View Full Version : Hecky take a bow

09-07-2019, 08:38 PM
Never thought I’d see the day but here we are. Sitting here in tears.. I still can’t believe it.

Use this thread to share your images and stories from the day we beat Carlisle 4-3.

09-07-2019, 08:47 PM
When you think of great sporting comebacks - Liverpool v Milan in Istanbul, Barcelona completing an astonishing CL comeback against PSG, and now this, Hibernian Football Club overcoming the Cumbrian might of Carlisle.

Been sat in the bathtub crying since FT.

Topographic Hibby
09-07-2019, 08:48 PM
When’s the parade? :thumbsup:

smithy_hibees
09-07-2019, 08:49 PM
2 in a row???? Boom

09-07-2019, 08:55 PM
Fantastic night for everyone involved in the club. Tonight shows all the Heckingbottom haters who love revelling in defeat that this club will be a force to be reckoned with this season.

09-07-2019, 08:59 PM
You know something.. i just left the boozer to head home and got a bit emotional. Decided to take a walk down to Easter Road and saw a shaddowy figure just standing there, on his own, clapping at the main stand from the plaz.. emm carpark. I just looked, nodded my head and with a tear in my eye moved on. I know just how he felt.

09-07-2019, 09:00 PM
You know something.. i just left the boozer to head home and got a bit emotional. Decided to take a walk down to Easter Road and saw a shaddowy figure just standing there, on his own, clapping at the main stand from the plaz.. emm carpark. I just looked, nodded my head and with a tear in my eye moved on. I know just how he felt.

Want to know the maddest hing? That guy you saw?

Heckingbottom.

Wee Effen Bee
09-07-2019, 09:28 PM
Don’t think we don’t know what you lot are doing! Saying that you are inspired by our recent 2 game run but are in actual fact parodyising! Yous think you are so clever clever because you went to Telford College or some other fancy dan seat of learning and are having a go at us who quite rightly are worried about how much badder we are since last year. All our new singers are crap and we will be relegated next year. Mark my words youse trolls!

09-07-2019, 09:47 PM
Folk will remember where they were this night years from now. Carlisle have been the dominant club in Carlisle for over a century with many many famous players without peer in the Carlisle region. But they couldn't match the mighty Hibees … that our team could walk out into that white hot atmosphere and score 4 speaks volumes.

Proud … very very proud :aok:

09-07-2019, 09:48 PM
Greatest moment in our history tonight. This comeback will be talked about in 100 years time.

09-07-2019, 09:50 PM
Folk will remember where they were this night years from now. Carlisle have been the dominant club in Carlisle for over a century with many many famous players without peer in the Carlisle region. But they couldn't match the mighty Hibees … that our team could walk out into that white hot atmosphere and score 4 speaks volumes.

Proud … very very proud :aok:

Matches our goals in Camp Nou.

Mango Man
09-07-2019, 09:51 PM
Heroic from the Hibs, this is the proudest Tuesday I've had in WEEKS!

09-07-2019, 09:53 PM
Greatest moment in our history tonight. This comeback will be talked about in 100 years time.
Not be me it won't, I don't want to live that long. I'd probably smell of pee by that age.......

09-07-2019, 09:59 PM
Matches our goals in Camp Nou.

Correct … which gets the blood up even more when you think about it :thumbsup:

Beatrix Potter, Beatrix Potter can you hear me !!! … Melvin Brag !!!! ….. Stan Laurel !!!!! ……. William Wardsworth !!!!!! … William Wardsworth !!!!!!!! … your boys took a hell of a beating !!!!!!! :greengrin

09-07-2019, 10:01 PM
We took Carlisle.

Hibs 1 Robert The Bruce 0

So proud

09-07-2019, 10:06 PM
"First we take Dunfermline...

Then we take Carlisle"

The words Leonard Cohen wanted to write.

09-07-2019, 10:10 PM
"First we take Dunfermline...

Then we take Carlisle"

The words Leonard Cohen wanted to write.

Dublin, Dundee, Humberside.

h18eeynick
09-07-2019, 10:19 PM
Never thought I’d see the day but here we are. Sitting here in tears.. I still can’t believe it.

Use this thread to share your images and stories from the day we beat Carlisle 4-3.

Ok I will take the bait as a Hibs season ticket holder living in Carlisle. Every week I put up locally with comments that we would struggle in what is basically league 4 in England. I totally disagree but it does show that lower leagues have some decent players worthy of trying to develop and I think we should trust Hecky and his team to find them

Inconsequential
09-07-2019, 10:24 PM
Dublin, Dundee, Humberside. Leonard Cohen wasn't in The Smiths as far as I know. But Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now. :wink:

SonOfDavidFrancey
09-07-2019, 10:26 PM
The Miracle of Brunton Park.

09-07-2019, 10:31 PM
Correct … which gets the blood up even more when you think about it :thumbsup:

Beatrix Potter, Beatrix Potter can you hear me !!! … Melvin Brag !!!! ….. Stan Laurel !!!!! ……. William Wordsworth !!!!!! … William Wordsworth !!!!!!!! … your boys took a hell of a beating !!!!!!! :greengrin
Fixed that for you - amy mair spelling like that and you'll get a beating......

09-07-2019, 10:32 PM
Leonard Cohen wasn't in The Smiths as far as I know. But Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now. :wink:

No, he wasn't, but I do have a great story to tell about Morrissey, Leonard Cohen, an evening in Carlisle and a sausage supper - Stop me if you think you've heard this one before..........

Inconsequential
09-07-2019, 10:38 PM
No, he wasn't, but I do have a great story to tell about Morrissey, Leonard Cohen, an evening in Carlisle and a sausage supper - Stop me if you think you've heard this one before.......... Can I stop you there? That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore. :agree:

09-07-2019, 10:43 PM
Time for Trialists.

09-07-2019, 10:45 PM
Can I stop you there? That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore. :agree:

True.

And Everybody Knows it.

hughio
09-07-2019, 10:54 PM
This thread shows we truly are the MENTAL Hibees!

09-07-2019, 10:56 PM
Brought to mind one of Morecambe and Wise's sketches and reworded slightly,

"What news of Carlisle?"

They got beat off the famous Hibees!

09-07-2019, 11:39 PM
This thread shows we truly are the MENTAL Hibees!

Hallelujah!

Inconsequential
10-07-2019, 12:47 AM
Hallelujah! The return of the Leonard Cohen debate. :rolleyes:

10-07-2019, 01:09 AM
This thread is a joke!

10-07-2019, 01:17 AM
This thread is a joke!

Actual factual.

10-07-2019, 02:24 AM
😂😂😂😂👌🏼

Mixu62
10-07-2019, 06:30 AM
The return of the Leonard Cohen debate. :rolleyes:

Or Shaun Ryder.

10-07-2019, 06:36 AM
I didn't make it but was it as good as the MK Don's v Wimbledon match none of us went to?

Gloucester Hibs
10-07-2019, 06:37 AM
Consigns the bitter memories of the 2009 friendly defeat to a solitary Ian Harte goal firmly to the dustbin

10-07-2019, 06:39 AM
What time is the parade today lads?

10-07-2019, 06:39 AM
Consigns the bitter memories of the 2009 friendly defeat to a solitary Ian Harte goal firmly to the dustbin

:agree: I certainly slept better last night.

10-07-2019, 06:50 AM
I stood outside Easter Road all night at the West Stand Plaza/Piazza applauding the club :applause:

10-07-2019, 07:06 AM
I stood outside Easter Road all night at the West Stand Plaza/Piazza applauding the club :applause:

Ah it was you then

10-07-2019, 07:28 AM
We were reborn as a club last night. I'm sat here on my Corfu balcony weeping like a baby. There are Cumbrians by the pool staring disconsolately into the still water just wrecked.

I reflect on that result and a deeply emotional wave ripples through me. It's at times like this that you just can't helping thinking, lol he's gonna pump her.

Barman Stanton
10-07-2019, 07:30 AM
Hibs.net is one weird as f*** place :faf:

10-07-2019, 07:48 AM
It was nights like last night that Sir Tom Farmer should be remembered for. That was his legacy.

10-07-2019, 07:53 AM
Cannae wait till the school holidays are over.

sean04
10-07-2019, 07:54 AM
Hecky is playing in the pro am at the Scottish open today

10-07-2019, 08:27 AM
Hecky is playing in the pro am at the Scottish open today

Before or after he partners Serena at Wimbledon?

sean04
10-07-2019, 09:03 AM
Before or after he partners Serena at Wimbledon?

What?

10-07-2019, 09:08 AM
Ok I will take the bait as a Hibs season ticket holder living in Carlisle. Every week I put up locally with comments that we would struggle in what is basically league 4 in England. I totally disagree but it does show that lower leagues have some decent players worthy of trying to develop and I think we should trust Hecky and his team to find them

Struggle? We’d stroll that league. Carlisle and all the other diddy teams in it are absolutely ganting.

There will be some decent individuals in the league of course.

10-07-2019, 09:10 AM
The return of the Leonard Cohen debate. :rolleyes:

It's hard to believe that anyone would get all precious about a joke thread, but this is Hibs.net.

However, with regard to Leonard Cohen puns, I'm your man.

10-07-2019, 09:14 AM
We were reborn as a club last night. I'm sat here on my Corfu balcony weeping like a baby. There are Cumbrians by the pool staring disconsolately into the still water just wrecked.

I reflect on that result and a deeply emotional wave ripples through me. It's at times like this that you just can't helping thinking, lol he's gonna pump her.

Excellent punch line!

10-07-2019, 09:15 AM

Did you really read through this thread only to post that?

JXM73
10-07-2019, 09:38 AM
Is the VHS in the club shop yet

10-07-2019, 09:54 AM

Maybe they're just excited to get back to school. 😅

10-07-2019, 09:57 AM

Who appointed you the posting police ?

10-07-2019, 10:05 AM

They have only just started

Enjoy it while you can they will be up and away in no time 😁

10-07-2019, 10:14 AM
Who appointed you the posting police ?

Eh?

Coming from someone who has just criticised everyone on the thread, that's a belter.

10-07-2019, 10:18 AM
Eh?

Coming from someone who has just criticised everyone on the thread, that's a better.

Yea its defo better.

10-07-2019, 10:20 AM
Can we keep the arguments out of this thread please and keep it for honouring the 2019/20 Carlisle United beating team. Thanks.

10-07-2019, 10:41 AM
Is the VHS in the club shop yet

Typical Hibs, only releasing it on VHS, I've only got BETAMAX :grr::grr::grr:

Gordon, get it sorted :grr:

10-07-2019, 10:50 AM
Can we keep the arguments out of this thread please and keep it for honouring the 2019/20 Carlisle United beating team. Thanks.Yep, I've hardly had time to look at the thread as I've started raising my house onto stilts so I can build a proper balcony to cry tears of pride on.

We've got a plaza and a glass curtain out the back but it's not the same.

10-07-2019, 10:52 AM
Can we keep the arguments out of this thread please and keep it for honouring the 2019/20 Carlisle United beating team. Thanks.

9/7/19

10-07-2019, 10:54 AM
Yep, I've hardly had time to look at the thread as I've started raising my house onto stilts so I can build a proper balcony to cry tears of pride on.

We've got a plaza and a glass curtain out the back but it's not the same.

:agree: There's just no balcony like a tear-soaked balcony.

10-07-2019, 10:55 AM
:agree: There's just no balcony like a tear-soaked balcony.It's going to take me a while as I'm hoping to get a view of the castle as well, or at least pretend I've got one.

10-07-2019, 10:57 AM
I’ve just scaled a high rise holiday block and clapped ferociously in the face of a tearful Hibby.

What a time to be alive.

10-07-2019, 11:25 AM
I’ve just scaled a high rise holiday block and clapped ferociously in the face of a tearful Hibby.

What a time to be alive.

Man, that is living the dream.

One day, under the new leadership of Raaan, we will all weep uncontrollably on our very own balconies, verandahs, terraces, perches and pagodas. But we'll always remember where we were on 9/7/19. There will be more than a few newborn Hibees with Carlisle as a middle name.

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 11:48 AM
Wearing my Eddie Turnbull style hair quiff today.

I’m walking on air with a sense of superiority about me.

Proud doesn’t even come close.

Barca, Real, Munich, Ajax? Watch out, the mighty Hibees are gunning for you. :flag:

10-07-2019, 11:54 AM
9/7/19

Kyle Lafferty is away to get that tattooed to his forehead

10-07-2019, 11:59 AM
I hope my daughter hurries up and falls pregnant just so i can tell my grandkids about 9/7/19.

10-07-2019, 12:40 PM
Fixed that for you - amy mair spelling like that and you'll get a beating......

Schoolboy error :confused: I was walking on air after last nights historic result and now I feel totally deflated …. I'm off to wander lonely as a cloud for the next few days :boo hoo:

Eaststand
10-07-2019, 12:50 PM

I wasn't at the game last night but after the remarkable comeback, at fulltime I grabbed my one man Artic Explorer tent and pitched it on the top of Hanlon Hill so I'd have a great view when the team bus goes

Eaststand
10-07-2019, 12:55 PM

I wasn't at the game last night but after the remarkable comeback, at fulltime I grabbed 6 bottles of cider and my one man Artic Explorer tent and pitched it on Leith Links at the top of Hanlon Hill so I'd have a great view.over the crowds when the team bus goes by.

I may have missed the parade as the zip on the tent door has jammed shut and it's bloody roasting in here.
I've passed the time away singing Hibs songs, but I've sang until my voice went.

If anyone reads this and is passing Hanlon Hill, can you please try the tent door zip from the outside- Ta

10-07-2019, 12:56 PM
Schoolboy error :confused: I was walking on air after last nights historic result and now I feel totally deflated …. I'm off to wander lonely as a cloud for the next few days :boo hoo:

William Wordswarth? :greengrin

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 01:25 PM
I wasn't at the game last night but after the remarkable comeback, at fulltime I grabbed my one man Artic Explorer tent and pitched it on the top of Hanlon Hill so I'd have a great view when the team bus goes

You're leaving now, you may be some time?

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 01:26 PM
William Wordswarth? :greengrin

10-07-2019, 01:37 PM
I wasn't at the game last night but after the remarkable comeback, at fulltime I grabbed 6 bottles of cider and my one man Artic Explorer tent and pitched it on Leith Links at the top of Hanlon Hill so I'd have a great view.over the crowds when the team bus goes by.

I may have missed the parade as the zip on the tent door has jammed shut and it's bloody roasting in here.
I've passed the time away singing Hibs songs, but I've sang until my voice went.

If anyone reads this and is passing Hanlon Hill, can you please try the tent door zip from the outside- Ta

Thanks for the update.

You won’t be aware of this I guess, but following your lead there are now hundreds of tents up there. It looks like Glastonbury. I didn’t know which tent was yours so didn’t try and free the zip I’m afraid.

Ps which one is Hanlon Hill again? I may not be in the right place.

Man Down Under
10-07-2019, 01:50 PM
Jokes aside. Goal of the season for Carlisle already.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

10-07-2019, 01:50 PM
I don’t have a balcony so I’m just sitting on my roof in complete disbelief.

10-07-2019, 01:54 PM
I don’t have a balcony so I’m just sitting on my roof in complete disbelief.If you're interested, it might be possible to have an inflatable balcony installed before the Stirling match.[emoji6]

10-07-2019, 01:58 PM
In honour of this victory, I’m offering a buy one get one free deal on any clothes pegs I sell today.

10-07-2019, 02:00 PM
In honour of this victory, I’m offering a buy one get one free deal on any clothes pegs I sell today.

😂😂😂

10-07-2019, 02:02 PM
Anyone know where I can get cheap spoons? Asking for a friend.

10-07-2019, 02:10 PM
Anyone know where I can get cheap spoons? Asking for a friend.[emoji23]

I'm optimistic that the peg entrepreneur above will probably do a cutlery line as well.

10-07-2019, 02:27 PM

...do you mean fire proof ones?

10-07-2019, 03:08 PM
[emoji23]

I'm optimistic that the peg entrepreneur above will probably do a cutlery line as well.

I’m already branching out to lucky heather but I will raise the cutlery suggestion at our upcoming board meeting.

10-07-2019, 03:23 PM
I’m already branching out to lucky heather but I will raise the cutlery suggestion at our upcoming board meeting.[emoji16]

Engraved spoons could be the future.

Commemorating the Battle of Carlisle.

4 or 5000 should cover it.

10-07-2019, 03:40 PM
URI Geller has got loads of mishaped spoons going cheap

Bangkok Hibby
10-07-2019, 04:17 PM
Great thread 😀 what a great place Hibs.net is.

10-07-2019, 04:29 PM
[emoji16]

We should have a yearly celebration of the Battle of Carlisle.

10-07-2019, 04:33 PM

I think he would be really difficult to stab.

10-07-2019, 04:33 PM
I don’t have a balcony so I’m just sitting on my roof in complete disbelief.

😂😂😂😂

10-07-2019, 04:41 PM
I think he would be really difficult to stab.

Wait to see him eating soup it’s beyond messy

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 04:42 PM

My old mum had loads of budgies going cheep.

One of them became a Hibs goalie.

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 04:43 PM
We should have a yearly celebration of the Battle of Carlisle.

Belinda day?

10-07-2019, 04:47 PM

Jim Parriot

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 04:50 PM
Jim Parriot

No, Andy Goram.

10-07-2019, 04:52 PM
No, Andy Goram.

Your right there were two

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 04:57 PM
Your right there were two

Four, if you include Conrad.

10-07-2019, 05:13 PM
We should have a yearly celebration of the Battle of Carlisle.[emoji106]

I'm scoping out a tattoo now.

10-07-2019, 05:20 PM
I'm standing on the plaza....clapping....alone. :applause:

10-07-2019, 05:39 PM
[emoji16]

What’s the point in engraving the spoon when I’m just going to burn the thing anyw—

I mean, yes, that’s a great idea!

10-07-2019, 05:44 PM
I'm standing on the plaza....clapping....alone. :applause:

I’m standing on my balcony raising a toast to our heroes.

10-07-2019, 05:45 PM
[emoji106]

I'm scoping out a tattoo now.

I’m all for marching parades in Carlisle on the 9th of July every year.

10-07-2019, 05:54 PM

No but i have some pegs i can sell him?

Jim Herriot
10-07-2019, 06:03 PM
I hope my daughter hurries up and falls pregnant just so i can tell my grandkids about 9/7/19.

Fixed that for you.

HibbyDave
10-07-2019, 06:18 PM
Incredible guys,

I'm lovin it!

Hibs07p
10-07-2019, 06:44 PM

Pretty sure Uri Geller has loads of them, not sure how they respond to heat though.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

10-07-2019, 07:08 PM
This being Wimbledon fortnight I think it is important to pay tribute to the wombles, and the fantastic job they do clearing up litter from Wimbledon common.

All of the wombles apart from Great Uncle Bulgarian Balcony that is, he's a dick.

Jambo appeaser, lifting our twelve fingered friends up to great heights in his silly wee hot air balloon so they can indulge in a good bit of balustrade bawling, leaving his pals to do the hard work and only drifting back once very so often to fill their heads with pish, made up stories about what he gets up to on his travels.

10-07-2019, 07:22 PM
Bit disappointed that the club shop doesn’t have any “ We persevered at Carlisle “ T-shirts in yet. Want one for ma holidays 😞

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 07:24 PM
Bit disappointed that the club shop doesn’t have any “ We persevered at Carlisle “ T-shirts in yet. Want one for ma holidays 😞

Your mother is going on multiple vacations? :na na:

10-07-2019, 07:27 PM
Your mother is going on multiple vacations? :na na:

Very droll!!

Wee Effen Bee
10-07-2019, 07:41 PM

“Get your white mice!
White mice, white mice...any colour!”

Was the bird not a CH - Jim Blackbird?

10-07-2019, 07:46 PM
If you were the guy in the Plaza at midnight, trying to work out the "sound of one hand clapping"...

...then we'd really rather not know what the other hand was doing, thanks!

JXM73
10-07-2019, 07:59 PM
Will Stirling be giving us a guard of honour on saturday, be a disgrace if they dont, statement prepared...

10-07-2019, 08:02 PM
Has a team every won the treble so early before?

10-07-2019, 08:05 PM
Yea its defo better.

Woo hoo!

A typo victory.

Well done. One point to the adult. 🏆

10-07-2019, 08:35 PM
Disappointed there was no pitch invasion last night 😳

10-07-2019, 08:47 PM
I don’t consider Carlisle beaten until they release a statement

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 09:10 PM
“Get your white mice!
White mice, white mice...any colour!”

Was the bird not a CH - Jim Blackbird?

Nup, more a Brownlie sort of colour.

Brownlie/Blackely speckled really.

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 09:11 PM
Disappointed there was no pitch invasion last night 😳

Very unlike us.

Must try harder.

Here’s Lucy!
10-07-2019, 09:13 PM

I asked my bank manager for a statement once.

’Hertz are *****e’ he said.

I was happy with that.

Fergos
10-07-2019, 09:23 PM
I’ve got a picture of SDG and SJC, scorers of the greatest goals in our esteemed history framed now, pride of place in my cupboard.

10-07-2019, 09:31 PM
I would like to see a Josh Campbell statue or the West Stand named after the Hibs legend.

Mango Man
10-07-2019, 09:39 PM
I imagine the players have not been to bed yet, they will be buzzing!!

What a time to be a Hibs fan.

Fergos
10-07-2019, 09:49 PM

Spat my drink oot.....

:applause::applause:

10-07-2019, 09:56 PM
I imagine the players have not been to bed yet, they will be buzzing!!

What a time to be a Hibs fan.

I hate to think of the state Martin Boyle must be in right now.

Superfurry72
10-07-2019, 10:11 PM
I’ve got a picture of SDG and SJC, scorers of the greatest goals in our esteemed history framed now, pride of place in my cupboard.

🤣🤣

10-07-2019, 10:17 PM
Disgraceful a dvd of the Battle of Carlisle hasn’t been released yet.

10-07-2019, 11:05 PM
Its been over 24 hours now and in spit of my speling errur I'm still very very prowd :aok:

MarkGilchimp
10-07-2019, 11:35 PM
Even the match official at Carlisle were overjoyed at seeing the Hibs....

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2595406679222782813https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2595406679222782813https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2595406679222782813

11-07-2019, 07:08 AM
Has anyone written a song commemorating it yet?

11-07-2019, 07:18 AM

Wait to see him eating soup it’s beyond messy

It might be beyond Messy, but it's not beyond Kambery :wink: what a goal!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11-07-2019, 07:23 AM
The rendition of Sunshine on Leith will stay with me until the day I die.

I will tell my Grandkids, “I watched the 5 minute highlights on Hibs.TV.”

11-07-2019, 07:24 AM
I think we just ended Carlisle as a club.

11-07-2019, 07:25 AM

I'm on it.

Working title is "Pumping Belinda"and it goes to the tune of Waltzing Matilda.

11-07-2019, 09:26 AM

There's only one suitable candidate and if the club don't release it on an official dvd I'll do serious balcony time.

We are Hibs, we are great, we have Carlisle on the run...

11-07-2019, 09:34 AM

I don't know, I think you need to show some magnanimity here. It was such a mauling I don't think they'll be capable of statements for years to come.

But what a hell of a send off for Rod. I'm hearing the City of Carlisle crest is being redesigned with a tache rampant mounting the gateway. It'll never get better than this.

Wee Effen Bee
11-07-2019, 09:53 AM
Nup, more a Brownlie sort of colour.

Brownlie/Blackely speckled really.

😬

11-07-2019, 09:58 AM
I'm beyond excited.

Hibs are bringing out a Lego bus to commemorate the famous victory.

£79.99

Groathillgrump
11-07-2019, 09:58 AM
When do you think the club shop will have the commemorative half and half scarves on sale?

Man Down Under
11-07-2019, 12:27 PM
The pitch invasion was far too exuberant for the media to report on. It's for the best really.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

11-07-2019, 12:37 PM
It’s a result that’s so magnificent I have started to refer to Hibs as “the Famous”.

11-07-2019, 12:46 PM
I'm beyond excited.

Hibs are bringing out a Lego bus to commemorate the famous victory.

£79.99Lego is so boring and Duncanish, I'm going to bid £4k on ebay for a plastic owl, name it Brunton and set up a wee shrine on a plaza somewhere so that Hibbies all over the world have somewhere to go and reflect on that great day.

It's what big teams do.

11-07-2019, 12:52 PM
Lego is so boring and Duncanish, I'm going to bid £4k on ebay for a plastic owl, name it Brunton and set up a wee shrine on a plaza somewhere so that Hibbies all over the world have somewhere to go and reflect on that great day.

It's what big teams do.

What about a owl made from Lego

11-07-2019, 01:03 PM
What about a owl made from LegoNot for me, sorry,, even worse than baking one or making one out of corduroy.

11-07-2019, 01:12 PM
Never thought i'd see the day where my cup final ticket, proudly framed above the fireplace would be replaced, but that's what's just happened.

I feel blessed to be a Hibs fan in these extraordinary successful times.

11-07-2019, 01:38 PM
I see Botchergate has been renamed Heckygate thanks to the post match exuberance shown against the chanters of that little "Engerlund" ditty!

11-07-2019, 02:12 PM
Anyone going to sit overnight at the clubstore buy the Lego bus.

11-07-2019, 02:24 PM
I'm still outside the ground in Carlisle. Sat inside my beautiful Rover 100 Ascot, staring at the weave of the string on the back of my driving gloves. I am both empty and full. I feel like my journey as a fan is in some way complete, yet I am not entirely able to take in the scale of the win I so recently witnessed. It has taken me some time...but this is my essay to the Battle of Carlisle.

In the depth of my sporting winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer. The struggle itself towards the heights is enough to fill a man's heart. So to reach the heights can leave you feeling that a man's soul becomes less rather than more. I stop. I re-live that moment when the ball hits the net and I realise we have beaten Carlisle Utd. More than that, we have beaten them in a meaningless friendly. It is that very lack of meaning that enhances the magnitude of our achievement. If we believe in nothing, if nothing has any meaning and if we can affirm no values whatsoever, then everything is possible and nothing has any importance. This in itself makes everything important, and less is more, so the least important wins are the most important.

11-07-2019, 02:32 PM
I'm still outside the ground in Carlisle. Sat inside my beautiful Rover 100 Ascot, staring at the weave of the string on the back of my driving gloves. I am both empty and full. I feel like my journey as a fan is in some way complete, yet I am not entirely able to take in the scale of the win I so recently witnessed. It has taken me some time...but this is my essay to the Battle of Carlisle.

In the depth of my sporting winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer. The struggle itself towards the heights is enough to fill a man's heart. So to reach the heights can leave you feeling that a man's soul becomes less rather than more. I stop. I re-live that moment when the ball hits the net and I realise we have beaten Carlisle Utd. More than that, we have beaten them in a meaningless friendly. It is that very lack of meaning that enhances the magnitude of our achievement. If we believe in nothing, if nothing has any meaning and if we can affirm no values whatsoever, then everything is possible and nothing has any importance. This in itself makes everything important, and less is more, so the least important wins are the most important.

Beautiful, and so very true.

Less is more. More is less.

Pain is pleasure. Pleasure is pain

East is West. West is East.

Rovers are cars. Cars are Rovers.

Cardigans is fashion. Fashion is Cardigans

11-07-2019, 02:51 PM
Beautiful, and so very true.

Less is more. More is less.

Pain is pleasure. Pleasure is pain

East is West. West is East.

Rovers are cars. Cars are Rovers.

Cardigans is fashion. Fashion is Cardigans
An ode to Duncan.

11-07-2019, 02:52 PM

Well done! 👏 Time to close the thread.

11-07-2019, 03:01 PM
Well done! 👏 Time to close the thread.

Met a wee bird in Carlisle she told when she watched the Hibs she felt that “heaven is a place on earth “never really caught her name it was either Betty or Belinda

11-07-2019, 03:07 PM
Met a wee bird in Carlisle she told when she watched the Hibs she felt that “heaven is a place on earth “never really caught her name it was either Betty or Belinda

Surely the latter! Probably the same girl I saw doing laps of Carlisle's prime music venue car park, think she was doing Circles in The Sands!

11-07-2019, 03:09 PM
Surely the latter!

👌

11-07-2019, 03:37 PM

:greengrin We have a winner:thumbsup:

11-07-2019, 03:41 PM
Can someone explain the Duncan thing

11-07-2019, 03:45 PM
Can someone explain the Duncan thing

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/3vJxj39l2B2NXHNMcq98t6L/why-doesn-t-judy-talk-about-the-other-murray-brother

11-07-2019, 04:11 PM
If the memorable slaying of Carlisle wasn’t enough, Hecky just goes and wins the longest drive in the Pro/Am at The Scottish Open. https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/paul-heckingbottom-wins-longest-drive-16566991.amp

11-07-2019, 04:29 PM
If the memorable slaying of Carlisle wasn’t enough, Hecky just goes and wins the longest drive in the Pro/Am at The Scottish Open. https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/paul-heckingbottom-wins-longest-drive-16566991.amp

I really think we should name the Sir Tom Farmer stand the Sir Heckingbottom stand

11-07-2019, 04:36 PM

Masterminds the demolition of England's finest then wins the Scottish Open. Some guy.

12-07-2019, 06:37 AM

He beat Kim Jong Un's record of 34, with a 19. 18 hole in 1's and a 2 at the tough par 5 16th.

A disappointed Heckingbottom said he'd be back next year to try and improve what he described as an average round.

12-07-2019, 07:35 AM
I really think we should name the Sir Tom Farmer stand the Sir Heckingbottom standNow we've got all the money we should really do some big team thinking and build a 5th stand.

An understated single tier job with random seat numbers, slippy metal surfaces, in built rust and a view of the castle will do for the Battle of Carlisle Stand.

12-07-2019, 07:52 AM
He beat Kim Jong Un's record of 34, with a 19. 18 hole in 1's and a 2 at the tough par 5 16th.

A disappointed Heckingbottom said he'd be back next year to try and improve what he described as an average round.

18 hole in 1's and a 2 is 20 so disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard. 😁

12-07-2019, 08:01 AM

That last line cracked me up.

I'm all for referring to Hecky as Dear Leader tbf.

I'm Spartacus
12-07-2019, 01:08 PM
Proclaimers to replace 'Skye no more' with 'Carlisle no more' in Letter from America - FACT

12-07-2019, 02:11 PM
Proclaimers to replace 'Skye no more' with 'Carlisle no more' in Letter from America - FACT

12-07-2019, 04:03 PM
18 hole in 1's and a 2 is 20 so disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard. 😁
And a lifetime ban from the course for firing balls around the 19th hole.....

12-07-2019, 04:39 PM
And a lifetime ban from the course for firing balls around the 19th hole.....

What's Garry O' been up to now?

12-07-2019, 04:47 PM

He had to go up the first again, as he was drawing with his son after 18. :wink:

h18eeynick
13-07-2019, 04:51 PM
We must have been amazing on Tuesday night as Carlisle hammered Penrith 4 nil today. Similar fixture to us via Stirling Albion !