View Full Version : I Just Wish

DanishJohn
17-08-2019, 10:47 AM
During this time of crisis where The UK is getting very worried about Brexit and the Hibs playing budget I thought I would just try and lighting the mood slightly.

As you look back as a Hibs fan how many times have you ever thought " I Just Wish.."

Here are three of mine but I know we must have many many more.

I just Wish

1 We had won the Coronation Cup. A great trophy to keep for ever and probably proof that we were the best team in Britain at the time.(Not the team who won it and cherish it)

2 The first European Cup had started in 1951 not 1955. My auld man reckoned Hibs were over the hill (still reached semi final) but in our prime he reckoned we could have won it.

3 On a night in Split in 1973 we had not flapped. With a bit more experience etc we could have got through to semi final. Eddie Turnbull was heartbroken because he was convinced we could have won the European Cup winners Cup.

Well that's some of mine.
Whats yours?

TheReg!
17-08-2019, 10:50 AM
Not worried at all about Brexit 👍🏻

17-08-2019, 10:52 AM
2 and 3 are huge.

It would have put us above Aberdeen and Hearts for the weighting of our honours.

Fortunately, great times lie ahead.

17-08-2019, 10:55 AM
Not exactly Hibs but I wish Armstrong had punted the ball into row Z in the 2-2 draw against England.

17-08-2019, 10:58 AM
I wish we'd beaten Ross County and won the double

17-08-2019, 10:59 AM
I wish we’d lost the semifinal in 2012.

and that we hadn’t taken our foot off the gas on New Year’s Day ‘73. Should have been double figures. They could never have lived that down.

that I was old enough to have been at said game in 1973.

17-08-2019, 11:00 AM

aye, that too

17-08-2019, 11:01 AM
Since it's a wish list and therefore doesn't have to be realistic

1 - We'd got that penalty in the 1979 cup final against Huns RIP.
2 - We'd won the 2012 cup final 5-1.
3 - I'll go with the OP's #2.

MartinfaePorty
17-08-2019, 11:04 AM
1987. Having just pumped Clydebank 4-1 the week before at home, we went to Kilbowie for a Scottish Cup tie, played awfully and lost 1-0. Hearts beat Celtic the same day and Rangers were already out (the famous Adrian Sprott game v Hamilton). Only time as a teenager that I thought we would have had a real chance of winning the cup, albeit it would only have put us in the last 8, I think. Semi finalists were Dundee, Dundee Utd, Hearts and St Mirren. All fairly decent teams, but felt on our day we could have beaten them.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

17-08-2019, 11:09 AM
For years my wish was that we could get to the last 15 minutes of a SC final still in the game. The 3 I had seen us in up to that point saw us dead and buried by 60 minutes, that's being generous. I always believed if we were still in the game at 75 minutes then the team and fans would drag each other across the line. That wish became a reality in some style.

I wish the dressing room has stayed untited in 2007, we had a great chance of doing the double with the LC already in the bag but as is often the Hibs way we managed to shoot ourselves in the foot. I also wish McGeough and Fyvie had been fit in 2016 for the LC final and that could well have been another double.

17-08-2019, 11:14 AM
I wish that Ibrox had been sold off to property developers in 2012...and that 'Brother Walfrid' had preferred cricket

17-08-2019, 12:36 PM

Really? You must work in the public sector.

17-08-2019, 12:39 PM
Not exactly Hibs but I wish Armstrong had punted the ball into row Z in the 2-2 draw against England.

That will haunt me until my dying days. Tbh i had set myself up that they were about to score when they got the freekick at the edge of the box but once we cleared it i thought we would hold on. All he needed to do was shell it into the corner ffs

17-08-2019, 12:40 PM
I wish whittaker had scored that header against the huns that would have put us 4 up. Honestly believe we wouldve went on to win by 6 clear goals if that had gone in

17-08-2019, 12:41 PM
I wish Celtc hadn’t come for Jock Stein in 65. There’s no reason why he couldn’t have done for us what he did for them. In fact he was already doing it.

17-08-2019, 12:48 PM

HAZ2000
17-08-2019, 12:55 PM

Or doesn't get worked up by negative media

hibbytam
17-08-2019, 01:18 PM
I wish we'd had our act together when rangers and hearts went belly up. We should have at least been competing with Aberdeen for 2nd, not struggling to get back into the league.

I also wish we'd be able to keep teams/combinations of players together for a sustained time. Imagine a whole season with the Mcginn-mcgeouch- Allan midfield. Or an extra season with the 'golden generation'. Instead they get split up before we get to achieve what those teams should have achieved.

17-08-2019, 01:25 PM
I wish Celtc hadn’t come for Jock Stein in 65. There’s no reason why he couldn’t have done for us what he did for them. In fact he was already doing it.

Great one that. If only.

Risboro Hibby
17-08-2019, 01:50 PM
The Split game is a great if only

i really thought we could win it that year and the final that year was in Paris.

i was so looking forward to that trip till we blew it big time in Yugoslavia.

17-08-2019, 02:26 PM

I don't think we'd have won the Scottish if we won the league Cup.

17-08-2019, 02:42 PM
I just wish Dave Beaumont had a cabinet at home containing one of Wayne Foster's mangled legs in some sort of macabre Damien Hirst style modern art arrangement to commemorate the worst tackle in the history of association football.

Liam6270
17-08-2019, 05:33 PM
I wish we’d never lost the CIS cup to Livingston, a dark day

17-08-2019, 05:42 PM
I wish we hadn't messed Robbo about and signed him ourselves.

17-08-2019, 05:48 PM
I wish I was 18 again & heading down to London to join my first ship at the start of my Merchant Navy career :agree:

LithgaeHibby
17-08-2019, 05:59 PM
Andy Goram hadn't gone running up to Keith Houchen as he was about to take a pen against Liege in the UEFA cup.

CloudSquall
17-08-2019, 06:01 PM
I wish Luna's header Vs AEK had been a few inches lower, it would've been complete and utter pandemonium had that went in and a European hat trick would've been the icing in the cake.

17-08-2019, 06:07 PM
I wish we had signed Alan Rough and George Stewart with the money we spent on Joe Harper.

I wish there was more footage available of the Tornadoes in their pomp.

I wishI didn’t keep losing me burdz.

17-08-2019, 07:09 PM
I wish Luna's header Vs AEK had been a few inches lower, it would've been complete and utter pandemonium had that went in and a European hat trick would've been the icing in the cake.

Lower? It went wide, not over.

17-08-2019, 07:17 PM
I wish the players involved in the Collins insurrection hadn't been a bunch of bairns, and had realised they could be double-winning legends instead.

CloudSquall
17-08-2019, 07:17 PM

My memory must have been playing tricks on me, a few inches less wide then :greengrin

17-08-2019, 10:05 PM
I wish, Dwight Yorke had lost, Russell Latapy's phone number.

Mixu62
17-08-2019, 10:31 PM
I wish we'd got Marc Libbra and Didier Agathe in long term contracts.

17-08-2019, 10:35 PM

Nah.

hibby_bry
17-08-2019, 10:46 PM
I wish we’d lost the semifinal in 2012.

and that we hadn’t taken our foot off the gas on New Year’s Day ‘73. Should have been double figures. They could never have lived that down.

that I was old enough to have been at said game in 1973.

Where’s the like button?

Cataplana
18-08-2019, 01:23 PM
I wish McLeish had used all the substitutes in the 6-2 game, as I am sure we would have scored another two, or three.

I used to wish that Colin Campbell had not tried to stay on his feet when McLoy grabbed his ankle, but for some reason I don't give a monkeys anymore.

18-08-2019, 02:46 PM
I wish John McGinn and that cup team could have stayed together at Hibs.

I wish The Rangers hadn't been allowed into the league.

I wish hearts had actually been punished for their cheating.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk