View Full Version : Carlisle boozers

06-07-2019, 06:11 PM
Any recommendations of where to go when arriving in Carlisle at lunch time?

Cat Stanton
06-07-2019, 08:36 PM

Back to Scotland?

Ps but if you like nice beer, I believe the interestingly-named Fat Gadgie is good. But I have never been there personally, and never been particularly inspired by trips to Carlisle ('though in fairness they have all been very quick passing-through/stopping off, so I could be being unjust) .

Here’s Lucy!
06-07-2019, 09:13 PM
Why, or how, would anyone know of boozers in Carlisle, unless they come from Carlisle?:na na:

06-07-2019, 09:35 PM

Caley Hotel, cheap as chips on a Tuesday.
Walkabout £2.50 a pint
Border Rambler cheap
Spoons and Lloyds about 100 yds apart v cheap

I'm not from Belinda so might be talking pish.

06-07-2019, 10:11 PM
Why, or how, would anyone know of boozers in Carlisle, unless they come from Carlisle?:na na:

Can you possibly be the bell end you come across as? If so well done.

06-07-2019, 10:12 PM
Walkabout £2.50 a pint
Border Rambler cheap

Thanks for that.

06-07-2019, 10:14 PM

Went down for a friendly about ten years ago, police where brutal, we lost too.

06-07-2019, 10:32 PM
Thanks for that.

Nice to be of service to a fellow Hibs punter. 🍻

06-07-2019, 10:35 PM

Hutchy knows plenty, he’s well known for his knowledge of boozers particularly Carlisle.

06-07-2019, 10:40 PM
Nice to be of service to a fellow Hibs punter. 🍻

I'm leaving a pint behind the bar for you in each of those pubs!

06-07-2019, 11:03 PM
Went down for a friendly about ten years ago, police where brutal, we lost too.

Same here police escort out the boozer after the game after a few of the locals started their *****, me and Ma mate we’re fine we were standing next to the pool table so swiftly had a couple of cues in our hands before the police stormed the boozer. Good trip though 😂

07-07-2019, 05:22 AM
Griffin outside the station is where most went the last time.

07-07-2019, 08:43 AM
Just outside the railway station is a few wotherspoons and a lloyds on the corner, across from the first Wotherspoons there is a pub whose name eludes me, it has a cheap drink deal on a tuesday, its next door to the hotel, i was there recently and it could take a lot of fans, dont know how far from the ground tho
B

07-07-2019, 08:52 AM
The pub is along from the County Hotel, Griffin is on the corner,the William Rufus is the first Wotherspoons, its in an area called Botchergate

07-07-2019, 09:08 AM
Anyone know a good place to park when getting there at 2pm. Ground is around 10/ 15 mins walk from the town so will prob park up there but not sure if there is street parking, anyone know?

h18eeynick
07-07-2019, 09:11 AM
Walkabout £2.50 a pint
Border Rambler cheap

I live in Carlisle and you are spot on. Caledonian also at top of Botchergate but no sports clothing allowed but cheap. Lots of choice on the Botchergate and only 10 to 15 minute walk to the ground. Arriving at lunchtime will miss any police escort as they are fond of these for visiting fans from the train station !

h18eeynick
07-07-2019, 09:18 AM
Anyone know a good place to park when getting there at 2pm. Ground is around 10/ 15 mins walk from the town so will prob park up there but not sure if there is street parking, anyone know?

Most of the street parking is disc zone between 1 and 2 hours. You can park at Stoneyholme Golf Course which is near the river and 10 minute walk to town or the ground.very easy to get to. Good for food and beer also and a pint is £2.70 i think and food cheap but large portions. Ignore the sign about being for golfers only as this is a very old sign and dog walkers and other sports people using nearby pitches never have a problem. My son in law is a traffic warden and they dont patrol there

07-07-2019, 10:37 AM
Most of the street parking is disc zone between 1 and 2 hours. You can park at Stoneyholme Golf Course which is near the river and 10 minute walk to town or the ground.very easy to get to. Good for food and beer also and a pint is £2.70 i think and food cheap but large portions. Ignore the sign about being for golfers only as this is a very old sign and dog walkers and other sports people using nearby pitches never have a problem. My son in law is a traffic warden and they dont patrol thereThat's very helpful, thanks.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

h18eeynick
07-07-2019, 12:16 PM
That's very helpful, thanks.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

No probs. Just remembered that the road down to the car park at Stoneyholm , St Aidens Road is a free non disc parking area and usually a few spaces available . Quick access also on to Warwick Road which takes you straight out to the motorway

h18eeynick
07-07-2019, 01:30 PM
Still not sure if pay at the gate will be an option for the Hibs end. Might have to go in the home end . One of my neighbours works for Carlise United and she doesnt know. Not really a problem for a friendly ! Just good to have a 10 minute walk rather than a 2 hour each way drive to see the Hibees !

Here’s Lucy!
07-07-2019, 01:55 PM
Can you possibly be the bell end you come across as? If so well done.

I’m not.

It was a wee ‘tongue in cheek’ comment, hence the appropriate smiley.

No offence was intended and, if any was caused, I apologise.

07-07-2019, 01:58 PM
I’m not.

It was a wee ‘tongue in cheek’ comment, hence the appropriate smiley.

No offence was intended and, if any was caused, I apologise.

Nae bother. 👍 Bevvy might've made me a tad tetchy!

Here’s Lucy!
07-07-2019, 02:03 PM
Nae bother. 👍 Bevvy might've made me a tad tetchy!

Ta. :aok:

I’d had a couple of refreshers myself, so that, plus the fact that sarcasm etc. doesn’t always work on the inter web, did make my post look a bit bad.

Note to self: Don’t post when half canned! :greengrin

h18eeynick
07-07-2019, 02:47 PM
Good to see people make up and apologise on this site ! Far too much bitching and the odd inappropiate comment. Its a thumbs up from me for your humble responses

07-07-2019, 02:55 PM
I can recommend a good hotel in Carlisle if Hutchy and Lucy need a room like. And I’m not from there or anything.

07-07-2019, 02:56 PM
I can recommend a good hotel in Carlisle if Hutchy and Lucy need a room like. And I’m not from there or anything.

If there's room for my old man & uncle 😳

07-07-2019, 03:06 PM

There are other websites for this sort of thing :greengrin

Here’s Lucy!
07-07-2019, 03:13 PM
Good to see people make up and apologise on this site ! Far too much bitching and the odd inappropiate comment. Its a thumbs up from me for your humble responses

Humble pie is sometimes quite a tasty dish. :aok:

I’ll take a PM. :greengrin

Too far. :wink:

There are other websites for this sort of thing :greengrin

And most inappropriate they are too. :wink:

07-07-2019, 03:14 PM
I worked in Carlisle many years ago when the still had the State Management Pubs. We often went to one called the Citadel(?).

The pubs in Carlisle were nationalised during the First World War because of the large munitions factory there. Somehow they state in state ownership right through to the 1970s. They were sold off to Greenall Whitley and went right down the pan.

07-07-2019, 03:19 PM
I worked in Carlisle many years ago when the still had the State Management Pubs. We often went to one called the Citadel(?).

The pubs in Carlisle were nationalised during the First World War because of the large munitions factory there. Somehow they state in state ownership right through to the 1970s. They were sold off to Greenall Whitley and went right down the pan.

A couple of them display the evidence of the era. Sportsman’s bar is one of them and the lovely old Howard Arms is worth a visit if it’s still going.

h18eeynick
07-07-2019, 03:26 PM
Hey jg107 i take it you are of senior years ? Not sure which pub that would be but the Citadel buildings are basically the old wall protecting the city near the Griffen at the top of Botchergate. There is also a small but very old pub across the way called Bar Solo with old ceilings and only 2 single toilets due to planning restrictions. Very intimate !

h18eeynick
07-07-2019, 03:37 PM
A couple of them display the evidence of the era. Sportsman’s bar is one of them and the lovely old Howard Arms is worth a visit if it’s still going.

Yes the Howards is still going but currently undergoing a full renovation. Hopefully keeps the characture . Dog friendly also which is a bonus !

08-07-2019, 02:06 PM
Yes the Howards is still going but currently undergoing a full renovation. Hopefully keeps the characture . Dog friendly also which is a bonus !

Is it closed just now then?

08-07-2019, 02:31 PM
www.newsandstar.co.uk/news/17631644.carlisles-howard-arms-to-be-turned-into-1920s-state-management-pub/

08-07-2019, 02:53 PM
Basically to rain all day tomorrow. There was me looking forward to a sesh in the sun as well.

08-07-2019, 02:57 PM
Basically to rain all day tomorrow. There was me looking forward to a sesh in the sun as well.

Aye, spotted that too, tad annoying.

08-07-2019, 03:00 PM
www.newsandstar.co.uk/news/17631644.carlisles-howard-arms-to-be-turned-into-1920s-state-management-pub/

That sounds good.

08-07-2019, 03:03 PM
So.... can we all decide on a pub then? We are on the 1252 train from Waverley would be good to get a wee pub full of fellow hibees!

08-07-2019, 03:06 PM
We'll be in The Caledonian Hotel in time for the racing starting, Spoons/Lloyds/Border Rambler before that.

h18eeynick
08-07-2019, 03:21 PM
Is it closed just now then?

Yep - went past on Thursday last week and joiners ripping the place apart. Probably a few weeks until open i would say

08-07-2019, 03:28 PM
Still no pay at the gate announced for this? My mate has decided to get the train down after work tomorrow but won't make it to the ticket office for a ticket. I don't see why they won't just make it a cash gate with unallocated seating as the stand holds 6k

madhibby
08-07-2019, 03:37 PM
Still no pay at the gate announced for this? My mate has decided to get the train down after work tomorrow but won't make it to the ticket office for a ticket. I don't see why they won't just make it a cash gate with unallocated seating as the stand holds 6k

Carlisle FC web site states pay at gate available for both Carlisle and Hibs fans. Said they have so far sold 500 tickets and Hibs have sold 850 (seen on their twitter page)

08-07-2019, 03:52 PM
Carlisle FC web site states pay at gate available for both Carlisle and Hibs fans. Said they have so far sold 500 tickets and Hibs have sold 850 (seen on their twitter page)

Thanks for that.

08-07-2019, 05:20 PM
So.... can we all decide on a pub then? We are on the 1252 train from Waverley would be good to get a wee pub full of fellow hibees!

Sounds a good plan.

08-07-2019, 09:02 PM
Most of the street parking is disc zone between 1 and 2 hours. You can park at Stoneyholme Golf Course which is near the river and 10 minute walk to town or the ground.very easy to get to. Good for food and beer also and a pint is £2.70 i think and food cheap but large portions. Ignore the sign about being for golfers only as this is a very old sign and dog walkers and other sports people using nearby pitches never have a problem. My son in law is a traffic warden and they dont patrol there

What is this disc zone malarkey?

08-07-2019, 11:59 PM
Just realised Celtic & Rangers games are both on telly tomorrow t-time, should spice things up a bit! ☺

KdyHby
09-07-2019, 05:00 AM
Strangely, this match has generated interest in Leeds: https://www.waccoe.com/topic/303251-leedshibernianleithbenidorm/?tab=comments#comment-10804840

09-07-2019, 05:26 AM

With walk ups it should see us have around 1000 fans there. Brilliant travelling as always by the Hibees!

09-07-2019, 06:42 AM
Didn't realise Steven Pressley was Carlisle's manager. Got to feel for their fans

h18eeynick
09-07-2019, 07:48 AM
What is this disc zone malarkey?

You have to display a cardboard clock available from shops etc on your dashboard showing time of arrival. Different streets have different allowed times , shorter the closer to the city centre. You cannot return to the same zone within an hour. Very regular patrols by wardens so you will get caught. Operates until 8 pm generally although the wardens usually disappear after about 4.30 pm

09-07-2019, 07:52 AM
Safe trip down everyone!

My journey from Fort William has begun already!!!

Buzzing for this! Moan the Hibees!!!

09-07-2019, 08:23 AM
We're in Dickens on Dalry Road. 🍺

h18eeynick
09-07-2019, 08:29 AM
Overcast in Carlisle and expect rain. It has been wet overnight. Warmth ok but will probably be quite cool by match time. Look forward to seeing lots of green and white around the city.

09-07-2019, 08:38 AM
Pouring down in West Yorkshire and looking at the forecast it's following us up there.

09-07-2019, 09:28 AM
We're in Dickens on Dalry Road. 🍺

Another tableful of Hibbies in coach D on the TPE train, here we go!

09-07-2019, 10:32 AM
Another tableful of Hibbies in coach D on the TPE train, here we go!

3 of us on the 12.52 train. GGTTH

09-07-2019, 10:56 AM
Weather a bit manky in Belinda, it's fine in The William Rufus though.

09-07-2019, 11:10 AM
Not got ma ticket to hand ... are we in the East Stand?

09-07-2019, 11:11 AM
Not got ma ticket to hand ... are we in the East Stand?

How you getting up? Are you back down tonight?

09-07-2019, 11:12 AM
Weather worrying reminds me of Asteras. Good few on the Glasgow train just now as well.

09-07-2019, 11:14 AM
How you getting up? Are you back down tonight?

Driving there and back - unless weather puts me off! You going?

09-07-2019, 11:15 AM
You have to display a cardboard clock available from shops etc on your dashboard showing time of arrival. Different streets have different allowed times , shorter the closer to the city centre. You cannot return to the same zone within an hour. Very regular patrols by wardens so you will get caught. Operates until 8 pm generally although the wardens usually disappear after about 4.30 pm

Thanks for that - never heard of such a thing!

09-07-2019, 11:15 AM
To answer an earlier question...

https://www.footballgroundguide.com/leagues/england/league-two/brunton-park-carlisle-united.html#apubs-for-away-fans

09-07-2019, 12:44 PM
Border Rambler now.

My old man
09-07-2019, 01:21 PM

Im not going sorry :na na:

h18eeynick
09-07-2019, 01:59 PM
Thanks for that - never heard of such a thing!

Quite common down in these parts of Cumbria and the Borders. Residents are exempt but have to annually obtain a permit or get a ticket also on expiry. System works well and allows visitors a cheap shortish visit

09-07-2019, 02:02 PM
Yep - went past on Thursday last week and joiners ripping the place apart. Probably a few weeks until open i would say

Just passed it. Shame it’s shut but glad it’s staying established.

h18eeynick
09-07-2019, 02:05 PM
Just passed it. Shame it’s shut but glad it’s staying established.

Agree - true spit and sawdust type establishment and was worried it was going to become a trendy wine bar type of place .

09-07-2019, 02:22 PM
Where's busy?

09-07-2019, 02:50 PM
What's the weather like down there, pi55ing down like it is here?

09-07-2019, 02:51 PM
What's the weather like down there, pi55ing down like it is here?

It’s not raining just now and sky looks a lot clearer than it did on the way down.

09-07-2019, 02:53 PM
It’s not raining just now and sky looks a lot clearer than it did on the way down.

Good I'm in the West and it's been like a monsoon for last hour or so.

h18eeynick
09-07-2019, 02:59 PM
Where's busy?

Just back from a walk up town and only noise is at The Griffin. Very quiet so far

KdyHby
09-07-2019, 03:44 PM
Just back from a walk up town and only noise is at The Griffin. Very quiet so far

100+ in the Griffin, quietened down a bit just now

Hibernian32
09-07-2019, 04:43 PM
About 45mins away where the atmosphere at

EI255
10-07-2019, 06:20 AM
I live in Carlisle and you are spot on. Caledonian also at top of Botchergate but no sports clothing allowed but cheap. Lots of choice on the Botchergate and only 10 to 15 minute walk to the ground. Arriving at lunchtime will miss any police escort as they are fond of these for visiting fans from the train station !Not even an Adidas t shirt? That's harsh!

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

10-07-2019, 07:51 AM
Didn't make it - got trapped at work!

Note to self - book the day aff next time! :rolleyes:

28-10-2020, 05:15 PM
Just stumbled across this thread again, remember the young BSC crew getting a wee fright as they marched up Botchergate, fun times! 😉

28-10-2020, 05:17 PM
Going to break the rules and head down there on Saturday.

28-10-2020, 05:30 PM

Are the boozers still open as their numbers were rocketing last week. I couldn’t think of anything much worse to watch a derby - unless you’re going with a crowd. Bit irresponsible breaking the rules too imo. Stupid behaviour.

28-10-2020, 05:39 PM
Are the boozers still open as their numbers were rocketing last week. I couldn’t think of anything much worse to watch a derby - unless you’re going with a crowd. Bit irresponsible breaking the rules too imo. Stupid behaviour.

Only 3 of us (2 households), Carlisle in England tier 1, we'll not be jumping on top of locals. Trickier to say whether locals will reciprocate or not.

28-10-2020, 05:47 PM
Probably a pointless trip anyway - most will be showing the Liverpool vs West Ham game since it's on Sky Sports, while the Hibs game is only on BBC Scotland or Premier Sports.

28-10-2020, 05:48 PM
Only 3 of us (2 households), Carlisle in England tier 1, we'll not be jumping on top of locals. Trickier to say whether locals will reciprocate or not.

I don't think that travelling to England to watch the match is very clever in the current circumstances.
You could be taking covid across the border....or bringing it back

28-10-2020, 06:02 PM

Advertising it makes it dafter still.

Lendo
28-10-2020, 06:19 PM
Makes me wonder why I even bother following the rules at all....

28-10-2020, 06:40 PM
I don't think that travelling to England to watch the match is very clever in the current circumstances.
You could be taking covid across the border....or bringing it back

That happened to a friend of mine who took her child to Blackpool for half term and came back with covid 19.

A football game isn't worth the risk.

28-10-2020, 06:57 PM
Look at me. Look at me.

MartinfaePorty
28-10-2020, 07:28 PM
I've got a Jambo mate going down in a group to watch the rugby and then football. Says boy in the pub they've booked into was delighted with the way it went for the Old Firm game.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

28-10-2020, 07:37 PM
I've got a Jambo mate going down in a group to watch the rugby and then football. Says boy in the pub they've booked into was delighted with the way it went for the Old Firm game.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

Must be a Rangers fan.

28-10-2020, 07:58 PM
Remember when the rangers fans were planning this and got slaughtered.

28-10-2020, 08:02 PM

28-10-2020, 08:09 PM
Just curious, is it against the rules? Would it be any different than going to Fife for a night in a hotel and going to a boozer over there? Is that against the rules? Genuinely not a clue and I’m lost with all the regulations and guidance. If it’s not against the rules then I don’t see any issue. I seen a few weeks back that the old firm fans were being threatened with fines, but under what regulations could they be hit with fines? I didn’t think there was any travel bans.

28-10-2020, 08:11 PM
Just curious, is it against the rules? Would it be any different than going to Fife for a night in a hotel and going to a boozer over there? Is that against the rules? Genuinely not a clue and I’m lost with all the regulations and guidance. If it’s not against the rules then I don’t see any issue. I seen a few weeks back that the old firm fans were being threatened with fines, but under what regulations could they be hit with fines? I didn’t think there was any travel bans.

Not breaking any rules however the advice is for central belt folk not to travel out of their local area unless essential. No different to going to Dunfermline for lunch.

28-10-2020, 08:13 PM

Yeah, poor chat.

eezyrider
28-10-2020, 08:16 PM

The rule is currently not to leave your Health Board area. It's only a rule, not a law. They expect people to act responsibly. If they don't they will make it a law.

My advice is to stay at home.

EZ

28-10-2020, 08:28 PM
The rule is currently not to leave your Health Board area. It's only a rule, not a law. They expect people to act responsibly. If they don't they will make it a law.

My advice is to stay at home.

EZ

But if you’ve already booked a holiday then they are happy for you to go? Sure that was what they said about half term last week. So they’re happy for you to travel beyond the borders of health boards as long as it was already booked, nice of the virus not to impact those in that band.

If keeping socially distanced, wearing a mask, and not using public transport are all things that stop the spread of the virus, then anyone travelling by car, wearing a mask, and taking all necessary precautions in regards to distance and hygiene then there isn’t any risk of bringing a virus back over the border.

There also isn’t any guidance for those that don’t live in the central belt, wanting to travel to other counties outwith the central belt, or across the border.

28-10-2020, 08:32 PM
But if you’ve already booked a holiday then they are happy for you to go? Sure that was what they said about half term last week. So they’re happy for you to travel beyond the borders of health boards as long as it was already booked, nice of the virus not to impact those in that band.

If keeping socially distanced, wearing a mask, and not using public transport are all things that stop the spread of the virus, then anyone travelling by car, wearing a mask, and taking all necessary precautions in regards to distance and hygiene then there isn’t any risk of bringing a virus back over the border.

You’re not really taking all necessary precautions if you are making a trip that really isn’t required.

28-10-2020, 08:36 PM
You’re not really taking all necessary precautions if you are making a trip that really isn’t required.

Regardless of how far you travel, the virus can’t spread if you wear a mask, travel alone, and sit more than 2m away from anyone else. Unless what we’ve been told is a pack of lies. We’re told if we follow those rules then it can’t spread. Or does the virus come out to play as soon as you travel over a border.

28-10-2020, 08:40 PM
Regardless of how far you travel, the virus can’t spread if you wear a mask, travel alone, and sit more than 2m away from anyone else. Unless what we’ve been told is a pack of lies. We’re told if we follow those rules then it can’t spread. Or does the virus come out to play as soon as you travel over a border.

Those are things that can help limit the spread.

We’ve also been told not to travel if it isn’t completely necessary.

It’s up to everyone how they behave but in the middle of a pandemic that’s getting a bit worse again I don’t think it’s too much to ask to be sensible for a while about things.

28-10-2020, 08:45 PM
Those are things that can help limit the spread.

We’ve also been told not to travel if it isn’t completely necessary.

It’s up to everyone how they behave but in the middle of a pandemic that’s getting a bit worse again I don’t think it’s too much to ask to be sensible for a while about things.

We’ve been told not to travel in and out of the highest restricted areas unless necessary, and likewise when it comes to highly restricted areas in other countries, however the guidance doesn’t make reference to not travelling to areas of low prevalence.

I’m certainly not travelling, I couldn’t be arsed just for a few pints, not to mention I’m bad enough watching us against Hamilton in the company of others, let alone hearts. However, I’m not about to start calling folk every name under the sun, and listen to them being threatened with fines etc for doing nothing wrong and following the guidance they have been given. We’ve been cooked up for basically 7 months now, if someone wants to travel for a day and have a few drinks then fair enough, that’s up to them.

28-10-2020, 08:54 PM
We’ve been told not to travel in and out of the highest restricted areas unless necessary, and likewise when it comes to highly restricted areas in other countries, however the guidance doesn’t make reference to not travelling to areas of low prevalence.

I’m certainly not travelling, I couldn’t be arsed just for a few pints, not to mention I’m bad enough watching us against Hamilton in the company of others, let alone hearts. However, I’m not about to start calling folk every name under the sun, and listen to them being threatened with fines etc for doing nothing wrong and following the guidance they have been given. We’ve been cooked up for basically 7 months now, if someone wants to travel for a day and have a few drinks then fair enough, that’s up to them.
If they’re travelling un-necessarily they’re not following the guidance.

28-10-2020, 08:56 PM
If they’re travelling un-necessarily they’re not following the guidance.

We are not imposing mandatory travel restrictions at this stage however:

you should minimise public transport use as much as possible, however it may be necessary for travel to education, undertaking caring responsibilities and work, where it cannot be done from home
people living in the five health board areas are advised not to travel outside the health board area they live in, unless they need to
people in other parts of Scotland should not travel to these areas unless they need to
you should access goods, services and activities in your local area as much as possible
please walk, drive and cycle when you can to save space on public transport for those who need it
please work from home if you can

Check local guidance before travelling to others parts of the UK, and if possible avoid travelling to areas with restrictions in place. See local advice and measures.

Really??

28-10-2020, 08:59 PM

I think you’re a wee bit out of touch.I ‘ve never heard anyone say “follow these rules and it can’t spread”.Touching the wrong door handle is one of the easiest ways to pick it up,never mind sitting at a table not properly cleaned or drinking out of a dirty glass.

28-10-2020, 09:01 PM
We are not imposing mandatory travel restrictions at this stage however:

you should minimise public transport use as much as possible, however it may be necessary for travel to education, undertaking caring responsibilities and work, where it cannot be done from home
people living in the five health board areas are advised not to travel outside the health board area they live in, unless they need to
people in other parts of Scotland should not travel to these areas unless they need to
you should access goods, services and activities in your local area as much as possible
please walk, drive and cycle when you can to save space on public transport for those who need it
please work from home if you can

Check local guidance before travelling to others parts of the UK, and if possible avoid travelling to areas with restrictions in place. See local advice and measures.

Really??

Yes, that says don’t travel unless you need to.

28-10-2020, 09:02 PM
I think you’re a wee bit out of touch.I ‘ve never heard anyone say “follow these rules and it can’t spread”.Touching the wrong door handle is one of the easiest ways to pick it up,never mind sitting at a table not properly cleaned or drinking out of a dirty glass.

Hand sanitiser kills the germs after touching surfaces, and any pub that doesn’t clean tables or glasses shouldn’t be open.

28-10-2020, 09:03 PM
Yes, that says don’t travel unless you need to.

Only from the 5 affected health boards in the central belt.

28-10-2020, 09:05 PM
Y
Hand sanitiser kills the germs after touching surfaces, and any pub that doesn’t clean tables or glasses shouldn’t be open.

It’s doing it properly that matters isn’t it?

28-10-2020, 09:07 PM
Y

It’s doing it properly that matters isn’t it?

cleaning glasses and tables? It’s not a military operation, fairly simple to wash dishes and clean tables properly.

28-10-2020, 09:09 PM
T
cleaning glasses and tables? It’s not a military operation, fairly simple to wash dishes and clean tables properly.

Wonder why they’re shutting pubs if it’s all so simple?

28-10-2020, 09:12 PM
T

Wonder why they’re shutting pubs if it’s all so simple?

Easy target. Quick look at figures shows that transmissions in pubs and restaurants are far lower than a lot of other areas that have avoided the cull. If it’s so dangerous why are they still open outwith the central belt? Is it just the central belts landlords that have a disregard for social distancing, for cleaning glasses or tables?

Going by your argument, the pubs are still open in the north of England, so does that mean they are safe to visit?

Anyway, that’s completely off topic, facts are there are no rules or official guidance regarding travel outwith the central belt, ie from the borders to England etc.

28-10-2020, 09:15 PM
Easy target. Quick look at figures shows that transmissions in pubs and restaurants are far lower than a lot of other areas that have avoided the cull. If it’s so dangerous why are they still open outwith the central belt? Is it just the central belts landlords that have a disregard for social distancing, for cleaning glasses or tables?

Going by your argument, the pubs are still open in the north of England, so does that mean they are safe to visit?

It is a pretty fluid situation and it is being managed through trying to open up what can be opened up but having to react in areas where it is known that cases are rising.

If we are being asked at times not to travel to or from certain areas then it shouldn’t be too much to ask. Certainly when we’re talking about travelling somewhere to watch a game that can be watched here.

28-10-2020, 09:19 PM
No idea whether a pub is safe or not although I would imagine it is safer not to go into one. I was just pointing out to you that it was incorrect to say that if you take the precautions you listed that the virus couldn’t spread.

GreenArmy1875
28-10-2020, 09:36 PM
The way I see it is the more people follow the guidance the better chance we have of getting fans back into stadiums, people back in pubs and folk seeing families at Christmas.

28-10-2020, 09:50 PM

Anyone going to a busy pub in Carlisle, good luck keeping 2m away from everyone else and good luck drinking your pints while wearing your mask.

29-10-2020, 06:12 AM

Anyway, that’s completely off topic, facts are there are no rules or official guidance regarding travel outwith the central belt, ie from the borders to England etc.

Massive swathes of North of England with no pubs open at all. Personally don't think it is right going to a lower prevalence area from a higher one.

29-10-2020, 06:23 AM
CORONAVIRUS
Covid in Scotland: police to act if punters flee for pubs in lower tier
Mark McLaughlin
Thursday October 29 2020, 12.01am, The Times
Travel will be permitted between areas under the same level of restriction but not between high and low tiers

People who leave coronavirus hotspots to drink in more lightly regulated areas will face police action, a Scottish minister has said.

Mike Russell, Scotland’s constitutional relations secretary, confirmed that restrictions on travelling between areas under different tiers would be enforced.

Nicola Sturgeon, the first minister, is expected to announce today which areas will face the toughest rules under her new five-tier system.

Lanarkshire residents have been told to prepare for a return to lockdown under Level 4, the highest tier, with household mixing banned and all but essential businesses closed. Schools are expected to remain open.

The Highlands and Islands are expected to come under lighter restrictions, potentially as low as Level 1, with alcohol served freely until 10.30pm.

Mr Russell told the Scottish parliament’s Covid-19 committee that anyone considering a trip from Lanarkshire to the Highlands was likely to face police action.

He said: “You should not move about the country, particularly from a higher to a lower area, and you should not put yourself in the way of increased transmission.

“We’re not in a position where the police should be stopping people from crossing the street or doing things of that nature but they should be, and are, active in saying to people, ‘This is not the sensible thing to do, this is the wrong thing to do.’”

“Of course if people go further than that, and we’ve seen today reporting of a very small number of people being involved in gatherings of one sort or another, then action will be taken.

“I think broadly people understand this and . . . are now making sure that they aren’t undertaking excessive movement. We’re going to continue to emphasise that very strongly.

“Of course we can put it in regulation, and indeed the indication is on the levels that we have, that those are underpinned by regulation, but we have to continue to seek to take this forward as much by consent as possible.”

Travel will be permitted between areas under the same level of restriction.

Jason Leitch, Scotland’s clinical director, said that this would be welcome news for amateur football clubs which can resume away matches with teams under the same tier.

However, Mr Russell warned that remote communities may have to shift up a level, even when transmission is low, if hospital beds and ventilators start running out in the nearest town or city hospital.

Mr Russell said: “South Lanarkshire has a huge rural hinterland but the services that support the essential services, particularly in terms of intensive care unit and ventilators, are the same as the rest of Lanarkshire so taking a risk with [a lower level in rural Lanarkshire] would be a risk that would affect those central services.”

There was more encouraging news for Inverclyde, which saw the highest rate of deaths per head of population in the first wave but is faring better now as cases rise across the country.

Professor Leitch said Inverclyde may initially face Level 3 restrictions, similar to the restrictions at present, with pubs closed but businesses open. It could, however, “move down over time faster than some of the other local authorities” in the central belt, he said.

He said that a higher proportion of Inverclyde residents may have gained immunity during the first wave, making them less susceptible to the virus now.

29-10-2020, 06:44 AM
Hope they get arrested.

Brunswickbill
29-10-2020, 07:00 AM

Here are the rules on travel taken from the Scottish Government web site
Travel

“We want you to be safe. Please think about whether you need to travel, especially if you live in, or would be travelling to or through, the Central Belt. If you need to travel, follow FACTS and stay safe.

We are not imposing mandatory travel restrictions at this stage however you should:

avoid public transport unless it is absolutely necessary – for example for going to school or to work, if home working is not an option
people living in the five health board areas are advised not to travel outside the health board area they live in, unless they need to;
people in other parts of Scotland should not travel to these areas unless they need to.”

When I heard that Rangers fans planned to travel to England to watch the the Old Firm game I thought that it was typical of these dicks. I expect better of Hibs fans. Don’t be a dick!

29-10-2020, 08:28 AM
I suspect there will be a lot of rule breaking going on around Edinburgh on Saturday with folk going round to a mate’s house to watch with pals.

29-10-2020, 08:33 AM
All this discussion from one (mischief making) guy saying he's going to Carlisle to watch the game.

h18eeynick
29-10-2020, 08:53 AM
All this discussion from one (mischief making) guy saying he's going to Carlisle to watch the game.

I live in Carlisle and the Police were delighted with recent Old Firm game with only about 100 people coming down . I saw the train arrive and only about 10 supporters on it and rest came by coach or car. I was speaking to the Police who were out in numbers and had riot helmets with them. A few pubs , including the Irish bar at bottom of the Botchergate ( Gallaghers I think it is called ) decided not to open .

29-10-2020, 04:40 PM

29-10-2020, 05:36 PM

Why are you confused? Hutchy has made a clear statement about what he is doing, it’s quite clear. I am confused that you are confused 😉😁

29-10-2020, 05:42 PM

It was a bevvy induced post, nae point deleting it now after its been quoted a few times.

30-10-2020, 06:46 PM
Carlisle promoted to tier 3 from midnight.

h18eeynick
30-10-2020, 06:49 PM
Carlisle is moving to Tier 2 at midnight tonight due to substantial increase to Covid cases . Best stay away and watch from comfort of your house if you were planning on an away day !

30-10-2020, 07:08 PM
Carlisle is moving to Tier 2 at midnight tonight due to substantial increase to Covid cases . Best stay away and watch from comfort of your house if you were planning on an away day !

It said tier 3 on the BBC News.

Edit - says tier 2 on the websites so apologies for any confusion.

30-10-2020, 08:10 PM
It was a bevvy induced post, nae point deleting it now after its been quoted a few times.
:faf: I’ve definitely been there before.