View Full Version : Hearts pitch after festival concert

timewilltell
06-08-2019, 10:05 PM
Tyncastle pitch takes a hammering after festival concert....

https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/7ef181e0-5ee5-4379-9e65-3f5bf3cef073

timewilltell
06-08-2019, 10:09 PM
[QUOTE=timewilltell;5874574]Tyncastle pitch takes a hammering after festival concert....

Now with link...

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/hearts-working-to-repair-tynecastle-pitch-after-edinburgh-festival-concert-1-4977973

06-08-2019, 10:14 PM
That'll be an end to their free flowing football

06-08-2019, 10:28 PM
They only use the grass for standing on so it won't affect their style of play.

06-08-2019, 10:29 PM
Its the central third so no issue to Hearts as the ball never lands there

06-08-2019, 10:41 PM
All the huge teams play on stubble fields.

06-08-2019, 10:57 PM
Its the central third so no issue to Hearts as the ball never lands there

My thoughts exactly.

06-08-2019, 11:00 PM
Tyncastle pitch takes a hammering after festival concert....

https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/7ef181e0-5ee5-4379-9e65-3f5bf3cef073

Seems a bit of an own goal - spend a million on a new hybrid pitch then do this to it.

06-08-2019, 11:11 PM
Maroon blood doesn’t show on the cow patch.

Did Budge get a standing ovation for the use of her stadium free of charge?

06-08-2019, 11:18 PM
If this is what is called culture at tynecastle then its going to cost them.

I they did this for nothing then they should have looked into getting the proper protection to the pitch,

But maybe this is the way they like to play really, it suits their route one stuff to the T and wipes out the midfield all to gether.

If they did take payment for it then again it will not be worth what they are having to put out on it if they are to correct their damage to it.

Either way its nothing to do with us so lets not worry about them....

Turnbullsmate
06-08-2019, 11:23 PM
See !! That's where having 400,000 aficionados of the finer things in life gets you . S**mbos just love Bach, Bartok, Pachelbel so it's a worthwhile sacrifice. A wee bit turf for some classical ennui. Did they see the fireworks ? given the view of the castle from their privileged positions, i wonder.

07-08-2019, 06:15 AM
Maroon blood doesn’t show on the cow patch.

Did Budge get a standing ovation for the use of her stadium free of charge?

Both Leeann and Ron have been in touch to ask Budge’s advice about preparing a pitch for the new season. They are in awe, apparently.

07-08-2019, 06:41 AM
This photo was taken on Saturday when all the boards had just been cleared away. It's nowhere near as bad now. Still doesn't look great though :greengrin

Cataplana
07-08-2019, 09:06 AM
See !! That's where having 400,000 aficionados of the finer things in life gets you . S**mbos just love Bach, Bartok, Pachelbel so it's a worthwhile sacrifice. A wee bit turf for some classical ennui. Did they see the fireworks ? given the view of the castle from their privileged positions, i wonder.

Paschendale, surely?

Too soon?

07-08-2019, 09:33 AM
It's all those classical music hooligans. Illegal orchestra raves like this should be banned. Bet they were all off their faces on Pimm's too.

07-08-2019, 10:10 AM
It's all those classical music hooligans. Illegal orchestra raves like this should be banned. Bet they were all off their faces on Pimm's too.

Is Lee Wallace ok?

07-08-2019, 10:58 AM
It's not just ready for Scottish Premiership level football, but 'elite' football according to the ever-pompous yams:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/49255080

There's also mention at the end of a new role of 'loans manager' at the PBS for Gary Naysmith. The fact it mentions that Hearts only have ONE player on loan makes this sound like a rather cushy number! Surely this can't be a full-time position?!

07-08-2019, 11:02 AM
It's not just ready for Scottish Premiership level football, but 'elite' football according to the ever-pompous yams:

There's also mention at the end of a new role of 'loans manager' at the PBS for Gary Naysmith. The fact it mentions that Hearts only have ONE player on loan makes this sound like a rather cushy number! Surely this can't be a full-time position?!

Pompous is a much more apt description than Famous for them.

Budge is football’s Hyacinth Bucket.

07-08-2019, 11:08 AM

2 days a week apparently.

07-08-2019, 11:10 AM
Pompous is a much more apt description than Famous for them.

Budge is football’s Hyacinth Bucket.

Reminds you of that pretentious kid at school. Are the Yams not embarrassed by these statements?

Turnbullsmate
07-08-2019, 11:14 AM
Paschendale, surely?

Too soon?

That was a pagger in WW1 Cat :wink:

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,.......(John McCrae)

Ironically referencing poppies , surprised the Sc*m, being so cultured an aw' that, hav'nae added it to their songbook given their predilection for thieving poppies. Mind you the mention of "crosses" would be anathema to most of them :rolleyes:

07-08-2019, 11:16 AM
Is Lee Wallace ok?

I think someone addressed earlier on the thread that the grass is in much better condition than when the concert finished.

McSwanky
07-08-2019, 11:52 AM
I think someone addressed earlier on the thread that the grass is in much better condition than when the concert finished.

:not worth:top marks

07-08-2019, 12:07 PM
2 days a week apparently.

One day to make his travel arrangements and the other day to make a video of the one player on his phone to show his boss. Money well spent I'd say. Get another two players out on loan and Gary will probably needs a loans assistant to help with the workload.

07-08-2019, 12:15 PM
This photo was taken on Saturday when all the boards had just been cleared away. It's nowhere near as bad now. Still doesn't look great though :greengrin

Exactly - was hardly going to look like lush green grass consistently across the pitch after that :agree:

Then again, it didn't look that beforehand either!

Cataplana
07-08-2019, 12:24 PM
If they are self sufficient, why do they need a loan, far less a dedicated loan manager? DD situation not as good as they are making out.

Who will he go to first? It'll have to be somebody like Wonga as their credit score is so low.

gillythehibby
07-08-2019, 12:44 PM
Thats the best that pitch has looked for years. Will suit them down to the ground. 😁

Prof. Shaggy
07-08-2019, 04:06 PM

Both Bartok and Bach loved their high Bs.

Don't know about Pachelbel though. I think he was a bit of a D man.

07-08-2019, 04:12 PM
One day to make his travel arrangements and the other day to make a video of the one player on his phone to show his boss. Money well spent I'd say. Get another two players out on loan and Gary will probably needs a loans assistant to help with the workload.

Well if he’s the Loan (A)rranger he’ll probably hire Tonto.

leithsansiro
07-08-2019, 05:44 PM
Pitch will be fine by the weekend. Grass is deceptive. It can look rubbish one day and all it needs is a bit of water and a bit of sun to repair itself. It’ll be fine, unlike Hearts footballing skills.

07-08-2019, 06:33 PM

30 hours a week, oversee outgoing loans

07-08-2019, 08:00 PM
Nothing to see here. Just a wee bit discoloured. Will play perfectly fine

Saturday Boy
07-08-2019, 08:10 PM
Both Bartok and Bach loved their high Bs.

Don't know about Pachelbel though. I think he was a bit of a D man.

Bit of a loose cannon though

Gloucester Hibs
07-08-2019, 08:11 PM

Appears to be made of some form of Velcro

07-08-2019, 08:17 PM
Bit of a loose cannon though

You've got some pair of Chaconnes coming out with that pun......

Wee Effen Bee
07-08-2019, 08:24 PM
Appears to be made of some form of Velcro

What a rip-off!

Callum7
07-08-2019, 09:19 PM

When was that taken?

07-08-2019, 09:29 PM
What’s surprises me is that they are surprised that it’s wrecked the pitch!!

What did they expect?! When you see a temporary flooring and stage being lifted, the grass/ground underneath is always left in a mess.

08-08-2019, 11:18 AM

Yeah. Looks purely aesthetic to me..... :whistle::wtf:

08-08-2019, 12:02 PM
Tony Mowbray and Mark Venus
Craig Levein's a ****ing pianist.

Alan62
08-08-2019, 04:53 PM
I am utterly bewildered by the decision to allow the Festival concert to take place with an audience sitting on the pitch. They spent around £1 million to create that pitch. Surely any sensible organisation would not take any risks with an asset of that value? Oh, wait ...

08-08-2019, 04:57 PM
I am utterly bewildered by the decision to allow the Festival concert to take place with an audience sitting on the pitch. They spent around £1 million to create that pitch. Surely any sensible organisation would not take any risks with an asset of that value? Oh, wait ...

I've said it before but left to their own devices they are the most cack-handed club in the country. Roll on fan-ownership and watching their fans trying to run them.

08-08-2019, 05:07 PM
I've said it before but left to their own devices they are the most cack-handed club in the country. Roll on fan-ownership and watching their fans trying to run them.

To be fair, even though their fans are all total fuds, do you think even they could do a worse job running the club than Vlad or a worse job building a stand like Queen Ann.
Actually when I see them still praise Vlad and give QA cash all the time maybe they can. Bring it on, Muppets!

08-08-2019, 05:45 PM
To be fair, even though their fans are all total fuds, do you think even they could do a worse job running the club than Vlad or a worse job building a stand like Queen Ann.
Actually when I see them still praise Vlad and give QA cash all the time maybe they can. Bring it on, Muppets!

They'll hire someone in but they'll all expect to have to say - and if things don't go well they'll get ugly quick as a flash.

08-08-2019, 05:48 PM
They'll hire someone in but they'll all expect to have to say - and if things don't go well they'll get ugly quick as a flash.

UglIER

08-08-2019, 05:52 PM
The whole place is an absolute hole anyway. Dingy, grotty colour and as cheap and tacky looking as it comes. Truly boggin!

08-08-2019, 06:18 PM
At least it will give the Sportscene pundits something to talk about as there won't be anything happening on the pitch.

08-08-2019, 06:45 PM
What a rip-off!

Actually cant believe i’ve never heard that. Laughed out loud.

08-08-2019, 07:59 PM
The Fringe show on there, A War of Two Halves, is £24 full price. That must be one of the highest prices of any show on the Fringe?

08-08-2019, 09:14 PM
The Fringe show on there, A War of Two Halves, is £24 full price. That must be one of the highest prices of any show on the Fringe?

Honestly are they trying to drive people away. Should be a fiver and kids go free. No way am I taking mine at that price what with the cost of the pies and juices on top. I have been a ST holder for 3 millenia and this is hiw they treat me. Board are a disgrace. Fans Reps should be doing sonething about this outrage... oops wrong thread

10-08-2019, 01:54 PM
ive Just put the hearts game on tv and the pitch is in a right state, almost half the pitch looks completely bare.

10-08-2019, 06:07 PM
ive Just put the hearts game on tv and the pitch is in a right state, almost half the pitch looks completely bare.

Didn't realise that it was on Alba. Doesn't look great.

10-08-2019, 06:22 PM
Didn't realise that it was on Alba. Doesn't look great.

Bit of an understatement that!

It looks bloody awful.

at last 61
10-08-2019, 06:29 PM
Bit of an understatement that!

It looks bloody awful.

What a disgrace especially at the start of the season Muppets 😁

10-08-2019, 06:30 PM
Hearts look truly awful.

10-08-2019, 06:50 PM
The whole pitch was covered for the concert, so why does half the pitch... and the opposite goalmouth... look brand new compared to the tattie field bit? Have they thrown more money at the pitch?

10-08-2019, 07:00 PM
Didn't realise that Ross County missed a penalty. Ex Hibby as well.

10-08-2019, 07:03 PM
The whole pitch was covered for the concert, so why does half the pitch... and the opposite goalmouth... look brand new compared to the tattie field bit? Have they thrown more money at the pitch?

Was the stage not at the halfway line? Wouldn’t have been anyone behind that so one half would be gubbed and the other wouldn’t?

Greenfly
10-08-2019, 07:09 PM
All they need to make the grass grow back is put a pile of sh*te on it ... oh, sorry - forgot that's what they did at 3 o'clock today.

10-08-2019, 07:11 PM
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

10-08-2019, 07:12 PM
Watching Leven post match on Alba, baseball cap and T shirt, reminds me of Tony Pulis

10-08-2019, 07:16 PM
Michael Stewart really going for Levein on Twitter just now :greengrin

10-08-2019, 07:17 PM
Was the stage not at the halfway line? Wouldn’t have been anyone behind that so one half would be gubbed and the other wouldn’t?

You might be right. I think I'm getting the perspective wrong.

https://www.scotsman.com/arts-and-culture/edinburgh-festivals/music-review-la-philharmonic-edinburgh-festival-opening-event-tynecastle-park-1-4976287

Looking at that image, I'm also not seeing much difference between the state-of-the-art new stand and the pos one opposite :greengrin

10-08-2019, 07:19 PM

Cl poor but bit of a personal agenda there.

10-08-2019, 07:19 PM

What's he saying?

10-08-2019, 07:22 PM
What's he saying?

Levein must stay

10-08-2019, 07:23 PM
What's he saying?

“As for Hearts, I’m sorry but that simply isn’t good enough. It’s Groundhog Day yet again.

The definition of madness is to continually try the same thing and expect a different outcome.

It’s clear change is needed otherwise the bright future will never materialise”

“28th April 19
“I need four players and they need to be much better than we have”

Signs 5 players

10th August 19
“Looking to do two or three bits of business before the window closes”

Youngsters opportunities limited...”

“East Fife v Hearts 7-6 on penalties
“We’ll be fine, the league is different”

Hearts v Ross County 0-0
“We’ll get better, in fact we’ll get much much better”

Success is always JUST round the corner.”

“6th July 2017 - Loic Damour signs for Cardiff

28th Aug 2017 - Craig Levein becomes Hearts manager

10th Aug 2019 - “I’ve like Damour for a while and actually I tried to sign Loic before but couldn’t compete with Cardiff on the wages””

“August 2017 - “Judge me after 2 transfer windows”

August 2019 (4 windows later)
“We’ll get better soon”

10-08-2019, 07:28 PM
“As for Hearts, I’m sorry but that simply isn’t good enough. It’s Groundhog Day yet again.

The definition of madness is to continually try the same thing and expect a different outcome.

“28th April 19

Signs 5 players

10th August 19

Hearts v Ross County 0-0

10th Aug 2019 - “I’ve like Damour for a while and actually I tried to sign Loic before but couldn’t compete with Cardiff on the wages””

“We’ll get better soon”

I like Mike Stewart.

10-08-2019, 07:31 PM
I like Mike Stewart.
One roaster saying Michael Stewart should watch his lip as Levein could batter him. What a bunch of ****ing weirdos.

1875Sean
10-08-2019, 07:33 PM
Seen the last 5 mins on bbc Alba, the pitch is in some state! A Jambo mate said the club never got paid for hosting the fringe show that mucked it up

10-08-2019, 07:36 PM
Cl poor but bit of a personal agenda there.

Agenda or not, there's no denying that what he says hits home base.

I never paid much attention to levein until he got the Scotland gig. What I've seen/read since doesn't endear me to the arrogant prick, so crack on Michael :aok:

10-08-2019, 07:47 PM
Seen the last 5 mins on bbc Alba, the pitch is in some state! A Jambo mate said the club never got paid for hosting the fringe show that mucked it up

They offered the stadium for free. Vanity project.

CloudSquall
10-08-2019, 07:52 PM
https://twitter.com/mstewart_23/status/1160223933158891522/photo/1

How much was that stand again? :greengrin

StevesFamau5
10-08-2019, 08:18 PM
God damn this guy is funhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190810/a5e5594bba53f2d6b6c3f572b048473b.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

10-08-2019, 08:20 PM
Really fearing the worst now that Levein will be told to go this week.
Always the chance they will recruit badly again though.

10-08-2019, 08:26 PM
They are going to throw more money at players, they still haven’t finished their mega stand and their million pound playing surface is goosed.

All very pleasing

10-08-2019, 08:27 PM
Pitch looked awful today but not as bad as Hearts - they were awful. Support is turning on them big time, the lad Washington looks Rowan Vine-esque, their keeper is an absolute bomb scare, and they are weak in the middle of the park. Those that were worried about their new Cardiff signing - fear not - all he did was sit and spray passes side to side and looked average at best. Halkett is a decent player, their full back White was their MotM........despite being poor second half. County could have scored 4 today with more composure. Best thing today was a one man 'Levein Out' protest :faf:

For the derby we must target Berra and play two up top. They are all over the place at the back and Berra looks like he is playing on ice. They've moved Clare central and he's like a little boy lost. Fontaine was coasting today, played well - wee mention for Laidlaw too, looked very assured and pulled off a couple of impressive saves. Quick off his line too. Was delighted for him :aok:

10-08-2019, 08:30 PM

They didn't. Granny Annie gave them the run of the pkace for nothing in an attempt to ingratiate herself with the real Edinburgh Establishment who look down their noses at her kins

10-08-2019, 08:35 PM

“28th April 19

Signs 5 players

10th August 19

Hearts v Ross County 0-0

“We’ll get better soon”
So going for 4 but get 5. On the Radio today Whelan is still a possibility with another one after that.

Hearts fans reckon a GK on loan next week from Man Utd and that's after giving Doyle a contract extension.

10-08-2019, 08:41 PM
They didn't. Granny Annie gave them the run of the pkace for nothing in an attempt to ingratiate herself with the real Edinburgh Establishment who look down their noses at her kins

Not so sure about that - the concert was free but they would have been paid a fee. One thing I noticed today though, the stadium (Main Stand) is still very much under construction and above the hospitality it looks like a builders yard :greengrin No wonder Budge is staying on, the place is a mess. Capped off by the fact they were moaning about a food stall that was set up outside Tynecastle school today (all legitimate, no money to them). Not a good day for the Jambos :greengrin

10-08-2019, 08:52 PM
Big team 🤣

10-08-2019, 08:55 PM
Not so sure about that - the concert was free but they would have been paid a fee. One thing I noticed today though, the stadium (Main Stand) is still very much under construction and above the hospitality it looks like a builders yard :greengrin No wonder Budge is staying on, the place is a mess. Capped off by the fact they were moaning about a food stall that was set up outside Tynecastle school today (all legitimate, no money to them). Not a good day for the Jambos :greengrin

I listened to sportsound today, before the game Levein said they did it for the “prestige”. Said it was a free concert, and they didn’t receive a rent.

10-08-2019, 09:08 PM

I enjoy your posts but have to ask. How come you know and notice so much about them?

Togs91
10-08-2019, 09:09 PM

Someone tell him to shut it, CL MUST STAY

10-08-2019, 09:10 PM
I enjoy your posts but have to ask. How come you know and notice so much about them?

Work at both clubs on many occasions Iggy :aok:

10-08-2019, 09:14 PM

...and I enjoy yours too by the way :agree:

10-08-2019, 09:15 PM
Work at both clubs on many occasions Iggy :aok:

OK. Big dry cleaning bill I suppose but keep up the good work. Don’t know if you were the fellah with the Tollcross background, but if so liking the cut of your gib....

10-08-2019, 09:20 PM
OK. Big dry cleaning bill I suppose but keep up the good work. Don’t know if you were the fellah with the Tollcross background, but if so liking the cut of your gib....

..........I still miss Goldbergs and trips to Cowan Tailoring bud - still retain my Y-jumper for posterity :greengrin:aok: actually shed a tear last week when I saw Efes had been bought over :dead:

10-08-2019, 09:24 PM

Read my lips, and if you dont trust them read Grannie Annie's, the Director of the EIF and the event sponsors.

They did not receive any fee.

This event was not happening until the good lady Doctor zBudge offered the TinyCastle free of charge with Anerdeen Standard picking up all orher costs in relation to its staging in one gigantic ego trip that spectacularly back fired and which Potter admitted to live on Sportsound today.

She right royally screwed up.

10-08-2019, 09:25 PM
God damn this guy is funhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190810/a5e5594bba53f2d6b6c3f572b048473b.jpg

Well he got one thing right, they kept it going. They've been p*sh up until today and they kept that going.

10-08-2019, 09:28 PM
Read my lips, and if you dont trust them read Grannie Annie's, the Director of the EIF and the event sponsors.

This event was not happening until the good lady Doctor zBudge offered the TinyCastle free of charge with Anerdeen Standard picking up all orher costs in relation to its staging in one gigantic ego trip that spectacularly back fired and which Potter admitted to live on Sportsound today.

Fair enough mate, knowing Hearts as I do they don't do anything for nothing - but I'll happily stand corrected. In fact, more than happy for them to host many more (free) events as the pitch looked like World of Football today :aok:

10-08-2019, 09:29 PM

Thought he claimed to live in Wellington, NZ? Jeezo that is s hell of a commute to watch Potters Pi$h or has he let his mask slip.

10-08-2019, 09:32 PM
Which one of you is this 😂😂

jambomjm74

Posted 3 hours ago
£1m tattie field, half covered in sand

100k on cctv

revolving door recruitment

root 1 hoofball

zero goals in the team

old crocks retirement home

zero commitment as players are so fragile

a totally eratic goal keeper

a club where the Dof is the manager and unsackable despite results and performance and grotesque levels of underperformance

cannot remember our last league win ...

sorry didn’t know where to post ... as so many issues.

Coming to the conclusion that we are indeed “in the wrong hands”...

10-08-2019, 09:33 PM
..........I still miss Goldbergs and trips to Cowan Tailoring bud - still retain my Y-jumper for posterity :greengrin:aok: actually shed a tear last week when I saw Efes had been bought over :dead:

St Pats and St Tams man you see and had an auld aunt who lived on Brougham Street so Tollcross holds a bit of my heart. Probably about 20%...:wink:

10-08-2019, 09:34 PM
Which one of you is this 😂😂

jambomjm74

Posted 3 hours ago
£1m tattie field, half covered in sand

100k on cctv

revolving door recruitment

root 1 hoofball

zero goals in the team

old crocks retirement home

zero commitment as players are so fragile

a totally eratic goal keeper

a club where the Dof is the manager and unsackable despite results and performance and grotesque levels of underperformance

cannot remember our last league win ...

sorry didn’t know where to post ... as so many issues.

Coming to the conclusion that we are indeed “in the wrong hands”...

All valid points though 👌

StevesFamau5
10-08-2019, 09:35 PM
Thought he claimed to live in Wellington, NZ? Jeezo that is s hell of a commute to watch Potters Pi$h or has he let his mask slip.

Kiwi Doug is a fraud..... Pass it one haha

10-08-2019, 09:35 PM

Reading your lips might be easier than reading the spelling Libby old son.

10-08-2019, 09:36 PM
St Pats and St Tams man you see and had an auld aunt who lived on Brougham Street so Tollcross holds a bit of my heart. Probably about 20%...:wink:

Turkish Doner Inn, Brougham Street, ask for Hagar...........he never disappoints :greengrin:aok: great place to grow up and earn your buttons in life :aok:

10-08-2019, 09:41 PM
They are going to throw more money at players, they still haven’t finished their mega stand and their million pound playing surface is goosed.

All very pleasing

If you had 8000 people chucking money at you unquestioningly, wouldn't you be tempted to go and spend it willy nilly? It's hard not to p*ss it up the wall when you know it'll keep getting replenished. Fair play to the Hearts fan though for keeping the faith.

Anyone know how much they've put in compared to how much Budge has put in?

10-08-2019, 09:42 PM
Turkish Doner Inn, Brougham Place, ask for Hagar...........he never disappoints :greengrin:aok: great place to grow up and earn your buttons in life :aok:

Earned mine in the Canongate then mainline Easter Road from the age of six! Probably in my late 20s before I seen a Kebab shop like. Mind you, this was all in black and white.

10-08-2019, 09:49 PM
There is confusion on fudback whether they got £0, £100k, £200k or £250k for the concert. What did the muppets get?

10-08-2019, 09:49 PM
Earned mine in the Canongate then mainline Easter Road from the age of six! Probably in my late 20s before I seen a Kebab shop like. Mind you, this was all in black and white.

Best (witnessed) bar fight was in the White Horse :greengrin no amount of punches thrown or tables upturned managed to dislodge the KP nut stand or the peg letter board drink 'menu'. The only pub in Edinburgh where if you asked for a toastie they thought you were 'bohemian' :greengrin Canongate has lost it's soul (sadly).

10-08-2019, 09:51 PM
There is confusion on fudback whether they got £0, £100k, £200k or £250k for the concert. What did the muppets get?

Surely they're not just making things up?

10-08-2019, 09:51 PM

The square root of heehaw...

10-08-2019, 09:52 PM
They got a pound for every winners medal Craigy boy has won

10-08-2019, 09:53 PM
Best (witnessed) bar fight was in the White Horse :greengrin no amount of punches thrown or tables upturned managed to dislodge the KP nut stand or the peg letter board drink 'menu'. The only pub in Edinburgh where if you asked for a toastie they thought you were 'bohemian' :greengrin Canongate has lost it's soul (sadly).

Brought up above it in early life. No 268. It was run by a fellah called Doonan. Hijacked the thread but I used to be able to see the Queen ride past from my seat in the sink.

10-08-2019, 09:57 PM
Brought up above it in early life. No 268. It was run by a fellah called Doonan. Hijacked the thread but I used to be able to see the Queen ride past from my seat in the sink.

The perfect hijack - bringing a tear to my eye Iggy :aok: did you go to the primary school - lovely building :agree: love the Canongate. Whiteford House - best fat laden fry up in Edinburgh back in the day :aok:

10-08-2019, 10:04 PM
The concert was last Friday, wonder why they waited until the Monday to dismantle everything.

10-08-2019, 10:11 PM
The perfect hijack - bringing a tear to my eye Iggy :aok: did you go to the primary school - lovely building :agree: love the Canongate. Whiteford House - best fat laden fry up in Edinburgh back in the day :aok:

Primaried at St Ann’s in the Cowgate (now a Community library I think) next door to our glorious birthplace and place of worship then we moved up to St Pats on Drummond St.
Now flats. Best days of my puff.

Loved Whitefoord House and the Jamie Balfour railings which my older cousin had me terrified of as he apparently came to life at night. Selby Wrights where the other crowd of “non papes” hung out, Croan Bees fishmongers, Chessels Court for a side up, St Mary’s St Halls first communion and cubs, Caseys sweetie shop.......oh man.

10-08-2019, 10:18 PM
The concert was last Friday, wonder why they waited until the Monday to dismantle everything.

Hearts try anything to gain advantage with their pitch. Even though it's hybrid, Levein instructed it not to be cut when they played Celtic last season in their home opener. Much to the chagrin of Rodgers. Levein is anti-football and does anything to prevent the game being played the way it should be - and the SFA gave this dud a 5 year contract :grr: Hearts fans moan about the style of football, they only need to look at Levein and his ploys to prevent it being played the right way. He's a dinosaur manager. The Hibs in me says 'stay', the football purist in me says people like him hamper the game here and it's why we are so poor in European terms. Footballers can't play properly using his edict. The bonus for us is that youth players considering Hearts or Hibs will choose Hibs (ultimately). We are developing youth the way it should be :agree:

10-08-2019, 10:45 PM
If you had 8000 people chucking money at you unquestioningly, wouldn't you be tempted to go and spend it willy nilly? It's hard not to p*ss it up the wall when you know it'll keep getting replenished. Fair play to the Hearts fan though for keeping the faith.

No but I hope Ron in his discovery sessions has been observing how not to go about things.

10-08-2019, 10:52 PM

Kiwidog is one of the biggest losers on Kickback. I am sure he was one of them that admitted he had a wee cry on 21st May 2016 such was and is his obsession with us 😂😂😂

10-08-2019, 11:01 PM
Ann Budge’s priority over the close season has been:-

1. Edinburgh Festival launch
2. Moving directors exit in main stand away from mob
3. Putting in escalators and changing rooms in the new stand.

I said a week or so ago that the Edinburgh Festival event was 100% ego trip by Budge. It’s her club and she decides everything on her terms. That won’t change for a long time while she has FOH in her back pocket.

I am Glad it has come out today to confirm Hearts didn’t make a penny from the event. In fact they lost money and now have remediation damage to the pitch. For Ann ensuring the Ballet and the Opera were accommodated was far more important than 3 points today.

11-08-2019, 05:45 AM

I find it all really really funny.

The gift that keeps on giving!

11-08-2019, 07:29 AM
Any more pictures from yesterday?

KdyHby
11-08-2019, 07:29 AM
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/nostalgia-raith-rovers-friendly-ends-with-bleeding-hearts-1-4980132

11-08-2019, 08:53 AM
Any more pictures from yesterday?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190811/995e46d63d3d62630290cbdf2278123d.jpg

Lookin’ good [emoji23][emoji23]

11-08-2019, 08:54 AM
Looks like Budge should’ve asked Leeann for some advice.

11-08-2019, 10:17 AM
Looks like Budge should’ve asked Leeann for some advice.

She did and Leeann said "Yes I think you should use the pitch for the concert and by the way, don't sack Levein".

11-08-2019, 10:17 AM
Ann Budge’s priority over the close season has been:-

1. Edinburgh Festival launch
2. Moving directors exit in main stand away from mob
3. Putting in escalators and changing rooms in the new stand.

I said a week or so ago that the Edinburgh Festival event was 100% ego trip by Budge. It’s her club and she decides everything on her terms. That won’t change for a long time while she has FOH in her back pocket.

I am Glad it has come out today to confirm Hearts didn’t make a penny from the event. In fact they lost money and now have remediation damage to the pitch. For Ann ensuring the Ballet and the Opera were accommodated was far more important than 3 points today.

Flip side - as a business woman (that didn’t stop the seating fiasco and fiscal discipline on the stand - unlike her to those that worked with her atNewell & Budge & Sopra) ...

Who was there? What investment could be attracted off the back of this ?
The performance was not the end game I suspect.

11-08-2019, 10:20 AM
Desperately trying hard to be the darlings of the Edinburgh festival and make as usual a pigs ear of it.

The clown factory that just keeps giving.

:not worth

11-08-2019, 10:27 AM
Flip side - as a business woman (that didn’t stop the seating fiasco and fiscal discipline on the stand - unlike her to those that worked with her atNewell & Budge & Sopra) ...

Who was there? What investment could be attracted off the back of this ?
The performance was not the end game I suspect.

Or who was there that she can build relationships with? Already thinking about what she does after she hands her shares over. Even if she does stay as chairperson she'll still have more time on her hands.

If she stays on, there will be a large element who want her out because of her unwillingness to get rid of Levein. They will become very vocal once they have fan ownership, particularly if Levein is still around.

11-08-2019, 10:58 AM
Or who was there that she can build relationships with? Already thinking about what she does after she hands her shares over. Even if she does stay as chairperson she'll still have more time on her hands.

If she stays on, there will be a large element who want her out because of her unwillingness to get rid of Levein. They will become very vocal once they have fan ownership, particularly if Levein is still around.

I think they is already unrest and yesterdays attendance showed that.

Some staunch yam associates reckon another 2 or 3 more players will come in with Whelan being one and another striker being looked at.

Once they gel teams will struggle to cope with their depth of squad.

You honestly cannot make this up

11-08-2019, 11:04 AM
I think they is already unrest and yesterdays attendance showed that....

Just noticed that.

Roughly one thousand less than there was at Easter Road last week.

11-08-2019, 11:19 AM

Some staunch yam associates reckon another 2 or 3 more players will come in with Whelan being one and another striker being looked at.

I seem to recall them all predicting 6 or 7-0 wins in the cup v us after they beat Motherwell away, with the Greek 'Ballack', Isma 'the Portuguese Prolifico' Goncalves - oh and Malaury 'bend it like Beckham' Martin...............that worked out well two weeks later in the cup :greengrin:aok:

One thing about Hearts fans is their overwhelming sense of entitlement and their delusions of grandeur in the Scottish game - they'll never change. They can't ever do humility (or realism) bud. They're stuck in 1986.....oh and that worked out well too :greengrin

11-08-2019, 11:25 AM
I seem to recall them all predicting 6 or 7-0 wins in the cup v us after they beat Motherwell away, with the Greek 'Ballack', Isma 'the Portuguese Prolifico' Goncalves - oh and Malaury 'bend it like Beckham' Martin...............that worked out well two weeks later in the cup :greengrin:aok:

One thing about Hearts fans is their sense overwhelming sense of entitlement and their delusions of grandeur in the Scottish game - they'll never change. They can't ever do humility (or realism) bud. They're stuck in 1986.....oh and that worked out well too :greengrin

Very true! They actually struggle to come to terms with this ‘level playing field’ and still think and are, throwing cash at players in an effort to get ahead of us. Potter doesn’t care about anything else. This, imho, is their biggest downfall!

11-08-2019, 11:33 AM

A goalkeeper on loan
Whelan
A.N Other

That's the talk from the Jambos

Willis1875
11-08-2019, 11:35 AM
A goalkeeper on loan
Whelan
A.N Other

Won't be surprised to see them chuck money at Laugherty now

11-08-2019, 11:36 AM
Desperately trying hard to be the darlings of the Edinburgh festival and make as usual a pigs ear of it.

The clown factory that just keeps giving.

:not worth

To be fair to them , the centre section of the pitch is very rarely used, so you can understand why they were not too concerned about destroying it .......

11-08-2019, 11:37 AM
A goalkeeper on loan
Whelan
A.N Other

A keeper??? They’ve just extended the boy Doyles contract?

Gonnae be some size of first team squad! (Again)

11-08-2019, 11:38 AM
Won't be surprised to see them chuck money at Laugherty now

Either would I, it's another very expensive window

crash
11-08-2019, 12:11 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190811/995e46d63d3d62630290cbdf2278123d.jpg

Lookin’ good [emoji23][emoji23]

Massive bare patches, Hybrid should be present, that's not a proper Hybrid pitch, looks like only the goal area has the synthetic added.
They must be in the running for the Festival Comedy Award again this year.

11-08-2019, 12:14 PM
how to throw away a 1million investment, :thumbsup:
thankyou hertz:thumbsup:
1 million quid firra patchwork pith:thumbsup:

Killies pitch last year looked in better chip than that.

11-08-2019, 12:25 PM
If they could just work a few black lines into it they've got the makings of a very poor tartan in there somewhere

11-08-2019, 01:00 PM
Massive bare patches, Hybrid should be present, that's not a proper Hybrid pitch, looks like only the goal area has the synthetic added.
They must be in the running for the Festival Comedy Award again this year.

The hybrid element is really low, about 10%...it really only helps the natural grass bind and root better. It’s not going to do anything to prevent that sort of damage, nor help repair it!

What a mess to make of your pitch right at the start of the season when it should be at its best and prepared for a long hard season of hoof ball...