View Full Version : Match Updates 2019-20 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

04-01-2020, 07:40 PM
Stephen Fletcher made captain for the day, but carried off on a stretcher with serious leg injury. Wednesday beat premier League Brighton 0-1.

05-01-2020, 02:37 PM
Chirivella starts for Liverpool v Everton today.

I suggested he should be someone Hibs should have looked to get on loan at the start of the season (without any inclination as to how realistic that would be I'd add). I'm intrigued to see how he does today.

05-01-2020, 02:43 PM
Everton won’t get a better chance to win at Anfield in forever.

05-01-2020, 02:51 PM
Surely Everton have to win this one?

05-01-2020, 03:08 PM
Mental team selection that Liverpool have out today

05-01-2020, 03:13 PM

Cant expect them to play a full squad with all the games they've had.

05-01-2020, 03:13 PM
Why? They have bigger priorities than the FA Cup and are resting players who have played a daft number of games during December.

05-01-2020, 03:15 PM

They are actually playing ok, wish our teenagers were as good

05-01-2020, 03:24 PM
One hardy sole Toffee in the Kop.😂😂. Couldn’t happen up here.

05-01-2020, 03:28 PM
3 great saves from Adrian

05-01-2020, 03:29 PM
3 great saves from Adrian

He's a very good keeper. With a history of massive clangers when you least expect it.

05-01-2020, 03:30 PM
He's a very good keeper. With a history of massive clangers when you least expect it.
Wonder what it's like being a fan of a club with a keeper that does that? :greengrin

05-01-2020, 03:33 PM
Chirivella starts for Liverpool v Everton today.

I suggested he should be someone Hibs should have looked to get on loan at the start of the season (without any inclination as to how realistic that would be I'd add). I'm intrigued to see how he does today.
Running things at the moment.

05-01-2020, 03:43 PM
Firstly that is a sensational save from Pickford.

Secondly if the striker was clearly in an offside position why is a corner awarded? Surely with VAR that should be pulled back and given as a free kick to Everton. If we are giving offsides for armpits then 'we will only look at it if you score' seems a weird anomaly.

05-01-2020, 03:49 PM
Whit a brutal game that is,

05-01-2020, 03:49 PM
Firstly that is a sensational save from Pickford.

Secondly if the striker was clearly in an offside position why is a corner awarded? Surely with VAR that should be pulled back and given as a free kick to Everton. If we are giving offsides for armpits then 'we will only look at it if you score' seems a weird anomaly.

VAR's only used to decide on goals, red cards and penalties.

05-01-2020, 03:51 PM
VAR's only used to decide on goals, red cards and penalties.

So in theory you can have the ridiculous situation in which a goal is ruled offside for a toenail but a team can score from a corner awarded from an attack in which a striker is 6 yards offside in the preceding move?

They really haven't thought this through properly have they?

05-01-2020, 04:11 PM
So in theory you can have the ridiculous situation in which a goal is ruled offside for a toenail but a team can score from a corner awarded from an attack in which a striker is 6 yards offside in the preceding move?

They really haven't thought this through properly have they?

Yes that's correct. If a linesman doesn't flag for offside and the goalkeeper tips the subsequent shot over for a corner, VAR won't get involved to check if it should be a corner or a free kick to the defending team because of the offside that's been missed.

Same with if the striker controls the ball with their hand before taking a shot, which is missed by the officials, if the shot goes out for a corner it won't be reviewed by VAR even if the attacking team goes on to score from the corner.

05-01-2020, 04:15 PM
I don't watch much English football any more so this is the first game I've paid that much attention to for a while.

Richarlisson plays for Brazil, yeah?

From the wee bit I've seen he's the one who looks out of his depth. Slow, ponderous, poor touch, poor anticipation, poor movement, wants too long on the ball.

Some of the youngsters on show here are impressive.

05-01-2020, 04:20 PM
Liverpool's kids playing really well now, pass and move.

HibeeBigFly
05-01-2020, 04:25 PM
Brutal game sadly, loving the pressing from Liverpool. Not a patch on yesterday’s Catalan derby.

05-01-2020, 04:29 PM
1-0 Liverpool

05-01-2020, 04:29 PM
That's an absolute stunner of a goal.

05-01-2020, 04:30 PM
Oh I say!

05-01-2020, 04:31 PM
Everton would be as well just packing up and shutting down. They'll never beat Liverpool if they cant win tonight.

05-01-2020, 04:32 PM
Peach.

That Jones has been the pick of the Liverpool kids imo.

HibeeBigFly
05-01-2020, 04:33 PM
Peach.

Amazing finish!

05-01-2020, 04:34 PM
It was ok.

05-01-2020, 04:36 PM
It was ok.
How many millimetres did you grind off your teeth as you said that? :greengrin

Everton heading for 21 derbies in a row without a win.

i know exactly how they feel :confused:

everton building a new stadium ? they should seriously think about groundsharing with Tranmere to cut costs, they are dreadfully utterly Rank

05-01-2020, 04:37 PM
Peach.

He's been class.

05-01-2020, 04:39 PM
Peach.

That young boy Gomez looks class. 😁

05-01-2020, 04:39 PM
Elliot another one, only 16!!!

05-01-2020, 04:40 PM
everton building a new stadium ? they should seriously think about groundsharing with Tranmere to cut costs, they are dreadfully utterly Rank

Dreadful second half performance from Everton. Total lack of desire.

05-01-2020, 04:41 PM
Poor old Butterfingers.

He's made a great save today, no chance with the goal, yet he gets the 'dodgy' chants by opposition fans.

05-01-2020, 04:45 PM
that aerial shot of goodison could be a premonition of future years.... the seats are empty

:)

05-01-2020, 04:50 PM
Everton would be as well just packing up and shutting down. They'll never beat Liverpool if they cant win tonight.

05-01-2020, 04:50 PM
Dreadful second half performance from Everton. Total lack of desire.

I only saw the end of the first half but it looked like they played a bit better and created a bit more earlier in the game.

They have been atrocious in this second half and if I was an Everton fan I'd be mortified about how badly they've been quite comprehensively outperformed by their rivals' youth team.

There seem to be a few middling English clubs - Everton, West Ham and the like who seem to be spending an awful lot of money on standing still/ going backwards.

05-01-2020, 04:51 PM
I only saw the end of the first half but it looked like they played a bit better and created a bit more then.

They have been atrocious in this second half and if I was an Everton fan I'd be mortified about how badly they've been quite comprehensively outperformed by their rivals' youth team.

There seem to be a few middling English clubs - Everton, West Ham and the like who seem to be spending an awful lot of money on standing still/ going backwards.
:agree: I watch a lot of English football and agree with you 100%.

05-01-2020, 04:51 PM
Full time.

05-01-2020, 04:52 PM
How many millimetres did you grind off your teeth as you said that? :greengrin

Still washing my mouth out, I'm onto my second bar of soap.

05-01-2020, 04:53 PM
This has to be one of the most one sides derbies in world football. Everton just cannot buy a win against Liverpool.

05-01-2020, 04:54 PM
Everton could not even beat Liverpool reserves 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

05-01-2020, 04:54 PM
Surely Everton have to win this one?

Nope 😂

05-01-2020, 04:56 PM
Great performance from the Liverpool kids. If only we could produce such talented and confident young players!

05-01-2020, 04:59 PM
Liverpool's goal was reminiscent of Ross Caldwells goal at Tiny ( a wee bit ) :thumbsup:

05-01-2020, 04:59 PM
Great performance from the Liverpool kids. If only we could produce such talented and confident young players!

They were lucky to be 0-0 at HT. Everton only have themselves to name for losing this one.

05-01-2020, 05:02 PM
Everton could not even beat Liverpool reserves 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

most of these players are not even reserves yet. theres only a couple have made the bench. incredible production line. Everton were depressing

05-01-2020, 05:04 PM
Theo Walcott was a total disgrace in that game.

Ancelotti must be wondering what he’s got himself into with that mob

crash
05-01-2020, 05:09 PM
watching that game I am reminded of the great Bill Shankly, who said that the best two teams on Merseyside were Liverpool and Liverpool Reserves.

berwickhibee
05-01-2020, 05:10 PM
Bill shankly was right.

There are only 2 teams in Liverpool.

Liverpool and
Liverpool reserves.

Everton were abysmal

05-01-2020, 05:34 PM
Everton heading for 21 derbies in a row without a win.

i know exactly how they feel :confused:

Hope they manage at least another two.

05-01-2020, 05:37 PM
I see that Hertz's Olly Led is playing for Gillingham against West Ham.

05-01-2020, 05:58 PM
most of these players are not even reserves yet. theres only a couple have made the bench. incredible production line. Everton were depressing

To put it into context it’s not really a production line,Liverpool spend heavily on bringing these guys in.

05-01-2020, 06:08 PM
To put it into context it’s not really a production line,Liverpool spend heavily on bringing these guys in.

Curtis Jones is not one of them though...started at Liverpool U9’s according to Wiki.

05-01-2020, 06:11 PM

All the big clubs hoover up the best young talent, as they can offer much bigger wages
I wonder what will happen when FIFA introduce a cap on how many players a team can loan out
Man City had 30 last season, Chelsea 41
Think Liverpool have only 11 this season

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-6164017/FIFAs-new-loan-rules-disastrous-Chelsea.html

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/uk.mobile.reuters.com/article/amp

05-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Only 4 teenagers in that Liverpool team. Not exactly the youths. Very much the reserves though

05-01-2020, 07:02 PM
0-1 whu

05-01-2020, 07:11 PM
0-2. 90+4

05-01-2020, 07:13 PM
Only 4 teenagers in that Liverpool team. Not exactly the youths. Very much the reserves though

One of them was 16

06-01-2020, 07:16 PM
Leeds all over Arsenal in the FA cup. Arsenal poor but Leeds can’t get the ball in the net.

06-01-2020, 07:18 PM

Average age was about a year and a half younger than Everton.

Like you say, hardly the u 20s.

06-01-2020, 07:23 PM
Leeds look like a team that if they got promoted could either force their way straight in to the top 6 or get picked apart every week and get relegated having lost multiple games 4-3.

06-01-2020, 07:25 PM
27 minutes in and according to the BBC Leeds have had 11 shots already to Arsenal's 1 lol.....

06-01-2020, 07:29 PM
Average age was about a year and a half younger than Everton.

Like you say, hardly the u 20s.

Adrian, Milner and Lallana being the ones that pushed up the average, where as all the Everton players were just average 😂

06-01-2020, 07:29 PM
Leeds are playing the pressing game I hoped Heckingbottom was going to bring to us.

Every time an Arsenal player collects the ball, anywhere on the pitch, there's a Leeds player hounding him and giving him no time to play.

At the other end, Arsenal are letting Leeds play.

I'm impressed with Leeds energy and attitude and it'll be interesting to see what happens when, or maybe if, they tire.

06-01-2020, 07:30 PM
Martinez has kept Arsenal in this. That was a fantastic save. As was the one he held with 3 players closing in on him and the free kick he spilled which he saw at the very last second.

06-01-2020, 07:31 PM
Barry Douglas playing LB for Leeds. Made an excellent career for himself but largely overlooked over the years by Scotland.

Won the Polish League Championship, Turkish Cup (played in top division) and EFL Championship (with Wolves). And has played in Champions League and Europa League. Ex- Queens Park and Dundee Utd.

06-01-2020, 07:32 PM
27 minutes in and according to the BBC Leeds have had 11 shots already to Arsenal's 1 lol.....

leeds need a lot of chances due to them just not being clinical enough in front of goal, they can totally dominate possession in most games but still make an e rse of it and drop silly points

06-01-2020, 07:36 PM
jack harrison has been great for leeds in his 2 year loan spell from man city....better than brandon barker anyway ;)

06-01-2020, 07:39 PM
jack harrison has been great for leeds in his 2 year loan spell from man city....better than brandon barker anyway ;)

And he's not a hun either.

06-01-2020, 07:40 PM
Leeds are playing the pressing game I hoped Heckingbottom was going to bring to us.

Every time an Arsenal player collects the ball, anywhere on the pitch, there's a Leeds player hounding him and giving him no time to play.

At the other end, Arsenal are letting Leeds play.

I'm impressed with Leeds energy and attitude and it'll be interesting to see what happens when, or maybe if, they tire.

That's the Bielsa playbook. High energy press all over the pitch, hes influenced a lot of better known coaches, Poccettino credits him for developing his style of play at Spurs, same with Pep. He has this unique 3331 formation too. Problem is his team's have a track record of being physically battered by the end of the season and can tail off.

Who is the Co commentator? He’s a ****ing slaver.
Twice in the last few minutes he’s called it wrong even after seeing passages of play multiple times.
“He’s mis**** it”. Rubbish he was trying to dink it over the keeper.
“Overplayed it. He should have shot”. Garbage. No danger from that angle and did the right thing cutting it back.

Money for nothing.

shots

3 v 15....if only

06-01-2020, 07:43 PM
Who is the Co commentator? He’s a ****ing slaver.
Twice in the last few minutes he’s called it wrong even after seeing passages of play multiple times.
“He’s mis**** it”. Rubbish he was trying to dink it over the keeper.
“Overplayed it. He should have shot”. Garbage. No danger from that angle and did the right thing cutting it back.

Money for nothing.

Gob sh...t Danny murphy

Very good to watch Leeds. He'll probably go on to score the winner but IMO Leeds need a better striker than Bamford.

Gob sh...t Danny murphy

Arse.

06-01-2020, 07:44 PM
Danny Murphy is dire.

One of those Co commentators who just repeats what they think they have seen rather than offer any analysis. He also needs to remember every couple of years he gets sent on a jolly to watch football abroad for the BBC, guys face is always tripping him.

06-01-2020, 07:46 PM
I quite like Danny Murphy. Leave him alone 😀

06-01-2020, 07:47 PM
He might be bad but no one will ever reach mark lawrenson levels of *****ness. Actually mute any game hes on. Cant wait for the euros :rolleyes:

hope they have the option to listen to radio commentary again.

06-01-2020, 07:50 PM
He might be bad but no one will ever reach mark lawrenson levels of *****ness. Actually mute any game hes on. Cant wait for the euros :rolleyes:

hope they have the option to listen to radio commentary again.

I’ve turned over numerous times rather than listen to Lawrenson, what an absolute slaver

06-01-2020, 07:50 PM
Gob sh...t Danny murphy

I actually thought it was Mark Lawrenson

06-01-2020, 08:04 PM
look at that git smiling after conning the ref...stay classy

06-01-2020, 08:06 PM
Danny Murphy is dire.

One of those Co commentators who just repeats what they think they have seen rather than offer any analysis. He also needs to remember every couple of years he gets sent on a jolly to watch football abroad for the BBC, guys face is always tripping him.

Total bore.

What about the one in the first half when he was suggesting Arsenal should not have kicked the ball out when the Leeds boy was lying injured in the 6 yard box.

More balanced game now with Arsenal actually trying now...

06-01-2020, 08:09 PM
seen it all too many times

06-01-2020, 08:10 PM
1-0 Arsenal, they have had a rocket at halftime.

06-01-2020, 08:10 PM
Arsenal have just pushed 10 yards up the park. Pressing Leeds, forcing mistakes and not letting them play.

06-01-2020, 08:13 PM
Arsenal have just pushed 10 yards up the park. Pressing Leeds, forcing mistakes and not letting them play.

Exactly what Leeds were doing to them in the first half.

06-01-2020, 08:16 PM
How the **** has Xhaka not been booked :confused:

06-01-2020, 08:19 PM

2 yards off the pace and kicked 4 people has been his contribution. Ironically a Leeds player just booked for a foul on him (that was a very poor challenge).

06-01-2020, 08:20 PM

He is a great ****house, getting away with murder here.

06-01-2020, 08:21 PM
2 yards off the pace and kicked 4 people has been his contribution. Ironically a Leeds player just booked for a foul on him (that was a very poor challenge).

I think he is just naturally slow and doing the Pep style tactical fouling, I dunno if he is actually off the pace, you maybe right though.

KdyHby
06-01-2020, 08:23 PM
Just had a jambo claiming that Stendel is working on hearts playing the Bielsa press 🤣

06-01-2020, 08:28 PM
According to a guy in the pub this Leeds keeper is 19 and on loan from a French 2nd division side. He looks pretty decent.

06-01-2020, 08:31 PM

He is a great ****house, getting away with murder here.

:agree::agree:

Unbelievable. And also I put money on him midway through the first half to get booked:greengrin

06-01-2020, 08:34 PM
mon leeds let's be having you

06-01-2020, 08:39 PM
Just had a jambo claiming that Stendel is working on hearts playing the Bielsa press 🤣

Oh right aye, so lots of puff with no end product?

06-01-2020, 08:40 PM
Murphy will you stop ****ing whinging.

06-01-2020, 08:41 PM
Danny Murphy is a bellend

06-01-2020, 08:44 PM
harrison made an erky of that

06-01-2020, 08:45 PM
Danny Murphy is a bellend

He's actually nearly spoilt a pretty good game. He doesnt half like a whinge.

06-01-2020, 08:46 PM
This ref has been abysmal tonight. Let’s Xhaka away with murder but happy to give him or Geundozi a foul anytime they choose to fall on the ball.

Leeds need to sign a forward asap

06-01-2020, 08:47 PM
This ref has been abysmal tonight. Let’s Xhaka away with murder but happy to give him or Geundozi a foul anytime they choose to fall on the ball.

Leeds need to sign a forward asap

Eduoard or Morelos?

06-01-2020, 08:49 PM
should have had bamford off 25 mins ago marcelo me old matey

costa rank again

***ty goal wins it :( well done leeds for that first 45

06-01-2020, 08:51 PM
Quality shone through in the end, Leeds same old failings.

06-01-2020, 09:00 PM
According to a guy in the pub this Leeds keeper is 19 and on loan from a French 2nd division side. He looks pretty decent.

His kicking in the 1st half was very impressive

06-01-2020, 09:05 PM
Thought he played his defenders into trouble and hasty clearances when Arsenal pressed.

06-01-2020, 09:09 PM

Debut as well

07-01-2020, 07:17 PM
Ooh what a goal from Bernardo

07-01-2020, 07:18 PM
Oh I say!

Man Utd 0 v 1 Man City

07-01-2020, 07:25 PM
have SKY planted all their microphones in front of the away fans

07-01-2020, 07:33 PM
Man Utd 0 v Man City 2

Men versus boys

07-01-2020, 07:34 PM
United are awful

07-01-2020, 07:35 PM
splash the cash on SJM ole

07-01-2020, 07:35 PM
have SKY planted all their microphones in front of the away fans

No Old Trafford is just a very quiet stadium full of tourists with half and half scarves. Let alone when 2-0 down and hardly made 5 passes. City miles ahead coached by a better coach.

07-01-2020, 07:38 PM
United should get themselves in for Berra, he could replace that donkey McGuire and they'd not notice the difference.

Dont know why i said McGuire when i meant Jones? :faf:

07-01-2020, 07:38 PM
Three!!

07-01-2020, 07:39 PM
Man Utd 0 v 3 Man City

Oh dear!

3-0

United are awful

They're not that good.

City could take as many as they want here.

United collapsing

07-01-2020, 07:40 PM
Phil Jones is dreadful

End of the road for Ole methinks 🙄

This is an absolute mauling. If City keep this up it could be a cricket score.

Phil Jones diving to ground in the box against Debruyne :hilarious:hilarious

07-01-2020, 07:41 PM
3-0

Could this be Ollys last game?

07-01-2020, 07:41 PM
United should get themselves in for Berra, he could replace that donkey McGuire and they'd not notice the difference.

Paul Hanlons better than Maguire

07-01-2020, 07:42 PM
Ole has been way out his depth for months.

Could be 5 or 6 if they keep this level up.

07-01-2020, 07:43 PM

Probably true but that donkey isn’t playing!

Jones is though...that ‘defending’ for the third was hilarious.

07-01-2020, 07:43 PM
I honestly dont think Utd will ever win anything under Ole.

07-01-2020, 07:44 PM
It’s unbelievable that it’s only 3-0. Sterling has missed a couple of sitters.

07-01-2020, 07:45 PM

Dont know why i said McGuire when i meant Jones? :faf:

Paul Hanlons definitely better than Jones :greengrin

07-01-2020, 07:45 PM

Or for the foreseeable future - they are miles away from other teams.

3-0 down and half time whistle blows and didn’t even get any boos !

07-01-2020, 07:48 PM
Or for the foreseeable future - they are miles away from other teams.

Despite net transfer spending of nearly £600m in the last 5 years!!

07-01-2020, 07:49 PM
Paul Hanlons definitely better than Jones :greengrin

Jones is like Grant Hanley, imagine that as your two central defenders? :greengrin

07-01-2020, 07:51 PM
The League Against Cruel Sports May well report this match.

07-01-2020, 07:53 PM
Jones is like Grant Hanley, imagine that as your two central defenders? :greengrin

:shocked:

07-01-2020, 08:03 PM
Think it could be years before Manchester United are able to compete with City & Liverpool and challenge for the big trophies.

07-01-2020, 08:06 PM
Think it could be years before Manchester United are able to compete with City & Liverpool and challenge for the big trophies.
Which is there own fault, they’ve spent just as much if not more on complete dross. They should punt Pogba for a start.

07-01-2020, 08:10 PM
I think they would if he was given the time but they need a complete rebuild and he won't get the time required. They are a poor shadow of what they were in the Fergie years....

07-01-2020, 08:10 PM
Man Utd are just an embarrassment.

2 or 3 good players, a couple of decent ones and then a squad and manager that is utter dross.

07-01-2020, 08:16 PM
Woodward and the Glazers are the biggest problem at man united. Until they go man united will remain a shambles.

07-01-2020, 08:18 PM
Woodward and the Glazers are the biggest problem at man united. Until they go man united will remain a shambles.

Genuinely Out of interest - what makes you think that .....they seem to have largely backed all their managers in the transfer market...

07-01-2020, 08:28 PM
3-1

07-01-2020, 08:29 PM
Could this be Ollys last game?

I doubt it.

I don't think there's much anyone else could do with that squad, it's miles away from being good enough with the top 2-3 teams in the league or Champions League.

07-01-2020, 08:29 PM
City been messing about 2nd half.

Still could have scored more.

07-01-2020, 08:32 PM
City been messing about 2nd half.

Still could have scored more.
Something happens to football teams when they go 3-0 up, they immediately change the intensity and start playing within themselves. It really annoys me sometimes.

07-01-2020, 08:45 PM
much like the old firm final a few weeks back we now get treated to some utter freakin delinquent in the crowd fascinated with frequently loud whistling

07-01-2020, 08:47 PM
much like the old firm final a few weeks back we now get treated to some utter freakin delinquent in the crowd fascinated with frequently loud whistling

Thank you.Thought I was hearing things-maybe my hearing aid whistling.:greengrin

07-01-2020, 08:56 PM
Thank you.Thought I was hearing things-maybe my hearing aid whistling.:greengrin

:) the stress of listening to it sets off my Tinnitus

:(

07-01-2020, 09:01 PM

What have they done wrong?

07-01-2020, 09:47 PM
What have they done wrong?

Think a case could be made for them lurching from one bad appointment to the next with no real strategy and no apparent signing strategy other than to throw ever increasing money at the problem. Man U remind me of Petrie’s 5 year plan.

SJNB Hibby
08-01-2020, 07:43 PM
Villa taken a 1-0 lead at Leicestee
Wil SJM be fit for the final?
And Canada beat Barbados away 4-1!!!

08-01-2020, 07:54 PM
Villa taken a 1-0 lead at Leicestee
Wil SJM be fit for the final?
And Canada beat Barbados away 4-1!!!

Unlikely as he's expected to be out for 3 months which takes him up towards the end of March and the final's on 1st March.

#2 Double Tap
08-01-2020, 07:55 PM
Unlikely as he's expected to be out for 3 months which takes him up towards the end of March and the final's on 1st March.

super man heals pretty fast, so he probly has a good chance haha

10-01-2020, 07:48 PM
0-0 at half time.

#moyesout

10-01-2020, 07:49 PM
0-0 at half time.

#moyesout

45 minutes of my life I won't get back.....

10-01-2020, 07:50 PM
West Ham have a guy up front who's worse than Uche. Utd have McBurnie up top so it's not going to be a goal fest.

10-01-2020, 08:11 PM
Anyone wanting to watch a really ***** game of football could do worse than switch over to Rennes Marseille on bt sport. honking game.

10-01-2020, 08:12 PM
Mcburnie does his best to miss but still puts Sheffield Utd 1-0 up.

10-01-2020, 08:12 PM
#moyesout

10-01-2020, 08:13 PM
Well McBurnie did his best to miss but 1-0 it is.....

He's not even got proper socks on!! #moyesout

Posted the same thing lol ......

10-01-2020, 08:17 PM
Posted the same thing lol ......

Great minds think alike dear boy!

10-01-2020, 08:18 PM
Great minds think alike dear boy!

My late mum used to add that fools seldom differ 😂

10-01-2020, 08:19 PM
This is abysmal viewing. 😴

10-01-2020, 08:21 PM
This is abysmal viewing. 😴

#moyesout

10-01-2020, 08:21 PM
My late mum used to add that fools seldom differ 😂

I’ll take her word over mine 😂

10-01-2020, 08:25 PM
If you were going a whisky and you’d to choose between a cask strength Glengoyne, highland park, glenlivet or glenfiddach what would you go for?

10-01-2020, 08:30 PM
If you were going a whisky and you’d to choose between a cask strength Glengoyne, highland park, glenlivet or glenfiddach what would you go for?

A good Chardonnay has them all beat....

10-01-2020, 08:33 PM
We're letting Mcburnie look good :faf:

10-01-2020, 08:33 PM
A good Chardonnay has them all beat....

I feel like I need something a bit harder to get me through this game.

10-01-2020, 08:34 PM
We're letting Mcburnie look good :faf:

And John Fleck is the best player on the park.

Such a difference between the way the two teams get forward displayed there.

10-01-2020, 08:36 PM
And John Fleck is the best player on the park.

Such a difference between the way the two teams get forward displayed there.

#moyesout

10-01-2020, 08:41 PM
#moyesout

#payetin

10-01-2020, 08:47 PM
#moyesout

#fleckin

10-01-2020, 08:51 PM
Snodgrass - 1-1! VAR checking for handball!

Not given!

Farce. The game's knackered.

Joke!

10-01-2020, 08:52 PM
Oft that’s a harsh one!!

#payetin

Reported

That's ****ing ridiculous. **** VAR

Carragher fitting on Sky Sports

10-01-2020, 08:53 PM
That handball rule has to be the stupidest rule ever introduced.

10-01-2020, 08:53 PM
Again VAR wasnt the problem there. The rule is the problem

10-01-2020, 08:54 PM
I think the rule's quite clear, if it hits the hand in the lead up to a goal then it doesn't count regardless of whether it was intentional or not. Keeps things nice and simple.

10-01-2020, 08:54 PM
Again VAR wasnt the problem there. The rule is the problem

It’s the laws, not the system that piss everyone off.

10-01-2020, 08:55 PM
is that gobber calling it a joke ? it was handball, end of ffs :confused:

10-01-2020, 08:55 PM
Anyone else think the West Ham keeper is getting a really hard time? For me it’s the centre half who’s caught on his heels that ****s it for them.

10-01-2020, 08:56 PM
VAR really does it's best to screw up the game. A spontaneous sport turned into a laughing stock by people who have never played the game.

10-01-2020, 09:04 PM
VAR really does it's best to screw up the game. A spontaneous sport turned into a laughing stock by people who have never played the game.
I agree, the handball wasn’t intentional, but under the rules it has to chalked off. The emotion and the spontaneous nature of football is being sucked away by this abomination. Goal line technology improved the game var is ruining it. It’s here to stay, but the rules need to be changed for next season.

10-01-2020, 09:18 PM
I think the rule's quite clear, if it hits the hand in the lead up to a goal then it doesn't count regardless of whether it was intentional or not. Keeps things nice and simple.
Disagree completely. We all attend games hoping to see goals and for the life of me I fail to see the sense in outcomes like we saw today. The new law is unfairly loaded in favour of the defending team and is a complete turn around from not too long ago when the attacker was to be given the benefit of the doubt.....

10-01-2020, 09:24 PM
Moyes having a giraffe saying West Ham might have deserved even more than a draw from that game!

The daft handball rule has done them for a draw but they wouldn’t even have deserved that, they got played off the park second half.

10-01-2020, 09:29 PM
Disagree completely. We all attend games hoping to see goals and for the life of me I fail to see the sense in outcomes like we saw today. The new law is unfairly loaded in favour of the defending team and is a complete turn around from not too long ago when the attacker was to be given the benefit of the doubt.....

I'm pretty sure the unwritten law of giving the attacking team the benefit of the doubt was with marginal offside decisions.

10-01-2020, 09:31 PM
I'm pretty sure the unwritten law of giving the attacking team the benefit of the doubt was with marginal offside decisions.
It was - my point was that the attacker was given the benefit to allow more goals. This handball rule is the complete opposite of that.

10-01-2020, 10:17 PM
It was - my point was that the attacker was given the benefit to allow more goals. This handball rule is the complete opposite of that.

I think it removes any debate over people's subjective opinions on whether the handball was intentional or not.

If you look at rugby, a try is disallowed if it has come from a forward pass in the build up, regardless of whether it was intentional or not. Trying to figure out whether the handball is intentional or not opens a whole can of worms and it's much clearer guidance for referees to say that if the ball strikes the hand or arm of an attacking player in the build up to a goal, it must be ruled out.

Everyone then knows where they stand.

10-01-2020, 10:24 PM
VAR will be scaled back quite considerably from its current form in the close season I reckon. It’s sucking the life out of the game in the English top flight and the numbers of those who are against it seems to be growing on a weekly basis.

10-01-2020, 10:39 PM
I think it removes any debate over people's subjective opinions on whether the handball was intentional or not.

If you look at rugby, a try is disallowed if it has come from a forward pass in the build up, regardless of whether it was intentional or not. Trying to figure out whether the handball is intentional or not opens a whole can of worms and it's much clearer guidance for referees to say that if the ball strikes the hand or arm of an attacking player in the build up to a goal, it must be ruled out.

Everyone then knows where they stand.
Then in the interest of fairness any handball by a defender should be deemed a penalty kick whether it's intentional or not.

10-01-2020, 10:44 PM
Then in the interest of fairness any handball by a defender should be deemed a penalty kick whether it's intentional or not.

Then attacking players could deliberately try to hit the ball off the defender's hand.

A defender isn't going to try to hit a forward's hand in order to stop a goal being given.

10-01-2020, 10:55 PM
What about Thiery Henry's hand ball goal against Ireland?

At the time most, if not all, football fans asked the question, "Why, if the TV can see the offence seconds after it happens, don't they use it to help referees get decisions right?"

Are we now saying that, in hindsight, we're happy that the goal was given even though it was blatant cheating because it didn't use VAR? :dunno:

VAR isn't "killing the game" or "sucking the life out of it". It's changing it.

I'd rather have a few tight, but correct, decisions in a match, than blatant injustices like Henry's handball, diving for penalties and players pretending to have been hit in the face.

The laws of the game might need tweaking, but I think VAR is good for the game.

10-01-2020, 11:25 PM

At the time most, if not all, football fans asked the question, "Why, if the TV can see the offence seconds after it happens, don't they use it to help referees get decisions right?"

Are we now saying that, in hindsight, we're happy that the goal was given even though it was blatant cheating because it didn't use VAR? :dunno:

I'd rather have a few tight, but correct, decisions in a match, than blatant injustices like Henry's handball, diving for penalties and players pretending to have been hit in the face.

I for one am not complaining about VAR - it's the absurd rule changes I'm against.

10-01-2020, 11:26 PM
Then attacking players could deliberately try to hit the ball off the defender's hand.

A defender isn't going to try to hit a forward's hand in order to stop a goal being given.
I said to my wife at the start of the season that would happen eventually.

11-01-2020, 12:46 AM
Moyes having a giraffe saying West Ham might have deserved even more than a draw from that game!

The daft handball rule has done them for a draw but they wouldn’t even have deserved that, they got played off the park second half.
Moyes didn't make a great case for himself with his nonsensical rant about people who have played the game know it's a good goal. What does that mean lol? VAR did its job but the rule itself is daft.

11-01-2020, 12:50 AM
I said to my wife at the start of the season that would happen eventually.

They already have.

11-01-2020, 03:40 AM

People like Jamie Carragher going mad last night at West Ham's goal being disallowed and saying VAR's ruining the game and the goal should have stood etc, would have been the very same people this time last year saying how Sheffield Utd would be feeling hard done by and that the goal was fortunate to have stood.

I agree in the cases of offside, VAR's taken that too far and there really ought to be clear daylight between the attacker and the second last defending player in order for an offside call to be given.

Drawing lines on the TV which shows the attacker's kneecap was 0.1mm offside and therefore the goal's chalked off is a nonsense but in general I think it's a positive.

11-01-2020, 05:35 AM
VAR is anti-football - Loved by rules geeks but hated by spectators.
Rules are being changed for the benefit of VAR rather than the betterment of a sport.

11-01-2020, 05:40 AM
Rules are being changed for the benefit of VAR rather than the betterment of a sport.

The decision is correct. That IS the betterment of sport. Remember when our own Rod Petrie coined the phrase sporting integrity? VAR is giving football it’s integrity back on the pitch.

11-01-2020, 06:00 AM

People like Jamie Carragher going mad last night at West Ham's goal being disallowed and saying VAR's ruining the game and the goal should have stood etc, would have been the very same people this time last year saying how Sheffield Utd would be feeling hard done by and that the goal was fortunate to have stood.

I agree in the cases of offside, VAR's taken that too far and there really ought to be clear daylight between the attacker and the second last defending player in order for an offside call to be given.

Drawing lines on the TV which shows the attacker's kneecap was 0.1mm offside and therefore the goal's chalked off is a nonsense but in general I think it's a positive.

Yes, fully agree. There has to be clear daylight in offside decisions.

Also think common sense needs to apply with the handball rule. The Henry one - yes, advantage was gained. The Gareth Bale one from early in the season - no, the ball run down his arm for a fraction of a second, but no advantage was gained.

11-01-2020, 08:11 AM

Geeks v supporters?

https://youtu.be/B3iUDg6JEo0

If there really is such a division, which I doubt, I don't think either group is pleased that VAR didn't exist when things like the above used to happen.

VAR has stopped it.

11-01-2020, 08:21 AM
The decision is correct. That IS the betterment of sport. Remember when our own Rod Petrie coined the phrase sporting integrity? VAR is giving football it’s integrity back on the pitch.

The decision was correct, the rule is nonsense.

It’s all about preventing goals. A handball wouldn’t have been given against the defender in that instance. Unless they’d broke away and scored a goal of course.

11-01-2020, 08:45 AM
The decision was correct, the rule is nonsense.

It’s all about preventing goals. A handball wouldn’t have been given against the defender in that instance. Unless they’d broke away and scored a goal of course.

It’s not aimed at the prevention of goals though is it? The meaning behind it is to assist the referee in the award of goals/major decisions within a game. So using your example if the defender had handled the ball, won it, then played a blinder of a pass and a goal came from it it would still be the correct decision because the outcome has a major influence on the game.

11-01-2020, 11:04 AM
It’s not aimed at the prevention of goals though is it? The meaning behind it is to assist the referee in the award of goals/major decisions within a game. So using your example if the defender had handled the ball, won it, then played a blinder of a pass and a goal came from it it would still be the correct decision because the outcome has a major influence on the game.

I think in those circumstances, a goal would be given.

Otherwise it's a penalty, but it's not.

11-01-2020, 11:28 AM
Big round of applause for the Palace cheerleaders! 👀

11-01-2020, 12:10 PM
1-0 Arsenal Aubameyang

11-01-2020, 12:11 PM

The handball rule favours the team defending in that you wouldn’t get a penalty or free kick given against you for most handballs, but you’ll ALWAYS get a goal disallowed if there is a handball in the lead up to it.

11-01-2020, 12:26 PM
Alloa v Arbroath postponed, thought they had a plastic pitch?

11-01-2020, 12:37 PM
Alloa v Arbroath postponed, thought they had a plastic pitch?

Plastic pitches can still flood. Add to that, spectator comfort and safety, and there could be sufficient grounds for postponement.

11-01-2020, 12:56 PM
Aubameyang red card on VAR... correct!

11-01-2020, 01:05 PM
Plastic pitches can still flood. Add to that, spectator comfort and safety, and there could be sufficient grounds for postponement.

You mean like under the gazebo😀

11-01-2020, 01:39 PM
David Luiz taking a long range free kick and almost certain to score. Said nobody ever.

SJNB Hibby
11-01-2020, 03:05 PM
Are Sunderland starting to come good? Good win last week and now 3-0 up at half time to leaders Wycombe. Could potentially be only 3 points back of automatic promotion by the end of the day

11-01-2020, 03:05 PM
Noticed Osman Sow on the bench for Dundee United after returning from Killie

11-01-2020, 03:16 PM
Dundee Utd and Shankland flying

Really need to stop him next week and we stop them

BS44
11-01-2020, 03:18 PM
Dundee Utd and Shankland flying

Really need to stop him next week and we stop them

Dundee United should be more concerned about stopping the Welsh goal scoring machine 😎

11-01-2020, 03:22 PM
Shankland again.

Couldn’t be playing them in any better form

11-01-2020, 03:24 PM
Shankland again.

Couldn’t be playing them in any better form

He hasnt scored for 2 matches, hat trick today against a poor Partick team doesnt make him Messi

NC1875
11-01-2020, 03:26 PM
He hasnt scored for 2 matches, hat trick today against a poor Partick team doesnt make him Messi

Let’s not kid on he’s not a good player. Rangers fan Brother-in-law is at the game and says Shankland is brilliant.

11-01-2020, 03:27 PM
Next Sunday will be the first time Dundee United have played a decent team this season. That Championship is poor

11-01-2020, 03:30 PM
Let’s not kid on he’s not a good player. Rangers fan Brother-in-law is at the game and says Shankland is brilliant.

Thats not what I said, but as others have said - the level of that league is crap. He gets loads of space and time to show his good finishing.

He wont get that against us, or as much of the ball.

It will be more like their derby v Utd where he was totally anonymous.

11-01-2020, 03:57 PM
Edinburgh City unbeaten at home all season then they go lose to Queens Park and burst my coupon :rolleyes:

11-01-2020, 04:24 PM

True. But he has scored 78 goals in the last 3 seasons. 50 of these in the last season and a half.

11-01-2020, 04:26 PM
Dundee utd are flying and tbh despite what league they are in i reckon they might sneak a win against us tbh.

11-01-2020, 04:28 PM
Dundee utd are flying and tbh despite what league they are in i reckon they might sneak a win against us tbh.

At least be honest about it

11-01-2020, 04:54 PM
LFC are lining up to score! Come on Spurs!

11-01-2020, 05:08 PM
Spurs 0 v 1 Liverpool

11-01-2020, 05:09 PM
Thank **** Liverpool scored. Couldn’t be arsed watching a team try to deploy Mourinho’s anti football tactics for 90 minutes

11-01-2020, 05:15 PM
Southampton turn around after that hammering by Leicester is amazing. Perfect example of not panicking.

11-01-2020, 05:18 PM
Thank **** Liverpool scored. Couldn’t be arsed watching a team try to deploy Mourinho’s anti football tactics for 90 minutes

Bang on , Spurs are better than they are under his terrible tactics.

11-01-2020, 05:23 PM

Yup. But Mourinho is having to make do with what Levy has given him - which is not a lot once Kane and Sissoko are gone. He is the problem. He's failed to build on the success that Spurs had in recent years.

I agree though that Mourinho's tactics are out of date. But really, LFC would beat anyone on this form. They are the best team in the world - with the brightest manager too.

11-01-2020, 05:24 PM
I always thought Jose would be a great fit for our neighbours. Both love anti football and a lack of excitement.

11-01-2020, 05:55 PM
I think Liverpool are modeling themselves on Stendals Hearts and adopting their world famous high press.

11-01-2020, 05:57 PM
I think Liverpool are modeling themselves on Stendals Hearts and adopting their world famous high press.

Gomez is playing like Berra. He's lucky he's got #4 next to him (van dijk, not souttar).

11-01-2020, 06:24 PM
Liverpool very lucky to win that.

Tommy75
11-01-2020, 06:35 PM
Yup. But Mourinho is having to make do with what Levy has given him - which is not a lot once Kane and Sissoko are gone. He is the problem. He's failed to build on the success that Spurs had in recent years.

I agree though that Mourinho's tactics are out of date. But really, LFC would beat anyone on this form. They are the best team in the world - with the brightest manager too.

I find it interesting that you say 'the success that Spurs had in recent years' - I personally don't think Spurs have been all that successful over the last few years. A run of top 4 finishes and a CL final is obviously a decent return but no trophies to show for their efforts is pretty poor IMO.

berwickhibee
11-01-2020, 06:42 PM
Liverpool very lucky to win that.

Not at all. In total control.

If spurs had scored, Liverpool would have went and got a winner.

11-01-2020, 06:44 PM
I find it interesting that you say 'the success that Spurs had in recent years' - I personally don't think Spurs have been all that successful over the last few years. A run of top 4 finishes and a CL final is obviously a decent return but no trophies to show for their efforts is pretty poor IMO.
Spurs haven’t won the League Title for sixty years. That’s twice as long as Liverpool have avoided it!

11-01-2020, 06:53 PM
Not at all. In total control.

If spurs had scored, Liverpool would have went and got a winner.

Liverpool had enough to win it. I'd be raging if I was a Spurs fan , Mourinho's tactics were terrible.
He won't last long there.