Changes to tactics which saw us lose an equaliser within a few minutes (albeit we replied even quicker to go in front again) and generally fall apart until we all knew what was coming in stoppage time.
If Hecky is now blaming the fans for what happened on Saturday then it's very disappointing for me.
Marvellous
29-08-2019, 04:16 PM
He said there was anxiety in the performance before the boos, and it seemed like the boos transferred to the players on top of that.
He didn't blame anyone for anything. If you listen to virtually anyone who's been involved in football they'll agree with him that an audibly unhappy home crowd has a negative affect on the home team.
RossScott1991
29-08-2019, 04:23 PM
He deployed Allan wide right but felt he stayed too wide and didn’t come infield enough....
Explains our tippy tappy slow possession based football. Zero pace, no width. Players are instructed to come infield. Hearts football make the pitch as narrow as possible.
Yikes.
Marvellous
29-08-2019, 04:25 PM
He deployed Allan wide right but felt he stayed too wide and didn’t come infield enough....
Explains our tippy tappy slow possession based football. Zero pace, no width. Players are instructed to come infield. Hearts football make the pitch as narrow as possible.
Yikes.
How does that explain the pace of our play exactly? Wide players are expected to come inside when the ball is on the opposite side.
29-08-2019, 04:28 PM
He never once blamed the crowd for the players not performing. Go listen to his interview in Hibs tv youtube I think what he’s said is fair no issues with it.
RossScott1991
29-08-2019, 04:30 PM
How does that explain the pace of our play exactly? Wide players are expected to come inside when the ball is on the opposite side.
That’s fine except Allan isn’t a wide player and it is an unfamiliar role for him.
I think the fact our main problem in the team is the midfield has no balance to it explains itself to be honest.
Not enough runners or pace in the side.
29-08-2019, 04:32 PM
It hardly transfered onto the players. They had been ***** the 15 minutes before and after half time then the sub was made. Why is he ignoring that?
Marvellous
29-08-2019, 04:36 PM
It hardly transfered onto the players. They had been ***** the 15 minutes before and after half time then the sub was made. Why is he ignoring that?
Did you watch the interview?
29-08-2019, 04:45 PM
It would be nice if he could enlighten all us anxious folk about his decision to play him on the right wing.
CloudSquall
29-08-2019, 04:53 PM
Probably not a clever move to bring it up again, he should be looking to draw a line under it.
29-08-2019, 04:53 PM
Did you watch the interview?
Do i need to? I read the quotes on the bbc and he says it transfered onto the players. It didnt. They were poor before the sub and after it.
29-08-2019, 04:57 PM
Do i need to? I read the quotes on the bbc and he says it transfered onto the players. It didnt. They were poor before the sub and after it.
I'd probably say the guy who works with them every day has a better idea if it transfered to them or not.
Robbo6-2
29-08-2019, 04:57 PM
Probably not a clever move to bring it up again, he should be looking to draw a line under it.
He didnt bring it up he was asked the question
29-08-2019, 04:59 PM
It would be nice if he could enlighten all us anxious folk about his decision to play him on the right wing.
He did on the YouTube interview today and explains the decision fairly well. I’ve got to respect him for that but still don’t agree with it.
Lee Marvin
29-08-2019, 05:00 PM
Turns out you do have to as you are slavering nonesense
29-08-2019, 05:05 PM
Turns out you do have to as you are slavering nonesense
Well i mean im not. Are you going to expand or do the usual on here and make a sly dig and not back it up?
He said it looked like it tranfered onto the players. Yes or no?
Were we ***** for a good period before the allan sub and subsequent booing? Yes or no?
So did the booing affect the players performance? Yes or no?
29-08-2019, 05:05 PM
He did on the YouTube interview today and explains the decision fairly well. I’ve got to respect him for that but still don’t agree with it.
Fair enough, will give it a listen.
29-08-2019, 05:06 PM
I'd probably say the guy who works with them every day has a better idea if it transfered to them or not.
Was at and watched the game 👍 we were pish before the booing so how exactly did it affect the players? They hardly got any worse.
29-08-2019, 05:07 PM
Was at and watched the game 👍 we were pish before the booing so how exactly did it affect the players? They hardly got any worse.
We were definitely worse in the last 20 minutes than any other period. Do you think it helped them?
29-08-2019, 05:10 PM
We were definitely worse in the last 20 minutes than any other period. Do you think it helped them?Spot on. It was horrible to watch.
Lee Marvin
29-08-2019, 05:11 PM
Well i mean im not. Are you going to expand or do the usual on here and make a sly dig and not back it up?
He said it looked like it tranfered onto the players. Yes or no?
Were we ***** for a good period before the allan sub and subsequent booing? Yes or no?
So did the booing affect the players performance? Yes or no?
You will find the correct answer to all of your questions in the interview. Or you could just make stuff up
Barman Stanton
29-08-2019, 05:14 PM
I don’t think there is anything wrong with what he said. Of course a toxic atmosphere will transfer to the players. Naive to think otherwise.
29-08-2019, 05:20 PM
He needs to understand why the players were anxious which he admits was prior to the fans reaction.
If he wants Scott Allan to come into the middle of the park why not start him there in the first place and play a genuine wide man to occupy the opposition fullback. Unfortunately what I took from his interview is he will continue to play him on the right rather than admit he’s got it wrong.
Marvellous
29-08-2019, 05:21 PM
So you're accusing him of ignoring the 15 minutes before the sub even though you don't actually know what he said in the interview? Brilliant.
If you did watch the interview you'd see that he said there was anxiety in the performance before the boos.
29-08-2019, 05:59 PM
I thought that was the best interview he’s given.
He seems a bit more sure of himself and confident. Maybe last week’s reaction hit home with him?
I don’t see anything wrong with what he’s said here.
29-08-2019, 06:07 PM
He seems a bit more sure of himself and confident. Maybe last week’s reaction hit home with him?
Beat me to it. Thought he explained himself extremely well and the reasons for the fans comment and playing Scotty on the right. Thought he was bang on.
29-08-2019, 06:12 PM
Other than after the game last Saturday, he speaks relatively well most of the time I think.
As we’ve seen with the high press chat, it’s one thing to say it but another thing all together to implement it. We’ll see on Saturday if anything has hit home.
29-08-2019, 06:22 PM
Beat me to it. Thought he explained himself extremely well and the reasons for the fans comment and playing Scotty on the right. Thought he was bang on.
Do you honestly think that was a good idea?
29-08-2019, 06:22 PM
Do one hecky. Batting against the fans now to justify your calls that cost us three points, roll on the mutual termination. Won’t be missed.
Hibees1973
29-08-2019, 06:56 PM
Sorry, but I disagree with most of the posters on this.
Some really need to have a reality check. We are not the side we were a couple of seasons back. All the reasons we’re out of our control, good players moving on to better clubs, Lennon leaving, etc. I have supported Hibs for over 40 years and we always tend to have 3 or 4 good years, at best, then we fall away. We are in the midst of this happening now.
Heckingbottom has only been in charge for around 20 real games and has not a bad record, albeit we fell away badly at the end of last season and performances so far this season have been patchy.
He does seem a decent guy and deserves some patience from even our most fanatical support. He is though entering a significant run of fixtures with a difficult game on Saturday and after the international break a cup Q/final and games against Hearts, Celtic and Aberdeen. Real possibility we will lose on Saturday against a good Motherwell away on Saturday, which takes us into the international break. This is going to be a key period for our manager. He needs this time to get a few injuries cleared up and find the balance of still scoring goals but tightening things up at the back. He cannot complain about not getting more players in. Our goalie is one of the best in the league. James & Stevenson at full back with Porteous & Jackson at centre back. With Boyle out Hecky needs our two wide players, Horgan and Middleton to step up. Kamberi up front looking good but Doidge a waste of money. Allan is a shoe-in just behind Kamberi. Heckingbottom’s biggest problem is the midfield. We have no leaders with McGinn and McGeouch gone. Leaves us with the likes of Malllan, Vela, Slivka and the new guy Hallberg. Not convinced by the first 3 so hope Hallberg fits the bill. I would go with him and Vela as they have energy and get around the park.
If by the end of September we are out of the League Cup and in bottom 6 I would then have real concerns about Heckingbottom.
29-08-2019, 07:13 PM
We were definitely worse in the last 20 minutes than any other period. Do you think it helped them?
Nothing to do with the crowd imo.
We simply couldn’t keep possession and invited St Johnstone to have loads of chances to equalise.
Hecky is a chancer if he thinks he can palm off the blame on the fans.
29-08-2019, 07:19 PM
I have supported Hibs for over 40 years and we always tend to have 3 or 4 good years, at best, then we fall away. We are in the midst of this happening now.
I’ve seen this put up a few times. It needs to be different and it should be different with what we have in place now
In those 40 years I bet we’ve never had the advantage we have now over most other teams in the league. The training ground and all the things we have in place there. Around 13,000 season ticket holders. Debt free.
If we just ‘fall away’ as we have in the past then it’s mismanagement all round. I’m not saying we should be nailed on to finish third or anything like that. But we should be looking capable of it at least.
hibeerealist
29-08-2019, 09:21 PM
I’ve seen this put up a few times. It needs to be different and it should be different with what we have in place now
In those 40 years I bet we’ve never had the advantage we have now over most other teams in the league. The training ground and all the things we have in place there. Around 13,000 season ticket holders. Debt free.
If we just ‘fall away’ as we have in the past then it’s mismanagement all round. I’m not saying we should be nailed on to finish third or anything like that. But we should be looking capable of it at least.
Spot on and the only way this cycle will be accepted is if the happy clappers get their way, where is the ambition!!???
29-08-2019, 09:33 PM
Yup - maybe it’s a generation thing but the younger generation demand more.
There is no reason we can’t do what Aberdeen have been doing as a minimum.
Some of the worst posts on this website are when folk say we have been crap before which means we have to be crap in future - I’m sorry but that’s not acceptable. Paying high ticket prices and with the infrastructure we have we should be doing better.
29-08-2019, 10:08 PM
Spot on and the only way this cycle will be accepted is if the happy clappers get their way, where is the ambition!!???
Ironic username. You're not really a realist are you?
Ambition is a must. Without doubt. But a sense of proportion is a close second.
Of course it is possible to come 3rd. But shouldn't be an expectation. History clearly tells us this.
Always laugh when the 'happy clapper' tag is used. Quite a revealing view.
Smile. Life's not so bad.
29-08-2019, 10:13 PM
Some of the worst posts on this website are when folk say we have been crap before which means we have to be crap in future - I’m sorry but that’s not acceptable. Paying high ticket prices and with the infrastructure we have we should be doing better.
Has anyone ever said "we have been crap before which means we have to be crap in future"? Apologies if someone has. I just find it really strange that anyone would say that.
elevengoats
29-08-2019, 10:20 PM
Some really need to have a reality check. We are not the side we were a couple of seasons back. All the reasons we’re out of our control, good players moving on to better clubs, Lennon leaving, etc. I have supported Hibs for over 40 years and we always tend to have 3 or 4 good years, at best, then we fall away. We are in the midst of this happening now.
Heckingbottom has only been in charge for around 20 real games and has not a bad record, albeit we fell away badly at the end of last season and performances so far this season have been patchy.
He does seem a decent guy and deserves some patience from even our most fanatical support. He is though entering a significant run of fixtures with a difficult game on Saturday and after the international break a cup Q/final and games against Hearts, Celtic and Aberdeen. Real possibility we will lose on Saturday against a good Motherwell away on Saturday, which takes us into the international break. This is going to be a key period for our manager. He needs this time to get a few injuries cleared up and find the balance of still scoring goals but tightening things up at the back. He cannot complain about not getting more players in. Our goalie is one of the best in the league. James & Stevenson at full back with Porteous & Jackson at centre back. With Boyle out Hecky needs our two wide players, Horgan and Middleton to step up. Kamberi up front looking good but Doidge a waste of money. Allan is a shoe-in just behind Kamberi. Heckingbottom’s biggest problem is the midfield. We have no leaders with McGinn and McGeouch gone. Leaves us with the likes of Malllan, Vela, Slivka and the new guy Hallberg. Not convinced by the first 3 so hope Hallberg fits the bill. I would go with him and Vela as they have energy and get around the park.
If by the end of September we are out of the League Cup and in bottom 6 I would then have real concerns about Heckingbottom.
Spot on!
29-08-2019, 10:36 PM
I do agree with this.
New ownership, great stadium, great facilities, established structure... why shouldn’t we now reap the benefits?
We often look enviously at the level of resources Aberdeen or Hearts have, but both those clubs have issues of their own to address.
Results aren’t guaranteed but we can surely expect a certain level of performance. If the boos help bring that home to Hecky, all to the good.
scooby
29-08-2019, 10:50 PM
Hate to be the prophet of doom, but come the end of September that's exactly where we'll be. Big mistake appointing him.
29-08-2019, 11:02 PM
*Prophet
scooby
30-08-2019, 08:39 AM
*Prophet
🤣
30-08-2019, 08:52 AM
Can't disagree with that. For me the club is in better shape than it's ever been so at the very least we should be finishing 5th (which we did last season eventually) and aiming for 3rd and cup finals. There were reasons/excuses for us being poor in years gone by but there aren't any now. I just feel the modern fan wants instant results and performances and when it doesn't happen there's an OTT reaction. I know im in the minority on here but i think Heckingbottom will be good for us. Happy to eat my words and I'll be the first to say i was wrong if it doesn't work out.
30-08-2019, 01:48 PM
Has anyone ever said "we have been crap before which means we have to be crap in future"? Apologies if someone has. I just find it really strange that anyone would say that.
Not in so many words but there has been a number of posts pointing out that we've historically finished on average about 7th, or something like that, so we shouldn't really be expecting anything better.
I don't see any reason why we should settle for that, especially with where we are financially and with the stadium and training ground in place. Why shouldn't we kick on from there?
30-08-2019, 05:13 PM
Not in so many words but there has been a number of posts pointing out that we've historically finished on average about 7th, or something like that, so we shouldn't really be expecting anything better.
I don't see any reason why we should settle for that, especially with where we are financially and with the stadium and training ground in place. Why shouldn't we kick on from there?
We were told to be patient whilst the infrastructure was sorted out, it's surely now time to kick on.
hibeerealist
30-08-2019, 05:25 PM
Ironic username. You're not really a realist are you?
Ambition is a must. Without doubt. But a sense of proportion is a close second.
Of course it is possible to come 3rd. But shouldn't be an expectation. History clearly tells us this.
Always laugh when the 'happy clapper' tag is used. Quite a revealing view.
Smile. Life's not so bad.
Therefore SF history dictates present day / the future, we should be doing better and perhaps it would be nice to even over achieve once in a while too! My username is a username, it does not dictate every post I write, oh the irony!!
SingaporeHibs
30-08-2019, 05:27 PM
Having supported Hibs for a similar period of time I understand what you are saying but generally it’s not been good enough over that period. Why accept we fall away every few years. We should be better than that.
30-08-2019, 07:33 PM
The support tomorrow will more tolerant than the larger Easter Road crowds. They won’t hold back if the performance is absolutely awful, but the travelling crowd does tend to more supportive and less inclined to jump upon every misplaced pass or poor passage of play. Same with most clubs I think.
30-08-2019, 08:38 PM
The support tomorrow will more tolerant than the larger Easter Road crowds. They won’t hold back if the performance is absolutely awful, but the travelling crowd does tend to more supportive and less inclined to jump upon every misplaced pass or poor passage of play. Same with most clubs I think.
I think the away support will be great tomorrow unless things are going badly wrong.
30-08-2019, 08:49 PM
Agreed but also many of the travelling die hards will let their opinions be known if the performance is anywhere near as bad as last week.
Frustrating like week we were so poor as a win and we would have taken a larger travelling crowd.
green with envy
31-08-2019, 01:25 AM
I think the away support will be great tomorrow unless things are going badly wrong.
Bizarre comment.
31-08-2019, 07:41 AM
I don't think anyone could deny that when things get even a little bit tough, the Hibs away support is far more patient and reasonable than the Hibs home support.
We can be the 12th man for the opposition at Easter Road, and every opposition manager knows it.
I don't think we're there again yet, but the restlessness shown last week might yet worsen.
31-08-2019, 07:55 AM
I don't think anyone could deny that when things get even a little bit tough, the Hibs away support is far more patient and reasonable than the Hibs home support.
We can be the 12th man for the opposition at Easter Road, and every opposition manager knows it.
I don't think we're there again yet, but the restlessness shown last week might yet worsen.
Are we really that much worse than anyone else though?
Hearts routinely booed off at Tynecastle these days. Sheep getting a bit restless towards McInnes. I think it’s the same all over.
ER has been great for a few years because things have generally been positive on the pitch. If things aren’t so positive folk will either be less patient at the game or not go at all.
I don’t think the away support are that much more patient either. There are just less folk so it’s not so noticeable. If things go badly today I can almost guarantee there will be folk turning on each other in the stand.
31-08-2019, 07:58 AM
More moaning *******s in home support, that true - however lets not bash our fans, this phenomenon is entirely the same for home v away supports around the country and not at all unique to Hibs.
HibeeHibernian4
31-08-2019, 08:01 AM
Only plea I would make to is whether you’re wanting Heckingbottom out or not, try and get behind the team. Sure if a disaster unfolds and you want to vent then by all means. But I think the team need to be given a fair chance today and they need backing for that to be the case. Or at least not fans getting on top of them straightaway’
31-08-2019, 08:03 AM
More moaning *******s in home support, that true - however lets not bash our fans, this phenomenon is entirely the same for home v away supports around the country and not at all unique to Hibs.
So because bad things happen elsewhere it makes it alright at ER. Logic like that is impossible to argue against because it is so off the scale wrong.
My folks had a great philosophy when I was a small person “two wrongs never made a right” they would say when I tried to deflect from my own errors. Not a bad position to take in life.
31-08-2019, 08:18 AM
No worse than any other clubs support.
31-08-2019, 08:29 AM
So because bad things happen elsewhere it makes it alright at ER. Logic like that is impossible to argue against because it is so off the scale wrong.
My folks had a great philosophy when I was a small person “two wrongs never made a right” they would say when I tried to deflect from my own errors. Not a bad position to take in life.
Keep up................
I was responding to another poster who suggested that We can be the 12th man for the opposition at Easter Road, and every opposition manager knows it.
My comment was saying that - imo - most if not all "home supports" have their fair share of moaners and its not confined to Hibs. I was definitely not saying it is a great state of affairs :aok:
31-08-2019, 08:31 AM
No, Hibs fans are the worst in Scotland for moaning, being negative. Just generally the worst in scotland (well at least thats what some on here want you to believe).
No other clubs fans moan. Its a hibs problem.
31-08-2019, 08:31 AM
I remember teams used to come to ER under Fenlon/Calderwood and would always come away with results citing “they knew the crowd would get on the players backs if it’s still 0-0 or if they are losing after 20/30 minutes”. We are slowly seeing a return to that just now.
There’s a reason for that though and it’s the pish football we are and were seeing. Under Stubbs and in that first year up under Lennon we were patient. We could see some good football. We were happy to wait as we dominated games and tried to make a breakthrough. Just now, we are being bossed at home by St Johnstone.
31-08-2019, 08:42 AM
I remember teams used to come to ER under Fenlon/Calderwood and would always come away with results citing “they knew the crowd would get on the players backs if it’s still 0-0 or if they are losing after 20/30 minutes”. We are slowly seeing a return to that just now.
There’s a reason for that though and it’s the pish football we are and were seeing. Under Stubbs and in that first year up under Lennon we were patient. We could see some good football. We were happy to wait as we dominated games and tried to make a breakthrough. Just now, we are being bossed at home by St Johnstone.
31-08-2019, 08:44 AM
Exactly this - its not exactly surprising that there are grumblings when a team with a third of our budget plays better than us at our home.
Would be the same if we were playing Celtic off the park through there.
This is not unique to Hibs, its simply human nature.
If we play crap and lose badly to Motherwell today, then he will get pelters regardless of it being an away crowd.
31-08-2019, 08:44 AM
Keep up................
I was responding to another poster who suggested that We can be the 12th man for the opposition at Easter Road, and every opposition manager knows it.
My comment was saying that - imo - most if not all "home supports" have their fair share of moaners and its not confined to Hibs. I was definitely not saying it is a great state of affairs :aok:
It was my post you responded to and to be fair I do agree with you.
If we're at Celtic Park, Ibrox or even Tynecastle or Pittodrie, your chances are helped when the home support are restless.
It's hard to know whether we're necessarily worse than anyone else but I certainly remember hearing it referenced many times during the years before our slide to the Championship.
31-08-2019, 08:45 AM
Not a coincidence hibs fans arent negative, dont moan and have patience when they see something on the park they can get behind and see a team thats trying to implement a clear way of playing.
If they dont then they get restless, like every support in the world.
Heedersnvolleys
31-08-2019, 09:01 AM
Are we really that much worse than anyone else though?
Hearts routinely booed off at Tynecastle these days. Sheep getting a bit restless towards McInnes. I think it’s the same all over.
ER has been great for a few years because things have generally been positive on the pitch. If things aren’t so positive folk will either be less patient at the game or not go at all.
I don’t think the away support are that much more patient either. There are just less folk so it’s not so noticeable. If things go badly today I can almost guarantee there will be folk turning on each other in the stand.
I think there is something in this. Us and the other teams you mention are restless I think because in the last few years there has been an opportunity for our clubs to be the best of the rest which none have grabbed and can see us going back to dark days of the 2 horse race. Just another reason why the old firm are bad for our league.
31-08-2019, 09:32 AM
I'm taking a loudspeaker to today's match, so my booing can be heard properly.
31-08-2019, 09:37 AM
Mind and do it before a ball is kicked. Boo the warm up let them know that is a ***** set of excercises.
31-08-2019, 09:37 AM
Wouldn't surprise me at all if today is a much better performance being away from home. Places like Easter Road and Tynecastle can be horrible for the home team when the fans turn
31-08-2019, 09:39 AM
Wouldn't surprise me at all if today is a much better performance being away from home. Places like Easter Road and Tynecastle can be horrible for the home team when the fans turn
So can every clubs stadium.We will win today if we play better than Motherwell simple as that regardless if their fans are happy or not and by default they will be unhappy if losing, which they will btw
31-08-2019, 10:38 AM
The fans haven’t turned on the team at all.
They vented frustrations last week, that’s it, nothing else.
Team will get great support today, as always, but might get a wee bit of booing at the end if we get thumped.
Nothing out out of the ordinary.
31-08-2019, 10:45 AM
I've emailed the club my boos in advance. Saves hassle.
31-08-2019, 11:09 AM
That is a generic quote all players say when playing away, keep the crowd quiet, keep things tight for 20 minutes and hope the crowd get agitated.
Its a football thing, not just a Hibs thing.
The manager is starting to lose the fans, as are the players and the only way to turn it around is to play attractive attacking football, it's the negativity in his tactics that fans aren't liking.
31-08-2019, 11:44 AM
I've emailed the club my boos in advance. Saves hassle.
They should provide an App for that. E-Mail is soooo outdated.
31-08-2019, 11:46 AM
They should provide an App for that. E-Mail is soooo outdated.
😀
Apps will be outdated in the not too distant future.
31-08-2019, 11:49 AM
😀
Apps will be outdated in the not too distant future.
Booooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!
31-08-2019, 11:50 AM
That is a generic quote all players say when playing away, keep the crowd quiet, keep things tight for 20 minutes and hope the crowd get agitated.
Its a football thing, not just a Hibs thing.
It wasn’t a case of hoping the crowd would get agitated. It was a certainty in those times. It’s happening again now.
31-08-2019, 11:51 AM
The manager is starting to lose the fans, as are the players and the only way to turn it around is to play attractive attacking football, it's the negativity in his tactics that fans aren't liking.
Even the fans rep says he doesn't speak for all fans! Or do you mean some fans, the majority of fans just exactly who are you speaking for?
31-08-2019, 11:51 AM
Booooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!
😂👍
31-08-2019, 11:52 AM
The fans haven’t turned on the team at all.
They vented frustrations last week, that’s it, nothing else.
Team will get great support today, as always, but might get a wee bit of booing at the end if we get thumped.
Nothing out out of the ordinary.
No they didn't. About two thousand out of about fourteen thousand did so the minority.
H18S NX
31-08-2019, 11:54 AM
There’s a reason for that though and it’s the pish football we are and were seeing. Under Stubbs and in that first year up under Lennon we were patient. We could see some good football. We were happy to wait as we dominated games and tried to make a breakthrough. Just now, we are being bossed at home by St Johnstone.....Totally agree with you m8.
Weegreenman
31-08-2019, 01:24 PM
We play a slow tempo game at home. We try and build from the back. I’d prefer to throw everything including the kitchen sink at the opposition in the first twenty minutes when at home. Getting the first goal is massive for us, if we don’t make a break through then the fans get tetchy.
31-08-2019, 01:27 PM
We play a slow tempo game at home. We try and build from the back. I’d prefer to throw everything including the kitchen sink at the opposition in the first twenty minutes when at home. Getting the first goal is massive for us, if we don’t make a break through then the fans get tetchy.
We got the first goal last week and were a gola up when the subs were boo'd. Generally I agree though, start fast, get the crowd going and use them to keep the legs going through their encouragement
31-08-2019, 01:43 PM
No they didn't. About two thousand out of about fourteen thousand did so the minority.
Sorry but it was way more than 2000. Thats just nonsense.
scooby
31-08-2019, 01:48 PM
Exactly 👍
hibeerealist
31-08-2019, 01:55 PM
QUOTE=we are hibs;5911991]Sorry but it was way more than 2000. Thats just nonsense.[/QUOTE]
It certainly was
01-09-2019, 12:59 AM
Embarrassing "team" today