View Full Version : Match Updates 2019-20 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59

23-05-2020, 03:21 PM
Werder blow it 2 mins remaining

crappy goal to concede

goal chalked off, still 0-1

FT

23-05-2020, 03:21 PM
Correction

Frieburg 0 v 1 Werder Bremen FT

23-05-2020, 05:31 PM
Bayern Munich 2 v 0 Eintracht Frankfurt HT

Goretzka

Mueller

23-05-2020, 05:34 PM
Bayern Munich 2 v 0 Eintracht Frankfurt HT

Goretzka

Mueller

Sexy fitba.

23-05-2020, 05:38 PM
Bayern Munich 3 v 0 Eintracht Frankfurt

Lewandowski

23-05-2020, 05:43 PM
Bayern Munich 3 v 1 Eintracht Frankfurt

Hinteregger

23-05-2020, 05:46 PM
Bayern Munich 3 v 2 Eintracht Frankfurt

Hinteregger

23-05-2020, 05:51 PM
Bayern Munich 4 v 2 Eintracht Frankfurt

Davies

NthCarolinaHibs
23-05-2020, 05:53 PM
Great game now 👍

23-05-2020, 06:05 PM
Bayern Munich 5 v 2 Eintracht Frankfurt

Hinteregger og

24-05-2020, 11:37 AM
Schalke 0-1 Augsburg good free kick

24-05-2020, 11:38 AM
Schalke 0 v 1 Augsburg

Loewen

24-05-2020, 01:04 PM
Schalke 0 v 2 Augsburg

AugustaHibs
24-05-2020, 01:06 PM
Schalke 0 v 2 Augsburg

Schalke have to be one of the worst sides I’ve ever seen.

24-05-2020, 01:08 PM
Schalke have to be one of the worst sides I’ve ever seen.

Couldnae get on them because the game had had just started dodged a bullet

24-05-2020, 01:37 PM
Schalke 0 v 3 Augsburg FT

24-05-2020, 01:44 PM
Mainz 0 v 1 Leipzig

David_D
24-05-2020, 02:11 PM
3-0 Leipzig. This could be anything they want. Look like they can score at anytime.

24-05-2020, 02:40 PM
4-0.

24-05-2020, 03:04 PM
Two hat tricks for Werner against Mainz this season. Not bad going.

24-05-2020, 05:16 PM
Cologne 0 v 1 Fortuna Düsseldorf

24-05-2020, 05:20 PM
Cologne 0 v 2 Fortuna Düsseldorf

24-05-2020, 05:54 PM
Cologne 2 v 2 Fortuna Düsseldorf FT

24-05-2020, 05:55 PM
2nd goal howler for Dusseldorf keeper

26-05-2020, 04:10 PM
Germany Bundesliga

Borussia Dortmund v Bayern Munich

BT Sport 1730

Dortmund : Buerki Pisczek Hummels Akjani Hakimi Delaney Dahoud Guerreiro Hazard Brandt and Haaland

Bayern: Neuer Pavard Boateng Alaba Davies Kimmich Goretzka Coman Mueller Gnabry and Lewandowski

Eintracht Frankfurt v Freiburg

Bayer Leverkusen v Wolfsburg

Werder Bremen v Borussia Munchengladbach

All 1930 kick off

26-05-2020, 04:12 PM
Amazing footage of those Oliver Kahn assaults on Dortmund players in the 90s. Never seen that before, thuggish isn’t the word...

26-05-2020, 04:14 PM
Amazing footage of those Oliver Kahn assaults on Dortmund players in the 90s. Never seen that before, thuggish isn’t the word...

Remember Rumminege ? That completely pol axed Platini as well in the 80's

26-05-2020, 04:15 PM

Got a link?

hibeerealist
26-05-2020, 04:30 PM

Was it not Batiston that got wellied??

26-05-2020, 04:32 PM

Aye i hink you are right thinking back :greengrin

Still a shocker though eh ..Don't even think the goaly got a yellow card!

Renfrew_Hibby
26-05-2020, 04:34 PM

Was the keeper not Harald Schumacher?

Was Rumminege no a striker, or an outfield player at least.

26-05-2020, 04:41 PM
Was the keeper not Harald Schumacher?

Was Rumminege no a striker, or an outfield player at least.

FFs i'm having a shocker :hilarious:hilarious:rotflmao::greengrin

It was Harald Schumacher :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Was a sare yin though eh :greengrin

26-05-2020, 04:47 PM
Yes it was, and by Harald Schumacher....

26-05-2020, 04:50 PM
Bob Valentine was on the line and it was said that the incident cost him whatever chance he had of a place in the final.....

26-05-2020, 05:03 PM

It looked like Kahn was copying the Battiston assault. And he took a bite at the strikers face in the other clip!
No link sorry, it was just on the bt introduction. Ive actually got a bit bored and turned it off. Jadon Sancho only on the bench. Feels unreal without the fans.

26-05-2020, 05:14 PM
Borussia Dortmund 0 v 1 Bayern Munich

Kimmich

Just_Jimmy
26-05-2020, 05:16 PM
That's pish goalkeeping from burki. Always partial to a howler.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

26-05-2020, 05:20 PM
The boy Davies for Bayern looks a player wonder if we could get him on loan ? :greengrin

26-05-2020, 05:28 PM
That's pish goalkeeping from burki. Always partial to a howler.

A bit harsh; perfect chip from Kimmich, very hard to predict he was going to do that. He was on the 6 yard line so his positioning wasn’t shocking.

26-05-2020, 05:29 PM
Decent game - Dortmund had a few chances but final quality / ball not there.

Bayern just seem to have this way to get ahead in games. The goal was ridiculous.

Dortmund need to win to keep title alive so think they may go for it 2nd half but could easily be hit on the break.

26-05-2020, 05:36 PM
I have the game on in the background, and look up every now and then when the commentator gets excited.

I thought the keeper was poor at the goal, a strong hand should have saved that in my opinion.

One observation i did catch, was social distancing went out the window when Bayern scored. :greengrin

Just_Jimmy
26-05-2020, 05:38 PM
A bit harsh; perfect chip from Kimmich, very hard to predict he was going to do that. He was on the 6 yard line so his positioning wasn’t shocking.Gets a full hand to it and can't keep it out and he's chipped from outside the 18 yard box.

If you watch Dortmund regularly you'll know he's always capable of a howler. In fact there's be talk for last season about moving on from him.

26-05-2020, 05:48 PM
Surely a VAR?

David_D
26-05-2020, 05:49 PM
Looked like it hit his elbow. Surprised it wasn’t looked at.

Just_Jimmy
26-05-2020, 05:51 PM
Looked like it hit his elbow. Surprised it wasn’t looked at.Bayern...

Just_Jimmy
26-05-2020, 05:54 PM
Ref is garbage.

27-05-2020, 06:02 PM
Hertha keeper sells the jerseys - 2 - 1 to Leipzig

30-05-2020, 12:59 PM
Which of today's 2.30pm games is likely to be the best to watch?

30-05-2020, 01:33 PM
Which of today's 2.30pm games is likely to be the best to watch?

I’m watching the Schalke Bremen match so that will probably be goalless ...

03-06-2020, 06:48 PM
Werder Bremen v Eintract Frankfurt on BT Sport, not up to much so far.

03-06-2020, 09:10 PM
Famalicao v Porto on Freesports. 0-0 at half time, two rusty looking teams so far.

04-06-2020, 07:46 PM
Benfica currently being held 0-0 by Tondela (live on Freesports) bit of a Benfica man myself my team in Europe I guess. Nice touch in the empty stadium fans invited to place scarves across their seats and most fans have done so. Love seeing these little innovations in these strange times. Pipped crowd noises as well, a few of the German Clubs have tried this as well, might be biased but think Benficas effort is better synced. :greengrin

06-06-2020, 01:35 PM
Leverkusen v Bayern Munich on BT Sport now, been looking forward to this.

06-06-2020, 01:42 PM
1 0 Leverkusen

06-06-2020, 01:55 PM

They’re piping in the crowd noise. What a difference and a great idea!

06-06-2020, 01:57 PM
1 each

06-06-2020, 01:57 PM

quite a decent 'atmosphere' created by mr tannoy/speakers whatever

anyway. 1-1

06-06-2020, 01:58 PM

There's a whistle in there that is a tad annoying 😠

06-06-2020, 02:02 PM
It’s much better that you can’t hear the players shouting. They should do it for all the games.

06-06-2020, 02:08 PM

I thought they would do that from the start so much better. Barrie Wilkins is a DJ can he not take some mixing decs to ER and do some boooooos when the opposition get the ball 😁

06-06-2020, 02:16 PM
3-1 bayern munich

06-06-2020, 04:22 PM
I thought they would do that from the start so much better. Barrie Wilkins is a DJ can he not take some mixing decs to ER and do some boooooos when the opposition get the ball 😁

Crank the noise as high as it goes so every game sounds like AEK :greengrin

07-06-2020, 01:15 PM
Werder Bremen 0 v 1 Wolfsburg

Weighorst

07-06-2020, 01:24 PM
Werder Bremen 0 v 1 Wolfsburg FT

07-06-2020, 01:27 PM
Werder Bremen 0 v 1 Wolfsburg FT

Bremen will need to get their fingers out. A good win for Mainz and a credible draw for Fortuna Dusseldorf yesterday...

07-06-2020, 01:53 PM

Its making a massive difference to the Union Berlin Schalke match - and given that you usually dont see much of the crowd watching on the TV it feels "almost" normal.

07-06-2020, 01:57 PM
Even to the point that when they take an age on VAR they pipe in the whistles :greengrin

07-06-2020, 02:09 PM
Even to the point that when they take an age on VAR they pipe in the whistles :greengrin
Must be someone sitting with a bunch of buttons -

Cheer
Boo
Sing
Groan
Off Off Off
The referees a *******

Quite clever the way they have done it:aok:

Garymcl
07-06-2020, 02:30 PM
Don’t know if it’s been mentioned before just noticed at half time of union berlin game bt sports advert with small girl in frank graham retro shirt :thumbsup:

07-06-2020, 02:38 PM
German cup Semi finals this midweek. On Tuesday Saarbrucken take on Leverkusen, I believe Saarbrucken are fourth tier team, a big big night for them.

The other semi final is on Wednesday Bayern v Eintracht.

07-06-2020, 03:02 PM
imagine the tannoy/speakers tunes that will get played at the hunnery :rolleyes: they don't actually have any songs that don't involve some kind of bigoted sectarianism, even their poxy official club anthem includes a line about visiting a city in a country that's in the EU, bizarre

10-06-2020, 10:39 AM
Everton v Liverpool has been given the go ahead to be played behind closed doors at Goodison Park.

10-06-2020, 08:40 PM
Bayern 2 Eintracht 1 German cup semi final. Eintract made a real game of it in the second half. Decent match.

Newry Hibs
12-06-2020, 07:25 PM
Mad couple of minutes in juve v Milan.

Juve get a penalty after var check (harsh imo). Ronaldo misses it. 10 seconds later Milan player takes out a juve player at head height with his foot. Red card.

12-06-2020, 07:27 PM
That kung fu kick was straight red !!

Good to have a few different options of games to watch again on TV.

12-06-2020, 07:47 PM
Currently showing on BT

Hoffenheim v RB leipzig
Juve v Milan
Goztepe v Trabzonspor

In all honesty the best game is the Turkish one. (Flicking between the three admittedly mmmmm football) Isle of Whight festival highlights on Sky Arts all night, bottle of red on the go, I've had worse nights.

13-06-2020, 01:50 PM
Bremen now up 3-0 and missed a pen . paderbom are the German Hearts of the league ( Bottom:)

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 02:41 PM
I restarted Laliga TV subscription last night, only £5.99 a month, and no charge until 1 July.

I don’t follow a particular team, just enjoy watching Spanish football. Loads of games on, will watch Mallorca v Barcelona at 9pm tonight, and Atletico Madrid tomorrow lunchtime.

13-06-2020, 02:45 PM
Wolfsburg 2 v 2 Freiburg

13-06-2020, 02:49 PM
Paderborn 0 v 4 Werder Bremen

Osako
Klasson 2
Eggestein

13-06-2020, 02:53 PM
1-0 Dortmund

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 02:54 PM
1-0 Dortmund

Helpful for Werder Bremen.

13-06-2020, 02:55 PM
1-0 Dortmund

Disallowed by VAR.

13-06-2020, 02:55 PM
That ‘handball’ rule is garbage.

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 02:57 PM
Disallowed by VAR.

Not helpful for Werder Bremen 😀

13-06-2020, 03:18 PM
I'm watching the Dortmund game but with the sound down. Can Bayern win the league today or are they not that close to clinching it?

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 03:21 PM
I'm watching the Dortmund game but with the sound down. Can Bayern win the league today or are they not that close to clinching it?

If Düsseldorf has taken that chance there, Bayern could have clinched the league if they win. If it stays goalless then they can’t technically clinch it today as could only be 9 points ahead with 3 games left.

13-06-2020, 03:23 PM
If Düsseldorf has taken that chance there, Bayern could have clinched the league if they win. If it stays goalless then they can’t technically clinch it today as could only be 9 points ahead with 3 games left.

Cheers.

13-06-2020, 03:23 PM
And there's the winner for Dortmund.

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 03:24 PM
And there's the winner for Dortmund.

Great header, what a player that boy is.

13-06-2020, 03:35 PM
I watched Hertha/Frankfurt game. Frankfurts second was a cracker.

13-06-2020, 04:20 PM
Paderborn killed off as a club. Bremen now level with Dusseldorf for the relegation play off spot, 1 goal worse off. 3 games to play.

13-06-2020, 05:08 PM
Bayern Munich 1 v 1 Borussia Munchengladbach

13-06-2020, 06:17 PM
Bayern Munich 2 v 1 Borussia Munchengladbach

13-06-2020, 07:11 PM
1 0 Inter, Eriksen direct from a corner.

13-06-2020, 07:50 PM
Paderborn killed off as a club. Bremen now level with Dusseldorf for the relegation play off spot, 1 goal worse off. 3 games to play.

Remaining 3 games for both teams are:

Bremen:
Bayern Munich (H)
Mainz (A)
Köln (H)

Dusseldorf:
RB Leipzig (A)
Augsburg (H)
Union Berlin (A)

13-06-2020, 07:59 PM
Remaining 3 games for both teams are:

Bremen:
Bayern Munich (H)
Mainz (A)
Köln (H)

Dusseldorf:
RB Leipzig (A)
Augsburg (H)
Union Berlin (A)

Could be very close. Both will likely lose their next game, but other two are against teams not that far ahead of them. Mainz are only 3 points ahead of both.

13-06-2020, 08:07 PM
Could be very close. Both will likely lose their next game, but other two are against teams not that far ahead of them. Mainz are only 3 points ahead of both.

Mainz play Augsburg tomorrow who are only just a point ahead of them. Huge game as whoever wins that is pretty much safe.

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 08:18 PM
Barcelona scored after 60 seconds. Good game so far. I like how the broadcast has fans superimposed onto the seats, with the fake crowd noise it’s quite convincing.

13-06-2020, 08:25 PM
The fan noise actually makes it pretty decent. The Barca game sounds better than with fans 😂

13-06-2020, 08:31 PM
Barca game is decent - could watch Messi all day.

Funny how they make the stands looks busy with the graphics.

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 08:33 PM
28 minutes before the first free kick in the game, just like the SPFL, eh.

The young lad Kubo that Mallorca have on loan from Real Madrid looks really promising.

13-06-2020, 09:59 PM
4-0 Barcelona

Looking good and Messi scoring 4th.

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 10:01 PM
4-0 Barcelona

Looking good and Messi scoring 4th.

Enjoyed the game, score maybe flattered them a little, Mallorca had many chances that went a foot or so wide, but Ter Stegan didn’t have many actual saves to make.

13-06-2020, 10:05 PM
Enjoyed the game, score maybe flattered them a little, Mallorca had many chances that went a foot or so wide, but Ter Stegan didn’t have many actual saves to make.

Probably one of the more enjoyable closed door games. Mainly as I would watch Barcelona play anywhere as I love the style of their football and of course the worlds greatest Messi won’t play forever!

13-06-2020, 10:42 PM
Mainz play Augsburg tomorrow who are only just a point ahead of them. Huge game as whoever wins that is pretty much safe.

Think Bremen would take Mainz defeat. It'll probably go to the last game. Play off against either Stuttgart/Hamburg will be a tough game. Hope they stay up.

14-06-2020, 01:39 PM

1 nil Augsburg 40 seconds in.

14-06-2020, 01:44 PM
Barcelona scored after 60 seconds. Good game so far. I like how the broadcast has fans superimposed onto the seats, with the fake crowd noise it’s quite convincing.

Quite early on in the debate, can’t remember who with, I remarked that I really didn’t fancy the canned noise. It does make a difference though so I’ll take that back if that poster is watching..
However, if we get some of that Korean League action with the seats populated with rubber sex dolls then my opinion might rapidly change again.

14-06-2020, 01:47 PM
1 nil Augsburg 40 seconds in.

Did you see one of their players getting his head stapled after a clash a few minutes ago :greengrin

14-06-2020, 01:48 PM
Did you see one of their players getting his head stapled after a clash a few minutes ago :greengrin

A socially distant 2 metre long staple is not one to be ****ed with :greengrin

wallpaperman
14-06-2020, 06:00 PM
Having a wee look at the Real Madrid v Eibar game.

Surprised that the game is being played at their B team’s ground, they are taking the opportunity to start some renovations early at the Bernabeau, all their remaining games will be played there. Apparently pitch dimensions identical.

1-0 to RM after half an hour.

I really like the superimposed crowd that they are doing in Laliga, think it works well when watching on the tv with the fake crowd noise.

wallpaperman
14-06-2020, 06:04 PM
Ramos just scored a second, charging up the field like a box to box midfielder, some machine.

14-06-2020, 06:17 PM
What Channel is the game on?

14-06-2020, 06:22 PM
Having a wee look at the Real Madrid v Eibar game.

Surprised that the game is being played at their B team’s ground, they are taking the opportunity to start some renovations early at the Bernabeau, all their remaining games will be played there. Apparently pitch dimensions identical.

1-0 to RM after half an hour.

I really like the superimposed crowd that they are doing in Laliga, think it works well when watching on the tv with the fake crowd noise.

Ben Foster saying today he hated the crowd noise and Watford wont be using it.

14-06-2020, 06:32 PM
Ben Foster saying today he hated the crowd noise and Watford wont be using it.

The noise is just for TV viewers I think and not actually actually in the stadiums.

Some clubs trialled in in stadium but players found it weird.

wallpaperman
14-06-2020, 06:38 PM
What Channel is the game on?

It’s on Laliga tv, stand alone channel, for £5.99 a month, or also as part of Premier Sports which I think is £11.99 a month. I just have Laliga tv.

14-06-2020, 06:49 PM
I am watching a game on BT Sports. Bad injury to keeper and the ambulance came on the pitch.

14 minutes injury time ongoing.

16-06-2020, 03:41 PM
Can Bayern win their league tonight?

SJNB Hibby
16-06-2020, 07:28 PM
Can Bayern win their league tonight?

No
Dortmund are 8 back...3 games to play

16-06-2020, 07:30 PM
No

Bayern Munich will be 10 points clear if they win tonight and Borussia Dortmund will only have 3 games left.

Bayern will be champions if they win.

16-06-2020, 07:32 PM
No
Surely if Bayern win they’d be 11 ahead with 3 to play.

SJNB Hibby
16-06-2020, 07:48 PM
Bayern Munich will be 10 points clear if they win tonight and Borussia Dortmund will only have 3 games left.

Bayern will be champions if they win.

Yes I was going by the BBC tables which still hadn't updated after they went ahead
If they win its over

16-06-2020, 08:39 PM
Bayern have won the Bundesliga. Surely one of the favourites for the Champions League when that is due to be completed in August?

16-06-2020, 09:27 PM
Bayern have won the Bundesliga. Surely one of the favourites for the Champions League when that is due to be completed in August?

They are going to have one very strong side next season if they add both Leroy Sane & Kai Havertz who they have been strongly linked with.

17-06-2020, 05:03 PM
That was an amazing start at Villa Park

17-06-2020, 05:33 PM
Are there fans outside the stadium, or is it being pumped in through the loudspeaker?

Edit: Never mind, Sky just answered my question - there's added crowd noise on Sky Sports Main Event, whereas the in-stadium sound is being played on Sky Sports Premier League.

17-06-2020, 05:38 PM
Are there fans outside the stadium, or is it being pumped in through the loudspeaker?

It's Sky that are doing the crowd noise. Channel 402 has the match without crowd noise

17-06-2020, 05:39 PM
It's Sky that are doing the crowd noise. Channel 402 has the match without crowd noise

Cheers! Commentator mentioned it pretty much after I hit the 'post' button :greengrin

I'm opting for 402!

17-06-2020, 05:45 PM
Controversy already :greengrin

Surely to **** that was over the line in the villa game.

Did the goal line technology fail there?

The ball was behind the post in the keepers arms?

Controversy already :greengrin
The ball was in the side netting.

17-06-2020, 05:46 PM
I mean, that's a goal :greengrin

Technology not working?

Did the goal line technology fail there?
It must have.

Thats not worked cause its not been in the width of the post and hes dragged it into the side netting. Wow.

17-06-2020, 05:47 PM
No VAR?

Surely that was a goal...

17-06-2020, 05:48 PM
Technology isn’t all it’s cracked up to be :greengrin

17-06-2020, 05:49 PM
Thats not worked cause its not been in the width of the post and hes dragged it into the side netting. Wow.

http://s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/otf2uploads/monthly_2020_06/IMG_20200617_184752.thumb.jpg.4fd13f674a64b17c5e16 c63266970e62.jpg

17-06-2020, 05:50 PM
I mean , I want Villa to win BUT that was definitely over the line!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

No VAR?

I don’t think VAR can get involved as it’s down to the goal line technology.

No VAR?

There was chat a couple of weeks that it wasn’t going to be used because the VAR refs would be too close together. Presuming that it was decided to drop it in the end.

Edit: apparently there is VAR - what a shambles.

No VAR?

Yes there is VAR but not used for goal line due to the other technology that has on this occasion failed.

Technology isn’t all it’s cracked up to be :greengrin

Can't say I've ever seen goal line technology get it wrong?

Something's gone wrong there. Wouldn't surprise me if it's something as simple as the watch not paired in some manner to the system responsible for sending the signal. Surely common sense comes in to play though and those watching VAR can confirm the ball crossed the line...

17-06-2020, 05:51 PM
http://s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/otf2uploads/monthly_2020_06/IMG_20200617_184752.thumb.jpg.4fd13f674a64b17c5e16 c63266970e62.jpg

Aye but he dragged the ball into the inside netting so it wasnt inbetween the two posts so wouldnt have registered. Surely the refs watch buzzes once the ball is over the line regardless though?

17-06-2020, 05:51 PM
That was a goal.

17-06-2020, 05:52 PM
Can't say I've ever seen goal line technology get it wrong?

Something's gone wrong there. Wouldn't surprise me if it's something as simple as the watch not paired in some manner to the system responsible for sending the signal. Surely common sense comes in to play though and those watching VAR can confirm the ball crossed the line...
You would think so, it was so obvious.

17-06-2020, 05:54 PM
Aye but he dragged the ball into the inside netting so it wasnt inbetween the two posts so wouldnt have registered. Surely the refs watch buzzes once the ball is over the line regardless though?

It was in between the two posts otherwise it would be outside the goal?

Farcical man 😂😂😂

I don’t think VAR can get involved as it’s down to the goal line technology.

That’s utter bollox if that’s the case.

No point having VAR.

17-06-2020, 05:57 PM
There you go, because it was the same passage of play, VAR can GIVE the goal.

17-06-2020, 05:58 PM

No point having VAR.

They’ve just said VAR could’ve overuled the goal line technology. That makes it even worse.

17-06-2020, 05:59 PM
That’s pretty funny.

Napoli Juve in 45 mins, Sarri going back to Naples, should be good.

17-06-2020, 05:59 PM
It was in between the two posts otherwise it would be outside the goal?

I was meaning the goalie had hold of the ball behind the post which has obviously beat the system somehow. I assumed any time the ball crosses the line at any angle then it would come up as a goal but thats evidently not the case.

17-06-2020, 06:00 PM

No point having VAR.

Jamie Redknapp suggesting that VAR could've over ruled the decision not to give it based on it still being the same passage of play after the keeper threw it out. Regardless of what technology is in place it never fails to surprise me how useless those in charge are at just using common sense. If I'm watching over VAR I tell Michael Oliver to give the goal.

17-06-2020, 06:01 PM
They’ve just said VAR could’ve overuled the goal line technology. That makes it even worse.

So why didn’t it? One cock up after another At least it’s providing a talking point though, we’ve all missed that.

17-06-2020, 06:02 PM
That’s pretty funny.

Napoli Juve in 45 mins, Sarri going back to Naples, should be good.

Fancy Napoli tonight.

17-06-2020, 06:02 PM
Jamie Redknapp suggesting that VAR could've over ruled the decision not to give it based on it still being the same passage of play after the keeper threw it out. Regardless of what technology is in place it never fails to surprise me how useless those in charge are at just using common sense. If I'm watching over VAR I tell Michael Oliver to give the goal.

Indeed. Looks like his watch is buggered. Nothing came up.

That was followed up with the VAR refusing to get involved for some reason.

17-06-2020, 06:03 PM
I was meaning the goalie had hold of the ball behind the post which has obviously beat the system somehow. I assumed any time the ball crosses the line at any angle then it would come up as a goal but thats evidently not the case.

That goalie looks as guilty as Craig Thompson on a webcam.

17-06-2020, 06:05 PM
Indeed. Looks like his watch is buggered. Nothing came up.

That was followed up with the VAR refusing to get involved for some reason.

Imagine it ends in a draw and Villa stay up by a point. Court orders all over the place. Delia Smith and the Norwich’s jiminy cricket going absolute tonto.

17-06-2020, 06:07 PM
Never mind VAR or goalline technology, why's the linesman not seeing that?

17-06-2020, 06:07 PM
Delayed message it gave the goal decision to refs watch at half time! Villa should have let them score a goal.

17-06-2020, 06:08 PM
In other news the wheels never came off and Barrow are promoted to the Football League.

Am told second half will be delayed by an hour while the video assistant referee takes a precautionary drive to Barnard Castle.

Delayed message it gave the goal decision to refs watch at half time! Villa should have let them score a goal.

At a time when the world is going bonkers at each other it would be a great gesture.

17-06-2020, 06:13 PM
At a time when the world is going bonkers at each other it would be a great gesture.

I would go nuts if my team did that.

17-06-2020, 06:18 PM

I would applaud my team if they did it.

17-06-2020, 06:20 PM

I’ve always admired Di Canio since he done a similar thing (although I had copied his boots when he was at Celtic too).

It would have been a fair play gesture had they had done so but £100s of millions talk and all that.

Daydreamer
17-06-2020, 06:23 PM
Am told second half will be delayed by an hour while the video assistant referee takes a precautionary drive to Barnard Castle.

Brilliant:aok:

17-06-2020, 06:25 PM

Agree.

Villa are scrapping for survival. In football you sometimes get the breaks and often not. Take them when you get them.

17-06-2020, 06:33 PM
I would applaud my team if they did it.

I'll remind you of that if Liverpool stand to the side and allow Manchester Utd to score what turns out to be a winner in the next match between the two. :greengrin

I would be fuming if we survived a late surge by Hearts in the derby and they score a good goal that's not given and then we stand aside a couple of minutes later and allow them to score the winner.

It's up to the officials/technology to get it right, it's not the fault of the defending team that they didn't award a goal.

17-06-2020, 06:35 PM
I'll remind you of that if Liverpool stand to the side and allow Manchester Utd to score what turns out to be a winner in the next match between the two. :greengrin

I would be fuming if we survived a late surge by Hearts in the derby and they score a good goal that's not given and then we stand aside a couple of minutes later and allow them to score the winner.

It's up to the officials/technology to get it right, it's not the fault of the defending team that they didn't award a goal.

They didn’t let us score a free goal, on the Griffiths and Shaw goals, that weren’t given, they’d be the last team I’d concede anything too

17-06-2020, 06:40 PM

You could remind me of it, would rather win fairly, clearly there are lots of examples of historic mistakes but that was so easy to prove at the time, neither Hawkeye or VAR were used properly. You can’t beat a good football controversy, great that we have it back 😁

17-06-2020, 06:46 PM
I like how Villa have the commentary for their European cup winning goal on a banner......we should do that for SDG.....' what a moment this is......

17-06-2020, 06:48 PM
Wonder if they'll decide to just end the EPL season after this game zzz

17-06-2020, 06:49 PM

I’ve watched about 20 mins, not going to bother with the next one

17-06-2020, 06:49 PM
Dire game this.

17-06-2020, 06:53 PM

If like German football it I’ll be a lot better a few games in.

17-06-2020, 06:53 PM

I’ve loved the German football and enjoyed watching Barcelona since they’ve came back.

This game has reminded me why I never really watch English football now. A dreadfully boring league.

17-06-2020, 06:54 PM

I’ve loved the German football and enjoyed watching Barcelona since they’ve came back.

This game has reminded me why I never really watch English football now. A dreadfully boring league.

The first week of German football apart from the Dortmund game was similar. City Arsenal wI’ll be a goal fest with two poor defences.

17-06-2020, 07:31 PM
Fancy Napoli tonight.

Decent start, Insigne rattles the post from a free kick with 76 year old Buffon beaten.

17-06-2020, 07:39 PM
Decent start, Insigne rattles the post from a free kick with 76 year old Buffon beaten.

😁

17-06-2020, 07:40 PM
Two Arsenal players injured and taken off within 25 minutes.

17-06-2020, 07:57 PM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/applications/core/interface/imageproxy/imageproxy.php?img=https://frinkiac.com/video/S04E16/oBz5JAdo6PzuykYr_BeXSwaDlkg=.gif&key=b96460792f75c3cf6900e09576c8c545640e2c35160e9d 0ffdbe568d4c035148

17-06-2020, 08:01 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53086360

So working as intended but all 7 cameras that are used were blocked by one thing or another... Every now and then you'll get an outlier (1 in 9000) but I wonder what they'll do to make sure if this ever happens again it's resolved during the game (hint VAR).

17-06-2020, 08:04 PM
David Luiz is *****.

17-06-2020, 08:08 PM
I had recorded the first game but the commentary in this game has clearly signalled that the first game was nil-nil.

Why do they do these things these days when they know people will
have different watching habits?

David_D
17-06-2020, 08:12 PM
I had recorded the first game but the commentary in this game has clearly signalled that the first game was nil-nil.

Probably done you a favour as other than one controversial moment not much happened.

17-06-2020, 08:17 PM

As David_D said, they’ve done you a favour.

I’d agree with the general point though.

17-06-2020, 08:18 PM

You can’t expect to watch the second game of restarted season without hearing about comments from the previous landmark first game of the restart! Especially as there was controversy.

17-06-2020, 08:25 PM
David Luiz. Outstanding.

17-06-2020, 08:25 PM
David Luiz is *****.

Gunners could kick on from here now. He’s ****ing *****.

17-06-2020, 08:26 PM
What a useless focker Luiz is.

17-06-2020, 08:26 PM
Luiz has had a good game eh? :faf:

17-06-2020, 08:28 PM
Luiz has had a good game eh? :faf:

He’s certainly had an impact.

17-06-2020, 08:29 PM
This is excruciatingly boring

bringbackbenny
17-06-2020, 08:30 PM
What a useless focker Luiz is.

Couldn't believe it when Arsenal signed him. Taking into account Arsenal's deficiencies at the back he was the worst possible choice for a new Center Half.

17-06-2020, 08:32 PM
The crowd noise is actually not too badly done.

I hope Hibs TV have a supply of decent booing ready.

17-06-2020, 08:41 PM
Like the shutters over the seats with the advertising good idea for us going forward

S••t game though !

17-06-2020, 09:06 PM
Hope Eric Garcia is OK. That was a horrendous collision.

11 minutes added on to the end.

17-06-2020, 09:06 PM
3-0

17-06-2020, 09:07 PM
3-0 City.

What a great move.

17-06-2020, 09:07 PM
Napoli win Coppa Italia in Rome after beating Juve in penalty shoot out ( 4-2 ).

First trophy for Gennaro Gattuso

17-06-2020, 09:12 PM
I say this with the caveat that they've obviously played a large part of this second half with 10 men, but Arsenal are a poor, poor team.

17-06-2020, 11:07 PM
I say this with the caveat that they've obviously played a large part of this second half with 10 men, but Arsenal are a poor, poor team.

2 injuries immediately and a red card. Difficult to judge on that. They didn't look that poor before the shutdown. Certainly lots of work for Arteta to do. Some fantastic young players there though

18-06-2020, 07:45 AM
Manchester City Manager made it clear what his views are
The Media can talk it up all they want but this is nothing more than a money Making process
Still can’t be bothered with it
The goal that wasn’t allowed was a farce The keeper could of been honest and told the ref
Wonder what would of happened then

18-06-2020, 08:21 AM

They’re dreadful. They look like a youth team playing against sides a couple of years older than them.

No away wins against the top 6 in 5 years. Truly atrocious.

18-06-2020, 08:23 AM
Napoli win Coppa Italia in Rome after beating Juve in penalty shoot out ( 4-2 ).

First trophy for Gennaro Gattuso

And Ronaldo, the regular penalty taker, didn’t take a penalty as he was down for the fifth one in a desperate attempt to be the hero.

Not the first time his side have lost a penalty shootout before he has taken one because he’s that selfish that he’s not interested in a less glamorous pen.

18-06-2020, 08:25 AM
2 injuries immediately and a red card. Difficult to judge on that. They didn't look that poor before the shutdown. Certainly lots of work for Arteta to do. Some fantastic young players there though

Time will tell whether they are fantastic. Arsenal have always had promising young players but very few really make it.

18-06-2020, 08:42 AM
Arsenal only exist for everyone to laugh and point at. Completely pointless football club.

18-06-2020, 09:00 AM
Time will tell whether they are fantastic. Arsenal have always had promising young players but very few really make it.

Sane with any club really. Martinelli and Saka are 2 brilliant talents who will become great players

18-06-2020, 09:02 AM
Arsenal only exist for everyone to laugh and point at. Completely pointless football club.

Na, that's actually Spurs. Best team in 50 years and theyve won less than Ross county. Arsenal clearly going through a big transition, like Liverpool only a few years ago.

19-06-2020, 12:25 AM
Aubameyang totally anonymous throughout the game, don't think he will want to spend the rest of his career fighting for a spot in the Europa League. You know there are problems when you concede 3 goals and your best player was the goalkeeper.

The fickle support be calling for Arteta to go by Christmas.

19-06-2020, 03:41 PM
Empoli away to Spezia currently. Henderson starts for Empoli.

JimboHibs
19-06-2020, 03:45 PM
Na, that's actually Spurs. Best team in 50 years and theyve won less than Ross county. Arsenal clearly going through a big transition, like Liverpool only a few years ago.

Lol your obviously at the wind up.

SJNB Hibby
19-06-2020, 04:58 PM
Just signed up for DAZN and gonna watch Norwich v Southampton then spurs-manyew

19-06-2020, 05:09 PM
So the players don’t hear the crowd noise?

19-06-2020, 05:11 PM
So the players don’t hear the crowd noise?

No, it’s just on tv

19-06-2020, 05:15 PM
No, it’s just on tv

Surely it would create a better atmosphere for the players if it was in the stadium?

19-06-2020, 05:18 PM
Lol your obviously at the wind up.

No, I'm spot on. Spurs best team in 50 years and done nothing. Now needing a 200 million loan from the Government to survive the stadium disaster.

19-06-2020, 05:21 PM
Aubameyang totally anonymous throughout the game, don't think he will want to spend the rest of his career fighting for a spot in the Europa League. You know there are problems when you concede 3 goals and your best player was the goalkeeper.

The fickle support be calling for Arteta to go by Christmas.

I doubt that, Arsenal fans seem to be very much behind him and think he is doing a good job so far. Cant judge any team on their first game after this break, especially when they suffer 2 injuries and get a man sent off.

JammyDoidger
19-06-2020, 05:57 PM
What a load of rubbish.

wpj
19-06-2020, 06:16 PM
A few games on YouTube over the weekend and a couple available on Pick, Norwich v Southampton live at the moment.

https://www.live-footballontv.com/

Newry Hibs
19-06-2020, 07:24 PM
Duplicate

Newry Hibs
19-06-2020, 07:25 PM
Instead of sky offering one channel with crowd noise and one without, what about one without the annoying swooshing noise for each graphic displayed.

19-06-2020, 07:45 PM
1-0 Spurs

Good run and movement but poor goalkeeping by DeGea

19-06-2020, 07:46 PM
Oh when the Spurs go marching in.

19-06-2020, 07:48 PM
Harry Maguire is massively overrated. Caught flat footed 40 yards out then lets the guy run past him and is outpaced.

19-06-2020, 07:49 PM
1-0 Spurs

Good run and movement but poor goalkeeping by DeGea

De gea has been pants since the last World Cup. Ridiculously overrated.

19-06-2020, 08:02 PM
No, I'm spot on. Spurs best team in 50 years and done nothing. Now needing a 200 million loan from the Government to survive the stadium disaster.

They've won less than Ross County? I've read some ridiculous posts on here but that's up there with the best. Made me chuckle atleast.

Liverpool and Man Utd have won less trophies than Celtic and Rangers the last 50 years too.

19-06-2020, 08:09 PM
They've won less than Ross County? I've read some ridiculous posts on here but that's up there with the best. Made me chuckle atleast.

Liverpool and Man Utd have won less trophies than Celtic and Rangers the last 50 years too.

I'm speaking about this Spurs side. One with Kane, Lloris, Son, Vertonghen etc. Best team they have had in the last 50 years. Won absolutely nothing.

Its not really ridiculous is it? They have underachieved big time with the quality they have. Playing well tonight no doubt. Maybe Mourinho will turn them into winners.

19-06-2020, 08:11 PM
Roy Keane is steaming drunk.

Newry Hibs
19-06-2020, 08:12 PM
Roy Keane not happy. Looks like he's had a drink!

19-06-2020, 08:12 PM
Roy Keane is raging 😂

He said DeGea should have caught the one he saved from Son 😂😂😂😂

19-06-2020, 08:13 PM
Roy Keane hahahaha very entertaining :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

19-06-2020, 08:13 PM
I love Roy Keane.

19-06-2020, 08:14 PM
Is that Pereira in goals for Man U?

bringbackbenny
19-06-2020, 08:23 PM
The Top Flight Time Machine reaction to Keane will be good!

19-06-2020, 08:24 PM
I'm speaking about this Spurs side. One with Kane, Lloris, Son, Vertonghen etc. Best team they have had in the last 50 years. Won absolutely nothing.

Its not really ridiculous is it? They have underachieved big time with the quality they have. Playing well tonight no doubt. Maybe Mourinho will turn them into winners.

Bringing Ross County into a discussion about Tottenham's status in English football is a topper. Top marks for coming up with that one.

19-06-2020, 08:28 PM
Keane was right about man united players going through the motions. Its just pointless passing side to side with no real end game. Fernandes is their best player and they need to get him on the ball to link up with Rashford. Martial is a waste of a jersey up top. Lazy and uninterested.

19-06-2020, 08:29 PM
Spurs v United

isnt having expert analysis from Keane, Evra and Neville a bit unbalanced?

19-06-2020, 08:31 PM
Bringing Ross County into a discussion about Tottenham's status in English football is a topper. Top marks for coming up with that one.

Indeed. Ross County have won a trophy in the last 10 years. Should've went with Livingston instead.

Scotty Leither
19-06-2020, 08:33 PM
That Man Utd midfield needs a John McGinn.

Or a Roy Keane. Nae wonder he's doing his ringer

Needs Pogba fit and on form much more. McGinn type alongside him and Fernandes would be good.

Scotty Leither
19-06-2020, 08:34 PM
Needs Pogba fit and on form much more.

Speak of the Devil.

h18eeynick
19-06-2020, 08:37 PM
I watched the Villa game on Wednesday and watching Spurs v Man United just now. Bored to hell with both games ! Cant wait to get back to the cut and thrust of Scottish football ! I know that technically they are better players but blooming heck it is so lacking in spirit !

19-06-2020, 08:42 PM
I watched the Villa game on Wednesday and watching Spurs v Man United just now. Bored to hell with both games ! Cant wait to get back to the cut and thrust of Scottish football ! I know that technically they are better players but blooming heck it is so lacking in spirit !

I think we have to understand the situation we are in. Teams have been dormant for alot longer than what thye would have been during a normal post season and have just had a few weeks to try and get up to speed. Pre season if you like, virtually non exisitent, virtually no pre season games and relatively little time to prepare. Ive found the games decent to be honest lets not delude ourselves many Scottish games are rampant excitement because quite simply they arent.

h18eeynick
19-06-2020, 08:51 PM
Yeah I get that but maybe it is just too technical now in top league . Fouls are given for absolutely nothing and shots on goal are very low. I know that I will be in the minority but I would rather see players trying to run and dribble with the ball than pass the hell out of it !

19-06-2020, 08:52 PM
Hard to believe there’s a debate about Spurs lack of trophies. They’ve won nothing other than a League Cup in over 20 years, a competition that other clubs use for their 2nd XI. It’s only the last 4 or 5 years they’ve been competing to get above Arsenal never mind anything else. Even the season they were nailed on to win the title they shat it, Leicester won it and the Gunners were runners up! Spurs only managed 2nd prize in Green Street....

19-06-2020, 08:53 PM
Yeah I get that but maybe it is just too technical now in top league . Fouls are given for absolutely nothing and shots on goal are very low. I know that I will be in the minority but I would rather see players trying to run and dribble with the ball than pass the hell out of it !

Yeah but football has naturally evolved. May not be as entertaining but teams now would smash these ''entertaining'' sides from 30 odd years ago.