View Full Version : Match Updates 2019-20 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59

25-06-2020, 11:13 PM
Remember John Peel all maudlin about Liverpool never going to win any European Cups or League titles again. Glad the misery guts has had his team win 2 European Cups and a League Title now since his demise.

Well done Liverpool.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

26-06-2020, 12:06 AM
Watched Trent Alexander Arnold being interviewed in the post match show and they had sub titles for the American viewers :faf:

26-06-2020, 06:10 AM
:faf: Give me peace, it's called football rivalry.

I'm not aware of any set of football fans in the world who wouldn't feel bitter about their biggest rivals winning a title for the first time in 30 years.

There are differing levels of bitterness though. :greengrin

26-06-2020, 06:50 AM
Just reading how Klopp achieved his success at Liverpool on the BBC website, meticulous planning is part of it but they also have a throw in coach ! any chance we could borrow him for a few weeks ?

26-06-2020, 06:55 AM
Take it Liverpool won the EPL?

26-06-2020, 07:11 AM
Just reading how Klopp achieved his success at Liverpool on the BBC website, meticulous planning is part of it but they also have a throw in coach ! any chance we could borrow him for a few weeks ?

We’d need to replace the whole back room team with throw in coaches to make ours work.

I honestly think I’ve seen us score as the result of a good throw in twice in my time watching Hibs.

26-06-2020, 08:26 AM
King Kenny :faf:

I thought he spoke really well last night. As he said last night "you would have been locked away if, 30 years ago, you said it would be another 30 years before Liverpool win the title". I think the key reason for that is Jurgen Klopp.

One for Man United fans to reflect on! Man United, won loads of competitions largely down to one man, Sir Alex Fergusson. It could take years before they recruit a manager who could win it again for them.

26-06-2020, 08:29 AM
The sky advert trying to find Gary Neville :faf:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6D73jqLNhuc

#WheresGary (https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=%23WheresGary)

26-06-2020, 04:38 PM
Congratulations to Liverpool. :aok:

I'd rather it hadn't happened but I am genuinely pleased for you. :aok:

Enjoy your night.

classy posts mate :aok:

26-06-2020, 05:09 PM
I thought he spoke really well last night. As he said last night "you would have been locked away if, 30 years ago, you said it would be another 30 years before Liverpool win the title". I think the key reason for that is Jurgen Klopp.

One for Man United fans to reflect on! Man United, won loads of competitions largely down to one man, Sir Alex Fergusson. It could take years before they recruit a manager who could win it again for them.Souness messing with the boot room at Anfield deserves some credit for Ferguson's success.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

26-06-2020, 05:35 PM
No but I can remember John Peel wearing a Hibs top .

He used to love it when we played ‘ Teenage Kicks ‘ by the Undertones for the GG that was his favourite all time record

Interesting fact: called his children Dalglish, Shankly and Anfield

Couldnae have been a Hibby ?

wpj
26-06-2020, 06:07 PM
Congrats Scouse, long time, best wishes from a Blue

26-06-2020, 07:30 PM
Souness messing with the boot room at Anfield deserves some credit for Ferguson's success.

I disagree, the boot room couldn’t go on forever and neither could Liverpool’s domination. Was always going to happen.

26-06-2020, 07:31 PM
Congrats Scouse, long time, best wishes from a Blue

👍🍻

26-06-2020, 07:33 PM
Congrats Scouse, long time, best wishes from a Blue[emoji106]

Yep, best football team to watch over the last few seasons in England for sure.

Good guys won.

26-06-2020, 07:52 PM
Brentford 1 up v West Brom. I’d like to see them go up somehow, and in their final season at Griffin Park which was a tidy place to watch football.

26-06-2020, 07:54 PM
Brentford 1 up v West Brom. I’d like to see them go up somehow, and in their final season at Griffin Park which was a tidy place to watch football.

Griffin Park is... was... my favourite ground other than ER. A pub on every corner of the ground, perfect. :greengrin

26-06-2020, 08:03 PM
Griffin Park is... was... my favourite ground other than ER. A pub on every corner of the ground, perfect. :greengrin

It’s tremendous. Lot of London Irish about the place too. When I went they had also laid on an ooompah band to entertain the concourse bars pre match. Lively old place and some committed fans in amongst all that London money.

26-06-2020, 08:23 PM
Looks like a few people at Brentford in that stand across from camera in the upper bit. Also few in stand behind benches.

Do they have a limit on how many can be in the ground?

26-06-2020, 10:57 PM
Looks like a few people at Brentford in that stand across from camera in the upper bit. Also few in stand behind benches.

Do they have a limit on how many can be in the ground?

Think it is 300 including both teams.

27-06-2020, 12:57 PM
Villa 0 - 1 Wolves

SJM had only just came on when they lost the goal.

27-06-2020, 01:00 PM
Villa 0 - 1 Wolves

I think they should sell him ASAP.

27-06-2020, 01:01 PM
Villa 0 - 1 Wolves

They should get rid of him ASAP.

Preferably to some really minted club willing to pay £50m

27-06-2020, 01:23 PM
Impressive shower of rain at Preston.

27-06-2020, 01:29 PM
Villa's strikers don't score goals and their keeper is awful. Recipe for disaster.

27-06-2020, 01:43 PM
I disagree, the boot room couldn’t go on forever and neither could Liverpool’s domination. Was always going to happen.Funny coincidence that when tradition was trashed Liverpool hit the skids.

Anyway, congrats. Most entertaining English side this century. Very well deserved. My Scouse chums are well happy.

Garibaldis
27-06-2020, 01:45 PM
Wolves have been brilliant this season.

27-06-2020, 01:46 PM
Huge game coming up for both teams on sky . Leeds v Fulham

27-06-2020, 01:50 PM
Funny coincidence that when tradition was trashed Liverpool hit the skids.

Anyway, congrats. Most entertaining English side this century. Very well deserved. My Scouse chums are well happy.

Yeah just a shame the antics of some so called supporters are spoiling it by acting like total dickheads in Liverpool city centre. Some erse even fires a firework at the Liver building Everton HQ setting fire to the stuff on the balcony along with graffiti on the statue of Dixie Dean😡

27-06-2020, 01:54 PM
Huge game coming up for both teams on sky . Leeds v Fulham

Hopefully better than the Villa game!

Wolves won that in first gear, Villa looked clueless on how to create anything.

27-06-2020, 01:59 PM
Hopefully better than the Villa game!

Wolves won that in first gear, Villa looked clueless on how to create anything.

i watched the preston v cardiff game as the championship holds more interest for me :) only watched the one top flight game man city v burnley

27-06-2020, 02:10 PM
fulham should have been down to 10 after just two mins

1-0 the good guys get in

27-06-2020, 02:21 PM

1-0 the good guys get in

Still plenty of time for Leeds to bottle it :greengrin

27-06-2020, 02:24 PM
Still plenty of time for Leeds to bottle it :greengrin

oh fine i know that :greengrin

boot their erses at HT bielsa

27-06-2020, 02:47 PM
Werder Bremen 4 v 0 Koln

27-06-2020, 02:51 PM
Werder Bremen 4 v 0 Koln

Squeezing into the play off place if I’m reading it right, Fortuna 2-0 down at our old chums Union.

27-06-2020, 03:06 PM

Just seen the challenge (edit: attack) - should have been a straight red.

27-06-2020, 03:09 PM
Werder Bremen 4 v 0 Koln

6-1 now.

27-06-2020, 03:10 PM

i had a flashback of ian black on sparky at hampden

SideBurns
27-06-2020, 03:16 PM
Quite like the cardboard cutout crowd at Elland Road - looks cartoonish, reminds me of reading Roy of the Rovers as a laddie 😁

27-06-2020, 03:19 PM
i was wanting alioski taken back off again, then he scores 😁 2-0 the good guys

27-06-2020, 03:31 PM
This has been the best game I’ve watched since the re-start.

27-06-2020, 03:33 PM
absolute sublime pass from pablo 3-0 the good guys

i remember leeds being 3-0 up against cardiff earlier in the season and mucking it up to finish 3-3...no repeat please

27-06-2020, 03:37 PM
This has been the best game I’ve watched since the re-start.

Agreed this and the Chelsea v City 2nd half midweek...the rest has been pretty awful

wpj
27-06-2020, 04:28 PM
I would love to see Norwich beat Man Utd.

27-06-2020, 04:29 PM
Completely forgot Krul had a long spell at Falkirk.

27-06-2020, 04:33 PM
Pleased to see Leeds back on form

27-06-2020, 05:20 PM
Yeah just a shame the antics of some so called supporters are spoiling it by acting like total dickheads in Liverpool city centre. Some erse even fires a firework at the Liver building Everton HQ setting fire to the stuff on the balcony along with graffiti on the statue of Dixie Dean😡

I like to think we didn't leave such a hideous mess after our cup celebrations. It's a strange way to treat your home city.

Maybe they were from "outta town".

Garibaldis
27-06-2020, 05:23 PM
Norwich v Man Utd game has been awful so far. Not even a shot on target.

27-06-2020, 05:43 PM
I like to think we didn't leave such a hideous mess after our cup celebrations. It's a strange way to treat your home city.

Maybe they were from "outta town".

It doesn’t matter where they are from, they were all representing the Liverpool support, a disgrace.

wpj
27-06-2020, 05:44 PM
I fell asleep during the first half man u ahead, missed it. Shocking game, can only get better.

27-06-2020, 05:48 PM
Norwich v Man Utd game has been awful so far. Not even a shot on target.

This Man Utd team are so average and there is no urgency from them at all.

Garibaldis
27-06-2020, 06:04 PM
Fantastic goal by Cantwell.

wpj
27-06-2020, 06:09 PM
Mon the canaries!

27-06-2020, 06:10 PM
Surely no replay?

27-06-2020, 06:10 PM
Pogba is such an awkward player to play against. Technically brilliant, tall, strong, pacey. Hold off opposition players then a couple of strides and he’s away.

Garibaldis
27-06-2020, 06:13 PM
Pogba is such an awkward player to play against. Technically brilliant, tall, strong, pacey. Hold off opposition players then a couple of strides and he’s away.

Changed the game for them when he came on against Spurs last week, winning the penalty for them.

27-06-2020, 06:15 PM

Yet on another day he is an excellent spectator .

Garibaldis
27-06-2020, 06:16 PM
Max Aarons is a good young player. England spoilt for choice with him, Wan-Bissaka, Trent, Walker and Trippier.

27-06-2020, 06:22 PM

Yeah, I’m not saying he isn’t. All I mean is that player to player he must be bloody difficult.

wpj
27-06-2020, 06:24 PM
6 mins! Extra time and pens im guessing.

27-06-2020, 06:59 PM

Na, I think that is generally media nonsense from dinosaurs like Souness. Pogba is world class, really excellent most of the time. Now he has some real players around him he'll shine.

27-06-2020, 06:59 PM
I'm afraid playing games with no spectators is doing football no favours.

27-06-2020, 07:01 PM

record breaking viewing figures say otherwise.

27-06-2020, 10:03 PM
record breaking viewing figures say otherwise.
People are bored they'll watch any think, even what are no more than training matches.

27-06-2020, 11:09 PM
People are bored they'll watch any think, even what are no more than training matches.

Which makes your point that it isn’t doing football any favours to be incorrect. It’s providing entertainment for football lovers and allowing them to continue to watch on TV whilst also providing revenue from pitch side and stand banners advertisement. Showing no football at all would not do it any favours.

28-06-2020, 10:36 AM

They are more than training matches, Liverpool won a league the other day.

Do you not realise this is a short term solution to a pandemic?

28-06-2020, 10:40 AM

I struggle to watch football not involving Hibs anyway but it's been chronic without fans. Just my opinion though as I know the majority love any football

28-06-2020, 10:42 AM

Better than not being able to watch football at all. Its only temporary.

28-06-2020, 12:26 PM
Can't believe Arsenal have been given a penalty for that!

SJNB Hibby
28-06-2020, 12:29 PM

same old Arsenal, always cheating/lucky

Tomsk
28-06-2020, 12:31 PM

There is contact, but the Arsenal striker's response is so obviously a dive it shouldn't be given. Poor refereeing.

28-06-2020, 12:33 PM
They are more than training matches, Liverpool won a league the other day.

Do you not realise this is a short term solution to a pandemic?
Norwich v Man Utd was chronic, 2 scrambled goals versus only 1 other shot at goal. Sideways & back passing with an occasional sprint down the wing & a failure to cross.
Poor stuff preseason training standard.

28-06-2020, 12:34 PM
Which makes your point that it isn’t doing football any favours to be incorrect. It’s providing entertainment for football lovers and allowing them to continue to watch on TV whilst also providing revenue from pitch side and stand banners advertisement. Showing no football at all would not do it any favours.
I'll accept providing revenue, as for entertainment many will disagree with you big time.

28-06-2020, 12:35 PM
Better than not being able to watch football at all. Its only temporary.
Thank goodness 👏

28-06-2020, 12:49 PM
same old Arsenal, always cheating/lucky

Doesn't really stand up to much scrutiny if you've seen their other games vs SU this season. 3 clear pens denied.

SJNB Hibby
28-06-2020, 01:08 PM
Doesn't really stand up to much scrutiny if you've seen their other games vs SU this season. 3 clear pens denied.

Talking about the last 50+ years...since the dire 71 team that did the double. Fans were thugs

28-06-2020, 01:14 PM
Talking about the last 50+ years...since the dire 71 team that did the double. Fans were thugs

Still doesn't really stand up at all. Lost a CL final to an offside goal, unbeaten run ended with Rooney diving for a penalty, Van Persie red card away at Barcelona etc.

SJNB Hibby
28-06-2020, 01:21 PM
Still doesn't really stand up at all. Lost a CL final to an offside goal, unbeaten run ended with Rooney diving for a penalty, Van Persie red card away at Barcelona etc.

I have an ingrained hatred of the Arse
Reasoned arguments won't work

28-06-2020, 01:32 PM
Gunners keeper looks confident and alert.
He will chuck one in now that I’ve said that.

71 double winning side was full of brilliant footballers by the way. Pat Rice, Frank McLintock, Charlie George, Ray Kennedy, George Armstrong, John Radford........Peter Marinello.

SJNB Hibby
28-06-2020, 01:45 PM
Tierney has played well

SJNB Hibby
28-06-2020, 01:50 PM
Yes!!!!

28-06-2020, 01:51 PM
Arsenal at it again 😂

SJNB Hibby
28-06-2020, 01:55 PM
what is the goalie doing???
Oh well QED

28-06-2020, 01:57 PM
Sheffield Utd manager Wilder doing that "talking behind his hand" pish these managers do - for that alone he deserves to lose...............

28-06-2020, 02:00 PM
Arsenal at it again 😂

28-06-2020, 03:56 PM

Cant remember that to be honest was that the Etoo goal may have been touch and go however do remember Arsenal scoring from a free kick that was a complete dive.

28-06-2020, 04:16 PM
Just put £2 on newcastle to beat city at 14/1, just to make the game a little more interesting.

28-06-2020, 04:26 PM
Cant remember that to be honest was that the Etoo goal may have been touch and go however do remember Arsenal scoring from a free kick that was a complete dive.

Eto was definitely offside. Lehmann red card was also very strange, goal should've stood and no red card.

28-06-2020, 05:28 PM
What's Andy Carroll done to his face? :faf:

28-06-2020, 05:29 PM
Semi final draw made at half time during this quarter final tie? WTF is that all about

28-06-2020, 05:34 PM
Semi final draw made at half time during this quarter final tie? WTF is that all about

Nonsense.

28-06-2020, 05:56 PM
Man City are absolutely battering Newcastle here.

28-06-2020, 05:57 PM
Man city have had 85% possession in this game and it's so one sided, got me thinking that I've never watched the 81% derby back in full ever, I was there and pished, did they genuinely just never get a kick of the ball to this extent?

28-06-2020, 06:03 PM
Ffs City, just score, put them out there misery, ah ken its no league fitba, but ffs this is f,n dire, watched the leixester game earlier, just as bad, best league in the world, ma arse

28-06-2020, 06:05 PM
Embarrassing miss match. Despite Celtic's dominance up here I've never seen them batter a team like this

28-06-2020, 06:10 PM
To all the pundits that can't understand critisism of Steve Bruce - see this.

Biggest match of the season he calls it, and is prepared to go out like this without giving it a go at all. Hibs Celtic under Heckingbottom springs clearly to mind.

Still time mind you, he has got results playing this way.

28-06-2020, 06:31 PM
FA Cup semi final draw

Manchester Utd v Chelsea
Arsenal v Newcastle or Manchester City

28-06-2020, 06:54 PM
Whar a miss

Garibaldis
28-06-2020, 07:04 PM
FA Cup semi final draw

Manchester Utd v Chelsea
Arsenal v Newcastle or Manchester City

United v City final I reckon.

28-06-2020, 07:18 PM
Man.C’s close passing and possession is very impressive.

28-06-2020, 07:50 PM

FA now investigating, mitrovic received a 3-match ban for doing the same to a west ham player in 2017

28-06-2020, 08:22 PM
To all the pundits that can't understand critisism of Steve Bruce - see this.

Biggest match of the season he calls it, and is prepared to go out like this without giving it a go at all. Hibs Celtic under Heckingbottom springs clearly to mind.

Still time mind you, he has got results playing this way.

Still ragin aboot that!

28-06-2020, 11:59 PM
Ffs City, just score, put them out there misery, ah ken its no league fitba, but ffs this is f,n dire, watched the leixester game earlier, just as bad, best league in the world, ma arse

Man City produced a football lesson in that game without trying too hard, it was far from dire.

29-06-2020, 06:58 AM
Eto was definitely offside. Lehmann red card was also very strange, goal should've stood and no red card.

And the arsenal goal from a blatant dive?

29-06-2020, 06:59 AM

I wish I had a pound every time I see that “best league ma erse”line trotted out on here 😂

29-06-2020, 07:17 AM
And the arsenal goal from a blatant dive?

It was a dive, no doubt. It was also just a free kick. Not a goal. Lot has to happen for it to end up in the net. Barcelona goal came directly from an offside.

Both bad decisions but with Lehmann being bizarrely sent off instead of the goal given they clearly got the rough end of the stick.

29-06-2020, 07:36 AM
It was a dive, no doubt. It was also just a free kick. Not a goal. Lot has to happen for it to end up in the net. Barcelona goal came directly from an offside.

Both bad decisions but with Lehmann being bizarrely sent off instead of the goal given they clearly got the rough end of the stick.

Still not a goal if free kick not given. Assuming Lehman was sent off due to the ref blowing his whistle before goal.

29-06-2020, 07:56 AM
Still not a goal if free kick not given. Assuming Lehman was sent off due to the ref blowing his whistle before goal.

Well of course but getting a free kick is different from an offside goal. If I had the choice on which one to concede the choice is easy. If Eboue had dived for a penalty then fair enough. I'm willing to bet there was at least 1 dodgy free kick or corner in Barcelona's favour that game.

The Lehmann one is strange. Plenty incidents before and after point to advantage being the correct decision in that scenario. Even just a year before, Liverpool beat Chelsea with the famous Luis Garcia ghost goal in which baros was taken out by cech just before it. Ref played on instead of red card/penalty.

Might not have changed anything at all. My original point it's it is definitely ridiculous to accuse Arsenal of always cheating or being lucky. They've been on the end of some real high profile howlers. The loss at OT to end the unbeaten run was about as bad as refereeing gets. Add to that 3/4 career ending/altering tackles on Diaby, Eduardo, Ramsey because refs allowed some dreadful tactics against them and other footballing sides.

29-06-2020, 07:58 AM
Well of course but getting a free kick is different from an offside goal. If I had the choice on which one to concede the choice is easy. If Eboue had dived for a penalty then fair enough. I'm willing to bet there was at least 1 dodgy free kick or corner in Barcelona's favour that game.

The Lehmann one is strange. Plenty incidents before and after point to advantage being the correct decision in that scenario. Even just a year before, Liverpool beat Chelsea with the famous Luis Garcia ghost goal in which baros was taken out by cech just before it. Ref played on instead of red card/penalty.

Might not have changed anything at all. My original point it's it is definitely ridiculous to accuse Arsenal of always cheating or being lucky. They've been on the end of some real high profile howlers. The loss at OT to end the unbeaten run was about as bad as refereeing gets. Add to that 3/4 career ending/altering tackles on Diaby, Eduardo, Ramsey because refs allowed some dreadful tactics against them and other footballing sides.

Better watch you are starting to sound like Arsenal Wenger. :greengrin

29-06-2020, 08:07 AM
Better watch you are starting to sound like Arsenal Wenger. :greengrin
I've definitely watched more of their games than any other English side because they have been so good to watch for years.

Garibaldis
29-06-2020, 08:36 AM
I've definitely watched more of their games than any other English side because they have been so good to watch for years.

They haven't been as good to watch in the last decade compared to the decade before. City, Liverpool Leicester and Spurs have all played more entertaining football in recent times.

IMO Arsenal need to spend money to be able to challenge for that top four spot. Liverpool and City have more or less cemented their place there, United are starting to look stronger and will no doubt bring more quality in and Chelsea have done very well this season with very good players coming in next season.

After spending so much money last summer, I expected a bit more than 9th place for Arsenal.

29-06-2020, 09:15 AM
I wish I had a pound every time I see that “best league ma erse”line trotted out on here 😂
Not sure it's "the best" league but it's certainly "one" of the best leagues, I've always enjoyed English football at all levels for more years than I care to remember 😏

Garibaldis
29-06-2020, 09:19 AM
Not sure it's "the best" league but it's certainly "one" of the best leagues, I've always enjoyed English football at all levels for more years than I care to remember 😏

The English Championship is up there as one ofthe most competitive leagues in the world.

29-06-2020, 11:06 AM
The English Championship is up there as one ofthe most competitive leagues in the world.
Totally agree with you, the Championship to my mind is like watching the football I watch many yours ago, some may say it lacks finesse but to me it's really enjoyable.

29-06-2020, 03:52 PM

Come on mate, you're critiquing one match, and very fine margins. The ref had to make a snap decision about the Lehmann incident, if he blows his whistle before the ball is in the net then he can't give advantage, otherwise the Arsenal players would quite rightly complain to the ref that play had stopped. Even the Etoo goal is a borderline decision, without VAR the linesman also has to make a snap decision.

There's been plenty of those tackles dished out by arsenal players over the years too, Viera, Winterburn, Adams, Xhaka, Keown, etc. Ian Wright 2 footed Schmeichel and was lucky not to break his leg. Who was the guy who dived to get a penalty and put Celtic out of the qualifiers against Arsenal? A team who were always prepared to throw themselves to the ground under Wenger, plenty dodgy free kicks for the Gunners too

How many years did Arsenal lead the league in red cards and poor discipline?

Every team is on the end of dodgy decisions now and again, both positive and negative (rangers and celtic excepted :greengrin)

29-06-2020, 04:10 PM
Come on mate, you're critiquing one match, and very fine margins. The ref had to make a snap decision about the Lehmann incident, if he blows his whistle before the ball is in the net then he can't give advantage, otherwise the Arsenal players would quite rightly complain to the ref that play had stopped. Even the Etoo goal is a borderline decision, without VAR the linesman also has to make a snap decision.

There's been plenty of those tackles dished out by arsenal players over the years too, Viera, Winterburn, Adams, Xhaka, Keown, etc. Ian Wright 2 footed Schmeichel and was lucky not to break his leg. Who was the guy who dived to get a penalty and put Celtic out of the qualifiers against Arsenal? A team who were always prepared to throw themselves to the ground under Wenger, plenty dodgy free kicks for the Gunners too

How many years did Arsenal lead the league in red cards and poor discipline?

Every team is on the end of dodgy decisions now and again, both positive and negative (rangers and celtic excepted :greengrin)

Thats why I said it was a strange decision. Many other high profile ones from the same time went a different way. Of course they are borderline decisions but they went in favour of Barcelona, thats the point I'm making. I was replying to someone saying Arsenal were always lucky. Surely if these tight decisions went against them they aren't always lucky?

I may be wrong but I haven't seen Vieira ever break someones leg in the way Shawcross, Taylor etc did to Arsenal players. He was dirty at times but never a thug like those guys. Wenger certainly never sent his teams out to injury and kick opposition players.

I mean, Celtic lost that tie 5-1 on aggregate, it didn't really decide anything but yeah, it was a dive and he was punished for it iirc. Dunno if they were any better or worse than anyone else at diving at that time.

Arsenal have only once lead the league after a full season in red cards (since the premier league started) and once in yellow cards. Not bad at all considering they have played every game since it started.

Garibaldis
30-06-2020, 08:34 PM
United looking good again. Challenge for 4th place is going to go right down to the wire.

Any date given on the hearing of Man City's appeal?

30-06-2020, 08:35 PM
I've seen Man United a few times now since the PL resumed, and they look like a much better side right now.

They're probably only a few players away from challenging near the top again. Fernandes is a cracking player, and they have some very good young players in their team too.

Currently skelping Brighton 0-3.

Garibaldis
30-06-2020, 08:43 PM
I've seen Man United a few times now since the PL resumed, and they look like a much better side right now.

They're probably only a few players away from challenging near the top again. Fernandes is a cracking player, and they have some very good young players in their team too.

So much pace and skill going forward its exciting to watch. Fernandes was a great signing.

30-06-2020, 08:46 PM

They've been a lot better since Fernandes signed, he's exactly what they needed.

They're only 3 points behind 3rd, albeit having played a game more. I still think they're quite a bit away from the top 2 though.

Garibaldis
30-06-2020, 08:54 PM
Leroy Sane signing for Bayern. With David Silva also leaving, I think it is going to be a busy summer window for City. Defence and a few more attacking options needed.

30-06-2020, 09:16 PM
Manchester United look like a team on the up.

not title contenders yet but Rashford, Greenwood and Fernandez are all exciting players

30-06-2020, 09:19 PM
They've been a lot better since Fernandes signed, he's exactly what they needed.

They're only 3 points behind 3rd, albeit having played a game more. I still think they're quite a bit away from the top 2 though.

Different players but he has a wee touch of the Cantona about him.

30-06-2020, 09:46 PM
Leroy Sane signing for Bayern. With David Silva also leaving, I think it is going to be a busy summer window for City. Defence and a few more attacking options needed.

I think foden is the Silva replacement. Having laporte back will help the back 4 big time but yeah, probably another few players needed to catch Liverpool.

01-07-2020, 06:45 AM
I think foden is the Silva replacement. Having laporte back will help the back 4 big time but yeah, probably another few players needed to catch Liverpool.

I would be staggered if Foden was good enough to replace Silva.

01-07-2020, 07:01 AM
I would be staggered if Foden was good enough to replace Silva.

Impossible to tell right now, definitely a talented player but very rarely played 90 minutes. Thats definitely the plan from Pep

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53145771

01-07-2020, 07:21 AM
Impossible to tell right now, definitely a talented player but very rarely played 90 minutes. Thats definitely the plan from Pep

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53145771

Actually wouldn't rule out Pep leaving City. As per Foden talent on the ball looks very lightweight to me and in games he has played that I have seen has had little or no influence.

01-07-2020, 07:36 AM
Actually wouldn't rule out Pep leaving City. As per Foden talent on the ball looks very lightweight to me and in games he has played that I have seen has had little or no influence.

Nothing to suggest Pep is leaving, been rumours of a new, long term contract. I don't really rate or not rate Foden. He generally does well when he plays and obviously the club have faith in him.

01-07-2020, 08:20 AM
Nothing to suggest Pep is leaving, been rumours of a new, long term contract. I don't really rate or not rate Foden. He generally does well when he plays and obviously the club have faith in him.

Yes. Far too early to declare how good he will be . Looks like he has a chance though ..doing himself justice largely when he gets game time

supermcginn
01-07-2020, 09:39 AM
He scored two goals and was man of the match last week!

01-07-2020, 10:03 AM
He scored two goals and was man of the match last week!

Just not convinced he will replace the quality of Silva didn't say he wasn't a good player

Brunswickbill
01-07-2020, 11:09 AM
Sounesss going back to Sevco as chairman I’ve heard. Don’t know how reliable the source is.

01-07-2020, 11:11 AM
Sounesss going back to Sevco as chairman I’ve heard. Don’t know how reliable the source is.

Think he stays in Bournemouth would be a strange one

HendoDelivered
01-07-2020, 11:35 AM
Wigan go into admin.

Brunswickbill
01-07-2020, 01:24 PM
Think he stays in Bournemouth would be a strange one

Dave King lived in South Africa. Just saying.

01-07-2020, 05:08 PM
Bournemouth 0 v 1 Newcastle United

Gayle

01-07-2020, 05:11 PM
Everton 1 v 0 Leicester City

Richarlison

01-07-2020, 05:16 PM
Everton 2 v 0 Leicester City

Richarlison
Sigurdsson pen

01-07-2020, 05:19 PM
Everton 2 v 0 Leicester

Richarlison
Sigurdsson pen

Leicester in a bit of trouble for top four I think. Teams chasing are all in form and they’ve looked pretty brutal since the restart.

01-07-2020, 05:30 PM
Bournemouth 0 v 2 Newcastle United

Gayle
Longstaff

01-07-2020, 05:32 PM
Leicester in a bit of trouble for top four I think. Teams chasing are all in form and they’ve looked pretty brutal since the restart.
Surprised at Brendan Rodgers need the next goal....bad!

01-07-2020, 05:32 PM
Bournemouth 0 v 2 Newcastle United

Gayle
Longstaff

How bad was the defending for that second goal. Nice finish though.

So Norwich, Bournemouth and a n other to go down

01-07-2020, 05:33 PM
Arsenal 1 v 0 Norwich City

Aubameyang

01-07-2020, 05:38 PM
Arsenal 2 v 0 Norwich City

Aubameyang
Xhaka

01-07-2020, 06:14 PM
3-0 Newcastle

01-07-2020, 06:37 PM
4-0 Bournemouth are toast.

01-07-2020, 06:38 PM
How bad was the defending for that second goal. Nice finish though.

So Norwich, Bournemouth and a n other to go down

Villa I think. Can’t score, ropey at the back.

01-07-2020, 06:46 PM
How bad is Jordan Pickford absolutely atrocious. If I was Carlo would be punting him.

01-07-2020, 07:20 PM
Leicester collapse was coming a mile off. 13 points from 36 since Christmas. The experience and quality of United and Chelsea really showing recently and I don't think Leicester will keep up.

01-07-2020, 07:26 PM
How bad is Jordan Pickford absolutely atrocious. If I was Carlo would be punting him.

He has the best attitude and amazing explosive power but there’s just something not right about his decision making.

01-07-2020, 07:38 PM
Chelsea are another team that won't be far off the pace next season - a lot of cracking young players who are shining week in, week out, and the addition of Werner and Ziyech definitely won't hurt them!

Spraying the ball about really nicely against West Ham. Just hope they manage a goal or two (I'm no Chelsea fan, but I love seeing David Moyes miserable).

01-07-2020, 07:52 PM
Boo!

01-07-2020, 07:53 PM
Jesus...nothing conclusive there, and I'm not even sure it hit Antonio? It wasn't clear.

01-07-2020, 07:53 PM
Another shambolic var decision.

01-07-2020, 07:54 PM
Another shambolic var decision.

Yep

01-07-2020, 07:56 PM
Now Chelsea get a penalty.

01-07-2020, 07:57 PM
Moyes' face :faf:

01-07-2020, 08:02 PM
1-1

01-07-2020, 08:04 PM
Can't say they don't deserve it - what on Earth was K4nte doing at the back post?!

Are we against the philosophy of K4nt on here, are we?

01-07-2020, 08:11 PM
Ridiculous decision against Antonio. And I still don’t get why the ref doesn’t take a look for himself. The EPL are misusing VAR.

Garymcl
01-07-2020, 08:12 PM
Neville showing his Man U biased at West Ham goal disallowed went on and aon like never before this season wonder why ??answer his beloved Utd vying with Chelsea for champions league place

01-07-2020, 08:13 PM
Ridiculous decision against Antonio. And I still don’t get why the ref doesn’t take a look for himself. The EPL are misusing VAR.
:agree: To say the keeper can’t see the ball because of the West Ham player is ludicrous. It’s possible the Chelsea defender is blocking his view, but that’s not any reason to disallow the goal. The referee should go and have a look.

01-07-2020, 08:14 PM
Neville showing his Man U biased at West Ham goal disallowed went on and aon like never before this season wonder why ??answer his beloved Utd vying with Chelsea for champions league place
He was right though.

01-07-2020, 08:16 PM
Spal 2 v 0 Milan

Garymcl
01-07-2020, 08:25 PM
My point is whether he was right or wrong it was the passion in his voice that gave it away hurting try and be partial whilst commentating we give ex old firm players up here stick for the same thing just saying

01-07-2020, 08:25 PM
2-1 West Ham

Great finish from Antonio.

01-07-2020, 08:29 PM
2-1 West Ham

Great finish from Antonio.

Justice is done.

01-07-2020, 08:33 PM
Spal 2 v 0 Milan

Down to about 6 men by the time this ref is finished Bill.

01-07-2020, 08:48 PM
2-2

Cracking free kick from Willian.

01-07-2020, 08:49 PM
Why does Neville keep saying it was the keepers side, it wasn’t.

01-07-2020, 08:54 PM
Chelsea’s went from really unlikable for years to actually like them. Weird.

01-07-2020, 09:04 PM
3-2 West Ham!

Yarmolenko with a great breakaway finish.

Paul1642
01-07-2020, 09:05 PM
Chelsea’s went from really unlikable for years to actually like them. Weird.

I think the same. Young players and Frank Lampard responsible.

01-07-2020, 09:09 PM
Get in there! 👍

01-07-2020, 09:15 PM
Really good game for once, West Ham deserved that win.

supermcginn
01-07-2020, 09:20 PM
Everton v Leicester was good but the west ham game was even better. Brilliant night of EPL action.

01-07-2020, 09:30 PM
Down to about 6 men by the time this ref is finished Bill.

Spal 2 v 1 Milan

Spal doon t 10

Ibrahimovic on

01-07-2020, 09:42 PM
Spal 2 v 2 Milan

og

01-07-2020, 09:43 PM
Leicester lose 2-1 and Chelsea lose 3-2.

What a night for Manchester Utd, 3rd place is looking good now.

01-07-2020, 09:47 PM
Moyes' face :faf:
Bet it's looking better now 👌

Paul1642
01-07-2020, 09:51 PM
Bad result for villa

01-07-2020, 10:23 PM
Everton v Leicester was good but the west ham game was even better. Brilliant night of EPL action.

Hold on.............It’s boring without fans though, best league in the world my erse.

02-07-2020, 03:13 AM
Bet it's looking better now 👌

It would look better if he wasn't in the West Ham dugout. Result or no result, get him to ****.

Gloucester Hibs
02-07-2020, 08:15 AM
Enjoyed that West Ham game last night, not many BCD games I’ve been able to say that about since the fitba came back. As a Newcastle fan their results have been pleasing too since the restart, that Saint-Maximim has been a revelation! 😃

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 08:31 AM
Anyone think the celebrations over the last week will take its toll on Liverpool tonight?

02-07-2020, 08:45 AM
Hold on.............It’s boring without fans though, best league in the world my erse.

Now you are getting the hang of it. :greengrin

02-07-2020, 09:16 AM
Enjoyed that West Ham game last night, not many BCD games I’ve been able to say that about since the fitba came back. As a Newcastle fan their results have been pleasing too since the restart, that Saint-Maximim has been a revelation! 😃

Im really surprised he’s made an impact. I used to watch him a fair bit for Nice and he disappeared for most of games and emerged just for a step over or a dribble every now and again. L1 is obviously a very different style than England but still....

Gloucester Hibs
02-07-2020, 09:33 AM
Im really surprised he’s made an impact. I used to watch him a fair bit for Nice and he disappeared for most of games and emerged just for a step over or a dribble every now and again. L1 is obviously a very different style than England but still....

I have to confess I'd never heard of him before he signed for the Toon. 3 assists last night and 2 MOTM performances in their previous 2 home PL games. Looks almost unplayable at times, hope he can keep that level of performance going for the rest of the season and going into next season.

02-07-2020, 05:37 PM
This handball rule really needs to be scrapped.

Tottenham go 1-0 down to Sheffield Utd, Harry Kane then equalises almost immediately but it's overturned by VAR because the ball came off Lucas Moura's arm as he was falling to the ground and it then fell to Kane who scored.

Utter nonsense.

02-07-2020, 05:37 PM
I've seen some stupid decisions given over the years but that one tops the lot. Spurs goal disallowed and if the handball rule isn't rescinded next year then something is horribly wrong.

02-07-2020, 05:38 PM
This handball rule really needs to be scrapped.

Tottenham go 1-0 down to Sheffield Utd, Harry Kane then equalises almost immediately but it's overturned by VAR because the ball came off Lucas Moura's arm as he was falling to the ground and it then fell to Kane who scored.

Utter nonsense.
Moura was fouled too and the ref played an excellent advantage.

02-07-2020, 06:04 PM
The standard of refereeing in England is so poor. No one is having such a hard time implementing VAR as they are. Some theories that the refs are purposely making a meal of it because they don't like it.

02-07-2020, 06:05 PM
The standard of refereeing in England is so poor. No one is having such a hard time implementing VAR as they are. Some theories that the refs are purposely making a meal of it because they don't like it.
Not sure why that was a referee problem? That was a rule problem....

02-07-2020, 06:27 PM
2-0 Sheffield Utd.

02-07-2020, 06:33 PM
Spurs are a poor side these days. They used to have a real identity and an admiral quality to them. Now just a bog standard side where in and around 6th is probably about right.

While still a good player, has Harry Kane peaked and on the way down? He looks a shadow of himself the last 12 months. You could probably sum up Spurs regression by the fact Dier is now a starter.

02-07-2020, 06:33 PM

Yeah they played to the rules and correctly disallowed it. I think it was daft myself but the ref followed the rules.

02-07-2020, 06:40 PM

Well, that is fair enough I guess yeah. The handball rule is silly for sure.

I was more meaning VAR in general in England. It has no doubt been a bit of a shambles when other countries have had much less issues.

02-07-2020, 06:41 PM
Spurs are a poor side these days. They used to have a real identity and an admiral quality to them. Now just a bog standard side where in and around 6th is probably about right.

While still a good player, has Harry Kane peaked and on the way down? He looks a shadow of himself the last 12 months. You could probably sum up Spurs regression by the fact Dier is now a starter.

Kane still has a excellent record in the last 12 months. He will be fine when fully fit I think

02-07-2020, 06:42 PM
3-0

02-07-2020, 06:43 PM
Pleased for Sheffield Utd

Keyser Sauzee
02-07-2020, 06:45 PM
Quite enjoy watching Spurs get beat these days, the way they spat the dummy out at Stamford bridge in 2016 put me right off them.

02-07-2020, 06:48 PM
3-1Kane

02-07-2020, 06:51 PM
Quite enjoy watching Spurs get beat these days, the way they spat the dummy out at Stamford bridge in 2016 put me right off them.

I’m quite enjoying Mourinho’s descent into being yesterday’s man. He used to give Wenger a real hard time for his lack of success in the second half of his time at Arsenal. So pleasing that he’s befalling the same fate.

02-07-2020, 06:53 PM
Full time 3-1 Sheffield Utd.

Right let's get ready for the big one now - Blue Moon 💙.

02-07-2020, 07:25 PM

Injuries catching up on him maybe.

02-07-2020, 07:27 PM
Injuries catching up on him maybe.

He was out for quite a few months, takes time to get back to full match fitness

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 07:40 PM
The Champions losing.

1-0 Man City. Their first attack been all Liverpool

1-0 Manchester City 💙

02-07-2020, 07:43 PM
I have to confess I'd never heard of him before he signed for the Toon. 3 assists last night and 2 MOTM performances in their previous 2 home PL games. Looks almost unplayable at times, hope he can keep that level of performance going for the rest of the season and going into next season.

Definitely one of those players you pay money to see. Ben Arfa, Ginola, Geordies clearly have a thing about French wingers :greengrin

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 07:44 PM
De Bruyne is incredible. Best player in the league by far.

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 07:49 PM
Man City 2-0 Liverpool

02-07-2020, 07:49 PM
2-0 💙

02-07-2020, 07:51 PM
City 2-0 up!

Liverpool look the better team on the ball, but aren't exactly creating great chances. City are chasing shadows at times, but a few clinical passes in a row and they're up again.

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 08:00 PM
Liverpool getting hammered!

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 08:00 PM
Anyone think the celebrations over the last week will take its toll on Liverpool tonight?

Looks that way.

02-07-2020, 08:01 PM
3-0 City. Great finish from Foden.

02-07-2020, 08:04 PM
Oh my.

02-07-2020, 08:05 PM
See Jose working his charm at Spurs and Liverpool have simply switched off having won the league, never seen them so poor.

02-07-2020, 08:18 PM
Foden putting on a good performance tonight ...

supermcginn
02-07-2020, 08:26 PM
Just not convinced he will replace the quality of Silva didn't say he wasn't a good player

Foden different class again tonight.....

02-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Nice to see Liverpool getting rogered

02-07-2020, 08:30 PM
Mane should bury that

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 08:40 PM
Spanking.

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 08:47 PM
I love how City are 4-0 up and Guardiola is still motivating his players as if the game isn't won. Top manager.

02-07-2020, 08:48 PM
Anyone know if Scouse Hibee's ok? :greengrin

02-07-2020, 08:49 PM

Much like his team, he's probably still sleeping it off...

02-07-2020, 08:50 PM

Would you care if we were 4-0 down at Celtic park a week after we secured the league?

02-07-2020, 09:03 PM
Would you care if we were 4-0 down at Celtic park a week after we secured the league?

Professional pride, won the league or not that was a poor performance.

02-07-2020, 09:05 PM
Foden has played at least three roles tonight and has been dangerous in them all..mature performance. Enjoyed it

02-07-2020, 09:08 PM
5-0 :faf:

Garibaldis
02-07-2020, 09:09 PM
Handball rule wiping off another goal.

02-07-2020, 09:11 PM
5-0 :faf:

Booo ruled out by VAR for handball.

02-07-2020, 09:21 PM
Professional pride, won the league or not that was a poor performance.

Pride is great and all but titles are better.

02-07-2020, 09:39 PM
I see there was a game tonight, I thought the season had finished! It has for Liverpool the CHAMPIONS 😁

Who cares, I’m off for another bevvy .....CHAMPIONY.....CHAMPIONY........CHAMPIONY LIVERPOOL.

See ya 🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻

02-07-2020, 10:32 PM
I see there was a game tonight, I thought the season had finished! It has for Liverpool the CHAMPIONS 😁

Who cares, I’m off for another bevvy .....CHAMPIONY.....CHAMPIONY........CHAMPIONY LIVERPOOL.

See ya 🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻

Good preparation for the title defence next year! :greengrin

Five away games now without a goal and tonight Liverpool equalled the heaviest defeat for an already crowned champion in the Premier League.

02-07-2020, 11:03 PM
Good preparation for the title defence next year! :greengrin

Five away games now without a goal and tonight Liverpool equalled the heaviest defeat for an already crowned champion in the Premier League.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
I hope you got a crumb of comfort from it, keep on straw clutching pal.

02-07-2020, 11:18 PM
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
I hope you got a crumb of comfort from it, keep on straw clutching pal.

Just need a few defeats at Anfield next year and with that away record continuing you could be in trouble pal. :na na: :greengrin

03-07-2020, 06:59 AM
Foden different class again tonight.....

One swallow and all that :greengrin

03-07-2020, 07:03 AM
One swallow and all that :greengrin

The guy has a great career ahead of him, an outstanding talent.

03-07-2020, 08:42 AM
Pride is great and all but titles are better.

Last night should've been a game that Liverpool proved to Man City why they were champions but they were very poor, especially defensively where they were the best in the league. Yes the league is won but there's still a record points total to aim for and professional pride at stake against the team you've just taken the title from.

03-07-2020, 08:54 AM
Last night should've been a game that Liverpool proved to Man City why they were champions but they were very poor, especially defensively where they were the best in the league. Yes the league is won but there's still a record points total to aim for and professional pride at stake against the team you've just taken the title from.

Liverpool are 20 points clear, they don't need to prove anything to anyone. They currently hold the champions league, premier league, european super cup and club world cup. City hold the league cup and the beat Liverpool in an irrelevant game cup.

They have had Cities number at Anfield and beat them in the champions league a few years ago. They will get over 1 loss.

03-07-2020, 09:37 AM

Have you seen the points gap? We haven’t just pipped City on goal difference. Liverpool have nothing to prove as to why they are champions.
It was a disappointing result but the physcology of already having it won would have played a part too.

03-07-2020, 09:43 AM
I don't think Liverpool will concern themselves much about that result. I know I wouldn't if Hibs were in a similar position.

On a side note, how many teams have had a guard of honour and then been pumped? Seems to happen quite often.

03-07-2020, 09:43 AM
Have you seen the points gap? We haven’t just pipped City on goal difference. Liverpool have nothing to prove as to why they are champions.
It was a disappointing result but the physcology of already having it won would have played a part too.
And the fact they were probably still half pished from last week :cheers:

03-07-2020, 10:33 AM

Yep totally agree. I feel that will give Manchester City a psychological boost and perhaps even a psychological edge over Liverpool ahead of next season.

They'll know where to hurt them, other clubs will have watched last night's game too.

Big opportunity missed last night for the Scousers, I feel.

03-07-2020, 10:37 AM
Yep totally agree. I feel that will give Manchester City a psychological boost and perhaps even a psychological edge over Liverpool ahead of next season.

They'll know where to hurt them, other clubs will have watched last night's game too.

Could easily just say Liverpool winning the title by a record margin will give them an edge over City. Its all meaningless bull**** really.

03-07-2020, 10:39 AM

Mate, I'm an Evertonian and believe me when I say that a Liverpool league win was not what I wanted but that is some clutching at straws you are doing. Both Liverpool and City have been great to watch but Liverpool were the better team over the season by some distance. I think their 20 point margin will be at least an equal psychology edge than losing one game

03-07-2020, 10:56 AM
Liverpool are 20 points clear, they don't need to prove anything to anyone. They currently hold the champions league, premier league, european super cup and club world cup. City hold the league cup and the beat Liverpool in an irrelevant game cup.

They have had Cities number at Anfield and beat them in the champions league a few years ago. They will get over 1 loss.