View Full Version : Betfred Group games

16-07-2019, 04:49 PM
Round 2 in the group stages tonight

In Hibs group, Alloa take on Elgin

Other interesting games tonight are Cowdenbeath v Hearts. Hibs loanee, Kev Dabrowski, should be in goals for the Blue Brazil
Presuming Tommy Block will be playing for Queens Park v Partick Thistle

Could also do with Livvi winning against ayr, it least winning by the bonus point

Here’s Lucy!
16-07-2019, 04:51 PM

Other interesting games tonight are Cowdenbeath v Hearts. Hibs loanee, Kev Dabrowski, should be in goals for the Blue Brazil

Could also do with Livvi winning against ayr, it least winning by the bonus point

Going for Alloa, Hearts, Partick and the Lions.

16-07-2019, 04:52 PM

You know its bad when we want favours from other teams in the league cup group stage. :greengrin

Here’s Lucy!
16-07-2019, 04:53 PM
You know its bad when we want favours from other teams in the league cup group stage. :greengrin

Naughty, naughty! :wink:

16-07-2019, 04:54 PM

Maybe, but it could go back into our hands if a few of the top places teams drop points
Trying and be positive HC, you’ve been a new man of late

16-07-2019, 05:08 PM
Stirling v Arbroath in our group tonight too. Both given us problems pre season. Think Arbroath beat Elgin last Saturday.

16-07-2019, 05:10 PM
Stirling v Arbroath in our group tonight too. Both given us problems pre season. Think Arbroath beat Elgin last Saturday.

That’s on Wednesday WH

16-07-2019, 05:30 PM

Dabrowski effectively in a 1 man derby, a chance to become a Hibs hero before he's even had his first team debut.

16-07-2019, 05:41 PM
That’s on Wednesday WH

Ah right! Hopefully our other group result will be incidental anyway!

16-07-2019, 06:41 PM
Dabrowski effectively in a 1 man derby, a chance to become a Hibs hero before he's even had his first team debut.

I really like him, hope he does us proud.

16-07-2019, 06:55 PM
0-1 Partick

1-0 Falkirk

16-07-2019, 06:56 PM
0-1 Hearts. Hackett.

16-07-2019, 06:59 PM
2-0 Morton

16-07-2019, 07:06 PM
0-1 Hearts. Hackett.

Chris Hackett?

16-07-2019, 07:09 PM
1-0 livi

16-07-2019, 07:09 PM
Chris Hackett?

Autocorrect :greengrin

16-07-2019, 07:10 PM
2-0 qos

16-07-2019, 07:12 PM
0-2 Hearts

16-07-2019, 07:13 PM
3-0 Morton

16-07-2019, 07:17 PM
Is it 8 group winners, 4 best second placed and the teams in Europe in knock out round next?

16-07-2019, 07:18 PM
Is it 8 group winners, 4 best second placed and the teams in Europe in knock out round next?

Aye.

16-07-2019, 07:19 PM
Aye.

Cheers.:aok:

16-07-2019, 07:20 PM
Elgin 1-0 up away to Alloa.

16-07-2019, 07:21 PM
0-1 Elgin

16-07-2019, 07:22 PM

Yeah, but it’s only the 4 best group winners will be seeded, along with Celtic , Rangers, Aberdeen and Killie. It’s important to be seeded

16-07-2019, 07:24 PM
0-2 Hearts

Live scores saying Anthony McDonald has scored. Hope they are right, as he’s suspended tonight. Think it’s a mistake and it’s Anthony Irving!

16-07-2019, 07:28 PM
Live scores saying Anthony McDonald has scored. Hope they are right, as he’s suspended tonight. Think it’s a mistake and it’s Anthony Irving!

From the Hearts Twitter
22' | 0-2

GOAL HEARTS AND IT'S ANTHONY MCDONALD WITH HIS FIRST GOAL FOR THE CLUB! And it came from some Liquid Football. A brilliant flowing move sees the youngster tap in MacLean's cross!

16-07-2019, 07:28 PM

The laddies name is Andrew Irving. Still, probably a mistake on the scorer

16-07-2019, 07:29 PM

Sky sports also has it down as Anthony McDonald.

I’m sure it’s Irving that is suspended tonigh. He’s the one that got red carded against Dundee United

16-07-2019, 07:29 PM

Hearts also have him as starting and Cowdenbeath have him on their team sheet. He can't be suspended

16-07-2019, 07:30 PM
Sky sports also has it down as Anthony McDonald.

I’m sure it’s Irving that is suspended tonigh. He’s the one that got red carded against Dundee United

That's correct he was sent of late on

16-07-2019, 07:31 PM
From the Hearts Twitter
22' | 0-2

GOAL HEARTS AND IT'S ANTHONY MCDONALD WITH HIS FIRST GOAL FOR THE CLUB! And it came from some Liquid Football. A brilliant flowing move sees the youngster tap in MacLean's cross!

Liquid football, is that the same as pish?

16-07-2019, 07:32 PM
That's correct he was sent of late on

Too many Anthony’s😄

16-07-2019, 07:33 PM

Think Gary Locke msut be looking after the Twitter account

16-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Blue Brazil being kept in the game by Kev

16-07-2019, 07:34 PM
Dumbarton 5 down at HT at Cappielow.

16-07-2019, 07:35 PM
Hearts showing us how to dispatch a league 2 outfit 👀

16-07-2019, 07:37 PM
Dumbarton 5 down at HT at Cappielow.

Good. I’ve got Morton on my acca.

16-07-2019, 07:40 PM
Helicopter Jim working his magic at The Rock.

16-07-2019, 07:45 PM

😂😂😂

16-07-2019, 07:45 PM
Hearts showing us how to dispatch a league 2 outfit 👀

Why would you even bother?

16-07-2019, 07:49 PM
Alloa currently humping my bet.

16-07-2019, 08:06 PM
Why would you even bother?

I’m upset this didn’t get the attention it clearly deserved

I’ll come back better in future

16-07-2019, 08:09 PM
Alloa 2 Elgin 2

TheHarpy76
16-07-2019, 08:17 PM
Montrose beating St Johnstone

16-07-2019, 08:19 PM
Alloa 3 Elgin 2

16-07-2019, 08:34 PM
Alloa 3 Elgin 2

3 3 now

16-07-2019, 08:35 PM
Alloa 3 Elgin 2

Same old Alloa. Always cheating

son of haggart
16-07-2019, 08:36 PM
Dubrowski Cowdenbeath's MOM tonight

TheHarpy76
16-07-2019, 08:39 PM
Sounds like Dubrowski kept the score down against Hearts.

16-07-2019, 08:39 PM
Some result for St Johnstone losing 1 0 at Montrose

16-07-2019, 08:42 PM
Some result for St Johnstone losing 1 0 at Montrose

St Johnstone Kickback in meltdown.

16-07-2019, 08:43 PM
Dubrowski Cowdenbeath's MOM tonight

Hope you all lumped on Hearts to win both half’s :)

16-07-2019, 08:47 PM
3 3 now

Pens at sudden death.

16-07-2019, 08:47 PM
Elgin win the pens.

16-07-2019, 08:51 PM
Elgin win the pens.

Good for us Alloa only getting a point.

16-07-2019, 09:10 PM

Yes, great result. Hopefully Stirling can do the same to Arbroath tomorrow and we can take care of business on Saturday.

Here’s Lucy!
16-07-2019, 09:11 PM

Noooo! We’re better than that, Jim. Surely?

Hibs should not be relying on other teams (especially wee teams) doing us a favour.

16-07-2019, 09:15 PM

Hibs should not be relying on other teams (especially wee teams) doing us a favour.

Correct, we shouldn't. I just want qualification done and the pressure off as early as possible.

16-07-2019, 09:15 PM

Aye, **** that for a laugh.

Here’s Lucy!
16-07-2019, 09:26 PM
Correct, we shouldn't. I just want qualification done and the pressure off as early as possible.

Aye, **** that for a laugh.

Thanks lads.

Just getting a wee bit annoyed at this bloody ‘we’ll get out the group if pishy wee teams help us out’ mindset.

We are Hibernian, we make our own destiny, stuff everyone else.

17-07-2019, 01:38 AM
Who was the commentator on radio Scotland last night?? Absolutely honking so he was!!

17-07-2019, 06:11 AM
Surprised they bothered covering any football considering they thought the golf was more important on Saturday. Wonder if that stance would've stood had Celtic or rangers been involved?

17-07-2019, 09:14 AM

Whatever makes it easier for us to qualify.

17-07-2019, 10:05 AM
Think as of last night, 6 groups can get teams with maximum points, although quite a few have still to play each other

17-07-2019, 06:42 PM
Edinburgh City 12/1 to beat St Mirren tonight. Just sayin’

Crunchie
18-07-2019, 02:30 AM
Who was the commentator on radio Scotland last night?? Absolutely honking so he was!!

No idea, but i thought he was great as opposed to the bland Rob Maclean

20-07-2019, 05:32 PM
After today’s games, still a great chance that Hibs could be seeded if we win our last 2 games, and end up on 11 points. Only the 4 best Group winners are seeded

Group A
Hearts can get to 11 points and will comfortably win their last 2 games

Group B
Ross County and Forfar can get to 12 points. Key game in this group is tomorrow, St Johnstone v County. If Saints win, County and Saints can only get 9. Forfar’s last 2 games are against County and St Johnstone, so can’t see them getting much more than they’ve got

Group C
Arbroath can get to 12, However if we win our last 2 games against Arbroath and Elgin, we’ll win the group with 11 points

Group D
Dundee or Inverness can only get to 10 points if they win both games

Group E
Motherwell look like they will get 12 points, last 2 games against weaker sides, and they’ll be seeded on 12 points

Group F
Partick lost on pens today, so they can only get 10 points max

Group G
Livingston can get to 11 points, on 5 now and have 2 relatively easy games to get to 11, including game against Berwick, where they could score a load and help their goal difference

Group H
Dunfermline blew it today, and now can only get to 9 points

In summary, top 4 group winners are likely to be
Motherwell, and Hibs, Hearts and livingston have a chance of joining them
Could really do with County losing tomorrow, and Hibs taking care of Arbroath and Elgin

21-07-2019, 12:45 PM
So St Johnstone v Ross County today, live on BT sport, 3pm KO
A saints win is what we need, makes it easier for Hibs to be seeded

21-07-2019, 12:53 PM
So St Johnstone v Ross County today, live on BT sport, 3pm KO
A saints win is what we need, makes it easier for Hibs to be seeded

County on the coupon. Fancy Airdrie at Clyde too.

21-07-2019, 01:00 PM
County on the coupon. Fancy Airdrie at Clyde too.

Ram your coupon, want a Saints win😄

21-07-2019, 01:47 PM
Plenty former hibs players involved. Liam Craig, David Witherspoon, Danny Swanson, ross Laidlaw, keith Watson, liam fontaine Start with Brian Graham on the bench for county

21-07-2019, 01:49 PM
Ram your coupon, want a Saints win😄

:greengrin win win situation as I hope Saints win too.

21-07-2019, 01:51 PM
:greengrin win win situation as I hope Saints win too.

Guaranteed to be a draw then.

21-07-2019, 01:52 PM
Are the seeded sides guaranteed a home tie next draw?

21-07-2019, 01:55 PM
Quite a few ex Hibees involved in this game today
Saints
Wotherspoon
Swanson
Craig
Kennedy on the bench

County
Laidlaw in goals
Watson
Fontaine
Graham on the bench

HFC93
21-07-2019, 02:08 PM
Are the seeded sides guaranteed a home tie next draw?

I don't think so.

21-07-2019, 02:08 PM
1-0 Saints

21-07-2019, 02:20 PM
I don't think so.

Looking at the way the groups are planning out then I’m not sure getting the seeded spot is the shoe in it seems. We could be seeded and then away to Hearts or Dundee Utd. Away to Ayr. Away to Ross Co or St Johnstone..... tricky ties no matter what. They’d mostly be tricky at home too!

SJNB Hibby
21-07-2019, 02:22 PM
Looking at the way the groups are planning out then I’m not sure getting the seeded spot is the shoe in it seems. We could be seeded and then away to Hearts or Dundee Utd. Away to Ayr. Away to Ross Co or St Johnstone..... tricky ties no matter what. They’d mostly be tricky at home too!
True, but seeded and we're guaranteed to avoid the Smellies, Huns and Dons.
BTW---the way the LC groups are panning out, Arbroath on Tuesday may be a tougher game than St Mirren on the 3rd

King Cosell
21-07-2019, 02:23 PM
St Johnstone have switched to Macron, but there playing kit's got the old logo? What the ruddy hell's going on?

21-07-2019, 02:24 PM
After today’s games, still a great chance that Hibs could be seeded if we win our last 2 games, and end up on 11 points. Only the 4 best Group winners are seeded

Group A
Hearts can get to 11 points and will comfortably win their last 2 games

Group B
Ross County and Forfar can get to 12 points. Key game in this group is tomorrow, St Johnstone v County. If Saints win, County and Saints can only get 9. Forfar’s last 2 games are against County and St Johnstone, so can’t see them getting much more than they’ve got

Group C
Arbroath can get to 12, However if we win our last 2 games against Arbroath and Elgin, we’ll win the group with 11 points

Group D
Dundee or Inverness can only get to 10 points if they win both games

Group E
Motherwell look like they will get 12 points, last 2 games against weaker sides, and they’ll be seeded on 12 points

Group F
Partick lost on pens today, so they can only get 10 points max

Group G
Livingston can get to 11 points, on 5 now and have 2 relatively easy games to get to 11, including game against Berwick, where they could score a load and help their goal difference

Group H
Dunfermline blew it today, and now can only get to 9 points

In summary, top 4 group winners are likely to be
Motherwell, and Hibs, Hearts and livingston have a chance of joining them
Could really do with County losing tomorrow, and Hibs taking care of Arbroath and Elgin

Going to Elgin needing a win. Unreal!

21-07-2019, 02:26 PM

Think Hearts are likely to be seeded too, if they win their last 2 games

21-07-2019, 02:29 PM

**** happens. You could look at it like 3 wins and a draw get us seeded next round I suppose 👍

21-07-2019, 02:29 PM

Who they playing Billy? Stenny and someone else?

21-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Pen Ross Co.

21-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Pen missed but rebound in.

21-07-2019, 02:34 PM
Who they playing Billy? Stenny and someone else?

East Fife away

21-07-2019, 02:38 PM
East Fife away

Thanks! Tough venue (I hope) :greengrin

21-07-2019, 02:38 PM
Airdrie winning @ Clyde.

2-0

21-07-2019, 02:48 PM
St.johnstone booed off by some at half time. NEGATIVE FANS GTF FFS

21-07-2019, 02:52 PM
2-1 County

21-07-2019, 02:53 PM

They have every right considering they will be out if they fail to win.

SJNB Hibby
21-07-2019, 03:02 PM
I presume GD is what separates teams on the same loints, so it could come down to us and Hearts, presently we're identical, 3-1. We play Tuesday, they play Wednesday, then we play Friday---so they will go into their game saturday, away to east Fife knowing exactly what they need to do. We need to win both games by big scores

21-07-2019, 03:07 PM
I presume GD is what separates teams on the same loints, so it could come down to us and Hearts, presently we're identical, 3-1. We play Tuesday, they play Wednesday, then we play Friday---so they will go into their game saturday, away to east Fife knowing exactly what they need to do. We need to win both games by big scores

Goal difference then goals scored
https://spfl.co.uk/pages/league-cup-format

21-07-2019, 03:12 PM

Dundee Utd then like I suggested.

SJNB Hibby
21-07-2019, 03:13 PM
Goal difference then goals scored
https://spfl.co.uk/pages/league-cup-format

Taking a close look----Ross & Mwell look well set to finish on 12
Best bets for 11 are the Yams us and Livi, Livi's GD right now is +1, but they have Berwick R at home---so could run up a cricket score saturday if they need to

21-07-2019, 03:17 PM
Dundee Utd then like I suggested.

I’d play Dundee Utd no problem

21-07-2019, 03:19 PM

Would be tricky though I’m sure you agree. And maybe away. Trickier still.

21-07-2019, 03:22 PM
The way these groups are panning out, seeded is not necessarily the be all and end all - yes, you avoid Celtic, Huns, Dons, Killie, but on current form is there anyone outside of the first three named that we would be concerned about?

I would quite like a cup trip to Tynie :greengrin

21-07-2019, 03:23 PM
Would be tricky though I’m sure you agree. And maybe away. Trickier still.

Of course it would be, but would rather have this than away to Rangers Celtic or Dons
You can get lucky if you’re not seeded
2 years ago we were runners up to Ross County, and drew Group Winners, Ayr Utd at home

21-07-2019, 03:23 PM

Maybe they were shouting shoot. :greengrin

21-07-2019, 03:24 PM

Shirley it would have been the same if we won at Stirling? If we want to go into the next round seeded we would need 11 or 12 points. So it is totally real, a fact for all the 'top' teams in this group stage.

21-07-2019, 03:26 PM

Which would be the case regardless

21-07-2019, 03:29 PM
Of course it would be, but would rather have this than away to Rangers Celtic or Dons
You can get lucky if you’re not seeded
2 years ago we were runners up to Ross County, and drew Group Winners, Ayr Utd at home

I know and that’s my point. The seeding is not the be all and end all and might not get us the draw we fancy. At this rate an unseeded slot might result in a better draw. No point in thinking too far ahead.

21-07-2019, 03:58 PM
St johnstone out the cup already
Banana skins aplenty in this year's tournament

21-07-2019, 04:08 PM
I’m sure they’ll be a few twists and turns before the group stages end next weekend
Hubs just need to win both games, at least make sure we qualify as group winners

Tarrahib
21-07-2019, 04:11 PM
Ross County in Dingwall would do me!

21-07-2019, 04:21 PM
Bt Sport are covering our game v Elgin on Friday night.

21-07-2019, 04:26 PM
Hibs are playing Elgin and Arbroath in our next two games, both of which we should be winning with ease.

I'm not saying we will, but we really should

nellio
21-07-2019, 04:29 PM
Bt Sport are covering our game v Elgin on Friday night.

In 4k no less if you have the channel and a 4k tv!!

21-07-2019, 04:36 PM
Hibs are playing Elgin and Arbroath in our next two games, both of which we should be winning with ease.

I'm not saying we will, but we really should

Both Elgin and Arbroath comfortably beat Stirling whom we struggled against and we've already lost to Arbroath, albeit in a friendly. Right now I'd take a scraped win against both of them. You're right though, we should be winning with ease, which I think we will if we can put away one of our early chances.

21-07-2019, 04:43 PM
They have every right considering they will be out if they fail to win.

Wright says it is cool though it is only preseason pish 😂

21-07-2019, 04:48 PM
Wright says it is cool though it is only preseason pish 😂

Tell that to the people that run the club if he said that I wouldn’t be happy, a good cup run makes a club like saints good ££

24-07-2019, 09:05 PM
So after tonight’s games, and one game to go, Ross County have qualified with 12 points and will be seeded. If Motherwell beat Annan on Saturday, they will also be group winners and be seeded
Last 2 seeds will probably come from Hibs, Hearts and Livingston
All on 8 points and one game to play, and all need 3 points
Hibs + 5 goals
Hearts + 3 goals
Livingston + 2 goals

Hibs could really do with a good 3/4 goal win
It’s a shame all the games aren’t getting played at the same time!

24-07-2019, 09:23 PM
So after tonight’s games, and one game to go, Ross County have qualified with 12 points and will be seeded. If Motherwell beat Annan on Saturday, they will also be group winners and be seeded
Last 2 seeds will probably come from Hibs, Hearts and Livingston
All on 8 points and one game to play, and all need 3 points
Hibs + 5 goals
Hearts + 3 goals
Livingston + 2 goals

Hibs could really do with a good 3/4 goal win
It’s a shame all the games aren’t getting played at the same time!

Didn't realise livi had Berwick at home. If we win 2-0 I can't see hearts beating anyone 5-0 away from home. To finish seeded

24-07-2019, 09:53 PM
Hearts to lose and go out. Us and Livi seeded.

24-07-2019, 10:17 PM
Didn't realise livi had Berwick at home. If we win 2-0 I can't see hearts beating anyone 5-0 away from home. To finish seeded

Berwick have shipped 16 goals in their three previous games and scored zero . We will need to score a few up in Elgin to put the pressure on .
I thought it was between us and Hearts .Edit ,, it is :)

24-07-2019, 10:38 PM
Bet hearts go through unseeded and end up with Kilmarnock 🙄

24-07-2019, 11:25 PM
There's two seeded places up for grabs, assuming Motherwell beat Annan.

I think we're in the driving seat given our superior goal difference over both Livingston and Hearts. I reckon a 3-0 win on Friday will almost guarantee us a place as one of the seeds. Although I think Livingston and Hearts will both win, I can't see them winning by enough goals to overtake us if we win by 3 goals.

We would then be 6 goals ahead of Livingston and 5 ahead of Hearts. We would only need to beat one of them on goal difference in order to be a seed.

24-07-2019, 11:58 PM
We are in the fortunate position of playing on Friday to put the pressure on the others. We win by 2/3 goals and will be seeded. East Fife will give them a game regardless. Elgin won’t be pushovers though. I would suggest the same starting 11 as Tuesday, being seeded is very important to our chances of progression.

25-07-2019, 12:01 AM
St johnstone out the cup already
Banana skins aplenty in this year's tournament

Liam Craig was making the point that they normally find a way to win these games irrelevant of how they are playing. Very odd how badly they have started though they should have beaten county easily according to the reports. It just shows while teams aren't up to full speed there are potential Banana skins aplenty. I wouldn't read too much into how they will do this season. Plenty of time to get a couple if good signings in.