View Full Version : High press ..

11-08-2019, 05:05 PM
I kept reading on here last week that you can't high press a team who sit in deep and defend.

So how did Rangers manage it against us today?

11-08-2019, 05:09 PM
I kept reading on here last week that you can't high press a team who sit in deep and defend.

So how did Rangers manage it against us today?

Because we can’t pass the ball especially under a tiny bit of pressure (barring Allan) and we play in slow motion.

11-08-2019, 05:27 PM
High pressing attacking football that’s what we’re all about, is it not. Hecky out.

11-08-2019, 05:30 PM
Because we play with a awful lack of urgency. The ball transitions from defence to midfield too slowly. It moves from midfield to the forwards too slowly. Just so pedestrian and uninspiring.

11-08-2019, 05:31 PM
Very fair point. It’s why we struggled against Stirling afterall.

No doubt the poster will get pelters and people will play the poster not the post.

High press?

Needs to press the ejector button right oot o Easter Road

You need your back 4 to push up and support midfield and front players to close down.

We also have a slow back 4 - well 2 out of 4 who stated are slow. A 3rd choice right back and 2nd choice left back.

We don’t have a defensive midfielder.

Our wide left doesn’t have the energy levels to do this.

Watch how Man City press from the front - you often see their whole team on the TV screen.

Watch Hibs and gals everywhere and distances between each area massive.

That first 40 mins today was one of the worst performances / set ups I’ve seen for a long time.

11-08-2019, 06:36 PM
According to the Scotsman report we DID actually try to press high today:

"..Hibs continued to try and press the game as high as possible but it was an approach which simply provided Rangers with ample space to exploit in behind them. They did that to devastating effect when they made it 2-0 in the 15th minute."

11-08-2019, 06:43 PM

"..Hibs continued to try and press the game as high as possible but it was an approach which simply provided Rangers with ample space to exploit in behind them. They did that to devastating effect when they made it 2-0 in the 15th minute."

Hahaha

11-08-2019, 06:45 PM

Fake news.

11-08-2019, 06:46 PM
Trouser press, mair like.

11-08-2019, 06:53 PM

Who the hell wrote that? We did the exact opposite of press high up in the first fifteen minutes (and the next seventy-five).

11-08-2019, 07:25 PM
He’s a blether who talks pish and his previous clubs fans told us that.

11-08-2019, 08:52 PM
Who the hell wrote that? We did the exact opposite of press high up in the first fifteen minutes (and the next seventy-five).

To be fair to him he did say that in his interview. Our half decent spell coincided with us pressing higher.

smithy_hibees
11-08-2019, 10:23 PM
Just because you run towards someone whos attacking you (football term;) doesn't actually mean high press Hecky.. I can see why Leeds fans hated him so much, He talks fantastically well but so far its ppthe complete opposite on the pitch.. I actually renewed after listening to one of his interviews..