View Full Version : An Evening with Pat Stanton - 75 years on

HibeesGal
08-08-2019, 06:07 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/sir-alex-ferguson-to-be-special-guest-at-pat-stanton-s-75th-birthday-celebrations-1-4974917

HibeesGal
08-08-2019, 06:09 PM
http://www.usherhall.co.uk/whats-on/evening-pat-stanton-75-years

08-08-2019, 08:00 PM
75 year auld :shocked:his opener v sellick in the LC 72 final is still fresh in my mind to this day

unfortunately his penalty miss v Leeds at ER is also fresh in my mind :boo hoo: my claim to fame is starting the pre-match 'we want paddy' chant at his testimonial v sellick :cb and no one can ever take that away from me, so there :greengrin:flag:

clickable links

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/sir-alex-ferguson-to-be-special-guest-at-pat-stanton-s-75th-birthday-celebrations-1-4974917

http://www.usherhall.co.uk/whats-on/evening-pat-stanton-75-years

08-08-2019, 08:15 PM
This should be a sell out

Power
05-09-2019, 08:49 AM
Still tickets left.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10253
https://www.hibeesbounce.com/attachments/5267b3b4-684b-4214-8d02-83cf24a04ed5-jpeg.1337/

Tom Hart RIP
05-09-2019, 10:48 AM
All proceeds to charity. Let’s show the great man how much he means to us by selling out the Usher Hall

jax67
05-09-2019, 03:10 PM
Really looking forward to this, should be a great night.

05-09-2019, 06:19 PM
Really looking forward to this, should be a great night.

Me too

05-09-2019, 07:00 PM
Got VIP’s for a real VIP

05-09-2019, 07:20 PM
should be a great night,

05-09-2019, 07:34 PM
Got mine !

Best player I ever saw wear the green and white

Absolute class

https://youtu.be/6q3LCUiQhME

06-09-2019, 06:35 AM
One VIP ticket if anyone interested £120

hughio
06-09-2019, 08:57 AM
Any takers?
Paid £44 and cant go.

First reasonable offer gets it.

hughio
06-09-2019, 09:21 AM
Anyone?

Leith's finest
06-09-2019, 10:50 AM
Any takers?
Paid £44 and cant go.

First reasonable offer gets it.
Maybe put what row etc help you get an offer

06-09-2019, 10:53 AM
VIP includes meet & greet free bar before & at interval plus seat at front

hughio
06-09-2019, 11:00 AM
Maybe put what row etc help you get an offer

Front row A

Any reasonable offer acceptable.

06-09-2019, 12:37 PM
I have 2 spare tickets that were for friends who can no longer go. right in the middle of Row H (8 from the front) . First reasonable offer secures them.

07-09-2019, 06:01 AM
VIP includes meet & greet free bar before & at interval plus seat at front

Gone

07-09-2019, 06:06 AM
Wonder if this will be filmed by anyone with there being some big names attending

07-09-2019, 08:29 AM
Wonder if this will be filmed by anyone with there being some big names attending

Hibs tv?

Tom Hart RIP
07-09-2019, 01:22 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibernian/interview-pat-stanton-on-why-hibs-needed-fergie-s-big-game-mentality-1-4999465/amp?__twitter_impression=true

Good interview with Aiden Smith

07-09-2019, 01:34 PM
I have 2 spare tickets that were for friends who can no longer go. right in the middle of Row H (8 from the front) . First reasonable offer secures them.

Much you wanting for them PM me I may have a couple of mates that may take them, right ***** were put off by the price 😂

SideBurns
07-09-2019, 02:27 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibernian/interview-pat-stanton-on-why-hibs-needed-fergie-s-big-game-mentality-1-4999465/amp?__twitter_impression=true

Good interview with Aiden Smith

Was just about to post that myself. Great interview (tbh, whatever your opinion of The Scotsman these days Aidan's interviews are always worth reading).

07-09-2019, 06:27 PM
Anyone there able to confirm a rough attendance? Saw a small picture on Facebook of the front nearer the stage and it looked poor, which is a crying shame as it should be packed to the rafters for the guy!

KSA Hibee
07-09-2019, 08:06 PM
Anyone there able to confirm a rough attendance? Saw a small picture on Facebook of the front nearer the stage and it looked poor, which is a crying shame as it should be packed to the rafters for the guy!

Pic must have been early doors .. lower stalls almost full and a good crowd is here .. great to see so many hero’s who have so many great stories and a love of Sir Pat and the Hibs

crash
07-09-2019, 08:10 PM
Pic must have been early doors .. lower stalls almost full and a good crowd is here .. great to see so many hero’s who have so many great stories and a love of Sir Pat and the Hibs

Half time, first half has been all Hibs,some brilliant performances, God I've waited a long time to say that!!

07-09-2019, 08:13 PM
Half time, first half has been all Hibs,some brilliant performances, God I've waited a long time to say that!!

[emoji2][emoji119].

In Pat’s day that was often the norm....

Love a Hibs night out

headshrinker
07-09-2019, 10:13 PM
What a night, full of stories from former players and football people who knew Paddy Stanton. So many great players paying tribute to the great man. However the guest who stole the show was Bobby Duncan. Grant Stott couldn’t get him of the mike.
fabulous evening for a fabulous man.
Love you Paddy

KSA Hibee
07-09-2019, 10:26 PM
Tremendous evening and some proper Hibs legends taking the stage .. should have been compulsory attendance for our latest “signings” to see what Hibs are all about and what proper football players look like and are appreciated by the fans.

07-09-2019, 10:32 PM
Unbelievable turnout from ex players and others. Fitting tribute to the greatest player we have had.

07-09-2019, 10:46 PM
Can someone post a list of all the ex players who were there? Would love to read as much as I can about this night, sounds brilliant, one of the nights that gets my heart longing for Edinburgh. Saw a clip on Facebook of a part of Pat's speech - brilliant

07-09-2019, 10:50 PM
What a night, full of stories from former players and football people who knew Paddy Stanton. So many great players paying tribute to the great man. However the guest who stole the show was Bobby Duncan. Grant Stott couldn’t get him of the mike.
Love you Paddy

Couldn't make it along tonight but delighted to hear it was a success. If anyone deserves such a tribute it's Pat Stanton. The man is simply a Hibernian legend.
God Bless you Pat.

07-09-2019, 10:55 PM
Players they brought on stage:
Bobby Murdoch
Billy Hunter
Cropley
Blackley
O’rourke
Brownlie
Mcarthur
Edwards
Ralph Callaghan
Tony Higgins
Jackie McNamara
Paul Kane
Mickey weir
John Collins
Gordon Rae
Gordon hunter
Alan sneddon
Sir Alex
Strachan
Alex mcleish
Steve Archibald
Ian Murray
Yogi
Simon pia
Fish
Irvine Welsh

Video messages from George Stewart, Alan rough, proclaimers, tam Cowan and Stuart cosgrove, John Fraser and a card from tam mcniven

I’ve probably missed a couple. Was far too many to remember

07-09-2019, 10:59 PM
Great night thoroughly enjoyed it

Lots of anecdotes from some brilliant players and Managers

Guest appearances from Irvine Welsh, Fish, Simon Pia and a stand up routine from comedian Eric Davidson brother of Kenny

A fitting tribute to a total gentleman a fantastic footballer and a true HIBS legend

Happy 75th Birthday Pat

07-09-2019, 11:25 PM

Love you Paddy

Bobby Duncan was brilliant stole the show.

Poor grant couldnt get him to shut up!

07-09-2019, 11:54 PM
Bobby Murdoch
Billy Hunter
Cropley
Blackley
O’rourke
Brownlie
Mcarthur
Edwards
Ralph Callaghan
Tony Higgins
Jackie McNamara
Paul Kane
Mickey weir
John Collins
Gordon Rae
Gordon hunter
Alan sneddon
Sir Alex
Strachan
Alex mcleish
Steve Archibald
Ian Murray
Yogi
Simon pia
Fish
Irvine Welsh

Video messages from George Stewart, Alan rough, proclaimers, tam Cowan and Stuart cosgrove, John Fraser and a card from tam mcniven

And God bless hibs👍

penihibs
07-09-2019, 11:54 PM
Couldn't make it along tonight but delighted to hear it was a success. If anyone deserves such a tribute it's Pat Stanton. The man is simply a Hibernian legend.
God Bless you Pat.

Was awesome, paying homage to my hero.
God bless you Sir Patrick.
Had a few pints in pub then went to Princess Street for bus home then this guy asked me about late bus to Bonnyrigg,only Gordon Hunter! another legend and lovely guy, What a great night for an old Hibby.
Love you Hibs....

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2019, 12:04 AM
Bobby Murdoch
Billy Hunter
Cropley
Blackley
O’rourke
Brownlie
Mcarthur
Edwards
Ralph Callaghan
Tony Higgins
Jackie McNamara
Paul Kane
Mickey weir
John Collins
Gordon Rae
Gordon hunter
Alan sneddon
Sir Alex
Strachan
Alex mcleish
Steve Archibald
Ian Murray
Yogi
Simon pia
Fish
Irvine Welsh

Plus Allan McGraw, Kenny Davidson, Robin Rae and I think you meant Bobby Duncan and of course Ally Macleod

08-09-2019, 12:12 AM
Was there old footage of goals played on the big screen?

wazoo1875
08-09-2019, 12:20 AM

Yes a few of pats at the start, then the goals from the new year massacre later on.
What a cracking night that was, it’s the most hibs I’ve ever felt I think. Listening to someone like Alex Ferguson waxing lyrical about a Hibernian player just showed how highly regarded Pat was.
The King indeed!

DavieRoy
08-09-2019, 12:43 AM

Great night, well organised by Kano and Willie McEwan, they deserve loads of credit. I think Sky did the tribute video for Pat. Great stuff. Proper Hibernian players talking about good times.

08-09-2019, 03:13 AM
Bobby Murdoch
Billy Hunter
Cropley
Blackley
O’rourke
Brownlie
Mcarthur
Edwards
Ralph Callaghan
Tony Higgins
Jackie McNamara
Paul Kane
Mickey weir
John Collins
Gordon Rae
Gordon hunter
Alan sneddon
Sir Alex
Strachan
Alex mcleish
Steve Archibald
Ian Murray
Yogi
Simon pia
Fish
Irvine Welsh

John Hazel (Super Sub) :greengrin

Hibeewilly
08-09-2019, 04:47 AM
John Hazel (Super Sub) :greengrin

Was Arthur Duncan not there last night?

May21/05/16
08-09-2019, 05:44 AM
Was great night the highlight was listening to pat the best player I ever seen to wear the jersey I've met him a few times and hes an ever better guy

The highlight for me amongst all the speakers was bobby Duncan I know him from the work hes like that he never stops great guy

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

08-09-2019, 06:56 AM
Were there any current first team players or staff there?

ManlyOz
08-09-2019, 07:00 AM
Were there any current first team players or staff there?

No, thought was a bit poor by the club nobody showed up! Great night though.

08-09-2019, 07:28 AM
Was a brilliant night, some great stories. Bobby Duncan's goal v Napoli is now officially 85 yards

08-09-2019, 07:31 AM
Absolutely delighted to hear it was a wonderful night. Fully deserved for a top class Hibee [emoji119]

08-09-2019, 07:38 AM
We were up in the gods but the bar was close. Great night with lots of funny stories. And such a good cause. God bless you Pat a Hibby forever.

08-09-2019, 07:51 AM

He wasn’t no. Alan Gordon wasn’t there either.

It was truly a memorable night and not one to be repeated for many a decade to come.

08-09-2019, 07:52 AM
He wasn’t no. Alan Gordon wasn’t there either.

It was truly a memorable night and not one to be repeated for many a decade to come.

Alan Died a few years ago.

08-09-2019, 07:54 AM
Alan Died a few years ago.

Clearly never knew that 🙁

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2019, 07:55 AM

Arthur emigrated to New Zealand a few years ago

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2019, 07:56 AM
Plus Lindsay Muir Colin Grant and John Murphy

08-09-2019, 07:57 AM
Plus Allan McGraw, Kenny Davidson, Robin Rae and I think you meant Bobby Duncan and of course Ally Macleod

Yes, apologies I meant Bobby Duncan

Hibeewilly
08-09-2019, 08:04 AM
Arthur emigrated to New Zealand a few years ago
Thanks Tom..... I didn't know that

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2019, 08:05 AM
Fantastic night. Brought back so many memories.
Wonderful European night when Hibs were one of the top sides in Europe.
Barcelona Real Madrid Naples, sporting Lisbon, Leeds, Liverpool, Juventus

08-09-2019, 08:28 AM
Brilliant night, some great and funny stories, my favourite was when Pat asked the board to up john collins money as all his wages were going on bus fares to and from Gala, Do you not know anyone from Gala working in Edinburgh was the reply,😁😁

08-09-2019, 08:42 AM
So many funny moments but Irvine Welsh comparing Pat's reliability on the pitch to the certainty of getting your hole at Lord Tom's in the 70's was a standout.

jax67
08-09-2019, 08:48 AM
Great night!! Thoroughly enjoyed it, thanks for making it happen Sir Pat.👏👌

08-09-2019, 09:13 AM
Had the pleasure of meeting him a couple of times and he’s a really humble guy. I remember chatting to him a few years ago about his testimonial game against Celtic. He recalled the ref told the Celtic keeper (Roy Baines I think) to make sure Pat scored the penalty we were awarded.

08-09-2019, 09:22 AM
Great night and for wonderful causes and of course PAT a true gent

08-09-2019, 09:25 AM
Amazed there wasn’t any of the 1st team or management in attendance ?

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2019, 09:27 AM
https://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2019/09/charities-benefit-from-pat-stantons-birthday-celebration/

Summary of events

08-09-2019, 09:39 AM

That’s actually shocking.

leith lynx
08-09-2019, 09:48 AM
Plus Lindsay Muir Colin Grant and John Murphy

and Willie Patterson, great night for a great man!

08-09-2019, 10:01 AM

When your see the summary of events I’m not sure there was room for the current side!! :greengrin

08-09-2019, 10:03 AM
One of the bar staff said there were 800 downstairs and 200 upstairs. My highlight was sitting 6 seats along from Alex Ferguson 😉

08-09-2019, 10:24 AM

Yip, piss poor and tells you all you need to know about the current squad. A lot of more recent ex-players who claim to be fans missing from that list. Maybe those who never really saw him play don’t appreciate the man. If it was Sauzee, the place would probably be a sell out.

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2019, 10:29 AM
The ex players on the stage were invited as they had a connection with Pat.
There may have been more in the audience.

Robbo6-2
08-09-2019, 10:29 AM
Maybe some of the new players should of attended and get a feel for what its like to play for Hibs

08-09-2019, 10:43 AM
Maybe some of the new players should of attended and get a feel for what its like to play for Hibs

It’s just a job for some of these guys. They will never had what we had in May ‘16. As for Pat & Jimmy ant many other up on stage and in the audience last night if you cut us open it would be green blood that flowed.

08-09-2019, 11:00 AM
When your see the summary of events I’m not sure there was room for the current side!! :greengrin

They could have block booked representatives going though mate there’s no way they wouldn’t have been asked.

08-09-2019, 11:01 AM
One of the bar staff said there were 800 downstairs and 200 upstairs. My highlight was sitting 6 seats along from Alex Ferguson 😉

Pwoud moment I’m shoore 😊

08-09-2019, 11:05 AM
Pwoud moment I’m shoore 😊

Yup, vewy pwoud

KSA Hibee
08-09-2019, 12:17 PM

I mentioned in an earlier post it should have been compulsory viewing for some of our new signings ... but on reflection last night was a celebration of Sir Pat and the success of some truly tremendous players he played with ... my current apathy towards some of the current imposters would have taken away the feel good factor within the theatre ... in my opinion.

08-09-2019, 12:20 PM
I mentioned in an earlier post it should have been compulsory viewing for some of our new signings ... but on reflection last night was a celebration of Sir Pat and the success of some truly tremendous players he played with ... my current apathy towards some of the current imposters would have taken away the feel good factor within the theatre ... in my opinion.

Maybe but also shows lack of forward thinking that might actually help get manager and players on side.

Think about previous events at corn exchange etc.

I know it’s international weekend and a break for some but seems odd no official staff present when others made the effort.

08-09-2019, 01:01 PM
Between the current squad not attending this and the girl leaving the women's team it's been a dark, dark weekend to be a Hibby.

08-09-2019, 01:21 PM
Between the current squad not attending this and the girl leaving the women's team it's been a dark, dark weekend to be a Hibby.

When’s it no?

08-09-2019, 01:23 PM
When’s it no?

Every weekend it's good to be a Hibby. There are no alternatives.

08-09-2019, 02:41 PM
https://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2019/09/charities-benefit-from-pat-stantons-birthday-celebration/

Summary of events

Thanks for posting. Great article describing the night's entertainment. What a fabulous list of Hibs greats (and other greats). Clearly a special night for a special guy, there's only one Pat Stanton!

08-09-2019, 02:51 PM

Good answer :greengrin

percy veer
08-09-2019, 03:39 PM

Hardly, were the current playing staff invited? and as for the lady she is filling her boots down south cant see what hibs could have done to prevent this.

08-09-2019, 04:12 PM
Hardly, were the current playing staff invited? and as for the lady she is filling her boots down south cant see what hibs could have done to prevent this.

I clearly need to up the sarcasm level.:wink:

08-09-2019, 04:23 PM
One alternative would be to be a Jambo and that would just suck.

08-09-2019, 04:24 PM

Kenny Millar was asked on twitter why no one was there, this was his response:

‘It was an independently organised event so anyone who was there from the club was in the audience like everyone else’

08-09-2019, 04:25 PM

Summary of events

It was a great night. No one there would say otherwise.
Lovely seeing all those players and from a few different generations, in one place at one time.
I’ve never had time for Alex Ferguson but he was a pleasure to listen to when speaking about the man.
Thanks for the link.

Scattered about outside before going in with my battered 100 Years of Hibs and added a couple of signatures but I wish I could’ve got closer to a couple on the stage that I missed.

Great seeing Lindsay Muir. On a personal level I was privileged to be able to introduce him into the ways of the HFPSA and it was great seeing him and some of the less recognised youngsters of the Tornadoes era like Willie Murray, Willie Paterson and John Hazel there.

If I had a gripe at all it’s only that a few absent friends that Pat played alongside like Alan Gordon, Erich Schaedler, Johnny Hamilton and Bobby Smith never quite got a mention. But it’s not a criticism. I loved every minute of it.

08-09-2019, 04:48 PM

Probably better they didn't attend, might have been booed.

08-09-2019, 08:47 PM
Arthur now lives in New Zela d

Hibeewilly
08-09-2019, 08:59 PM

Thanks SA..... Tom Hart posted that this morning..... I wasn't aware that he had emigrated...

08-09-2019, 09:02 PM

Damned either way - it was about the big man, maybe they planned but didn’t want to risk any mishaps with disgruntled punters? So took themselves out of the equation?

Greenwich_Hibby
08-09-2019, 09:19 PM
Fantastic night and a throwback to what Hibs is all about. What a player he was, best I saw in the green and white.
Sadly, so much of the real Hibs has gone with the passing of years and the complete lack of interest by those currently in place at the club.

09-09-2019, 05:34 AM
Agree with the poster that said special mention should have been made of the Tornadoes no longer with us Erich Schaedler Alan Gordon Johnny Hamilton and Bobby Smith
If they did I apologise
I attended the 25th Anniversary Dinner of the 1972/73 League Cup win at Easter Road and at the top table for the Tornadoes they left a space for Erich Schaedler a nice touch

09-09-2019, 06:32 AM
Fantastic night and a throwback to what Hibs is all about. What a player he was, best I saw in the green and white.
Sadly, so much of the real Hibs has gone with the passing of years and the complete lack of interest by those currently in place at the club.

Leeann who brought us to where we are today restored pride, kicked Butcher out, brought in Stubbs who saw us win us the cup and into Europe, hire Lenny who got promotion in the meantime we saw some cracking players with a real passion for the Hibs. She also took our as ottish cup win around the country so share the win with Hibees around Scotland - the largest tour in Scottish cup history. Yes I often ask : “What’s she ever done for us ?”

Tom Hart RIP
09-09-2019, 06:37 AM
Agree with the poster that said special mention should have been made of the Tornadoes no longer with us Erich Schaedler Alan Gordon Johnny Hamilton and Bobby Smith
If they did I apologise
I attended the 25th Anniversary Dinner of the 1972/73 League Cup win at Easter Road and at the top table for the Tornadoes they left a space for Erich Schaedler a nice touch

I think Eric Davidson mentioned Erich's passing during his song and Alan and Bobby were mentioned in the passing by a couple of guests but I agree it would have been a nice touch to have given a special mention to them all. Not a critisism as it was a fantastic night and it was great to hear Jimmy O'Rourke given a special cheer when he came back on stage after the break. I'd love to attend something similar in his behalf.

09-09-2019, 07:39 AM
I think Eric Davidson mentioned Erich's passing during his song and Alan and Bobby were mentioned in the passing by a couple of guests but I agree it would have been a nice touch to have given a special mention to them all. Not a critisism as it was a fantastic night and it was great to hear Jimmy O'Rourke given a special cheer when he came back on stage after the break. I'd love to attend something similar in his behalf.
👍🏾

09-09-2019, 07:44 AM
Seeing who organised the event, is anyone surprised (let alone shocked) that nobody from the club was invited?

09-09-2019, 07:51 AM

He did. I was thinking something on screen might have been a touch, although Eric rampaging up the left in the 0-7 game illustrated the man perfectly as did Alan’s majestic goals.
Wee Jimmy looks frail and he’d have to be to stop him from speaking!

09-09-2019, 07:57 AM
I wonder what sort of reception Hecky would have got standing up in front of 1000 HIBS fans?

Maybes no!

09-09-2019, 08:05 AM
Damned either way - it was about the big man, maybe they planned but didn’t want to risk any mishaps with disgruntled punters? So took themselves out of the equation?

I’m sure if Hanlon Lewis Sir Dave and Stevenson turned up they would have got a great reception.

09-09-2019, 08:31 AM
Seeing who organised the event, is anyone surprised (let alone shocked) that nobody from the club was invited?

Who organised it?

09-09-2019, 09:01 AM
Who organised it?

Kano

09-09-2019, 09:04 AM

No offence but what are you on about? We only won the Scottish Cup in 2016 and a number of people who were heavily involved with that are still with the club. Felt pretty real where i was sitting that day.

09-09-2019, 09:36 AM

That was a good night.
I got the wee 'sketch' that we all got framed, and it's right up there on my wall.

09-09-2019, 09:37 AM
That was a good night.
I got the wee 'sketch' that we all got framed, and it's right up there on my wall.

Great night

👍🏾

My mate went up to speak to Alan Gordon as he was an Accountant with MacDonald Gordon. Alan Gordon said “ Take a seat” to which he replied “Ah cannae sit there that’s Erichs seat”

Brilliant

09-09-2019, 09:50 AM
If they did I apologise

I was there too - I think it was a Club 86 fundraiser.

I remember Alex Miller being surprisingly funny when he spoke.

I also had a pish with Jackie Mac at the next urinal - fulfilled a boyhood dream that I never knew I had! :greengrin

09-09-2019, 10:01 AM

I also had a pish with Jackie Mac at the next urinal - fulfilled a boyhood dream that I never knew I had! :greengrin

Ha Ha!

I had a pish with Eric The Rebel Stevenson

He called me Big Man!

That was a long time ago though 😂

The Baldmans Comb
09-09-2019, 10:12 AM
Leeann who brought us to where we are today restored pride, kicked Butcher out, brought in Stubbs who saw us win us the cup and into Europe, hire Lenny who got promotion in the meantime we saw some cracking players with a real passion for the Hibs. She also took our as ottish cup win around the country so share the win with Hibees around Scotland - the largest tour in Scottish cup history. Yes I often ask : “What’s she ever done for us ?”

Dempster did abandon the loyalty points system having first messed it up by granting HSL points, then she alienated the "Since 1875" fan grouping with her comments and behaviour then she oversaw a disastrous Ticketmaster fiasco last season when tickets couldn't be bought online without a great deal of time and effort for months on end.

At least that was sorted except having now bought the tickets its not exactly certain how long you will have to wait to get into the stadium as there is very little faith in the new scanning system 2 months after it was supposedly installed and tested.

Not much luck for the away season ticket holders either as they keep getting double charged for their tickets.

She also lost all her commercial department and "Sacked" Lennon but then said he did nothing wrong which left the club open to ridicule as did the huge overreaction with sniffer dogs and to top it all we now have a struggling team with no footballing budget left and her appointment "SecondBottom" has the best part of 3 years left on his lucrative contract.

Its a decidedly mixed bag amongst all the early success and positive momentum and excellent comunication has been replaced by apprehension and stagnation both on and off the pitch.

"What's she ever done for us" isnt entirely cut and dried and worryingly her decision making has got worse the longer she has been in the job.

09-09-2019, 10:25 AM

that's no excuse

:)

09-09-2019, 10:38 AM
Dempster did abandon the loyalty points system having first messed it up by granting HSL points, then she alienated the "Since 1875" fan grouping with her comments and behaviour then she oversaw a disastrous Ticketmaster fiasco last season when tickets couldn't be bought online without a great deal of time and effort for months on end.

At least that was sorted except having now bought the tickets its not exactly certain how long you will have to wait to get into the stadium as there is very little faith in the new scanning system 2 months after it was supposedly installed and tested.

Not much luck for the away season ticket holders either as they keep getting double charged for their tickets.

She also lost all her commercial department and "Sacked" Lennon but then said he did nothing wrong which left the club open to ridicule as did the huge overreaction with sniffer dogs and to top it all we now have a struggling team with no footballing budget left and her appointment "SecondBottom" has the best part of 3 years left on his lucrative contract.

Its a decidedly mixed bag amongst all the early success and positive momentum and excellent comunication has been replaced by apprehension and stagnation both on and off the pitch.

"What's she ever done for us" isnt entirely cut and dried and worryingly her decision making has got worse the longer she has been in the job.

All subjective I suppose. Curious. Could you pass on details of our managers lucrative contract? Also, keen to know the reasons why we have no commercial department.

Capt Mainwaring
09-09-2019, 10:52 AM

Your second paragraph doesn’t make sense and isn’t factually accurate either!

Glad you enjoyed the night however

09-09-2019, 12:50 PM

Agree 100%

Don't forget she booted Gary O'hagan into touch. Who was a long standing director & a Hibby.

Now back to the Pat Stanton thread

09-09-2019, 02:23 PM
Who organised it?

Paul Kane and Simon Pia. Two of the biggest slaverers going

09-09-2019, 02:32 PM
Paul Kane and Simon Pia. Two of the biggest slaverers going

It was Kano and Willie McEwan. Well done to them, great night.

09-09-2019, 02:38 PM

I've spoken to AM in the Boardroom at ER. Was a proper gent.

09-09-2019, 02:40 PM
I'd have loved to have gone on Sat - simply couldn't.

Looked a good night, and a very worthy tribute to a more than worthy Legend!

I love Sir Pat :flag:

The Baldmans Comb
09-09-2019, 03:23 PM
All subjective I suppose. Curious. Could you pass on details of our managers lucrative contract? Also, keen to know the reasons why we have no commercial department.

What's subjetive about a mysterious hand appearance through a gap and hand scanning your ticket or being directed towards an exit door and walking through without any scan at all.?

What's subjective about not being able to go online and buy a ticket within minutes with no hassle ?

What's subjective about double deductions from a bank account for away tickets?

These are all absolute basic fundamentals of running a sporting organization and something Hibs have failed spectaculary at in the last two years.

I would also be keen to know the reasons as well for having no commercial department and having no shirt sponsor especially when we were told that Marathon Bet was the most lucrative sponsor in Hibs history so its a little surprising to replace this with HeeHaw.

Regading the manager contract, cursory analysis of the financial statements show the highest paid employee and their remuneration so this can only be the first team manager or Chief Executive.

Analysing the published figures then itIt wouldn't be that far of an accurate guess that to now pay off "SecondBottom" and his assistant would therefore cost well over £600,000 for the remaining 30 months of their contracts.

Hopefully this helps your curiosity though my advice would be to further your "curiosity" and at least question what you see staring you in the face from point of entry to on the pitch performance.

Dempster hero worship does no one any favors especially when there have been so many fundamental blunders in recent years.

09-09-2019, 04:32 PM
I wonder what happened to Jim Herriot Jim Cilla Black and Des Bremner?

I hope they are keeping OK.

Colin Stein?

patch1875
09-09-2019, 04:51 PM
I worked with Pat years ago he had some great stories!

09-09-2019, 04:59 PM
What's subjetive about a mysterious hand appearance through a gap and hand scanning your ticket or being directed towards an exit door and walking through without any scan at all.?

What's subjective about not being able to go online and buy a ticket within minutes with no hassle ?

These are all absolute basic fundamentals of running a sporting organization and something Hibs have failed spectaculary at in the last two years.

I would also be keen to know the reasons as well for having no commercial department and having no shirt sponsor especially when we were told that Marathon Bet was the most lucrative sponsor in Hibs history so its a little surprising to replace this with HeeHaw.

Regading the manager contract, cursory analysis of the financial statements show the highest paid employee and their remuneration so this can only be the first team manager or Chief Executive.

Analysing the published figures then itIt wouldn't be that far of an accurate guess that to now pay off "SecondBottom" and his assistant would therefore cost well over £600,000 for the remaining 30 months of their contracts.

Hopefully this helps your curiosity though my advice would be to further your "curiosity" and at least question what you see staring you in the face from point of entry to on the pitch performance.

Dempster hero worship does no one any favors especially when there have been so many fundamental blunders in recent years.

Your bit about Heckingbottom's salary/pay off is wrong. Accounts don't show the highest paid employee they show the highest paid director. Heckingbottom isn't a director and even if he was, the accounts are to the financial year ending 30 June 2018, long before he joined the club.

What makes you so sure paying him off would mean paying him the amount for the full remaining term of his contract?

Although not official, it was reported in the press that Heckingbottom agreed to a severence clause with 4 months salary.

09-09-2019, 05:08 PM

It is totally incorrect to say that the financial statements show the highest paid employee so you’ve got that wrong. Unless you know what notice period is included in the manager’s contract it is impossible to say what severance of employment would cost.So that’s another thing you’ve got wrong.

big-mo
09-09-2019, 05:10 PM

They were invited.

09-09-2019, 06:29 PM
Not sure how accurate but saw this online:

Pat played 36 competitive games v Hearts

winning 2️⃣0️⃣
drawing 1️⃣0️⃣
And only losing 6️⃣

Tom Hart RIP
10-09-2019, 08:20 AM
Not sure how accurate but saw this online:

Pat played 36 competitive games v Hearts

winning 2️⃣0️⃣
drawing 1️⃣0️⃣
And only losing 6️⃣

Jim McArthur said he'd been at Easter Road for 11 years and never lost against Hearts

10-09-2019, 09:07 AM
If they did I apologise

Ha ha, i actually sat on that seat not thinking, as one does and John Blackley told me not to sit there it was Eric's seat. Boy was i embarrassed!

DavieRoy
10-09-2019, 10:32 AM
Who organised it?

Paul Kane and Willie McEwan and they did a marvellous job. Credit to them. The amount of former players and big names they got was fantastic. The type of event the football club would struggle to run.

Even if there was an issue between Kano and the club, it is not about either side, it is about Pat Stanton, one of the best players in the clubs history and raising money for charity.

10-09-2019, 10:37 AM
Anyone know how much the event raised for the charities?

10-09-2019, 12:34 PM
Paul Kane and Willie McEwan and they did a marvellous job. Credit to them. The amount of former players and big names they got was fantastic. The type of event the football club would struggle to run.

Even if there was an issue between Kano and the club, it is not about either side, it is about Pat Stanton, one of the best players in the clubs history and raising money for charity.

Credit where it's due - it looked like a fantastic night.

10-09-2019, 02:06 PM
Credit where it's due - it looked like a fantastic night.

It was and fir worthy causes aswell

10-09-2019, 02:35 PM
Jim McArthur said he'd been at Easter Road for 11 years and never lost against Hearts

So he did. Wonder what Hibs record was in derbies around that time

10-09-2019, 02:48 PM
So he did. Wonder what Hibs record was in derbies around that time

It's all here. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh_derby

We only lost twice to Hearts between 1969 and 1982 although there were 4 seasons where we didn't play them in 77-78, 79-80 to 81-82.

The goalies in these 2 games were Roddy McKenzie (grrr..) and Mike McDonald.

10-09-2019, 03:04 PM
It's all here. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh_derby

We only lost twice to Hearts between 1969 and 1982 although there were 4 seasons where we didn't play them in 77-78, 79-80 to 81-82.

The goalies in these 2 games were Roddy McKenzie (grrr..) and Mike McDonald.

Outstanding record

10-09-2019, 10:12 PM

On the sporting success I'd suggest that Hibstory will favour her well - overwhelmingly well.

Was the loyalty system not run as a trial? If you get something wrong that's life you change and move on (or not but that's a choice folks make). Since1875 alienation I don't know enough to comment. As for Ticketmaster "fiasco" we wont be the first or last to have teething problems introducing a new system. Im sure still be a hacked off with that as much as the punters and will have sought assurances that things have been resolved I'd imagine.

If there's success on the park things perhaps these issues are less of a thing but at the moment it looks like Hecky is at a bit of a cross roads - never a good position to be in as a Hibs manager but we play on - Lennon and Stubbs both had sticky spells but got head down and got on with it Hecky will have to do the same. Let see what comes.

10-09-2019, 10:17 PM

Why do you keep referring to him as secondbottom? Not only is it childish bull **** expected from a ten year old but where does the second bottom come into it? Second bottom of what?

****ing weird

10-09-2019, 10:35 PM
Another good thread about to get arsed.

11-09-2019, 03:54 AM

DanishJohn
11-09-2019, 06:08 AM
Hopefully to keep it on track.

When fondly remembering the players of the past there is a strong feeling of localness about it.
Is that what is perhaps missing now?
Hibs had Pat Stanton Jim O'Rourke and Davy Hogg in their team and they all went to Holy Cross.
Perhaps we should ramp up the scouting in the Edinburgh area for starters.
I don't want this to sound nostalgic but just trying to improve the quality of the player we are handing a green jersey to.

Just ask Pat Stanton

11-09-2019, 06:15 AM

Correct. This forum isn't worth a sook these days.

11-09-2019, 06:17 AM

Correct me if I am wrong, but I am fairly confident you originally came on here claiming to be a journalist with an even-handed interest, or at least a lack of bias, in how you wrote about teams. In fact I think you claimed your interest was more in the Newcastle area?

11-09-2019, 04:20 PM
I rarely post on here these days as every thread descends into an argument about the running of the club.
This thread is about Pat Stanton.
I don't want to read about turnstiles, catering, loyalty points or the current board.
I'm sure there are other threads that cover these topics, this thread is about Saturday night at the Usher Hall.

For the record it was a fantastic evening, emotional at times, especially when the Tornadoes took to the sofa. Seeing the reactions of Alex, Mickey, Pat, Sloop, Onion and Jimmy as they watched the 7-0 game on the big screen monitors was something to behold, the clenched fists as each goal went in, the smiles between the players as they acknowledged each goal, the sly look from Pat to Jimmy as he slid in to steal Pat's goal and Jimmy's smile back at him as if to say sorry, had to make sure. Alex watching himself threading balls about the park with a look of pride and Mickey nodding as he watched his own masterclass in passing from a bygone era. It was beautiful, touching and emotional for those of us raised on these guys heroics.

When you were brought up watching these guys on open terraces, bottles raining down on you, urine flowing down the steps soaking your flares and surviving on a diet of macaroon bars, wagon wheels and kiora orange juice the last thing you think about when paying tribute to them is electronic turnstiles, the price of pizza or whether loyalty points work fairly.
Show some respect. Keep it on thread.

11-09-2019, 04:22 PM
I rarely post on here these days as every thread descends into an argument about the running of the club.
I don't want to read about turnstiles, catering, loyalty points or the current board.
I'm sure there are other threads that cover these topics, this thread is about Saturday night at the Usher Hall.

For the record it was a fantastic evening, emotional at times, especially when the Tornadoes took to the sofa. Seeing the reactions of Alex, Mickey, Pat, Sloop, Onion and Jimmy as they watched the 7-0 game on the big screen monitors was something to behold, the clenched fists as each goal went in, the smiles between the players as they acknowledged each goal, the sly look from Pat to Jimmy as he slid in to steal Pat's goal and Jimmy's smile back at him as if to say sorry, had to make sure. Alex watching himself threading balls about the park with a look of pride and Mickey nodding as he watched his own masterclass in passing from a bygone era. It was beautiful, touching and emotional for those of us raised on these guys heroics.

When you were brought up watching these guys on open terraces, bottles raining down on you, urine flowing down the steps soaking your flares and surviving on a diet of macaroon bars, wagon wheels and kiora orange juice the last thing you think about when paying tribute to them is electronic turnstiles, the price of pizza or whether loyalty points work fairly.

11-09-2019, 04:26 PM

10/10

For the uninitiated by flares the OP means trousers 😁

Brilliant night moving touching and reminisces from a bygone age gone but not forgotten

There was a bonnie fitba team....

11-09-2019, 04:33 PM

Great post. The highlight for me was the gasps in awe from the audience in the 0-7 highlights as Pat showed that incredible burst of pace to storm through the Hearts midfield to set up Jimmy for the 6th.

11-09-2019, 04:47 PM
Great post. The highlight for me was the gasps in awe from the audience in the 0-7 highlights as Pat showed that incredible burst of pace to storm through the Hearts midfield to set up Jimmy for the 6th.
There was so many highlights, one that stood out to me and showed how much football has changed was when Alex Ferguson told how Pat and himself shared digs in a guest house when they were managing Aberdeen, they actually shared the same room and sometimes the other Don's coach Teddy Scott would bunk in beside them, all in the same room.
The landlady and landlord would pass their door at bedtime shouting Goodnight Alex, Goodnight Pat, they would reply Goodnight Mrs Munro, Goodnight Mr Munro...then Pat would whisper in his best John Boy Walton accent, Goodnight Grandpa.

Imagine Pep Guardiola and his assistants sharing digs in a cheap guest house in Manchester!!

Fanforlife
11-09-2019, 05:06 PM

Show some respect. Keep it on thread.outstanding comments m8.GGTTH✌🖐

hibeerealist
11-09-2019, 07:44 PM

Nice one Freddy

12-09-2019, 08:44 PM

Well said. This evening was all about the past

12-09-2019, 10:13 PM
Well said fat freddy