View Full Version : Thoughts on Jo Swinson?
22-07-2019, 07:43 PM
With the focus on what appears to be the looming confirmation of Boris Johnson as PM, Jo Swinson's victory in the Lib Dem leadership election has taken something of a back seat. I must say I didn't know a great deal about her, but reading through this she's got a very solid background in politics for one so relatively young:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-49046446
I wonder if in the event of a general election she might fare rather well, given that Brexit is still likely to dominate the political agenda. Is it feasible she could emerge as a more likely leader of the opposition than Corbyn when you bear in mind Labour's muddled approach to Brexit and their shambolic handling of the anti-Semitism crisis?
James310
22-07-2019, 07:54 PM
I am impressed with what I have seen so far. She could attract the more centre right Tories if Boris turns out as expected. In a world where it seems we have the Tories lurching to the right and Labour more to the left there is a space for the centre ground and if she can find a formula to attract these people then she could be onto something.
Let's see how she does over the next few months in the lead up to end of October.
The SNP must see her as a threat as within minutes of her being announced leader there was a press release and a Twitter campaign by a number of MPs reminding people of all the 'bad' things she has done. Only in the job for minutes as well.
22-07-2019, 07:58 PM
With the focus on what appears to be the looming confirmation of Boris Johnson as PM, Jo Swinson's victory in the Lib Dem leadership election has taken something of a back seat. I must say I didn't know a great deal about her, but reading through this she's got a very solid background in politics for one so relatively young:
I wonder if in the event of a general election she might fare rather well, given that Brexit is still likely to dominate the political agenda. Is it feasible she could emerge as a more likely leader of the opposition than Corbyn when you bear in mind Labour's muddled approach to Brexit and their shambolic handling of the anti-Semitism crisis?
Let's just forget what a cluster**** the Tories have made of this Brexit debacle.
On the point of Swinson, her voting record in government(check it out) doesn't read very well for those of us on the Left. So Meh.
22-07-2019, 08:00 PM
Thoughts on Jo Swinson.
https://i.ibb.co/9hx311y/jothetraitor.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/zrsrL92/twat.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/bWgnyrq/libdem.png
Just vote tory?
22-07-2019, 08:22 PM
She's a Tory.
Let’s see what she can do. Good that we have someone younger in a leadership position.
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 08:53 PM
I am impressed with what I have seen so far. She could attract the more centre right Tories if Boris turns out as expected. In a world where it seems we have the Tories lurching to the right and Labour more to the left there is a space for the centre ground and if she can find a formula to attract these people then she could be onto something.
Let's see how she does over the next few months in the lead up to end of October.
The SNP must see her as a threat as within minutes of her being announced leader there was a press release and a Twitter campaign by a number of MPs reminding people of all the 'bad' things she has done. Only in the job for minutes as well.
Quite the opposite. I think a lot of people within the SNP will see her appointment as an opportunity to take a major scalp at the next General Election.
For what it's worth, that is not my position/opinion. I will say, however, that like many Libdems she does strike me as a remain Tory.
As an aside, can I ask if you are a member of Scotland in Union?
22-07-2019, 08:55 PM
Thoughts on Jo Swinson.
https://i.ibb.co/9hx311y/jothetraitor.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/zrsrL92/twat.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/bWgnyrq/libdem.png
Just vote tory?
Voted for increasing tuition fees and helped impose austerity. She's a Tory.
22-07-2019, 08:56 PM
Let’s see what she can do. Good that we have someone younger in a leadership position.
Only 2 years older than Kezia Dugdale. :agree:
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 08:59 PM
:agree: if it looks like a duck ..........................
22-07-2019, 09:04 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/67402579_10157616732239078_838175924514979840_n.jp g?_nc_cat=1&_nc_oc=AQlyNRJ1-PuUjddmadQ9AfQAoD78ZRY-AiKAbhb_gpCAb5C0BIL6tD3JvQpFPpBgR34&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr3-1.xx&oh=b67c9e12625936b7d51b0882fb2d6e5b&oe=5DA07EC3
We may be afraid of her. But it's not for reasons the anti-independence brigade think. There's something devilish behind the stupidity. Very much like Boris Johnson.
James310
22-07-2019, 09:07 PM
Quite the opposite. I think a lot of people within the SNP will see her appointment as an opportunity to take a major scalp at the next General Election.
For what it's worth, that is not my position/opinion. I will say, however, that like many Libdems she does strike me as a remain Tory.
As an aside, can I ask if you are a member of Scotland in Union?
Well there was quite the campaign obviously well prepared ready to go to remind everyone about all the bad things she has done.
I am not a member of any political party or group and never have been in my life.
22-07-2019, 09:10 PM
Well there was quite the campaign obviously well prepared ready to go to remind everyone about all the bad things she has done.
I am not a member of any political party or group and never have been in my life.
So?
The SNP see her as an opportunity, not a threat to their support. So obviously they're going to point out how blatantly tory she is.
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 09:13 PM
[QUOTE=allmodcons;5854422]
Her voting record at Westminster is atrocious, why shouldn't the SNP attack her for that. As I said, some within the SNP will want to target her seat.
22-07-2019, 09:17 PM
There's a decent vote to be won if she can avoid doing anything ridiculously stupid. Centre right Tories disillusioned with their parties lurch to the right, centre left Labour types disillusioned with their lurch to the left and a whole host of remain voters disillusioned with both of the above named parties lack of cohesion when it comes to Brexit.
She's not my cup of tea and I wouldn't vote for her but there's a great opportunity there for her if she can chart a safe course.
James310
22-07-2019, 09:17 PM
[QUOTE=James310;5854441]
Her voting record at Westminster is atrocious, why shouldn't the SNP attack her for that. As I said, some within the SNP will want to target her seat.
Just said they must see her as a threat, let's see what she does.
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 09:21 PM
[QUOTE=allmodcons;5854458]
No must about it, just your opinion. Maybe more of an opportunity than a threat to others.
22-07-2019, 09:22 PM
Enter a coalition with the tories, brexit party and DUP. Seeing as she's already ruled out a coalition with Labour.
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 09:29 PM
Enter a coalition with the tories, brexit party and DUP. Seeing as she's already ruled out a coalition with Labour.
She might get in to bed with the pro-Euro Tories but absolutely no way will she enter in to a coalition with the Brexit Party.
22-07-2019, 09:32 PM
She might get in to bed with the pro-Euro Tories but absolutely no way will she enter in to a coalition with the Brexit Party.
That simply isn't possible. Either she enters a coalition with the conservative party (all factions of it), or she doesn't. She hasn't ruled it out. She has however ruled out a coalition with the Labour Party.
I have no doubt that if the circumstances present themselves where the Liberal Democrats are the difference between forming the next conservative government or not, they'll jump straight into bed with the lot of them, regardless of who else they're in coalition with.
CloudSquall
22-07-2019, 09:36 PM
I can't trust a Scottish person with an accent like that.
22-07-2019, 09:37 PM
It's going to take a long time for the Lib Dems to recover from the coalition with the Tories. Their vote has collapsed since. Most Lib Dem voters are centre left types, and the role of the party in the austerity era alienated many of them.
22-07-2019, 09:38 PM
Whit ye oan aboot, Jimmy?
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 09:39 PM
That simply isn't possible. Either she enters a coalition with the conservative party (all factions of it), or she doesn't. She hasn't ruled it out. She has however ruled out a coalition with the Labour Party.
I have no doubt that if the circumstances present themselves were the Liberal Democrats are the difference between forming the next conservative government or not, they'll jump straight into bed with the lot of them, regardless of who else they're in coalition with.
Read my post. She can 'get in to bed' with whoever she wants. I know she can't form a Government coalition with the pro-Euro Tories but she can 'get in to bed' with them.
You are deluded if you think she'll get involved in a Government coalition that includes the Brexit Party.
22-07-2019, 09:44 PM
Read my post. She can 'get in to bed' with whoever she wants. I know she can't form a Government coalition with the pro-Euro Tories but she can 'get in to bed' with them.
You are deluded if you think she'll get involved in a Government coalition that includes the Brexit Party.
Yeah, well we'll see. If the opportunity presents itself. We'll see if the Lib Dems are really prepared to bring down the next tory government should they rely on the numbers from the lib dems to make up a functional government.
22-07-2019, 09:53 PM
Can’t stand her or her party and I don’t trust her or her party. Look what happened the last time they were in government.
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 09:54 PM
Yeah, well we'll see. If the opportunity presents itself. We'll see if the Lib Dems are really prepared to bring down the next tory government should they rely on the numbers from the lib dems to make up a functional government.
You're moving the goalposts FH. They might 'work' with the Tories but not the Brexit Party. Another coalition with the Tories would see them severely wounded as a credible Party. A coalition involving the Brexit Party would finish them "ad infinitum".
22-07-2019, 10:00 PM
You're moving the goalposts FH. They might 'work' with the Tories but not the Brexit Party. Another coalition with the Tories would see them severely wounded as a credible Party. A coalition involving the Brexit Party would finish them "ad infinitum".
You think Jo Swinson cares about the Liberal Democrats? She isn't a Liberal Democrat. Get it? Her voting record as an MP is not remotely reflective of someone who is either Liberal or Democrat. She's a tory that has wormed her way to the top of the party, she'll dispose of them as soon as the party has fulfilled her own personal agenda.
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 10:11 PM
You think Jo Swinson cares about the Liberal Democrats? She isn't a Liberal Democrat. Get it? Her voting record as an MP is not remotely reflective of someone who is either Liberal or Democrat. She's a tory that has wormed her way to the top of the party, she'll dispose of them as soon as the party has fulfilled her own personal agenda.
I get it alright. I agree her voting record makes her a 'soft' Tory but she is no Brexiteer.
You need to read other people's posts before replying, as I said earlier "if it looks like a duck.........."
You appear to be suggesting that she is some kind of Agent Provocateur.
22-07-2019, 10:21 PM
I get it alright. I agree her voting record makes her a 'soft' Tory but she is no Brexiteer.
You need to read other people's posts before replying, as I said earlier "if it looks like a duck.........."
You appear to be suggesting that she is some kind of Agent Provocateur.
That's exactly what i'm suggesting.
allmodcons
22-07-2019, 10:28 PM
That's exactly what i'm suggesting.
Very good. In that case, I'm out.
Crazy conspiracy theories are not really my thing :paranoid:
22-07-2019, 10:35 PM
Very good. In that case, I'm out.
Crazy conspiracy theories are not really my thing :paranoid:
We'll see.
23-07-2019, 05:40 AM
Ideal scenario is she won't have the chance to, by losing her seat at next election.
Only 2 years older than Kezia Dugdale. :agree:
Didn’t mind Kezia.
Wasn’t she bullied out by Corbyn’s mob?
She speaks like many people from Bearsden and Milngavie.
23-07-2019, 07:40 AM
A Tory who knows that Tory is a dirty word in Scotland and thus instead joined the Lesser Tories.
23-07-2019, 09:14 AM
I think she'll probably do quite well by virtue of being neither Johnson nor Corbyn.
23-07-2019, 10:33 AM
Has she ruled out dealing with Corbyn but not Johnson? That seems madness. :confused:
23-07-2019, 10:51 AM
Has she ruled out dealing with Corbyn but not Johnson? That seems madness. :confused:
She's said she won't work with anyone who supports Brexit.
23-07-2019, 10:52 AM
She's said she won't work with anyone who supports Brexit.
Ok thanks, that rules out the Tories then and makes a bit more sense.
23-07-2019, 10:53 AM
I think she's hopeless, crumbles under any sort of questioning and is incredibly unappealing.
It's a shame, because I think there really is an opening for the LibDems here. I don't have nearly the same mistrust of the LibDems as a party as most people do, even if I don't like a number of things they've done and I really don't like some of the people associated with them (Alastair Carmichael for starters). If they had a decent, solid leader here - a younger Menzies Campbell, a younger Vince Cable, Nick Clegg or ideally Charles Kennedy then I think there is a real opening for a party to capture the centre ground whilst the other 2 parties destroy themselves with their own squabbles.
I also simply don't think that modern day England will warm to any Scottish politician, so she's on a hiding to nothing (I know I suggested a few Scots above but that's my preference over what I think the UK electorate would want).
GORDONSMITH7
23-07-2019, 12:25 PM
She is a disgrace as was her opponent in this, serving as lap dogs to the Tories. You may not agree and say well they would say that. Absolutely spot on in my opinion.
Since her election by Lib Dem members on Monday, Swinson has come under fire for her role in the coalition government as a minister voting for austerity measures and bringing in controversial policies such as employment tribunal fees.
Ian Lavery, the Labour party Chair, said: “Jo Swinson sat at the top table of the coalition government and voted for vicious attacks on the most vulnerable and tax cuts for the super-rich and big businesses.
“Austerity couldn’t have happened without Liberal Democrats – leading to shocking levels of child poverty, the tripling of tuition fees, a homelessness crisis and rising food bank use. Labour is the only party that can stop the Tories and transform Britain so that it works for the many not the few.”
Swinson said she regretted not winning the battle against employment tribunal fees, saying it had been the wrong policy.
But she defended her record in the coalition under David Cameron, saying: “I think we achieved a lot of good things in government … I’ve also been very frank that in owning the successes we also need to be clear there were mistakes made as well.”
Oh well then.
BIG G
23-07-2019, 12:29 PM
She is about as much use as a f*rt in a spacesuit.
Bangkok Hibby
23-07-2019, 12:43 PM
she'll do ok because as has been said on here before, the majority of the British voting public are too stupid to vote. It all depends if the media decides to get behind her.
The Baldmans Comb
23-07-2019, 02:26 PM
Absolute Tory and to be fair she really doesn't pretend otherwise.
She understands that Lib Dems is where nice twee middle class people "park their vote" especially in times of political upheaval.
The Scots will probably take her out at the next General Election but she will have made enough impact for the English to get her back in next time around.
23-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Didn’t mind Kezia.
Wasn’t she bullied out by Corbyn’s mob?
Nah, she's thick as mince and would never have lasted anywhere near as long with any other party. Even a judge let her off the hook on the grounds of her intellectual deficit.
Cataplana
23-07-2019, 02:37 PM
Thoughts on Jo Swinson.
If anybody offers you a penny for them.....sell.
23-07-2019, 02:38 PM
Jo Swinson on GMS this morning.
Robertson: You want a people's vote.
Swinson: Yes.
Robertson: But you'll oppose a second indyref?
Swinson: Of course that was only 5 years ago.
:jamboclow
CloudSquall
23-07-2019, 03:46 PM
What...a...threat :greengrin
23-07-2019, 04:17 PM
I feel embarrassed for her in this interview. Cringe!!!!!
https://www.lbc.co.uk/radio/presenters/iain-dale/jo-swinson-brexit-scottish-independence/
23-07-2019, 05:25 PM
By virtue of being Scottish and rabidly anti-independence she'll probably swing most of the Tory seats up here to LD, bar former SNP strongholds in the north east which will hopefully revert to type. I suppose that's technically a good thing.
They’re both toxic and the Liberals are gaining votes from both (although more from Labour). She’s right to distance the party from Corbyn. She might wait to see what de Piffle’s policies are like first.
23-07-2019, 10:02 PM
She'll go down the Clegg path and whenever there's a sniff of power or personal gain party principles will be out the window. Already a better supporter of the tory whip than most Tory MP's.
My protest vote options gone.
24-07-2019, 08:02 PM
She's nice. She could be very popular with her "girl next door" personality.
Better than old Cable anyway. He always looked like someone had just let off.
24-07-2019, 08:10 PM
Vince always talked a lot of sense on Financial maters. If he was Labour leader we would not be heading for this carnage.
24-07-2019, 08:47 PM
Lib dem version of Kezia Dugdale.
Tomsk
25-07-2019, 05:28 PM
Lib dem version of Kezia Dugdale.
This is fair. A period in the spotlight will reveal her true qualities. She's an airhead, just like Dugdale, promoted well above her abilities.
25-07-2019, 05:37 PM
This is fair. A period in the spotlight will reveal her true qualities. She's an airhead, just like Dugdale, promoted well above her abilities.
Aye out her depth in a puddle.
25-07-2019, 05:43 PM
Imagine being her husband having to listen to her annoying voice everyday.
25-07-2019, 05:46 PM
Glad it's not just me, it's enough to make your wallpaper curl.
25-07-2019, 05:54 PM
Glad it's not just me, it's enough to make your wallpaper curl.
I consider myself a calm easygoing guy, but a couple of hours with her and I’d be like something out of 28 days later.
25-07-2019, 06:35 PM
I don’t believe for a minute you would make that post the other way, if she was a male and saying “imagine being his wife having to listen..:” etc
Couple of other posts recently that are similarly a bit dodgy.
It’s a hard gig being a woman in a position of relative power. And social media forums that are full of middle aged males certainly highlight that.
James310
25-07-2019, 06:40 PM
I don’t believe for a minute you would make that post the other way, if she was a male and saying “imagine being his wife having to listen..:” etc
It’s a hard gig being a woman in a position of relative power. And social media forums that are full of middle aged males certainly highlight that.
100%, and the same people that would have a go as soon as anyone got 'personal' against an MP or MSP who was in a certain party. Total double standards as per.
25-07-2019, 07:02 PM
100%, and the same people that would have a go as soon as anyone got 'personal' against an MP or MSP who was in a certain party. Total double standards as per.
Which "certain party" are you referring to?
She is a politician, and therefore has skin of leather.
CloudSquall
25-07-2019, 07:11 PM
Nah, irrespective of gender her voice is annoying as ... if a man had that grating a voice it would be called out too.
25-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Don't care in the slightest about her voice but she was interviewed on BBC's Daily Politics earlier and was dreadful. A lot of "well you know" when she just didn't have an answer.
She's called a vote of no confidence in Boris so she has more bollocks than the Obfuscating Magic Grandpa!!
SNP and Libs ARE the opposition to the Tories.
25-07-2019, 07:47 PM
I actually thought the situation we had a few years ago when Sturgeon, Dugdale and Davidson were the leaders of their respective parties was a very good, healthy one. They are all strong, intelligent women who are perfectly capable of fighting their corner. I've never understood any of the dislike for Dugdale or that people didn't seem to rate her. Her position was a difficult one but she gave it a decent shot.
I simply do not get a feeling that Swinson is formidable - the very opposite, and if she was a limp, wet fart male of no substance then I'd call him out in exactly the same way.
And FWIW there are few politicians I could stomach listening to a lot. There are also some I would enjoy listening to.
25-07-2019, 07:52 PM
Nah, irrespective of gender her voice is annoying as ... if a man had that grating a voice it would be called out too.
It really wouldn’t though.
Female politicians get criticised by men for things they would never criticise male politicians for.
Maybe if they owned it we could have better conversations and better politics but at the moment it remains embarrassing.
I have a daughter and I’m mortified that I may have to have a conversation with her about her life chances and career chances and explain that basically, she will have to fight harder and face more inequality just because she is a woman.
It is easy to say, oh I would treat a bloke the same way. The reality is that doesn’t happen though.
25-07-2019, 07:57 PM
I actually thought the situation we had a few years ago when Sturgeon, Dugdale and Davidson were the leaders of their respective parties was a very good, healthy one. They are all strong, intelligent women who are perfectly capable of fighting their corner. I've never understood any of the dislike for Dugdale or that people didn't seem to rate her. Her position was a difficult one but she gave it a decent shot.
I simply do not get a feeling that Swinson is formidable - the very opposite, and if she was a limp, wet fart male of no substance then I'd call him out in exactly the same way.
And FWIW there are few politicians I could stomach listening to a lot. There are also some I would enjoy listening to.
Interesting points.
When Salmond was in power I always thought he struggled against Annabel Goldie. Salmond is very much an alpha male and that simply didnt work against Goldie.
25-07-2019, 08:00 PM
Female politicians get criticised by men for things they would never criticise male politicians for.
Maybe if they owned it we could have better conversations and better politics but at the moment it remains embarrassing.
I have a daughter and I’m mortified that I may have to have a conversation with her about her life chances and career chances and explain that basically, she will have to fight harder and face more inequality just because she is a woman.
It is easy to say, oh I would treat a bloke the same way. The reality is that doesn’t happen though.
It's a fair point.
Boris Johnson turned up for his 1st day in the job yesterday with his hair a mess, his tie looked like a 5 year old had tied it and his suit was so ill fitting it looked the deliberate ploy it evidently is. Yet there has been no real media critique of his appearance.
Contrast that to Theresa May who's outfits and jewelery were broken down in forensic detail. See also the furore a couple of years ago about Angela Merkel and her 'plunging neckline'.
It may be subconscious but there is undoubtedly far more attention paid to the mannerisms, personal features and clothing choices of women in politics when compared to their male counterparts.
25-07-2019, 08:04 PM
It really would.
You've taken this to a level of #metoo and all because posters have an opinion on her.
Her voice is as nippy as.
25-07-2019, 08:10 PM
It really would.
You've taken this to a level of #metoo and all because posters have an opinion on her.
Her voice is as nippy as.
Your second paragraph sums it up.
#sorryforyou
25-07-2019, 08:28 PM
Your second paragraph sums it up.
#sorryforyou
All it sums up is you getting hysterical over a few people saying her voice is grating.
25-07-2019, 08:33 PM
Thatch's voice used to annoy me in a way that no male or female politician's voice did before or has since. Though I haven't listened to Mogg too much, yet.
25-07-2019, 08:46 PM
It's a fair point.
Boris Johnson turned up for his 1st day in the job yesterday with his hair a mess, his tie looked like a 5 year old had tied it and his suit was so ill fitting it looked the deliberate ploy it evidently is. Yet there has been no real media critique of his appearance.
Contrast that to Theresa May who's outfits and jewelery were broken down in forensic detail. See also the furore a couple of years ago about Angela Merkel and her 'plunging neckline'.
It may be subconscious but there is undoubtedly far more attention paid to the mannerisms, personal features and clothing choices of women in politics when compared to their male counterparts.
That’s the MSM you’re talking about though, and it’s on a steady way out.
For what it’s worth I genuinely think my own withering eye and disliking ear are perfectly gender-balanced.
25-07-2019, 08:49 PM
All it sums up is you getting hysterical over a few people saying her voice is grating.
If you read my original post there is nothing hysterical, merely a commentary on how females are treated differently from males both in the press and social media.
If you have something to contribute that is valid then feel free :agree:
25-07-2019, 09:12 PM
If it makes you feel better I've said similar about Gove on here. When I hear his creepy wee creaking voice my fist subconsciously balls.
25-07-2019, 09:13 PM
If you read my original post there is nothing hysterical, merely a commentary on how females are treated differently from males both in the press and social media.
If you have something to contribute that is valid then feel free :agree:
Commentary about Swinson’s accent is nothing compared to the dinosaur chat about Priti Patel on the other thread. Welcome to hibs.70s :rolleyes:
Fwiw I find her accent mildly annoying in exactly the same way as Michael Gove. They have an affected voice my Gran would’ve called a bool in the mooth.
25-07-2019, 09:15 PM
It's a fair point.
Whilst I do agree that woman politicians are put under the microscope for things other than their politics, I can't agree about Johnson, he's taken a lot of stick for his appearance.
25-07-2019, 09:29 PM
If it makes you feel better I've said similar about Gove on here. When I hear his creepy wee creaking voice my fist subconsciously balls.
Commentary about Swinson’s accent is nothing compared to the dinosaur chat about Priti Patel on the other thread. Welcome to hibs.70s :rolleyes:
Fwiw I find her accent mildly annoying in exactly the same way as Michael Gove. They have an affected voice my Gran would’ve called a bool in the mooth.
I have had the pleasure of reading many posts by you both. Don’t always agree with you and you don’t agree with me that often, but it is usually a reasonable debate.
25-07-2019, 09:44 PM
I know what you mean but I would put my mortgage, my pensions, on it all being a bit nasty about Swinson. And that is pretty rubbish.
Real lack of playing the ball, not the man or woman.
25-07-2019, 09:48 PM
I know what you mean but I would put my mortgage, my pensions, on it all being a bit nasty about Swinson. And that is pretty rubbish.
Real lack of playing the ball, not the man or woman.
Absolutely, I was agreeing with you.
25-07-2019, 09:49 PM
Absolutely, I was agreeing with you.
25-07-2019, 09:55 PM
It's a fair point.
It's not really. Had Corbyn ever turned up in the state that Boris does, the media would have been all over it.
It's not a male/female issue. It's a left/right issue in our hard right corporate backhanded MSM.
25-07-2019, 10:00 PM
It's not really. Had Corbyn ever turned up in the state that Boris does, the media would have been all over it.
It's not a male/female issue. It's a left/right issue in our hard right corporate backhanded MSM.
I take it Anne Widdecombe is a hard line lefty then?
25-07-2019, 10:04 PM
I’m a man so it would be weird for me to make the point in the way I did if she was a man. For balance a couple of hours with David Mundell would leave me with similar feelings. There’s no need to be so touchy, it was nothing to do with her sex, it was her annoying voice that I don’t like.
25-07-2019, 10:04 PM
I take it Anne Widdecombe is a hard line lefty then?
When is Ann Widdecombe ever given grief for what she wears? She's an absolute rabid slaver as well and isn't even given a hard time for that either.
Corbyn turns up without a tie and it's first page news in the press.
25-07-2019, 10:16 PM
When is Ann Widdecombe ever given grief for what she wears? She's an absolute rabid slaver as well and isn't even given a hard time for that either.
Corbyn turns up without a tie and it's first page news in the press.
She never received criticism for her appearance?
Did you not notice the storm she caused with her recent comments about gay science?
As an aside congratulations on your recent conversion from a card holding member of the SNP can do no wrong brigade to a full on Corbynite. :greengrin
Nicola Sturgeon has commented several times about how female politicians are held to different standards, most notably after the infamous picture of herself and Theresa May’s legs. Is she wrong then?
25-07-2019, 10:57 PM
She never received criticism for her appearance?
Did you not notice the storm she caused with her recent comments about gay science?
As an aside congratulations on your recent conversion from a card holding member of the SNP can do no wrong brigade to a full on Corbynite. :greengrin
Nicola Sturgeon has commented several times about how female politicians are held to different standards, most notably after the infamous picture of herself and Theresa May’s legs. Is she wrong then?
Again, it all comes down to the right-wing politicial culture in British media. The "legs-it" controversy appeared in the Daily Mail. Who have been neither a backer of Theresa May or Nicola Sturgeon. They'll target anyone that they don't consider "right wing enough", regardless of their gender.
25-07-2019, 11:18 PM
Again, it all comes down to the right-wing politicial culture in British media. The "legs-it" controversy appeared in the Daily Mail. Who have been neither a backer of Theresa May or Nicola Sturgeon. They'll target anyone that they don't consider "right wing enough", regardless of their gender.
So you disagree with Nicola Sturgeon, a female politician who says that they are judged differently?
25-07-2019, 11:47 PM
So you disagree with Nicola Sturgeon, a female politician who says that they are judged differently?
It might come as a shock to you, but I don't agree with Nicola Sturgeon on everything. :wink:
I think the 50/50 split thing is a farce as well. People should gain jobs on merit, not on gender.
26-07-2019, 05:48 AM
I have had the pleasure of reading many posts by you both. Don’t always agree with you and you don’t agree with me that often, but it is usually a reasonable debate.
I think you're maybe a tad defensive on this one MA. Not every criticism directed at females is born out of sexism, sometimes it's just simply criticism.
It might come as a shock to you, but I don't agree with Nicola Sturgeon on everything. :wink:
I think the 50/50 split thing is a farce as well. People should gain jobs on merit, not on gender.
But as ability is not gendered the split should statistically be 50/50 unless something else is going on.
26-07-2019, 08:32 AM
But as ability is not gendered the split should statistically be 50/50 unless something else is going on.
We’ve had the equal pay act since 1970 and the gender pay gap is still significant as is the lack of women in the boardrooms of our biggest companies. Yet we still have men of all ages refusing to admit that sexism is a big problem.
Well!! Jo Swinson called for a vote of no confidence which had it carried would have resulted in a GE before 31st October (today was last date this could be guaranteed)
Corbyn rejected it and then went off to speak at a rally for GE?
26-07-2019, 09:40 PM
Science and biology would disagree. Some jobs are more suited for men and others for women. Seeing less women on the construction site for example isn't down to sexism. Women are just far less likely to apply for a job laying bricks. Biology and neurology are major factors when it comes to choosing career paths.
Tornadoes70
26-07-2019, 09:54 PM
Science and biology would disagree. Some jobs are more suited for men and others for women. Seeing less women on the construction site for example isn't down to sexism. Women are just far less likely to apply for a job laying bricks. Biology and neurology are major factors when it comes to choosing career paths.
Are you Alex Salmond?
26-07-2019, 09:56 PM
Are you Alex Salmond?
No. But like Alex Salmond, I know how to pick up and read a book.
Tornadoes70
26-07-2019, 09:58 PM
No. But like Alex Salmond, I know how to pick up and read a book.
Was it all a conspiracy that he's been arrested for umpteen alleged rapes and assaults?
i know you pander to conspiracy theories.
26-07-2019, 10:04 PM
Was it all a conspiracy that he's been arrested for umpteen alleged rapes and assaults?
No. It's just the Scottish legal system doing it's job and carrying out an investigation (politically unhindered). Imagine which faces would be pulled up in court south of the border if their own system wasn't plagued with political interference and corruption.
26-07-2019, 10:07 PM
There's also the question of the pay gap. My company come under fire last year because there is a horrendous gap between that what the average man in the company earns compared to that what the average woman earns. The problem is that I work for an airline where most of the pilots are men and earn around €135 000 a year, cabin crew are are mostly women and there's twice as many of them than there are pilots earn around €40 000 give or take a few thousand depending on rank. Now if you average out the total pay and then divide it amongst all employees then compare the average to that what our male employees earn to that of our female employees then the guys are gonna come out on top.
Now we are trying to employ more female pilots but with only marginal success, mainly because the interest is not there. The way these gender pay statistics are calculated is warped, we need to compare apples with apples and men and women will always be interested in different occupations simply because of the differences between the two sexes. Of course when they both do the same work/job/occupation they should get equal pay, but you can't expect everyone to be paid the same when the effort/qualifications required to carry out the job are different.
26-07-2019, 10:10 PM
Oh **** off, how to drag what was a decent exchange of opinion down into the gutter.
26-07-2019, 10:12 PM
There's also the question of the pay gap. My company come under fire last year because there is a horrendous gap between that what the average man in the company earns compared to that what the average woman earns. The problem is that I work for an airline where most of the pilots are men and earn around €135 000 a year, cabin crew are are mostly women and there's twice as many of them than there are pilots earn around €40 000 give or take a few thousand depending on rank. Now if you average out the total pay and then divide it amongst all employees then compare the average to that what our male employees earn to that of our female employees then the guys are gonna come out on top.
Now we are trying to employ more female pilots but with only marginal success, mainly because the interest is not there. The way these gender pay statistics are calculated is warped, we need to compare apples with apples and men and women will always be interested in different occupations simply because of the differences between the two sexes. Of course when they both do the same work/job/occupation they should get equal pay, but you can't expect everyone to be paid the same when the effort/qualifications required to carry out the job are different.
Couldn't agree more. :agree:
26-07-2019, 11:19 PM
That doesn’t answer my question. I never mentioned Fife Hibee, Hibrandenburg or the SNP. I asked:
“what’s your take on the comings and goings in Westminster over the last week? Is it getting harder to make a positive case for Scotland’s interest in the union? I’m talking about what is happening here and now, not ifs and buts if only Labour were electable.”
Not sure if you missed my post Tornadoes in amongst your other replies on the thread?
27-07-2019, 12:29 AM
My oh my. Things turned a bit on this thread!
I thought I would repost the OP and hopefully it doesn’t descend into the mudslinging that took place, let alone the barely concealed chauvinism. Someone might even try and answer the OP’s final question?
My answer is yes. If Labour under Corbyn can’t go all guns for Remain then Swinson has an open goal fronting all out for Remain. She will retain Lib Dems, drag in soft Tory Remains, pull in Labour voters who are concerned about Corbyn and definitely pull in Labour voters who want to stay in the EU.
Seamas, on the slight chance you glance at .net, that’s more of the Party than voted for Jeremy. Accept it, deal with it and respect the will of the membership.
As for Swinson more generally, there is a bit of the echo chamber going on again on here. She will boost her party share and vote if she is up against Corbyn and BoJo. If she faces Yvette Cooper representing a Remain ticket then she is stuffed.
27-07-2019, 12:37 AM
I thought I would repost the OP and hopefully it doesn’t descend into the mudslinging that took place, let alone the barely concealed chauvinism. Someone might even try and answer the OP’s final question?
My answer is yes. If Labour under Corbyn can’t go all guns for Remain then Swinson has an open goal fronting all out for Remain. She will retain Lib Dems, drag in soft Tory Remains, pull in Labour voters who are concerned about Corbyn and definitely pull in Labour voters who want to stay in the EU.
Seamas, on the slight chance you glance at .net, that’s more of the Party than voted for Jeremy. Accept it, deal with it and respect the will of the membership.
As for Swinson more generally, there is a bit of the echo chamber going on again on here. She will boost her party share and vote if she is up against Corbyn and BoJo. If she faces Yvette Cooper representing a Remain ticket then she is stuffed.
You really can't help yourself eh 😁
" The barely concealed chauvinism"
You are Michael Winner, and I claim my £10
27-07-2019, 01:06 AM
You really can't help yourself eh
Michael Winner? Really? You will have to explain.
You could also explain your #metoo comment.
I think there is a lack of class on your part, but also a lack of being able to explain your actual point.
You are welcome to explain, in your own words and thoughts, why you think Jo Swinson is a good or bad leader for the Lib Dem’s but I think all you have posted is that she has a ‘nippy voice’.
If that doesn’t sound chauvinistic then I don’t know what does. Perhaps try owning it.
You are correct, I really can’t help myself. I’m quite happy to post against, and challenge nonsense and if you are guilty in this regard or want to debate it then it’s not my fault I’m calling you out about it.
27-07-2019, 01:21 AM
You really can't help yourself eh 😁
And another thing.
I made tons of points in the post you quoted and you only picked up on an indirect accusation of chauvinism.
I never mentioned you specifically but you responded to that, and that alone.
Ringing true, hon?
27-07-2019, 02:33 AM
I think there is a lack of class on your part, but also a lack of being able to explain your actual point.
You are welcome to explain, in your own words and thoughts, why you think Jo Swinson is a good or bad leader for the Lib Dem’s but I think all you have posted is that she has a ‘nippy voice’.
If that doesn’t sound chauvinistic then I don’t know what does. Perhaps try owning it.
You are correct, I really can’t help myself. I’m quite happy to post against, and challenge nonsense and if you are guilty in this regard or want to debate it then it’s not my fault I’m calling you out about it.
It has nothing to do with her "nippy voice" and everything to do with her political record for anybody who actually bothers to take the time to look at it.
I would hazard a bet that the vast majority of people jumping on the Jo Swinson bandwagon are utterly oblivious to her record. Just like those who think Boris is worth voting for because he's a "good laugh".
You need to read more biology and neirology.
Try Testosterone Rex by Cordelia Fine. It won the Royal Society award so has has scientific approval.
Also, there’s 9% of the current vote going to the Greens. If they can work together to harness that (which they have been) they will effectively be leading in the polls with 31%. Seems to have gone under the radar a bit.
27-07-2019, 07:21 AM
I never mentioned you specifically but you responded to that, and that alone.
I saw the hook and bait but if you want to catch a specific fish then you really should cast towards the fish you want.
Edit: Apologies if I lost the plot a bit last night but that troll just ruined any chance of a decent debate.
27-07-2019, 10:43 AM
I have not a clue why I mentioned Mr Winner 😁😁
We must have different perspectives as to what chauvinism is, I certainly don't think saying a woman has a nippy voice is.
The #metoo comment was because I thought you went ott over it.
As for what I think of the lady, I could make something up about her but if the truth be told I don't really know much about her, nor do I care too.
27-07-2019, 11:04 AM
I have not a clue why I mentioned Mr Winner 😁😁
We must have different perspectives as to what chauvinism is, I certainly don't think saying a woman has a nippy voice is.
The #metoo comment was because I thought you went ott over it.
As for what I think of the lady, I could make something up about her but if the truth be told I don't really know much about her, nor do I care too.
I don’t think it’s being chauvinist to point out her annoying voice either. No one complained when William Hague was getting slagged for the way he talked or Jacob Rees Mogg for the way he looks. Admittedly it’s quite shallow, but that’s all it is.
27-07-2019, 11:16 AM
I don’t think it’s being chauvinist to point out her annoying voice either. No one complained when William Hague was getting slagged for the way he talked or Jacob Rees Mogg for the way he looks. Admittedly it’s quite shallow, but that’s all it is.
I’m neither agreeing or disagreeing but starting your sentence with ‘Imagine being her husband’ has possibly added unintended nuance to your remark. Fair?
Stonewall
27-07-2019, 11:27 AM
My god what did I miss last night?
Regarding Jo Swinson’s voting record I’m not sure how relevant that is as it may just reflect the fact that she attends Parliament conscientiously and is following the party whip.
i would prefer to judge her on the content of the Lib Dem manifesto for the forthcoming General Election. So I’m open minded.
To call her a Tory just sounds like a lazy soundbite straight out of SNP central office.
27-07-2019, 11:52 AM
To call her a Tory just sounds like a lazy soundbite straight out of SNP central office.
Or to disregard it just sounds like someone who can't be bothered to actually look at her voting record over the years. She is a tory. Her record makes that very clear. Not only is she a tory, she's more of a tory than the likes of Rory Stewart and Michael Gove.
Stonewall
27-07-2019, 12:54 PM
Or to disregard it just sounds like someone who can't be bothered to actually look at her voting record over the years. She is a tory. Her record makes that very clear. Not only is she a tory, she's more of a tory than the likes of Rory Stewart and Michael Gove.
Well Rory Stewart is clearly in the wrong party I’ll give you that. Gove though?
i was just trying to make the point that in a whip system it may not be an entirely accurate representation of her own views and that maybe the next Lib Dem manifesto will be a more accurate reflection on where she stands.
if she was a Tory why would she just not join the Conservative Party?
27-07-2019, 01:01 PM
I’m neither agreeing or disagreeing but starting your sentence with ‘Imagine being her husband’ has possibly added unintended nuance to your remark. Fair?
Possibly, but it wasn’t intended to be.
27-07-2019, 01:04 PM
Well Rory Stewart is clearly in the wrong party I’ll give you that. Gove though?
i was just trying to make the point that in a whip system it may not be an entirely accurate representation of her own views and that maybe the next Lib Dem manifesto will be a more accurate reflection on where she stands.
Is she was anywhere near as principled as she's trying to present herself, then she would have stood up to the whip, instead of putting her own career first.
Stonewall
27-07-2019, 01:15 PM
Is she was anywhere near as principled as she's trying to present herself, then she would have stood up to the whip, instead of putting her own career first.
True but probably applies to 90% of MPs. Particularly difficult given the fact that her party was in a coalition with the Tory’s for much of her time as an MP and she was Nick Clegg’s PPS I think.
Or maybe the whips had something really damning on her and she didn’t dare defy the whip.
27-07-2019, 01:18 PM
This voting record stuff is cringeable. She was part of a junior partner in coalition govt and voted along with that govt like all the rest of her party. Exactly the same as almost all other MPs apart from the odd headbanger.
27-07-2019, 01:19 PM
True but probably applies to 90% of MPs. Particularly difficult given the fact that her party was in a coalition with the Tory’s for much of her time as an MP and she was Nick Clegg’s PPS I think.
Or maybe the whips had something really damning on her and she didn’t dare defy the whip.
You’re quite right except more like 99%.
27-07-2019, 01:20 PM
Well it would need to be something pretty damn damning. All the more reason not to trust her.
28-07-2019, 12:42 AM
Because then she couldn’t spend her life working towards being an agent provocateur of the highest order.
Seriously you clearly have no idea how a long game works and just how well versed the Tories are in the game of sleeper agents (hard lessons from the Cold War). It’s obvious to all (well at least one person) that Jo is just a particularly well played pawn in the big bad Tories game of political espionage...[emoji6]
28-07-2019, 01:15 AM
Because then she couldn’t spend her life working towards being an agent provocateur of the highest order.
Seriously you clearly have no idea how a long game works and just how well versed the Tories are in the game of sleeper agents (hard lessons from the Cold War). It’s obvious to all (well at least one person) that Jo is just a particularly well played pawn in the big bad Tories game of political espionage...[emoji6]
28-07-2019, 04:15 AM
Aye, very good. Remain ignorant all you want. Her voting record speaks for itself. If she actually had a soul, she never would have followed the tory whip, just to keep her own personal career intact.
If you think another careerist politician who will always put the interests of her career above and beyond everything else, including the livelihoods of the people she's suppost to represent is the answer against the tories, then you bash on.
17-09-2019, 02:26 PM
Just watching her speech to conference.
I've got a fair bit of good feeling towards the LibDem cause (if I were a Unionist that would be my party and post-independence I would like to see Scotland as a centrist country and would happily vote for a Scottish version) but I just cannot take to her at all.
She absolutely reeks of insincerity.
It takes a bit of doing but of all the cretins in the political arena right now, she's the one that annoys me the most.
17-09-2019, 02:42 PM
Just watching her speech to conference.
I've got a fair bit of good feeling towards the LibDem cause (if I were a Unionist that would be my party and post-independence I would like to see Scotland as a centrist country and would happily vote for a Scottish version) but I just cannot take to her at all.
She absolutely reeks of insincerity.
It takes a bit of doing but of all the cretins in the political arena right now, she's the one that annoys me the most.
Yes, this is the word. You just could not trust her.
I also hate the way she continually says "well you know" when asked a challenging question.
17-09-2019, 02:48 PM
Yes, this is the word. You just could not trust her.
I also hate the way she continually says "well you know" when asked a challenging question.
It's a shame because you get the feeling that the stage is set for the LibDems here, with the big 2 parties being in crisis.
Paddy Ashdown, Menzies Campbell, Vince Cable, Shirley Williams - it would have been great to think that we might have one of this lot as a potential PM at as difficult a time as this. Good, genuine, trustworthy and competent people.
I just don't get that feeling with Swinson at all.
17-09-2019, 02:59 PM
If I lived in England she would get my vote before Johnson or Corbyn.
17-09-2019, 03:09 PM
That goes without saying, but I'd probably wait to hear what the Monster Raving Looney Party had to say before making up my mind.
17-09-2019, 03:36 PM
Why not just vote for Johnson directly? :wink:
17-09-2019, 04:16 PM
Why not just vote for Johnson directly? :wink:
I know you have strong opinions about the LibDems and their statements regarding who they would and would not potentially go into coalition with, but for all the world it looks to me like they have set their stall out early to be direct opposition to the Tories with their clear and concise position on Brexit. It could appeal to the more moderate sides of both the Labour and Conservative parties (who no longer appear to have a home) as well as their own traditional voters.
The centre ground is theirs for the taking and the only thing stopping them might be Swinson herself.
17-09-2019, 04:22 PM
I know you have strong opinions about the LibDems and their statements regarding who they would and would not potentially go into coalition with, but for all the world it looks to me like they have set their stall out early to be direct opposition to the Tories with their clear and concise position on Brexit. It could appeal to the more moderate sides of both the Labour and Conservative parties (who no longer appear to have a home) as well as their own traditional voters.
The centre ground is theirs for the taking and the only things stopping them might be Swinson herself.
Except, they don't have a clear and concise position on Brexit at all. They're just wording things in a clever way to make it seem like they do. Things such as "we'll reverse brexit", but only if they win a majority, which of course, is utterly impossible under the current political climate.
They're saying things, but attaching conditions to them that they know will never be met and people are actually falling for it.
17-09-2019, 04:26 PM
Except, they don't have a clear and concise position on Brexit at all. They're just wording things in a clever way to make it seem like they do. Things such as "we'll reverse brexit", but only if they win a majority, which of course, is utterly impossible under the current political climate.
They're saying things, but attaching conditions to them that they know will never be met and people are actually falling for it.
I think any political party can only promise what he thinks he can deliver if they get a majority.
So even Corbyn’s promise to negotiate a Labour brexit before having a people’s vote and campaigning against their own deal can only be delivered if he wins a majority.
That’s how it works.
17-09-2019, 04:29 PM
I think any political party can only promise what he thinks he can deliver if they get a majority.
So even Corbyn’s promise to negotiate a Labour brexit before having a people’s vote and campaigning against their own deal can only be delivered if he wins a majority.
That’s how it works.
True. But there's a difference between parties that mean what they say and parties that just say the 'right things' at any given time to increase their vote share. The Lib Dems have a long running history of doing this. They make promises that they know they'll never have to adhere to within a coalition. A Lib Dem majority would be a complete nightmare for them.
17-09-2019, 04:46 PM
True. But there's a difference between parties that mean what they say and parties that just say the 'right things' at any given time to increase their vote share. The Lib Dems have a long running history of doing this. They make promises that they know they'll never have to adhere to within a coalition. A Lib Dem majority would be a complete nightmare for them.
I’m pretty sure they would happily deliver on revoking article 50 which is their number 1 policy going into this election and will be the main reason they will gain many voters in the upcoming election.
17-09-2019, 05:16 PM
Being pro-Europe is central to everything they are about and will be very popular with their core support.
These are slightly different times to normal where they'd be expected to play 3rd fiddle to the other 2 and only ever hope to be the makeweight in a coalition.
Sticking the "revoke article 50" message out there might be popular and there are a lot of disillusioned Labour and Conservative voters out there - in both the Leave and Remain camps.
I think they'll be quietly thinking they can sneak in and get a majority, and it might be that Labour and the Tories end up splitting the "Leave" vote.
Maybe the SNP will hold the balance of power?
17-09-2019, 05:25 PM
I’m pretty sure they would happily deliver on revoking article 50 which is their number 1 policy going into this election and will be the main reason they will gain many voters in the upcoming election.
They won't gain anywhere near enough seats to be in a position where they can single handedly revoke article 50. If they thought there was any chance whatsoever of that occuring, they wouldn't have made such a pledge. They're hardly going to allow themselves to be in a position where they would have to carry this out, as it would lead to full scale riots.
It's their "number 1 policy" for 3 reasons:
1) It wins votes
2) Not enough votes that they'll ever be in a position where they can carry it out.
3) It distracts people from their more sinister policies which they'd waste no time enacting should they enter another coalition with the Conservative Party.
17-09-2019, 05:29 PM
Being pro-Europe is central to everything they are about and will be very popular with their core support.
These are slightly different times to normal where they'd be expected to play 3rd fiddle to the other 2 and only ever hope to be the makeweight in a coalition.
Sticking the "revoke article 50" message out there might be popular and there are a lot of disillusioned Labour and Conservative voters out there - in both the Leave and Remain camps.
I think they'll be quietly thinking they can sneak in and get a majority, and it might be that Labour and the Tories end up splitting the "Leave" vote.
Maybe the SNP will hold the balance of power?
I believe Tim Farren and Vince Cable were both remainers and the Lib Dems on a whole are as well. However, I do not believe for one moment that Jo Swinson is a remainer as she's making herself out to be. Back in 2008, she was demanding an in/out referendum on european membership at Westminster. Yet we're supposed to believe that she would really be willing to reverse the outcome of the referendum now without another vote? I don't think so.
17-09-2019, 08:12 PM
I think they'll be quietly thinking they can sneak in and get a majority.
If they’re genuinely thinking that, quietly or not, then they’re not on this planet. There’s absolutely no chance the Lib Dems are going from a dozen or so seats to 300 odds in one go. Or ever!
As for Swinson, I can’t put my finger on it, but there’s something sinister about her. I think she’s a Tory who realised that to get into parliament in Scotland (at that time) you couldn’t be a Tory, so she became a Lib Dem.
17-09-2019, 08:22 PM
If they’re genuinely thinking that, quietly or not, then they’re not on this planet. There’s absolutely no chance the Lib Dems are going from a dozen or so seats to 300 odds in one go. Or ever!
As for Swinson, I can’t put my finger on it, but there’s something sinister about her. I think she’s a Tory who realised that to get into parliament in Scotland (at that time) you couldn’t be a Tory, so she became a Lib Dem.
I think that Brexit has blown everything we've ever known out of the water.
We've not really resolved the Leave/Remain issue and it is the dominant issue for the vast majority of people in England. This is likely to be the primary motivational factor when it comes to voting intentions of about 90% of the UK.
The LibDems have been consistent throughout and they have got in there early with their intention regards remaining in the EU. Their message could be very appealing to the disillusioned, disaffected retainers within especially the conservative but also the Labour Party. Corbyn isn't popular amongst those folk and they won't need all that much convincing to potentially look elsewhere.
Who would have thought 10 years ago that the SNP would have had the electoral success they have had? Constitutional issues such as this are very emotive and can lead to the rule book being ripped up.
Someone mentioned on here that the odds on a LibDem/ SNP coalition were very high. I'm starting to think it could be a shrewd bet.
It will be very interesting to see how any election pans out as it may see more tactical voting than ever before.
I think it is very hard to call at this stage and I wouldn't rule out something really bizarre happening.
17-09-2019, 08:25 PM
I believe Tim Farren and Vince Cable were both remainers and the Lib Dems on a whole are as well. However, I do not believe for one moment that Jo Swinson is a remainer as she's making herself out to be. Back in 2008, she was demanding an in/out referendum on european membership at Westminster. Yet we're supposed to believe that she would really be willing to reverse the outcome of the referendum now without another vote? I don't think so.
You really do manipulate facts to portray a false position don’t you? Aren’t you ever embarrassed?
Swinson was backing party policy in 2008. The Lib Dems were calling for an in/out referendum in which they would back staying in. And let’s not forget this was under Nick Clegg, who may be many things but is as Europhile as they come.
She criticised Cameron for calling a referendum that was all about managing dissent within the Tories, which everyone agrees with.
And even if her personal view was to leave in 2008, which I’ve not seen any proof of - it is possible to change ones mind. Unfortunately there are a few too many swivel heads who want to direct anger against those who voted the other way in both referenda, rather than seeking to understand why they did and how to persuade them otherwise.
Seems to me that Swinson on here attracts disproportionate vitriol and insults, usually of a personal nature (her accent etc). That suggests to me that she may be more of a threat to those posters than they care to admit. I suspect some of the ladies on here doth protest too much :-)
17-09-2019, 09:22 PM
Horrific.
Looked like we could have a proper remain alliance to take it to the Tories and avoid a no deal by sticking together, leading to the Tories being out of government. Power gone to her head within a fortnight and putting that in jeapordy.
If she ****s this up and causes a no deal I will be even angrier at her than anyone else.
17-09-2019, 09:26 PM
Horrific.
Looked like we could have a proper remain alliance to take it to the Tories and avoid a no deal by sticking together, leading to the Tories being out of government. Power gone to her head within a fortnight and putting that in jeapordy.
If she ****s this up and causes a no deal I will be even angrier at her than anyone else.
There is no sign of any kind of remain alliance yet? Her job is to get as many votes as possible for the Lib Dem’s.
There needs to be a deal between labour and the Lib Dem’s for there to be any type of remain alliance, and so far there is no sign of that. I don’t see how it’s jo Swindon’s fault though.
17-09-2019, 09:43 PM
There is no sign of any kind of remain alliance yet? Her job is to get as many votes as possible for the Lib Dem’s.
There needs to be a deal between labour and the Lib Dem’s for there to be any type of remain alliance, and so far there is no sign of that. I don’t see how it’s jo Swindon’s fault though.
Corbyn keeps rambling on about securing a good Brexit deal to put to the public when the overwhelming majority of his party want to Remain.
It’s like he is on a different planet to the membership, although in reality it is the likes of Seamas Milne manipulating a well-intended but not very bright man for their ideological purposes.
17-09-2019, 09:55 PM
As for Swinson, I can’t put my finger on it, but there’s something sinister about her. I think she’s a Tory who realised that to get into parliament in Scotland (at that time) you couldn’t be a Tory, so she became a Lib Dem.[emoji106]
She'll flip back to her trend of voting with the Tories faster than you can say Nick Clegg.
17-09-2019, 10:21 PM
You've absolutely nailed it about her.
I made the mistake of voting for the Lib Dems in 2010 and will never repeat that mistake again. I'd honestly rather vote Tory.
I'm a massive remainer but their policy of simply revoking article 50 is total undemocratic nonsense that they are only going with as they know they don't have a chance in hell of getting a majority. They might as well promise everyone a unicorn.
17-09-2019, 10:24 PM
Good pic of them all walking along the Sands at Bournemouth.
Typical Lib Dems. All style and no substance.
Renfrew_Hibby
18-09-2019, 09:38 AM
Bang on. She's a more attractve version of Ruthie, that's all.
18-09-2019, 09:59 AM
Bang on. She's a more attractve version of Ruthie, that's all.
Every man is a more attractive version of Ruthie.
Swinton = watered down Tory.
18-09-2019, 05:22 PM
You really do manipulate facts to portray a false position don’t you? Aren’t you ever embarrassed?
Swinson was backing party policy in 2008. The Lib Dems were calling for an in/out referendum in which they would back staying in. And let’s not forget this was under Nick Clegg, who may be many things but is as Europhile as they come.
She criticised Cameron for calling a referendum that was all about managing dissent within the Tories, which everyone agrees with.
And even if her personal view was to leave in 2008, which I’ve not seen any proof of - it is possible to change ones mind. Unfortunately there are a few too many swivel heads who want to direct anger against those who voted the other way in both referenda, rather than seeking to understand why they did and how to persuade them otherwise.
Seems to me that Swinson on here attracts disproportionate vitriol and insults, usually of a personal nature (her accent etc). That suggests to me that she may be more of a threat to those posters than they care to admit. I suspect some of the ladies on here doth protest too much :-)
That's an incredible level of mental gymnastics you pulled off there. Good job.
There's "changing your mind" and there's "changing your mind because it suits your political career in that particular moment".
So what's to stop her "changing her mind" again if a tory coalition opportunity arises?
18-09-2019, 05:49 PM
That's an incredible level of mental gymnastics you pulled off there. Good job.
There's "changing your mind" and there's "changing your mind because it suits your political career in that particular moment".
So what's to stop her "changing her mind" again if a tory coalition opportunity arises?
Manipulation again.
Who said she changed her mind, other than you?
You really are at it, but people aren’t so stupid not to see it, despite your previous posts calling voters stupid.
I think we can add another lie to the list you are accumulating.
18-09-2019, 05:55 PM
Manipulation again.
Who said she changed her mind, other than you?
You really are at it, but people aren’t so stupid not to see it, despite your previous posts calling voters stupid.
I think we can add another lie to the list you are accumulating.
You said "it is possible to change ones mind."
I agree with you. Although some politicians seem to change their mind back and forth to suit their own political career ambitions.
My question to you is. What's to stop her changing her mind again?
You've already been pulled up for calling me a liar. Lets not go down that route again.
18-09-2019, 06:01 PM
You said "it is possible to change ones mind."
I agree with you. Although some politicians seem to change their mind back and forth to suit their own political career ambitions.
My question to you is. What's to stop her changing her mind again?
You've already been pulled up for calling me a liar. Lets not go down that route again.
Pulled up by a poster who agrees with you, yeah, alright then :top marks
I said I hadn’t seen any proof her personal view in 2008 was to leave, which is what you are suggesting. Put up some proof and we can move this on.
I then said that even if she did, why wouldn’t it be possible to change her mind?
So, I’m speculating on a hypothetical that I don’t believe to be true anyway.
You are twisting the hypothetical and making it out to be fact.
To say you you lack subtlety is underegging it to a huge degree.
18-09-2019, 08:09 PM
i mean, what's not to like about the leader of the tory lites
18-09-2019, 08:43 PM
You're wasting your time. Some people value soundbites over actions. Even if the actions completely contradict the soundbites.
18-09-2019, 08:48 PM
Bang on. She's a more attractve version of Ruthie, that's all.Posted without comment [emoji16]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190918/9a3652c1a66a691bab14da6d8ae82f90.jpg
18-09-2019, 08:56 PM
Posted without comment [emoji16]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190918/9a3652c1a66a691bab14da6d8ae82f90.jpg
saw a few of them earlier i honestly thought they were photoshops...........apparently not :lips seal
18-09-2019, 09:13 PM
:bitchy:
They'll be posting pictures of Ed Milliband eating a bacon sandwich next.
18-09-2019, 09:15 PM
Posted without comment [emoji16]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190918/9a3652c1a66a691bab14da6d8ae82f90.jpg
Instead of comment can we get some Jeremy Corbyn creepy music to go with it?
18-09-2019, 09:19 PM
Instead of comment can we get some Jeremy Corbyn creepy music to go with it?
Only if the BBC are prepared to broadcast it. Perhaps they'll get round to it when the fall out of love with her like they did with Ruth Davidson.
18-09-2019, 09:22 PM
Why would you post that? See my earlier post about desperate tactics by some folk who are a wee bit more unnerved about Swinson than their ego lets them admit. Otherwise they would make it about policy not personal.
18-09-2019, 09:30 PM
Why would you post that? See my earlier post about desperate tactics by some folk who are a wee bit more unnerved about Swinson than their ego lets them admit. Otherwise they would make it about policy not personal.
Unnerved? We're laughing at her and those who can't see through her. I'm pretty sure you said we were "unnerved" by Ruth Davidson as well. Where is she now?
18-09-2019, 09:32 PM
Its not really debate when you copy and paste tawdry memes or the like, is it?
I am not a member of her party but I know her voting record on gay rights is solid. I know she voted against hereditary peers and I know she voted against making it harder to seek asylum in this country and she was anti-Trident, which should please a few folk on here.
I also know she voted for things I would disagree with but then she is a Lib Dem with the emphasis on Lib so what else should one expect? I don’t criticise Ken Clarke for wanting lower corporation tax, it is where he comes from politically. I can still be prepared to listen to and respect his views, even if I disagree.
Bit too much polarisation of views on here, it is all about put downs rather than actually engaging with different opinions, which is disappointing. Is that the best we can do?
18-09-2019, 09:35 PM
Unnerved? We're laughing at her and those who can't see through her. I'm pretty sure you said we were "unnerved" by Ruth Davidson as well. Where is she now?
Keep posting like that FH, it says all that needs to be said about you. No debate from you, just personal attacks and unsubstantiated or false accusations against people. It is poor, poor stuff.
18-09-2019, 09:38 PM
I am not a member of her party but I know her voting record on gay rights is solid. I know she voted against hereditary peers and I know she voted against making it harder to seek asylum in this country and she was anti-Trident, which should please a few folk on here.
I also know she voted for things I would disagree with but then she is a Lib Dem with the emphasis on Lib so what else should one expect? I don’t criticise Ken Clarke for wanting lower corporation tax, it is where he comes from politically. I can still be prepared to listen to and respect his views, even if I disagree.
Bit too much polarisation of views on here, it is all about put downs rather than actually engaging with different opinions, which is disappointing. Is that the best we can do?
She backed policies that drove people to suicide. If that's ok in your book, then thats your business. Don't expect everybody else on here to feel the same way.
18-09-2019, 09:38 PM
These voting record things are beyond tedious. Minister in coalition government votes with the government is really not a story.
As I said on the other thread, I think the new ultra remain thing is overreaching but she’s getting them noticed in a way Farron & Cable singularly failed to.
As an aside, she’s a tactical boon for the SNP for any Westminster election because the Unionist vote that more or less coalesced around Ruth will split again.
18-09-2019, 09:45 PM
These voting record things are beyond tedious. Minister in coalition government votes with the government is really not a story.
As I said on the other thread, I think the new ultra remain thing is overreaching but she’s getting them noticed in a way Farron & Cable singularly failed to.
As an aside, she’s a tactical boon for the SNP for any Westminster election because the Unionist vote that more or less coalesced around Ruth will split again.
Yes and agree with you about the They Vote For You stuff, it doesn’t contextualise the circumstances.
18-09-2019, 10:01 PM
That's pretty low. I've said it about Sturgeon and I'll now say it about Swinson, once the opposition start attacking someone for the way they look then you know they've exhausted their reasoned argumentation.
18-09-2019, 10:11 PM
That's pretty low. I've said it about Sturgeon and I'll now say it about Swinson, once the opposition start attacking someone for the way they look then you know they've exhausted their reasoned argumentation.
The appearance stuff is mostly aimed at femae politicians. It’s sexist ****. Sad stuff.
18-09-2019, 10:24 PM
The appearance stuff is mostly aimed at femae politicians. It’s sexist ****. Sad stuff.
I'd agree with "mostly" but it's certainly not exclusively, Salmond and Miliband got ripped apart for their appearance. To be fair I have had a go at Gove in the past, but that's more to do with his practiced look of sincerity and less to do with his appearance.
18-09-2019, 10:37 PM
The appearance stuff is mostly aimed at female politicians. It’s sexist ****. Sad stuff.
Correct. I'm seeing a photo of a woman laughing. I'm not quite sure why people find this worthy of comment, never mind ridicule.
18-09-2019, 11:21 PM
Because Boris Johnson is never compared to a baboon?
Why do people only ever get angry when it's aimed at female politicians, but nobody seems to bat an eyelid when it's aimed at male politicians?
18-09-2019, 11:28 PM
Yes, regardless of political persuasion, attacking on looks is low and it is massively biased against women.
It says a lot lot more about those who post such trash than those who they are posting about.
18-09-2019, 11:29 PM
Why do people only ever get angry when it's aimed at female politicians, but nobody seems to bat an eyelid when it's aimed at male politicians?
Some folk don’t really care what politicians look like either way.
18-09-2019, 11:34 PM
Some folk don’t really care what politicians look like either way.
I don't think anybody really cares what politicians look like. But people are always going to laugh and make fun on unflattering pictures of people in the public eye. It's not "sexist". It happens to people regardless of their gender. There just seems to be a bigger song and dance about it when it happens to females these days. Real sexism comes from treating women like delicate flowers who we can't laugh at the expense of like we do with men.
18-09-2019, 11:35 PM
I challenged you earlier about your view on female politicians. Don’t think you responded. This post just sees you digging further into the ground.
I don’t actually think you believe your second paragraph, I think you are just looking for a reaction. I don’t know your motivation but enough people read these threads without posting and some might actually accept what you state at face value. That is almost but not quite as sad as you posting it in the first place.
18-09-2019, 11:36 PM
I challenged you earlier about your view on female politicians. Don’t think you responded. This post just sees you digging further into the ground.
I don’t actually think you believe your second paragraph, I think you are just looking for a reaction. I don’t know your motivation but enough people read these threads without posting and some might actually accept what you state at face value. 5ay is almost but not quite as sad as you posting it in the first place.
I do believe my second paragraph, because it's true. Do you think it's fair to treat women as the weaker sex?
18-09-2019, 11:43 PM
I do believe my second paragraph, because it's true. Do you think it's fair to treat women as the weaker sex?
No I don’t. I am also sentient enough to know that discrimination and inequality is rooted in power and power relations. And by any measure or metric, women face a harder time, as do people from a black or minority background.
You really are looking for a reaction. One minute you are the Corbynist, one minute the nationalist, one minute the Express reader railing against Jo Swinson and claiming female politicians get it easy compared to Boris.
You should maybe find an identity that isn’t journeyman troll. I am sure you would gain a deeper sense of personal wellbeing.
18-09-2019, 11:50 PM
No I don’t. I am also sentient enough to know that discrimination and inequality is rooted in power and power relations. And by any measure or metric, women face a harder time, as do people from a black or minority background.
You really are looking for a reaction. One minute you are the Corbynist, one minute the nationalist, one minute the Express reader railing against Jo Swinson and claiming female politicians get it easy compared to Boris.
You should maybe find an identity that isn’t journeyman troll. I am sure you would gain a deeper sense of personal wellbeing.
Someone posted an unflattering image of Jo Swinson for a laugh and you're throwing a childrens temper tantrum over it. Does Jo Swinson frequent the Holy Ground of Hibs.Net? Is she going to stumble across this thread tomorrow, then go cry in a corner about it?
I suggest that it's people like you who are looking for reactions. Always looking for a reason to be offended and upset over trivial things that have no direct effect on anything.
I'm a little more upset over tory policies (backed by Jo Swinson) that have ultimately contributed to the death of thousands of people across the UK. You're upset over a picture posted on here that she'll never see. Just let that sink in for a moment before constructing your next response.
19-09-2019, 12:04 AM
Someone posted an unflattering image of Jo Swinson for a laugh and you're throwing a childrens temper tantrum over it. Does Jo Swinson frequent the Holy Ground of Hibs.Net? Is she going to stumble across this thread tomorrow, then go cry in a corner about it?
I suggest that it's people like you who are looking for reactions. Always looking for a reason to be offended and upset over trivial things that have no direct effect on anything.
I'm a little more upset over tory policies (backed by Jo Swinson) that have ultimately contributed to the death of thousands of people across the UK. You're upset over a picture posted on here that she'll never see. Just let that sink in for a moment before constructing your next response.
You cannot be taken seriously as a poster, but I will happily respond to any of your posts which I consider ridiculous and say why.
”Children’s temper tantrum” :greengrin. You are a card.
Did you ever come back with proof of Swinson backing Leave in 2008 or are you going to delete the misleading posts where you suggested she was Out then and In now? Because you and I both know you were being untrue.
Cataplana
19-09-2019, 08:35 AM
"Death of thousands of people." Do we have a source to verify this before I go repeating it to any refugees I might stumble upon.
19-09-2019, 11:28 AM
"Death of thousands of people." Do we have a source to verify this before I go repeating it to any refugees I might stumble upon.
I was being lenient when I said "thousands of people".
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/health/tory-austerity-deaths-study-report-people-die-social-care-government-policy-a8057306.html
https://www.ucl.ac.uk/news/2017/nov/austerity-linked-120000-extra-deaths-england
https://welfareweekly.com/study-links-tory-cuts-to-120000-deaths/
https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/tory-health-cuts-economic-murder-11529388
https://www.taxresearch.org.uk/Blog/2017/12/02/austerity-will-cost-a-million-lives-of-which-120000-have-already-happened-been-lost/
https://evolvepolitics.com/horrific-new-study-shows-tory-cuts-linked-to-120000-needless-deaths-since-2010/
A direct link to the study: https://bmjopen.bmj.com/content/7/11/e017722
21-09-2019, 01:46 PM
I heard she was pushing her children in a buggy at the Glasgow climate strike yesterday.
A wee bit of hypocrisy, apologies for the link, but the story is she accepted money from a fracking company.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/liberal-democrat-leadership-hopeful-dubbed-16483979
21-09-2019, 02:26 PM
I heard she was pushing her children in a buggy at the Glasgow climate strike yesterday.
A wee bit of hypocrisy, apologies for the link, but the story is she accepted money from a fracking company.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/liberal-democrat-leadership-hopeful-dubbed-16483979
Claims to be pro-climate...... accepts bribes from fracking companies.
Claims to be pro-EU......... campaigned for an EU referendum 10 years ago.
Claims to be a 'progressive'..... despite her regressive voting record.
It's almost as if..... what she claims to be, doesn't match up to what she actually does. :hmmm:
25-09-2019, 06:32 PM
She tells her laddie off for kicking a football indoors. How could anyone support her???? :-)
28-09-2019, 07:18 PM
Have to say, the Lib Dems are becoming really irritating.
Boris needs punted pronto, and yet the Lib Dems are still f@nnying around refusing to back Corbyn as a caretaker PM. This move has 1 purpose; to remove Boris from power and preventing a no deal Brexit before an election. What's the problem?
28-09-2019, 08:23 PM
Boris needs punted pronto, and yet the Lib Dems are still f@nnying around refusing to back Corbyn as a caretaker PM. This move has 1 purpose; to remove Boris from power and preventing a no deal Brexit before an election. What's the problem?
The problem is that it allows Corbyn to fight the next election as the incumbent and also as the man who postponed brexit. If I was running the Lib Dem’s I would want something in return, probably a non compete agreement in the top 20 libdem/Tory marginals at least. That helps keep the Tories out of power as well so would be in Labours interest to give it. I certainly would not do it for free.
28-09-2019, 08:44 PM
I can only think she wants her 5 minutes, surely her party members will overrule her.
Cataplana
30-09-2019, 07:25 PM
So, was it the same image consultant that told her to wear red lipstick, that told her to start speaking with an English accent?
I suspect this girl is not the sharpest tool in the box, and is starting to see herself as potential PM.
01-10-2019, 11:57 AM
Another Angry Voice isnt mincing his words today:
"The Lib-Dems really are a **** political party aren't they?
After the Lib-Dems have spent the last two years endlessly banging on about how much they oppose Brexit, and repeatedly calling for another EU referendum, all the other opposition parties have come to them seeking support for their cross-party plan to stop Tory No Deal Brexit chaos, and call another general election, with all of them proposing a final say referendum in their manifestos.
The Lib-Dems have been handed the blueprint to stop what they say they oppose on a silver platter, but instead of grasping it with both hands they've slapped it to the floor.
On the face of it their decision to keep the threat of Tory No Deal chaos alive makes no sense at all, because it completely contradicts their "bollocks to Brexit" posturing, but the mistake you'd be making would be trusting the Lib-Dems that they say what they mean (a painful lesson that students, electoral reformers, Anyone But Tory voters, and the anti-war demographic all learned the brutally hard way back in 2010).
There are many reasons the Lib-Dems are seeking to keep the threat of Tory No Deal chaos alive, and they all essentially come down to "party before country" self-interest:
Brexit chaos has been the single biggest recruiting tool the Lib-Dems have ever come across, so why would they help the other opposition parties disarm it, when the threat of it is driving thousands upon thousands of gullible dupes into their arms?
Almost all of the Lib-Dems main target seats are Tory marginals. If the Lib-Dems make Corbyn temporary Prime Minister in order to stop Tory No Deal Brexit, this will wreck their election strategy.
They're prioritising a couple of dozen parliamentary seats at the next election above the best interests of the entire nation (which is exactly the same kind of short-term party political gamble David Cameron took by promising the EU election in the first place, purely to nick a few thousand votes off UKIP).
Lib-Dem leader Jo Swinson loves to arrogantly strut around demanding that she gets to pick the leader of other parties, but she's actually representing a tight Lib-Dem/SNP marginal that the SNP took off her in 2015.
Labour and the SNP are keen for another General Election because they believe they have the policies to win more seats, but Swinson is actually terrified the SNP will take her seat again, especially given her Brazen hypocrisy of demanding another EU referendum because she didn't like the result, whilst vehemently opposing another Scottish independence referendum because she did like the result.
She's terrified of another election because she's afraid of losing her seat as a sitting party leader, which would eclipse the humiliation of Portillo in 1997, and Balls in 2015.
Another factor to consider is the ideological hatred the Lib-Dems have towards genuine democratic socialism. They're dyed in the wool neoliberals who strongly believe that vital national infrastructure and services should be run as private money-spinning operations for the benefit of the mega-rich, not as not-for-profit public services for the benefit of the British people and the British economy.
The idea of nationalising the railways, water supply, Royal Mail and national grid fills them with fear and ideological revulsion.
As far as they're concerned these things are, and should always remain the playthings of the rich.
If they allow Corbyn to serve as temporary Prime Minister to quickly and efficiently rule out Tory No Deal chaos and then deliver a general election, they know it'll help create the public impression that Corbyn could also deliver on his manifesto commitments to undo the most disastrous privatisation scams of the last four decades.
And the big money corporate donations that are pouring into Lib-Dem coffers would soon dry up if they did anything whatever to jeopardise the corporate money-printing scams of privatised utilities, privately-administered public services, PFI economic alchemy, and ludicrously one-sided corporate outsourcing contracts.
But worse even that the "party above country" posturing of the Lib-Dem leadership is the vile attack dog mentality of their tribalist supporters, who won't just perform extraordinary acts of mental contortionism to defend their party's efforts to keep the threat of Tory No Deal Brexit alive purely for their own party political advantage, they'll spew insults and mental health abuse at anyone who dares point out what a bunch of duplicitous self-serving charlatans the leaders of their political tribe are.
The outlandish gullibility it takes to actually believe the Lib-Dem leadership after their shocking track record of deception and betrayal in combination with extraordinarily vitriolic Lib-Dem outpourings of "how dare you criticise us" arrogance aimed at anyone who dares try to hold their beloved leaders to account makes Lib-Dem tribalists a particularly stubborn and nasty group to deal with.
The whole idea of keeping the threat of a catastrophic Tory No Deal meltdown alive, purely for their own party political advantage, whilst simultaneously trying to occupy the moral and political high ground should be absolutely repulsive to anyone with even a shred of decency."
01-10-2019, 12:59 PM
Another Angry Voice isnt mincing his words today:
"The Lib-Dems really are a **** political party aren't they?
After the Lib-Dems have spent the last two years endlessly banging on about how much they oppose Brexit, and repeatedly calling for another EU referendum, all the other opposition parties have come to them seeking support for their cross-party plan to stop Tory No Deal Brexit chaos, and call another general election, with all of them proposing a final say referendum in their manifestos.
The Lib-Dems have been handed the blueprint to stop what they say they oppose on a silver platter, but instead of grasping it with both hands they've slapped it to the floor.
On the face of it their decision to keep the threat of Tory No Deal chaos alive makes no sense at all, because it completely contradicts their "bollocks to Brexit" posturing, but the mistake you'd be making would be trusting the Lib-Dems that they say what they mean (a painful lesson that students, electoral reformers, Anyone But Tory voters, and the anti-war demographic all learned the brutally hard way back in 2010).
There are many reasons the Lib-Dems are seeking to keep the threat of Tory No Deal chaos alive, and they all essentially come down to "party before country" self-interest:
Brexit chaos has been the single biggest recruiting tool the Lib-Dems have ever come across, so why would they help the other opposition parties disarm it, when the threat of it is driving thousands upon thousands of gullible dupes into their arms?
Almost all of the Lib-Dems main target seats are Tory marginals. If the Lib-Dems make Corbyn temporary Prime Minister in order to stop Tory No Deal Brexit, this will wreck their election strategy.
They're prioritising a couple of dozen parliamentary seats at the next election above the best interests of the entire nation (which is exactly the same kind of short-term party political gamble David Cameron took by promising the EU election in the first place, purely to nick a few thousand votes off UKIP).
Lib-Dem leader Jo Swinson loves to arrogantly strut around demanding that she gets to pick the leader of other parties, but she's actually representing a tight Lib-Dem/SNP marginal that the SNP took off her in 2015.
Labour and the SNP are keen for another General Election because they believe they have the policies to win more seats, but Swinson is actually terrified the SNP will take her seat again, especially given her Brazen hypocrisy of demanding another EU referendum because she didn't like the result, whilst vehemently opposing another Scottish independence referendum because she did like the result.
She's terrified of another election because she's afraid of losing her seat as a sitting party leader, which would eclipse the humiliation of Portillo in 1997, and Balls in 2015.
Another factor to consider is the ideological hatred the Lib-Dems have towards genuine democratic socialism. They're dyed in the wool neoliberals who strongly believe that vital national infrastructure and services should be run as private money-spinning operations for the benefit of the mega-rich, not as not-for-profit public services for the benefit of the British people and the British economy.
The idea of nationalising the railways, water supply, Royal Mail and national grid fills them with fear and ideological revulsion.
As far as they're concerned these things are, and should always remain the playthings of the rich.
If they allow Corbyn to serve as temporary Prime Minister to quickly and efficiently rule out Tory No Deal chaos and then deliver a general election, they know it'll help create the public impression that Corbyn could also deliver on his manifesto commitments to undo the most disastrous privatisation scams of the last four decades.
And the big money corporate donations that are pouring into Lib-Dem coffers would soon dry up if they did anything whatever to jeopardise the corporate money-printing scams of privatised utilities, privately-administered public services, PFI economic alchemy, and ludicrously one-sided corporate outsourcing contracts.
But worse even that the "party above country" posturing of the Lib-Dem leadership is the vile attack dog mentality of their tribalist supporters, who won't just perform extraordinary acts of mental contortionism to defend their party's efforts to keep the threat of Tory No Deal Brexit alive purely for their own party political advantage, they'll spew insults and mental health abuse at anyone who dares point out what a bunch of duplicitous self-serving charlatans the leaders of their political tribe are.
The outlandish gullibility it takes to actually believe the Lib-Dem leadership after their shocking track record of deception and betrayal in combination with extraordinarily vitriolic Lib-Dem outpourings of "how dare you criticise us" arrogance aimed at anyone who dares try to hold their beloved leaders to account makes Lib-Dem tribalists a particularly stubborn and nasty group to deal with.
The whole idea of keeping the threat of a catastrophic Tory No Deal meltdown alive, purely for their own party political advantage, whilst simultaneously trying to occupy the moral and political high ground should be absolutely repulsive to anyone with even a shred of decency."
Which is all very well, who doesn’t like slagging off the Lib Dem’s but the reality is they are right. The numbers are not there for Corbyn because the expelled Tories won’t vote for him.
01-10-2019, 01:06 PM
Which is all very well, who doesn’t like slagging off the Lib Dem’s but the reality is they are right. The numbers are not there for Corbyn because the expelled Tories won’t vote for him.
If it's a time limited government then I'm not so sure. What's worse, one month of Corbyn or a lifetime of the repercussions of no deal?
01-10-2019, 01:15 PM
If it's a time limited government then I'm not so sure. What's worse, one month of Corbyn or a lifetime of the repercussions of no deal?
I’m deliberately not following all this stuff closely as it’s far too depressing but is the answer not as simple as Corbyn standing aside and letting a unity PM lead a unity government for a month?
Cataplana
01-10-2019, 01:22 PM
I’m deliberately not following all this stuff closely as it’s far too depressing but is the answer not as simple as Corbyn standing aside and letting a unity PM lead a unity government for a month?
I think she has been given the nod by some Tories that they'll support her if she comes across more Thatcherlike, and shes been daft enough to believe them.
01-10-2019, 03:42 PM
I think she has been given the nod by some Tories that they'll support her if she comes across more Thatcherlike, and shes been daft enough to believe them.
Just by the law of averages, sooner or later The Genius And The Oaf are going to get something right. And their banking on the opposition parties being unable to unify might well turn out to be that thing.
:halowitch:
Cataplana
01-10-2019, 04:13 PM
Just by the law of averages, sooner or later The Genius And The Oaf are going to get something right. And their banking on the opposition parties being unable to unify might well turn out to be that thing.
:halowitch:
As a conspiracy theorist, I just cannot accept that anybody could be as bad as that pair. It has to all have been a cunning plan.
01-10-2019, 04:21 PM
As a conspiracy theorist, I just cannot accept that anybody could be as bad as that pair. It has to all have been a cunning plan.
A cunning plan like losing seven votes in a row to take away the fear of losing seven votes in a row, or something even more cunning than that? :hmmm:
Cataplana
01-10-2019, 04:44 PM
A cunning plan like losing seven votes in a row to take away the fear of losing seven votes in a row, or something even more cunning than that? :hmmm:
So cunning it is beyond my imagination.
24-10-2019, 04:43 AM
The "moderates" strike again.
https://evolvepolitics.com/jo-swinsons-lib-dems-refuse-to-support-motion-to-halt-nhs-privatisation/
24-10-2019, 05:21 AM
Utter charlatans! :grr:
https://i.ibb.co/418DShc/charlatans.png
24-10-2019, 08:10 AM
The problem isn’t the LibDems. It the Tory rebels who will never support Corbyn. Swinson is only guilt of pointing out the bleeding obvious.
Frankhfc
24-10-2019, 08:22 AM
I like Jo Swinson and her party. My own constituency M.P Christine Jardine has proved to be both competent and hard working. Their stance on revoking Brexit entirely is one I'm firmly behind. I'd like to see them make inroads into winning a great deal more seats across the board in future elections.
Equally, what is the problem for Corbyn if its one month of Harriet Harman, for example?
24-10-2019, 10:17 AM
I like Jo Swinson and her party. My own constituency M.P Christine Jardine has proved to be both competent and hard working. Their stance on revoking Brexit entirely is one I'm firmly behind. I'd like to see them make inroads into winning a great deal more seats across the board in future elections.
Funny. She's my MP also and just like Hamilton, she's never anywhere to be seen.
As for Jo Swinson. Her and her party are proving once again that they're fully on board with the tory NHS privitization agenda with the US. Which is directly linked to Brexit.
24-10-2019, 10:21 AM
The problem isn’t the LibDems. It the Tory rebels who will never support Corbyn. Swinson is only guilt of pointing out the bleeding obvious.
Just because they won't support Corbyn, doesn't necessarily mean they'll back Boris either. The Lib Dems know they could be the key difference. Which is why they keep making up one pathetic excuse after another not to back a Labour Government.
It's incredible how there are still people who can't see them for what they blatantly are.
24-10-2019, 10:24 AM
Just because they won't support Corbyn, doesn't necessarily mean they'll back Boris either. The Lib Dems know they could be the key difference. Which is why they keep making up one pathetic excuse after another not to back a Labour Government.
It's incredible how there are still people who can't see them for what they blatantly are.
You think the Tory rebels could stomach Corbyn as even a stop gap PM?
24-10-2019, 10:27 AM
It’s not a pathetic excuse, it’s smart politics. In the areas where the Lib Dem’s have a chance of beating the Tories, Jeremy Corbyn is seen as the great Satan. If she aligns with Corbyn now they have no chance of taking those seats.
24-10-2019, 10:35 AM
They're centrists. That's what they are. They won't be fans of the far left so they won't be into Jeremy Corbyn or his cronies. Equally, they won't be very much into Boris or his buddies on the further right end of the spectrum.
Just because you might have a more left-leaning tendency doesn't mean that everyone to the right of you are in cahoots with each other.
The LibDems have as much to gain from moderate Labour voters disillusioned from their party's lurch to the left as they do picking up moderate Tories, and cosying up to Boris, Rees-Mogg and Cummings will alienate a part of the electorate they stand to potentially gain huge support from.
Their reasons not to back a Labour government are not pathetic excuses. In a changing political landscape they'd be daft to chain themselves to a party who have a recent track record of infighting, unpopularity and dithering.
24-10-2019, 10:48 AM
You think the Tory rebels could stomach Corbyn as even a stop gap PM?
It doesn't make any difference if they can't stomach Boris Johnson either. They'll just void their votes.
It’s not a pathetic excuse, it’s smart politics. In the areas where the Lib Dem’s have a chance of beating the Tories, Jeremy Corbyn is seen as the great Satan. If she aligns with Corbyn now they have no chance of taking those seats.
The tories are going to gain more seats than they lose. Watch them do a deal with the brexit party and the vast majority of brexiteers will unite behind them. Meanwhile, the Lib Dems will split remainers right down the middle. It'll be a cakewalk for the conservatives and their hard brexit agenda.
You're right though. It's certainly smart, the way they've conned so many people.
They're centrists. That's what they are. They won't be fans of the far left so they won't be into Jeremy Corbyn or his cronies. Equally, they won't be very much into Boris or his buddies on the further right end of the spectrum.
Just because you might have a more left-leaning tendency doesn't mean that everyone to the right of you are in cahoots with each other.
The LibDems have as much to gain from moderate Labour voters disillusioned from their party's lurch to the left as they do picking up moderate Tories, and cosying up to Boris, Rees-Mogg and Cummings will alienate a part of the electorate they stand to potentially gain huge support from.
Their reasons not to back a Labour government are not pathetic excuses. In a changing political landscape they'd be daft to chain themselves to a party who have a recent track record of infighting, unpopularity and dithering.
There is no such thing as "centrist". It's a modern political trope that all large parties claim to be. The "centre ground" is exactly where you place it.
24-10-2019, 10:56 AM
The Tories and the DUP will not back Corbyn as interim PM. That's an undeniable fact, so if the opposition want to use a vote of confidence successfully, they have to agree an acceptable candidate.
The Liberals could back him to the hilt, but it wouldn't do any good, because he wouldn't be appointed by Parliament. If that happens, we get the general election that Boris Johnson wants.
If a less divisive candidate was agreed, we could see the Government resign and a new, non-Tory government take its place until no-deal is guaranteed, and hopefully a second referendum scheduled.
It's not difficult to understand. Ironically, the last time there was a successful VONC, it was in 1979 when the SNP helped pave the way for over a decade of Margaret Thatcher.
24-10-2019, 10:59 AM
It's not difficult to understand. Ironically, the last time there was a successful VONC, it was in 1979 when the SNP helped pave the way for over a decade of Margaret Thatcher.
Ah, that old chestnut again, which has already been covered a thousand times on here. Labour had the chance to remain in government and turned the offer down. Next.
24-10-2019, 11:15 AM
The Tories and the DUP will not back Corbyn as interim PM. That's an undeniable fact, so if the opposition want to use a vote of confidence successfully, they have to agree an acceptable candidate.
The Liberals could back him to the hilt, but it wouldn't do any good, because he wouldn't be appointed by Parliament. If that happens, we get the general election that Boris Johnson wants.
If a less divisive candidate was agreed, we could see the Government resign and a new, non-Tory government take its place until no-deal is guaranteed, and hopefully a second referendum scheduled.
and sufferd for their sins
The Scottish National Party also suffered in the 1979 general election, with its group reduced from 11 members to just two.The incoming Conservative government repealed the Scotland Act and devolution was not enacted until the 1997 referendum.
24-10-2019, 11:38 AM
and sufferd for their sins
Indeed. It seems highly unlikely that something like that could happen again, but it's not outwith the realms of possiblity.
The SNP are playing their own political games, just like the Liberals. Understandably so.
Sturgeon went on record last week as saying that she wouldn't support a coalition with Labour unless a second referendum was guaranteed. "Don't even pick the phone up".
If, after the next GE, no party has won an overall majority, but Labour refuses to guarantee Indy2, would the SNP allow the Tories to govern?
If so, how would that sit with the Scottish electorate. Scottish Labour would love that to happen.
It's a daft hypothesis which isn't really worth considering, isn't it. Isn't it?
Frankhfc
24-10-2019, 03:14 PM
Funny. She's my MP also and just like Hamilton, she's never anywhere to be seen.
As for Jo Swinson. Her and her party are proving once again that they're fully on board with the tory NHS privitization agenda with the US. Which is directly linked to Brexit.
Strange comment.
What do you mean by it? Missing when/where?
I've always found her welcoming and very willing to help her constituents.
24-10-2019, 03:17 PM
Strange comment.
What do you mean by it? Missing when/where?
I've always found her welcoming and very willing to help her constituents.
She's never in her office. I've lived here for the best part of 5 years and the only 1 time ive seen her is at a polling station.
Frankhfc
24-10-2019, 03:30 PM
She's never in her office. I've lived here for the best part of 5 years and the only 1 time ive seen her is at a polling station.
I've met her several times in her constituency office. She was great with me and helped me considerably with the matters I presented to her. I know of other constituents who have found her and her office team very willing to aid them with their issues.
Sounds as if you're letting you're partisan glasses view the current Lib Dem M.P incumbent.
24-10-2019, 04:01 PM
I've met her several times in her constituency office. She was great with me and helped me considerably with the matters I presented to her. I know of other constituents who have found her and her office team very willing to aid them with their issues.
Sounds as if you're letting you're partisan glasses view the current Lib Dem M.P incumbent.
I tell you what. I'll pay a wee visit to her office tomorrow to see if she's there. I'll even take a picture of the empty office while i'm there. :aok:
Frankhfc
24-10-2019, 04:10 PM
I tell you what. I'll pay a wee visit to her office tomorrow to see if she's there. I'll even take a picture of the empty office while i'm there. :aok:
If you're not willing to either listen to or take on board a fellow hi bees actual experiences and their opinion then I'm not interested in yours either. Do as you wish and take as many photos as you want and I'll continue to base my opinion on my actual dealings with her and her office which was excellent as she helped solve my issues.
24-10-2019, 04:15 PM
If you're not willing to either listen to or take on board a fellow hi bees actual experiences and their opinion then I'm not interested in yours either. Do as you wish and take as many photos as you want and I'll continue to base my opinion on my actual dealings with her and her office which was excellent as she helped solve my issues.
I don't know if you even live in this constituency, have ever met Jardine or been to a Hibs game in your life. You're another faceless stranger to me on here. So forgive me if i'm somewhat hesitant to take your comments as gospel.
Frankhfc
24-10-2019, 04:21 PM
I don't know if you even live in this constituency, have ever met Jardine or been to a Hibs game in your life. You're another faceless stranger to me on here. So forgive me if i'm somewhat hesitant to take your comments as gospel.
I'm surprised the admins allow you to post on here with these type comments.
24-10-2019, 04:21 PM
With very few exceptions, most on here will not have met many other posters but the whole point of the forums is debate. How are we to know that you even know where the constituency office is and when it is open? Or even that you actually intend going tomorrow?
26-10-2019, 05:04 PM
How did you get on with this yesterday?
31-10-2019, 06:00 PM
I came home to a Lib Dem flyer, announced that Swinson is the next UK Prime Minister, wonder if you can do them for false advertising
31-10-2019, 06:02 PM
I came home to a Lib Dem flyer, announced that Swinson is the next UK Prime Minister, wonder if you can do them for false advertising
Any chance of an image?
31-10-2019, 06:09 PM
Any chance of an image?
Here you go, can't be arsed working out how to turn it round
CloudSquall
31-10-2019, 06:25 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/ArthurStramash/status/1189859312522465281
Some clips of Andrew Neil interviewing Jo Swinson who had some difficulty in explaining why they can have talks with Plaid Cymru on election strategies but not SNP.
31-10-2019, 06:35 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/ArthurStramash/status/1189859312522465281
Some clips of Andrew Neil interviewing Jo Swinson who had some difficulty in explaining why they can have talks with Plaid Cymru on election strategies but not SNP.
She looks very uncomfortable there. Comes across as being disingenuous.
I think the Lib Dems will do ok in the GE, particularly in England but nowt to do with Swinson and all to do with Brexit. Don't rate her.
31-10-2019, 06:45 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-politics-50243151/lib-dem-leader-jo-swinson-on-pm-election-fantasy
31-10-2019, 08:10 PM
She looks very uncomfortable there. Comes across as being disingenuous.
I think the Lib Dems will do ok in the GE, particularly in England but nowt to do with Swinson and all to do with Brexit. Don't rate her.
She always looks uncomfortable when pressed. Much like Ruth Davidson did. I just don't understand the fawning over people like her and Davidson. They're utterly horrific politicians.
31-10-2019, 08:21 PM
You'd think she'd work harder on getting solid answers with confident delivery to these questions as she must know she's going to be asked them and her stuttering doesn't look good.
Is it beyond the wit of the LibDem spin doctors to come up with an answer as to why she'd deal with the Welsh nationalists but not the Scottish ones?
I'm surprised she gets herself in such a fiddle over being in the position of supporting the UK being in the European Union and Scotland remaining within the UK. It's not that unreasonable a position, many people will agree with her and have an interest in voting for her but she is utterly unconvincing. I'm sure I could cobble together an excuse for wanting one referendum repeated but not the other, practice it a bit and deliver it with a bit of conviction when pressed, even if I didn't believe it.
I must be a more skilled liar than I thought.
31-10-2019, 08:24 PM
You'd think she'd work harder on getting solid answers with confident delivery to these questions as she must know she's going to be asked them and her stuttering doesn't look good.
Is it beyond the wit of the LibDem spin doctors to come up with an answer as to why she'd deal with the Welsh nationalists but not the Scottish ones?
I'm surprised she gets herself in such a fiddle over being in the position of supporting the UK being in the European Union and Scotland remaining within the UK. It's not that unreasonable a position, many people will agree with her and have an interest in voting for her but she is utterly unconvincing. I'm sure I could cobble together an excuse for wanting one referendum repeated but not the other, practice it a bit and deliver it with a bit of conviction when pressed.
Stuttering is a symptom of saying things that you're not really thinking. That's why she stutters. She doesn't believe most of the guff that comes out of her own mouth. She's a tory without the ability to tell a convincing lie.
31-10-2019, 10:27 PM
She always looks uncomfortable when pressed. Much like Ruth Davidson did. I just don't understand the fawning over people like her and Davidson. They're utterly horrific politicians.
It is not just me who says it. Do you ever feel uncomfortable about the fact that you consistently target women? What is wrong with you?
01-11-2019, 07:49 AM
Here you go, can't be arsed working out how to turn it round
Haha they're doing the Davidson thing where they don't mention the party
Interesting that she is excluded from the TV election debate. I suppose after Clegg made Cameron and Brown look like a pair of stuffed shirts they don’t want a repeat but having these two old farts debate will be like a rerun of Baddiel and Newman
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=aEQcsuXnnnc
CloudSquall
03-11-2019, 03:00 PM
Swinson gets called out on Lib Dems dodgy bar charts :greengrin
https://twitter.com/michaeljswalker/status/1190969677050200064
03-11-2019, 10:34 PM
It is not just me who says it. Do you ever feel uncomfortable about the fact that you consistently target women? What is wrong with you?
Are you suggesting that Nicola Sturgeon, Leanne Wood and Caroline Lucas are not women. But Boris Johnson, Nigel Farage and Alex Cole-Hamilton are? :confused:
Do you ever feel uncomfortable about your generalized sweeping inaccurate statements?
03-11-2019, 10:54 PM
Another disastrous interview from Swinson (who i'm not allowed to criticize because she's a woman....)
https://twitter.com/toryfibs/status/1190956502711963648?s=21&fbclid=IwAR2ZMEFG2wuxjH788V5bsACtLfPajq7RrM6xT5v9X HFmQuefwGbamjuzaIo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPLB_IsUBH0
03-11-2019, 11:18 PM
Are you suggesting that Nicola Sturgeon, Leanne Wood and Caroline Lucas are not women. But Boris Johnson, Nigel Farage and Alex Cole-Hamilton are? :confused:
Do you ever feel uncomfortable about your generalized sweeping inaccurate statements?
I don’t really take your judgements on me that seriously. You are hard to take seriously as a poster. You pontificate, and then when called out for inaccuracy or lies disappear only to re-emerge after a gap. And that’s not my opinion. Other posters called you out for it before I did.
I, and other posters, have called you out because you seem to direct your venom at women politicians. Own it.
03-11-2019, 11:24 PM
I don’t really take your judgements on me that seriously. You are hard to take seriously as a poster. You pontificate, and then when called out for inaccuracy or lies disappear only to re-emerge after a gap. And that’s not my opinion. Other posters called you out for it before I did.
I, and other posters, have called you out because you seem to direct your venom at women politicians. Own it.
You're right, I do direct venom at politicians who happen to be women. I also happen to direct venom at politicians that happen to be men.
But in your "totally non-sexist" mind, women are too delicate to face criticism on the level that men do.
Get out of the 60s.
03-11-2019, 11:25 PM
Another disastrous interview from Swinson (who i'm not allowed to criticize because she's a woman....)
https://twitter.com/toryfibs/status/1190956502711963648?s=21&fbclid=IwAR2ZMEFG2wuxjH788V5bsACtLfPajq7RrM6xT5v9X HFmQuefwGbamjuzaIo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPLB_IsUBH0
And you’re not the first person to post that but I am not seeing what was disastrous about it. I am a member of a different party than hers but she responded fairly and accurately.
I think Jo Swinson scares the likes of folk like you, that’s why there is so much venom and vitriol poured at her, from you. Unfortunately it just makes you look worse.
Is it because she is a woman? Is it because she scares you? I don’t know but I don’t think for a second you will be honest about it.
03-11-2019, 11:28 PM
And you’re not the first person to post that but I am not seeing what was disastrous about it. I am a member of a different party than hers but she responded fairly and accurately.
I think Jo Swinson scares the likes of folk like you, that’s why there is so much venom and vitriol poured at her, from you. Unfortunately it just makes you look worse.
Is it because she is a woman? Is it because she scares you? I don’t know but I don’t think for a second you will be honest about it.
Fairly and accurately? Her party has been sending out data that simply doesn't exist. Everything from graphs generated from non-existent data to claims that Jo Swinson is going to be the Primeminister after the election. Are you sure you're not just 100% completely blinkered?
03-11-2019, 11:29 PM
You're right, I do direct venom at politicians who happen to be women. I also happen to direct venom at politicians that happen to be men.
But in your "totally non-sexist" mind, women are too delicate to face criticism on the level that men do.
Get out of the 60s.
‘Directing venom’ is a pretty sad place to find yourself in. Is that where you find yourself in life? ‘Directing venom’? You are an adult I assume.
The reason you are getting called out for it, and not just by me, is it appears to be directed more at women, which is worrying. Any grown-up should be able to recognise that.
03-11-2019, 11:34 PM
‘Directing venom’ is a pretty sad place to find yourself in. Is that where you find yourself in life? ‘Directing venom’? You are an adult I assume.
The reason you are getting called out for it, and not just by me, is it appears to be directed more at women, which is worrying. Any grown-up should be able to recognise that.
I simply used your own words seeing as you associate any perfectly legitimate criticism I aim towards female politicians on here as "directing venom".
Seeing as you're the only person on here that seems to "recognise" it, perhaps you actually have a lot of growing up to do. It's generally little children who see things that aren't there.
03-11-2019, 11:37 PM
But seeing as you rightfully pointed out that the interview had already been posted by another poster. I'll be more than happy to post yet another car crash interview involving Jo Swinson.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xno5AohYS8&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR1p9NxCR_KHYLzDF-CIvwdyjoSjeb_JLgankbpq2lTV--Fe3T2AfXtz7u4
03-11-2019, 11:41 PM
I simply used your own words seeing as you associate any perfectly legitimate criticism I aim towards female politicians on here as "directing venom".
Seeing as you're the only person on here that seems to "recognise" it, perhaps you actually have a lot of growing up to do. It's generally little children who see things that aren't there.
Okay.
So you come on a Hibs fans website, and post pretty much on the non-football threads and say you direct venom at women politicians. That is your words, even if you deleted the post it would still show in my reply.
In the current climate that isn’t acceptable, nor is it acceptable towards male MPs, but you really need a refresher class on equality, given some of your previous posts.
This is a forum for debate, not for venom. Did no one explain that to you?