View Full Version : Match Updates Rangers v Hibs

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

11-08-2019, 12:46 PM
In accordance with the new rules, I'm starting this thread around the hour before mark (though I generally have done before) - remember, only game-related news on this thread from now on.

Team news shortly, I imagine.

11-08-2019, 12:47 PM
In accordance with the new rules, I'm starting this thread around the hour before mark (though I generally have done before) - remember, only game-related news on this thread from now on.

Team news shortly, I imagine.

14 mins isn’t “around the hour mark”

11-08-2019, 12:52 PM
Starting line-up: Marciano, Whittaker, McGregor, Hanlon, Mackie, Mallan, Vela, Allan, Horgan, Doidge, Newell.

Substitutes: Maxwell, Gray, Slivka, Jackson, Kamberi, Shaw, Murray.

11-08-2019, 12:53 PM
Kamberi played well last week.

Dropped today :rolleyes:

Torto7
11-08-2019, 12:54 PM
Starting line-up: Marciano, Whittaker, McGregor, Hanlon, Mackie, Mallan, Vela, Allan, Horgan, Doidge, Newell.

Substitutes: Maxwell, Gray, Slivka, Jackson, Kamberi, Shaw, Murray.

Harsh on Flo. Midfield is too light imo. Nonetheless c'mon the Hibees!

11-08-2019, 12:55 PM
Just a reminder guys please try and keep comments on this thread related to the match.

We don't want to spend time deleting posts.

We want to see the game too :greengrin

Surprised at Kamberi and Jackson being benched.

Would've like to have seen Slivka starting. He loves a Hun skelping. I have a feeling we are going to get a result today.

Not sure about that team. Would be playing Slivka for Newell today - Slivka is usually good against them and we can’t have Newell hiding which I fear he might. Fingers crossed! Waiting in the car park to go in. GGTTH.

Can’t see us getting anything with that line up.

11-08-2019, 12:56 PM
Very surprised to see Kamberi dropped. Doidge done OK when he came on (minus the missed chances) but both seem like they need to be part of a 2.

CloudSquall
11-08-2019, 12:56 PM
Doige is a surprise, huge game for him.

davhibby
11-08-2019, 12:57 PM
Mcgregor for Jackson is disappointing. I can see why he’s starting Doidge though

11-08-2019, 12:58 PM
Wonder when Jordan Jones' first dive / penalty award will be?

Spudster
Doige maybe considered better at defending set plays than Kamberi?

Wouldn’t have been able to pick this team, but happy with it
Game lasts 90 mins, got good options on the bench

Very very surprised to see Kamberi and Jackson dropped.

11-08-2019, 12:59 PM
Harsh on Flo. Midfield is too light imo. Nonetheless c'mon the Hibees!

Vela and we should keep good pi session. Would rather have Ivanka than Newall. Kamberi over Doidge as can run channels and hold ball up better. Good on the break too. Contributes in defending too.

11-08-2019, 12:59 PM
Fully expected the McGregor for Jackson change but the Kamberi one is a surprise :confused:

11-08-2019, 01:02 PM
Weird changes. Have to come off or he’s due criticism

11-08-2019, 01:02 PM
MacGregor knows what is required against Der Hun

No quarter given or asked

Looks like Hecky is still doing a form of squad rotation

11-08-2019, 01:03 PM
Quite like the look of that team

Hibi
11-08-2019, 01:04 PM
Mcgregor for Jackson is disappointing. I can see why he’s starting Doidge though

Not for me, I don’t think he’s as strong as McGregor defensively and not convinced he’s quicker either.

11-08-2019, 01:05 PM
Can't understand why Flo had been benched, was Hecky not at the game last week?

11-08-2019, 01:06 PM
Is that going to be a 442 line-up?

11-08-2019, 01:06 PM
Wonder when Jordan Jones' first dive / penalty award will be?

Noticed that about him on Thursday diving bassa

Hibees1973
11-08-2019, 01:07 PM
I said in an earlier post that Heckingbottom must use as many players we have that have experience of playing at Ibrox.

To have Gray and Kamberi on the bench is a big mistake. If Gray is on the bench he must be fit to play.
Also Kamberi would not have missed those sitters Doidge missed last week. Don’t you play those that are in the best form?

I’m not at Ibrox but hope it is hosing it down to make the game a bit of a lottery.

Sorry but this looks like a Hibs defeat today.

Not for me, I don’t think he’s as strong as McGregor defensively and not convinced he’s quicker either.

McGregor is definitely quicker. He is deceptively fast.

Tug Wilson
Horses for courses.

Hibs will be sitting deeper than usual and hitting on the break.

Doidge possibly deemed better at holding the ball up as support gets to him. Stop the ball just coming back at us all the time.

11-08-2019, 01:08 PM

451/433

11-08-2019, 01:09 PM
Miserable through here this afternoon.

Bob Box Fish
11-08-2019, 01:09 PM
For me the only real chance we had today was if we went 3-5-2. Mallan and Allan in the same midfield at Ibrox is suicide. Hope I’m wrong but can’t see past a heavy defeat today, wish Hecky wasn’t so stubborn with that formation.

11-08-2019, 01:10 PM
For me the only real chance we had today was if we went 3-5-2. Mallan and Allan in the same midfield at Ibrox is suicide. Hope I’m wrong but can’t see past a heavy defeat today, wish Hecky wasn’t so stubborn with that formation.

Would we no have had them both in the same midfield with a 352?

Is there radio commentary for this?

I certainly didn’t think Flo was amazing last weekend. Not massively surprised he’s been dropped.

Personally would’ve had Slivka in the midfield.

Logged in to watch the game but it's an hour ahead in Croatia

This is going to be ultra-defensive, isn't it. Punting long balls to Doidge.

11-08-2019, 01:11 PM
I like it. Newell can cross a ball from deep which may be advantageous. Doidge will be vital at set plays at both ends of the field.

11-08-2019, 01:12 PM
Someone outside the ground got a free ticket

Bob Box Fish
Would we no have had them both in the same midfield with a 352?

I would have played Slivka instead of Mallan and Doidge / Kamberi up top together. Take out Newell and Horgan, keeping Jackson.

badabing67

Think its 4-5-1 think he will change to 3-5-2 in the 2nd half depending on how the game goes so if it goes to plan I'd expect to see Flo & Slivka on at some point

11-08-2019, 01:13 PM

BBC doing live commentary from St Mirren v Aberdeen with updates from our game

11-08-2019, 01:14 PM
Is it only Hibs who are ultra defensive and punt long balls when playing one up front. What about all the other teams that do it? Why would it be such a popular formation?

Weegreenman
11-08-2019, 01:15 PM
That midfield looks great if we thought we’d have a lot of possession. However I don’t see that being the case and I know Mallen & Allen’s strong point isn’t man marking or winning the ball back when out of possession.

McGregor & Hanlon :aok:

Newell needs to be on his game today. Provide a good out for us and try to build something from nothing.

It shouldn’t be, no. If the midfield does it’s job properly it should be fine. If they don’t look for the ball and hide we’ll be in for a long afternoon.

Is it only Hibs who are ultra defensive and punt long balls when playing one up front. What about all the other teams that do it? Why would it be such a popular formation?

It wasn't last week, but our manager has previous for playing defensively v the OF and the change of striker suggests so as well.

Newell and Mallan will I fear be passengers in that midfield. I would have had Slivka in before either of them.

I am ok with Flo on the bench as it had to be one of them up front and Doidge might hold it up better.

Big game for Horgan as another who can’t drift in and out of the game.

Great to see SDG on bench and given he hasn’t played much it’s unfair to assume he would start. Dad at back with Hanlon is always a good partnership against them.

11-08-2019, 01:16 PM
Miserable through here this afternoon.
That’s just Govan tbf.

Torto7
11-08-2019, 01:18 PM

It looks that way. I just hope Doidge has a good game otherwise the pessimism will go through the roof. It's a brave decision from PH.

11-08-2019, 01:18 PM
Logged in to watch the game but it's an hour ahead in Croatia

What’s the score?

11-08-2019, 01:19 PM
I certainly didn’t think Flo was amazing last weekend. Not massively surprised he’s been dropped.

Personally would’ve had Slivka in the midfield.Yup I agree didn't think Flo was overly great last week until Doidge and Slivka came on...and his hold up play is normally not the best...hence why Doidge gets the nod today imo. I also would have dropped either Mallan or Newell for Slivka tho

11-08-2019, 01:20 PM
14 mins isn’t “around the hour mark”

panicked incase someone beat him to it :greengrin

11-08-2019, 01:20 PM
What’s the score?

hibIBZ
11-08-2019, 01:21 PM
Can see the logic of putting McGregor in for his experience, but I think it's a strange one dropping kamberi, I would of rather seen kamberi, would have maybe put slivka in as well for a bit of composure on the ball.

Big game today for the new players, especially Newell and doidge. Think doidge will handle it well bit not sure Newell will deal with the physicality

11-08-2019, 01:24 PM
Heckingbottom obviously rates Doidge highly. Flo is our best striker imo but it might just be a case of horses for courses. Surprising though.:confused:

Have you seen the Rangers team? It isn’t Barca we are playing. We have good players who can keep the ball. We shouldn’t be afraid of this lot. They really aren’t that good.

As we are sticking with a back 4 there wasn't much else we could do. 433 / 451. A big day for Vela in that enforcer role in the middle. If he doesn't doe his job our CBs will be very exposed as Allan /Mallan won't do enough defensively.

one day maybe...
It’s fitba stop greeting ffs... if we win we get 3 points, if we lose we get zilch..
Ever the optimist never the pessimist #ggtth

telford hibbee
11-08-2019, 01:27 PM

Don't think BBC send anyone to ipox at the moment.

11-08-2019, 01:27 PM
Heckingbottom obviously rates Doidge highly. Flo is our best striker imo but it might just be a case of horses for courses. Surprising though.:confused:

Perhaps thinks Doidge work rate and application more reliable ?

11-08-2019, 01:31 PM
8 English players and only 1 outfield Scottish player in the Rangers team. Just saying.

11-08-2019, 01:31 PM
Kamberi played well last week.

Dropped today :rolleyes:

Slivka too.

Not sure what he needs to do to start a game.

Torto7
11-08-2019, 01:32 PM
Perhaps thinks Doidge work rate and application more reliable ?

Kamberi has performed well in Glasgow. There's nothing wrong with his work rate so if that's the reason he's been dropped then it's a silly one. He probably wants to be cagey for an hour like he seems to do against the top six teams then go and try to win it later in the game. It's not what I would do but we'll see how it pans out.

11-08-2019, 01:33 PM
Not sure about that line up. Rangers will be a totally different proposition than St Mirren but we poor with 1 up top last week.

I'd like to have seen us go 3-5-2 with Slivka in midfield for Mallan and Flo and Doidge up front. I that would put a lot of pressure on Whittaker and Mackie at wingback but would have given us numbers in midfield, cover in defence if one of them doesn't have the legs to get back and a presence up front.

I will be delighted if I'm wrong but neither Newell nor Horgan did enough for me last week to suggest they'll trouble the Rangers back line or link up with the lone striker.

11-08-2019, 01:34 PM
Huns: MacGregor Tav Goldson Katic Flannigan Jack Davis Aribo Ojo Defoe Jones Subs : Edmundson Foderingham Halliday Freddo Arfield Stewart and Docherty

11-08-2019, 01:35 PM
I said in an earlier post that Heckingbottom must use as many players we have that have experience of playing at Ibrox.

To have Gray and Kamberi on the bench is a big mistake. If Gray is on the bench he must be fit to play.
Also Kamberi would not have missed those sitters Doidge missed last week. Don’t you play those that are in the best form?

I’m not at Ibrox but hope it is hosing it down to make the game a bit of a lottery.

How is it a big mistake surly only time will tell?

11-08-2019, 01:35 PM
Good to see SDG on the bench.

11-08-2019, 01:36 PM
Is Kamberi perhaps carrying a knock?

11-08-2019, 01:38 PM
Kamberi is great to have off the bench when legs are tiring, that’s the only logical explanation I can imagine.

Very lightweight midfield, hopefully be able to pass rings round them.

Is Kamberi perhaps carrying a knock?

Has dodgy knees

Slivka too.

Probably get back to full fitness. The only 90 he's played was against Elgin City with the Colts.

MagicSwirlingShip
11-08-2019, 01:41 PM
Did I hear right that BBC Radio scotland aren’t covering the game live?

11-08-2019, 01:41 PM
As we are sticking with a back 4 there wasn't much else we could do. 433 / 451. A big day for Vela in that enforcer role in the middle. If he doesn't doe his job our CBs will be very exposed as Allan /Mallan won't do enough defensively.

Which worries me a bit, from what I've seen of Vela he is a neat and tidy footballer with a fair bit of energy, but he didn't appear to handle the physical side any better than Mallan or Allan against St Mirren and IIRC got hooked, possibly as a result of that. Whittaker payed well against Newcastle and St Mirren, but he will have to be really on it to stop Jones ripping him a new one today.

ChicoM1875
11-08-2019, 01:42 PM

They have some beef with The Rangers

11-08-2019, 01:43 PM

They are covering St Mirren v Aberdeen with updates from our game

11-08-2019, 01:46 PM
Rangers midfield is not exactly worth ****ting bricks over is it? Jack has made a cock of himself on several occasions.

MikeyS
11-08-2019, 01:46 PM
Which worries me a bit, from what I've seen of Vela he is a neat and tidy footballer with a fair bit of energy, but he didn't appear to handle the physical side any better than Mallan or Allan against St Mirren and IIRC got hooked, possibly as a result of that. Whittaker payed well against Newcastle and St Mirren, but he will have to be really on it to stop Jones ripping him a new one today.

Think you are giving Jordan Jones a lot more credit than he deserves! Horgan & Boyle are much more effective wingers than him. Hes the new Michael O'Halloran in my opinion.

11-08-2019, 01:47 PM

Play, yes. Start, not necessarily.

I don’t know why folk keep saying this.

11-08-2019, 01:47 PM
8 English players and only 1 outfield Scottish player in the Rangers team. Just saying.

I would imagine that's a record number of English players for any Scottish team?

Lee Marvin
11-08-2019, 01:48 PM
Kamberi is great to have off the bench when legs are tiring, that’s the only logical explanation I can imagine.

Very lightweight midfield, hopefully be able to pass rings round them.

This is exactly why I'm praying we are not done in transfer market

11-08-2019, 01:49 PM
What’s the score?

lol

SJNB Hibby
11-08-2019, 01:49 PM
Anybody got audio on Hibs tv yet?

11-08-2019, 01:50 PM

Who would you play wide in the five? I like Whittaker unlike a few on here, but I don’t think he could operate on the right of a five. The hun have good pace now and would rip us with a back three imo. Too much space for them to exploit.

SJNB Hibby
11-08-2019, 01:50 PM
Anybody got audio on Hibs tv yet?

OK--got it on the backup player

11-08-2019, 01:51 PM
Play, yes. Start, not necessarily.

I don’t know why folk keep saying this.

Indeed. The guy hasn't kicked a ball, not even in a preseason friendly, for months.

Ibrox is not the best place to bring him back in.

11-08-2019, 01:55 PM
I would imagine that's a record number of English players for any Scottish team?

Souness’ Rangers must’ve had more:

Woods
Roberts
Butcher
Falco
Walters
West
Phillips
Drinkell
Wilkins
Francis
Stevens
Steven
Sterland

Etc

11-08-2019, 01:56 PM
The team I'd have picked, apart from Flo/ Doidge.

I still think they'll beat us by a couple, but if Allan plays like he can then we might get some joy against their midfield and Flo is quite the threat to bring on later in the game.

Hopefully they'll tire, as they have a habit of doing and especially after a big game on Thursday.

If we can stay in the game until late, we might have what it takes to nick it.

Knowing that Horgan is unlikely to last the 90, we still look a bit one-paced and really need Middleton to hit the ground running.

Stokes has opened the scoring

I can’t believe how many people are saying we should’ve dropped Mallan, the guy is a class act.

11-08-2019, 01:57 PM
Just to remind everyone about the iSpy function - https://www.hibs.net/vaispy.php

Much better than everyone refreshing every minute and slowing the site down :wink:

11-08-2019, 01:58 PM
Huns: MacGregor Tav Goldson Katic Flannigan Jack Davis Aribo Ojo Defoe Jones Subs : Edmundson Foderingham Halliday Freddo Arfield Stewart and Docherty

That team are no world beaters, we do look a bit lightweight in midfield but we do need to have a go at that team as they are nothing special.

11-08-2019, 01:58 PM
chucking down

dafties on the pitch dressed as animals, and animals in the home stands dressed as people

11-08-2019, 02:01 PM
chucking down

dafties on the pitch dressed as animals, and animals in the home stands dressed as people

11-08-2019, 02:03 PM
Referee started well :rolleyes:

11-08-2019, 02:03 PM
Beaton calling fouls for them already

11-08-2019, 02:05 PM
defoe gathers in the box thankfully hard touch and rocky smothers the ball at his feet

badabing67
11-08-2019, 02:05 PM
Slivka too.

Maybe start by controlling the midfield in games

11-08-2019, 02:07 PM
McGregor booked

yellow card for Daz, rightfully, after just 5 mins of the game

Daz reactions just aren't up to this game. Booked after 5 mins??

11-08-2019, 02:08 PM
Not looking good so far

Gloucester Hibs
Daz on a booking already 🙈

Daz reactions just aren't up to this game. Booked after 5 mins??

Crazy place too dive in. He needs to be very careful for 85 minutes now.

Referee started well :rolleyes:

Nothing new, don’t expect that to change

11-08-2019, 02:09 PM

We have a history of bringing players off the bench at Ibrox who then change the game. Here's hoping :thumbsup:

good stuff from whitty and horgan crossing in to the box, just too far for doidge

badabing67
yellow card for Daz, rightfully, after just 5 mins of the game

Did he not do the same at Parkhead last season

11-08-2019, 02:10 PM
ffs

1-0

Pish

Could be a cricket score

1-0 Rangers

Defoe

Poor start, all Rangers.

defoe nets the rebound from rocky, 1-0 too soon to say game over already ?

11-08-2019, 02:11 PM
Ffs

Bob Box Fish
Honkingbottoms tactics last a mere 8 mins deary me.

Andymac85
Far too easy.

Poor goal to concede.

What was Rocky up to. Defenders nor much better not following up

Mr Grieves
Marciano should done better and defenders sleeping

skyehibee
Awful far too deep, just playing into their hands

badabing67

Better to lose 1 now than with 9 mins to go

Sitting off them. Embarrassing as ****.

11-08-2019, 02:12 PM

***** patter

Marciano should have done better. If we go 2 down there's no chance we'll recover.

defending?????:rolleyes::rolleyes:

OtleyHibs
Disappointing but far, far too early to be throwing in the towel yet!

CloudSquall
Marciano seemed to not see the strike until late, pulls off a save for TV, Defoe reacts while our defence stands and watches.

Defoe is still a very good goalscorer. We are in trouble.

11-08-2019, 02:13 PM
absolute stasis in defense there. no one anticipating the rebound.

Poor from Rocky tbh.... you can't be padding it out from there.

Awful far too deep, just playing into their hands

Had a feeling PH would set us up that way. Completely the wrong choice. Need to take the game to them. Pish

11-08-2019, 02:14 PM

Yes, too early to say that and I’ve kept my mouth shut about Heckingbottom since Elgin but I’ll make the following observation.

If he changes this, and turns the game around, it’ll be the umpteenth time he’ll have had to have changed it to get a result.

This begs the question as to why he gets it wrong so often from the beginning.

11-08-2019, 02:14 PM

Is Hecky playing in goals ?

11-08-2019, 02:15 PM
Poor from Rocky tbh.... you can't be padding it out from there.

he's not superman, he at least got a hand to it in the first place

maybe our defenders should have anticipated the ball coming back out

2-0 now, concede defeat after 14 mins, take the players off, no point risking further injuries

11-08-2019, 02:15 PM
Dearie me!

11-08-2019, 02:16 PM
2-0

One more and I'm off.

Disappointing but far, far too early to be throwing in the towel yet!

To be fair, Heckingbottom has been getting the excuses in for over a week..

“Work in progress” getting more airings today.

What team is the “finished article” at this stage of the season?

Deary me indeed.. Shan patter.

Have a word. Really carp patter. Honkingbottom ? REALLY !

oh pish.

Frightening whittaker is still a hibs player. Honestly hes just not good enough

This is going to be an absolute skelping...Pish poor

Cricket score unfortunately

**** sake 2-0

Mr Grieves
**** off, absolutely pish

SloopJB
Amazingly the same time for ******** posters to spout *****.

Who’d a thunk?

11-08-2019, 02:17 PM
Game over. We could get a real doing here.

JXM73
Try defending hecky now, getting slaughtered...

dmc1875
Anyone who didn’t see this coming from last weekend had the blinkers on

We don't have a team that can cope against opposition like this.

CloudSquall
11-08-2019, 02:18 PM
****ing pedestrian at the back, my grandmother could have out run McGregor and co there, Piss poor goal to lose.

We are in for doing, playing like this. Sort it now!

Game over after 15 minutes

11-08-2019, 02:19 PM
Frightening whittaker is still a hibs player. Honestly hes just not good enough

Is that the same guy who MOM last week?

Right side of defence is shocking....really shocking. slow as hell.

Liam6270
Absolutely brutal start, this is horrific

skyehibee
Mallan and Vela offering us nothing at the moment

ffs, how bad is this f,n defending ffs

11-08-2019, 02:20 PM
The iSpy page isn’t working

FFS. Defoe is a multi million pound player with dozens of England caps. They have recruited well in the summer and look a decent side. Our season won't be defined by games against them. Plus I see St Mirren are a goal up against Aberdeen

Been dreading this game for a while. Come too early for us

11-08-2019, 02:21 PM
Our defence is so ****ing slow. Can’t cope with a team like this. McGregor has had his day. Sooner Porto is back the better.

Squirrel 1875
This is testament to everything I’ve been saying on this forum for the last few weeks. How anyone could defend the signings this man has made is beyond me. We’ve looked pedestrian since he arrived and today Rangers are doing to us what they should have done in the games against under Heckingbottom last season.

This is nothing short of abysmal.

Thanks for that, captain foresight.

Its a good job this rangers team are not the best, or we'd be absolutely pumped stupid. we've set up not to be beaten, and that's exactly what will happen by being so negative.

site running really slow. can we kick the guests please admins?

bringbackbenny
11-08-2019, 02:22 PM
Have Vela or Newall touched the ball in open play yet?

The Captain....
11-08-2019, 02:22 PM
We don't have a team that can cope against opposition like this.Cowardly ***** players..manager and tactics.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

11-08-2019, 02:23 PM
This is testament to everything I’ve been saying on this forum for the last few weeks. How anyone could defend the signings this man has made is beyond me. We’ve looked pedestrian since he arrived and today Rangers are doing to us what they should have done in the games against under Heckingbottom last season.

Haha the good old “I told you so”

You must be ****ing loving it eh

11-08-2019, 02:24 PM
linesman flagged offside from rangers fk into our box....play on?

we are getting killed with pace, unsurprisingly

11-08-2019, 02:25 PM
We're going to get a player sent off at this rate.

The the’s are no great shakes, which makes our showing even more frustrating

Game is passing Vela and Newell by.

To be fair we are playing as individuals.

Jones v Whittaker was never a good idea - though not much option.

Would have played 3-5-2 as we can’t defend.

We have made some bad challenges as zero protection in front of the back 4.

It's not all bad, my 2-2 prediction is still on.:greengrin

Rangers just scudded a team far above our level in Europe. They're no mugs these days

Has Vela had a touch yet? I can’t believe we let big Marv go to get this guy in.

They should’ve rattled us when Lennon was still here last season too.

Rangers are simply a much better team and have actually scored the goals to prove it so far. Getting your “I told you so” in because we are losing to a substantially better hun side is quite funny though.

Is that the same guy who MOM last week?

The same whittaker that is torn up for arse paper everytime.he plays a team that isnt bottom 6 *****.

We are all over the place.

percy veer
Why was Jackson dropped?

YanYansen
11-08-2019, 02:26 PM
I'm away to Sainsbury's. Cannae stomach even following this thread, fair play to the lads and lasses who are at Ibrox, like.

Wee Effen Bee
Wow! Sounds like the “Told you so” doomsayers are having a cluster **** over us currently being beaten at Ibrox! You repeatedly said we would lose so why all the angst?

Rangers players pressuring the referee into giving Mackie a caution.

deserved yellow card for mackie after just 23 mins

we're winning the yellow card count 3-2

Brutal from Marciano for the opening goal.

Shot right in the middle of the goal, he makes a meal of it and palms it back into the path of Defoe

linesman flagged offside from rangers fk into our box....play on?

we are getting killed with pace, unsurprisingly

notice they petitioned Mackie into a yellow there....

Bangkok Hibby
It's not all bad, my 2-2 prediction is still on.:greengrin

As is my 2-3 Hibs

11-08-2019, 02:27 PM
Has Vela had a touch yet? I can’t believe we let big Marv go to get this guy in.

Well that’ll be the opinion on him solidified after 2 league games then.

You're using a game away to flying Rangers as justification of the pish you've been spouting?

Lee Marvin

Yeah, i'am sure marv would hsve been ripping the pee out of rangers today

One midfielder capable of effectively defending is suicide against this Rangers team.

Great save Rocky.

Squirrel 1875
Haha the good old “I told you so”

You must be ****ing loving it eh

No, I’m actually hating it. Was expecting this kind of response for expressing my feelings toward what has to be one of the worst hibs performances I’ve seen in a good 3-4 years.

Get a grip of yourself.

Any idea when Heckys plan away from home comes into play?

We have a midfield that dont want to get close so they can challenge for the ball???:confused:

Back to old days beat before the start mentality

Defence is awful.

thebausburst
11-08-2019, 02:28 PM
We all knew this was coming, lower English league signings never going to be good enough to compete in games like this.

supermcginn
The signs arent good. Gonna be a long season.

This thread is gonna be a right laugh when we win 3-2

One midfielder capable of effectively defending is suicide against this Rangers team.

It’s glaring how much we need a defensive midfielder mate. People even ripped me during the week saying it wasn’t needed as long as we had “ball winning midfielders”. This is going to get embarrassing.

hhibs

Indeed.

We are just not at the races.

PH tactics and setup needing complete review again but too late fot this game

11-08-2019, 02:29 PM

Shot right in the middle of the goal, he makes a meal of it and palms it back into the path of Defoe
No it wasn’t, he was unsighted and did well to make the initial save. The hun had the freedom of Glasgow to take the ball and line up a shot.

Torto7
Horror show so far.

Yes because this team has nothing but goals in it vs. Top 6 opposition.

coldingham hibs

Don’t think we need to worry about that.

Been dreading this game for a while. Come too early for us
Wouldn't matter when it came, any chat about Hibs being competitive with rangers is for the fairies & as for Heckie winning the league at some point, cloud cookoo land.

Defence is awful.

I'm not surprised, look at what is in front of them, powderpuff pish.

eh :confused: and the shot wasn't right in the middle of goal either, it was over nearer the post

thebausburst

Wouldn’t hold your breath with that one mate

one day maybe...
FFS. Defoe is a multi million pound player with dozens of England caps. They have recruited well in the summer and look a decent side. Our season won't be defined by games against them. Plus I see St Mirren are a goal up against Aberdeen

Correct.. Their whole season is geared towards stopping 9 in a row and then 10 in a row... Thots all that matters to them. Our budget is way off what they are spending to achieve this. Our season won’t be defined by our games v Rantic, they will he defined by the games against the teams where we are on a level playing field. #ggtth

11-08-2019, 02:30 PM
We are giving them far too much space, there isn't any cover from midfield and we are seriously lacking pace. A really bad first half hour.

It’s glaring how much we need a defensive midfielder mate. People even ripped me during the week saying it wasn’t needed as long as we had “ball winning midfielders”. This is going to get embarrassing.

Eventually the manager is going to have to accept that as good as they both are, Mallan and Allan can't play together.

We drop so deep and leave so much space for the opposition to get on the ball.

You can’t press high if back 4 is deep.

You can’t sit in when front players don’t track back.

2 nil going on 5

CloudSquall
The space Rangers have even in our own 18 yard box is terrifying.

11-08-2019, 02:31 PM
I’m not a doom monger. I just think Heckingbottom’s signings on the whole, are bang average and think they are far better than they are.

We look all over the place and incoherent. A few people there are not cut out for Scottish football. They’ve been taken by surprise by it, I’d say.

mcfly
This is a horror show so far.

Our midfield is non existent - has vela touched the ball?

Appalling - goodness knows what our game plan is

New signings are desperately needed and we need quality

Lee Marvin
Eventually the manager is going to have to accept that as good as they both are, Mallan and Allan can't play together.

Against worse teams they can. Not against this calibre of opposition though

You attack them that is only way to play them, ffs they are nowt special.

No it wasn’t, he was unsighted and did well to make the initial save. The hun had the freedom of Glasgow to take the ball and line up a shot.

It was right down his throat and a shot from outside the box, should be doing much much better.

Yeah, i'am sure marv would hsve been ripping the pee out of rangers today
He’d have been putting himself about and breaking up attacks.

Has the languid Newell shown intensity yet?

I'll be honest I was hoping he would be ok but hes looked like he will be found out in the Scottish top flight or Scottish championship levels.

Bangkok Hibby
11-08-2019, 02:32 PM
Wow! Sounds like the “Told you so” doomsayers are having a cluster **** over us currently being beaten at Ibrox! You repeatedly said we would lose so why all the angst?

Yea **** this, cannae stand the whining. As you said we were told a pumping was coming, they've got what they predicted.

11-08-2019, 02:32 PM
Mallan. Jesus

11-08-2019, 02:33 PM
Lennon had us going to ibrox and getting tore in about them and having a go. This is the opposite we're just standing back admiring them. If we're going to lose at least have a ****ing go at them

Mallan. Jesus

He’s gid but he’s no that gid

CloudSquall
I criticised the defence but it's like we are playing without a midfield.

MMMmmm that might just have been a penalty for sevco, it looked on the line

Lennon had us going to ibrox and getting tore in about them and having a go. This is the opposite we're just standing back admiring them. If we're going to lose at least have a ****ing go at them

PH gives too much respect to them and Celtic.

Like how we used to play

CloudSquall
Jones ripping us up at will on the wing.

We all knew this was coming, lower English league signings never going to be good enough to compete in games like this.

I’m pretty sure 3 of those rangers players were signed from lower league English teams? And Jordan Jones signed for Killie before going to rangers, from a lower league English team.

We’re playing *****, but there’s plenty talent available from lower league English teams.

Struggling with a link that keeps buffering but we look nowhere near them, it's pretty poor stuff, we look slow as hell with little intensity, I'm starting to worry about this season.

11-08-2019, 02:34 PM
Decent break there.

That should’ve been a penalty I think. That’s the turning point we’re gonna win 3-2.

PH gives too much respect to them and Celtic.

Like how we used to play

Question being what the heck our central defenders were doing? standing admiring as theyve been doing all game

Why the **** is newell not hitting that

Torto7
Correct.. Their whole season is geared towards stopping 9 in a row and then 10 in a row... Thots all that matters to them. Our budget is way off what they are spending to achieve this. Our season won’t be defined by our games v Rantic, they will he defined by the games against the teams where we are on a level playing field. #ggtth

Not for me. This is a woeful performance. We're not at the races.

Hibs just can't get out there own half and keep possession of the ball, so slow.

This is true.

I’ve noticed even after 2 league games both the Old Firm are fired up to win the title more than ever.

No one else has a chance but it would be nice to stop the Huns as they will be unbearable if they win it.

MMMmmm that might just have been a penalty for sevco, it looked on the line

There was little to no contact.

I remember Lennon saying that Hibs can’t replace a McGinn with a McGinn.

All they can do is sign a Mallan and hope that he can be developed.

I see what he was saying.

Hibs4185
“Levels of fitness they’ve not seen before”

We look slower than a week in the jail.

I’d rather play 2 upfront and go for it and get beat 4-0 than this timid pedestrian *hit show.

Rangers are much improved under Gerrard imo.

Get in about them. Far too deep and still defending at 2 down.

11-08-2019, 02:35 PM
As is my 2-3 Hibs

Glad your confident

That should’ve been a penalty I think. That’s the turning point we’re gonna win 3-2.

Can’t believe a referee at Ipox would miss a golden opportunity like that!

I’d change it completely at half time and put kamberi on with doidge

Newell, why didnt he just pick a spot and hit it hard and low?