View Full Version : KickBack is in meltdown!

Pages : 1 [2]

09-07-2019, 09:52 AM
Looks like someone forgot to renew the domain name🙄🙄🙄

Highly organised and always on top of things. That how they spotted mad Vlad.

09-07-2019, 09:56 AM
Looks like someone forgot to renew the domain name������

Nope, expires in September, DNS is ok and can ping the servers.

software maybe...

ps you can tell I'm bored...

09-07-2019, 10:15 AM
Link not working, site is down. Who's beating them this early in the morning? :rotflmao:

Shut down. Now only need Ron to do the same with Follow Follow and Rangers Media and the world will be a better place

09-07-2019, 10:44 AM
Nope, expires in September, DNS is ok and can ping the servers.

software maybe...

ps you can tell I'm bored...

...or they haven't paid their service provider?

10-07-2019, 10:22 PM
If the banks had been regulated properly and RBS/BOS had not been allowed to go into investment banking and financial products not completely deregulated and the city did not police themselves rather than an independent body, then no it would not have happened. Banks and bankers are greedy. You have to curb what they do or they will run amok. Basically all the lessons and organisation that came out of the 1929 crash and 30s depression were undone in the 80s/90s/turn of the millennium.

RBS, HBOS, Dunfermline, Britannia, Co-op Bank were sunk by poor quality lending [to people like Philip Green]. Northern Rock relied on short term funding rather than customer deposits and basically ran out of money. Lloyd's was nearly sunk by saving HBOS. Poor quality management was, and always will be, a key part of the problems any organisation faces.

Chefki Kuqi
10-07-2019, 10:59 PM
I’m amazed at their amazement over our obsession on their obsession about us.
I think.

It’s all a good laugh, eh?!

11-07-2019, 07:29 AM
RBS, HBOS, Dunfermline, Britannia, Co-op Bank were sunk by poor quality lending [to people like Philip Green]. Northern Rock relied on short term funding rather than customer deposits and basically ran out of money. Lloyd's was nearly sunk by saving HBOS. Poor quality management was, and always will be, a key part of the problems any organisation faces.

RBS and HBOS where no longer retail banks but part investment bank/venture capitalists/sub prime lenders. They could only do this because of the deregulation of financial institutions and products plus the lack of a strong independent regulatory body. This was New Labou's doing. Northern Rock as well was allowed to lend to sub-prime borrowers and use the short term money markets to fund their long term mortgages. They were able to repackage these loans into offshore special vehicles and sell them as low risk money market instruments. The strategy blew up when short term lending rates spiked as the financial crisis broke. They were only able to do this because of the framework created by New Labour. The final pump of air into the credit bubble was the cutting of interest rates at the turn of the millennium to get Labour reelected. The overwhelming real money spent to bail out institutions was spent on these 3 institutions (£120 billion).

11-07-2019, 08:22 AM
RBS and HBOS where no longer retail banks but part investment bank/venture capitalists/sub prime lenders. They could only do this because of the deregulation of financial institutions and products plus the lack of a strong independent regulatory body. This was New Labou's doing. Northern Rock as well was allowed to lend to sub-prime borrowers and use the short term money markets to fund their long term mortgages. They were able to repackage these loans into offshore special vehicles and sell them as low risk money market instruments. The strategy blew up when short term lending rates spiked as the financial crisis broke. They were only able to do this because of the framework created by New Labour. The final pump of air into the credit bubble was the cutting of interest rates at the turn of the millennium to get Labour reelected. The overwhelming real money spent to bail out institutions was spent on these 3 institutions (£120 billion).

My recollection was the American subprime crash and interest rate fixing by the various big boys over there. This crash made its way over because so many of the banks here, invested in the American model which was ultimately flawed. Fred the shred Goodwin on being removed said, "what do I know about banking?" I'd have followed Iceland's model at this point by jailing them all for gross misconduct and riding a gravy train that was not there but they still took out huge bonuses knowing that the ordinary tax payer would foot the bill.

11-07-2019, 08:28 AM
The thread about Romanov is ****ing hilarious 😂 do they really think like that or is it to wind us up? Can't think of any other teams support who have so many screws loose 😂😂😂

11-07-2019, 08:35 AM
The thread about Romanov is ****ing hilarious 😂 do they really think like that or is it to wind us up? Can't think of any other teams support who have so many screws loose 😂😂😂

Guy bled them dry, made them go bust and almost killed them completely but some still idolise him. Strange lot.

11-07-2019, 08:46 AM
Guy bled them dry, made them go bust and almost killed them completely but some still idolise him. Strange lot.

Not read that thread but they won two Scottish Cups under him, pumping us in one of them. For that they went into admin, came out of that smelling of roses and suffered relegation. We did things the right way, still end up being relegated and spent two seasons more than them in the second tier of Scottish football.

Not for a minute saying I’d have wanted us to go down the same route, but long term they are in a decent state financially as if none of it ever happened.

11-07-2019, 09:17 AM
My recollection was the American subprime crash and interest rate fixing by the various big boys over there. This crash made its way over because so many of the banks here, invested in the American model which was ultimately flawed. Fred the shred Goodwin on being removed said, "what do I know about banking?" I'd have followed Iceland's model at this point by jailing them all for gross misconduct and riding a gravy train that was not there but they still took out huge bonuses knowing that the ordinary tax payer would foot the bill.

It was a general credit bubble. Sub-prime was one manifestation of it. In UK we had a re-mortgage market with those being repackaged into bonds. HBOS and Northern Rock speculating on short-term interest rates against long term. RBS as well as poorly regulated lending had become an investment bank trading all types of securities globally. HBOS was involved in property and company take over speculation. Barclays suffered big securities trading and loan losses. Sub prime was a small element, the icing on a credit mountain.

11-07-2019, 10:00 AM
It was a general credit bubble. Sub-prime was one manifestation of it. In UK we had a re-mortgage market with those being repackaged into bonds. HBOS and Northern Rock speculating on short-term interest rates against long term. RBS as well as poorly regulated lending had become an investment bank trading all types of securities globally. HBOS was involved in property and company take over speculation. Barclays suffered big securities trading and loan losses. Sub prime was a small element, the icing on a credit mountain.

The writing was on the wall for HBOS when the BOS/Halifax "merger"(in fact a nil premium takeover)paperwork contained more about the treatment of executive bonus treatments than anything else.RBOS compounded the original error in appointing Matthewson by replacing him with Goodwin,a complete meglomaniac and surrounding him with nodding dogs.As a result a 300 year bank was destroyed in 300 weeks by Halifax nonentities and Goodwin thought he could do no wrong.In a way it didn't matter what external forces did because both banks were being run by people who didn't know that banking is a long term business and didn't have a scooby.

Have we signed anybody yet,I've forgotten what thread I'm on :greengrin

11-07-2019, 10:12 AM
How's kickback getting on for the non-bankers amongst us? 😊

11-07-2019, 10:17 AM

They cannot be serious?

hibbydad
11-07-2019, 10:31 AM
You are totally right Sing Hibs I worked in the markets and remember it well. LLoyds were pressurised into taking over HBOS by one G Brown and it totally broke Lloyds

11-07-2019, 10:37 AM
Not read that thread but they won two Scottish Cups under him, pumping us in one of them. For that they went into admin, came out of that smelling of roses and suffered relegation. We did things the right way, still end up being relegated and spent two seasons more than them in the second tier of Scottish football.

Not for a minute saying I’d have wanted us to go down the same route, but long term they are in a decent state financially as if none of it ever happened.Hear what you're saying but I really wouldn't want to see Hibs suffering the utter humiliation of publishing their very own creditors list with all those names on it, the Lady Haig Poppy Fund, Macraes Battalion Trust, Scottish Ambulance service,........

It's a bit of a stigma and forever in their history. There's better ways to win a cup.[emoji16]

Hibs4185
11-07-2019, 10:53 AM

They’ve started naming players ‘Sir’ as well. I Noticed the other day there was Sir Paul Hartley and Sir Rudolf Skacel, and they have the cheek to say we are obsessed with them! Absolute clowns

11-07-2019, 10:55 AM
Hear what you're saying but I really wouldn't want to see Hibs suffering the utter humiliation of publishing their very own creditors list with all those names on it, the Lady Haig Poppy Fund, Macraes Battalion Trust, Scottish Ambulance service,........

It's a bit of a stigma and forever in their history. There's better ways to win a cup.[emoji16]

Absolutely, but a bit like the Huns where no fans other than their own have any respect for them they have no shame.

11-07-2019, 11:20 AM
Absolutely, but a bit like the Huns where no fans other than their own have any respect for them they have no shame.[emoji106]

Ah, Sevco, the team formerly known as Glasgow rangers who are the trophyless reincarnation of the now defunct Glasgow rangers.

Try and get that on a badge. Nae room for all those meaningless stars.

11-07-2019, 11:23 AM
Hear what you're saying but I really wouldn't want to see Hibs suffering the utter humiliation of publishing their very own creditors list with all those names on it, the Lady Haig Poppy Fund, Macraes Battalion Trust, Scottish Ambulance service,........

Dont forget the face painters. :greengrin

11-07-2019, 11:27 AM
Dont forget the face painters. :greengrinI think the cake bakers were the better of the two rival factions, not sure which one gave Vlad more cash though.

11-07-2019, 11:31 AM
How's kickback getting on for the non-bankers amongst us? 😊

I am making no more banking analysis. How did they react to the clarity around what Ron is puting in? David Low at least came clean, although no reaction from Jim Slaver or Paul Kavo.

11-07-2019, 12:45 PM

Deregulation started in the 80s under Thatcher. The only criticism that can be levelled at New Labour is that they didn't re-regulate it! David Cameron actually criticised Labour for over regulation! As for Northern Rock & HBOS, there were queues outside NR of customers trying to withdraw their savings. If the government hadn't stepped in & guaranteed the safety of savings, then there was a serious danger of a run on the banks & complete financial collapse. As for interest rates they actually rose in 2000 & averaged 5% over the 1st 11 years of the Labour govt. They only plummeted after the financial crisis hit. I'm sorry to continue an unnecessary political debate but I hope your comments on our takeover are more accurate than your comments on the financial crisis.

11-07-2019, 01:14 PM
What's wi' aw the finance guff?

Ah thought this thread wiz fur takin' the P out of Hertz?

11-07-2019, 01:27 PM

I mentioned that earlier, seems to have fallen on deaf ears.

11-07-2019, 01:30 PM

Snap! 😕

11-07-2019, 02:18 PM
[emoji106]

Ah, Sevco, the team formerly known as Glasgow rangers who are the trophyless reincarnation of the now defunct Glasgow rangers.

Try and get that on a badge. Nae room for all those meaningless stars.

Excuse me :rolleyes:

You're talking about the first ever club to win the Petrofac Cup while sporting 5 stars on their shirts (bought for a pound)

Show some respect

11-07-2019, 02:36 PM
Excuse me :rolleyes:

You're talking about the first ever club to win the Petrofac Cup while sporting 5 stars on their shirts (bought for a pound)

Show some respectIf they get to include the petrol sniffer cup then we get to crow about the tennents sixes. I was there, maybe another statue required?

11-07-2019, 02:55 PM
If they get to include the petrol sniffer cup then we get to crow about the tenants sixes. I was there, maybe another statue required?

Don't forget the dryborough cup as well 😉

11-07-2019, 03:25 PM
Don't forget the dryborough cup as well [emoji6]Some good games in that one, ****** beer though[emoji6]

11-07-2019, 07:09 PM
Some good games in that one, ****** beer though[emoji6]

WORST. BEER. EVER!!!

...and I've drunk some s**** beer in my time. 🤮

11-07-2019, 07:19 PM
WORST. BEER. EVER!!!

Was it worse than Tennents Lager?

stuart-farquhar
11-07-2019, 07:32 PM
WORST. BEER. EVER!!!

it was locally brewed though. In fact compared to some beers it was ok. It was about the time of the rise of weak, chemically tasting lagers. Of which few survive, bar Tennents and it's sister Carling of course. Mass produced stuff, so far removed from the classic pilsner style lager as to deserve an award for inventing and selling mediocrity. Another is the nitro disaster that is Guinness. Wonderfully marketed however. I see Coors light trying to make inroads in the UK now. That will up the blandness stakes I tell ya. Happy hopping!

12-07-2019, 11:32 AM
WORST. BEER. EVER!!!

The called king of beers is tasteless p*sh.

12-07-2019, 11:37 AM

Nothing is

12-07-2019, 11:48 AM
Nothing is

I’d rank Fosters even lower.

Truly horrid.

12-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Had a few pints of Amstel in the Black Ivy last night. Cracking pint served in a neat lager glass.

12-07-2019, 12:12 PM
All beer tastes like s***e. Wine for me - does that make me one of the prawn sandwich mob? :greengrin

StevesFamau5
12-07-2019, 12:21 PM

Truly horrid.

I see your Fosters and raise you Carlsberg, truly awful, watered down, mass produced piss water :sick:

12-07-2019, 12:29 PM
Never liked Tartan Special but I did like the red cans of McEwan's Export and bottles of Pale Ale with the green screw top.

12-07-2019, 12:34 PM
Never liked Tartan Special but I did like the red cans of McEwan's Export and bottles of Pale Ale with the green screw top.

I remember being in a pub with one of my mates (a stererotypical dour Fifer) and he asked for a "pint ae spishul". The very polite barman explained that they didn't have special and proposed Calders cream instead. After a scowl filled pause, my mate said "a'right, as long as it tastes as pish as spishul".

13-07-2019, 05:32 AM

Truly horrid.

Heineken is rank, seen as beer for students in Holland, naebdy with taste in beer touches it.

13-07-2019, 08:29 AM
Heineken is rank, seen as beer for students in Holland, naebdy with taste in beer touches it.

San Miguel in the Philippines. Having first of the day sitting in the garden looking at palm trees and beautiful women on the beach.

13-07-2019, 08:37 AM
All beer tastes like s***e. Wine for me - does that make me one of the prawn sandwich mob? :greengrin

Better have a few bottles handy while Hurricane Barry passes

Hibs4185
13-07-2019, 08:49 AM
I just read in the news that HMS Duncan is being sent to the straight of Hormuz, so not only did the Duncan’s single handedly win the First World War for us, they’re now sorting out Iran for us.

13-07-2019, 08:55 AM
Nothing is

I've never tasted anything worse. I need to try some more today...

Oh and Fosters! Yuck!

With the exception of various Wiessbiers, German Bier is generally quite good.

13-07-2019, 08:58 AM
San Miguel in the Philippines. Having first of the day sitting in the garden looking at palm trees and beautiful women on the beach.

👍

13-07-2019, 09:11 AM
Beer / Lager snobs do my nut.

Drink what you like Tennents lager is absolutely fine nothing wrong wi it imho. If you don't like it don't drink it. Again imho Peroni and Moretti taste better out a bottle than on draft yet folk are prepared to pay up to £6 a pint due to a good advertising campaign.

Tell people what you like don't tell them what to drink.

13-07-2019, 09:15 AM
Seriously time to close this thread now surely? Just nonsense now 😕

13-07-2019, 09:16 AM

Drink what you like Tennents lager is absolutely fine nothing wrong wi it imho. If you don't like it don't drink it. Again imho Peroni and Moretti taste better out a bottle than on draft yet folk are prepared to pay up to £6 a pint due to a good advertising campaign.

And breathe. People have different tastes and like different things, get over it.

13-07-2019, 09:18 AM
And breathe. People have different tastes and like different things, get over it.

Ha ha that is exactly my point don't tell others this pish or that is pish just drink what you like and don't be influenced by beer or 🍺 snobs.

13-07-2019, 09:39 AM

I didn't see any posts saying not to drink certain Beers, just that people thought they were guff.

Isn't that just expressing a point of view?

13-07-2019, 09:58 AM
Did someone say £6 a pint? Don't care what's getting poured in to that glass but whoever's paying it has too much money!

13-07-2019, 10:27 AM
As we're heading through to the general area, the memories of Alloa Pale Ale came flooding back.

Not of actually drinking the stuff, just the large advertising hoarding that used to be on the corner between the Main Stand and the Seated Enclosure (formerly the cave).

Scroll to 13:40 in this video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3dnjVnxaLI)

14-07-2019, 09:54 AM

Good shout! 👍

14-07-2019, 10:28 AM

They all taste pish to me ;-)

14-07-2019, 11:19 AM

I hate Heineken. When I go on holiday I like to try the local beers. It’s soul destroying when ye get to a resort or go to a pub and see that *****. It’s everywhere.

14-07-2019, 11:22 AM

Is that even possible?

14-07-2019, 11:25 AM
As we're heading through to the general area, the memories of Alloa Pale Ale came flooding back.

Not of actually drinking the stuff, just the large advertising hoarding that used to be on the corner between the Main Stand and the Seated Enclosure (formerly the cave).

Scroll to 13:40 in this video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3dnjVnxaLI)

Diamond Heavy?

Now that wiz pish!

14-07-2019, 11:41 AM
Diamond Heavy?

Now that wiz pish!

Not as bad as Ushers Dark Heavy

14-07-2019, 12:05 PM
Not as bad as Ushers Dark Heavy

Aye ganting

What about Double Diamond?

14-07-2019, 01:17 PM
Aye ganting

What about Double Diamond?Works wonders[emoji6]

14-07-2019, 01:40 PM
Better have a few bottles handy while Hurricane Barry passes
That's Louisiana mate, we might see the tail end of it on Monday but that's it. No repeat of Harvey here..... :aok:

14-07-2019, 02:58 PM

Was drinking this in Spain for the last 2 weeks and it's a decent brew in a hot sunny climate. Now back in Germany and it somehow doesn't fit into the landscape.

14-07-2019, 03:39 PM
That's Louisiana mate, we might see the tail end of it on Monday but that's it. No repeat of Harvey here..... :aok:

I flying from Fort Myers to Atlanta in 2 hours then from there to LAX. It’s right in our way!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

14-07-2019, 03:59 PM
Is there a thread on Kickback called "DotNet In Meltdown?"

They'd be quite within their rights to be laughing at us right now

14-07-2019, 04:00 PM
I flying from Fort Myers to Atlanta in 2 hours then from there to LAX. It’s right in our way!

Brace yourself for delays - hope you have a good book with you :aok:

14-07-2019, 04:13 PM
Brace yourself for delays - hope you have a good book with you :aok:

No delays, rushing drinks down.

14-07-2019, 04:16 PM
No delays, rushing drinks down.

Traveller of my own ilk :agree:...... Vino Volo is a particular favourite of mine for airport refreshments......

14-07-2019, 04:34 PM
Traveller of my own ilk :agree:...... Vino Volo is a particular favourite of mine for airport refreshments......

Dewars Bar and Grill here. Margaritas too sweet should have drank the Pinot. Boarding now so will be sorted in a minute

14-07-2019, 08:27 PM

Carling 🤮

hhibs
14-07-2019, 08:35 PM
Was drinking this in Spain for the last 2 weeks and it's a decent brew in a hot sunny climate. Now back in Germany and it somehow doesn't fit into the landscape.

That stuff is pish,now the Original from The Philippines ,that is a superb drnk.

hhibs
14-07-2019, 08:39 PM
Carling 🤮

Raise you Kestrel and bid you the UK version of Norseman as true piss water.

14-07-2019, 08:47 PM

My inaugural carry out consisted of Kestrel from Khayaams carry out on the corner of Easter Rd and Albert Street. Hoose party in Albion Rd with a Hertz **** mate, seriously underage drinking, lots of 2tone and punk rock on the stereo and enjoyed every minute of it apart from Scotland going down that Friday night to Northern Ireland in the Home Internationals. Never looked back.

Cataplana
14-07-2019, 09:45 PM
https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=kQHFCytn&id=E53227FF907F1E479178F1A04ABC96D9AA12DEA5&thid=OIP.kQHFCytnvao3nS-Q_IufbgAAAA&mediaurl=https%3a%2f%2f2.bp.blogspot.com%2f-Cfff05kLCGY%2fWg1u5Yp7zWI%2fAAAAAAAAfDc%2f_ri5koey pTQyzNbq0e8d65ezolDmBvlPwCLcBGAs%2fs400%2fviz_0002 .jpg&exph=400&expw=391&q=Viz+8+Ace&simid=608038553419252909&selectedIndex=22&ajaxhist=0 S (https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=kQHFCytn&id=E53227FF907F1E479178F1A04ABC96D9AA12DEA5&thid=OIP.kQHFCytnvao3nS-Q_IufbgAAAA&mediaurl=https%3a%2f%2f2.bp.blogspot.com%2f-Cfff05kLCGY%2fWg1u5Yp7zWI%2fAAAAAAAAfDc%2f_ri5koey pTQyzNbq0e8d65ezolDmBvlPwCLcBGAs%2fs400%2fviz_0002 .jpg&exph=400&expw=391&q=Viz+8+Ace&simid=608038553419252909&selectedIndex=22&ajaxhist=0)adly missed (https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=kQHFCytn&id=E53227FF907F1E479178F1A04ABC96D9AA12DEA5&thid=OIP.kQHFCytnvao3nS-Q_IufbgAAAA&mediaurl=https%3a%2f%2f2.bp.blogspot.com%2f-Cfff05kLCGY%2fWg1u5Yp7zWI%2fAAAAAAAAfDc%2f_ri5koey pTQyzNbq0e8d65ezolDmBvlPwCLcBGAs%2fs400%2fviz_0002 .jpg&exph=400&expw=391&q=Viz+8+Ace&simid=608038553419252909&selectedIndex=22&ajaxhist=0)
https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=kQHFCytn&id=E53227FF907F1E479178F1A04ABC96D9AA12DEA5&thid=OIP.kQHFCytnvao3nS-Q_IufbgAAAA&mediaurl=https%3a%2f%2f2.bp.blogspot.com%2f-Cfff05kLCGY%2fWg1u5Yp7zWI%2fAAAAAAAAfDc%2f_ri5koey pTQyzNbq0e8d65ezolDmBvlPwCLcBGAs%2fs400%2fviz_0002 .jpg&exph=400&expw=391&q=Viz+8+Ace&simid=608038553419252909&selectedIndex=22&ajaxhist=0
https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=kQHFCytn&id=E53227FF907F1E479178F1A04ABC96D9AA12DEA5&thid=OIP.kQHFCytnvao3nS-Q_IufbgAAAA&mediaurl=https%3a%2f%2f2.bp.blogspot.com%2f-Cfff05kLCGY%2fWg1u5Yp7zWI%2fAAAAAAAAfDc%2f_ri5koey pTQyzNbq0e8d65ezolDmBvlPwCLcBGAs%2fs400%2fviz_0002 .jpg&exph=400&expw=391&q=Viz+8+Ace&simid=608038553419252909&selectedIndex=22&ajaxhist=0Four cans for 60p - Edit: That's £1.20 for 8 of course.

14-07-2019, 10:57 PM
That stuff is pish

That's why it's a decent brew for hot sunny climates.

15-07-2019, 08:39 AM

Made for the hot weather.

15-07-2019, 01:35 PM
Anyone remember Breaker Malt Liquer ? That 'beer' had a health kick to it.

15-07-2019, 05:29 PM
Anyone remember Breaker Malt Liquer ? That 'beer' had a health kick to it.Aye, used to get it on my beer chit, certainly had a kick to it but not a healthy one 😆

15-07-2019, 05:38 PM

:sick::sick:

I agree, both disgusting ...

15-07-2019, 06:04 PM
Whatever happened to beer mats? When did they disappear?

15-07-2019, 06:08 PM
Whatever happened to beer mats? When did they disappear?Vanished due to environmental issues, bugs, germs etc, alongside bar towels, used to come in handy for rubbing down the bowls, *******s 🤬

15-07-2019, 06:08 PM

Still got them down here in deepest Surrey...

I used to collect bar towels, great for on the golf bag..

15-07-2019, 09:52 PM

Still plenty in use in numerous establishments.

15-07-2019, 10:12 PM
Still plenty in use in numerous establishments.

:agree: currently resting my beer on one in the Hibs pub in Manhattan.

The Pointer
15-07-2019, 10:25 PM
Got a scatter of Brewdog beer mats from a bar which was closing down in Campbeltown the other week.

Crunchie
16-07-2019, 12:11 AM
Some of the posts and comments elsewhere I find truly baffling. I’m sure someone must have said this already so sorry for repeating it but it’s worth hammering home.

STF & RP have concluded a deal to sell their holdings and allow someone else to take the club on and hopefully forward.

For anyone who thinks there’s skullduggery afoot from our new majority shareholder I’d like them to think on this....

Our club once upon a time fell into the hands of a couple of shysters by the name of Duff & Gray, they took our great club to the very brink of extinction and in the clubs darkest hour a local man made good who didn’t really care for football decided that this simply couldn’t be allowed to happen as it would rip a huge part of the Leith and Edinburgh soul out of the area, so he stepped in with his own money and saved our club not for profit or for gain at the time but because he felt deeply that it was the right thing to do, to save the club for the people he grew up around and through their custom had helped him build his own business.

Over nearly three decades he and his closest adviser steered our club slowly in the right direction, doing what needed to be done and taking all the flak that came with it when there were some pretty bleak times on the park including two relegations but there where phenomenal highs as well with two league cup wins and the holy grail of Hibs lifting the Scottish Cup.

If anyone who is a true Hibs fan thinks that Sir Tom Farmer would in anyway allow someone to buy him out without him being 99.9% sure that person was genuine and the right person to take the club on and forwards the quite frankly you simply haven’t been paying attention for the last 28 years.

I don’t need to question every aspect of the deal because I trust that both Sir Tom and Rod will have done everything they can to ensure the club remains in safe hands and away from the clutches of conmen and fly by nights.

:top marks Has to be one of the best posts I've ever read on here, if not THE best.

16-07-2019, 12:26 AM
Hibs ranked 99 places higher than Hearts, that'll go down well with them.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-ranked-above-hearts-latest-16588560

Will be interesting to see if the EEN Jambos report this.

What doesn't make sense is how they have a higher offensive rating than us given we scored 9 more in the league than them last season and 18 more the season before.

16-07-2019, 12:36 AM
Hearts appear to be ranked below St Johnston and Motherwell but ahead of Livingston.

https://projects.fivethirtyeight.com/soccer-predictions/premiership/

16-07-2019, 03:13 AM

Branding on glasses (more eco friendly?) injuries from flying beer mats :)

16-07-2019, 05:19 AM

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-ranked-above-hearts-latest-16588560

What doesn't make sense is how they have a higher offensive rating than us given we scored 9 more in the league than them last season and 18 more the season before.

Must mean the other definition of offensive

Crazyhorse
16-07-2019, 06:34 AM

I see the Zombies finished above Celtc. I’m sure the the treble will ease their pain...

16-07-2019, 07:00 AM

These things are nonsense. Quite funny though. Natural order and all that

Chip shop Joe
16-07-2019, 07:10 AM
The fact that they have Rangers above Celtic tells it’s own story!

Crazyhorse
16-07-2019, 03:45 PM
:agree: currently resting my beer on one in the Hibs pub in Manhattan.

And currently resting a pint of Tusker on one in Argenti bar, Nairobi.
So they still exist in the global South.

16-07-2019, 04:01 PM

Lovely beer that!

16-07-2019, 04:03 PM

Tusker! That takes me back to my seagoing days and long stays in port at Mombasa. Good stuff when cold but some bars didn't have the facility to chill it back then, misery really was a warm Tusker. :greengrin

16-07-2019, 04:15 PM
Tusker! That takes me back to my seagoing days and long stays in port at Mombasa. Good stuff when cold but some bars didn't have the facility to chill it back then, misery really was a warm Tusker. :greengrin

Available in big bottles at the Fine Wine Company Musselburgh.

16-07-2019, 05:13 PM
Must mean the other definition of offensive

😂😂😂

16-07-2019, 07:00 PM
Available in big bottles at the Fine Wine Company Musselburgh.

Must pick up some this weekend!

16-07-2019, 07:26 PM
Anyone tried Einstock? Icelandic, expensive out of majestic but **** me that’s a brew and a half. I like the Icelandic Pale Ale, absolutely glorious. If I won the lottery I’d brush my teeth with it.

Crazyhorse
16-07-2019, 07:28 PM

I agree they need to be ice cold.
They even have the frosted glasses here. Great bar.
Had three and packed it in. Have to get up in the morning!

16-07-2019, 07:31 PM
Is this one of .net's most off topic threads ever?

I'm not complaining, it just seems a bit light on Kickback meltdown content.

16-07-2019, 07:50 PM

I'm not complaining, it just seems a bit light on Kickback meltdown content.

It’s one of the better threads tho!

16-07-2019, 08:09 PM

I'm not complaining, it just seems a bit light on Kickback meltdown content.Revolting Kickbackers to Kenyan lager in 86 logical steps.

16-07-2019, 08:20 PM
Revolting Kickbackers to Kenyan lager in 86 logical steps.

1986 logical steps surely? Make mine a double...

17-07-2019, 06:58 PM
If anyone wants a good laugh surf over to keekback comedy gold

They think Vela a good signing and they are glad Bartley gone because they were scared of his physicality

They still want Potter out though

17-07-2019, 07:50 PM
If anyone wants a good laugh surf over to keekback comedy gold

They think Vela a good signing and they are glad Bartley gone because they were scared of his physicality

They still want Potter out though

They seem to have very strange view of our team. They admit they have a poorer keeper than us but they think they have a better defence and midfield and the front players about the same. The stats unsurprisingly don't show that. We scored nine goals more than them and lost eleven less goals last season and have strengthened our defence.Jeezo they are on a different planet. Even quoting our profit for last season then saying it included mcginns transfer and we are needing to sell players for £2m every year. It's quite creepy how obsessed they are. Stating what a great team they have got and of course once haring,Naismith and walker are fit they will be fighting for third. There are loads who think we'll finish above them but they are shouted down by the maroon thought police. Not as bad a the bigot bros forum but horrendous nevertheless. Obviously beating ciwdenbeath equates to finishing third in the spl. In their world anyway.

17-07-2019, 07:53 PM
They seem to have very strange view of our team. They admit they have a poorer keeper than us but they think they have a better defence and midfield and the front players about the same. The stats unsurprisingly don't show that. We scored nine goals more than them and lost eleven less goals last season and have strengthened our defence.Jeezo they are on a different planet. Even quoting our profit for last season then saying it included mcginns transfer and we are needing to sell players for £2m every year. It's quite creepy how obsessed they are. Stating what a great team they have got and of course once haring,Naismith and walker are fit they will be fighting for third. There are loads who think we'll finish above them but they are shouted down by the maroon thought police. Not as bad a the bigot bros forum but horrendous nevertheless. Obviously beating ciwdenbeath equates to finishing third in the spl. In their world anyway.
Genius eh!

They have even resorted to slagging Mallans eyebrows but admit that both he and Allan would walk into their team 😁

17-07-2019, 08:04 PM
They seem to have very strange view of our team. They admit they have a poorer keeper than us but they think they have a better defence and midfield and the front players about the same. The stats unsurprisingly don't show that. We scored nine goals more than them and lost eleven less goals last season and have strengthened our defence.Jeezo they are on a different planet. Even quoting our profit for last season then saying it included mcginns transfer and we are needing to sell players for £2m every year. It's quite creepy how obsessed they are. Stating what a great team they have got and of course once haring,Naismith and walker are fit they will be fighting for third. There are loads who think we'll finish above them but they are shouted down by the maroon thought police. Not as bad a the bigot bros forum but horrendous nevertheless. Obviously beating ciwdenbeath equates to finishing third in the spl. In their world anyway.They're quoting our profit at 30 June 2018 saying it included the McGinn transfer. I'm no time traveller but I seem to remember watching McGinn score in Tripolis with my own eyes in August 2018.

17-07-2019, 08:15 PM
They're quoting our profit at 30 June 2018 saying it included the McGinn transfer. I'm no time traveller but I seem to remember watching McGinn score in Tripolis with my own eyes in August 2018.

Your eyes didn't decieve you. Record spl home gates. £2m from the mcginn transfer at least,another 400,000 for villa getting promoted.,around £800,000 made from Europe all not included in those figures. They have as much knowledge of our finances as they have of where the foh money goes. Absolutely not got a clue. It's actually quite tragically funny how thick and gullible they are. Not all of them as there are a few sane voices but they are soon derided by the loonies. Just a very,very weird forum.

17-07-2019, 08:18 PM
Those morons over the road truly believe they'd rather have Clare, Mulraney, Haring and Walker over any of our midfield :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Jamie Walker and Haring on their very best form would compete. That's it.

17-07-2019, 08:27 PM
Those morons over the road truly believe they'd rather have Clare, Mulraney, Haring and Walker over any of our midfield :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Jamie Walker and Haring on their very best form would compete. That's it.There's a thread on top 6 positions and not one of them has us ahead of them...very few with Hibs in the top 6. Delusions of grandeur or what.

17-07-2019, 08:27 PM

Jamie Walker and Haring on their very best form would compete. That's it.

Haring when fit. Walker has not played for 18 months and was pish the last six months while at Hertz. They say so themselves. They are banking on Naismith signing and not getting injured(highly unlikely)walker getting back to form (a big ask) and haring getting fit reasonably early even when he will miss the first 8 or so games then will take s few weeks to get match fit. Id be very worried if that was our situation. Oh they also still have their hopeless keepers from last year. I know we all see our team through tinted glasses but they take optimism into a different reality.

Feed McGraw
17-07-2019, 08:31 PM
Anyone remember Breaker Malt Liquer ? That 'beer' had a health kick to it. Yeah I remember it. I think it was like a " snake bite" - half lager, half cider ? Had a big wave on the font.

17-07-2019, 08:32 PM
There's a thread on top 6 positions and not one of them has us ahead of them...very few with Hibs in the top 6. Delusions of grandeur or what.

They did the same last year and went on to win the league in September so I must admit I am concerned.