View Full Version : Hibs v Newcastle

Pages : [1] 2 3

30-07-2019, 03:13 PM
Only a few hours to kick off. What’s everyone’s thoughts on what sort of team we’ll start off with. Remember Hecky saying this was a great fixture to have, but would have preferred it not so close to the1st league game

I’m sure we’ll see 2 teams of players though

30-07-2019, 03:16 PM
Only a few hours to kick off. What’s everyone’s thoughts on what sort of team we’ll start off with. Remember Hecky saying this was a great fixture to have, but would have preferred it not so close to the1st league game

I certainly hope so, or it's gonna be a really boring game of football.

30-07-2019, 03:17 PM
Goalies to play 45 each.

Kamberi and Doidge to play 45 each.

Murray and Shaw both to start and probably play 90.

Players who were on the bench on Friday to start.

Loads of subs.

30-07-2019, 03:17 PM

There better be 2 teams out there Billy or I’m going radge .

30-07-2019, 03:18 PM
I certainly hope so, or it's gonna be a really boring game of football.

Think you know what I mean😄

30-07-2019, 03:18 PM
There better be 2 teams out there Billy or I’m going radge .

I’d love to see you go radge IP😄

30-07-2019, 03:25 PM
I’d love to see you go radge IP😄

I'm sure there have been a few radge IP Addresses over the years! What've I done 🙄

30-07-2019, 03:32 PM
I'm sure there have been a few radge IP Addresses over the years! What've I done 🙄

Come on Hutchy. You should know the protocol on here by now.

30-07-2019, 03:34 PM
Come on Hutchy. You should know the protocol on here by now.

Some of them must've been yours.

30-07-2019, 03:38 PM

You missed out the question mark. Fool.

30-07-2019, 03:48 PM
Some of them must've been yours.

Whoosh.

30-07-2019, 03:50 PM
Think there could be a seagull count tonight, going mental around my area just now

30-07-2019, 03:53 PM

Would like to see us starting with our strongest 11 available . Then once we’re a couple of goals up 😉change it 😁

30-07-2019, 03:57 PM
You missed out the question mark. Fool.

It wasn't a question, it was a statement.

30-07-2019, 04:07 PM

I hope people understand it is a friendly. The result has no bearing on the squad or the league season upcoming. Just in case we get pumped. :greengrin

30-07-2019, 04:16 PM
I hope people understand it is a friendly. The result has no bearing on the squad or the league season upcoming. Just in case we get pumped. :greengrin

Could very well be my age but I can’t remember us getting pumped at ER by any English team preseason.

30-07-2019, 04:22 PM

It’s almost like you’ve never visited Hibs.net before.

30-07-2019, 04:36 PM
Think Newcastle will be more up for it than us since we have our first game this weekend, however still think it will be a close game

30-07-2019, 04:43 PM
Heading along tonight. Good test against a team that should blow us away easily if you believe the Scottish football pub league jibes. Hopefully Newcastle take their foot off the gas at 0-5.

30-07-2019, 04:52 PM
Be lucky if there's 3k there tonight IMO.

30-07-2019, 04:56 PM
The Marksman over flowing with Newcastle fans, the ladies are living up to the stereotype clothes wise! 😛

30-07-2019, 04:58 PM

When was the last time we had 3k at any home game?

30-07-2019, 04:59 PM

I was thinking more along the lines of about 1200-1500

30-07-2019, 05:00 PM
I think we’ll be well beaten tonight. Come on Hibs, shut me right up.

30-07-2019, 05:03 PM
I think we’ll be well beaten tonight. Come on Hibs, shut me right up.More important we dont pick up any more injuries tbh dont really see the value of this so close to Sat and the league starting

30-07-2019, 05:06 PM

Plenty Newcastle fans kicking around up town

Cataplana
30-07-2019, 05:06 PM
Plenty Newcastle fans kicking around up town

Any wearing Stone Island?

30-07-2019, 05:08 PM
Any wearing Stone Island?

Some are wearing very little and i don't mean the lads

30-07-2019, 05:12 PM
More important we dont pick up any more injuries tbh dont really see the value of this so close to Sat and the league starting

That seems to be Hecky's view as well, which makes me wonder why they arranged it.

30-07-2019, 05:13 PM
That seems to be Hecky's view as well, which makes me wonder why they arranged it.Seems a bit of a pointless exercise to me...no need for a friendly imo after playing 4 cup matches but hey ho...just hope we dont pick up anymore injuries tonight

30-07-2019, 05:16 PM

If we do get pumped we may lose half of our young fan base to the Toon Army!

30-07-2019, 05:22 PM
A few Newcastle fans in the local pubs. Had a good crack with a coupe of groups of them, they aren't expecting to bring many up because of the general mix of anger and apathy amongst their fanbase. Bumped into a couple of guys I know from my trips to Newcastle; they are angry but fall into the home and away regardless bracket.

ER and surrounding areas is dead though, be lucky to break 6K tonight imo.

30-07-2019, 05:44 PM
Strong(ish) team, Slivka back:

Hibernian FC
@HibernianFC
·
1m
Starting XI - Marciano, James, McGregor, Hanlon (c), Mackie, Newell, Slivka, Mallan, Murray, Kamberi, Shaw

Subs - Maxwell, Whittaker, Vela, Horgan, Doidge, Jackson, Allan, Porteous, Stirling, Campbell, Gullan, Doig

Slivka starts. Porteous on the bench. Great news.

Wonder if newell and murray are playing wide or in a midfield role.

Aim Here
Starting XI - Marciano, James, McGregor, Hanlon (c), Mackie, Newell, Slivka, Mallan, Murray, Kamberi, Shaw Subs - Maxwell, Whittaker, Vela, Horgan, Doidge, Jackson, Allan, Porteous, Stirling, Campbell, Gullan, Doig

Slivka's back and Porteous is on the bench!

30-07-2019, 05:45 PM
Not bothering with this one, working later tonight anyway.

30-07-2019, 05:47 PM
Not bothering with this one, working later tonight anyway.

Part timer.

Your Uber status is under review.

Bob Box Fish
30-07-2019, 05:47 PM
Midfield is powder puff.

30-07-2019, 05:48 PM
Part timer.

In truth I really can't be arsed with pointless friendlies. Saves me £15 as well.

30-07-2019, 05:49 PM
In truth I really can't be arsed with pointless friendlies. Saves me £15 as well.

Tut tut away ST revoked with immediate affect.

30-07-2019, 05:50 PM
How many pre season games has allan actually started? Surely a half each or close to for all those

supermcginn
30-07-2019, 05:52 PM
Newcastle starting 11 at full strength.

30-07-2019, 05:54 PM
Some are wearing very little and i don't mean the lads

I mentioned that earlier, thought I was going blind.

30-07-2019, 05:54 PM

In which case we'll probably get hammered.

30-07-2019, 05:56 PM
Slivka starts. Porteous on the bench. Great news.

Wonder if newell and murray are playing wide or in a midfield role.

Shaw and Newell will be wide IMO.

30-07-2019, 05:57 PM
Tut tut away ST revoked with immediate affect.

Might be handing it back if the rumours about Rangers away tickets being £37 are to be believed.

30-07-2019, 05:58 PM
Decent team, looks like 4-3-3 maybe Murray on the right and Shaw left as he's played there a few times now. This is one friendly I'm not fussed about the result, Newcastle should be way too strong for us, need a decent run out.

30-07-2019, 06:01 PM
That starting line ups no the best.

30-07-2019, 06:02 PM
Definitely need a couple more bodies in midfield. One to cover/compete with Vela and a wide player with Boyle out.

Looking very light if we can't bring anyone else in.

30-07-2019, 06:07 PM

Including their new 40m Brazilian striker .

30-07-2019, 06:08 PM
Definitely need a couple more bodies in midfield. One to cover/compete with Vela and a wide player with Boyle out.

Looking very light if we can't bring anyone else in.Surely bring in a couple more bodies especially with the Boyle news today...really looking a bit light imo

30-07-2019, 06:09 PM
How many pre season games has allan actually started? Surely a half each or close to for all those

Has PH actually given Allan the opportunity for 90 minutes so far this season? The optimist in me hopes that he sees Allan as one of his ever presents and therefore is holding him back for the league campaign. On the other hand, it’s easy to start imagining all sorts of negative spins on why he is being used sparingly in these early season games.

30-07-2019, 06:12 PM
3-1 Hibs

30-07-2019, 06:14 PM
3-1 Hibs

Already?

That's impressive.

alihibs1
30-07-2019, 06:14 PM
Has PH actually given Allan the opportunity for 90 minutes so far this season? The optimist in me hopes that he sees Allan as one of his ever presents and therefore is holding him back for the league campaign. On the other hand, it’s easy to start imagining all sorts of negative spins on why he is being used sparingly in these early season games.

Played 90 vs Arbroath

30-07-2019, 06:16 PM
Weakness is midfield for us now.

30-07-2019, 06:17 PM
Might be handing it back if the rumours about Rangers away tickets being £37 are to be believed.

Don’t blame you, scandalous if true.

Wee Effen Bee
30-07-2019, 06:19 PM
Only if you have a predilection towards pessimism Jim. Surely the odds are equal with there being all sorts of positive spins why Allan has not started? I think it’s easier to believe he sees what Allan has and knows how to use him - it’s others he’s testing out...unless of course Hecky doesn’t rate him😁

30-07-2019, 06:22 PM
Correct, gave up on them years ago, no more than a kick about, no tackling etc.

30-07-2019, 06:29 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/live:bbc_radio_newcastle

Live radio coverage from BBC newcastle for those who arent there

30-07-2019, 06:30 PM
Some of the turnstiles shut in the FF stand and loads of folk struggling with the ones that are open, Queues a mile long. Good planning.

thegaffer12
30-07-2019, 06:33 PM
Good turnout from what I can see!

30-07-2019, 06:33 PM
We gonna get wrecked

penihibs
30-07-2019, 06:34 PM

Thanks for that buddy.

30-07-2019, 06:35 PM
Some of the turnstiles shut in the FF stand and loads of folk struggling with the ones that are open, Queues a mile long. Good planning.

Massive queues at east stand as well, only two turnstiles open at the far end

Bangkok Hibby
30-07-2019, 06:37 PM
Why is there a friendly between league cup and start of the season. Asking for trouble, I just hope everyone comes through unscathed and Shaw scores three.

Newcastle fans in the hibs end.

Clarence

I miss Rod

30-07-2019, 06:38 PM
Surely all the turnstiles are working? Could be carnage on saturday with 15-16k hibs fans at the game

30-07-2019, 06:38 PM
Is this on hibs tv for overseas viewers?

30-07-2019, 06:39 PM
Surely all the turnstiles are working? Could be carnage on saturday with 15-16k hibs fans at the game

Only hibs can muck something like that up mate.

Mr Grieves
30-07-2019, 06:42 PM

Same in the east, massive queues

Not surprised. Loads of Hibs fans who also follow Newcastle.

Not there 2nite but was a shambles at Alloa and Arbroath matches with turnstiles...clearly no lessons learnt

KDY Hibs

Cheers for that mate!

I don't really go out of my way to criticise the club but the start of this season really has reeked of complacency.It shouldn't be news that the season is underway and things should be working.Clearly they're not.

30-07-2019, 06:43 PM
Only Hibs

30-07-2019, 06:43 PM
If we don't sign a solid midfielder to compete for CM before the season starts I can't help but feel a lot of fans will be saying "I told you so" come Xmas time..

CM screams out as being very light when you look at that team sheet

30-07-2019, 06:47 PM
Is this on hibs tv for overseas viewers?

Yep

StevieHendo
30-07-2019, 06:49 PM
Yep

Im only getting audio? No screening from singapore

30-07-2019, 06:50 PM
I don't really go out of my way to criticise the club but the start of this season really has reeked of complacency.It shouldn't be news that the season is underway and things should be working.Clearly they're not.

Saturday will be a right laugh by the sounds of it

Only Hibs

To be fair. Turning up at a decent time before KO also helps.

Yeah no screen for me either. Only commentary unfortunately

30-07-2019, 06:51 PM
Good start, passing it nicely.

30-07-2019, 06:51 PM
Why is there a friendly between league cup and start of the season. Asking for trouble, I just hope everyone comes through unscathed and Shaw scores three.

I don't think it is a bad thing at all for Hibs to be playing a team of a higher standard than the ones we play against in the League Cup before we meet Premier League teams.

30-07-2019, 06:52 PM
Only Hibs

Yep, no other team has ever had turnstile issues. Only Hibs.

StevieHendo
30-07-2019, 06:53 PM
Anyone at all getting video on the game or just blank screen with audio? So i know if i need to fight with the prick before saturday cant miss our opener!

To be fair. Turning up at a decent time before KO also helps.

Those queues have been there for a good half hour now.

Yep, no other team has ever had turnstile issues. Only Hibs.

3 games in a row now.

30-07-2019, 06:55 PM
1-0 Hibs. Kamberi knockdown, Mallan with strike from 20 yards or so.

Slivka looking good so far considering it's his first match of pre season.

Goal!

e2los
Never a doubt!

30-07-2019, 06:56 PM
The turnstyles are clearly a massive issue that they haven’t got a handle on yet.

Clock is ticking for Saturday now, they’ll need a resolution before then.

What were we saying on the Mallan thread?

First of many

30-07-2019, 06:57 PM
sounded like a cracking goal ! Newcastle Radio very complimentary about Hibs so far.

:flag::flag:

Absolute beauty. We've played really well.

That Newcastle starting 11 are no mugs either by the way

30-07-2019, 06:58 PM
sounded like a cracking goal ! Newcastle Radio very complimentary about Hibs so far.

:flag::flag:

Do you have to sign up for this or is there a link?

Sounds like quite an atmosphere on the radio

Been in the queue for ages and now missed a goal. I'm off to the pub, will be pushing for my money back. Disgrace.

30-07-2019, 06:59 PM
Not surprised. Loads of Hibs fans who also follow Newcastle.

There might be potential for trouble between them and the section of our support who have developed a wee soft spot for for Mike Ashley.

30-07-2019, 06:59 PM
Do you have to sign up for this or is there a link?

30-07-2019, 07:00 PM

Thank you :thumbsup:

MileHighBees
30-07-2019, 07:01 PM
Anyone at all getting video on the game or just blank screen with audio? So i know if i need to fight with the prick before saturday cant miss our opener!

Stream was working fine for me right up until the goal was scored
Picture now frozen at Newcastle kicking off
Still getting audio

Edit: now getting video again but no commentary
Edit 2: video & audio working again now

Man Down Under
Im only getting audio? No screening from singaporeI'm getting video in Spain but it just froze after the first goal

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

Should have been 1-1. Slack on the left from Mallan and Mackie, cross in and free header missed from 7 yards.

Ooft

30-07-2019, 07:02 PM
1-1 now. Down the left again. Striker walked between Hanlon and Daz and couldn't miss.

Radio saying Hibs left back is getting ripped every time.

Not being played at a friendly pace. 1-1 well worked goal. They look very dangerous out wide

1-1

Bad goal to give away, mackie should have been a bit closer

30-07-2019, 07:03 PM
3-1 Hibs is still on

Silky

Surely this is something the fans reps should be actively pursuing with someone at the club? This has happened in every game so far and someone should be getting it tight.

Joe Newell needs to be getting back if we want to prevent them getting behind there so easily IMO

Left back is our big defensive weakness so far

Sounds like there was an argument for delaying kick off given the size of the crowds outside.

30-07-2019, 07:04 PM
Left back is our big defensive weakness so far

Always has been.

norhfc
30-07-2019, 07:05 PM
Got the game in HibsTv, very open and entertaining game so far, should be more goals. Hibs goal was a peach.

erin-go-bragh87
30-07-2019, 07:05 PM
Flo looking quality so far.

30-07-2019, 07:06 PM
Thank you :thumbsup:

Soon as you started listening they scored ! switch it off !! :grr:

erin-go-bragh87
30-07-2019, 07:07 PM

I’ve had video the whole game, quality has definitely improved.

Friendly or not he's never been known to shy away against big opposition.

Good open game so far.

HibeesLittleHel

Wrong

30-07-2019, 07:08 PM
Flo, Slivka, Mallan and James all impressive so far.

30-07-2019, 07:09 PM
Very entertaining game for a friendly so far. Mackie looks very exposed at LB, Newall not really helping him. Flo looking good, Slivka looks decent considering his lack of game time, CBs struggling a bit the movement of Newcastle up top.

30-07-2019, 07:09 PM
Mackie really needs to improve his defensive side

30-07-2019, 07:10 PM
Good save Rocky, CBs caught out again. Simple ball over the top exposed us.

Thought that looked a clear foul on Murray a minute ago.

Soon as you started listening they scored ! switch it off !! :grr:

That was the first thing I heard :rolleyes:

To be fair the commentators are being complimentary about Hibs so far. Saying a good attendance which is good to hear :aok:

So pleased he's back to his best. One of the first names on the team sheet for me.

Good save Rocky, CBs caught out again.

Dare I say a Hanlon & McGregor partnership at CB is past it?

hibby rae

I've brought two. Sorry my bad 😂

30-07-2019, 07:11 PM

How far away is Lewis Stevenson ?

Good save Rocky, CBs caught out again. Simple ball over the top exposed us.

That ball over the top caught us out a few times against Elgin as well. Need to deal with it better.

Mackie really needs to improve his defensive side

I worry about us down the left with Newell and Mackie likely to be first picks for the start of the season. It won't take long teams long to figure out where they can hurt us.

30-07-2019, 07:12 PM

Not far. He's in the stand.

Finding it hard against a team with signings worth over £60m is more than forgivable I think!

davhibby

McGregor is clearly our 4th choice when everyone is fit. Jackson and Porteous miles ahead

NC1875

That’s why Jackson was signed

Finding it hard against a team with signings worth over £60m is more than forgivable I think!

It is but it didn’t work too well last season either

Gypsy King
30-07-2019, 07:13 PM
Good to see young Murray on the wing :thumbsup:

Mon the Cabbage

Playing against some quality tho . 40m striker scored for them .

I'm like a broken record but another simple ball into the middle of the park see Daz dragged miles out of position again, a couple of passes on and a last ditch tackle sees us escape with conceding a corner.

Nae bad so far then?

30-07-2019, 07:14 PM
Since I turned it on been all Newcastle. I'm bad luck 😁

30-07-2019, 07:15 PM
Been in the queue for ages and now missed a goal. I'm off to the pub, will be pushing for my money back. Disgrace.

Looks like you missed 2 goals

30-07-2019, 07:16 PM
If we were playing this game tactically, as if it was worth points, there'd be absolutely no chance that we'd give the CBs so little protection FWIW.

We're playing a shape we could very easily be playing against Motherwell.

30-07-2019, 07:16 PM

hanlon getting dragged all over the shop...

30-07-2019, 07:17 PM
I'm like a broken record but another simple ball into the middle of the park see Daz dragged miles out of position again, a couple of passes on and a last ditch tackle sees us escape with conceding a corner.

I wonder if this could be the beginning of the end for Hanlon/McGregor as a partnership. Can see it being Jackson/Hanlon as part of a full strength team.

30-07-2019, 07:17 PM
Half hearted shout for a Hibs penalty. Would have been very soft.

30-07-2019, 07:18 PM
Always has been.

Hardly.

30-07-2019, 07:19 PM
McGregor is clearly our 4th choice when everyone is fit. Jackson and Porteous miles ahead
1st choice for me

30-07-2019, 07:19 PM

Seeing it again, I actually think he shifted the ball and had his legs taken out. Good move from Hibs anyway, great link-up play between James, Mallan, Flo and Newell.

30-07-2019, 07:20 PM
Always has been.

No it hasnt

Hardly.

And it won't be once again when Lewis is fit in a few weeks.

Mallan just passed the ball of the ref and he gave an uncontested drop ball. Is that one of the new rules?

Very soft. The tug afterwards was a free kick though as was the foul on Murray some 5 minutes or so back. Was good build up play before the penalty with some nice first touch interplay.

30-07-2019, 07:21 PM
1-2.

Mallan just passed the ball of the ref and he gave an uncontested drop ball. Is that one of the new rules?

Yes. Think its going to cause a bit confusion and unmerrited anger from the stands :greengrin

Always has been.

I’ll side with the ten or so managers who have had him as first choice left back if you don’t mind.

Too much time at edge of box and Newcastle get 2nd

Hardly.

Dinnae bite it's what he wants

What a goal that is.

Was the scorer of the 2nd the boy that man utd want?

30-07-2019, 07:22 PM
Was the scorer of the 2nd the boy that man utd want?

The very same

supermcginn
30-07-2019, 07:22 PM
Shaw is so poor its frightening.

30-07-2019, 07:23 PM
Great save Rocky. We are getting torn apart a bit at the back just now.

Too much time at edge of box and Newcastle get 2nd

Centre of midfield is empty again. Never any pressure on the ball.

Mr Grieves
Our defence is being ripped apart here

30-07-2019, 07:24 PM
The very same

Not a bad game so far but haven't seen anything yet to suggest he would improve man utd

30-07-2019, 07:25 PM
At least Daz still dominates all the aerial balls!

Gypsy King
30-07-2019, 07:26 PM

agree

30-07-2019, 07:27 PM

From me, around 220 miles.

30-07-2019, 07:27 PM
Radio slaughtering Hibs and Mackie in particular.

30-07-2019, 07:28 PM

And Hecky thinks we don’t need another striker.

Hibs been torn a new one here. That 40m quid boy looks good

From me, around 220 miles.

Sooner he is back the better then as Mackie is getting ripped apart :aok:

Slivka started well but has now resorted to standing beside their midfield and never offering an option for the defence to pass too. Needs to drop of his man and show for the ball more often.

30-07-2019, 07:29 PM
And Hecky thinks we don’t need another striker.

Does he?

That Brazilian striker is snapping ankles with his dribbling

His name has not been mentioned once in the radio commentary. Should have been moved on a season ago. Not good enough.

Whats the attendance looking like?

Wee Effen Bee

What radio? Radio Newcastle has been complimentary of a lot of Hibs play.

Silky
30-07-2019, 07:30 PM

Inside or outside?

Do they think we're playing St Mirren?

Always has been.

Nonsense...not all Players need to be Scott Allan type technicians ....Stevenson has been excellent for us over a number of seasons...

Inside or outside?

🤭

hibee316
His name has not been mentioned once in the radio commentary. Should have been moved on a season ago. Not good enough.

... against a Premiership team.

I don't think he is the strongest player, but your comment here is ridiculous.

Not Mackie though tbf.

Harsh to slaughter Hibs. We have had some good spells whilst clearly being 2nd best; our opponents have one striker who cost the same as it would to buy Hibs 10x over though so that's hardly a shock.

We look weak at the back, of the 3 youngsters only Murray doesn't look out of place and we are getting run a bit ragged at the back. On the positives we scored a good goal, Flo has had some nice touches, Mallan had 20 good minutes, Slivka has done OK and James looks very comfortable.

sean04
Thankfully we're no playing against 40million pound strikers and 50mill rated center midfielders every week 😂😂

I'd say around 9k

Sounds like we need to approach this game as if we are playing the OF in Glasgow ..

30-07-2019, 07:31 PM

Good job it’s just a pointless friendly, like you said.

Sooner he is back the better then as Mackie is getting ripped apart :aok:
:agree::wink:

They're not really are they...they have said that Mackie is struggling but have mostly been very complimentary about the team in general.

No they've not mate.

Saying Hibs poor in possession, creating ou own problems, Mackie getting slaughtered by the wingers ands final ball is gash. All this from the commentators.

erin-go-bragh87
30-07-2019, 07:32 PM
... against a Premiership team.

I don't think he is the strongest player, but your comment here is ridiculous.

It’s not ridiculous. Don’t know why people are so quick to defend him. He seems like a nice laddie but he’s just not good enough.

GreenPJ
Hibs been torn a new one here. That 40m quid boy looks good

You would kind of hope so :wink:

I'd say around 9k

Thats a decent turnout. How many geordies??

He’s been dreadful tonight. Again, unfortunately.

Good job it’s just a pointless friendly, like you said.

Shaw is still not good enough, pointless friendly or not.

sean04
30-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Sounds like we need to approach this game as if we are playing the OF in Glasgow ..

This is far better than rangers and Celtic were playing

Bottom teir pretty full. Couple of hundred in the upper.

Shaw is still not good enough, pointless friendly or not.

He hasnt been involved much so far but to be fair the quality is a lot better than what he will be up against in our league

3000 according to radio.

30-07-2019, 07:34 PM
Newcastle fans at bottom of south seem to be having a stand off with the stewards regarding banners

South probs about 2/3 full. Bottom tier packed

No chance.

Bottom teir pretty full. Couple of hundred in the upper.

Would have been good to have been there with my laddie. Especially seeing they have fielded a strong side

People moaning about some our players against decent a decent EPL team and some more than decent players in that Newcastle team.

Torto7
We've done quite well considering the ridiculous gap between a premiership team who are in 'crises' but can still afford a 45m striker and an spl team who aren't even at full strength.

I do have concerns about Mackie though and it didn't start today. He's not a left back for me.

hibee316
30-07-2019, 07:35 PM
It’s not ridiculous. Don’t know why people are so quick to defend him. He seems like a nice laddie but he’s just not good enough.

It is ridiculous as it is against a far superior team with resources that dwarf ours.

A poor performance here is equally down here to quality defending.

I think Shaw has a lot do do to make it at our level, but I'm not daft enough to hold this particular game against him.

Think we could be set for a fair few changes at HT. Pretty through warm up going in.

Just to clarify - Newcastle have at least one guy that cost £40 million playing, aye?

Some people seem to misunderstand what these matches are for - and dont modify their expectations accordingly :rolleyes:

sean04
30-07-2019, 07:36 PM
People moaning about some our players against decent a decent EPL team and some more than decent players in that Newcastle team.

Poor premiership team, they would win our league no problems. Majority of there team would walk in Celtics team

That 40m quid boy looks good

Surprising eh?

Wee Effen Bee
[QUOTE=Hermit Crab;5864739]No they've not mate.

Saying Hibs poor in possession, creating ou own problems, Mackie getting slaughtered by the wingers ands final ball is gash. All this from the commentators.

They’ve been critical of some of Hibs play and have singled out Mackie but they have also been complimentary about us which is why I take umbrage at your negativity. I see others disagree with you too!

Just to clarify - Newcastle have at least one guy that cost £40 million playing, aye?

Some people seem to misunderstand what these matches are for - and dont modify their expectations accordingly :rolleyes:

Still dont want to give away sloppy goals though

Think we could be set for a fair few changes at HT. Pretty through warm up going in.

Sure I read Hecky was going for two different sides each half.

Didn’t PH say he’d be playing two XIs tonight?

No chance.

Not far off 3000 going by this picture.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190730/ceca0358c097fd62f83d3b2dbd68242b.jpg

30-07-2019, 07:37 PM
Thought that was decent honestly. Played some lovely stuff in the opening 15. The difference in quality is obvious, but there's been some encouraging interplay between players who will be key for us this season, namely James, Mallan, Flo, Slivka and Murray.

A few subs could do us good, I think Horgan and Allan could hurt that Newcastle defence.

hibee316
30-07-2019, 07:38 PM

This in spades.

30-07-2019, 07:39 PM
Poor premiership team, they would win our league no problems. Majority of there team would walk in Celtics team

Finished 13th not that poor and they would walk this league you are correct

hibIBZ
30-07-2019, 07:40 PM
I thought we have done ok up against a far superior level of player. Defensively we have struggled, especially against their pace but green tinted specs off its and aging McGregor up against £40million. On the ball we have looked pretty sharp at times. Little touches here and there have gone wayward and against these players you will get punished

30-07-2019, 07:41 PM
No they've not mate.

Must have missed all that synopsis, they both said really open and enjoyable game. Jeez we're playing an EPL side who have been on tour and getting up to speed. We're up against a £40 million striker and midfielders between £10-20 million. This is definitely not a game to slaughter players - it's a great test and a game where no one will want to take unnecessary chances. We're playing a mid-table EPL side, folk really need to balance reality against expectation. Newcastle are excellent on the ball.

30-07-2019, 07:41 PM
It is ridiculous as it is against a far superior team with resources that dwarf ours.

A poor performance here is equally down here to quality defending.

I think Shaw has a lot do do to make it at our level, but I'm not daft enough to hold this particular game against him.

Ok, he was crap v Arbroath and Elgin. Lesser opposition and still cant do well.

30-07-2019, 07:42 PM
Better team winning. We started pretty well first 10 mins but Newcastle have been in total control since then. Could easily have scored 4/5 if it wasn’t for Marciano & poor finishing from them. They are cutting through us time and time again. Then again, we aren’t going to come up against this calibre of opposition week in, week out. Thank f***!

Really like the look of the new striker they have signed from Hoffenheim - Joelinton and also the midfielder that Man Utd are after - Sean Longstaff.

30-07-2019, 07:42 PM
Must have missed all that synopsis, they both said really open and enjoyable game. Jeez we're playing an EPL side who have been on tour and getting up to speed. We're up against a £40 million striker and midfielders between £10-20 million. This is definitely not a game to slaughter players - it's a great test and a game where no one will want to take unnecessary chances. We're playing a mid-table EPL side, folk really need to balance reality against expectation. Newcastle are excellent on the ball.

Wasting your time.

30-07-2019, 07:43 PM
[QUOTE=Hermit Crab;5864739]No they've not mate.

They’ve been critical of some of Hibs play and have singled out Mackie but they have also been complimentary about us which is why I take umbrage at your negativity. I see others disagree with you too!

Absolutely..they have been about equally critical and complimentary...but Hermit's pint couldn't be more half empty if he tried, moany git :greengrin

Did he not only get 10 minutes against arbroath? And didnt play against elgin?

No chance.

Looks like 2000-2500 to me.

We started well but we really need a holding mid. Daz is getting ripped to bits. Albeit by some quality players.

Joelinton looks a great signing for them. As said, we started well but the gap between the teams is large. Best game Mallan has had so far this season. Rocky playing well too.

crash
30-07-2019, 07:44 PM
Couple of quotes from Radio Newcastle;
"Hibs are inviting trouble with risky passing across the defence"
"The Hibs left back is pushing forward, leaving a massive space in behind which Newcastle should be exploiting more"
"Longstaff is being given too much freedom by the Hibs defenders"
Hopefully Porteous and Jackson can get a run H2.

[QUOTE=Wee Effen Bee;5864764]

Absolutely..they have been about equally critical and complimentary...but Hermit's pint couldn't be more half empty if he tried, moany git :greengrin

Half empty for Hibs, half full for the jambos.

hibee316

Agreed!

:)

Newcastle fans at bottom of south seem to be having a stand off with the stewards regarding banners

Wish they were as ruthless like that towards the OF & Hearts fans who do far worse than unfurling a few banners.

Games where he played a grand total of 19 minutes and we were leading in both games. Come on HC, you surely can't judge a player like that ?

jingler1954
30-07-2019, 07:45 PM
Not too happy with Marcianos distribution boots the ball up the park Newcastle attack repeat.

30-07-2019, 07:45 PM
This is far better than rangers and Celtic were playing

True, but we can be practicing a defensive stuffy formation with a team like this. Hang on this Hibs we are talking about..

Attack, Attack, Attackattacka-Tack

30-07-2019, 07:46 PM
Its a good game for us in my opinion. There is more to learn playing a strong team rather than playing guff we should be sweeping aside.

30-07-2019, 07:48 PM
Hibs at 25s in play well worth a punt

Have we made any subs? The radio dont seem to think so but sounded like the announcer was listing subs as he said it

hibee316
Games where he played a grand total of 19 minutes and we were leading in both games. Come on HC, you surely can't judge a player like that ?

I would love him to succeed but I really feel his decision making is miles behind where it will need to be.

But ok never know, if he properly works at it I think if he improves in that part of the game he could be really good.