View Full Version : Predictions against The Rangers

Man Down Under
09-08-2019, 12:49 PM
The least confident I've felt against them in a while. I'd be happy with a draw tbh. Usually a few goals in this fixture so should be entertaining none the less.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

09-08-2019, 12:51 PM
1-1

09-08-2019, 12:51 PM
3-0 Huns

Bangkok Hibby
09-08-2019, 01:35 PM
2-1 Huns

No **** it..our season is going to pick up soon, 2-3 Hibernian win

09-08-2019, 01:35 PM
Good time to play them after they have travelled away in Europe.

2-1 Hibs.

Bob Box Fish
09-08-2019, 01:38 PM
Rangers 4 - 1 hibs

Torto7
09-08-2019, 01:39 PM
1-1. They aren't as good as some people desperately want them to be. The europa league game will sap some of their energy as well. We'll equalise in the last half hour after another rope a dope PH tactical masterclass.:agree:

09-08-2019, 01:44 PM
Agree with the OP that this is the least confident I've been in a while. I can't see us getting anything at the weekend, 2-0 to the manky b******s.....

09-08-2019, 01:45 PM
Hibs to win 2-1 or 3-1. Not at all worried about Rangers players.

09-08-2019, 02:05 PM
2-0 huns.

Saint Hibee
09-08-2019, 02:15 PM
I can’t see us defeating Sauron’s forces this time around. 2-0 Mordor.

09-08-2019, 02:16 PM
Take a draw

09-08-2019, 02:22 PM
2-2

09-08-2019, 02:32 PM
4-2 Sevco. I think Gerrard is moulding them into his team and not many teams will take points away from them at Ibrox. I’d like to say that we might be one of the possible exceptions but our early season form suggests that this match has come too early for us. Hope I’m way off beam, tho’.

09-08-2019, 02:38 PM
I think we are going to take a beating, maybe 3 or 4 or we will get a draw, maybe a win.

HFC93
09-08-2019, 02:38 PM
I can’t see us defeating Sauron’s forces this time around. 2-0 Mordor.

I can see it playing out like the Battle of Helm's Deep. 2-1 Hibs with Whittaker in the Gandalf the White role.

09-08-2019, 02:40 PM
I think we are going to take a beating, maybe 3 or 4 or we will get a draw, maybe a win.

Can't see that happening. :wink:

Blackfordhibby
09-08-2019, 02:51 PM
3-1 the currant buns i'm afraid. Quite often i'm wrong, hope to hell i'm wrong again and we nick it.

09-08-2019, 03:00 PM
I fear the worst but really hope we nick it!

09-08-2019, 03:07 PM
Another 3-2 for Hibernian

09-08-2019, 03:10 PM
2-0 Huns.

09-08-2019, 03:28 PM
4-2 Sevco. I think Gerrard is moulding them into his team and not many teams will take points away from them at Ibrox. I’d like to say that we might be one of the possible exceptions but our early season form suggests that this match has come too early for us. Hope I’m way off beam, tho’.

4 wins in a row with 4 clean sheets? That form?

JXM73
09-08-2019, 03:39 PM
Clueless hecky to see us on the wrong end of a 4-0 doing.....

High press - still to appear
Signings- league one dont cut it

09-08-2019, 03:41 PM

You honestly think we’ve been in good form footballing wise?

09-08-2019, 03:43 PM
It will probably be fairly close but I'd imagine we will lose by the odd goal. Either 1-0 or 2-1.

09-08-2019, 04:00 PM
3-2 Hibs

RossScott1991
09-08-2019, 04:01 PM
Rangers 2 Hibs 0

Can’t see us going there and being positive and on front foot. We will take a organised tactical approach and be picked off, sadly.

Crunchie
09-08-2019, 04:02 PM
3-0 Rangers

MikeyS
09-08-2019, 04:05 PM
Score draw for me.

09-08-2019, 04:05 PM
4-2 sevco

09-08-2019, 04:07 PM
0-0

09-08-2019, 04:14 PM
Hate to say it but I can’t see us getting anything from this game. No because they are in any great shape but just going by what I’ve seen of us.

Happy to be proved wrong tho.

09-08-2019, 04:27 PM

That winning form against very much weaker opposition is not really very impressive and certainly no pointer to the likely outcome against Sevco. Anyway, this is supposed to be a thread about giving a prediction based on considered opinions, not on how we would like the match to play out. I’ll thoroughly enjoy you rubbing my nose in it if we get a result on Sunday.

09-08-2019, 04:32 PM

HAHAHAHAHA

****ing shut up man ffs

09-08-2019, 04:33 PM
2-3 win and a Hun riot which will be blamed on us.

Edit: our goal scorers will be Whittaker, Allan and McGregor.

09-08-2019, 04:36 PM
1-1

Turnbullsmate
09-08-2019, 04:44 PM
HAHAHAHAHA

****ing shut up man ffs

Well said, hate the negativity of ****s like him/her on here. Dunno why they don't stick to their spiritual "Hun without bus fares home"

Meantime i hope we don't try to park the bus on Sunday and invite them to come at us, The Rangers hate when we go at them and are **** in dealing with set plays and cross balls.

So hopefully we go at them and come away with a point at least. Optimist in me says 2-0 to hibs...pessimist in me says 1-0 hibs :hibees

09-08-2019, 04:44 PM
2-2

09-08-2019, 04:45 PM
Well said, hate the negativity of ****s like him/her on here. Dunno why they don't stick to their spiritual "Hun without bus fares home"

Meantime i hope we don't try to park the bus on Sunday and invite them to come at us, The Rangers hate when we go at them and are **** in dealing with set plays and cross balls.

So hopefully we go at them and come away with a point at least. Optimist in me says 2-0 to hibs...pessimist in me says 1-0 hibs :hibees

I personally think it’s going to be really tough and we’ll be lucky to pick up a point but “clueless hecky” “league one players don’t cut it” ****ing ridiculous post but seems to be fitting in with the rest of this forum just now, absolutely crawling

09-08-2019, 04:47 PM
4-0 for the Rangers unfortunately.

scuttle
09-08-2019, 04:49 PM
Rangers 3 Hibs 0

Turnbullsmate
09-08-2019, 04:50 PM
I personally think it’s going to be really tough and we’ll be lucky to pick up a point but “clueless hecky” “league one players don’t cut it” ****ing ridiculous post but seems to be fitting in with the rest of this forum just now, absolutely crawling

Stuart9, they are the guys who never attend. ER for me is now a 700 mile round trip and i make the effort when i can despite age and ailing health (not on a pity perty btw).
Easy for them to sit in their ivory towers and contribute **** all to the cause but negativity

09-08-2019, 04:51 PM
3-0 or 3-1 to them.

09-08-2019, 04:52 PM
Stuart9, they are the guys who never attend. ER for me is now a 700 mile round trip and i make the effort when i can despite age and ailing health (not on a pity perty btw).
Easy for them to sit in their ivory towers and contribute **** all to the cause but negativity

Whether they go or not there’s just nae need

Turnbullsmate
09-08-2019, 04:57 PM
Whether they go or not there’s just nae need

Surely that's the point though ?? i never comment on a game , a performance, a player unless i have witnessed them/it in person.

i am with you though "nae need" Thankfully the majority of us far outweigh the Doom mongers :aok:

09-08-2019, 04:58 PM
We’ll go there hoping for a 0-0 and might just scrape it. Would be a decent point.

09-08-2019, 04:59 PM

It's usually just the same few negative posters, or people with a grudge.

I think we'll lose, but purely down to the fact that they have better players. Not exactly surprising, given the money they have.

H18S NX
09-08-2019, 05:40 PM
4-0 to Sevco i'm afraid.

09-08-2019, 05:45 PM
Watched their 90m v Killie - 2-1 us !

CloudSquall
09-08-2019, 05:46 PM
2-2, late Hibs double causing maximum seethe at Mordor.

HFCdeb
09-08-2019, 06:02 PM
Would take a point. Fear the worst.

09-08-2019, 06:02 PM
Hibs 3 Huns 2.

09-08-2019, 06:46 PM
3-0 is our usual score at Ibrox.

Unfortunately it'll be the wrong way round this time.

09-08-2019, 06:49 PM
3-0 Rangers.

Their strengths match up to our weaknesses - full back and centre midfield.

They outclassed us the last time we were there and I think we're weaker than we were then.

09-08-2019, 06:50 PM
1-2 to the good guys with a controversial penalty awarded.

09-08-2019, 06:52 PM
Would like to get something from the game but no sweat if we don't. They'll still be deluded, bitching Huns with the collective brain power of an amoeba when it's over and no game of footie is going to change that.

JXM73
09-08-2019, 07:35 PM

Season ticket holder ye ****... boo ****in hoo about yer health..

Teams been ***** since top 6 was achieved last season, you want to bury yer heads, knock yerself out

badabing67
09-08-2019, 07:41 PM
Had a feeling since I first seen the fixture list that we would have 9pts from the first 3 games will be gutted if we don't get anything.

2-1 Hibs

HibbyDave
09-08-2019, 07:42 PM
0-2 hibees!

09-08-2019, 08:10 PM
Season ticket holder ye ****... boo ****in hoo about yer health..

Teams been ***** since top 6 was achieved last season, you want to bury yer heads, knock yerself out

Really? Get a grip you moron.

Pinkie
09-08-2019, 08:20 PM
***** the Sevco. 4-0 to Hibs. Intae thum.

SON OF PADDY
09-08-2019, 08:20 PM
0-1 Hibs 😉

09-08-2019, 08:41 PM
Expecting the ref to bottle it. 1-0 the Hibees
Evrything crossed
B

09-08-2019, 08:47 PM
Prediction is that a "minority" of home fans will belt out lots of sectarian songs, the broadcasters will edit it out and the msm won't even comment on it!! As for the game, I think it will a draw with Scott Allan getting man of the match.

Hibees1973
09-08-2019, 08:59 PM
Fact is, the gap between us and them is not as close as it has been over the last 3-4 years.

We are simply not equipped compared to the times we had McGinn, McGeouch and now Boyle currently injured. Loved the time when we out footballed them, especially through there. Sunday is not the time to use too many of our new signings, we need guys with experience of playing at Ibrox so I would go with the same team published in the Edinburgh Evening News tonight.

Rangers on a high and a few huns I know bordering on over confident.

With the squad available on Sunday we have to adopt a more pragmatic approach. We should get into Ibrox as late as possible, frustrate and annoy them, grind out a 0-0 draw and get out sharpish.

Never scared going through there, unlike our maroon neighbours. With courage, a strong and fair ref, a draw is not beyond us.

09-08-2019, 09:02 PM
4-0 The Rangers.

Player for player we are a long way behind where we were in Lennon’s first season. And they are a lot better than they were.

09-08-2019, 09:09 PM
4-0 The Rangers.

Player for player we are a long way behind where we were in Lennon’s first season. And they are a lot better than they were.

Its only a year and a half ago we won at Ibrox with a back three of Ambrose, Porteous and Stevenson with John McGinn ending up having to play most of the game as a wing back.

However, they are much stronger than they were then.

Biggest concern is how we cope physically. I don’t think we look strong or aggressive enough, with or without the ball.

Cauld Bovril
09-08-2019, 09:14 PM
1-0 Hibs. Flo goal allowed despite being 5 yards offside 😀

Halmyre Hibee
09-08-2019, 09:48 PM
Every time we go there we’re the underdogs. A sneaky 2-1 win for the Hibees with Scotty Allan MOM. 🤞

whiskas
09-08-2019, 09:54 PM
0-0 it’s going to be an anti-climax

09-08-2019, 10:04 PM
Interesting predictions as I was under the impression we were playing The Rangers and not Real Madrid.

09-08-2019, 11:37 PM
Think their midfield will be too strong for us. Hope I am wrong but cannae see anything other than a defeat for us.

dmc1875
09-08-2019, 11:43 PM
If we play like against st Mirren and gift them those chances it will be an easy 3 or 4-0 to them.

it’s not the Lennon or Stubbs “have a go” way anymore so best we can hope for is a lucky draw or a 1-0 defeat if we park the bus

09-08-2019, 11:50 PM
Hibs 3 Huns 2.
Now we’re talking. I can’t believe the pessimism on here. They were absolutely rank in the second half against killie. We just need our manager to grow a set and they’re there for the taking.

10-08-2019, 12:02 AM
Set up like we did v St Mirren and we will get a scudding.

4-0 to them is my prediction. Humiliation for Hecky.

10-08-2019, 12:14 AM
Hibs to win 2-1. Morelos to put them 1-0 up, Newell to score the equaliser and Kamberi to tap in the winner 😎

10-08-2019, 12:35 AM

There’s a ****ing surprise :rolleyes:

10-08-2019, 01:38 AM
There’s a ****ing surprise :rolleyes:

Actually it won't be if my prediction is correct.

10-08-2019, 01:59 AM
For the barrr humbugs, I think they’ll be too strong in midfield and we’re too weak down the flanks. Totally spanking us at footy and we get hammered.

for the green tinted specs that can never see passed Hibs. They are inbred, 6 finger banjo playing Neanderthals and will tire second half as they had to play in Europe and we will do them at both football and singing.

for the realist, very tough game for both teams but The Rangers have home advantage plus 40,000 backing them for every decision, so the ref has to be strong and not be intimidated by them for every decision. Can see Hibs trying to frustrate them and seeing where we are at half time to 60 minutes into the game and then making a go of it. very close game to call if we can manage to go in at halftime even or in front. 1-1 or 1-0 to either team ( hopefully Hibs ).

i do agree with Hermit Crab if we set up like we did against St Mirren, we could get spanked.

10-08-2019, 03:45 AM
For the barrr humbugs, I think they’ll be too strong in midfield and we’re too weak down the flanks. Totally spanking us at footy and we get hammered.

for the green tinted specs that can never see passed Hibs. They are inbred, 6 finger banjo playing Neanderthals and will tire second half as they had to play in Europe and we will do them at both football and singing.

for the realist, very tough game for both teams but The Rangers have home advantage plus 40,000 backing them for every decision, so the ref has to be strong and not be intimidated by them for every decision. Can see Hibs trying to frustrate them and seeing where we are at half time to 60 minutes into the game and then making a go of it. very close game to call if we can manage to go in at halftime even or in front. 1-1 or 1-0 to either team ( hopefully Hibs ).

i do agree with Hermit Crab if we set up like we did against St Mirren, we could get spanked.

Careful mate, you might bet labelled a Hearts fan for that.

Clarence
10-08-2019, 05:26 AM
I understand why people are saying that Rangers are improving but they aren’t the finished article. They didn’t look convincing against a team that contained Kirk Broadfoot last week. Furthermore, they will have the usual European hangover. I actually think that we have added some decent players to our team this summer, players who will want to shine on a big stage. I can see this game being quite close.

MacGruber
10-08-2019, 06:42 AM
Unfortunately I sense a battering. St Mirren should have scored a couple against us at home and we looked pretty vulnerable at times. I don't think Vela is up to speed yet and of course he is our only defensive midfielder. With no Boyle or Middleton we don't have much pace for counters or that kind of out ball. Kamberi isn't a great target man outball either, he is more a ball player than mixing it physically, holding the ball and drawing fouls. I think we will find it difficult to get up the pitch and stay there often enough.
We will go with a game plan to sit in a bit, the type of plan that is burst if you concede 1 early.
I can't see The Rangers not scoring. A combination of the good players they have playing at home and we aren't looking that solid at the back.
I would have started Bartley or Milligan if they were both still here so I obviously feel we haven't improved our squad in that area - even though we decided to let the pair leave. Maybe Vela will prove to be the better option in there when fully fit and settled in so that thinking might change in time (maybe after a tremendous performance today)
Hope for the best, fearing the worst.

The Rangers 4 Hibs 1

hibbydog
10-08-2019, 06:44 AM
I think we’ll struggle. The period under Stubbs/ Lennon where we had the upper hand over them has gone. They’ve improved and we’ve went backwards.

Park the bus. Grab a point and run. Try not to get stabbed in the process. I’ll take anything I can get against those sash singing, tax/ soap dodging rats.

10-08-2019, 07:11 AM
0-0 it’s going to be an anti-climax

That would be an excellent result and would bite your hand off for it.

MacGruber
10-08-2019, 07:12 AM
I think we’ll struggle. The period under Stubbs/ Lennon where we had the upper hand over them has gone. They’ve improved and we’ve went backwards.

Park the bus. Grab a point and run. Try not to get stabbed in the process. I’ll take anything I can get against those sash singing, tax/ soap dodging rats.

LOL - agreed.

I can imagine Hecky having them sat down and turning the page on the flip chart to go over todays tactics and this is written instead of the usual formation and game plan info he'd normally go through. Instead of using the little counters to mark positions on the park they will be used on top of a map of the area to highlight the more 'stabby' hotspots!

Chuck D
10-08-2019, 07:13 AM
Sevco 2 - 3 Hibs

10-08-2019, 07:19 AM
My prediction is that I'm going to avoid Hibs.net for a few days. This place is going to be grim reading.

Also, I'll avoid the media as they'll turn The Rangers into the next Barcelona.

My expectation is that we'll lose by two or more goals. If the players were nervous last week playing in front of 16,000 largely friendly fans, I hate to think what they'll be like in front of 50,000 extremely unfriendly fans.

I do like the look of the new guys, but think they'll struggle at Ibrox. It's up to them to convince us all that they can play in such games. For many, this will be a totally different experience than what they are used to.

The Pointer
10-08-2019, 07:46 AM
I'm hoping that Hecky learns from last season and we run at them for 90 minutes, but I wasn't overly impressed with our performance last week meaning I was going to go for 3-0 them.

However, having just been along the street and seen a Hun I know in a Linfield strip I really hope we rip them a new one 0-3 - or more!

10-08-2019, 07:57 AM
Hard to tell. Our toughest game so far - we will have to be much more at it - that said, we usually are through there ...if they get ahead could be a tough shift..but if there is only one goal in it with 30 to go oI really fancy us to get something out of the game. Will be a good test for us..

10-08-2019, 08:57 AM

Ah the joys of Hibs Net for having a difference of opinion from certain posters.

Togs91
10-08-2019, 09:03 AM
Can see us getting beat unfortunately. Think it will be 2-1 after us going up in the first half. Prove me wrong hibs!

10-08-2019, 09:11 AM
3-0 sevco

Argylehibby
10-08-2019, 09:45 AM
Hope I'm wrong but I reckon it's 3 0 to them.

10-08-2019, 09:57 AM
2-0 defeat. They had a very good win in Europe and will be hard to beat at Ibrox. It's the old story of not conceding an early goalwhen away to the Old Firm.

10-08-2019, 10:02 AM
Unfortunately can’t see anything other than a comfortable win for them. Hope I’m proven wrong though.

3-1 Sevco

10-08-2019, 04:19 PM
I predict that no matter what the result is we will still be above the hertz in the league.

10-08-2019, 04:37 PM
I predict that no matter what the result is we will still be above the hertz in the league.
Indeed...and whats more we will be top 6 and they will be bottom 6

Dublin07
10-08-2019, 05:00 PM

Why would we set up to play rangers away the same as we would St mirren at home. We left ourselves one on one at the back to press for a goal.
I think you will be delighted if we lose so you have something to moan about.
Rangers spending is way above anyone outwith celtic and they should win all their games at home apart from celtic. Losing there is not a disaster.
I find everything about them disgusting and celebrate when we beat them but won't lose sleep if they beat us. Our manager is trying to build a team which takes time. We will lose games on the way.
My prediction is a lucky 1-1 draw.

10-08-2019, 05:03 PM

Yeah, because using our *potential* loss tomorrow to justify Hearts' result today is extremely normal Hibs fan behaviour. Absurd stuff.

11-08-2019, 08:31 AM
Take a draw

So would I

11-08-2019, 08:45 AM
Take a draw

Why wouldn’t we ...they are a top side in our league ...a draw would be a great result...

11-08-2019, 09:22 AM
Sevco are getting caught out today by Hibs.

11-08-2019, 10:07 AM
3-0 huns.

11-08-2019, 10:13 AM
Yeah, because using our *potential* loss tomorrow to justify Hearts' result today is extremely normal Hibs fan behaviour. Absurd stuff.

Bizarre stuff. Like saying if we get a 0-0 draw via ST Johnstone but played off the park whole Hearts are pumped by Celtic 5-0. At least we got a draw.

11-08-2019, 10:16 AM
So would I

Me too. I am too nervous to think rationale about the game. Starting to feel like playing the old Rangers. Our midfield is better than last season. Sure Vela and Allan up for it along with Slivka and Horgan and Mallan.

Roxyhibee
11-08-2019, 10:26 AM
Europe distraction and complacency for Sevco. Rocky to have a stormer in goals. Doidge double.

2-1 Hibs.

twiceinathens
11-08-2019, 10:34 AM
Being realistic a draw would be a good result

11-08-2019, 10:36 AM
Europe distraction and complacency for Sevco. Rocky to have a stormer in goals. Doidge double.

2-1 Hibs.

I remember predicting something similar when we were heading to Pittodrie in the first game after they won the European Cup Winners Cup.

We lost 5-0!

I'm being positive, though, and I don't think we'll lose by as many today :)

11-08-2019, 10:39 AM

2-1 Hibs.

Late goals as sub after we go 1-0 down. He is the new Alan Gordon.

11-08-2019, 10:50 AM
Think we’ll get our erses skelped by Sevco 4-0

11-08-2019, 10:52 AM
Being realistic a draw would be a good result

In the current context a draw would be superb. I would happily accept 0-0 and the most boring game of football ever played. Need to be pragmatic today.

11-08-2019, 10:58 AM
Alot of the same faces as predicted 2 easy wins for Celtic in the league at Easter road last season.

I dunno what this team and Hecky have done to merit such little faith in them.

Much worse Hibs sides have beaten much better Rangers sides.

11-08-2019, 11:01 AM
My gut feeling is telling me that we will ride an early storm then the players will come into their own on the big stage. I genuinely cannot see us losing.

11-08-2019, 11:03 AM
Alot of the same faces as predicted 2 easy wins for Celtic in the league at Easter road last season.

I dunno what this team and Hecky have done to merit such little faith in them.

Much worse Hibs sides have beaten much better Rangers sides.

I think it's more a case of Sevco seemingly having improved plenty as a result of again spending money they don't have. They have proven that cheats do prosper. Hopefully it's unsustainable, like last time.

11-08-2019, 11:07 AM
I think it's more a case of Sevco seemingly having improved plenty as a result of again spending money they don't have. They have proven that cheats do prosper. Hopefully it's unsustainable, like last time.
There is nothing to suggest they have spent money they don't have this summer, though?

They're a good side but we're also a decent side, the negatively is pretty sad really, poor way to support our team, the majority of which have earned much better.

KDY Hibs
11-08-2019, 11:08 AM
2-1 Hibs

11-08-2019, 11:09 AM
Bad Spirited game with lots of fouls, a few yellow cards and possibly a red or 2. Hibs will sit in and try and hit them on the break but due to lack of pace we'll rarely trouble them in their own last quarter, but no need Mallan to score a screamer from 30 yards out. 0-1 for Hibs.

11-08-2019, 11:10 AM
I'm hoping The Rangers still have Europe in their legs and we sneak a 1-0

Paul1642
11-08-2019, 11:16 AM
I’m worried that Celtic’s ruthless form will add an aggressive edge to the Rangers game today. Only hope I have for today is that Morelos is long overdue an early red card ;). The bookies aren’t often way off and sky bet have us at 7/1 for a reason.

11-08-2019, 11:17 AM
Mackie & Whittaker are going to need a lot of assistance if we are to keep their wide players quiet.
Is Newell going to track Tavernier? Can Horgan help nullify the speed of someone like Jones?
First 20-25 minutes are key, as always.
We'll need a lot of grit and Rocky playing a blinder to get anything, while a bit of Allan magic would help.

11-08-2019, 11:32 AM
There is nothing to suggest they have spent money they don't have this summer, though?

They're a good side but we're also a decent side, the negatively is pretty sad really, poor way to support our team, the majority of which have earned much better.

I don't think anyone is being negative; they are just giving an honest opinion of their thoughts on the result. Today will give us a much better idea of what kind of team we have this season; it's the first big test.

11-08-2019, 11:44 AM
Dont see us winning this 1 . Its their 1st home game of the season so they'll be up for it .

Weegreenman
11-08-2019, 11:45 AM
I don’t see us getting anything today I’m afraid. The best I can hope for is that we don’t take a conference sapping drubbing. One or two nil I can live with and we move on but anything theee or more could really effect the confidence of our players moving forward, especially the new guys.

:pray: Hibs can surprise us all.

11-08-2019, 11:48 AM
What's with the doom and gloom? Rangers are *****. Lets just do the business like we do most of the time there these days.

11-08-2019, 11:51 AM
I would be happy with a decent performance today more than anything else. Can't see us winning. 3-1 to The The's

11-08-2019, 11:56 AM
I predict that everybidy's gonna get very wet.

It's chuckin it doon in Glasgow!

11-08-2019, 11:57 AM
I don't think anyone is being negative; they are just giving an honest opinion of their thoughts on the result. Today will give us a much better idea of what kind of team we have this season; it's the first big test.

Will it? Mowbray got hammered at Ibrox early doors, then again later in the season. Finished 3rd. Today imo is a free shot, our home form and away Vs bottom 8 sides will decide largely where we finish. Old firm away games have historically indicated very little because even the best Hibs sides usually lose there.

11-08-2019, 12:00 PM
I’ll be delighted with a draw but I won’t be getting over excited with the result going either way.

11-08-2019, 12:08 PM
Will it? Mowbray got hammered at Ibrox early doors, then again later in the season. Finished 3rd. Today imo is a free shot, our home form and away Vs bottom 8 sides will decide largely where we finish. Old firm away games have historically indicated very little because even the best Hibs sides usually lose there.

I think it will give us a clearer idea of where we are as a team/squad. A good performance at the Bigot Dome will show that we can be right up there amongst the chasing pack. It's the difficult fixtures which provide the home truths. How will we fair when tested?

11-08-2019, 12:09 PM
I think it will give us a clearer idea of where we are as a team/squad. A good performance at the Bigot Dome will show that we can be right up there amongst the chasing pack. It's the difficult fixtures which provide the home truths.

See, I don't think a one off game matters at all in showing where we will be. We could lose 5-0 today and still finish 3rd. It's a marathon, not a sprint.

11-08-2019, 12:11 PM
Well get chances. Just need to make sure that we can put them away. 2-2

11-08-2019, 12:15 PM
3-1 to Sevco

11-08-2019, 12:16 PM
1-3 Hibs.

(S.Allan 13, F.Kamberi 38, S.Mallan 56)

(J.Tavernier 72)

11-08-2019, 12:22 PM
I’ll be delighted with a draw but I won’t be getting over excited with the result going either way.

So you'd be excited about a draw but not a win?

Are you hoping for a win on the Pools this weekend?

🙃

11-08-2019, 12:28 PM

🙃

The pools? Do they still exist? 🤔

11-08-2019, 12:32 PM
we're winning 2-1 folks, don't worry :aok:

11-08-2019, 12:32 PM
See, I don't think a one off game matters at all in showing where we will be. We could lose 5-0 today and still finish 3rd. It's a marathon, not a sprint.

You're right to say this one game won't tell us where we will finish in the table, but it will give us an indication of where we stand against the teams around us. Celtic are clear best, but there are several clubs behind them: Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, Rangers; and how we do against those teams will probably decide our league position - the top six mini league. Today is our first head to head against a top six side.

I think we will lose today, but, if we manage to get something, we can say it's a big point or three against an immediate rival. :aok:

11-08-2019, 12:34 PM
1-3 Hibs.

(S.Allan 13, F.Kamberi 38, S.Mallan 56)

(J.Tavernier 72)

Lovely stuff.

11-08-2019, 12:35 PM
I predict that everybidy's gonna get very wet.

It's chuckin it doon in Glasgow!

Indeed this could have a pretty big effect today as weather here is rotten.

Roxyhibee
11-08-2019, 12:37 PM
I remember predicting something similar when we were heading to Pittodrie in the first game after they won the European Cup Winners Cup.

We lost 5-0!

I'm being positive, though, and I don't think we'll lose by as many today :)

Haha, yes I remember that. That Fergie Sheep team was a highly disciplined machine then mind and we were a poor side back then. Just keeping everything crossed today. 🤞

11-08-2019, 12:40 PM

🙃

Read it again. :wink:

Salisbury Hibby
11-08-2019, 12:43 PM
Denied a win by a dodgy late penalty. Draw.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

11-08-2019, 12:50 PM
You're right to say this one game won't tell us where we will finish in the table, but it will give us an indication of where we stand against the teams around us. Celtic are clear best, but there are several clubs behind them: Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, Rangers; and how we do against those teams will probably decide our league position - the top six mini league. Today is our first head to head against a top six side.

I think we will lose today, but, if we manage to get something, we can say it's a big point or three against an immediate rival. :aok:We aren't competing against Sevco anymore and it's time a lot of Hibs fans realised this...their budget dwarfs our and imho they will be clear in 2nd long before end of this season. The mini league is with Aberdeen, Hertz and us and maybe Motherwell.

I'd love us to get a result today but we aren't competing with Sevco over the course of the season...absolutely no chance and it's time to get a bit more realism

11-08-2019, 12:50 PM
2 1 Hibs.

Late controversial penalty that never was from Scott Allan to get them seething please

11-08-2019, 12:54 PM

Hope you're wrong but couldn't rule this out

badabing67
11-08-2019, 12:56 PM
1-0 Hibs. Flo goal allowed despite being 5 yards offside 😀

Aye that'll happen

bordergreen
11-08-2019, 12:57 PM
2 1 Hibs.

Late controversial penalty that never was from Scott Allan to get them seething please

£5.00 on a 10-1. Any winning result will do. Mon The Hibees!

Tiocfaidh Ar La
11-08-2019, 12:57 PM
We aren't competing against Sevco anymore and it's time a lot of Hibs fans realised this...their budget dwarfs our and imho they will be clear in 2nd long before end of this season. The mini league is with Aberdeen, Hertz and us and maybe Motherwell.

I'd love us to get a result today but we aren't competing with Sevco over the course of the season...absolutely no chance and it's time to get a bit more realism

Nonsense. We are always competing against them and there would be literally no point in competing in the same league or even attending Hibs games if the club adopt that attitude.

Hopefully the new owner, Leanne Dempster and management team don’t have this attitude. I personally expect Hibs to challenge Rangers. Realism is different to defeatism.

Tough game but if every player plays to potential every chance we can get a positive result.

11-08-2019, 12:59 PM
2-2 or 1-3 to Newco

11-08-2019, 01:01 PM
£5.00 on a 10-1. Any winning result will do. Mon The Hibees!

No sure if we will score 10

11-08-2019, 01:04 PM
Nonsense. We are always competing against them and there would be literally no point in competing in the same league or even attending Hibs games if the club adopt that attitude.

Hopefully the new owner, Leanne Dempster and management team don’t have this attitude. I personally expect Hibs to challenge Rangers. Realism is different to defeatism.

Tough game but if every player plays to potential every chance we can get a positive result.

GGTTHIn not saying we cant match or beat them over 90 mins or in one off games. .of course we can. But not over 38 games with the squad and budget they have...that's my honest opinion

bordergreen
11-08-2019, 01:06 PM
No sure if we will score 10

Me neither, just goes to show, there is always someone to pick you up. Hope I will be celebrating with my £55.00 later.

11-08-2019, 01:09 PM
Me neither, just goes to show, there is always someone to pick you up. Hope I will be celebrating with my £55.00 later.

Lighten up fella, just a wee joke 👍🏼

bordergreen
11-08-2019, 01:11 PM
Lighten up fella, just a wee joke 👍🏼

Light enough here. Looking forward to spending my winning at the expense of The Huns! :wink:

11-08-2019, 01:11 PM
In not saying we cant match or beat them over 90 mins or in one off games. .of course we can. But not over 38 games with the squad and budget they have...that's my honest opinion

Your right.

Tiocfaidh Ar La
11-08-2019, 01:14 PM
In not saying we cant match or beat them over 90 mins or in one off games. .of course we can. But not over 38 games with the squad and budget they have...that's my honest opinion

Fair enough. If Kilmarnock, Motherwell etc adopted that attitude then they would never finish above Hibs. It’s tough to compete based on the budget differences etc but Hibs just need to recruit better, develop better youth players and keep growing the fan base that attends the games and revenues streams. It’s a challenge no doubt but keep the faith!

11-08-2019, 01:17 PM
We aren't competing against Sevco anymore and it's time a lot of Hibs fans realised this...their budget dwarfs our and imho they will be clear in 2nd long before end of this season. The mini league is with Aberdeen, Hertz and us and maybe Motherwell.

The Rangers remain very vulnerable. I would argue it's they who need to be more realistic and lower their expectations. Celtic are no longer their rivals for trophies; they have come back to the rest of us. They are not the powerhouse they were and are already up to their eyes (should that be knees?) in debt again. They have a better squad than us and the other top six clubs, but they are reachable. They should beat us at Ibrox, but we are competition to them these days.

11-08-2019, 01:25 PM
I think we will lose this one and possibly heavily, but in all honesty I think our immediate rivals will lose there as well this season because the last few times I've seen the Currant Buns they have been a much better team than in recent years … they were the best team to come to ER last season IMO. Having said that a draw would be a great result, a win would be stratospherically excellent and fill me with hope for the season :greengrin

As another poster alluded to, if Hecky was praising the new guys for handling a friendly home crowd of 16,000 + because most of them weren't used to it, how does he see them handling 49,000 screaming Orcs for 90 minutes? because its guaranteed none of them will have experienced that sort of hatred in a stadium before. Will it be 'hey I'm up for this' or rabbits in the headlights?

This is our biggest test since the new manager put his own stamp on the team and our performance today win lose or draw will be a fair indication of exactly where we are at and what we still have to do to ensure we can challenge for 3rd or 4th.

HibeesLittleHel
11-08-2019, 04:51 PM
I think we will lose this one and possibly heavily.
Can you please give me the winning numbers for Tuesday’s Euromillions please 😂😂😂