View Full Version : Using Google Maps/Earth, how far were you born from the centre circle at Easter Road?

20-07-2019, 11:16 AM
0.87 miles. Born to be a Hibby :thumbsup:

brawbob
20-07-2019, 11:22 AM
1.8 miles in the old Eastern General. Don’t remember much about it to be honest.

20-07-2019, 11:22 AM
Let me guess, THIS (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eastern_General_Hospital) place?

20-07-2019, 11:29 AM
24.7km

20-07-2019, 11:29 AM
1.8 miles in the old Eastern General. Don’t remember much about it to be honest.

Ditto

Bangkok Hibby
20-07-2019, 11:30 AM
Born in Simpson memorial. Around 2.5 miles.
Lived 1.1 mile from the ground.

20-07-2019, 11:30 AM
398 miles :boo hoo:

hibeesam
20-07-2019, 11:34 AM
About 350 yards

20-07-2019, 11:35 AM
Can’t check on Google Maps just now but I was born in Elsie Inglis which must be pretty close.

20-07-2019, 11:37 AM

About the same, were you born at Elsie Inglis?

-Jonesy-
20-07-2019, 11:41 AM
3259 miles

20-07-2019, 11:45 AM
Can’t check on Google Maps just now but I was born in Elsie Inglis which must be pretty close.

Ditto - and lived opposite it for 14 years...

My wife said when we came up from London I got us to move there on purpose...

PaulC
388 miles if you walked (420 miles by car)

Eaststand

Same place for me

Me too, 0.34 miles

20-07-2019, 11:46 AM
388 miles if you walked (420 miles by car)

Almost a Proclaimer :agree:

20-07-2019, 11:46 AM
243 miles

20-07-2019, 11:47 AM
Elsie Inglis must be closer than the Eastern or Leith Hospitals?

5,914 miles.
****ing immigrants :grr:

ozwoody
Born Elsie inglis,lived 0.7 miles from ground

20-07-2019, 11:48 AM
3.5 miles western general!

wallpaperman
Like many, Elsie Inglis, so no far!

Almost a Proclaimer :agree:

Always thought the FFIT should do a 500 miles challenge and end up doing the last few laps at ER Half-time.

Same but lived almost all of my life less than a mile from the ground

20-07-2019, 11:52 AM
Simpsons for me too and have lived 2.26km, 2.33km, 1.2km, 2.69km before moving to the Midlothian sticks at 10.2 km and now the furthest I have ever lived from ER at 11.98km although to be fair my seat in the upper west is a bit closer to all of those distances than the centre circle

20-07-2019, 12:07 PM
Eastern General Hospital so 1.8 miles going by posts above.

eezyrider
20-07-2019, 12:20 PM
Elsie Inglis, so 0.34 miles as the crow flies.

EZ

20-07-2019, 12:21 PM
15.6 miles bike from the Vert Hospital, Haddington

Kevvy1875
20-07-2019, 12:22 PM

Ditto, saves me checking :greengrin

BlackSheep
20-07-2019, 12:23 PM
800 metres... marionville crescent

20-07-2019, 12:27 PM
Born at the Eastern, grew up 0.4 miles away.

20-07-2019, 12:29 PM
7.7 miles ! I’ll take that 😁

Wee Effen Bee
20-07-2019, 12:30 PM
Elsie Inglis baby too!

Brunswickbill
20-07-2019, 12:31 PM
900metres. Close enough to hear the roar when a goal was scored. Drawback was our stair was used as a toilet by supporters who were caught short.

20-07-2019, 12:32 PM
Me too, 0.34 milesAnd me [emoji106]

hibbie02
20-07-2019, 12:34 PM

Simpson too for me. Grew up within a mile of the ground.

20-07-2019, 12:34 PM

Me too. Only just discovered it's not there anymore. Maps says it's 1.11 miles btw, 1.8km... going by where it used to be

20-07-2019, 12:35 PM
Another Elsie Inglis here!

20-07-2019, 12:37 PM
Elsie ingles for me as well, 87, out of curiosity wonder when it shut down

20-07-2019, 12:39 PM
Elsie ingles for me as well, 87, out of curiosity wonder when it shut down

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elsie_Inglis_Memorial_Maternity_Hospital

... Which would make you one of the last

TAHibby
20-07-2019, 12:42 PM
1302 miles, stones throw

kentao
20-07-2019, 12:42 PM
Think I might lose this one.
Easter Road to South Africa.
8691 miles.

1875godsgift
20-07-2019, 12:46 PM

Same here

20-07-2019, 12:48 PM

Same for me.

20-07-2019, 12:49 PM
Eastern General. Lived 5 min walk from ground. It’s in the blood.

Wakeyhibee
20-07-2019, 12:49 PM
282.4 miles

AltheHibby
20-07-2019, 12:53 PM
Simpsons for me.

Lived in Niddrie. Just like the greatest Hibby ever.

andy1875
20-07-2019, 12:55 PM
Elsie Inglis for me too 👍🏻

20-07-2019, 12:57 PM
Me too, 0.34 miles

me three

SJNB Hibby
20-07-2019, 12:58 PM
Same for me.

Me too, awfy lot of us there, surprised we didnt run into each other
Grew up a mile away in Pirniefield Place.

20-07-2019, 12:59 PM
Western General … nae idea how far that is. Lived in Parkvale Place off Leith links until we moved to the Borders when I was 9.

20-07-2019, 01:03 PM

Elsie Inglis hospital 0.6 of a mile

Bangkok Hibby
20-07-2019, 01:05 PM

Unfortunately now 5,949 miles away 😟

20-07-2019, 01:11 PM
27 miles

dalkeith stu
20-07-2019, 01:20 PM

Same but it's only 1.1 miles as the crow flies!!

20-07-2019, 01:21 PM
145.4 miles for me.

StirlingHibee
20-07-2019, 01:26 PM
4,395 miles in the Salvation Army Hospital Vancouver, Canada. Vancouver Whitecaps are my second team.

20-07-2019, 01:27 PM
Scores so far:

Elsie's 15
Eastern 11
Simpson's 6
Western 2

Others not counted, sorry.

(Slow day).

Prof. Shaggy
20-07-2019, 01:36 PM
My daughter has just announced her second baby is on the way.

Who's got Leann's email address? :greengrin

20-07-2019, 01:48 PM
15.6 miles bike from the Vert Hospital, Haddington

Same here.

H18S NX
20-07-2019, 01:48 PM
Elsie Inglis,so,very near,

HiBremian
20-07-2019, 01:54 PM

Me too! The Elsie Inglis :aok:

20-07-2019, 01:55 PM

Ditto

therealgavmac
20-07-2019, 01:58 PM
Ditto

Eastern General for me too (and my wee brother but he’s not on .net)

Alfiembra
20-07-2019, 02:03 PM
1.2 miles, in me mums house in Willowbrae. :flag:

20-07-2019, 02:19 PM

Same here. I went back on my 60th birthday and it's now an old folks home. My wife took a pic of me on the steps and a matron type came out and asked what we were doing. I explained and she said:"Oh well, maybe we'll see you back here again one day.........."

20-07-2019, 02:41 PM
2.9 miles (on foot). Western General

20-07-2019, 02:46 PM
270 miles

20-07-2019, 03:14 PM
447.7 miles, Further than I first thought.

20-07-2019, 03:21 PM
+1 for Elsie Inglis

MurrayfieldHibs
20-07-2019, 03:43 PM
9,520 KM from Aberdeen (Hong Kong!)

20-07-2019, 03:52 PM
15 miles (Bangour Hospital).

Austinho
20-07-2019, 04:03 PM
A good 47 miles, yet miraculously Hibs are still the closest SPFL team to where I was born...

20-07-2019, 04:07 PM
5,914 miles.
****ing immigrants :grr:

😂😂😂😂

superbam
20-07-2019, 04:15 PM
Edina Place 0.4 miles

Billy McKirdy
20-07-2019, 04:19 PM
3,900 feet, Eastern General Hospital

20-07-2019, 04:35 PM
3,900 feet, Eastern General Hospital

The eastern is a lot further than 3900ft from easter road, that's like just over half a mile

20-07-2019, 04:38 PM
The eastern is a lot further than 3900ft from easter road, that's like just over half a mile

👍 1 mile = 5280ft

londonhibby
20-07-2019, 05:03 PM
57 miles, Stobhill Hospital, Glasgow.

20-07-2019, 05:15 PM
1.0 mile. Bit less as the crow flies.

20-07-2019, 05:19 PM
51 miles from Craigtoun, St Andrews to the centre of the Universe

fordie2
20-07-2019, 06:01 PM
Another Elsie Inglis here, currently live about 100 yards from the stadium. Look at the ground every time i open my front door

20-07-2019, 06:05 PM
Eastern General but Hibs played more or less in my backie.

20-07-2019, 06:25 PM
4607 miles. Aruba N. W. I

20-07-2019, 06:33 PM

Me too!! 😉🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

20-07-2019, 06:55 PM

0.88 miles.

20-07-2019, 07:02 PM
Me too! The Elsie Inglis :aok:

You were even closer .

20-07-2019, 07:04 PM
Let me guess, THIS (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eastern_General_Hospital) place?

Correct. :greengrin

20-07-2019, 07:06 PM
About the same, were you born at Elsie Inglis?

No, Eastern General. That's about double the distance than from Elsie Inglis.

20-07-2019, 07:15 PM

Same here :aok:

20-07-2019, 07:30 PM
Eastern General

My mother chummed me.

My son Michael popped out in Elsie Inglis. So he was nearer to The Holy Ground.

However, i was soon nearer our spiritual home at Granny Devlin's hoose in The 'Market :greengrin

fiolex1
20-07-2019, 07:36 PM
1.3 miles, born in Leith Hospital

FitzAlan
20-07-2019, 07:55 PM
9,076 miles. 196 hours by car, or 110 days on foot.

20-07-2019, 08:02 PM
Born and raised at 9 Sloan Street, so half a mile or so from the ground. :flag:

20-07-2019, 08:02 PM
172 miles by car. Or 169 on foot. Not much of a short cut really.

HiBremian
20-07-2019, 09:06 PM
You were even closer .

Must have chosen the cycle route :-)

20-07-2019, 09:09 PM
388 miles. Born in Woking to nomdaic Latin parents. Raised from age of 2 in Scotland. Hawick from age of 4. Now live in the Philipinnes after 34 years in Edinburgh with half of those in Leith. There have been stints in London, New York, Delhi and Singapore.

20-07-2019, 09:55 PM
1.8 miles in the old Eastern General. Don’t remember much about it to be honest.Saved me looking it up...

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

WellingtonHibby
20-07-2019, 09:58 PM
3,936.4 miles

20-07-2019, 10:19 PM

Ditto on both counts.

20-07-2019, 10:21 PM
124 miles according to Google maps

Hibs53
20-07-2019, 11:09 PM
Born the Eastern General grew up 1.3 miles away

20-07-2019, 11:26 PM
Elsie Inglis. My oldest 2 were born at the Eastern which makes them true Leithers. Youngest born in England but we’ll gloss over that!

rossevenil
20-07-2019, 11:30 PM
Another from Elsie Inglis which from what i can make out puts me at 770 mtrs

20-07-2019, 11:42 PM

I’ll accept your mileage, and say, me too!

20-07-2019, 11:43 PM
3,936.4 miles

Think you win the furthest away competition😂

21-07-2019, 12:20 AM
Think you win the furthest away competition😂
Is that Wellington NZ as 6,600 miles from Philippines to Edinburgh.

21-07-2019, 12:52 AM

The longest flight I ever had was Los Angeles to Manila and it was economy.

Bad Habits
21-07-2019, 01:53 AM
Harrogate district hospital! 202 miles

21-07-2019, 02:20 AM

I'm another Simpson baby - it's 2.5 miles if you're driving but only 2.3 if you walk :cb

21-07-2019, 06:22 AM
Me too.

21-07-2019, 06:30 AM
Elsie Inglis

Peanut Shaz
21-07-2019, 06:43 AM
Simpsons for me. Was brought up in Fowler Terrace about 0.75 miles from Tynecastle. Thankfully my Grandad and Dad were both Hibs so spared the agony of being a Jambo.

21-07-2019, 06:54 AM
I was born and conceived at the centre of the centre circle.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

WellingtonHibby
21-07-2019, 07:34 AM

Dammam, Saudi Arabia.

cad
21-07-2019, 07:35 AM
Another Simpsons baby .Mum and Dads first hoose 0.4 mls Lochend Road South only there 18 months 2nd hoose Albion Road 39ft. Pilrig is the where the family estate is now

Davy Mac
21-07-2019, 08:05 AM
0.3 miles, born in Drum Terrace.

21-07-2019, 08:22 AM
Born in Simpsons, lived majority of my life in Haddington circa15 miles away now living a mile and a bit away down by Newhaven Harbour

21-07-2019, 08:54 AM
Western General for me, 2.7 miles

Mitch9
21-07-2019, 09:09 AM
0.86 miles. Giles street (back bedroom)

hibeez1875
21-07-2019, 09:16 AM
Elsie Inglis in '69

21-07-2019, 09:20 AM
Simpson’s so 2.5 miles

21-07-2019, 11:55 AM
3.1 miles, born at home in 4 Magdalene Place

stantonsboots
21-07-2019, 12:02 PM
Dalgety Street 0.6 miles ,could it have ever been anything else!

21-07-2019, 12:09 PM
Always thought the FFIT should do a 500 miles challenge and end up doing the last few laps at ER Half-time.

That will be right!!!! 😂

21-07-2019, 12:17 PM
DittoSame here

21-07-2019, 12:23 PM

Me too

21-07-2019, 02:16 PM
Elsie Inglis Hospital = 662.5 mitres

21-07-2019, 02:30 PM

Me too

Thehibeeswife
21-07-2019, 02:38 PM
18 miles for me. Was born in Dunfermline

Green_one
21-07-2019, 03:39 PM
2.9 miles (on foot). Western General

Me too. Western wins! It is quality that counts 🐒

HibbySpurs
21-07-2019, 03:41 PM
Old Elsie Ingils, sure someone else had posted the distance but can’t be far

nellio
21-07-2019, 04:42 PM
384 miles for me. South Wales.

21-07-2019, 05:03 PM
Elsie Inglis Hospital = 662.5 mitres

Size 4 or size 5?

KdyHby
21-07-2019, 05:14 PM
9,520 KM from Aberdeen (Hong Kong!)

Here too

21-07-2019, 05:16 PM
205 miles for me.

HibbyDave
21-07-2019, 06:17 PM
1.2 miles

21-07-2019, 06:35 PM
0.7 miles

hibby67
21-07-2019, 08:39 PM
0.9 miles Elsie Ingles hospital .. a lot further now

21-07-2019, 09:05 PM
I was born in the elsie ingles too, BUT. My parents lived in Bothwell st in a house that covered the centre circle of the original Easter road ground.

I win.

elevengoats
21-07-2019, 09:11 PM
1037 miles

Herts_Hibee
21-07-2019, 09:55 PM
Being born in the London area, 371 miles. As someone who still lives in England but travels up to ER regularly, I still don't know any other Hibees.

21-07-2019, 11:52 PM
116.69 miles which is a bloody site closer than where I am now :greengrin

Bangkok Hibby
22-07-2019, 07:41 AM
Size 4 or size 5?

😁👍🏻⚽⚽⚽⚽⚽

Bill Milne
22-07-2019, 07:56 AM
2.8 miles in the Western General.

SCHAEDYSHORTS
22-07-2019, 11:22 AM
Elsie Inglis for me, brought up in Waverley Park, could never imagine being any thing but a Hibby!

Hillsidehibby
22-07-2019, 11:40 AM
Elsie Inglis. My mother carried me home around the corner to Milton Street.

Turnbullsmate
26-07-2019, 10:41 AM
Eastern General on SAturday 07 () january 1956....mum was on her way to ER with dad and my 5 siblings when i decided to present myself to the world.

norhfc
26-07-2019, 10:52 AM
Simpsons maternity hospital so like many 2.5 miles...wish it was closer :thumbsup: