View Full Version : **** Beer

02-08-2019, 06:36 PM
Pravha by Staropramen.

Is not bollocks. Like all the **** fake imported beer its made in Burton on Trent and tastes like most ****ty British lager.

Avoid!!

02-08-2019, 06:49 PM
Pravha by Staropramen.

Is not bollocks. Like all the **** fake imported beer its made in Burton on Trent and tastes like most ****ty British lager.

Avoid!!Staropramen Czech brewer was owned by Bass... from Burton on Trent 😆

02-08-2019, 06:53 PM
Staropramen Czech brewer is owned by Bass... from Burton on Trent

That's the problem you have with all of those "brewed in the UK under license" beers. One of the main ingredients is water. If it all comes from the same place then basically you are using the same ingredient for all the different beers. The water quality, soft/hardness and general make up of can make a huge difference to beer flavour

02-08-2019, 06:58 PM
I drink San Miguel and Amstel. Works for me.

02-08-2019, 07:00 PM
I drink San Miguel and Amstel. Works for me.

That or a peroni or moretti does the trick

02-08-2019, 07:32 PM
That's the problem you have with all of those "brewed in the UK under license" beers. One of the main ingredients is water. If it all comes from the same place then basically you are using the same ingredient for all the different beers. The water quality, soft/hardness and general make up of can make a huge difference to beer flavourMany years back I worked with Tennents brewers at the Gyle depot, truck after truck came up from Tadcaster full to the gunnels with Tennents lager, that was distributed to pubs throughout the lothians, Fife, Dundee and beyond, punters knew what it was and it wasnt Tennents lager. I drank in the Right Wing pub and I was also a Drayman and delivered their beer regularly, I got a hard time from my mates and locals, I knew it was Carling 😆

02-08-2019, 09:01 PM
I was at Guiliano's last week for a meal and as I don't drink wine I asked for a beer. I was offered Peroni or a local beer with Edinburgh in the name. I opted for the local "beer", which in fact turned out to be a lager. Somewhat put out by the strange taste I sent a sample to a local laboratory to find out the ingredients. They called me back and said "I'm sorry to have to break the news to you, but your horse has diabetes".

02-08-2019, 09:15 PM
I was at Guiliano's last week for a meal and as I don't drink wine I asked for a beer. I was offered Peroni or a local beer with Edinburgh in the name. I opted for the local "beer", which in fact turned out to be a lager. Somewhat put out by the strange taste I sent a sample to a local laboratory to find out the ingredients. They called me back and said "I'm sorry to have to break the news to you, but your horse has diabetes".

It's astonishing the number of restaurants that don't know the difference between lager, beer and ale. Fortunately tonight I had an ipa of Irish origin in a chain steak restaurant in Newcastle, still not a patch on the Brewdog I had earlier.

02-08-2019, 09:54 PM
Pravha by Staropramen.

Avoid!!
I don’t mind it tbh, I agree about the fake imported beer thing though. They try and make it look like it’s the genuine stuff, but it’s not. The proper stuff is totally different.

02-08-2019, 10:37 PM
That's the problem you have with all of those "brewed in the UK under license" beers. One of the main ingredients is water. If it all comes from the same place then basically you are using the same ingredient for all the different beers. The water quality, soft/hardness and general make up of can make a huge difference to beer flavour

Rolling Rock was gorgeous when it came from Pennsylvania. Now it's Tenants.

02-08-2019, 10:38 PM
That or a peroni or moretti does the trick

Avoid Peroni gluten free. I know!! It was a mistake!!

02-08-2019, 10:41 PM
Staropramen isn't considered particularly special in Prague I discovered. There are more tasty beers to savour.

02-08-2019, 10:42 PM
Staropramen isn't considered particularly special in Prague I discovered. There are more tasty beers to savour.

Pilsner Urquell in Prague is top notch.

02-08-2019, 10:48 PM

I had a beer in Prague once which had a small freshwater crab swimming in the bottom of it!!

Prefer peanuts as a bar snack!!

I love the dark lager you get there.

02-08-2019, 11:24 PM

Have to agree.

Proper Pilsner Urquell in Prague, or further afoot in Czesky is a righteous beer, even if the head is thirty or forty percent of the glass :greengrin

Tank beers are worth seeking out too. The beer sits in a huge tank rather than a keg. If you like the hoppiness that you get with Czech pilsner then tank beers just taste a wee bit better.

02-08-2019, 11:25 PM
I had a beer in Prague once which had a small freshwater crab swimming in the bottom of it!!

Prefer peanuts as a bar snack!!

I love the dark lager you get there.

The dark beers (lagers) are nice, a different taste for U.K. palates

03-08-2019, 04:23 AM
Staropramen isn't considered particularly special in Prague I discovered. There are more tasty beers to savour.When I was in Prague I was drinking Staropramen dark, must admit I had never heard of it, but it was a really nice pint or ten 😆

03-08-2019, 06:30 AM

The dark beers (lagers) are nice, a different taste for U.K. palates

There’s a place called Zero Degrees in Blackheath that brews black lager and it’s lovely.

05-08-2019, 06:16 AM
When I was in Prague I was drinking Staropramen dark, must admit I had never heard of it, but it was a really nice pint or ten 😆

Krusovic was the one we liked - available in dark or mixed form too!

What I remember is there were lots of "ladies who lunch" in the pubs drinking beer at all times. Total culture change from here.

Lendo
05-08-2019, 07:17 AM
I've just discovered a golden pale ale called Ossian by the Inveralmond Brewery in Perth. Defo worth buying a few bottles in your next shop.

Calvin
05-08-2019, 02:47 PM
It's astonishing the number of restaurants that don't know the difference between lager, beer and ale. Fortunately tonight I had an ipa of Irish origin in a chain steak restaurant in Newcastle, still not a patch on the Brewdog I had earlier.
My favourite thing is seeing places that advertise a great range of "lagers and beers."

Reminds me of the bit in the IT Crowd where Moss says "but memory IS RAM!"

Cataplana
05-08-2019, 03:01 PM
Got a fetish for Blue Moon at the moment, also a nice a IPA from the Campervan Brewery - Leith Juice.

Tennents is sh te of course, and that Guinness Hop House range is mince.

Times were I liked a strong lager like Stella, but the days of sessions are past. I look for something with flavour these days.

05-08-2019, 03:10 PM
I've had a pretty ****ty day at work so I've been trying to stave off leaving a bit early and going via the pub.

But this thread has convinced me it's a great idea - you *******s :greengrin

05-08-2019, 03:44 PM

If that's about the second cheapest lager over there (or was 10 years ago) it's possibly the best I've ever tasted. :agree:

05-08-2019, 04:01 PM
Drink whatever you like not what others tell you to like. 🍺

05-08-2019, 04:07 PM
Drink whatever you like not what others tell you to like. 🍺

This. I hear a lot that the likes of Fosters and Carling are crap lagers or pisswater but they seem to be the most popular in the uk so they cant be that bad!

Cataplana
05-08-2019, 04:12 PM
This. I hear a lot that the likes of Fosters and Carling are crap lagers or pisswater but they seem to be the most popular in the uk so they cant be that bad!

It's all about what people like, never understood why folk make it into a competition.

05-08-2019, 04:30 PM
I love trying new beers and have a lot of favourites that fall into the 'craft' category. There are some days when I just fancy a pint of Tennents though. It's familiar and a fresh, well kept pint is great, I don't care what anyone says.

I posted on another thread that I love finding bars that still serve cask ale using the old Aitken tall founts. I was in the Abbotsford on Saturday and had a stout and a pale ale, both from the Cromarty brewery, out of them and the difference is noticeable from the more popular hand pull. The Bow Bar still uses them as well.

09-08-2019, 10:26 AM
Love a pint of Budweiser. Most others I can give or take.

09-08-2019, 10:29 AM
I love trying new beers and have a lot of favourites that fall into the 'craft'. There are some days when I just fancy a pint of Tennents though. It's familiar and a fresh, well kept pint is great, I don't care why anyone says.

I posted on another thread that I love finding bars that still serve cask ale using the old Aitken tall founts. I was in the Abbotsford on Saturday and had a stout and a pale ale, both from the Cromarty brewery, out of them and the difference is noticeable from the more popular hand pull. The Bow Bar still uses them as well.

A good pint of Tennents beats everything else hands down imo.

09-08-2019, 04:29 PM

I second this massively.

I find an ale day to be really hard work unless it’s a session beer like TT Landlord or something.

The Borders Brewery do a few good ones, Foxy Blonde being my favourite.

09-08-2019, 08:36 PM
I second this massively.

I find an ale day to be really hard work unless it’s a session beer like TT Landlord or something.

The Borders Brewery do a few good ones, Foxy Blonde being my favourite.

I like all of those but Tenants is pish.

10-08-2019, 12:14 AM
Tenants is a decent pint compared to some of the pish I’ve drunk down south. I spent a week in the north of England last year and I could’ve murdered a pint of Tenants by the end of the week. It’s not my favourite, but it’s my lager of choice when drinking in Leith.

10-08-2019, 05:49 AM

Get out of it!

10-08-2019, 05:58 AM

The first pint of cold Tenants on a warm day pisses all over any beer/ale for refreshment.

10-08-2019, 06:05 AM
Its ****ing Tennents !!!! 🤬😆

I worked with Tennents for years and drunk my body weight in the stuff during my time, it was a great pint many years ago, probably the best that came out of the Heriot brewery, fresh, crisp and actually had taste, way too many chemicals in it now and just isnt the same. I will agree though, if a hot day with a thirst then sinking a cold pint of the stuff beats any ale hands down 😆

10-08-2019, 06:34 AM

Foster's is truly vile. It sells well because it's the cheap option.

10-08-2019, 07:17 AM
I just discovered Brewdogs 5am saint...absolutely cracking pint.

10-08-2019, 09:28 AM
Each to their own as I said earlier, although I recently discovered a fine pint of lager in a pub in Darlington (Freedom Lager), have yet to see it anywhere else.

24-10-2019, 12:27 PM
Used to pick up cans of Moretti when the stuff was imported from Italy and it was really lovely. Picked some up this week, tasted awful, now brewed here in Edinburgh. Are there any decent lagers that you can pick up in the supermarket that aren't all brewed locally or in Burton-on-trent these days?!! Can't drink Tennents, the taste is not suited to my taste buds at all :greengrin

24-10-2019, 12:34 PM
https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/292915750

I enjoy these. Shame they're now £5 instead of £3.60 up here though!

Are they classy? Nope. Do they taste nice? Yup. Is the full amount just enough to get a 4 pint buzz? Yup.

24-10-2019, 12:39 PM
Stella from draft is a cut above the rest imo. Makes Tennants taste like fizzy water back to back.

24-10-2019, 02:06 PM
A pint of Heverlee in Winstons is my favourite lager.

24-10-2019, 02:12 PM
A pint of Heverlea in Winstons is my favourite lager.

I like a Heverlee, Innis & Gunn too.

24-10-2019, 02:22 PM
Stella from draft is a cut above the rest imo. Makes Tennants taste like fizzy water back to back.

I've had that the last couple of times I've been out and really enjoyed it.

24-10-2019, 02:25 PM
I've had that the last couple of times I've been out and really enjoyed it.

I find it can vary. You can really tell when Stella has came from a clean tap or not. A clean pint goes down a treat.

24-10-2019, 02:34 PM

Did the tour of the Stella Brewery when I was in Leuven, the pint at the end was glorious.

Should be noted though, it's nowhere near the polished experience that Heineken and Guinness are!

24-10-2019, 02:36 PM
Used to pick up cans of Moretti when the stuff was imported from Italy and it was really lovely. Picked some up this week, tasted awful, now brewed here in Edinburgh. Are there any decent lagers that you can pick up in the supermarket that aren't all brewed locally or in Burton-on-trent these days?!! Can't drink Tennents, the taste is not suited to my taste buds at all :greengrin

Beervana - https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/299964829

btw I think the big Moretti bottles are still the real imported stuff.

24-10-2019, 02:41 PM
A pint of Heverlee in Winstons is my favourite lager.

I do enjoy a Winston's Heverlee and I may well be sampling it again next Friday. 👍

24-10-2019, 02:50 PM
Did the tour of the Stella Brewery when I was in Leuven, the pint at the end was glorious.

Should be noted though, it's nowhere near the polished experience that Heineken and Guinness are!

I love Leuven, one of my favourite places to visit.

24-10-2019, 02:55 PM
Camden Hells :agree:

24-10-2019, 03:54 PM
For heath reasons, I rarely drink beer these days but I had a pint of Finlaggan IPA when I was over on Islay last weekend. Maybe it’s because beer is a rare treat, but I found it really good.

Frankhfc
24-10-2019, 04:04 PM
I'm partial to St Peter's Plum Porter which I buy from Morrison's. Broughton's Old Jock, Cairngorm's Wildcat and American Shipysrd IPA are favourites among many others. I'm forever buying new ones that come on the market as its is still a growing one. I quite like Polish Tyskie which is not too bad either.

24-10-2019, 04:26 PM
Try some of the Polish stuff, Lech is decent

24-10-2019, 05:43 PM
Might've mentioned it before but, Pentonville Oyster Stout is a magnificent winter pint.

24-10-2019, 07:34 PM
Beervana - https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/299964829

btw I think the big Moretti bottles are still the real imported stuff.
The label on the 660ml bottles says brewed in the uk by Heinekein.

Godsahibby
24-10-2019, 07:53 PM

A good pint of Tennents out of a Carling glass. The way the Carling pint glasses are made makes it a much livelier pint!

24-10-2019, 09:08 PM

Can recommend Lazy Ass Donkey lager!

25-10-2019, 10:04 AM
https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/292915750

I enjoy these. Shame they're now £5 instead of £3.60 up here though!

Are they classy? Nope. Do they taste nice? Yup. Is the full amount just enough to get a 4 pint buzz? Yup.

On that theme. Whenever I’m on holiday in France. These must be bought. Perfect for necking on a hot day. Small enough to never get warm.

https://www.carrefour-calais.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/3/0/3080216048017.0.e.png

25-10-2019, 11:38 AM
On that theme. Whenever I’m on holiday in France. These must be bought. Perfect for necking on a hot day. Small enough to never get warm.

https://www.carrefour-calais.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/3/0/3080216048017.0.e.png

That reminds me of skiing in France when I was younger (and could afford to go skiing), piling into those in a cosy chalet whilst they chill in the snow outside.

Kronenbourg is another one of those beers that is immense overseas and nothing like the same when you have it here.

25-10-2019, 12:25 PM
That reminds me of skiing in France when I was younger (and could afford to go skiing), piling into those in a cosy chalet whilst they chill in the snow outside.

Kronenbourg is another one of those beers that is immense overseas and nothing like the same when you have it here.

Agree. Far superior in France. Agree, not only to be quaffed in sunshine but also essential for French skiing holidays. (Especially if you could stop off on the way to resort and pick up a load prior to getting to the crazy Alpine resort prices).

25-10-2019, 12:48 PM
I used to like 33 Export (nobody else I knew did) which is another French beer, not saw it for years though.

25-10-2019, 07:28 PM
West 4 is tremendous.

stuart-farquhar
26-10-2019, 06:01 PM
West 4 is tremendous.

Their marketing is all this "Big Glaswegian heart " stuff I noticed. Aye ok then.

26-10-2019, 06:37 PM
Their marketing is all this "Big Glaswegian heart " stuff I noticed. Aye ok then.

Don't really care about the marketing to be honest. It's the taste of the beer that matters.

27-10-2019, 12:22 AM
Timothy Taylor Landlord

Close the thread.

27-10-2019, 06:25 AM
I like how a thread entitled "**** beer" has just turned into a stream of people posting their personal favourites :greengrin

27-10-2019, 07:08 AM
I like how a thread entitled "**** beer" has just turned into a stream of people posting their personal favourites :greengrin

Negative threads are just for The Main Forum! 😉

27-10-2019, 08:16 AM
Timothy Taylor Landlord

Close the thread.

Good or bad? 😉 I find it a bit meh.

27-10-2019, 11:44 AM
Good or bad? 😉 I find it a bit meh.

I drove into York last night and had a pint in the York Tap while I was waiting to meet my wife off the train.

It was absolutely sublime. Try it if it's on next time you're here.

That and Caledonian 80 are my favourite beers.

27-10-2019, 11:56 AM

Good point.. I’d like to nominate Miller as the *****st beer in the world.

27-10-2019, 11:58 AM
I drove into York last night and had a pint in the York Tap while I was waiting to meet my wife off the train.

They have renamed Caley 80 'Edinburgh Castle' now.

It's a decent beer. I find myself being more drawn towards older style heavy beers these days. The higher malt content is a refreshing change from the generic high hopped American style IPAs that everyone is doing. For every good one of those there are about 10 that are bang average bandwagon jumpers.

27-10-2019, 12:30 PM
West 4 is tremendous.

I had a pint of the draft stuff in Teuchter's Landing on Friday. Horrible chemical tasting pish. Used to be good in there as well but it's been a couple of years since I was in.

28-10-2019, 12:11 PM

I had some of this last week. In a similar vein to Caley 80/- but a bit better I think ...

https://cdn.webshopapp.com/shops/268442/files/234106738/768x1024x2/fyne-ales-highlander.jpg

All their beer that I've tried has been good. The extra-hoppy Jarl is a bit more commonplace.

28-10-2019, 12:13 PM
btw, similar to Moretti above, the Staropramen I nearly bought in Tesco yesterday was brewed in the UK. A sad day. :boo hoo:

28-10-2019, 01:17 PM
btw, similar to Moretti above, the Staropramen I nearly bought in Tesco yesterday was brewed in the UK. A sad day. :boo hoo:

Proper Czech brewed beer is glorious.

I had some Pilsner Urquell at the White Horse in Parsons Green. Supberb.

https://www.standard.co.uk/go/london/pilsner-urquell-a-taste-of-the-original-pilsner-8685793.html?amp

28-10-2019, 01:29 PM
Proper Czech brewed beer is glorious.

I had some Pilsner Urquell at the White Horse in Parsons Green. Supberb.

https://www.standard.co.uk/go/london/pilsner-urquell-a-taste-of-the-original-pilsner-8685793.html?amp

I am in Praha just now but sadly having to fly back in a few hours.

If there is a finer draught than a tankevé pivo of Pilsner Urquell then I have yet to find it. Never mind it comes with a head of 25-35%. It is simply gorgeous.

Frankhfc
03-11-2019, 08:22 PM
Currently enjoying several bottles of Belhaven's Speyside Oak Aged Blonde Ale. A nice drop. Will be following that up with a bottle or two of my favourite St Peter's Plum Porter.

nellio
04-11-2019, 01:23 PM
Was drinking Sam Adams and Brooklyn lager when I was in the states.

Better than the bang average, Bud Light and Coors light, miller light that's usually served up.

04-11-2019, 01:32 PM
Was drinking Sam Adams and Brooklyn lager when I was in the states.

Better than the bang average, Bud Light and Coors light, miller light that's usually served up.

America's beer scene has completely transformed in the past decade or so. They have a ton of fabulous breweries now and their craft scene is out of this world (especially in California IMO). Sam Adams and Brooklyn are both really nice (Sam Adam's Octoberfest is especially lovely), but my tastes are definitely more West Coast - Sierra Nevada, Anchor Brewing and Lagunitas are my "mass produced" go-tos when I'm feeling fussy.

The best beer I've ever tasted came from a California micro-brewery - Russian River's Pliny the Younger IPA. You almost get it nowhere outside of the brewery and people literally camp overnight in their carpark to taste this stuff. Absolutely incredible beer: https://russianriverbrewing.com/pliny-the-younger/?age-verified=de46a2f6c3