09-07-2019, 05:54 PM
Hibs team now up

Marciano
James McGregor Jackson Mackie
Horgan Mallan Campbell Newell
Shaw Kamberi

09-07-2019, 05:55 PM
Starting line-up: Marciano, James, McGregor, Jackson, Mackie, Mallan, Horgan, Campbell, Kamberi, Shaw, Newell.

Substitutes: Maxwell, Doidge, Allan, Murray, Trialist, Stirling, Sadiki, Doig.

Good to see Marciano back. What's up with Porteous?

Assuming Moon is the trialist?
No Whittaker or Gray again and no Hanlon tonight either

Subs
Maxwell
Doidge
Allan
F Murray
Trialist
Stirling
Sadiki
Doig

09-07-2019, 05:57 PM
Slivka and Boyle also missing

murray26
No sure what to make of that.. good luck the hibees 💚🍺

Slivka and Boyle also missing

Boyle was sitting down after the game on Saturday, thought he might have had a wee injury

09-07-2019, 05:58 PM
mon the good guys

09-07-2019, 06:02 PM
Hibs team now up

Marciano
James McGregor Jackson Mackie
Horgan Mallan Campbell Newell
Shaw Kamberi
Think that will be a 4-3-3, Shaw out left and Horgan out right?

09-07-2019, 06:04 PM

Looks to me Horgan right and Newell left
442?

09-07-2019, 06:05 PM

Is it not more of a 3-5-2? I could be wrong, but I think Campbell is also a CB.

09-07-2019, 06:07 PM
Does anyone know of a way to stream this one? I know it's unlikely. I've looked on the Carlisle website, but that seems to be a non starter.

09-07-2019, 06:08 PM
Starting line-up: Marciano, James, McGregor, Jackson, Mackie, Mallan, Horgan, Campbell, Kamberi, Shaw, Newell.

Substitutes: Maxwell, Doidge, Allan, Murray, Trialist, Stirling, Sadiki, Doig.

Good to see Marciano back. What's up with Porteous?

Porteous is a few weeks behind Boyle. He only started running a week ago IIRC.

09-07-2019, 06:09 PM
A few players with minor injuries.

09-07-2019, 06:12 PM
Is Lewis still injured?

09-07-2019, 06:22 PM
Is Lewis still injured?

:flag:Wont be available for the start of the season if I read correctly

seanshow
09-07-2019, 06:23 PM
Brunton Park - One smallish stand to speak of, that the builders appear to have positioned in the dark :greengrin

Ground capacity 18k, ftw!

09-07-2019, 06:25 PM
Just in the ground now. Away end filling up. Great view on half way line.

Players warming up. Ref in the green looks like he likes the gym. All standard so far.

09-07-2019, 06:28 PM
I was there in poor weather conditions on the terrace for our 1-0 defeat under Yogi a few years back. On this occasion I’m following from my balcony in Spain with an ice cold Estella to hand. C’mon Hibees!

09-07-2019, 06:28 PM
Interesting that Marciano back in the team but no sign of Slivka.
Something or nothing?

09-07-2019, 06:29 PM
James brought in to play regularly at RB?

09-07-2019, 06:31 PM
James brought in to play regularly at RB?

Just shows that we need a full squad, a few injuries he and there, and we’re down to the bare bones

09-07-2019, 06:32 PM
Oh great another sit anywhere/allocated ticket situation

09-07-2019, 06:33 PM
Just shows that we need a full squad, a few injuries he and there, and we’re down to the bare bones

I wouldn’t say that, I’m sure James is capable of playing RB is he not? A bit different to trying to squeeze players in here and there

09-07-2019, 06:34 PM
James brought in to play regularly at RB?West Brom were after him last year I'm pretty sure he will be a starter

09-07-2019, 06:40 PM
Is it not more of a 3-5-2? I could be wrong, but I think Campbell is also a CB.

He’s been DM when I’ve seen him and think played there for Airdrie whilst on loan

09-07-2019, 06:42 PM
He’s been DM when I’ve seen him and think played there for Airdrie whilst on loan

He’s a box to box midfielder
Be interesting to see who sits tonight, Mallon or Campbell

09-07-2019, 06:46 PM

Was my take also. Think that is Heckys preferred set up

09-07-2019, 06:47 PM
Carlisle with the first chance

He’s a box to box midfielder
Be interesting to see who sits tonight, Mallon or Campbell

He looked good the few times I’ve seen him and from what I heard did well at Airdrie. Box to box sounds good

I was there in poor weather conditions on the terrace for our 1-0 defeat under Yogi a few years back. On this occasion I’m following from my balcony in Spain with an ice cold Estella to hand. C’mon Hibees!
Following from tenerife

09-07-2019, 06:51 PM
Brunton Park - One smallish stand to speak of, that the builders appear to have positioned in the dark :greengrin

Ground capacity 18k, ftw!

There was a massive earthquake three years ago and the stand moved twenty yards to the north.

007 Mickey Weir
09-07-2019, 06:54 PM
Any coverage of this anywhere other than here?

Bangkok Hibby
Great to see Shaw starting. Hope he starts to make more of the good positions he gets into.

what a ****** home support :)

7-Heaven
09-07-2019, 06:55 PM

Hibs TV

09-07-2019, 06:55 PM

Hibs TV audio only.

09-07-2019, 06:57 PM
Interesting that Marciano back in the team but no sign of Slivka.
Something or nothing?

Slivka was walking outside East End Park with (I'm assuming) his wife/partner after the game on Saturday as I was leaving.

09-07-2019, 07:04 PM
is that, if you hate the ******* r angers clap your hands ?

09-07-2019, 07:06 PM
is that, if you hate the ******* r angers clap your hands ?Berwick?

09-07-2019, 07:06 PM
How are we playing?

09-07-2019, 07:07 PM
Berwick?

nah, deffo the effing r angers, and there's only one of them.......thankfully

09-07-2019, 07:11 PM
How are we playing?

Very average. Middle of midfield not getting hold of the ball. Newall looks like a passenger so far.

09-07-2019, 07:11 PM
flower of scotland...top stuff, give it laldy lads :saltireflag

09-07-2019, 07:14 PM
Very average. Middle of midfield not getting hold of the ball. Newall looks like a passenger so far.

Thought he struggled at the weekend as well tbh.

It was said he was better coming off the bench than when he started so at this rate I could see us starting the season with Boyle and Horgan as our wingers with Newell being a good option to come on.

Thought he struggled at the weekend as well tbh.

It was said he was better coming off the bench than when he started so at this rate I could see us starting the season with Boyle and Horgan as our wingers with Newell being a good option to come on.

Yep thought he struggled on Saturday as well

Mistake from Marciano.

09-07-2019, 07:15 PM
1-0 Carlisle
Marciano poor.

1-0 Carlisle.

1-0 Carlisle

1-0 carlisle, ball went under ofir's arms

Another slow start then. It's a bit of a habit.

Goal Carlisle

09-07-2019, 07:16 PM
Wont be available for the start of the season if I read correctly

Thanks.

I for one look forward to the return to of Mr Hibs, and the development of his successor, Sean Mackie.

09-07-2019, 07:16 PM
looking forward to opponents that we can score first against

what are hertz ding next week

St Pauli Hibee
09-07-2019, 07:17 PM
Concerning that our keepers have made mistakes in every game so far this pre season. Hopefully they are getting them out the way before the meaningful games start.

Berwickhibby
Unbelievable :confused:

Sell Ofir now.

09-07-2019, 07:18 PM
I make that 5 goals so far that our goalies have collectively chucked in since pre season started.

Silky
is that, if you hate the ******* r angers clap your hands ?

I quite like angers. Nice part of the world. What's to hate?

biggie1875
Ffs ***** goalkeeping again

Concerning that our keepers have made mistakes in every game so far this pre season. Hopefully they are getting them out the way before the meaningful games start.

Beat me to it. Our keepers have been very error prone in preseason. Not good at all

09-07-2019, 07:19 PM
Hibs had most of the ball but the goal was a poor effort and should have been saved

Rusty Rocky

We can’t keep clean sheets, that’s 4 goals from goalie mistakes in the 3 friendlies
Admittedly it was all 3 goalies 1st games this season

Kamberri should have scored there. And Shaw should have shot instead of passing to him.

30' | CUFC 1-0 #HIBS

Goal for Carlisle. Bridge is able to get a low shot on goal, Marciano gets down quickly and gets a hand on it, but the power on the strike takes it into the net.

09-07-2019, 07:20 PM
All 3 keepers that have played have made a good few mistakes eh?

noz
09-07-2019, 07:20 PM
West Brom were after him last year I'm pretty sure he will be a starter

Acc to wiki, they offered 400k for him to Yeovil but deal fell through as couldn’t agree personal terms!

biggie1875
09-07-2019, 07:21 PM
Get it sorted Petrie 🤣

1–1 Flo played through by Mallan.

Acc to wiki, they offered 400k for him to Yeovil but deal fell through as couldn’t agree personal terms!

Talk was he failed a medical

1-1

09-07-2019, 07:22 PM
flo uno-uno

Kamberi

world class pass from Mallandhino

09-07-2019, 07:23 PM
Talk was he failed a medical

It does seem if you are a Yeovil fan he couldn't agree terms, if you are a West Brom fan he failed a medical

Chefki Kuqi
09-07-2019, 07:24 PM
Nothing that gets me going more than a free-scoring Kamberi. Mallan in the mixer too, thats filthy.

Get it sorted Petrie 🤣

You mean get it sorted Ron 😉

Rusty Rocky

That's all it is. Keep the heid folks.

09-07-2019, 07:25 PM
Kamberi

Great to see big Flo back at it up top.

Chefki Kuqi
09-07-2019, 07:25 PM
We can’t keep clean sheets, that’s 4 goals from goalie mistakes in the 3 friendlies
Admittedly it was all 3 goalies 1st games this season

#BOGBACK

Get it sorted Ron!!!

IainA
09-07-2019, 07:26 PM
QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;5837659]flower of scotland...top stuff, give it laldy lads :saltireflag[/QUOTE]

We should all sing this when Sevco fans start with their rule Britannia ������

09-07-2019, 07:27 PM
Ochone, ochone...ah cannae keep up. Is that us relegated?

09-07-2019, 07:27 PM
Rocky taking one for the team for the lads who have 3-1 final score.

09-07-2019, 07:30 PM
Carlisle Trialist is getting mentioned alot on the Carlisle Twitter feed, some saying it could be Miles Storey?

09-07-2019, 07:30 PM
How is Flo playing

09-07-2019, 07:32 PM
Soooo, are we rubbish or world beaters?

Carlisle tannoy is total crap.

St Pauli Hibee
Ht 1-1

How is Flo playing

Not too bad. Trying hard and took his goal well.

09-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Carlisle Trialist is getting mentioned alot on the Carlisle Twitter feed, some saying it could be Miles Storey?

It is ✅

Flow playing well as are Mallan and Horgan

09-07-2019, 07:35 PM
We have been the better team without being great. Need Allan on 2nd half and prob should take off Newall.
Kamberri and Shaw ok. Mackie playing well.

09-07-2019, 07:35 PM
How has Newell been in the previous games coz he's pretty innefective in this one.

StevesFamau5
09-07-2019, 07:36 PM
How has Newell been in the previous games coz he's pretty innefective in this one.

Doesn't seem to able to beat a man 1 on 1. Crossing not great either. TBH he looks knackered, possibly lacking fitness.

09-07-2019, 07:36 PM
we have been the better team without being great. Need allan on 2nd half and prob should take off newall.
Kamberri and shaw ok. macklemore playing well.

Sent from my iphone using tapatalk

who?

09-07-2019, 07:38 PM
Carlisle tannoy is total crap.

Have we bought a new one and sold our old one to Carlisle?

St Pauli Hibee

Not great at Dunfermline, his crossing was pretty hopeless from the left, slightly better 2nd half before getting subbed. Can see him being a very frustrating player with a lot of promise but lacks that cutting edge & final ball.

I hope I will be proved wrong though 👍👍

Mallan best player for me, passed the ball well. Flo looking more interested IMO.

Disappointed with Campbell, real opportunity for him with the limited options we have in midfield.

09-07-2019, 07:39 PM
Great to see big Flo back at it up top.

Really is. Hopefully it's a sign of things to come

09-07-2019, 07:40 PM
How is Flo playing

So far, he has mainly been standing up straight except when he is running or chasing the ball. He has been looking for a ball from the middle, which he got from Mallan and tucked away quite nicely.

Other than that, there will be a few people who will say he could be a bit more defensive, like the moron behind me who keeps saying "Look at that lazy ******* Kamberi, he never tracks back ".

Other than that, Flo is looking like he is coming back onto his game for me.

09-07-2019, 07:41 PM

He reminds me of Slivka the way he floats about at half pace everywhere. Pretty poor to be honest.

09-07-2019, 07:41 PM
Doesn't seem to able to beat a man 1 on 1. Crossing not great either. TBH he looks knackered, possibly lacking fitness.

Well he's the same today. Hopefully improves second half if he's back on but not convinced so far.

09-07-2019, 07:42 PM

Not playing with close to the same intensity as Horgan.

09-07-2019, 07:49 PM
Moon on for the ineffective Newall.

09-07-2019, 07:50 PM
2-1 Carlisle
Decent strike but should have been closed down.

09-07-2019, 07:50 PM
2-1 Carlisle?

09-07-2019, 07:51 PM
2-1 Carlisle

Maybe last opportunity for Moon to win a deal

Hecky out.

Season ticket will be returned when it arrives.

We’ve been leaking goals

Maybe last opportunity for Moon to win a deal

If McNulty is now in play I doubt it...

09-07-2019, 07:52 PM
Not great at Dunfermline, his crossing was pretty hopeless from the left, slightly better 2nd half before getting subbed. Can see him being a very frustrating player with a lot of promise but lacks that cutting edge & final ball.

I hope I will be proved wrong though 👍👍

Pretty much what his previous clubs fans said about him.

09-07-2019, 07:52 PM
2-1 Carlisle
Decent strike but should have been closed down.

Relief to finally lose a goal that wasn’t the keepers fault though 😉

09-07-2019, 07:54 PM
Hecky out.

Season ticket will be returned when it arrives.

Deary me. And who do you suppose we replace him with?

I know we keep saying they're only friendlies but it's a bit disconcerting that we're a bit disjointed and the defence aint that great, plus the goalies making mistakes, lest hope they get their fingers oot when the proper games start.

Deary me. And who do you suppose we replaced him with?

Seriously?

defence defence, my kingdom for a ******* defence

that must be about 40 years since our last clean sheet

1065 away fans btw

09-07-2019, 07:55 PM
Deary me. And who do you suppose we replaced him with?

Whoosh!

Relief to finally lose a goal that wasn’t the keepers fault though 😉

But, but, but, why was he allowed to get so far without being tackled, let alone get his shot away???

Petrie and Sir Tom oot.

stuart-farquhar
4th division outfit.

09-07-2019, 07:56 PM
Game totally bypassing Campbell.

4th division outfit.

That is quite concerning

4th division outfit.

Well.. if you sign 4th division players..

09-07-2019, 07:58 PM
Whoosh!

Sorry, I forgot you can't post a joke on here without smilies.

Hecky OUT.

4th division outfit.

Playing their first pre season game

Big Guusy.

09-07-2019, 07:59 PM
I know we keep saying they're only friendlies but it's a bit disconcerting that we're a bit disjointed and the defence aint that great, plus the goalies making mistakes, lest hope they get their fingers oot when the proper games start.

I know what you’re saying but doesn’t concern me in the slightest tbh.

There’s an intensity that comes when the real games start that isn’t there for these games. We are also starting players who won’t be starting competitive games.

I also think we’ll sign 1 or 2 players who will go right into the starting 11.

09-07-2019, 08:00 PM
We badly need more in midfield.

09-07-2019, 08:01 PM
I know what you’re saying but doesn’t concern me in the slightest tbh.

There’s an intensity that comes when the real games start that isn’t there for these games. We are also starting players who won’t be starting competitive games.

I also think we’ll sign 1 or 2 players who will go right into the starting 11.

Which is true but you’d still hope we’d perform a bit better against a 4th tier English side who’re playing their first game?

09-07-2019, 08:01 PM
We badly need more in midfield.

Absolutely this. Been our weakest area since the start of last season.

09-07-2019, 08:02 PM
Sorry, I forgot you can't post a joke on here without smilies.

Hecky OUT.

They do help :greengrin

It'd be really funny if we didn't sign a competent ball winning midfielder for the third transfer window in a row.

I read an interview with Pressley before this game where he said he wasn't really wanting to play Hibs as we're a few weeks ahead of them in terms of fitness and this is just their first game back.

I'd imagine that will mean they'll tire towards the end but even for a friendly, if we're a few weeks ahead of them fitness-wise you might expect us to be doing better against a team who are playing their first game back.

09-07-2019, 08:03 PM

You can’t be serious surely

MacGruber
It'd be really funny if we didn't sign a competent ball wining midfielder for the third transfer window in a row.

And let 2 go

I read an interview with Pressley before this game where he said he wasn't really wanting to play Hibs as we're a few weeks ahead of them in terms of fitness and this is just their first game back.

I'd imagine that will mean they'll tire towards the end but even for a friendly, if we're a few weeks ahead of them fitness-wise you might expect us to be doing better against a team who are playing their first game back.

It definitely is concerning

09-07-2019, 08:04 PM
Allan, Doidge and Murray on for shaw, Kamberri and Horgan.

New Right back James - see Newell. looks like he doesn’t want to exert himself by doing anything at all

Is it ok to be a bit concerned with the number of goals we are letting in?

Which is true but you’d still hope we’d perform a bit better against a 4th tier English side who’re playing their first game?

Meh....

Obviously I’d rather we were winning but I don’t care really. It’s a bounce match that’s more about fitness than anything else.

09-07-2019, 08:05 PM
Meh....

Obviously I’d rather we were winning but I don’t care really. It’s a bounce match that’s more about fitness than anything else.

Can we just get this post pinned to the top of every pre season match we ever play? It needs to be seen

09-07-2019, 08:06 PM
New Right back James - see Newell. looks like he doesn’t want to exert himself by doing anything at all

Odd as Hecky said he wants high energy players.

Hopefully not more one paced Liam Craig’s.

09-07-2019, 08:06 PM
Meh....

It shouldn't just be about fitness, there's confidence that comes with scoring goals, winning games and gelling as a team.

09-07-2019, 08:07 PM
Woosh-ception in here 🤣

09-07-2019, 08:08 PM
Meh....

try telling that to the carlisle players, they're taking the first game back after their holidaybobs just too seriously

Is it ok to be a bit concerned with the number of goals we are letting in?

No it’s not. It’s only pre season, but we do seem to be struggling to keep clean sheets so far. I wouldn’t be overly concerned, but it doesn’t look great.

It shouldn't just be about fitness, there's confidence that comes with scoring goals, winning games and gelling as a team.

Don’t be silly, who cares if we’re conceding every game as long as we’re fit

coldingham hibs
Apart from Allan I thought all the new signings were pretty mediocre against Dunfermline. Whether or not they are just getting up to speed it is a bit deflating to hear they are still not showing much tonight.

09-07-2019, 08:09 PM

Old school thinking - we need to install a winning mentality and leaking goals / getting beat by Arbroath and possible Carlisle shouldn’t be happening. Not panicking but all about fitness is a losers mentality.

Hecky said, I think it was before Dunfy, that we wouldn’t be doing any actual tactical preparation for these games and it’ll all be aimed at fitness. Let’s hope he gets them focused properly before the real stuff starts because we’ve been brutal for the majority of our games so far, bounce games or not.

Results don’t matter in these games but it’d be good to see some sort of cohesion.

Its Carlisle's pre season as well.It will take them time to get up to speed but it's all about fitness at this stage. 🙄

It shouldn't just be about fitness, there's confidence that comes with scoring goals and winning games and gelling as a team.

Nah. The results are irrelevant..performance and fitness levels more important..three weeks yet until
Our first league game. It’s all about the preparation for the league games. And I include the league cup in that ....all we need to do is get though the group ..other than that it’s also about prep

Absolutely this. Been our weakest area since the start of last season.

It was half-decent during the second half of last season but was found wanting against the better teams after the split.

Hecky has certainly put a bit of pressure on himself after releasing Milligan and Bartley. It looks like we're needing bit more transfer activity yet before our midfield is as good as last year's - a midfield I think we would all agree was not good enough.

09-07-2019, 08:10 PM

I'm with you. I'm not overly concerned but I want to see us winning every game we play. It's a go9d habit to get into.

09-07-2019, 08:10 PM
3-1

09-07-2019, 08:11 PM
Eek

3-1 defence are grim. McGregor OG.
Mallan off, Stirling in.

They were predicting a heavy defeat on their forum. At least we're cheering them up a bit.

No it’s not. It’s only pre season, but we do seem to be struggling to keep clean sheets so far. I wouldn’t be overly concerned, but it doesn’t look great.

So no but nearly?

3-1 carlisle

sigh

09-07-2019, 08:12 PM
Big Ron oot, we want Petrie back

Nah. The results are irrelevant..performance and fitness levels more important..three weeks yet until
Our first league game. It’s all about the preparation for the league games. And I include the league cup in that ....all we need to do is get though the group ..other than that it’s also about prep

Performance has been crap.

I thought we were going to have a clear way of playing this season. Not seeing it yet.

Apart from Allan I thought all the new signings were pretty mediocre against Dunfermline. Whether or not they are just getting up to speed it is a bit deflating to hear they are still not showing much tonight.

I think Allan was as mediocre as the rest of them on Saturday which I think shows how misleading a performance in these games can be.

Although just pre season it is a bit concerning imo

thank goodness we won't be playing this 4th tier team midway through their season

Berwickhibby
Sorry but this is an embarrassment

09-07-2019, 08:13 PM
So no but nearly?

It’s all about how you want to view these games.

Disgraceful stuff.

Pretty rubbish stuff.

Guess I’ll get pelters but this pre season hasn’t really got me too excited for the season. When you see Rangers battering league one side 5-0 and we are losing to Carlisle.

Squirrel 1875
Signs were all there throughout his apparently “amazing” run. Heckingbottom is not going to work out and anyone who thinks otherwise is fooling themselves. The signings have been a joke.

09-07-2019, 08:14 PM
Only positive is hopefully we realise we desperately need more players in and this isn’t the league cup games.

Midfield is massive - decent midfield protects back 4 and also provides the service - we need more in that area.

68' | CUFC 3-1 #HIBS

Goal for Carlisle. A cross in from the right goes over the head of Jackson and ends up in the back of the net off McGregor's left leg to extend Carlisle's lead.

Not seen any of the new players but this is concerning. We’ve tried the lower English league players before and it’s not all gone well. If Dylan is not good enough then these guys need to step up a bit.

No one will give a toss about this result once we are up against St Mirren in our first league game.

09-07-2019, 08:15 PM
Pretty rubbish stuff.

Guess I’ll get pelters but this pre season hasn’t really got me too excited for the season. When you see Rangers battering league one side 5-0 and we are losing to Carlisle.

Warning signs have been there for a while.

We've still got Newcastle to play. Can we cancel a friendly?

Signs were all there throughout his apparently “amazing” run. Heckingbottom is not going to work out and anyone who thinks otherwise is fooling themselves. The signings have been a joke.

Deary ****ing me.

Good to see you back. You disappeared after we won on Saturday.

It.

Is.

Pre.

Season.

09-07-2019, 08:16 PM
No one will give a toss about this result once we are up against St Mirren in our first league game.

Bingo

Keep the faith everyone

Signs were all there throughout his apparently “amazing” run. Heckingbottom is not going to work out and anyone who thinks otherwise is fooling themselves. The signings have been a joke.I agree. I hated being in the Roseburn for that win at Tynecastle. Hecky out.

Pre season but the way we’re leaking goals is alarming. Fitness or not it isnt a great sign to be leaking goals at this stage

We aren’t going to win the league.

We need to give ourselves a good start in League Cup - one of the 2 trophies we have a chance of winning.

The signs being he brought us from 8th to 5th in half a season, beating Hearts at Tynie for the first time in years. I'm okay with that.

3-2

Clarence
Maybe this is all part of a plan to convince the powers that be that we need to invest in the squad. Either way, it’s not worth bed wetting over pre season results.

09-07-2019, 08:17 PM
Hecky finding out that allan & mcgeough are a class up from Newell and the likes

tamsonsbairn
try telling that to the carlisle players, they're taking the first game back after their holidaybobs just too seriously

Its not as if the Carlisle players all came back from their holidays on monday, pressley will have these guys fit, all they are lacking is match fitness, the same as us, we've played a couple of friendlies more than them. GGTTH. :thumbs: :wink:

3-2 Allan. Doidge done well to set up.

Posts like this is why I normally stay of Hibs.net for a while after a defeat. Jesus wept

09-07-2019, 08:18 PM

What signs? When we only lost 3 in 13 games or so? That doesn’t happen by accident and can’t be a fluke surely?

We’ve been pish in pre season so far. That means **** all if we win the games that matter.

09-07-2019, 08:18 PM

At least your consistent 😜

09-07-2019, 08:19 PM
I like a moan about hibs but some of the posts on the last 3 match threats have been tedious as ****.

stuart-farquhar
This needs a full explanation in the resignation letter.

We aren’t going to win the league.

We need to give ourselves a good start in League Cup - one of the 2 trophies we have a chance of winning.

That too, my point being the competitions that actually matter. Finishing in a European position in the league should be a massive aim, it's not all about trophies.

09-07-2019, 08:20 PM
Possibly be slightly more concerning if we were playing our strongest side and not trying out new players and different things?

It’s just hard for people not to moan for a couple of months during pre-season :)

09-07-2019, 08:20 PM
If Hecky thinks McGeogh not good enough for our midfield then I’m worried.

09-07-2019, 08:21 PM
The results don't concern me at all but the performance levels can surely be considered something of a cause for concern. The leaking of cheap goals and lack of depth in the middle of the park are particularly noteworthy.

Ultimately if we negotiate the LC group successfully and are prepared for the opening day v St Mirren then these games are all irrelevant. However do teams who struggle against inferior opposition in pre season usually steamroller all before them when the real stuff starts?

09-07-2019, 08:21 PM
73' | CUFC 3-2 #HIBS

Doidge does well to win the ball back and under pressure from a defender he coolly slides it into the path of Allan who curls it into the far corner beyond Gray.

09-07-2019, 08:23 PM
Are Hull still after a manager? 🙏🏼

09-07-2019, 08:24 PM
Its not as if the Carlisle players all came back from their holidays on monday, pressley will have these guys fit, all they are lacking is match fitness, the same as us, we've played a couple of friendlies more than them. GGTTH. :thumbs: :wink:

so why were the carlisle players turning up at the stadium still wearing sombreros and flinging beach balls with a strong smell of sangria

*the players were smelling of sangria, not the beach balls

09-07-2019, 08:24 PM
3-2 Allan. Doidge done well to set up.

Good to hear something positive about Doidge.

09-07-2019, 08:25 PM
The new signings all look mince to be honest and the young lads in centre mid not good enough either.

Allan in free scoring form is giving me butterflies.

Are Hull still after a manager? 🙏🏼

Ths is a poorly timed joke isn't it?

09-07-2019, 08:26 PM
The results don't concern me at all but the performance levels can surely be considered something of a cause for concern. The leaking of cheap goals and lack of depth in the middle of the park are particularly noteworthy.

Ultimately if we negotiate the LC group successfully and are prepared for the opening day v St Mirren then these games are all irrelevant. However do teams who struggle against inferior opposition in pre season usually steamroller all before them when the real stuff starts?

Most of the cheap goals have been keeper mistakes.

Heckingbottom will know fine well about the midfield and will be sorted by the season starting.

Mcgeouch is a class player and I’d be happy if he comes back, i suspect we might have someone else lined up though. I’ll wait and see who that is and how they do before judging whether or not he was right or wrong not to sign Dylan again.

Chefki Kuqi
09-07-2019, 08:26 PM
If Hecky thinks McGeogh not good enough for our midfield then I’m worried.

This is my prime concern at the moment. If Hecky has his own men so be it, lets give him a chance and see what they can do. However, if talented players, heroes even, like Dylan are available and we don’t make a move then unless we have a better target lined up then we’re shooting ourselves in the foot. Ideally the club would make efforts to sign Dylan regardless, it is somewhat under handed but the clear influence of the manager on our signings is a concern as if he were to go then will these boys work for the next guy? Sign Dylan for continuity Hibs, IMO.

09-07-2019, 08:27 PM
The new signings all look mince to be honest and the young lads in centre mid not good enough either.

Including James & Jackson? Genuine question.

09-07-2019, 08:27 PM

I must confess to also having some concerns about how ready we're going to be. The real stuff starts in 4 days and whilst I'm confident we'll beat Stirling Albion I do have reservations about how ready we are for competing with the top level teams in the league.

Fingers crossed those concerns are unfounded.

09-07-2019, 08:28 PM
This is my prime concern at the moment. If Hecky has his own men so be it, lets give him a chance and see what they can do. However, if talented players, heroes even, like Dylan are available and we don’t make a move then unless we have a better target lined up then we’re shooting ourselves in the foot. Ideally the club would make efforts to sign Dylan regardless, it is somewhat under handed but the clear influence of the manager on our signings is a concern as if he were to go then will these boys work for the next guy? Sign Dylan for continuity Hibs, IMO.

Jack Ross has said today he wants to keep Dylan and Dylan has said he wants to stay and prove himself at Sunderland.

09-07-2019, 08:30 PM
What a shambles of a thread.

Including James & Jackson? Genuine question.

I’m certainly not convinced by them.

3-3 we're gonna skoosh the league

3-3 Doidge header from corner

09-07-2019, 08:31 PM
What a team.

Champions league dream is alive

Outstanding team

3-3. Doidge.

What a comeback. Stuff of legends. These pre season games mean so much.

Doidge seems to be well involved tonight. Pleasing.

Pleased he’s opened his account

3-3 we're gonna skoosh the league

Never in doubt! 😀

😂😂😂😂

Surely not that donkey Doidge, get in there sir

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYou at the match are you??

What a team.

Champions league dream is alive

😂😂. Some bed wetting for a pre season eh

we lulled pressly in to a false sense of security

Hecky must stay.

Can’t wait for my season ticket arriving.

This thread is embarrassing.

We're flying this pre season. 6 goals in 2 games.

Time to say cheerio to the trolls and the bed wetters over a pre season game then. See you next time we concede a goal :rolleyes:

09-07-2019, 08:32 PM
Yas. We're gonna win the league.

BlackSheep
Was it Doidge or Jackson...?

Anyone else concerned we’ve only scored 6 goals in the last 2 games?

St Pauli Hibee
We are different class so we are

I’m certainly not convinced by them.

OK,thanks

DR1875
I wonder if Ron got himself an added clause, 30 day cooling off period to cancel!! :wink:

Chefki Kuqi
Jack Ross has said today he wants to keep Dylan and Dylan has said he wants to stay and prove himself at Sunderland.

Glad to hear it, couldn’t bare to see him come back to Scotland at anyone other than us!

It’s mental, eh?

I’m trying to watch The Godfather (never seen it before) and my youngest has interrupted so I’ve paused it, thought I’d catch up on the match while she gets sorted, and i there’s a fairly hilarious reaction to a pre-season friendly.

Anyway 3-3.

09-07-2019, 08:33 PM

You should see our midfield.[emoji23]

Absolutely honking.

Really worried we’re peaking too early.

Time to say cheerio to the trolls and the bed wetters over a pre season game then. See you next time we concede a goal :rolleyes:Absolutely ...embarrassing stuff honestly

I’ve no celebrated a header that much since 21.5.16

09-07-2019, 08:34 PM
4-3 Campbell. All is well.[emoji23]

Its now Clachnacudden 4 Elgin 3.

Yassssssssss
****ing
h***yxyxhzhzuxux
yassss

We’re winning the league.

Yassss there it is what a victory!!!!

Topographic Hibby
09-07-2019, 08:35 PM
A winner in 90+2 mins and this thread will read like the cup final thread.....

Edit: I posted this before the 4th goal but the site was so slow and laggy with visitors that it didn’t show until after it was scored....:rolleyes:

09-07-2019, 08:35 PM
3-4. Mon the Hibs. Can get back to the Godfather now.