View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Alloa

Pages : [1] 2 3

20-07-2019, 12:58 PM
Starting XI - Marciano, Whittaker, McGregor, Hanlon (c), James, Campbell, Mallan, Horgan, Boyle, Doidge, Kamberi

Subs - Maxwell, Jackson, Allan, Shaw, Murray, Stirling, Doig

20-07-2019, 12:59 PM
No Newell. Interesting

20-07-2019, 12:59 PM
Kamberi and Doidge = goals.

20-07-2019, 01:00 PM
But but but I thought Hecky would only play one up front all season...

SJNB Hibby
20-07-2019, 01:00 PM
No Newell. Interesting

And Allan on the bench??

20-07-2019, 01:02 PM
Campbell getting a good chance at it, think he has done well from the games I've seen:aok:

Looks like Mackie has failed to make the left back spot his own over pre season. Shoehorning a right footer in isn’t ideal.

Still a few missing.

Gray, Stevenson, Porteous, Mackie, Vela, Newell, Slivka.

We need Gray fit.

20-07-2019, 01:03 PM
No Newell. Interesting

Maybe taken out the firing line. He’s the least ready signing I’ve seen us make.

LithgaeHibby
20-07-2019, 01:03 PM
Happy with that team. But given that there are games where we are playing 2 strikers, surely we need more than 3 in our squad!

20-07-2019, 01:04 PM
Glad to see Kamberi starting in a front two. Mon the Hibees.

20-07-2019, 01:06 PM
Looks like Mackie has failed to make the left back spot his own over pre season. Shoehorning a right footer in isn’t ideal.

Might be injured but was on the bench last week as well.

I thought he was poor in the friendlies. This really was his big chance. If he’d got in and done well he’d have kept the spot. Stevenson is hardly ever injured so who knows when he’ll get a chance like that again.

The Leith Dutch
20-07-2019, 01:07 PM
Campbell getting a good chance at it, think he has done well from the games I've seen:aok:

Given how sparse our midfield is I really hope Campbell grabs the opportunity.

20-07-2019, 01:07 PM
No Newell. Interesting

Injured ?

20-07-2019, 01:09 PM
Injured ?

Maybe the same as Kamberi and Boyle last week?

badabing67
20-07-2019, 01:09 PM
This is the covered game on Radio Scotland

20-07-2019, 01:11 PM
Injured ?

I reckon not. Heckingbottom spoke after the game last week about some players not doing enough running, and spoke about Campbell being ahead of some for that reason. Newell definitely falls in to that category.

20-07-2019, 01:13 PM
That team should pump Alloa. Over to you Hibs

20-07-2019, 01:13 PM
Only two new signings in the team and one of them probably wouldn’t be if it wasn’t for injury.

20-07-2019, 01:14 PM
No Newell. Interesting

We play again Tuesday. He'll probably be back in team then.

20-07-2019, 01:14 PM

Agree 100%. It’s unfair to judge Janes when he’s being played out of position. Very attacking line up.

20-07-2019, 01:16 PM

Injured or fallen behind 17-year-old Doig in pecking order?

MacGruber
20-07-2019, 01:23 PM
That midfield is very lightweight. Boyle and Horgan both short and slight, Mallan short and not renowned for a tackle and Campbell a youngster. Not much dig in there at all. Hopefully be mainly on the front foot today!!

20-07-2019, 01:25 PM
That midfield is very lightweight. Boyle and Horgan both short and slight, Mallan short and not renowned for a tackle and Campbell a youngster. Not much dig in there at all. Hopefully be mainly on the front foot today!!

We definitely need another midfielder to give us more balance.

20-07-2019, 01:31 PM

Campbell in there cause he has ‘dig’.

Hecky said last week that’s why he was in as he had that advantage over others

20-07-2019, 01:38 PM
Campbell in there cause he has ‘dig’.

Hecky said last week that’s why he was in as he had that advantage over others

So he’s in there because there’s no alternative then.

20-07-2019, 01:38 PM

Vela surely?

20-07-2019, 01:43 PM
Vela surely?

It’s not a very strong position to be in if something happens to Vela. It was the weakest area of the pitch last season also.

20-07-2019, 01:44 PM
Good to see the catering prices have went up this year.

Lee Marvin
Is mackie injured or not rated?

Vela surely?

not available

20-07-2019, 01:46 PM
It’s not a very strong position to be in if something happens to Vela. It was the weakest area of the pitch last season also.

I’d like another in there too. But you said no alternative when there clearly is

20-07-2019, 01:46 PM
not available

Not today

wallpaperman
20-07-2019, 01:48 PM
There’s not many people in yet, think there are more people in the club shop!

20-07-2019, 01:50 PM

What if this lad can take his chance, develop and be that cover for Vela, we all moan about not enough players taking the step up to 1st team level. Seemingly played well and the manager has confidence, look at young Ferguson at Aberdeen, perfect example.

20-07-2019, 01:52 PM
I’d like another in there too. But you said no alternative when there clearly is

Today there’s not.

Take a day off ffs.

What if this lad can take his chance, develop and be that cover for Vela, we all moan about not enough players taking the step up to 1st team level. Seemingly played well and the manager has confidence, look at young Ferguson at Aberdeen, perfect example.

Yeah suppose 👍

20-07-2019, 01:53 PM
Take a day off ffs.

Calm doon ffs.

20-07-2019, 01:55 PM
Calm doon ffs.

Ffs ffs

20-07-2019, 01:56 PM
ffs ffs

ffs ffs ffs.

20-07-2019, 01:58 PM
https://i.imgur.com/9ib5OgI.jpg

MartinfaePorty
20-07-2019, 01:58 PM
Problem with tickets scanning

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

20-07-2019, 01:59 PM
Great game so far!

20-07-2019, 02:01 PM
The chat on sportsound is so dire

20-07-2019, 02:03 PM
Not winning yet. Ridiculous. Has been at least a minute.

tonyrougier123
Is mackie injured or not rated?

He just signed a new deal so must be rated.

MagicSwirlingShip

How can a youngster being given a chance after impressing in pre season be turned into a negative? The lad is there on merit.

Hatrick for someone today hopefully a Hibs player.

20-07-2019, 02:04 PM
We really need to win this, not our strongest 11 today.

Any chance of some updates for those of us who are unfortunately on a beach in Portugal rather than at ER. Thanks in advance

Vela not even quoted. :confused:

JimboHibs
20-07-2019, 02:05 PM
Problem with tickets scanning

You'll live , carry on.

Oh mind let us ken when your housekeys dont open ypur frontdoor ta.

StevesFamau5
Not winning yet. Ridiculous. Has been at least a minute.

Petrie oot, Heckie oot bla bla etc etc 😂

We knew that

He’ll probably not be up to speed fitness wise

Inconsequential
20-07-2019, 02:06 PM
ffs ffs ffs. Franz Ferdinand Sparks? Oddest merger of two rock bands ever.... imo of course.

20-07-2019, 02:06 PM
Under Lennon we'd be 50-0 up by now, ridiculous. Just like Calderwood.

20-07-2019, 02:07 PM

He is in there because he deserves to be.

1-0 Inverness

1-0 Elgin.

Lee Marvin
20-07-2019, 02:08 PM

Clearly not good enough

20-07-2019, 02:08 PM
Clearly not good enough

Ken, get rid.

JimboHibs
20-07-2019, 02:09 PM
1-0 Elgin.

against who

against who

Stirling Albion. Different team away from their fortress.

You'll live , carry on.

Oh mind let us ken when your housekeys dont open ypur frontdoor ta.

he means theres queues of folk ootside as the barcode scanners are not working, mibbe try not tae come up wae a smart arse comment, there is negative thread for you.

20-07-2019, 02:10 PM
against who

Stirling.

20-07-2019, 02:10 PM
Stirling Albion. Different team away from their fortress.

That the same fortress where Arbroath scored 6?

JimboHibs
20-07-2019, 02:11 PM
he means theres queues of folk ootside as the barcode scanners are not working, mibbe try not tae come up wae a smart arse comment, there is negative thread for you.

You sir are a tit 😀

MartinfaePorty
20-07-2019, 02:12 PM
he means theres queues of folk ootside as the barcode scanners are not working, mibbe try not tae come up wae a smart arse comment, there is negative thread for you.Thanks, Phil. Think someone got out the wrong side of the bed this morning!

MarkGilchimp
Help hibs TV in France.
I'm in France just now, have a subscription but only getting audio. How do I tell it I'm abroad?

You sir are a tit 😀

:not worth

JimboHibs
20-07-2019, 02:13 PM
Thanks, Phil. Think someone got out the wrong side of the bed this morning!

Did you ? I didnt 😎

20-07-2019, 02:14 PM
How's the crowd look? Anything close to 10k?

20-07-2019, 02:14 PM
Elgin 2 nil up

noz
20-07-2019, 02:16 PM
But but but I thought Hecky would only play one up front all season...

like that!

Here’s Lucy!
20-07-2019, 02:17 PM
Help hibs TV in France.
I'm in France just now, have a subscription but only getting audio. How do I tell it I’m abroad.

Why don’t you just tell it that you’re a guy?

20-07-2019, 02:17 PM
Decent start, Doidge misses decent chance after good interplay with Flo And Boulder. Much more evidence of a high press and we look to have a much better shape with two up top.

Bangkok Hibby
20-07-2019, 02:18 PM
Decent start, Doidge misses decent chance after good interplay with Flo And Boulder. Much more evidence of a high press and we look to have a much better shape with two up top.

Thanks, getting nowhere with sound or vision tonight in Thailand. Appreciate the update

MarkGilchimp
20-07-2019, 02:21 PM
Ok I found out I need an international subscription, but your reply was really helpful....
Why don’t you just tell it that you’re a guy?

20-07-2019, 02:22 PM
Dumbarton 1-4 QOS after 20 minutes!!!

How's the crowd look? Anything close to 10k?

Closer to 5,000.

Dumbarton got pumped 6-1 off morton the other day too.

20-07-2019, 02:23 PM
Great gesture from Hibs holding off scoring until all the fans are in

StevesFamau5
Ok I found out I need an international subscription, but your reply was really helpful....

Grow a funny bone Gillers haha....

Dumbarton were 1-0 up.

20-07-2019, 02:25 PM
Mallan put a few good challenges in and combining well with Campbell. Flo back to trying tricks bit first touch suspect. We look good when wingers involved

Here’s Lucy!
20-07-2019, 02:26 PM

Joke!

That’s al it was.

Jeez.

20-07-2019, 02:26 PM
Another nice move Horgan hits low drive at keeper from narrow angle. Rocky saves low down from long range Alloa effort

20-07-2019, 02:27 PM
We look very pedestrian again.

Bangkok Hibby
20-07-2019, 02:27 PM
Mallan put a few good challenges in and combining well with Campbell. Flo back to trying tricks bit first touch suspect. We look good when wingers involved

Sounds like Flo getting his confidence back then. Just needs to work on the trampoline side of things.

20-07-2019, 02:28 PM
We look very pedestrian again.

Bit concerning with Boyle and Horgan on the wings............

Anything happening? Open all dicks are just rambling amongst themselves .

McManus on radio basically saying the game is pish and Doidge has missed a sitter.

20-07-2019, 02:29 PM
Anything happening? Open all dicks are just rambling amongst themselves .

Ferguson is murder eh!

Can we start panicking yet

McManus on radio basically saying the game is pish and Doidge has missed a sitter.

He’s not wrong.

20-07-2019, 02:30 PM
If we lose this game are we out?

20-07-2019, 02:30 PM
He’s not wrong.

Dare you to post something positive [emoji12]

20-07-2019, 02:31 PM
So are we still in pre season mode, or any chance the players and management start getting their fingers out.

20-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Dare you to post something positive [emoji12]

The minute something positive happens, I’m on it.[emoji6]

20-07-2019, 02:32 PM
Nothing happening. We are slower than a week in jail. No pace or urgency

GoalsMcGinley
P*** poor once again!

We have went very flat last 5 minutes or so.

Nothing happening. We are slower than a week in jail. No pace or urgency

Worrying.

We are at the 2 hour mark without a goal from open play vs Stirling Albion (1-6 losers v arbroath) and alloa.

If it's not the quality of the players then maybe PH needs to think about tactics

But this is nowhere near acceptable

Rubbish so far.

So are we still in pre season mode, or any chance the players and management start getting their fingers out.
One goal for us and everything will be smelling of roses!!!!

20-07-2019, 02:33 PM
The minute something positive happens, I’m on it.[emoji6]

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji1][emoji1]

Proper dug out seats at last!

Viva The Wee Ron Revolution!

Just need to learn how to score from open play now and we’re sorted.

tonyrougier123
Tam rippin in to doidge on the radio.

One goal for us and everything will be smelling of roses!!!!

I'd say 2 goals.

Remember a week ago we said the same but Stirling came back

McManus slating Doidge, not mobile and a waste of money.

SJNB Hibby
20-07-2019, 02:34 PM
If we lose this game are we out?

No, but there's be no chance of being seeded

HibeeDave

Just heard that too, doesn't rate him so far and comparing him to James Collins

They got the benefit of the doubt last week, they aren’t getting the same this week.

Where does it leave PH if we fail to get out this group?

Is the taxi ready for Hecky yet? Im in Majorca and very glad I’m not there. Usually when I say something like that we go on a scoring spree 🤞🤞🤞😂

comparisons to James Collins already 😅

Tam McManus talks absolute *****.

I know some people like Tam but I think he's a walloper

20-07-2019, 02:35 PM
Canny beat Arbroath, Stirling Albion and Alloa

They got the benefit of the doubt last week, they aren’t getting the same this week.

Out on his ******g bottom.

Can we start wetting the bed yet?

20-07-2019, 02:36 PM

Yea just heard, similar to James Collins he said, ****ing hope not.

20-07-2019, 02:36 PM

Gone by October.

20-07-2019, 02:37 PM
No, but there's be no chance of being seeded

Cheers. :aok:

20-07-2019, 02:38 PM
Canny beat Arbroath, Stirling Albion and Alloa

We are a third of the way through the Alloa game. Bit premature to say we canny beat them

Lendo
Too late to give Simon Murray a ring for the second half?

:agree: He says controversial things to keep his stock as a pundit up, but he’s insignificant.

According to the game stats. were stopping them, rather than them stopping us?
6-2 on fouls, against a wee team?

20-07-2019, 02:39 PM
Get Allan on ffs.

Alloa controlling possession just now.

supermcginn
Starting to really worry about heck. This is brutal

elevengoats
Is if just me or is Doidge a total waste of space today? Brings absolutely nothing.

Yip. Tam was a prolific scorer himself at the highest level......NOT.

Collins has pretty well for himself since he left.

Doidge will come good.

My concern however is as a team we have struggled and are struggling against teams we should really be putting a few goals past

tonyrougier123

Hibs chased him for a while tae.if he turns out to be guff,I think the guys in the recruitment team need emptied.no george craig the two laptop legends behind him.I could highlight better signings than these clowns!!! 😡😡😡

20-07-2019, 02:40 PM
Natives are restless.

We are a third of the way through the Alloa game. Bit premature to say we canny beat them

The fact is we are playing like a junior team.

Dmas

No worse than kamberi this half IMO, don’t think we’ve looked to bad...up until the final ball which has been awful

Absolutely dreadful stuff this. If we play like this against Arbroath they will probably beat us.

Fans getting restless. Pretty abject so far and rightly so. Garbage.

Just said no pressure and Alloa look very comfortable, not liking the sound of this, when does the season start?

Worrying stuff

Is if just me or is Doidge a total waste of space today? Brings absolutely nothing.

Not just you. He is poor. No threat against Alloa!

GoalsMcGinley
20-07-2019, 02:41 PM
Where’s the high press we were promised by the gaffer? No win today and it’s 7 competitive games without a win. When are we allowed to start questioning the gaffer?

Rumble de Thump
Is the game finished?

The fact is we are playing like a junior team.

That’s wasn’t the posters point though

Hecky needs to learn that we should be playing the best possible team available, although we should still be beating the likes of Alloa

Where’s the high press we were promised by the gaffer? No win today and it’s 7 competitive games without a win. When are we allowed to start questioning the gaffer?

I’d definitely say if we fail to win today

20-07-2019, 02:42 PM
Get Allan on ffs.

Why is Allan not playing:confused:

Green-Hibee-7
Tam McManus is a spraff quite frankly. Attention seeking tube.

Doidge hasn’t been great but neither has anyone else. I don’t think he’s been involved enough to even make an opinion on what he has or hasn’t done well. Maybe you can label that at him.

Just witnessed Kamberi brick it from the CH and they have a chance on goal. They look as if they are treating it like a pre-season friendly.

For me it is the manager that should take responsibility for team attitude. Get the finger out. These games in all reality should for premier league full time teams be good confidence builders for the start of the league campaign.

Woeful I am afraid.

One thing I can say with certainty is there is not going to be a high press. That is not what we are trying to do. I don’t know what we are trying right enough but it’s not that.

20-07-2019, 02:43 PM
So who is playing well? Anyone?

Alloa 12/1. :hmmm:

Having sat and watched this am now officially concerned...brutal stuff

20-07-2019, 02:44 PM
This is absolutely crap and Hecky’s pressing game is non existent.

Maybe time to try something different like having a shot or two at goal. Worth a try I think.

It'll be fine

Boyle and Horgan have looked lively.

elevengoats
Tam McManus is a spraff quite frankly. Attention seeking tube.

Doidge hasn’t been great but neither has anyone else. I don’t think he’s been involved enough to even make an opinion on what he has or hasn’t done well. Maybe you can label that at him.

Just witnessed Kamberi brick it from the CH and they have a chance on goal. They look as if they are treating it like a pre-season friendly.

For me it is the manager that should take responsibility for team attitude. Get the finger out. These games in all reality should for premier league full time teams be good confidence builders for the start of the league campaign.

Woeful I am afraid.

Of course Doidge hasn’t been involved. Observe him! He is not making any runs, just standing there... Kamberi trying to run behind all the time in comparison. Watch both of them closely.

Green-Hibee-7

No to be honest.

Horgan looks the busiest for me but final ball letting him down.

Keeper and Daz and Paul nothing to really do.

H18S NX
20-07-2019, 02:45 PM
Alloa coming well into it now,final ball is crap.

Is Heckingbottom just good at talking a good game? There has to be question marks over leaving Leeds and why it took him a while to get back into football.

It'll be fine

Struggling to beat Alloa. It won't be fine if we don't win this.

20-07-2019, 02:46 PM
Doidge looks like a very slow Bryan Graham to me. Kamberi must do twice as many yards and gets abuse for every bad touch. Not much between the teams now and is concerning to me how little movement we have on the ball

GoalsMcGinley
120 mins without a goal against league 2 Stirling Albion and league 1 Alloa Athletic. Long, long season ahead by the looks of it!!

Away at Ibrox 2nd game is giving me the fear already

Nothing the attackers can do really as every ball forward and into the box has been miserable.

20-07-2019, 02:47 PM
Is Heckingbottom just good at talking a good game? There has to be question marks over leaving Leeds and why it took him a while to get back into football.

He had offers and turned them down.

Been absolutely ***** today. No urgency or pace. Don’t look like scoring.

tonyrougier123
Recruitment! Recruitment! Recruitment! Same problem every f#+?/xg season now!! Hope ron is ruthless in his approch to these dafties wasting the summer budget!!

Struggling to beat Alloa. It won't be fine if we don't win this.

Did you put the 12-1 bet on?

I don’t think there’s any question mark over either of those things, both are easily explainable without it being because he’s a poor manager.

The early indications from this season are worrying though.

Worrying thing is the majority of today’s squad aren’t PH’s signings.

Green-Hibee-7
Of course Doidge hasn’t been involved. Observe him! He is not making any runs, just standing there... Kamberi trying to run behind all the time in comparison. Watch both of them closely.

My point is - I have said it can be labelled at him he hasn’t been involved. That’s on him as you say for runs, work rate etc. I’ve not heard Tams comments but if he is slating him as people have suggested and compared to Collins I’m not to sure you can make that judgement after 45 mins.

The performance has been shocking however.

20-07-2019, 02:48 PM
I'm not there but a text of 'Paul Fenlonbottom' from my usually relentlessly positive mate has got me mildly concerned.

SideBurns
And I thought last week was bad. I suppose Allan will come on 2nd half and it'll improve. Maybe...

PH did as well as could be expected when he came in last season. What was overlooked though were 2 or 3 honking performances. Still early days this season but feel he is already under pressure.

Would a chance on goal be too much to ask?

I thought we were OK for 15 minutes, it has been abject since then.

Poor stuff.

Did you put the 12-1 bet on?

No, 14/1 now.

Tediously bad. No urgency at all.

20-07-2019, 02:49 PM
Recruitment! Recruitment! Recruitment! Same problem every f#+?/xg season now!! Hope ron is ruthless in his approch to these dafties wasting the summer budget!!
Heckie just finished saying, "he's done all the signings now"???

elevengoats
20-07-2019, 02:49 PM
My point is - I have said it can be labelled at him he hasn’t been involved. That’s on him as you say for runs, work rate etc. I’ve not heard Tams comments but if he is slating him as people have suggested and compared to Collins I’m not to sure you can make that judgement after 45 mins.

The performance has been shocking however.

Yeah, agreed. Maaan, hope we wake up. I actually liked the energy in the first ten minutes. But went downhill afterwards.

20-07-2019, 02:50 PM

Manager has final say on recruitment

Yet again PH has made a mistake by not starting our strongest 11.

1875M
Lack of a cutting edge up front, quite a few poor first touches, and all round just not that good. Getting a pre season vibe which imo is totally unacceptable, it’s a competitive game and should be used as a springboard for what is going to be a long, hard and very competitive season by the looks of thing. Need to step it up.

Boyle and Horgan have looked lively.

Thanks. Hopefully they keep it u and influence the others then.

I'm not there but a text of 'Paul Fenlonbottom' from my usually relentlessly positive mate has got me mildly concerned.

Any of Fenlons sides would comfortably be winning this.

This is awful, no midfield whatsoever

20-07-2019, 02:51 PM

We should be able to take care of Alloa regardless HC

Boos from the east at HT. I couldn't be bothered as I had a prawn sandwich on the go in the West. Thought we started well for first 15 but then slowly determinated. Doidge has been terrible and looks like he has zero energy. Alloa sitting well back so we should commit another man forward. It's a must win for me as a couple of wins at home will take some pressure off Heck

Why is Allan not playing:confused:

I have absolutely no idea.

20-07-2019, 02:52 PM
Shotgun by George Ezra at half-time. This season is going from bad to worse.

SideBurns
Worrying thing is the majority of today’s squad aren’t PH’s signings.

And the ones who are haven't improved since last week. I'm assuming Tom James is a terrific right back - because he's bang ordinary as a LB.

I’m beginning to wish I actually hadn’t managed to get in. Utter dross played at such a slow pace and is anyone actually going to get in front of their centre half when a cross does come in.

This is piss poor. Should have kept Milligan.

If we continue like this Hecky wont last

Final third has been letting us down tbh. Passing from Boyle Horgan whitts dreadful.

tonyrougier123
And I thought last week was bad. I suppose Allan will come on 2nd half and it'll improve. Maybe...

Last week should have been a rocket! Its more concerning it has not worked out that way,allan should be on at h/t

PH = Alex Millar.

Sorry but this is the most dull Hibs I've seen since AM.

ShadesLongThrow
Kamberi just not interested and Doidge just not good enough. I’m hoping Vela is going to inject a bit of bite and urgency because the midfield are very lightweight and timid.

Shotgun by George Ezra at half-time. This season is going from bad to worse.

FFS!!!!
Gordon out!

20-07-2019, 02:53 PM
We should be able to take care of Alloa regardless HC

I agree but we should be starting our strongest 11, getting the job done then make changes.

PH must know a good win is needed today especially after last weeks utter pish.

20-07-2019, 02:53 PM
Final third has been letting us down tbh. Passing from Boyle Horgan whitts dreadful.

Only pass marks on the team go to Boyle and Horgan, the rest have been woeful. We are miles off it.

supermcginn
20-07-2019, 02:54 PM

What would Milligan have done? Sideways balls all game.

tonyrougier123
Manager has final say on recruitment

Heard that before!!

Fraser Murray and Scott Allan warming up before half time and just being called in.

Have they narrowed the pitch?

Any of Fenlons sides would comfortably be winning this.

This is awful, no midfield whatsoever

The relegation squad he left that had no decent wide midfielders or forwards would be playing like this, only maybe a bit more comfortable at the back.

20-07-2019, 02:55 PM
Early days in the season or not, we should be taking games like this by the scruff of the neck but we’re not and it doesn’t augur well for a good start to the league campaign.

Looks like Alan is coming on. We really need lewis and sdg back. We are getting nothing from out full backs.

Seems to me at the moment that the management team blatantly don't understand the expectations/ level we need to reach in these games?

There's a pattern developing reading comments yet again about lack of urgency/ tempo in our play.

No excuse for that especially at home against this level of opposition.

Will they do anything at half time when it clearly isnt working?

I’m beginning to wish I actually hadn’t managed to get in. Utter dross played at such a slow pace and is anyone actually going to get in front of their centre half when a cross does come in.

PH = Alex Millar.

When largely positive posters post stuff like this it is worrying. Get it sorted PH.

Milligan would've made sure it was even more pedestrian with his chronic lack of pace.

elevengoats
Kamberi just not interested and Doidge just not good enough. I’m hoping Vela is going to inject a bit of bite and urgency because the midfield are very lightweight and timid.

How is he not interested? Made runs behind all the time, rarely got the ball. Also made several good interceptions. Doidge is the one who is not interested and, yes, just not good enough.

supermcginn
20-07-2019, 02:56 PM
Hecks tactics at home v celtic rangers and hearts really worried me, now we even look toothless v diddy teams. I dont see him lasting.

Milligan really? Your second statement is spot on though. 👍

Only pass marks on the team go to Boyle and Horgan, the rest have been woeful. We are miles off it.

They have been running but end product very poor.

We dont seem to have any idea how to play against teams who sit in when we have the ball, not a lot of pressure on them when they have the ball either which is making them look quite good, a wee change needed in the second half

Josh Campbell might be the fittest in the squad but he’s done nothing to get a hold of the midfield in his last two games. Mallan has been poor too.

No final ball and no extra bit of quality to make something happen. Scott Allan badly needed.

tonyrougier123
20-07-2019, 02:57 PM
Early days in the season or not, we should be taking games like this by the scruff of the neck but we’re not and it doesn’t augur well for a good start to the league campaign.

100% this mate.

They have been running but end product very poor.

At least they are doing something.

The relegation squad he left that had no decent wide midfielders or forwards would be playing like this, only maybe a bit more comfortable at the back.

That side was 5th, this one would get nowhere near 5th

20-07-2019, 02:58 PM
I had Hibs HT/FT so it’s obvious we will score on 47 minutes.

PH = Alex Millar.

10 odd years with the club and you can’t spell his name right...

I know some people like Tam but I think he's a walloper

Only seems to be saying what the majority on here are saying, all wallpapers together then !!

Tarrahib
Hibs chased him for a while tae.if he turns out to be guff,I think the guys in the recruitment team need emptied.no george craig the two laptop legends behind him.I could highlight better signings than these clowns!!! 😡😡😡
You would think that George Craig would have more input than the 2 laptop legends.

Dmas
Doidge looks like a very slow Bryan Graham to me. Kamberi must do twice as many yards and gets abuse for every bad touch. Not much between the teams now and is concerning to me how little movement we have on the ball

Every touch is bad, every single one how much longer does a good half a season protect kamberi from Criticism? If we can get cash for him we should be taking it and looking for someone else

20-07-2019, 02:59 PM
Campbell nowhere near ready. Hopefully Vella is good enough to make the team and can stay injury free all season because he will need to.

How is he not interested? Made runs behind all the time, rarely got the ball. Also made several good interceptions. Doidge is the one who is not interested and, yes, just not good enough.

Yeah, this isn't Flos fault, he's been okay.

Dublin07
PH = Alex Millar.

We are very frustrating to watch but that is just nonsense. Butcher, Williamson, Calder Wood are you really saying they played better football than this.

MacGruber
Seriously worried. About this game, about the new signings, about the new season.
Said earlier in the thread the midfield is very lightweight. Obviously Allan and Vela will be seen as starters but come on, it's Alloa. The outlay on Doidge alone dwarfs their entire team

Josh Campbell might be the fittest in the squad but he’s done nothing to get a hold of the midfield in his last two games. Mallan has been poor too.

No final ball and no extra bit of quality to make something happen. Scott Allan badly needed.

Mallan annoyed me last week too.

I’m not his biggest fan anyway but his pedestrian approach when we needed someone like him to grab the game by the scruff of the neck wound me up.

Whoever it was that called him a brilliant subbuteo player was absolutely bang on the money imo.

Berwick Rangers have conceded 40 goals since they last scored themselves. :shocked:

20-07-2019, 03:00 PM
Every touch is bad, every single one how much longer does a good half a season protect kamberi from Criticism? If we can get cash for him we should be taking it and looking for someone else

Blatant lie, had only one poor tough this half

Can't make the game today but by all accounts it's the same pedestrian performance with no urgency. My mate just texted saying Kamberi looks disinterested - perhaps the rumours of him leaving are on the money and maybe that's what PH was hinting in the press yesterday about money required before additions.

Would a chance on goal be too much to ask?

I thought we were OK for 15 minutes, it has been abject since then.

Poor stuff.

Pretty much this. Bright enough start with Boyle in particular looking lively but the whole thing has just deteriorated into a struggle to break them down and create any chances of note. Will likely still win this but need to see a lot better.
We have two chances of silverware so there no excuse to take any tie lightly. We've been short changed in the game and half so far in that regard.

GoalsMcGinley
20-07-2019, 03:01 PM
Kamberi has the worst 1st touch in Scottish fitbaw. What does he do in training? Just stick him in front of a brick wall and get someone to leather balls at it and make him control them.

RossScott1991
Hecky has all the ideas of Jurgen Klopp, press from the from. High tempo.

Then in reality I am beginning to think he is a slaver.

Last two seasons under Lenny we scored for fun in the league cup group stages.

elevengoats
Can't make the game today but by all accounts it's the same pedestrian performance with no urgency. My mate just texted saying Kamberi looks disinterested - perhaps the rumours of him leaving are on the money and maybe that's what PH was hinting in the press yesterday about money required before additions.

Kamberi making runs all the time, far from disinterested. Need someone like Allan to actually feed him the ball.

tonyrougier123
20-07-2019, 03:02 PM

Id sell doidge before kamberi and ive no seen him live yet!

Second half hat-trick 😂

20-07-2019, 03:02 PM

That's good. Especially considering we weren't even in it last year and only been in the league cup groups once since they were introduced.

20-07-2019, 03:03 PM
I had Hibs HT/FT so it’s obvious we will score on 47 minutes.

Thought 6-5 for Hibs to win the first half was decent :(

You maybe want to check that again

Every touch is bad, every single one how much longer does a good half a season protect kamberi from Criticism? If we can get cash for him we should be taking it and looking for someone else I think he has been fine this half. A couple of nice flicks, held the ball up a few times and got involved at every opportunity. Doidge had one good chance from a good move started my Flo and mi**** his shot. I'm struggling to remember him doing anything apart from that. Flo gets involved so often that he will lose the ball. He is receiving the ball often when he is moving so harder to control. Murray and Allen on so hopefully more movement. Fancy Murray for a goal

We'd be at least 100-0 up under "Lenny" by now.

Hecky has all the ideas of Jurgen Klopp, press from the from. High tempo.

Then in reality I am beginning to think he is a slaver.

This is the theory I’m currently subscribing to also.

Dominated in midfield by the Alloa 3.

AZhibee

This, though this is in part due to injuries

Bangkok Hibby
20-07-2019, 03:04 PM
Substitutions?

Halmyre Hibee
I’m forever an optimist but I’m beginning to worry. At the game devoid of any real quality. A few glimpses from Horgan & Boyle. Keep this standard up and we will not qualify from this group.

Rubbish. As bad as the second half at Stirling. The players look like they’ve never met. Slow, ponderous build up.

Dmas
Blatant lie, had only one poor tough this half

I wasn’t counting but I can guarantee that won’t be his last what about when he was through on goal with the keeper to beat and he barely made contact with the ball if any at all? surely looking for the striker to score there? Alloa right back made him look a fool close to half time there as well after the goalie was under pressure