View Full Version : Official Site: BEEP BEEP! CONFIRMED AS SHORTS SPONSORS

RSS Bot
22-08-2019, 03:10 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10230)

22-08-2019, 03:16 PM
There’s the funding for a defensive midfielder sorted :greengrin

Also, that looks horrendous on the shorts.

22-08-2019, 03:24 PM
That better not actually be on the shorts ffs

22-08-2019, 03:24 PM
Surely it’s not going on the shorts 😂

22-08-2019, 03:27 PM
Looks absolutely honking on the shorts.

Although I will take it if it funds a Shinnie loan deal :greengrin

22-08-2019, 03:28 PM
This is going to be a laugh. Watch all the outrage…

22-08-2019, 03:32 PM
At least we will be able to hear as well as see Doige reversing now.

22-08-2019, 03:36 PM
I actually love how wound up some people are going to get about this.

BlackSheep
22-08-2019, 03:36 PM
Looks absolutely honking on the shorts.

Although I will take it if it funds a Shinnie loan deal :greengrin

At least its in keeping with the colours.... a horrible big yellow logo would have looked even worse!

22-08-2019, 03:37 PM
I actually love how wound up some people are going to get about this.

Agree

22-08-2019, 03:37 PM
More money. Not sourced from gambling or booze. 👍

22-08-2019, 03:38 PM

Yep! Even though this good news.

22-08-2019, 03:39 PM

Wouldn’t say there’ll be outrage but ****sake mr Duff it looks stupid 😂

A decent money spinner hopefully to coin a phrase

Bright_Hibee
22-08-2019, 03:45 PM
Looks horrible and has ruined shorts. Far too big and makes our badge look tiny. Hideous. Who's responsible for the logo on the shorts?

22-08-2019, 03:47 PM
Announce Road Runner.

22-08-2019, 03:48 PM

Nae need

Wouldn’t say there’ll be outrage but ****sake mr Duff it looks stupid [emoji23]

A decent money spinner hopefully to coin a phrase

You sure?
I suspect there will be outrage Stu

DanishJohn
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10230)

Does that mean Boyle or Horgan will now be known as Road Runner and in the warm up we might get a wee bit of Jonathan Richman ?

22-08-2019, 03:50 PM
You sure?
I suspect there will be outrage Stu

Haha aye I suppose u could well be right when people are looking for a reason

Exuberance1875
22-08-2019, 03:56 PM
Would look better if one beep was on left leg and one beep was on right

22-08-2019, 04:02 PM
That looks hideous. At least it’s more money though.

22-08-2019, 04:08 PM
Doesn't look great on the shorts but at least it's money.

It's better than playing your home games at the Tony Macaroni Arena.

22-08-2019, 04:09 PM
Can't see the issue with this at all. Seems there's always a gripe when we source more funding

22-08-2019, 04:14 PM
Can't see the issue with this at all. Seems there's always a gripe when we source more funding

Me too, love it and looks great!

22-08-2019, 04:15 PM
More funding fine.

But the logo looks awful and tacky on the shorts.

Something I would expect from the yams.

22-08-2019, 04:17 PM
Honking. :dunno:

22-08-2019, 04:21 PM
Announce Road Runner.
Martin Boyle's new nickname instead of Squirrel?

22-08-2019, 04:22 PM
We getting Acme on the jerseys?

22-08-2019, 04:23 PM
Honking. :dunno:
I see what you did there - nothing like blowing your own horn.....

22-08-2019, 04:42 PM
That's so bad it's like cartoon comedy funny. :faf::faf:

22-08-2019, 04:44 PM
Would look better if one beep was on left leg and one beep was on right

Should have one beep on each arse cheek.

22-08-2019, 04:46 PM
Looks horrible and has ruined shorts. Far too big and makes our badge look tiny. Hideous. Who's responsible for the logo on the shorts?

That's the spirit. Just joined up and already posting utter BEEP BEEP!

It's money coming in to the Club and better than the likes of Wonga, IMHO :aok:

The Captain....
22-08-2019, 04:47 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10230)Sounds and looks like the kind of sponsorship you'd see on your local saturday amateur strips.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

22-08-2019, 04:48 PM
Me too, love it and looks great!

Come on, it doesn’t look great

22-08-2019, 04:50 PM
Come on, it doesn’t look great

You need to chill out

22-08-2019, 04:56 PM
One minute people are complaining about no sponsorship and when we get one they are still not happy.

22-08-2019, 04:59 PM
One minute people are complaining about no sponsorship and when we get one they are still not happy.

Think most, if not everyone, will be happy with the extra money this brings in however the logo does look awful in the shorts imo

22-08-2019, 05:02 PM
https://youtu.be/tqLhnPLXxG8

22-08-2019, 05:11 PM

That reminds of a terrible Basile Boli joke from years ago.

22-08-2019, 05:15 PM
Please tell me it's the 1st of April?...

22-08-2019, 05:37 PM
Happy with another sponsor.

Not happy with having BEEP BEEP! Emblazoned across our shorts all season.

22-08-2019, 05:46 PM
You need to chill out

I’m chilled out I’m just making the point that it doesn’t look great on the shorts? Strange

22-08-2019, 05:48 PM
https://media1.tenor.com/images/9e1276c040229e672ca238f24204a30d/tenor.gif?itemid=9491879

22-08-2019, 05:53 PM
If only we had somebody with Road Runner type speed available.

It seems a bit like false advertising at the moment :)

22-08-2019, 05:55 PM
Appreciate the club are sourcing new funding but honestly....I really hope the amount trumps the comedy value😕🙈

22-08-2019, 06:00 PM
This has actually really cheered me up with all things Hibs haha I think it's funny as

Widhibs
22-08-2019, 06:04 PM
Would be good if they gave us season ticket holders a discount of some kind.

22-08-2019, 06:04 PM
Are they actually splashing them across the shorts, or just inground advertsing?

Quite funny given the latest 'non advertising' by Paddy Power

22-08-2019, 06:07 PM
**** it, it’s a giggle at the very least. If it helps us bring in a defensive mid then it’s worth every penny!

22-08-2019, 06:22 PM
Well that looks utterly gash and classless...!

22-08-2019, 06:25 PM
More money. Not sourced from gambling or booze. 👍

Yeah but think of the carbon emissions, Scotland has declared a climate emergency after all 🙄

22-08-2019, 06:40 PM

Have I missed a picture of it on the shorts?

22-08-2019, 06:41 PM

It’s on Hibs twitter

22-08-2019, 06:46 PM

Not often a post makes me laugh but that did.

22-08-2019, 06:54 PM

What are the commercial team playing at?! I demand a sponsor!

But not that sponsor...

EDIT: if I book a beep beep cab to get to ER on Saturday, am I an Uber fan?

22-08-2019, 07:03 PM

But not that sponsor...

Yes, can you give me a Lyft to the game?

malcolm
22-08-2019, 07:04 PM
Well rubber my soul what a singing...

He told the club that his prospects were good
And Hibs said, Hecky, it’s understood
Working for peanuts is all very fine
But can you show us a better time?

Hecky you can drive my car
Yes I know you wanna sign a star
Then maybe we’ll love you

Beep beep beep beep yeah!

22-08-2019, 07:06 PM
It'll be a good fit for Martin Boyle when he's finally back flying down the wing.

I'm put in mind of this guy, although he apparently actually said 'Meep, Meep'...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgUwKZk1pqA

22-08-2019, 07:06 PM

:top marks:faf:

22-08-2019, 07:13 PM
Im outraged. Not sure what thread this is just wanted to show my displeasure. Raging.

Saturday Boy
22-08-2019, 07:16 PM

I’m trying to remember whether the Beep Beep yeah was a tv advert or the traffic report on the radio. Old age doesn’t come itself.

22-08-2019, 07:17 PM
Im outraged. Not sure what thread this is just wanted to show my displeasure. Raging.

Yep, it’s a disgrace, whatever it is.

Bright_Hibee
22-08-2019, 07:17 PM
That's the spirit. Just joined up and already posting utter BEEP BEEP!

It's money coming in to the Club and better than the likes of Wonga, IMHO :aok:

Sorry, I love the club and did not want to offend anyone - especially a supporter who has worked so hard for our community! I just don't like the badge looking so small under such an intrusive logo.

22-08-2019, 07:20 PM
Be better if there was a 'beep' on each cheek 😁

22-08-2019, 07:29 PM
Sorry, I love the club and did not want to offend anyone - especially a supporter who has worked so hard for our community! I just don't like the badge looking so small under such an intrusive logo.

There’s nothing wrong with what you said, whether you’ve got 10 posts or 10,000.

Don’t worry about it.

malcolm
22-08-2019, 07:31 PM
I’m trying to remember whether the Beep Beep yeah was a tv advert or the traffic report on the radio. Old age doesn’t come itself.

Only remember it on vinyl :greengrin

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drive_My_Car

Saturday Boy
22-08-2019, 08:04 PM
Only remember it on vinyl :greengrin

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drive_My_Car

Gosh. Boasting about your age. I was trying to be subtle.

Is there’s anything I can do?

😄😄

Power
22-08-2019, 08:37 PM
Capital cars (Beep Beep App) sponsored us last season too https://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2018/08/hibs-announce-capital-cars-as-their-new-private-hire-vehicle-partner/

22-08-2019, 08:49 PM
Shorts need to be modelled by Alan OBrien on a bike for marketing purposes.

22-08-2019, 09:02 PM
It’s a pair a ****ing shorts, unless your planning to wear a pair what’s the problem?

22-08-2019, 09:03 PM
Just saw the photo on Hibs twitter and the shorts look ridiculous. It's probably worth about 20 grand as well.

Mon_the_cabbage
22-08-2019, 09:05 PM

Beep beep Yeah was the radio 1 traffic jingle from the 70's. Think Diddy David Hamilton's afternoon show!

Here's a link (2nd last one on the page) . . .

https://www.radiorewind.co.uk/radio1/1970s_jingle_page.htm

22-08-2019, 09:19 PM
It’s a pair a ****ing shorts, unless your planning to wear a pair what’s the problem?

Couldn't agree more. Club gets criticised for not having sponsor get a sponsor still criticised.

Here’s Lucy!
22-08-2019, 09:23 PM

It’s Doidge, by the way. Christian Doidge.

The sponsor looks pants on the shorts.

Here’s Lucy!
22-08-2019, 09:26 PM
Beep beep Yeah was the radio 1 traffic jingle from the 70's. Think Diddy David’s afternoon show!

Here's a link (2nd last one on the page) . . .

https://www.radiorewind.co.uk/radio1/1970s_jingle_page.htm

Diddy David rings a bell.

22-08-2019, 09:35 PM

22-08-2019, 09:37 PM

But not that sponsor...

Wrong company [emoji2957]

22-08-2019, 09:38 PM

22-08-2019, 09:43 PM

After seeing that, I wish I had missed the picture.

22-08-2019, 09:46 PM
Don't see the big deal to be honest. Folk complain about lack of sponsors and now folk complaining about having a sponsor. Possibly the same folk?? Sometimes Hibs can do nothing right it would seem

22-08-2019, 09:50 PM
I don't think it looks that bad.

22-08-2019, 09:59 PM
After seeing that, I wish I had missed the picture.

Me too!!

mentalhibee
22-08-2019, 10:24 PM
Everything at Hibs just now is a farce, announcing this after making a big deal about the community foundation sponsor being a choice. This looks cheap and nasty.

22-08-2019, 10:29 PM
Everything at Hibs just now is a farce, announcing this after making a big deal about the community foundation sponsor being a choice. This looks cheap and nasty.

I don't see anything farcical about it. We rejected the commercial sponsors available to us at the time, they were from gambling companies. We didn't want to go down that path and the financial packages weren't worth it.

We now have a taxi firm sponsoring one leg of the players' shorts. Makes us some money, ethics remain intact.

No point being dramatic about it.

22-08-2019, 10:34 PM
I know many are thinking this looks gash and that a Beep on each arse cheek would look better but you can bet your bottom dollar this is going to get talked about, ridiculed and commented on ad nauseam which from a sponsors marketing perspective is exactly the result they're looking for. No publicity is bad publicity

22-08-2019, 10:41 PM
If only such a sponsorship had been around when Ivan played .......................

22-08-2019, 11:05 PM
Mightn't it backfire commerically, being a local taxi firm? They have immediately lost the custom of the maroon half of Edinburgh.

percy veer
23-08-2019, 12:07 AM
Mightn't it backfire commerically, being a local taxi firm? They have immediately lost the custom of the maroon half of Edinburgh.

aye and they never drink eden mills either

23-08-2019, 12:55 AM
They’ll never get my custom either.

23-08-2019, 01:22 AM
I don't see anything farcical about it. We rejected the commercial sponsors available to us at the time, they were from gambling companies. We didn't want to go down that path and the financial packages weren't worth it.

We now have a taxi firm sponsoring one leg of the players' shorts. Makes us some money, ethics remain intact.

No point being dramatic about it.

I find it unlikely we declined any sponsorship from gambling companies based on moral grounds, we’re happy to compete in the Ladbrokes Premiership and take the sponsorship cash that provides us.

23-08-2019, 04:15 AM

They also sponsor the maroon half of Edinburgh...

23-08-2019, 05:26 AM

100% mate. Grown adults getting upset about a logo on a pair of shorts. This place never fails.

23-08-2019, 05:35 AM

A farce?

Ffs who buys a pair of football shorts anyway? Naebodies forcing them on you. It’s extra revenue for the club, if it means a signing or two who gives a ****?

23-08-2019, 07:03 AM
I find it unlikely we declined any sponsorship from gambling companies based on moral grounds, we’re happy to compete in the Ladbrokes Premiership and take the sponsorship cash that provides us.

I’m not sure there was another option.
Getting relegated would be a bit extreme.

Eaststandee
23-08-2019, 07:59 AM
I used them today and will probably switch to them from now on. Good service [emoji106]

23-08-2019, 08:03 AM
Tacky as hell and something I'd expect from Hamilton.

Still it may allow us to compete in the transfer window with Kiddiemister for an Exeter reserve striker or something

23-08-2019, 08:07 AM

Dear oh dear.

23-08-2019, 08:18 AM
I used them today and will probably switch to them from now on. Good service [emoji106]

The shorts or the taxi firm? :greengrin

23-08-2019, 08:18 AM
Don't mind them at all but there's not a chance in hell that the money received would pay for or a player or two!

It will be worth a few grand to us over the year, similar to a pitch side advertising board.

23-08-2019, 08:35 AM

Hardly the same though is it? Whats our alternative - refuse to play in the league and resign?

patch1875
23-08-2019, 08:44 AM
Looks very cartoonish, surely it only kids who wear replica kit anyway?

23-08-2019, 08:52 AM

As others have said, I think that's entirely incomparable. Hibs get to decide their own sponsorships and affiliations, not the league's.

23-08-2019, 09:14 AM
As others have said, I think that's entirely incomparable. Hibs get to decide their own sponsorships and affiliations, not the league's.

Hibs are the league, along with the other 11 clubs. The SPFL is us, the clubs.

23-08-2019, 09:45 AM
Hibs are the league, along with the other 11 clubs. The SPFL is us, the clubs.

Yes, but we still don't choose the commercial sponsor, which is what we're talking about.

23-08-2019, 09:45 AM
It looks crap, but brings in more money. Think that’s about the long and short(s) of it.

Chefki Kuqi
23-08-2019, 09:47 AM
I think it looks alright. Still not sure why we’ve not got a proper shirt sponsor though, if the budget is truly used then I feel like it may have helped and we could have put Hibernian Community Foundation on the arms, if allowed?

Still this is positive news, more money and for a fairly unintrusive sponsor.

23-08-2019, 09:52 AM
Does it look great? No
Do I care that it doesn’t look great? No

Find it interesting that we decide to not have a shirt sponsor, then a couple of months later opt for a big sponsor on our shorts?

Doh Rae Me
23-08-2019, 09:56 AM
Not a taxi firm.
Private Hire Cars.
I will be sticking with the black cabs thanks.

23-08-2019, 09:59 AM
Positive news. However, does this mean we couldn't get shirt sponsor? kind of blows that out of the water IMO

23-08-2019, 10:00 AM
Does it look great? No
Do I care that it doesn’t look great? No

Find it interesting that we decide to not have a shirt sponsor, then a couple of months later opt for a big sponsor on our shorts?

:top marks:top marks

23-08-2019, 10:55 AM
Not a taxi firm.
Private Hire Cars.
I will be sticking with the black cabs thanks.
Well said mate :greengrin

Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 11:40 AM
Looks very cartoonish, surely it only kids who wear replica kit anyway?

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is the whole discussion summed up perfectly.

There is a certain ‘want’ about adults that choose to wear football replica kits.

And, before I get accused of generalising, I’m not. Overweight adults, in particular, should be nowhere near a football strip.

23-08-2019, 11:41 AM

There is a certain ‘want’ about adults that choose to wear football replica kits.

And, before I get accused of generalising, I’m not. Overweight adults, in particular, should be nowhere near a football strip.

I think it’s more to do with the actual team wearing the shorts than people being personally pissed off because they are going to buy them. Not that I give a **** either way, it’s money coming in for very little.

23-08-2019, 11:46 AM
Genuinely don’t understand why some folk have an issue with this.

Even if you buy the shorts, I don’t believe they’ll have the sponsor on them. It’s a slogan. On a pair of football shorts. Get a grip 😂

Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 11:51 AM
I think it’s more to do with the actual team wearing the shorts than people being personally pissed off because they are going to buy them. Not that I give a **** either way, it’s money coming in for very little.

Good point from you, again. :aok:

23-08-2019, 12:12 PM
They also sponsor the maroon half of Edinburgh...

Ah, clever: all bases covered. Makes sense.

23-08-2019, 03:19 PM
Genuinely don’t understand why some folk have an issue with this.

Even if you buy the shorts, I don’t believe they’ll have the sponsor on them. It’s a slogan. On a pair of football shorts. Get a grip 😂

Just wear them inside oot. Job done.

23-08-2019, 05:07 PM
Announce Road Runner.

**** me, Road Runner on the left wing and Billy Whizz on the right and we're sorted.

23-08-2019, 05:09 PM
Opinion on Joe Newell?

Beep Beep.

One Day In Time
23-08-2019, 06:59 PM
I've had a day at work with a whole lot of them slagging me off about this.

You know what, I couldn't give a monkeys what that lot say. This is just another first in the Scottish game for HFC

First domestic game under floodlights, first British team to play in Europe. Now we're the first Scottish team with a short sponsor. Shows creativity in my mind and another source of income isn't to be sniffed at. In future years we'll be able to attract higher profile partners, paying significant wedges to advertise their services and products to 20000 people every fortnight, and a TV audience too

I can handle the snidey and ill informed comments from others but to read such negativity from our own, is hard to take

Where is all this negativity coming from? We're two games in to the season with all to play for.

Have we all forgotten Persevere or was that just a timely soundbite?

23-08-2019, 07:03 PM
I've had a day at work with a whole lot of them slagging me off about this.

You know what, I couldn't give a monkeys what that lot say. This is just another first in the Scottish game for HFC

First domestic game under floodlights, first British team to play in Europe. Now we're the first Scottish team with a short sponsor. Shows creativity in my mind and another source of income isn't to be sniffed at. In future years we'll be able to attract higher profile partners, paying significant wedges to advertise their services and products to 20000 people every fortnight, and a TV audience too

I can handle the snidey and ill informed comments from others but to read such negativity from our own, is hard to take

Where is all this negativity coming from? We're two games in to the season with all to play for.

Have we all forgotten Persevere or was that just a timely soundbite?

Sure we had short sponsors around a decade ago. F&C Investments or something?

One Day In Time
23-08-2019, 07:10 PM
Sure we had short sponsors around a decade ago. F&C Investments or something?

Oops so we did. Had forgotten about them Well the rest of the post still stands

23-08-2019, 07:12 PM
Oops so we did. Had forgotten about them Well the rest of the post still stands

Completely agree with your post. The negativity right now is nuts

23-08-2019, 07:20 PM

I hate things like this. What’s it got to do with you what anyone else chooses to wear? It’s like the people who come on with their superiority complex and criticise folk if they wear a football top on on holiday. I couldn’t care less what others are wearing, it’s entirely up to them.

23-08-2019, 07:55 PM
Hibs can have anything on the shorts if it brings in cash

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

23-08-2019, 08:00 PM

And, before I get accused of generalising, I’m not. Overweight adults, in particular, should be nowhere near a football strip.Oh **** aye, bet you are model material eh ? Each to their own, fat, thin or whatever, folk should be able to wear what they want and shouldn't be judged by the likes of you 👎🏿

23-08-2019, 08:37 PM

i no longer buy replica tops but can i still wear the training tops that the club shop sell :dunno: i'm approx half a stone(i'm back to the gym next week btw...again), but it does mean the club getting a few ££ in the coffers

Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 10:10 PM
i no longer buy replica tops but can i still wear the training tops that the club shop sell :dunno: i'm approx half a stone(i'm back to the gym next week btw...again), but it does mean the club getting a few ££ in the coffers

Not a dig at you, my friend.

It’s the real fatties that are wrong to be wearing the strips. Take care, you’re very decent.

Lucy.

green with envy
23-08-2019, 10:23 PM
Announce Road Runner.

That was to funny.🤣

hibbydog
24-08-2019, 06:04 AM

Contemptible nonsense and just looking for a reaction

24-08-2019, 06:34 AM
Not a dig at you, my friend.

It’s the real fatties that are wrong to be wearing the strips. Take care, you’re very decent.

Lucy.

Sorry that's nonsense, folk can wear whatever they want regardless of what size they are. Should thin folk not wear them either as they will be hanging off them and will also look daft or should it just be fitness models that should wear them, I personally dont like the material in football tops so wouldnt wear one but each to their own

Marvellous
24-08-2019, 09:08 AM
The strip is getting tacky as hell with all the names and logos.

24-08-2019, 09:17 AM

Anybody of any shape or size should be able to wear anything they like without you or anyone else judging.

Here’s Lucy!
24-08-2019, 11:32 AM
Anybody of any shape or size should be able to wear anything they like without you or anyone else judging.

Well, it’s all about opinions, I suppose.

You're certainly entitled to yours, and likewise myself. :aok:

hibbydog
24-08-2019, 11:50 AM
Well, it’s all about opinions, I suppose.

You're certainly entitled to yours, and likewise myself. :aok:

....and you, hen, are entitled (and probably best advised) to keep your self righteous judgemental opinions to yourself

24-08-2019, 12:34 PM

‘Everybody, look at me’

24-08-2019, 12:37 PM
There are some iconic football shirts which look fantastic on adults, especially the retro ones.

Normal, modern football tops...mmm, up to you I suppose. More a statement of allegiance than anything else.

Sorry if this makes me sound judgemental but if you’re an adult who leaves the house in a full kit of matching shorts and top then you need bloody shooting. Unless you’re away to play fives of course.