On Sunday after Dundee v Inverness

https://spfl.co.uk/news/betfred-cup-draw-on-sunday-45946

Let’s make sure we’re seeded Hibs!

25-07-2019, 07:20 PM
Let's make sure were in the draw first 😁

27-07-2019, 07:30 AM
So Hibs are on 11 points, a plus 7 goal difference and 8 goals scored.

To become a seeded team we'll need one of the three below not to happen.

4-0 win for Hertz against East Fife puts them onto 11 points, with a plus 7 GD and 9 goals scored.

Any win by Motherwell against bottom of the table Annan Athletic.

5-0 win for Livingston against Berwick Rangers puts them onto 11 points, plus 7 GD and 10 goals scored.

Our best option is for East Fife not to lose 4-0.

Hope that disallowed goal isn't going to become a factor.

27-07-2019, 07:37 AM
I think Livingston could win by that much and Hearts could win by that much bit surely the odds of them both doing it are very very slim.

Anyone able to tell me the odds on that as I’ve closed my online betting accounts.

27-07-2019, 07:45 AM
Considering weve had 2 goals wrongly ruled out for offside in the last week its infuriating to think ref/asst ref incompetence might cost us a seeding

27-07-2019, 07:45 AM
I think Livingston could win by that much and Hearts could win by that much bit surely the odds of them both doing it are very very slim.

Anyone able to tell me the odds on that as I’ve closed my online betting accounts.

Hearts 4-0 alone is 11/1. Can't get odds for correct score yet on the Livi game on Hills app.

Topographic Hibby
27-07-2019, 07:49 AM
What's the worry...

Hearts go thru seeded, we go thru unseeded and we get drawn against them!!

Simples....

27-07-2019, 07:53 AM
What's the worry...

Simples....

More likely hearts win 4-1 we get seeded, laugh a wee bit about it. Then, as you say, draw hearts anyway!!!

27-07-2019, 07:57 AM
More likely hearts win 4-1 we get seeded, laugh a wee bit about it. Then, as you say, draw hearts anyway!!!

Why are folk writing off East Fife? Plastic pitch open to the elements and could qualify.

Squirrel 1875
27-07-2019, 08:00 AM
What's the worry...

Simples....

Why on earth would drawing them be a worry!? Out of the SPL teams; they’re probably the preference.

27-07-2019, 08:03 AM

That happened previously. Dundee Utd won a penalty shootout in the Dundee derby to put them in the seeded group; they were then immediately drawn against each other.

27-07-2019, 08:04 AM
Hearts 4-0 alone is 11/1. Can't get odds for correct score yet on the Livi game on Hills app.

Its the margin of win rather than the exact score though.

I think the odds of both happening - Livi(-4) Hearts(-3) - is 5.6/1.

27-07-2019, 08:17 AM
Its the margin of win rather than the exact score though.

I think the odds of both happening - Livi(-4) Hearts(-3) - is 5.6/1.

Odds of both happening have to be greater than odds of one happening. If Hearts are 11 to 1 against for a 4 nil win and Livi are the same for 5 nil win at home. Then odds of both happening are 1 to 123 to one 11 to 1 is 0.09 or 99 chance of happening. For two independent events to happen you multiply the probability of each or 0.09 x 0.09. That gives you 0.0081 or approx 123 to 1. So we are looking safe.

27-07-2019, 08:17 AM
In all honesty does it really matter if we are seeded or not? We are one of the top teams in the country and shouldn't be worried about any of the others regardless of them being seeded or not

27-07-2019, 08:19 AM
In all honesty does it really matter if we are seeded or not? We are one of the top teams in the country and shouldn't be worried about any of the others regardless of them being seeded or not

Surely you want the easiest possible draw which would mean us being seeded and avoiding the other top teams?

27-07-2019, 08:24 AM

OK, let's just play Celtc in the next round

27-07-2019, 08:28 AM
The ideal would probably be get seeded and then get Arbroath if they qualify as second seed.

27-07-2019, 08:29 AM
OK, let's just play Celtc in the next round

Yes exactly or Rangers or Aberdeen away instead of a non SPL team at home!

27-07-2019, 08:32 AM
Why are folk writing off East Fife? Plastic pitch open to the rlements and could qualify.

Is it a plastic pitch? Didn't realise that. Coming off a 2 0 win at tannadice they will I assume be fancying the chance to play Hearts and possibly qualifying in their own right.

Surely you want the easiest possible draw which would mean us being seeded and avoiding the other top teams?

Yes but we need to beat the best teams at some point to win the cup so why not in the next round

Yes exactly or Rangers or Aberdeen away instead of a non SPL team at home!

So we have never been beaten by non premier league teams before?

27-07-2019, 08:34 AM

How long ago was that in a cup competition?

27-07-2019, 08:35 AM

We have but would much prefer to take the better chance of getting through by playing a potentially weaker team.

Gloucester Hibs
27-07-2019, 08:35 AM
Odds of both happening have to be greater than odds of one happening. If Hearts are 11 to 1 against for a 4 nil win and Livi are the same for 5 nil win at home. Then odds of both happening are 1 to 123 to one 11 to 1 is 0.09 or 99 chance of happening. For two independent events to happen you multiply the probability of each or 0.09 x 0.09. That gives you 0.0081 or approx 123 to 1. So we are looking safe.

DanHibees is right, you can’t just look at the odds of a 4-0 hearts win as there are other outcomes that would work for them too e.g. 5-1, 5-0, 6-2 etc so you have to look at the handicap price. Just checked on Bet365 and the price of a Hearts (-3) and Livi (-4) handicap double is around 5.64/1

27-07-2019, 08:38 AM
How long ago was that in a cup competition?

Doesnt really matter, we are more than capable of beating every single team in the country so why not the next round? Yes it's nice getting smaller teams and getting an "easier" game but we should not fear other premier league teams, I'm obviously in the minority on this though!!

27-07-2019, 08:43 AM
Yes but we need to beat the best teams at some point to win the cup so why not in the next round

Because I would rather us get as far as we possibly can and that means the easiest possible draws for me

27-07-2019, 08:43 AM
Doesnt really matter, we are more than capable of beating every single team in the country so why not the next round? Yes it's nice getting smaller teams and getting an "easier" game but we should not fear other premier league teams, I'm obviously in the minority on this though!!

Anyone at home we have a chance. Celtic, Rangers or Aberdeen would all be difficult. Dont know if seeds are drawn at home. Suspect they will get that advantage. Or maybe alternative home and away.

27-07-2019, 08:51 AM
Is it a plastic pitch? Didn't realise that. Coming off a 2 0 win at tannadice they will I assume be fancying the chance to play Hearts and possibly qualifying in their own right.

Also will be very wet and the Hertz World Cup stars may not like such conditions. They won't be able to play their silky passing football.

27-07-2019, 08:55 AM
DanHibees is right, you can’t just look at the odds of a 4-0 hearts win as there are other outcomes that would work for them too e.g. 5-1, 5-0, 6-2 etc so you have to look at the handicap price. Just checked on Bet365 and the price of a Hearts (-3) and Livi (-4) handicap double is around 5.64/1

They look as if they are both at 5s to win by 4 and 5 goals. As both are independent events then combined odds are 25 to 1. Put on a pound and win 5 pounds put the five pounds on the second game and win 25 pounds at the end. Still low probability of bothering events happening.

27-07-2019, 08:58 AM
Because I would rather us get as far as we possibly can and that means the easiest possible draws for me

As would most people, I'm just not that fussed if we are seeded or not, if for example we weren't seeded and a team like st Mirren for example were seeded and we drew them would you be that fussed?

27-07-2019, 08:59 AM
Anyone at home we have a chance. Celtic, Rangers or Aberdeen would all be difficult. Dont know if seeds are drawn at home. Suspect they will get that advantage. Or maybe alternative home and away.

A lot of games now are difficult, take stirling the other week for an example(yes I know it was the first game of the season) but they gave us as good a game as some premier league teams would

27-07-2019, 09:00 AM

Just seeded don't get a home tie

greenlad
27-07-2019, 09:01 AM

Alternate home and away. So 4 seeds at home and 4 away.

27-07-2019, 09:01 AM

But you must admit, the chances of that are a lot less than being beaten by The Rangers, Aberdeen or Celtc.

It would be good to get through a few rounds first, with th revenue that brings in and to let the team gel a bit

27-07-2019, 09:03 AM

Last time we won the league Cup we managed to avoid rangers, celtic and Aberdeen. I'd quite happily do that again.

27-07-2019, 09:04 AM
But you must admit, the chances of that are a lot less than being beaten by The Rangers, Aberdeen or Celtc.

It would be good to get through a few rounds first, with th revenue that brings in and to let the team gel a bit

Of course, and yes I agree I want to see us get as far as possible, as I say I'm just not that fussed as some "smaller" teams are often more difficult to play against as they quite often sit in and defend and can make it very difficult where as bigger teams will come at us and gives us a bit more space to play

27-07-2019, 09:18 AM
Hopefully east fife win and hertz get put out. Fairly simple, hibs seeded and hertz out.

27-07-2019, 09:19 AM
Hopefully east fife win and hertz get put out. Fairly simple, hibs seeded and hertz out.

at last, the most likely outcome

27-07-2019, 09:21 AM
The clear red card cost us a goal or two as well most likely. Refs are an absolute shambles up here.

27-07-2019, 09:22 AM

Indeed. This is a tough cup tie at any time especially as east fife can qualify if they win. I suspect Hertz will scrape it but will be gobsmacked if it's by four. They have scored five in three games. They will just be glad to be in next round.

27-07-2019, 09:26 AM
Alternate home and away. So 4 seeds at home and 4 away.

Is that right? Didn't realise that

27-07-2019, 10:21 AM
So Hibs are on 11 points, a plus 7 goal difference and 8 goals scored.

To become a seeded team we'll need one of the three below not to happen.

4-0 win for Hertz against East Fife puts them onto 11 points, with a plus 7 GD and 9 goals scored.

Any win by Motherwell against bottom of the table Annan Athletic.

5-0 win for Livingston against Berwick Rangers puts them onto 11 points, plus 7 GD and 10 goals scored.

Our best option is for East Fife not to lose 4-0.

Hope that disallowed goal isn't going to become a factor.

I'd be surprised if the Motherwell and Livingston results don't happen so that just leaves East Fife.

We really could have done with Shaw and Kamberi's goals! Or a win against Stirling...........

Here’s Lucy!
27-07-2019, 10:57 AM
Why on earth would drawing them be a worry!? Out of the SPL teams; they’re probably the preference.

He never said it would be a worry to draw Hearts. Quite the contrary in fact. Read his post again.

He’s basically saying that it doesn’t matter who goes through seeded, and who goes through un-seeded.

I totally agree with him.

If we draw them, we will beat them.

27-07-2019, 11:04 AM
I'd be surprised if the Motherwell and Livingston results don't happen so that just leaves East Fife.

We really could have done with Shaw and Kamberi's goals! Or a win against Stirling...........

I personally think we're one goal short of being seeded which is annoying considering we had a perfectly good goal chopped off last night.

Motherwell are certainties to beat Annan, Livingston should thrash Berwick Rangers so just need to hope East Fife do us a favour.

It would be funny if they actually won and Hearts went out altogether.

27-07-2019, 11:06 AM
I personally think we're one goal short of being seeded which is annoying considering we had a perfectly good goal chopped off last night.

Motherwell are certainties to beat Annan, Livingston should thrash Berwick Rangers so just need to hope East Fife do us a favour.

It would be funny if they actually won and Hearts went out altogether.

Hearts need to win by at least 4, possibly 5 away from home against a League One side. Can’t see it tbh.

27-07-2019, 11:16 AM
Hearts need to win by at least 4, possibly 5 away from home against a League One side. Can’t see it tbh.

A 4-0 win for Hearts would be enough for them to be above us on goals scored. East Fife have already lost 2-0 against Cowdenbeath in the group stages and they're in League 2.

I think it might be close especially since Hearts know what they have to do. They'll also know that Motherwell will beat Annan and Livingston are likely to hammer Berwick Rangers.

Squirrel 1875
27-07-2019, 02:41 PM
He never said it would be a worry to draw Hearts. Quite the contrary in fact. Read his post again.

He’s basically saying that it doesn’t matter who goes through seeded, and who goes through un-seeded.

I totally agree with him.

If we draw them, we will beat them.

Statement retracted. Misread the first sentence 👍.

27-07-2019, 07:36 PM
So as it stands, seeded teams are
Hibs
Motherwell
Ross County
Livingston
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
Celtic
Rangers

Unseeded teams
Forfar
Morton
Hamilton
Hearts
Dunfermline
Partick Thistle
And 2 from Dundee, Caley or East Fife

If Dundee or Caley win in 90 mins, East Fife are through. If they draw, East Fife are out

We obviously all want a home tie, easiest game suits me

27-07-2019, 07:37 PM
Hibs
Motherwell
Ross County
Livingston
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
Celtic
Rangers

Unseeded teams
Forfar
Morton
Hamilton
Hearts
Dunfermline
Partick Thistle

If Dundee or Caley win in 90 mins, East Fife are through. If they draw, East Fife are out

So Hurtz at home it is then

27-07-2019, 07:37 PM
Any unseeded team at home please.

27-07-2019, 07:38 PM
So Hurtz at home it is then

They’ll end up getting Livvi at home, always seem to come up smelling roses

King Cosell
27-07-2019, 07:50 PM
Dundee v ICT draw 21/10 (Ladbrokes). Tempting, but maybe they don't want to play out a dour stalemate live on BT Sport.

27-07-2019, 09:06 PM
Hibs
Motherwell
Ross County
Livingston
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
Celtic
Rangers

Unseeded teams
Forfar
Morton
Hamilton
Hearts
Dunfermline
Partick Thistle

Home to Forfar would do nicely. Hearts away to Celtic would also be good.

East Fife. :faf:

27-07-2019, 09:14 PM
I think we will get hearts at tynecastle.

27-07-2019, 09:14 PM
Home to Forfar would do nicely. Hearts away to Celtic would also be good.

East Fife. :faf:

Would be good.

Any home tie for us would do me. Reckon Jambos have to get a home tie to stand any sort of chance of getting through. Can't see them beating any of the seeded teams away.

27-07-2019, 09:24 PM
It would make more sense that the seeded teams are awarded a home tie. :agree:

27-07-2019, 10:16 PM
It would make more sense that the seeded teams are awarded a home tie. :agree:

Us at home to Forfar and Hearts away to Celtic would be good!

27-07-2019, 10:35 PM
I'd prefer Hearts to be drawn away to Ross County and then be knocked out in a game on TV.

The travel costs will wipe out their share of the gate money.

27-07-2019, 11:02 PM
I'm missing the home derby so this is the one time I would actually take an early game against them in the cup, for purely selfish reasons.

28-07-2019, 04:19 AM
When is the draw taking place?

28-07-2019, 04:45 AM
When is the draw taking place?

After Sunday's games.

huggie1875
28-07-2019, 05:19 AM
is it made today?

jingler1954
28-07-2019, 05:24 AM
After the Dundee game.

28-07-2019, 05:28 AM
After the Dundee game.

Seeded teams are drawn home and away alternatively against no-seeds.

Hibeewilly
28-07-2019, 06:40 AM
Hearts at home would be perfect thanks

28-07-2019, 07:36 AM
Hibs
Motherwell
Ross County
Livingston
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
Celtic
Rangers

Unseeded teams
Forfar
Morton
Hamilton
Hearts
Dunfermline
Partick Thistle

Forfar or Morton away please, classic grounds.

28-07-2019, 07:37 AM
After Sunday's games.

Thanks. :aok:

28-07-2019, 08:44 AM
When is the next round played?

28-07-2019, 08:48 AM
When is the next round played?

17th August I think.

28-07-2019, 08:56 AM
Bet we get ICT away. Most awkward tie possible for going to.

28-07-2019, 09:33 AM
We’ll probably get Hearts.

28-07-2019, 09:40 AM
We’ll probably get Hearts.

At Tynecastle. Guaranteed!

28-07-2019, 09:47 AM
We’ll probably get Hearts.They're seedy.

28-07-2019, 02:23 PM
Last 16 matches to be played Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th of August.

28-07-2019, 03:07 PM
They're seedy.

Don't think Hearts will be seeded.

28-07-2019, 03:10 PM
They will - think they win their group!?

28-07-2019, 03:12 PM
Hearts are 100% not seeded in the next round of the league cup. They are however very seedy

28-07-2019, 03:12 PM

Only top 4 group winners are seeded, Hearts are not seede, so we can draw them

Hibernian32
28-07-2019, 03:17 PM
East Fife👀

28-07-2019, 03:18 PM
Hope we don't get East Fife. They looked really difficult.

28-07-2019, 03:51 PM
Don't think Hearts will be seeded.I am 100% sure they're seedy.

28-07-2019, 03:52 PM

Can someone sticky a thread on here please? This format seems to confuse people for some reason!

All group winners qualify, only 4 of them are seeded!

Those 4 are;

Ross County
Motherwell
Livingston
Hibs

28-07-2019, 03:54 PM
Updated after today’s game
Seeded teams
Hibs
Motherwell
Ross County
Livingston
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
Celtic
Rangers

Unseeded teams
Forfar
Morton
Hamilton
Hearts
Dunfermline
Partick Thistle
Dundee
East Fife

Hibeewilly
28-07-2019, 03:55 PM
Only top 4 group winners are seeded, Hearts are not seede, so we can draw them
Yes please...….preferably at ER but Tynecastle is fine too. Bring it on !!!

28-07-2019, 03:57 PM
Bet we get ICT away. Most awkward tie possible for going to.

They’re oot

What time is the draw?

So the draw will be;

Seeds

Celtic
Rangers
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
Ross County
Motherwell
Livingston
Hibs

Non-seeds

Hearts
Dundee
Partick Thistle
Dunfermline
Forfar
Hamilton
Morton
East Fife

28-07-2019, 03:58 PM
They’re oot

Good

28-07-2019, 03:59 PM
What time is the draw?

Any minute

28-07-2019, 03:59 PM
What time is the draw?

2 minutes.

28-07-2019, 04:03 PM
Draw numbers

Seeds
1 Celtic
2 Rangers
3 Kilmarnock
4 Aberdeen
5 Motherwell
6 Ross County
7 Livingston
8 Hibernian

Non Seeds
9 Dundee
10 Partick Thistle
11 Dunfermline
12 Hearts
13 Forfar
14 Hamilton
15 Morton
16 East Fife

28-07-2019, 04:06 PM
Anyone got a link they could pm?

28-07-2019, 04:07 PM
Anyone got a link they could pm?

Snap

KdyHby
28-07-2019, 04:08 PM
Snap
Ditto

Hibeewilly
28-07-2019, 04:09 PM
Its on Radio Scotland in 2 mins

28-07-2019, 04:09 PM
BBC website has "listen live to league cup draw" but no link to the radio station where its on, top quality broadcasting as usual

28-07-2019, 04:10 PM
Captive audience, time for another ad break

28-07-2019, 04:11 PM
BBC website has "listen live to league cup draw" but no link to the radio station where its on, top quality broadcasting as usual

It's bloody Scottish dancing

28-07-2019, 04:11 PM

Yep, amateur hour. Had it on, 'Take the Floor' came on and now the link has gone altogether.

Hibeewilly
28-07-2019, 04:12 PM
It's bloody Scottish dancing
Its Radio Scotland 810 medium wave.....not started yet

28-07-2019, 04:13 PM
Draw starting now.

28-07-2019, 04:14 PM

Its here https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland

Hibs v Morton

Home draw against Morton for us

Great draw, couldn't have been better!!!

NC1875
Good draw. Yes

Partick v Ross County

MixuMac
28-07-2019, 04:15 PM
Morton at home

Motherwell v Hearts

Nice draw, happy with that

Excellent. Quickly out the hat, home draw against a lower league opponent.

Dundee v Aberdeen

Good draw, take that.

Celtic v Dunfermline

28-07-2019, 04:16 PM
Celtic v Dunfermline

Its here https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland

Just a link to what I have, no radio on there

Forfar v Livi

Forfar v Livingston

Kilmarnock v Hamilton

East Fife v Rangers

Callum7
Hibernian V Greenock Morton

Partick Thistle V Ross County

Motherwell V Hearts

Dundee V Aberdeen

Celtic V Dunfermline

Forfar V Livingston

Kilmarnock V Hamilton

East Fife V Rangers

East Fife v Rangers

28-07-2019, 04:17 PM
Draw in full

Hibs v Morton

Partick Thistle v Ross County

Motherwell v Hearts

Dundee v Aberdeen

Celtic v Dunfermline

Forfar v Livingston

Kilmarnock v Hamilton

East Fife v Rangers

28-07-2019, 04:18 PM
Good draw for us. Motherwell will fancy beating hearts

Wakeyhibee
East Fife v Rangers

And last but not least the two "warm" balls :greengrin

Home draw is pleasing

28-07-2019, 04:19 PM
She said that Rangers have won the competition a record 27 times and she did it with a straight face!

28-07-2019, 04:19 PM
That'll do

28-07-2019, 04:21 PM
No like the rangers to get the easiest draw of the round 🙄

28-07-2019, 04:22 PM
And there's no way ours will be a TV game so it'll be Saturday at 3pm.

Think Motherwell did

I'd rather Morton at home than East Fife away to be honest.

28-07-2019, 04:23 PM
Tidy draw.

Bound to be East Fife v Rangers and probably Motherwell v Hearts

She said that Rangers have won the competition a record 27 times and she did it with a straight face!

Indeed they have won it that many times. They are not competing now. I am not sure what ‘The Rangers’ have ever won beyond a few lower league championship trophies?

I'm shocked The Rangers got drawn away from home!

hhibs

Yep,plssed me off.

28-07-2019, 04:24 PM
Winners of Forfar v livi or killie v Hamilton in the next round please.

Think Motherwell did

It shows the importance of being seeded. We should take care of Morton but that lot have got a very tricky trip to Motherwell.

Are they not midweek? Sure we lost on pens to the sheep on a weds.

28-07-2019, 04:25 PM
Great to get a home draw. Tricky one for Hearts, which I'm all for too!

28-07-2019, 04:25 PM

Not this round.

28-07-2019, 04:26 PM
At Tynecastle. Guaranteed!

Can I get my money back please.

green with envy
Morton at home

No, they're away. :greengrin

No, the Aberdeen game was the quarter final which is midweek.

This round has been a weekend fixture for a few seasons now I think

28-07-2019, 04:27 PM

Weekend of the 17th/18th August.

Turnbullsmate
28-07-2019, 04:29 PM
Motherwell will do them and be dangerous in this comp' i think.

28-07-2019, 04:33 PM
Motherwell will do them and be dangerous in this comp' i think.

This, dangerous team this season

28-07-2019, 04:33 PM

It didnae need to be to nil.

28-07-2019, 04:34 PM

I should've read all of page 1 before posting.

28-07-2019, 04:35 PM

I agree
How many ties to BT get to show in the last 16?
TV games should be Dundee v Aberdeen and Well v Hearts

28-07-2019, 04:36 PM
Not this round.

Thanks! Didn’t know that 👍

28-07-2019, 04:38 PM
I agree
TV games should be Dundee v Aberdeen and Well v Gearts

Aye, but they won't be :greengrin

East Fife v Rangers (who haven't even won this competition once) is a cert.

28-07-2019, 04:39 PM
Did Morton not beat us the year after we won the league cup, 2008?

28-07-2019, 04:42 PM
Did Morton not beat us the year after we won the league cup, 2008?

It was the year after but two seasons after.

We won the cup at the end of the 2006/07 season and Morton beat us at the start of the 2008/09 season.

davhibby
28-07-2019, 04:43 PM
I agree
TV games should be Dundee v Aberdeen and Well v Gearts

Think it’s 2, then 3 in the quarters. East Fife game will be one because a small side at home to Celtic/rangers will always be on the tv. Tbh I’d rather see that than the Aberdeen game on the off chance of a shock. Hearts game should be the other one that’s on

28-07-2019, 04:46 PM
Hopefully we have similar sort of deals, as the groups stages pricing for this one

28-07-2019, 04:48 PM
Think it’s 2, then 3 in the quarters. East Fife game will be one because a small side at home to Celtic/rangers will always be on the tv. Tbh I’d rather see that than the Aberdeen game on the off chance of a shock. Hearts game should be the other one that’s on

Think you’re right, last season there was 2, Partick v Celtic and Killie v rangers

davhibby
28-07-2019, 04:51 PM
Just thinking, when was the last time we were drawn away from home in the league cup? Ross County in 2014?

Inconsequential
28-07-2019, 04:57 PM
Did Morton not beat us the year after we won the league cup, 2008? As pointed out it was the 2008/9 season and the result was 4-3 to Morton aet! Big Mixu lost the heid and was sent to the stand. Iirc Joe Keenan scored for Hibs - it was a strange kinda match.

angus hibby
28-07-2019, 05:00 PM
As pointed out it was the 2008/9 season and the result was 4-3 to Morton aet! Big Mixu lost the heid and was sent to the stand. Iirc Joe Keenan scored for Hibs - it was a strange kinda match.

Wasn’t it David Grof’s one and only appearance for first team too?

28-07-2019, 05:02 PM
Can't remember the last time I saw us play Morton...Does Andy Ritchie still play for them ? :greengrin

28-07-2019, 05:06 PM
Wasn’t it David Grof’s one and only appearance for first team too?

Was he not rubbish that day [emoji13]

Here’s Lucy!
28-07-2019, 05:07 PM
Can't remember the last time I saw us play Morton...Does Andy Ritchie still play for them ? :greengrin

Aye, still upfront with Mark McGhee. :greengrin

Inconsequential
28-07-2019, 05:09 PM
Wasn’t it David Grof’s one and only appearance for first team too? He replaced McNeill just before HT. Hibs were two down with ten minutes to play and were leading 3-2 then lost another two goals. Could only happen to Hibs! I swore I was finished with the club there and then!

28-07-2019, 05:10 PM
It was the year after but two seasons after.

We won the cup at the end of the 2006/07 season and Morton beat us at the start of the 2008/09 season.

Davie Irons' revenge.

28-07-2019, 05:18 PM
Aye, still upfront with Mark McGhee. :greengrin
Do try and keep up, Joe Harper is keeping McGhee out of the team......

MartinfaePorty
28-07-2019, 05:20 PM
Chris Hogg got clattered and the injury basically ended his Hibs career. The ref, of course, gave the free kick to Morton and IIRC Grof tried to save the ensuing shot with his body, not hands for some reason, and the Morton player scored the winner from the rebound.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

28-07-2019, 05:20 PM
Do try and keep up, Joe Harper is keeping McGhee out of the team......

They’ve actually got big John Sutton up front, came out of retirement at the start of the season

28-07-2019, 05:21 PM
Last cup game against Morton I attended they beat us after extra time I'm sure. Fletcher scored an overhead kick as well.

I was in the morton end with a few mates from Port Glasgow. And honestly, the morton fans were absolutely crazy.

28-07-2019, 05:25 PM
Played them one season in the Championship, Fyvie got blootered on the touchline late on, Lennon and Duffy kicked off

28-07-2019, 05:32 PM
Played them one season in the Championship, Fyvie got blootered on the touchline late on, Lennon and Duffy kicked off

That was a fun incident.

My last painful Morton memory is also one from our 3 year Championship sojourn.
On a very cold evening at Easter Road we were beaten 3-0. Fair took the wind oot oor sails it did.
That was with McGinn, McGeouch, Henderson, Cummings & Stokes in our team!!!
It was Stevensons 300th appearance for Hibs that night and he was captain for the night. Poor laddie!

We will off course beat them in the last 16 match in 3 weeks time.

28-07-2019, 05:35 PM
That was a fun incident.
My last painful Morton memory is also one from our 3 year Championship sojourn. On a very cold evening at Easter Road we were beaten 2-0. Fair took the wind oot oor sails it did.

Remember that one too. The one that Fyvie got hurt, I think was a postponement, from a Saturday afternoon game that was called off, due to unbelievable rain. Think the main rd into Greenock was only passable on a boat

MartinfaePorty
28-07-2019, 05:59 PM
https://www.youtube.com/embed/9bu8XId5voI?feature=oembed

28-07-2019, 06:11 PM
Couldn’t make this up but got a text after the draw

Aldo you peg selling spoon burning hobo nice to see Rod doing you a favour with a nice easy home draw!!#cheatinghobos

[emoji23][emoji23]

28-07-2019, 06:18 PM
Couldn’t make this up but got a text after the draw

Aldo you peg selling spoon burning hobo nice to see Rod doing you a favour with a nice easy home draw!!#cheatinghobos

[emoji23][emoji23]

That's brilliant. I will be winding our office Jambo up by telling him that Rod has changed the heated balls and it's now Hibs who'll get the plum home draws.

28-07-2019, 06:40 PM
That's brilliant. I will be winding our office Jambo up by telling him that Rod has changed the heated balls and it's now Hibs who'll get the plum home draws.

I’m still laughing at it and btw the boy is deadly serious. A yam from the mercer/Robinson/Vlad era that will never see reason regardless of it staring him in the face!

SonOfDavidFrancey
28-07-2019, 06:49 PM
Hibs v Morton. That’ll do nicely.

28-07-2019, 06:52 PM
heartz 2/5 favourites to win the cup

28-07-2019, 06:54 PM
Of course, and yes I agree I want to see us get as far as possible, as I say I'm just not that fussed as some "smaller" teams are often more difficult to play against as they quite often sit in and defend and can make it very difficult where as bigger teams will come at us and gives us a bit more space to play

Got you, fair enough.

👍

28-07-2019, 07:53 PM
It didnae need to be to nil.

I revised later to goal difference.

28-07-2019, 09:25 PM
https://www.youtube.com/embed/9bu8XId5voI?feature=oembed

Nice one, 11 years ago :confused:

28-07-2019, 09:28 PM
Just a link to what I have, no radio on there

Sorry bud. I went to the Sportscotland link on my phone and the live Sportsound link was there.

28-07-2019, 09:37 PM
Sorry bud. I went to the Sportscotland link on my phone and the live Sportsound link was there.

Nae probs, was on the desktop never thought of going on the phone, doh! Had .net to keep me updated anyways!! Thanks.

28-07-2019, 09:54 PM
That was a fun incident.

My last painful Morton memory is also one from our 3 year Championship sojourn.
On a very cold evening at Easter Road we were beaten 3-0. Fair took the wind oot oor sails it did.
That was with McGinn, McGeouch, Henderson, Cummings & Stokes in our team!!!
It was Stevensons 300th appearance for Hibs that night and he was captain for the night. Poor laddie!

We will off course beat them in the last 16 match in 3 weeks time.

I was there but had managed to erase that from my memory - ouch!

It was a great Hibs side but just not at the races that night for some reason and Morton turned it on at ER and were well worth their win - we got our form back and went on a decent run IIRC but a good reminder of why no tie can be taken for granted.

31-07-2019, 09:15 AM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/betfred-cup-r2-details

31-07-2019, 09:16 AM
Chris Hogg got clattered and the injury basically ended his Hibs career. The ref, of course, gave the free kick to Morton and IIRC Grof tried to save the ensuing shot with his body, not hands for some reason, and the Morton player scored the winner from the rebound.

Hogg played for us for two and a half years after that, including 18 months as captain.

MartinfaePorty
31-07-2019, 09:20 AM
Hogg played for us for two and a half years after that, including 18 months as captain.Cheers! Just confirms my memory is definitely not what it used to be!

31-07-2019, 09:28 AM

Celtic tie NOT on TV? Excuse me for a second, I need a lie down.

31-07-2019, 09:32 AM

Hopefully Friday night Motherwell will have knocked the yams out and make it 56 years and counting since they won the League Cup.

31-07-2019, 09:33 AM
Hopefully Friday night Motherwell will have knocked the yams out and make it 56 years and counting since they won the League Cup.

Would be nice

Steven79
31-07-2019, 09:33 AM
Celtic tie NOT on TV? Excuse me for a second, I need a lie down.Celtic are playing at home, if it has been at East End Park then it would have definitely on tv.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

31-07-2019, 11:47 AM
Celtic are playing at home, if it has been at East End Park then it would have definitely on tv.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Theyve had quite a few home cup games televised in the last few years tbf