View Full Version : If you could have any player in history play for Hibs in his prime, who would it be?

02-08-2019, 07:31 PM
Based on this season's team, which player would you add from history to add to this team?

I'd probably add Dennis Bergkamp. The thought of him playing off passes from Scotty Allan and Stevie Mallan is just the stuff footballing dreams are made of.

02-08-2019, 07:32 PM
Patrick Gordon Stanton

02-08-2019, 07:33 PM
If it's past history I'd see if I could find a place for Ronaldenhio 😁

02-08-2019, 07:40 PM
Patrick Gordon StantonHaving seen King Paddy in that era I concur.

I'd find a place for George Best though.

02-08-2019, 07:41 PM
Socrates, imagine him conducting the midfield then going out on the lash every weekend......

02-08-2019, 07:54 PM
Joe Baker. Capped for England at. 18 whilst at Hibs. Took them 40 years to cap another player whose debut for England was by a player who did not play in any English team.

hhibs
02-08-2019, 07:56 PM
Joe Baker. Capped for England at. 18 whilst at Hibs. Took them 40 years to cap another player whose debut for England was by a player who did not play in any English team.

Yes indeed !

huggie1875
02-08-2019, 07:58 PM
Patrick Gordon Stanton

Gordon?? that's the worst spelling of god ever :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

02-08-2019, 07:59 PM
Any Hibs player - Gordon Smith. Heard so many stories about him that I would love to have seen if they were true
Any player - Diego Armando Maradona. Genius who single handedly won a league for Napoli and a world cup for Argentina

Turnbullsmate

Absolutely... an extra fiver a week would have kept him at ER, Scandalous....having said that my pick would be wee Mickey Edwards ...total genius in my eyes

Maradona 1986.

02-08-2019, 08:00 PM
Gordon?? that's the worst spelling of god ever :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Naw that’s Alan Gordon but King Paddy was slightly better

The poster that said George Best at his height had a valid point

02-08-2019, 08:00 PM
Messi 2012

02-08-2019, 08:01 PM
Ronaldo (Brazilian) in his Barcelona prime.

02-08-2019, 08:11 PM
Best and Baker are great shouts. I’ll go with a player who never wore our shirt though.
This team needs a striker so for me it would have to be Denis Law.

sauzee=legend
02-08-2019, 08:12 PM
Conrad Logan.....

02-08-2019, 08:12 PM
John McGinn 2019

yonder1875
02-08-2019, 08:13 PM
Lionel Messi, the best player of all time playing for the best club of all time.

02-08-2019, 08:15 PM
For players I really recall watching it would be Ronaldo from his time at Barcelona, for that season he was practically unplayable. Had he stayed fit there would be no contest who the greatest player ever was, even with knees that were shot to pieces he lit up the 2002 WC.

02-08-2019, 08:16 PM
Ronaldiniho There is s clip on u tube where he does keepie upie and gets 33 BLINDFOLDED. Amazing

02-08-2019, 08:16 PM
Ronaldo, either of them to be fare. Best or Le God in their prime would have been amazing though. Oh aye and erm...........Maradona as well I suppose.

Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 08:17 PM
Lionel Messi, the best player of all time playing for the best club of all time.

i always regarded our club as the best of all time............................

02-08-2019, 08:22 PM

i always regarded our club as the best of all time............................

Although he's wrong about Messi, I think you've picked him up wrong :wink::greengrin.

02-08-2019, 08:27 PM
Gabriel batistuta. Would be perfect striker for our current system.

Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 08:27 PM
[QUOTE=Turnballsmate;5868294]

Although he's wrong about Messi, I think you've picked him up wrong :wink::greengrin.

quite possibly DH...i think he meant best team but in no way would surmise his thoughts or assume
...:aok:

02-08-2019, 08:33 PM
[QUOTE=DH1875;5868301]

quite possibly DH...i think he meant best team but in no way would surmise his thoughts or assume
...:aok:

I'm pretty sure he means Messi playing for Hibs :tee hee:

02-08-2019, 08:38 PM
Ronaldinihi. There is s clip on u tube where he does keepie upie and gets 33 BLINDFOLDED. Amazing

Up there with Messi as the best player I have seen play football

02-08-2019, 09:01 PM
With Squirrel out, gotta be Messi to play on the right.

But the player I think would bring it all together would be peak Viera. Our midfield would dominate everyone.

02-08-2019, 09:02 PM
Zemmama

02-08-2019, 10:14 PM
Levein.... so he can at last pick up a cup final medal (unused sub) and finally retire.

02-08-2019, 10:16 PM
Steve Archibald
Andy Goram

CloudSquall
02-08-2019, 10:17 PM
Maradona

02-08-2019, 10:19 PM
Kirk Broadfoot

02-08-2019, 10:20 PM
Maradona or Eusebio.

03-08-2019, 12:14 AM
Stanton. Class in a glass. virtually unbeatable. I cried the day he went to Celtic.

03-08-2019, 12:50 AM
Craig Levein.

03-08-2019, 01:38 AM
Maradonna is the greatest player to ever play the game so it would have to be him, but my favourite all time player was Ronaldinho. I’d have loved to see him play for us, a true genius with a football.

03-08-2019, 01:57 AM
Me

supermcginn
03-08-2019, 02:06 AM
Sauzee

Mixu62
03-08-2019, 03:05 AM
Zidane. Almost as good as McGinn.

DetroitHibs
03-08-2019, 06:22 AM
Crying out for a big skillful target man. Going with Zlatan.

03-08-2019, 06:26 AM
Pele
George Best

03-08-2019, 06:32 AM
Aguero

03-08-2019, 06:45 AM
Van basten for me, the guy was just class

Bangkok Hibby
03-08-2019, 07:15 AM
At his best...George Best, for me the greatest ever. If we could sign someone in his style but even a fraction of his ability we'd do very well.

03-08-2019, 07:16 AM
Ryan Giggs. Always one of my favourite players, fast, attacking, direct and a fast player.

03-08-2019, 07:17 AM
Gordon Smith

03-08-2019, 07:19 AM
Messi on the basis he is the best human to ever kick a football. Not even Hearts 6ft 5 hatchet men could kick him off the ball in full flow.

03-08-2019, 08:37 AM
Just for the hertz game and to give them a touch of their own medicine, Big Bad John McNamee and Andoni Goikoetxea as a centre back pair.

03-08-2019, 08:41 AM
Craig Levein.

Naw guys a jinx

Pete70
03-08-2019, 09:15 AM
Diego Maradona for me

03-08-2019, 09:17 AM
Stanton. Class in a glass. virtually unbeatable. I cried the day he went to Celtic.

You were not alone there.
I think Pat may have shed a tear too.

My pick here is
Bobby Moore. West Ham and England

Pat may have agreed with that.
Moore ,of course, playing in the same era as Pat.
I know that Jimmy O'Rourke would have had Bobby among his favourite players of that era.(or any other)

Like Pat and Sauzee ,Bobby appeared to "glide" through games.
Made football look easy.

03-08-2019, 09:22 AM
If selecting from previous Hibs stock then it's gotta be Bestie late 60s early 70s. Imagine if he'd been one of Turnbull's Tornadoes. It wouldn't just have been seven!
Mind you, Turnbull wouldn't have stood for his playboy lifestyle and he'd prob have offloaded him before 1.1.73 if the 'Tic offered to buy him for £20,000.

03-08-2019, 09:22 AM
You were not alone there.
I think Pat may have shed a tear too.

My pick here is
Bobby Moore. West Ham and England

Pat may have agreed with that.
Moore ,of course, playing in the same era as Pat.
I know that Jimmy O'Rourke would have had Bobby among his favourite players of that era.(or any other)

Like Pat and Sauzee ,Bobby appeared to "glide" through games.
Made football look easy.
Snap, pat leaving was terrible.

Got to be Frank.

03-08-2019, 09:26 AM
To bypass Gordon Smith, Pat Stanton and Franck Sauzee seems ridiculous, but it has to be George Best - the greatest.

03-08-2019, 09:26 AM
George Best for me. He did the types of things Messi is currently doing with a heavy ball and sharp studded defenders kicking him up and down all the while on a pitch that resembled Tiny during a battle of the Somme recreation whilst being half cut. From more recent times it would be Maradona. If it was a player who played for us and a position we needed filled currently then Mixu might be a shout. Held the ball up brilliantly and scored his fair share too.

cocteautwin
03-08-2019, 10:09 AM
John McGinn 2021 version. At his Man City £80m peak.

03-08-2019, 10:19 AM
David Gray.

03-08-2019, 10:29 AM

Out of curiosity do you know who was the next player and how many have done that since? Sancho comes to mind but can't be many that have done that?

03-08-2019, 10:43 AM
Gordon Smith.

03-08-2019, 10:44 AM
Maradona

By far the best footballer I’ve seen

03-08-2019, 10:45 AM
Patrick Gordon Stanton

Another vote from me

03-08-2019, 10:46 AM
Zlatan.

03-08-2019, 10:49 AM
Out of curiosity do you know who was the next player and how many have done that since? Sancho comes to mind but can't be many that have done that?

Owen Hargreaves was next after Joe Baker.

03-08-2019, 11:00 AM
Prime Ronaldinho. Not the greatest player ever but still wonderful and imo the most entertaining by a mile.

Here’s Lucy!
03-08-2019, 11:25 AM
I’m torn between three:

Zidane
Best
Beckham

03-08-2019, 11:28 AM
Pat Stanton.

The best Hibs player I ever saw.

But I’d sneak Jimmy O’Rourke in there too, he added something to that side too, that is difficult to see in current times.

03-08-2019, 11:37 AM
Non Hibs then Messi.

03-08-2019, 11:40 AM
George Best. Nobody else close.

03-08-2019, 11:52 AM
Owen Hargreaves was next after Joe Baker.

Was with Byn Munich when he made his England debut I think.

Here’s Lucy!
03-08-2019, 11:56 AM
If it was just Hibs, then I would probably opt for Cropley.

Barman Stanton
03-08-2019, 12:07 PM
Maradona without any doubt.

Saint Hibee
03-08-2019, 12:39 PM
Matt Le Tissier.

03-08-2019, 01:44 PM
If it was just Hibs, then I would probably opt for Cropley.

John Collins for me. Andy Goram was genuinely the best goalie in the world at one point also.

heid the baw
03-08-2019, 03:36 PM
If you are looking at a player in their prime playing in a hibs team of the same time, then I would want Dalglish. Put him in the tornados whilst weakening celtic as well. We would win everything.

03-08-2019, 08:26 PM
Hibs player: Gordon Smith!
Never saw him but my dad did, and the general consensus in Scottish Football from all those privileged to see him was/is that he was a footballing God.
His record of winning the league with not just Hibs, but Hearts and Dundee is unprecedented and incredible.

Other player: Lionel Messi.
The things that this guy can do/has done on the football field, puts him on another planet.

Bob Box Fish
03-08-2019, 08:29 PM
Joe T without a doubt

DetroitHibs
04-08-2019, 04:24 AM
Matt Le Tissier.

One of the most underrated players of yesteryear.

Crunchie
04-08-2019, 06:32 AM
If we're talking ex Hibs players it has to be George Best for me.

If we're talking non Hibs it has to be Maradona.

04-08-2019, 06:41 AM
Maradona, mid to late 80's edition. Unsurpassed IMO.

04-08-2019, 06:48 AM
Joe T without a doubt

:not worth