View Full Version : Offside goal

03-08-2019, 05:26 PM
Anyone seen a replay? Didn't look offside to me at the time.

HibeeHibernian4
03-08-2019, 05:27 PM
Looked like one of those where once the player finishes it he looks really offside, but in fact he’s onside when the ball’s played. Happy to stand corrected, though

03-08-2019, 05:28 PM

Apparently well onside according to those seeing replays on Hibs TV and also Radio Scotland.

03-08-2019, 05:28 PM

Not a great spot to judge from the halfway line but I also struggled to think why it was off side?

Tug Wilson
03-08-2019, 05:38 PM
Looked well onside to me.

VAR!

03-08-2019, 05:38 PM
I was away at the other end but my head usually shoots round to look at the lino. Didn't bother this time as it didn't look close albeit from a long way away. It will be another shocking decision against us, two already, and I suspect we are far more likely to see another go against us than for us next week and for that matter in the weeks to come. Vela's booking was another example of us being treated differently as their players challenge on Horgan looked far worse and we never even got a foul.

03-08-2019, 05:40 PM
I thought he was behind tha ball when Jackson (I think) headed it. If that's three games in a row we've had a goal ruled offside when it wasn't it's a shambles.

03-08-2019, 05:44 PM
Useless cheating sfa bar stewards

Never offside in a million years

Newall header off the post, Flo puts it over the line. He came from behind Newall when he had the header

Another empty sfa apology probably not pending - unless you’re TheRangers

Cheats not incompetent - they tried to cost us the win today

03-08-2019, 05:45 PM
Theres no way it was offside, would be interesting to see a screenshot though, twice already this season the exact same type of goal has been chopped off

03-08-2019, 05:46 PM
Once we scored St Mirren were full of holes. That goal stands then we go on to win by three or four IMO.

03-08-2019, 05:46 PM
Having seen it again it was a shocker of a decision.

I also don't understand why their number 8 escaped without a booking for going right through the back of Allan about half way up his calf. That was as clear a booking as you'll see but the ref barely even looked at it.

03-08-2019, 06:00 PM
The linesman wasn't up on play the whole game, I watched him make a few decisions where he clearly guessed the outcome as he wasn't in line, shoddy

03-08-2019, 06:01 PM
Lewis Forfar has posted this photo of it on twitter

https://twitter.com/lewisforfar/status/1157710060421820416?s=21

Skol
03-08-2019, 06:04 PM
I assumed the header mustve been offside because Kamberi defo wasnt

03-08-2019, 06:09 PM
Clearly not offside.Another terrible decision and the season has hardly started.The SFA must get a grip with their training off officials.

03-08-2019, 06:10 PM
I assumed the header mustve been offside because Kamberi defo wasnt
I think this is the case. I thought Newel was just off although the flag was even later than usual.

03-08-2019, 06:11 PM
I think this is the case. I thought Newel was just off.

Definitely not. The keeper went to take the free kick from about the penalty spot and the ref made him go back to six yard line. Indicates that the offside was against Flo

03-08-2019, 06:13 PM
Definitely not. The keeper went to take the free kick from about the penalty spot and the ref made him go back to six yard line. Indicates that the offside was against Flo
Is that not where Newel is?

03-08-2019, 06:13 PM
I think this is the case. I thought Newel was just off although the flag was even later than usual.

No way the flag was for Newell. He definitely flagged for Flo.

03-08-2019, 06:14 PM
Once we scored St Mirren were full of holes. That goal stands then we go on to win by three or four IMO.

Exactly

03-08-2019, 06:16 PM
Newell did look offside and the party line will be that it was Newell to save embarrassment for the official

Torto7
03-08-2019, 06:17 PM
Just another honest mistake. Nothing to see here, I'm sure next week will be perfectly officiated. These things even themselves out etc. :rolleyes:

03-08-2019, 06:19 PM
These decisions are getting embarrassing. If it was one of the Glasgow clubs they would be rioting and the press would be demanding action against officials.

03-08-2019, 06:25 PM
Check out Lewis Forfar’s Twitter, there’sa photo and Doidge wins the header in the 6 yard box, Kamberi is 2 yards outside the six yard box.

Awful, awful decision.

03-08-2019, 06:28 PM
Check out Lewis Forfar’s Twitter, there’sa photo and Doidge wins the header in the 6 yard box, Kamberi is 2 yards outside the six yard box.

Awful, awful decision.
In that case it was a different incident because it was Newell that headed against the post.

03-08-2019, 06:30 PM

I also don't understand why their number 8 escaped without a booking for going right through the back of Allan about half way up his calf. That was as clear a booking as you'll see but the ref barely even looked at it.

And then booked Vela for what was his first foul..........

03-08-2019, 06:34 PM
In that case it was a different incident because it was Newell that headed against the post.

Newell looked offside to me from where I was sitting (which is a good viewpoint for the incident) but if the Lino gave it against him then he was awfully late with his flag.

03-08-2019, 06:35 PM
Newell looked offside to me from where I was sitting (which is a good viewpoint for the incident) but if the Lino gave it against him then he was awfully late with his flag.

Nope, waited til flo put it in and did it on the goal line rather than 6 yard line.

03-08-2019, 06:35 PM
No way it was for the header it was for Kamberi and I was right in line with it in the West upper and everyone round about me knew as soon as he scored it he was miles onside. Shocking decision and am no saying they are corrupt I just think they are really ***** our officials

03-08-2019, 06:36 PM

Was it not for use of the elbow? Doesn’t make the fouls on Allan (or James) any less of a yellow but Vela’s looked a yellow to me.

03-08-2019, 06:36 PM
Is that not where Newel is?

Aye. But if its within the 6 yard box, it can be taken anywhere in the 6 yard box. The Lino stood on the goal line and raised his flag. He absolutely gave flo offside.

03-08-2019, 06:37 PM
Was it not for use of the elbow? Doesn’t make the fouls on Allan (or James) any less of a yellow but Vela’s looked a yellow to me.

Yes, a definite yellow from where I was sitting. Unintentional, probably, but he did catch the guy square on the pus.

03-08-2019, 06:38 PM

To be fair it was a forearm smash right into the guys jaw.
Whilst I think the officials had a few shocking decisions today let's not go into full paranoia mode

InchHibby
Never offside, said it at the time, seen the replay, decisions like this have cost us a few points over the years.

Horgan had been caught square on the coupon five minutes before and nothing given.

Have to see it again, wrong side of me but if it was an elbow, fair dos

Ref frustrating though, the one on Allan was right through the back, yellow nailed on - nowt.

Later, Mackie did an innocuous foul in front of us and the ref was in his ear - wierd.

03-08-2019, 06:39 PM
Aye. But if its within the 6 yard box, it can be taken anywhere. The Lino stood on the goal line and raised his flag. He absolutely gave flo offside.

Is this one of the new laws? I've certainly never heard of it before 🤔

03-08-2019, 06:42 PM
Is this one of the new laws? I've certainly never heard of it before 🤔

Apologies, made an arse, should have said anywhere in th 6yard box.

Have just checked lewis forfar's twitter again. It is Newell in the photo not Doidge.

03-08-2019, 06:42 PM

Ref frustrating though, the one on Allan was right through the back, yellow nailed on - nowt.

Later, Mackie did an innocuous foul in front of us and the ref was in his ear - wierd.

Agree the one on Scotty was a shocker - and if he'd given it then James wouldn't have been injured a few seconds later with another poor challenge.

03-08-2019, 06:45 PM
Horgan had been caught square on the coupon five minutes before and nothing given.

Vela still a yellow from where I’m sitting. Seen Horgan go down but I didn’t think anything of it at the time.

03-08-2019, 06:46 PM

I’m not jumping to the refs defence but if that’s the Mackie foul in the SouthWest corner then it looked a yellow too to me if I’m honest!

03-08-2019, 06:49 PM
Lewis Forfar has posted this photo of it on twitter

https://twitter.com/lewisforfar/status/1157710060421820416?s=21

That’s a goal

03-08-2019, 06:51 PM

No 8 kept fouling the whole game and almost nicked an equaliser

03-08-2019, 06:53 PM
Corrupt sfa bar stewards

03-08-2019, 06:55 PM

To be fair it looked like he led with the arm from where I was sitting

03-08-2019, 06:56 PM
Definitely have offside against Flo. He was actually standing on the bye line when he out his flag up. If it was against Newell he would have been at least 8 metres further up the park. A scandalous decision again

Kavinho
03-08-2019, 07:38 PM
Who was the lino who made the call today?

A wee record of who's made shocking decisions during the term would be interesting to see at seasons end

03-08-2019, 07:49 PM

It wasn’t as he already had a warning and the arm across the face was a yellow in itself

03-08-2019, 08:41 PM
No 8 kept fouling the whole game and almost nicked an equaliser

Ryan Flynn I think?

03-08-2019, 08:44 PM
Ryan Flynn I think?

Ex Falkirk and reputed Hibby?

03-08-2019, 08:53 PM
Takes the shine off the score because having seen the still imagine it was WELL onside!

03-08-2019, 09:00 PM

Same incident, just got the player wrong.

03-08-2019, 09:07 PM
To be fair it looked like he led with the arm from where I was sitting

He definitely did and it could easily have been a red.

Have seen them given for less

03-08-2019, 09:18 PM
The name of the game is points and we took the maximum 3.
Hopefully we will get a decision going our way when we need it.

Dunfermline supporters have a lot more to moan about this weekend.

03-08-2019, 09:30 PM
No chance Newell was offside and now it looks (as suspected at the time) Kamberi was well onside as well. It wasn't even close. Looks like YET AGAIN another terrible decision by an official denies Hibs.

Wasn't much chat about it on Sportsound post-match, but these things need to be highlighted as they are material - especially with England getting VAR. Makes the game in Scotland look increasing dodgy and amateur.

03-08-2019, 09:32 PM
The name of the game is points and we took the maximum 3.
Hopefully we will get a decision going our way when we need it.

Dunfermline supporters have a lot more to moan about this weekend.

But thats a few that have gone against us now. You ok with that?

03-08-2019, 10:20 PM
"These things even themselves out".

Which to the referees means that since they unfairly penalised the home team this week, they will give the home team everything next week to make up for it.

03-08-2019, 10:23 PM
Just seen it. Newell was miles onside. A farcical decision.

03-08-2019, 10:40 PM
3 in 3 competitive games, absolutely joke. Scottish referees are shocking

03-08-2019, 10:46 PM
But thats a few that have gone against us now. You ok with that?

I was when the final whistle was blown.
Obviously I want a decision when we need one.

Was increasingly desperate for a break before Allan scored!

03-08-2019, 10:46 PM
3 in 3 competitive games, absolutely joke. Scottish referees are shocking

These things even themselves out over the season :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

We can expect plenty decisions to go out way.

03-08-2019, 11:17 PM
Absolutely shocking. Newell 2 yards onside. Flo 2 yards onside as well.

Shambles.

03-08-2019, 11:26 PM
Absolutely shocking. Newell 2 yards onside. Flo 2 yards onside as well.

Shambles.

It was a brutal decision. 5 competitive games so far this season, 3 good goals wrongly ruled out.

03-08-2019, 11:39 PM
It was a brutal decision. 5 competitive games so far this season, 3 good goals wrongly ruled out.

The big problem is nothing will be done.

I'd really like the club to say something public about this one. If it wasn't for the late goal it would have cost us 2 points.

You can guarantee if Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen or Hearts had these decisions in this space of time it'd be in the press and the SFA would be getting hammered. Levein, McInnes etc would never stop going on about it.

I genuinely believe that unless we put a spotlight on this it'll just keep happening. Refs think twice about giving a penalty against The Rangers as they know they won't live it down if its the wrong call.

Man Down Under
04-08-2019, 12:41 AM
I think it was pressure from the St Mirren players that made him make the call. I suspect he wasn't sure, and saw the defenders claim quite persistently for offside so gave it.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

04-08-2019, 01:53 AM
For all the negativity VAR gets, its incidents like this which makes it a necessity.

04-08-2019, 09:35 AM
For all the negativity VAR gets, its incidents like this which makes it a necessity.

Unfortunately VAR gets a bad name because it isn't just used for the clear and obvious errors against Elgin and St Mirren, but to bring the game to a complete halt whilst a referee studies slow motion replays from a dozen angles to decide if the attacker had a fingertip offside.

It'll only work if they do what happens in other sports (eg cricket, NFL) and stick with the call on the field unless there is a blatant error.

04-08-2019, 09:42 AM
Unfortunately VAR gets a bad name because it isn't just used for the clear and obvious errors against Elgin and St Mirren, but to bring the game to a complete halt whilst a referee studies slow motion replays from a dozen angles to decide if the attacker had a fingertip offside.

It'll only work if they do what happens in other sports (eg cricket, NFL) and stick with the call on the field unless there is a blatant error.

Absolutely true, but its needed, especially with our hapless officials, it wasn't the Pars and Dundee who determined the score Friday night, it was the officials with two dreadful penalty decisions awarded to Dundee.

04-08-2019, 11:20 AM
Crikey

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190804/e06fd876eeb8cb7fcb89a0058037c3cc.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190804/0e659431f309b1e2acb2e6c245e932c8.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

04-08-2019, 11:22 AM
Looks pretty conclusive to me. Good effort from Newell to get onto that ball, good follow up from Flo to score.

Linesman right in line too, makes you wonder wtf is going on. Poor officiating.

04-08-2019, 11:24 AM
That is ***** especially given the linepersons view is clear.
Human error.
Will keep happening until we have VAR.

04-08-2019, 11:25 AM
Stokes, 3 minutes.

04-08-2019, 11:25 AM
The standard of officiating in this country is a disgrace. Week after week we are seeing incidents like this (the second one in 8 days for us!) and nothing's done about it.

It's an absolute scandal.

04-08-2019, 11:26 AM
That is utterly disgraceful

To have almost identical decisions in the space of a week is shocking.

04-08-2019, 11:27 AM
Seems to be a few blatantly onside goals for us ruled out as offside building up against us

Kamberi x 2 and Shaw

Starting to think conspiracy theories and such like but they say the breaks even out over a whole season

We are due a change of fortune

Chorley Hibee
04-08-2019, 11:29 AM
If this was Celtic or Rangers he'd have phoned their manager to offer an apology by now.

Corrupt to the core!

Seems to be a few blatantly onside goals for us ruled out as offside building up against us

Kamberi x 2 and Shaw

Starting to think conspiracy theories and such like but they say the breaks even out over a whole season

I'm sure it will even itself up next week at Ibrox...

I’m sure we’ll get a few 50/50 decisions in our favour at Ibrox next week to even it out a bit...

04-08-2019, 11:33 AM
I wonder what the percentage of key decisions in these situations go to defending teams? To me, it seems like the incidence of “ good” goals ruled out wrongly far out weighs the number of actual offside goals given?

04-08-2019, 11:36 AM
I like that this thread has the suffix 'Competition'. What's the competition, name a worse decision involving Hibs? :greengrin

04-08-2019, 11:38 AM
False.
OK now what do I win

04-08-2019, 11:38 AM

Chorley Hibee
04-08-2019, 11:44 AM

I can't wait for some of the utterly incredulous decisions they have ready for that game.

Chorley Hibee
04-08-2019, 11:45 AM
Stokes, 3 minutes.

David Gray 90 + 2 minutes.

04-08-2019, 11:50 AM

Kamberi x 2 and Shaw

Already we've had 3 shocking decisions, which luckily haven't cost us in terms of league points or qualifying as a seed in the LC. At this rate though, it won't be long before it costs us.

04-08-2019, 12:26 PM
The standard of officiating in this country is a disgrace. Week after week we are seeing incidents like this (the second one in 8 days for us!) and nothing's done about it.

It's an absolute scandal.

It's humans they are **** at seeing two things at once

04-08-2019, 12:44 PM
That is ***** especially given the linepersons view is clear.
Human error.
Will keep happening until we have VAR.

Human error?? just plain cheating??

Wasn’t even borderline clear onside for both.

04-08-2019, 01:02 PM
It's humans they are **** at seeing two things at once

I can see my cat in front of the TV and the TV at the moment. Humans are actually very good at seeing more than one thing at once. The linesman was just guessing yesterday. It’s either further training needed for linesmen or there’s something more sinister going on. I assume it’s the former.

04-08-2019, 03:27 PM

As I said yesterday, the officials will make up for getting decisions wrong against the home team yesterday by giving the home team everything next week.

04-08-2019, 07:31 PM

Agree. The rugby version works for me. Ref call on the TMO and asks a specific question he doesnt abrogate responsibility. In the the NFL both sides get I think 3 calls to have a decision reviewed. Now tgat would work for me.

Criswell
04-08-2019, 11:45 PM
Another "apology" from an official heading our way no doubt. Seems like this is a recurring theme which is happening too often to us. Malpractice or gross incompetence?

Crazyhorse
04-08-2019, 11:53 PM
Looked well onside to me.

VAR!

Rantic won’t want VAR - it will cost them both a bunch of penalties which the officials are liable to suddenly see when either of the bigot brothers are in trouble in a game.

05-08-2019, 12:04 AM
The lino was in a perfect position … I presume he got the gig because he is regarded by the SFA / SPFL as one of the top 30 or so officials in Scotland, but if he cant get that decision right what hope is there of him getting the tight ones right .. I watched most of the televised games in the women's world cup and barely saw a decision as bad as that from female officials who aren't getting paid £600 a game or whatever it is we are paying these guys.

They need to bloody well shape up, because getting it so badly wrong in what should be a no brainer decision for a competent official is completely unacceptable and if it happens again I will expect Hibs to have some pretty strong words in the press after the game.

JXM73
05-08-2019, 08:10 AM
Could it have been given for suspected handball, ball seemed to hit kamberi's thigh before knockin it in....no way can it be offside....

05-08-2019, 08:18 AM
Call it for what it is blatant cheating. Kamberi for some reason seems unpopular with officials. They are all based in west of Scotland and no doubt moan to each other about players. No way would an of player been cheated out of 2 goals like this in a week. Honest mistake my erse.

05-08-2019, 08:22 AM
Still find it incredible that last season Kamberi was constantly being pulled up for backing in yet Ikpeuzu at Hearts got away with it all season. Why are certain players refereed differently up here?

05-08-2019, 08:28 AM
The lino was in a perfect position … I presume he got the gig because he is regarded by the SFA / SPFL as one of the top 30 or so officials in Scotland, but if he cant get that decision right what hope is there of him getting the tight ones right .. I watched most of the televised games in the women's world cup and barely saw a decision as bad as that from female officials who aren't getting paid £600 a game or whatever it is we are paying these guys.

They need to bloody well shape up, because getting it so badly wrong in what should be a no brainer decision for a competent official is completely unacceptable and if it happens again I will expect Hibs to have some pretty strong words in the press after the game.

Hecky nailed it when he said it was worse than the Elgin decision and he never thought he would be saying that especially within just over one week

05-08-2019, 08:29 AM
Could it have been given for suspected handball, ball seemed to hit kamberi's thigh before knockin it in....no way can it be offside....

Nope. Linesman flagged it for offside. By pointing his flag across the pitch. If it had been for handball, he would have waved it, then pointed it up the pitch. Kamberi would also have been booked.

05-08-2019, 08:37 AM
Newell was at least a yard on. Kamberi at least two or three. An absolutely atrocious decision made even worse by the fact that nobody was exactly in full flow - I could almost understand if the attacker was at full pelt towards goal and the defender stepped out but this was so blatant.

05-08-2019, 08:39 AM
Hecky nailed it when he said it was worse than the Elgin decision and he never thought he would be saying that especially within just over one week

Is the linesman from the Elgin game an SPL linesman? I’m not sure how it works in the cups, do the lower league refs/linesmen sometimes get bigger games?

Either way this one was definitely as bad as Elgin. Both shocking decisions and I’ve got to say, other than the Hanlon goal against Dunfermline about 7 seasons ago we never get decisions being made that wrong in our favour. Since that decision we’ve been on the wrong end of a hell of a lot of truly dreadful decisions.

05-08-2019, 08:39 AM
Newell was at least a yard on. Kamberi at least two or three. An absolutely atrocious decision made even worse by the fact that nobody was exactly in full flow - I could almost understand if the attacker was at full pelt towards goal and the defender stepped out but this was so blatant.

That’s a good point. Everybody was pretty much standing still.

How he managed to see that as offside is beyond me.

05-08-2019, 08:43 AM
Maybe we are paying the price for Hecky saying he’d have punched a fourth official’s teeth in if he was given the chance :greengrin

05-08-2019, 08:52 AM
Is the linesman from the Elgin game an SPL linesman? I’m not sure how it works in the cups, do the lower league refs/linesmen sometimes get bigger games?

Either way this one was definitely as bad as Elgin. Both shocking decisions and I’ve got to say, other than the Hanlon goal against Dunfermline about 7 seasons ago we never get decisions being made that wrong in our favour. Since that decision we’ve been on the wrong end of a hell of a lot of truly dreadful decisions.

Douglas Ross Tory MSP for Moray

Listed on Wiki as a football referee ran the line in the 2015 Scottish Cup Final

ElginHibbie
05-08-2019, 01:54 PM
Douglas Ross Tory MSP for Moray

Listed on Wiki as a football referee ran the line in the 2015 Scottish Cup Final

He's MP these days, he also ran the line at last year's cup final and fell on his arse which was the highlight of the match

05-08-2019, 02:22 PM

He's officiated in many Premiership matches.

05-08-2019, 04:25 PM
Maybe we are paying the price for Hecky saying he’d have punched a fourth official’s teeth in if he was given the chance :greengrin

Would bet it didn't go unnoticed.