View Full Version : Tranent v Hibs (Tuesday 20th)

18-08-2019, 10:38 AM
Tranent v Hibs, Foresters Park, Tranent, 7pm Ko this Tuesday

I’m presuming it’s the reserve team, maybe including some 1st team players who need some match sharpness
£6 and £3 to get in
Played last summer, and was a good crowd, help a local team too!
Pies are great too

20-08-2019, 08:53 AM
Giving this a wee bump, anyone heading along tonight?

Monktonhall 7
20-08-2019, 10:48 AM
Giving this a wee bump, anyone heading along tonight?

Yes. Went to the game last year, and our young guys did well, even though Tranent had a certain Mr Ian Black in midfield! looking forward to it.

20-08-2019, 11:23 AM
Yes. Went to the game last year, and our young guys did well, even though Tranent had a certain Mr Ian Black in midfield! looking forward to it.

Does Black still play for them?

bbtj04
20-08-2019, 11:57 AM
Does Black still play for them?

Yes, Ian still plays for the TJ'S

eastcoast
20-08-2019, 03:32 PM
I’ll be heading along. Hoping to see more of the younger lads involved. Interested to see how they fare against a more physical side.

20-08-2019, 03:34 PM

Hi Ian

20-08-2019, 03:39 PM
I’ll be there tonight with my laddie who is the double of me. So if you see two questionable looking chaps then feel free to say hi. Whoever gives me the most money gets a shout out on the Longbangers podcast I’m recording straight after it.

Leitherhibs
20-08-2019, 04:01 PM
Going to head along purely to throw projectiles and shout tasteless abuse at Ian Black :greengrin

20-08-2019, 05:32 PM
Any team news or is it a little early

20-08-2019, 05:40 PM

Guaranteed yellow or red card.

20-08-2019, 05:42 PM
Any team news or is it a little early.

20-08-2019, 05:43 PM
Cheers Billy

20-08-2019, 05:58 PM
Hibs number 4 is a giant.

20-08-2019, 06:01 PM
Hibs number 4 is a giant.

Was supposedly on trial at Morton last week with a view to a loan move. Only seen him in the preseason at Dunfermline and your correct he's a big laddie

20-08-2019, 06:09 PM
Hecky and Stockdale are here. Is now a good time to discuss the high press with him

20-08-2019, 06:11 PM
Hecky and Stockdale are here. Is now a good time to discuss the high press with him

An invite on to longbangers😂
Duncan Dares

20-08-2019, 06:19 PM
An invite on to longbangers😂
Duncan Dares

Got to happen.

Also ask him really nicely to sign a midfielder that can defend.

HibeesLittleHel
20-08-2019, 06:28 PM
match update anyone?

20-08-2019, 06:28 PM
I’ll tell you something, he’s dressed immaculately.

HibeesLittleHel
20-08-2019, 06:31 PM
Ian Black? I thought he’d be in paint spattered overalls and have a crabbit wee face 😂

20-08-2019, 06:37 PM
match update anyone?

Still 0-0, both teams had a couple of half chances

Good wee crowd in

HibeesLittleHel
20-08-2019, 06:40 PM
Still 0-0, both teams had a couple of half chances

Good wee crowd in

Cheers for that 👍

20-08-2019, 06:44 PM

While you're at it you might as well ask if they're looking for a defensive midfielder.

20-08-2019, 06:57 PM
While you're at it you might as well ask if they're looking for a defensive midfielder.

I tried. We are not going for Greg Doherty. They were very coy.

20-08-2019, 07:03 PM

Hmmmmm disappointing to hear that

Wonder who we have in mind?

Capt Mainwaring
20-08-2019, 07:10 PM
0-1 Hibs Gullan

20-08-2019, 07:15 PM
0-1 Hibs Gullan

Scoring a few goals, has he got himself a loan deal or will he be more likely to be around the 1st team squad.

Still surprised he wasn't getting game time preseason

20-08-2019, 07:17 PM
Our 17 is a player. Just came on second half.

20-08-2019, 07:18 PM
Hmmmmm disappointing to hear that

Wonder who we have in mind?

He'll end up back at Shrewsbury. Had a great season for them, and league 1 can still sign players.

20-08-2019, 07:18 PM
Scoring a few goals, has he got himself a loan deal or will he be more likely to be around the 1st team squad.

Still surprised he wasn't getting game time preseason

Im a big fan. Would love to see him involved with 1st team squad.

20-08-2019, 07:25 PM
2-0, hammer again. Good work from Stirling.

Capt Mainwaring
0-2 Hibs Gullan again

2-0 Hibs. Driving run from Stirling, and Hammer scored from a tight angle

Lee Marvin
20-08-2019, 07:29 PM
No Oli Shaw tonight? Perhaps close to signing for another club

Capt Mainwaring
20-08-2019, 07:34 PM
Match abandoned with 5 to go. Tranent player with bad injury

20-08-2019, 07:36 PM

*****bag if you dinnae.

20-08-2019, 07:36 PM

Hope the lad is ok.

20-08-2019, 07:38 PM

That doesn't sound to good, hope the lad is OK

Capt Mainwaring
20-08-2019, 07:39 PM
Hope the lad is ok.

Innocent 50-50 challenge but Hibs player had more momentum going in. Needed a leg brace - possible break

20-08-2019, 07:39 PM
Hope the lad is ok.

Him and Sadiki clattered their knees together, heard it in the stand, no nice.

20-08-2019, 07:44 PM
Didn’t look good for young Ben there, full bloodied 50/50.

20-08-2019, 07:45 PM
Didn’t look good for young Ben there, full bloodied 50/50.

Ben Miller?

20-08-2019, 07:50 PM
Ben Miller?

Yeah mate.

20-08-2019, 07:50 PM
Yeah mate.

No great news that

20-08-2019, 08:05 PM

Cheers. Wouldn't expect them to tell but even a coy response rather than saying they're not looking at all says something. Could be they're after someone and are working on persuading Leeann and the board to find the cash.

Hope the young lad is okay.

20-08-2019, 08:33 PM
Hope the lad is ok, the game was played in a good spirit, but think all the fans got a shock when the lad went down
Hope Sadiki is ok too

20-08-2019, 08:34 PM
The young fellah Stephen Elder that came on 2nd half was very impressive wide right and quick, nice touch.
I also look at Tommy Block and I’m desperate for that boy to do well.
Gullan looks ready for a bit more first team involvement.
Debut for the keeper? Don’t think I’ve seen him before. Was he the keeper in the Elgin tie?
Sean Mackie has had a brutal haircut.
Hope the Tranent boy is OK. Looked and sounded like his ankle took a blow.

20-08-2019, 08:38 PM
The young fellah Stephen Elder that came on 2nd half was very impressive wide right and quick, nice touch.
Debut for the keeper? Don’t think I’ve seen him before. Was he the keeper in the Elgin tie?

Is Elder the young guy we signed from Queens Park at the start of the summer?

(We did sign someone from them didn’t we? Starting to wonder if I imagined that)

20-08-2019, 08:42 PM

The keeper in the Elgin tie is no longer with us, surprised they didn’t go with Cantley in that game, he played tonight, seen him a few times, been impressed!
I could be wrong, but thought it was Steven Bradley who came on, maybe a mistake on the team lines?

EVENTUALLY
20-08-2019, 08:46 PM
Is Elder the young guy we signed from Queens Park at the start of the summer?

(We did sign someone from them didn’t we? Starting to wonder if I imagined that)

We signed a young winger from Queen of the South. Bradley I think his name is.

20-08-2019, 08:46 PM

How is Block playing?

If he's anywhere near ready for the first team I'm surprised we would have a defensive midfielder out on a development loan - where he is by all accounts doing well.

20-08-2019, 08:47 PM
We signed a young winger from Queen of the South. Bradley I think his name is.

Queens Park

As an aside, thought Bradley Donaldson player well tonight for Tranent. Suffered an horrific injury early in his career at Hibs. You never know what would have happened if he’d kept injury free!

20-08-2019, 08:56 PM
The keeper in the Elgin tie is no longer with us, surprised they didn’t go with Cantley in that game, he played tonight, seen him a few times, been impressed!
I could be wrong, but thought it was Steven Bradley who came on, maybe a mistake on the team lines?

Same player Billy, think he may be officially registered as Steven Elder? Definitely same player though - was listed as Elder for the Elgin game too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

20-08-2019, 09:01 PM
Same player Billy, think he may be officially registered as Steven Elder? Definitely same player though - was listed as Elder for the Elgin game too.

It is the same lad, cultured left foot, reminded me of a young Sam Stanton

20-08-2019, 09:13 PM
So the keeper in the Elgin game who is no longer with us is called?

20-08-2019, 09:14 PM

Part of his punishment for being sent off no less

20-08-2019, 09:20 PM

Joshua Rae, ex-Celtic, Hamilton and Leeds.

20-08-2019, 10:51 PM

Wasn't with us, called in for the game only apparently, as we had injuries and no cover ...he was absolutely brutal so thankfully not one of ours

21-08-2019, 05:36 AM

We will need to make our mind up about what we are calling the boy as he looks very good.

21-08-2019, 05:38 AM
How is Block playing?

If he's anywhere near ready for the first team I'm surprised we would have a defensive midfielder out on a development loan - where he is by all accounts doing well.

Played the 90 at RB and played pretty well. Caught out for pace a couple of times 2nd half but overall pretty solid and got forward. Hopefully his loan spell at Queens Park will see him improve more.

The Baldmans Comb
21-08-2019, 07:36 AM
I wondered why Ryan Porteus wasn't playing last night as it was a good opportunity for game time.

Maybe a wee knock as he was definetly there.

Very poor first half last night as Hibs don't seem to have much in the way of strikers but this improved after the break when Jamie Gullan played more up front.

We do seem to have a surplus of midfield players all combatitive and strong but all lacking composure and final ball delivery but that might come in time but at the moment there is a tension in the development team with players trying to hard to impress.

Tommy Block has to play right back but he reads the game well and pushes forward though was totally skinned by a Tranent Juniors winger 2nd half before making an excellent recovery.

Defensive midfield might be his long term position.

Defensively our big giant at the back whose name I can't spell so will call him Sadi looks very decent and it would be interesting to see how he copes against better opposition.

He was involved with the 60/40 ball at the end and I thought the Tranent player shouldn't have gone for it but it was a sad ending as it looked a very sore one and good refereeing to end the game 5 minutes early.

Leitherhibs
21-08-2019, 07:45 AM
I read into Porteous not playing that he'd be involved on Sat with big Daz out, not worth risking him if he's needed on the bench on Saturday, after Jackson's poor display on Saturday and Hanlon not having had a good game in a long time, he should go straight into the XI IMO.

Monktonhall 7
21-08-2019, 11:26 AM
We will need to make our mind up about what we are calling the boy as he looks very good.

According to Jamie Gullans interview on the Official site, its Stephen Bradley. I thought he was excellent when he came on last night, and let Hammer move further forward.

21-08-2019, 12:09 PM
According to Jamie Gullans interview on the Official site, its Stephen Bradley. I thought he was excellent when he came on last night, and let Hammer move further forward.

That’s not the name on the Team Sheet but never mind I’m sure we’ll know soon. Maybe he’s Bradley the elder.

21-08-2019, 06:14 PM

On that note I really think Hammer 🔨 is a terrible name.

21-08-2019, 06:17 PM
On that note I really think Hammer 🔨 is a terrible name.

OK Sammy7nil 😜

21-08-2019, 06:22 PM
Any news on how the Tranent lad is, who got stretchered off

21-08-2019, 06:29 PM
Any news on how the Tranent lad is, who got stretchered off

Bruised tendon, mate 👍🏻

21-08-2019, 06:38 PM
Bruised tendon, mate 👍🏻

Thanks, bad, but not as bad as 1st feared!

Hope Sadiki is ok too!