View Full Version : HIBS v ST MIRREN LOTHIAN BUSES ON STRIKE

28-07-2019, 09:24 PM
LOTHIAN BUSES ON STRIKE

Hopefully might be resolved but Lothian Buses are due to go on strike on Friday 2/8/2019 coming for maximum effect to hit the Edinburgh Festivals and might disrupt services on the day of the big match

Lothian Buses advise customers to keep up to date on their Facebook page

28-07-2019, 09:41 PM
We could have an unofficial car share. People with spare seats could arrange to pick up and drop off those toiling for transport.

With the various social media platforms available to Hibs fans it could work.

JXM73
29-07-2019, 06:03 AM
Got 3 spare seats coming fae stirling 😂🤣

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 06:24 AM
We could have an unofficial car share. People with spare seats could arrange to pick up and drop off those toiling for transport.

With the various social media platforms available to Hibs fans it could work.

good thinking there :deal:

29-07-2019, 06:36 AM
Thanfully the privatisation of the bus services introduced much needed competition, like the Tories promised it would, so there's loads of alternative bus companies we can use instead.

👍

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 07:24 AM
Thanfully the privatisation of the bus services introduced much needed competition, like the Tories promised it would, so there's loads of alternative bus companies we can use instead.

👍

Bit political there Keith...go sit on the naughty step and put your tin helmet on :devil::devil::devil::devil:

29-07-2019, 08:06 AM

👍

Ok name them in Edinburgh...especially those who get you to ER

29-07-2019, 10:48 AM

Haha. I am confident the post was a piss take.

29-07-2019, 10:50 AM

Think you have been whooshed

Wee Effen Bee
29-07-2019, 10:57 AM
I think it will all be fixed today! Plans are afoot to resolve the situation this morning.

29-07-2019, 11:00 AM
Is it an ongoing strike then and not just for one day?

29-07-2019, 11:09 AM

Says it’s a discontinuous strike so I would assume a series of 1 day strikes until agreement is reached.

29-07-2019, 11:10 AM
Are the trams still on?

29-07-2019, 11:13 AM
Think you have been whooshed

But I need to know if I can catch a charabanc to the game on Saturday or if I shall have to engage a hansome cab🤔

29-07-2019, 11:16 AM
Assuming first buses, borders buses and east coast buses still running plus trains and trams.

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 11:27 AM
And i would walk 500 miles............. erm nah i'll wait for the buses to get back runnin

BS44
29-07-2019, 11:52 AM

At the moment it is all out from Friday at 3am

29-07-2019, 11:56 AM
At the moment it is all out from Friday at 3am

Cheers B. I might just stay in town all week then :greengrin

Do you think it'll be smoothed over by the end of this week?

29-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Assuming first buses, borders buses and east coast buses still running plus trains and trams.
East coast is part of Lothian Buses I think so they might be on strike as well.

BS44
29-07-2019, 12:15 PM
Cheers B. I might just stay in town all week then :greengrin

Do you think it'll be smoothed over by the end of this week?

Unless the council get involved I think industrial action will go ahead.

29-07-2019, 12:15 PM
Unless the council get involved I think industrial action will go ahead.

Cheers :aok:

29-07-2019, 12:26 PM

East coast buses are running.

29-07-2019, 12:34 PM
East coast buses are running.

The two services an hour* they provide from Abbeyhill to the Ciy Centre are gonna be pretty busy, though.

* I'm probably exaggerating, they might have as many as three.

29-07-2019, 12:38 PM

Whoosh! :hilarious:

29-07-2019, 12:40 PM

LRT East Coast buses are not affected by this .... Not yet anyway>

I recall something similar when i was a youngster.
Buses off. Snow or strike, i cant remember.
But we couldnae get a bus fae Clerry
So a gang of us walked it ;)

Shanks Pony for you younger guys

Easy Peasy !!

Ma Grandad and his pals from The Market once walked to Glasgow for a game.
Left the day before and camped overnight on the way !!

29-07-2019, 12:48 PM
The late Sammy Martinez once got left after a game at Montrose or somewhere like that and walked back to Edinburgh.

29-07-2019, 12:59 PM
Are the trams still on?

Yes

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 01:11 PM
LRT East Coast buses are not affected by this .... Not yet anyway>

I recall something similar when i was a youngster.
Buses off. Snow or strike, i cant remember.
But we couldnae get a bus fae Clerry
So a gang of us walked it ;)

Shanks Pony for you younger guys

Easy Peasy !!

Ma Grandad and his pals from The Market once walked to Glasgow for a game.
Left the day before and camped overnight on the way !!

Anything that takes you out of Clerry is worth the walk....bunch of pretend ****bos there. Methinks i might know you Mick, did you peeve in the Oak, Mid Yoken or The Pub (Barnton Hotel dirty bar) ?

29-07-2019, 03:09 PM
Anything that takes you out of Clerry is worth the walk....bunch of pretend ****bos there. Methinks i might know you Mick, did you peeve in the Oak, Mid Yoken or The Pub (Barnton Hotel dirty bar) ?

No many pubs oot this way i did not use over the years.
The Oak and Barnton public bar were mostly jamboes.

Ma wee pal Tattie wiz a jambo regular in the Barnton.
Some guy Tattie (RIP)

Andy Goram used to pop in theref or a game of dominoes.

And of course Eddie Turnbull popped in now and then.
I once aked him that oft asked question.

Why did you release Jimmy ?
He had mellowed a bit by then and agreed with what most other Hibernians thought at the time .
Too soon.

Ma brothers Billy and John used the Oak more than me back in the day.
They didnae get any grief fae jamboes in there !
(or anywhere else for that matter)

The Clerry Inn now is mainly Hibby's and a few Celts.

I was in the Mid last Thursday afternoon.(heatwave day)
Sitting ootside wae some regulars.

All bar one a Hibernian, including 3 ST holders.

OoPs...Off Topic

Haud the bus, driver !!

29-07-2019, 03:29 PM
The late Sammy Martinez once got left after a game at Montrose or somewhere like that and walked back to Edinburgh.

I'm going to need more on this story before I believe it... Montrose? Really?

29-07-2019, 03:31 PM

Nothing wrong with it, would only take 28 hours 😆

29-07-2019, 03:32 PM

Oi!...a lot if good Hibs supporters from Clerry. Real Clerry that is the bit built in the 50s where loads of Leithers were moved to when they started clearing the slums. Pretendy Clerry is on the Corstorphine side of Drum Brae Drive and infested with "them"

29-07-2019, 03:34 PM

Aye...Montrose Terrace I believe😉

29-07-2019, 03:38 PM

Some guy Tattie (RIP)

He had mellowed a bit by then and agreed with what most other Hibernians thought at the time .
Too soon.

OoPs...Off Topic

Haud the bus, driver !!

What a crap poem. Doesn't even rhyme.

Saturday Boy
29-07-2019, 03:44 PM

Try singing it to the tune of 500 Miles 😂

29-07-2019, 04:04 PM

From an interview with Sam.
Link at the bottom.

I dont doubt it .
Yes, you may say he could have thumbed a lift.
But if he said he walked it .I believe him.
I used to hitch hike a lot when younger.
Mainly to London to visit relatives.
Twice when going to Wembley.
It aint that easy,if you dont stick yer thumb oot!

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2012/04/25/oldest-fan-sam-forced-to-sit-out-hibees-historic-match/

29-07-2019, 04:09 PM

Free verse poetry, dont you know !!

29-07-2019, 04:52 PM
Talks ongoing today.......

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-49153109

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 05:01 PM
Oi!...a lot if good Hibs supporters from Clerry. Real Clerry that is the bit built in the 50s where loads of Leithers were moved to when they started clearing the slums. Pretendy Clerry is on the Corstorphine side of Drum Brae Drive and infested with "them"

I know a lot of them ...erm the O'rourkes come to mind . i lived up East Craigs , drank in the Mid and the Oak. guessing you are from Liberton ..i was a Burdie boy up until wedlock. took mair dull ones in my marriage than i ever did fronting up to Gracie jungle lol

29-07-2019, 05:02 PM
I know a lot of them ...erm the O'rourkes come to mind . i lived up East Craigs , drank in the Mid and the Oak. guessing you are from Liberton ..i was a Burdie boy up until wedlock. took mair dull ones in my marriage than i ever did fronting up to Gracie jungle lol

Me tae , :cb

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 05:10 PM

Some guy Tattie (RIP)

Too soon.

OoPs...Off Topic

Haud the bus, driver !!

Bang on Mick , i was the barman in The Pub....Ian..... knew tattie well and yonder Suss. knew them all in fact. Was a crackin bar to work

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 05:11 PM
Me tae , :cb

surname begin with F by any chance DOC ?

29-07-2019, 05:15 PM
surname begin with F by any chance DOC ?

It certainly is :thumbsup:

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 05:26 PM
It certainly is :thumbsup:

Mod here mate...meet up with Butchers(Kongo) and griff when i get up for a game. You should come along , be good to relive old times

29-07-2019, 05:27 PM
Mod here mate...meet up with Butchers(Kongo) and griff when i get up for a game. You should come along , be good to relive old times

You are probably thinking of my old man mate , But i will certainly pass on the message :aok:

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 05:35 PM
You are probably thinking of my old man mate , But i will certainly pass on the message :aok:

Cheers for that...he will know who i am straight off

29-07-2019, 07:26 PM
Cheers for that...he will know who i am straight off

There's no doubting that. :wink:

29-07-2019, 08:44 PM
Bang on Mick , i was the barman in The Pub....Ian..... knew tattie well and yonder Suss. knew them all in fact. Was a crackin bar to work

Now i got you I think !!
I probably owe you a pint or 3!

29-07-2019, 09:03 PM

I knew a few families in Clerry who originated from Lochend and surrounding areas.
Big families needing bigger hooses

On the topic of buses !
When we moved to Real Cler-myston, (1956) no buses went there.
Corpie buses only went as far as Davie Mains.
SMT was needed to get further up Queensferry Road.

I have now lived in "Pretendy Clerry" as you call it ,for over 30 years.
As for it being "jamboland"
Tynecastle high school,then Forrester, was where many ,when i was younger, went to.
That explains some of it
Brainwashed !!

Turnbullsmate
29-07-2019, 09:11 PM
Now i got you I think !!
I probably owe you a pint or 3!

On the house mate, loved it when Jimmy came in and you were ..."jimmy , this is Ian, big hibby" lol he could tell a tale or two as could Turnbull who dropped into hopsacks for his favoured malt....a true gentleman

30-07-2019, 07:06 AM
Remember all Lothian Country, E Lothian, W Lothian and First Buses are still running, check these out before you travel, even if you can get one near the East end of town, it's a 15 min walk from there.

mvteng
30-07-2019, 09:08 AM
Some guy Tattie (RIP)

Is that Tattie who was into scooters? his old man had Patons potatoes?

30-07-2019, 09:10 AM
Solidarity to my union brothers and sisters at LRT. Stay solid, don't back down. :aok::applause:

30-07-2019, 11:28 AM
I knew a few families in Clerry who originated from Lochend and surrounding areas.
Big families needing bigger hooses

On the topic of buses !
When we moved to Real Cler-myston, (1956) no buses went there.
Corpie buses only went as far as Davie Mains.
SMT was needed to get further up Queensferry Road.

I have now lived in "Pretendy Clerry" as you call it ,for over 30 years.
As for it being "jamboland"
Tynecastle high school,then Forrester, was where many ,when i was younger, went to.
That explains some of it
Brainwashed !!

You still got that handbell?

30-07-2019, 12:51 PM
Solidarity to my union brothers and sisters at LRT. Stay solid, don't back down. :aok::applause:

Damn Unionists!

30-07-2019, 01:31 PM
There were seven buses in convoy going up Minto Street at midday. Obviously showing solidarity rules ok.

30-07-2019, 01:35 PM
I suspect there will be a last minute agreement to at least postpone the strike as usually happens. If not, Uber prices will be a hoot.

Turnbullsmate
30-07-2019, 02:06 PM
Damn Unionists!

:grr:open to interpretation Keith....... Unionist as in a Hun or Unionist as part of an association of working people who try to defend their rights and also strive for better working conditions and increased remuneration for their labour.

"the labourer is worthy of his hire " my auld man used to say , but it was a fallacy.

30-07-2019, 02:48 PM
From an interview with Sam.
Link at the bottom.

I dont doubt it .
Yes, you may say he could have thumbed a lift.
But if he said he walked it .I believe him.
I used to hitch hike a lot when younger.
Mainly to London to visit relatives.
Twice when going to Wembley.
It aint that easy,if you dont stick yer thumb oot!

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2012/04/25/oldest-fan-sam-forced-to-sit-out-hibees-historic-match/

There's a wee bit poetic licence in that article Mick. IIRC Sammy got 'delayed' in the pub with the late, great Wattie Robb. They set off walking but found a workie's hut & crashed there for the night. Next morning they hitched to Dundee & got train home from there. Still a great story though!

30-07-2019, 03:11 PM

Funnily enough parts of Lochend and surrounds were used to rehouse Southside Irish stock and that stretched to Clermiston, Gilmerton, Inch / Moredun, Saughton Mains and all the council estates (schemes as we called them). I’ve written on here about it before and how it affected me personally.....people had to be somewhere. I landed in EH6 after the Canongate.

31-07-2019, 12:19 PM
Update: Drivers reject latest offer Lothian Buses considering bringing in outside drivers

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/traffic-and-travel/edinburgh-lothian-buses-strike-everything-we-know-so-far-1-4973772

31-07-2019, 12:45 PM
Update: Drivers reject latest offer Lothian Buses considering bringing in outside drivers

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/traffic-and-travel/edinburgh-lothian-buses-strike-everything-we-know-so-far-1-4973772

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/traffic-and-travel/edinburgh-lothian-bus-strike-set-to-be-called-off-1-4974438

EEN now reporting the strike has been called off!

31-07-2019, 01:20 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/traffic-and-travel/edinburgh-lothian-bus-strike-set-to-be-called-off-1-4974438

EEN now reporting the strike has been called off!

👍🏾

31-07-2019, 03:09 PM
This from Lothian Buses. Suggests strike wont go ahead as long as drivers accept compromise reached between Unite and LB.:greengrin

31-07-2019, 03:34 PM
Lothian buses have a better strike rate than big Uche.

31-07-2019, 04:13 PM
This from Lothian Buses. Suggests strike wont go ahead as long as drivers accept compromise reached between Unite and LB.:greengrin

Unite recommended the last deal was accepted, but the drivers (rightly imo) chucked it back, as money was not primarily the reason for the strike.

I would wait to see the ballot outcome.

jst1875
31-07-2019, 04:25 PM
strike will not be going ahead at the present time. ballot is not until August 9th