View Full Version : Ibrox travel etc

PolishHibby
07-08-2019, 11:27 AM
Going to ibrox on me own and for the first time on the sunday and got a few questions, what trains would yous recommended to get? Which pubs are hibs fans in before the game and what's the best way to get to the ground? Cheers GGTTH

07-08-2019, 11:39 AM
Any train, doesn’t make a difference.

No pubs near the ground for us since The Albion closed down. My crowd usually drink in the city centre, or even in Edinburgh and get a later train.

Transport from city centre to the ground.....get an Uber. Costs about a fiver. DO NOT get the underground. It’s the most hideous experience you will ever have. Even without colours you will stick out like a sore thumb by not joining in with their bigot fest sing-along.
Getting back after the game, walk. Takes about half an hour but make sure you’ve no colours in show.

07-08-2019, 11:43 AM
Getting the subway to and from Govan isn’t too bad

07-08-2019, 11:46 AM

No pubs near the ground for us since The Albion closed down. My crowd usually drink in the city centre, or even in Edinburgh and get a later train.

Transport from city centre to the ground.....get an Uber. Costs about a fiver. DO NOT get the underground. It’s the most hideous experience you will ever have. Even without colours you will stick out like a sore thumb by not joining in with their bigot fest sing-along.
Getting back after the game, walk. Takes about half an hour but make sure you’ve no colours in show.

Tall Cranes near Ibrox is fine for us. Craigton road, about 10 mins walk from ibrox

07-08-2019, 11:46 AM
Subway is fine. They’ll probably march us back down to Govan station after the game and stick us on a single train which will go straight back to Buchanan Street without any stops.

07-08-2019, 11:47 AM

Really? I hated it. Absolutely rammed, squashed up against those mutants, all belting out the most bigoted, racist and offensive bollocks I’ve ever heard. I would never choose to be surrounded so closely to those ****bags.

07-08-2019, 11:54 AM
I used to always get the subway to Ibrox early doors and never had any bother. I never wear colours to games anyway so that wasn't a problem.

I believe the subway to Ibrox is not an option anymore so I'll have a couple of pint in the city centre then get the subway to Govan. To avoid the hordes it's sometime an idea to go the 'wrong way' on the subway. I'll be on the 12 midday Scotrail train to Queen Street and will likely head for a pint in the Counting House or similar then jump on the subway about 1.30.

Aim Here
07-08-2019, 12:00 PM

I quite enjoy taking the Underground to Ibrox (get off at Govan); it's really convenient transportwise, and you get an anthropological glimpse into the opposition. Mutant roasters having a bigoted singalong, gruff Weedgie old boys, sons of Ulster on their day out to Glasgow, snide Southern English fascist types looking for some vicarious ethnic cleansing to join in with. And of course, a lot of more or less normal, decent folks just there to watch the fitba'. Only ever had colours on the once, but didn't get any bother when I did. You have to be a wee bit early on the subway because the later trains are often so packed it's hard to get on in the first place, and the inhabitants get a bit more malodorous.

07-08-2019, 12:12 PM
Really? I hated it. Absolutely rammed, squashed up against those mutants, all belting out the most bigoted, racist and offensive bollocks I’ve ever heard. I would never choose to be surrounded so closely to those ****bags.

If you go the opposite direction from the majority of those cretins it's better. I usually go from buchanan street or st enoch then go the direction where the govan stop is before the ibrox stop.

PolishHibby
07-08-2019, 01:31 PM
Thanks all will probably travel early get a few in the city centre then uber to the ground as I really don't fancy mixing with that lot, hope we get something from the game ggtth:flag:

Turnbullsmate
07-08-2019, 01:56 PM
I quite enjoy taking the Underground to Ibrox (get off at Govan); it's really convenient transportwise, and you get an anthropological glimpse into the opposition. Mutant roasters having a bigoted singalong, gruff Weedgie old boys, sons of Ulster on their day out to Glasgow, snide Southern English fascist types looking for some vicarious ethnic cleansing to join in with. And of course, a lot of more or less normal, decent folks just there to watch the fitba'. Only ever had colours on the once, but didn't get any bother when I did. You have to be a wee bit early on the subway because the later trains are often so packed it's hard to get on in the first place, and the inhabitants get a bit more malodorous.

Slightly off topic, but myself ,my eldest boy and an acquaintance made our way to St Georges X post Partick game some years ago. Train pulled in, crammed with Huns . My son and i boarded sporting our Hibs colours (our acquaintance decided to wait for the next one along).

All eyes were on my lad and i and i was bricking it big time i don't mind admitting. I somehow valiantly spoke up "how did ye get on the day?" "4-1 tae us " (Falkirk they had played on the day) "Aye" says I "whae' scored?" "McCoist got all four" someone responded "**** me, he's some banana " says i. Silence ensued and we made it to Queen Street in one piece>

The moral of the tale?..... Feigning that you give **** about the Hun can be good for your health.

07-08-2019, 03:35 PM
Slightly off topic, but myself ,my eldest boy and an acquaintance made our way to St Georges X post Partick game some years ago. Train pulled in, crammed with Huns . My son and i boarded sporting our Hibs colours (our acquaintance decided to wait for the next one along).

All eyes were on my lad and i and i was bricking it big time i don't mind admitting. I somehow valiantly spoke up "how did ye get on the day?" "4-1 tae us " (Falkirk they had played on the day) "Aye" says I "whae' scored?" "McCoist got all four" someone responded "**** me, he's some banana " says i. Silence ensued and we made it to Queen Street in one piece>

The moral of the tale?..... Feigning that you give **** about the Hun can be good for your health.

I'd rather go home with a sore face tbh.

07-08-2019, 08:45 PM

Always go by train & underground, best way to do it.

10-08-2019, 07:51 PM
Any idea what time the car park opens at?

11-08-2019, 08:43 AM
Wee bump, anyone know what time the car park opens today?

11-08-2019, 08:45 AM
Wee bump, anyone know what time the car park opens today?

Usually around 1pm or so

11-08-2019, 08:46 AM
Usually around 1pm or so

Cheers mate.

11-08-2019, 09:12 AM
Where is the car park? Is it usually a nightmare to get into and then out of at the end??

I’m taking my boy so this will be the first time I drive.

Considering getting the train instead.

11-08-2019, 09:17 AM
Where is the car park? Is it usually a nightmare to get into and then out of at the end??

I’m taking my boy so this will be the first time I drive.

Considering getting the train instead.

It’s just opposite the section we go in
Usually get held in it for a bit, but last time we got our a bit quicker

11-08-2019, 09:18 AM
It’s just opposite the section we go in
Usually get held in it for a bit, but last time we got our a bit quicker

Thanks billy

11-08-2019, 09:21 AM
Are we likely to be out the car park by half past 5?

11-08-2019, 09:31 AM
Are we likely to be out the car park by half past 5?

Last couple of time it's been around that time. Both times I've literally flown onto the motorway no bother.

11-08-2019, 09:37 AM
Last couple of time it's been around that time. Both times I've literally flown onto the motorway no bother.

Police escort to the motorway theses days so best place to park now.

11-08-2019, 09:38 AM

did you not get pulled up for landing your plane on the motorway??

11-08-2019, 09:50 AM
Usually around 1pm or so

It's open before that. We head through for around 12.15 and it's open then and cars are already in there.

JimboHibs
11-08-2019, 09:52 AM
Thanks all will probably travel early get a few in the city centre then uber to the ground as I really don't fancy mixing with that lot, hope we get something from the game ggtth:flag:

Get a TAXI bud , least youll get taken to the right end and on time.

Johnny Clash
11-08-2019, 11:01 AM
I took my sons through by train then subway a few years ago - assuming we’d be in a throng of hibees all the way to Ibrox. I got that wrong. Plenty green and white on train to Queen Street but we ended up the only Hibs on crammed subway. We were treated to the predictable caveman songs but no real hassle until we walked the gauntlet outside the station. A few badly aimed gobs in our direction to go with the shouts of ‘fenian bastirts’ . I think my sons being so young probably helped avoid a cowardly attack. Sharing a train with that poisonous mob is just not worth the risk but a life lesson for my boys who’d never seen adults so hateful and messed up.

11-08-2019, 11:04 AM
Midday train has just left Waverley. Fair few Hibs fans and the usual east coast zombies as well. Enjoying a bottle of Elvis Juice, couple of cans to go then a pint before the subway.

Hope over expectation today, if we can keep it tight early doors I think we can nick something.

11-08-2019, 11:07 AM
I took my sons through by train then subway a few years ago - assuming we’d be in a throng of hibees all the way to Ibrox. I got that wrong. Plenty green and white on train to Queen Street but we ended up the only Hibs on crammed subway. We were treated to the predictable caveman songs but no real hassle until we walked the gauntlet outside the station. A few badly aimed gobs in our direction to go with the shouts of ‘fenian bastirts’ . I think my sons being so young probably helped avoid a cowardly attack. Sharing a train with that poisonous mob is just not worth the risk but a life lesson for my boys who’d never seen adults so hateful and messed up.

There’s 900 hibs fans to 50000 orcs. Hide your colours and you will be fine

11-08-2019, 11:13 AM
Car park is open. Just met my first ever decent steward as well. It's a sign, we are pumping this lot.

11-08-2019, 11:14 AM
It's open before that. We head through for around 12.15 and it's open then and cars are already in there.

You're right enough. It was open at noon.

11-08-2019, 11:15 AM
Wtf do people do at Ibrox for 3 hours?!

madhibby
11-08-2019, 11:16 AM

Head to the pubs on Paisley Road West- find a Sash bash as the Huns fans describe it?

11-08-2019, 11:17 AM

Observe the primitive wildlife?

11-08-2019, 11:22 AM
What’s the weather like in Glasgow? Torrential rain in Edinburgh. Rumours of a pitch inspection at ibrox. Can anyone confirm?

11-08-2019, 11:23 AM
What’s the weather like in Glasgow? Torrential rain in Edinburgh. Rumours of a pitch inspection at ibrox. Can anyone confirm?

I can confirm it’s raining in Glasgow and the game will go ahead.

11-08-2019, 11:23 AM

I can confirm it's dry in Polmont.

11-08-2019, 12:17 PM
Can confirm it’s dry in the boozer

11-08-2019, 12:28 PM
Head to the pubs on Paisley Road West- find a Sash bash as the Huns fans describe it?

Which would be the best boozer for a rendtion of the song from T2?

I fancy a wee sing-song

🍑

11-08-2019, 12:41 PM
Hun car forced its way into the Hibs car park.

DTS
11-08-2019, 12:43 PM
It’s raining but not heavy at ibrox

badabing67
11-08-2019, 12:45 PM

I think they requested punters turn up early for this one they are introducing their new ticketing system today its incase there are issues with the system

11-08-2019, 01:06 PM

Have a bevvy in the car.

11-08-2019, 01:40 PM
Have a bevvy in the car.

This sounds like the most depressing thing in history