View Full Version : Arbroath vs Hibs

Daniel 1875
01-07-2019, 11:02 AM
First game of the new season upon us already with a trip north to Arbroath on Wednesday evening.

Five new signings in the door and plenty of changes from the squad that finished last season.

Heading up mid afternoon on Wednesday and looking forward to the first run out for the new boys, an early chance to see what they've got to offer.

Tickets are pay at the gate:

Adult - £12
Over 65/Under 18 - £6
Adult + child - £14

Who else is heading up?

01-07-2019, 11:11 AM
First game of the new season upon us already with a trip north to Arbroath on Wednesday evening.

Five new signings in the door and plenty of changes from the squad that finished last season.

Heading up mid afternoon on Wednesday and looking forward to the first run out for the new boys, an early chance to see what they've got to offer.

Tickets are pay at the gate:

Adult - £12
Over 65/Under 18 - £6
Adult + child - £14

Who else is heading up?

I will be following from the Philippines. Let's not slip up so we can brag to the poppy thieves.

01-07-2019, 11:40 AM
Yip. 4pm train out. 21.56 back.

01-07-2019, 11:46 AM
Looking forward to seeing the new players for the first time. Friendlies are rubbish and we’re not normally as organised in terms of having players in by this point so it adds a little bit of excitement.

01-07-2019, 11:55 AM
2-0 to Arbroath

It's what all the big teams do

If we do get a win it'll be because our neighbours softened them up for us

01-07-2019, 06:29 PM
Arbroath going for an Edinburgh Double.

:worried:

01-07-2019, 06:56 PM
I'll just say now it's a meaningless friendly, we'll probably field some fringe and youth players and it's all about building up fitness. But if we win then of course it's important to get the new squad off to a good start, to build up some confidence and best of all, to see the Jambos go into meltdown.

Juice Terry
01-07-2019, 08:10 PM
I'll be there, I believe they do some amazing pies and bridies [emoji106]

Sent from my SM-A320FL using Tapatalk

Here’s Lucy!
01-07-2019, 09:15 PM
I'll be there, I believe they do some amazing pies and bridies [emoji106]

Sent from my SM-A320FL using Tapatalk

Don't forget the Arbroath Smokies, Terence me old son.

01-07-2019, 10:32 PM
Kippers ? Have them for breakfast eh ?

02-07-2019, 06:24 PM
Just oor luck tae get skelped, with all the positivity goin roon the noo:greengrin

02-07-2019, 06:27 PM
Just oor luck tae get skelped, with all the positivity goin roon the noo:greengrin

Nothing wrong with that if we do bud 😉

You know BIG FAMOUS teams get skelped two nil by Arbroath.

02-07-2019, 06:50 PM
Totally forgot there was a match tomorrow, I see it is live audio on Hibs tv. Hopefully full match replay available later.

jws1875
02-07-2019, 08:09 PM
Heading up after work. Looks like some decent parking outside of the away end.

KdyHby
02-07-2019, 08:40 PM
Driving up from Kirkcaldy for this one.

green with envy
02-07-2019, 09:01 PM
I'm on the 2.00 train or there abouts. Having a overnighter and back lunchtime Thursday.

02-07-2019, 09:27 PM
Not keen that it's not segregated

02-07-2019, 09:39 PM
Not keen that it's not segregated

I think it’s safe to say it’ll be safe.

Dr_Regal
03-07-2019, 02:55 AM
Maxwell
James Jackson Hanlon Mackie
Murray Mallan Slivka Newell
Kamberi Doidge

Solid looking already

03-07-2019, 03:43 AM
Maxwell
Kamberi Doidge

Solid looking already

Slivka over Allan? Hmm

03-07-2019, 04:35 AM
Maxwell
Kamberi Doidge

Solid looking already

Scott Allan has waited over a year for this I think he will start but you are correct he might not be match fit :greengrin

03-07-2019, 10:19 AM
3.08 train from Kirkcaldy, returning on the 10.28.

Bring it on :flag:

03-07-2019, 11:19 AM
Just a heads up for anyone heading up early, the 13.00 train from Waverley is cancelled

HFC93
03-07-2019, 11:25 AM
Will Big Ron be in attendance?

yerauldda
03-07-2019, 11:37 AM
Maxwell
Gray Jackson Hanlon James
Mallan Allan Murray
Horgan Doidge Newell

Daniel 1875
03-07-2019, 12:15 PM
On the 13:30 train from Waverley after the 1pm was cancelled.

Anyone know any decent pubs for grub in Arbroath?

03-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Anyone know if the game will have radio coverage.

03-07-2019, 01:48 PM
Doubt it'll be a full first team tonight, that might be the weekend.

03-07-2019, 01:54 PM
Anyone know if the game will have radio coverage.

No radio coverage, Sky sports will be there and will show goals, also on Hibs tv, audio for UK and visual for overseas with highlights being posted later tonight.

03-07-2019, 01:57 PM
On the 13:30 train from Waverley after the 1pm was cancelled.

Anyone know any decent pubs for grub in Arbroath?

A friend of mine runs Andreous Bistro next to the Fisherman’s by the harbour. Should be open around 5ish and their meze for two is really good. Greek restaurant and he is of Greek heritage. Great value too.

03-07-2019, 02:00 PM
Doubt it'll be a full first team tonight, that might be the weekend.

Wonder if the South African trialist will get a run out. If he’s looking good in training I suspect he will.

jamesh0762
03-07-2019, 02:20 PM
Will their be live video coverage on hibs TV tonight?

cam75
03-07-2019, 03:25 PM
What sort of numbers do you think we will take? See it only £14 for a adult and child ticket👍

03-07-2019, 03:26 PM
Any chance of actual trialists tonight?

madjock9
03-07-2019, 03:38 PM
Just a heads up for anyone heading up early, the 13.00 train from Waverley is cancelled

If you were travelling on the 13.00 and you bought your ticket before it was cancelled then you can get your money back just use the delay repay form online.

https://www.scotrail.co.uk/plan-your-journey/our-delay-repay-guarantee

BlackSheep
03-07-2019, 04:35 PM
No radio coverage, Sky sports will be there and will show goals, also on Hibs tv, audio for UK and visual for overseas with highlights being posted later tonight.

I don’t think there’s video for anyone...

03-07-2019, 04:38 PM

Sort it out RON!

Thehibeeswife
03-07-2019, 05:07 PM
Just leaving now :rolleyes::flag:

03-07-2019, 05:32 PM

Petrie and STF oot the noo!
:wink::wink::na na::na na::na na::wink::wink:

03-07-2019, 05:56 PM
Teams yet?

KdyHby
03-07-2019, 05:56 PM
Cloudy in Arbroath, good to see Scott Allan getting off the team bus

03-07-2019, 05:59 PM
Looks like no Whittaker or Kamberi, might be wrong.

03-07-2019, 06:02 PM

Team tonight

Wrong indeed, apparently playing two teams and both playing second half.

Trialist on the bench.

03-07-2019, 06:03 PM
Trialist must be moon?

03-07-2019, 06:04 PM
Trialist must be moon?

I'd Ban ki on it being him.

03-07-2019, 06:07 PM
No Slivka?

03-07-2019, 06:08 PM
No Slivka?

He only came back this week, similar situation to Rocky

03-07-2019, 06:09 PM
No Slivka?Just back in training

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

ElginHibbie
03-07-2019, 06:09 PM
No Slivka?

Was just back start of week so won’t see him or Rocky just yet

03-07-2019, 06:10 PM
I'd Ban ki on it being him.

I'dBankio nitbe inghim too, also, as well.:na na:

St Pauli Hibee
03-07-2019, 06:10 PM
Starting XI

Martin, Gray, Jackson, Hanlon, Mackie, Stirling, Campbell, Murray, Boyle, Doidge, Horgan

Bench

Dabrowski, Whittaker, Newell, Mallan, James, Kamberi, Allan, McGregor, Trialist, Shaw, Sadiki

Bob Box Fish
03-07-2019, 06:12 PM
Martin from the development team ?

03-07-2019, 06:14 PM

Yeah Paddy

03-07-2019, 06:14 PM
Welcome back Billy Birrell!

St Pauli Hibee
03-07-2019, 06:15 PM

Yes Paddy Martin (GK)

03-07-2019, 06:25 PM
Neither of our two main goalkeepers?

Souter96Mac
03-07-2019, 06:26 PM
Will be interesting to see how the young lads get on!

03-07-2019, 06:28 PM

They’ll probably play on Saturday

03-07-2019, 06:37 PM

Both just joined the squad this week. Imagine they will get a half each against Dunfermline

03-07-2019, 06:39 PM
Both just joined the squad this week. Imagine they will get a half each against Dunfermline

Shouldn't be drinking - they should be training.

03-07-2019, 06:41 PM
Oli looks like he's maybe beefed out a little (?) up top.

03-07-2019, 06:42 PM
Shouldn't be drinking - they should be training.

We have some comic genuises on this forum. Step forward Wilson and take your bow.
:not worth

03-07-2019, 06:43 PM
Looks like decent numbers through.

03-07-2019, 06:44 PM
Hibs tv sounds terrible.

03-07-2019, 06:44 PM
Taking my gf to her first game and she’s commented that big Daz is “dishy”.

She’s a woman of good taste.

03-07-2019, 06:46 PM
Hibs tv sounds terrible.

Who's the commentator? WTF?

03-07-2019, 06:48 PM
Any streams?

03-07-2019, 06:48 PM

True!

03-07-2019, 06:49 PM
Taking my gf to her first game and she’s commented that big Daz is “dishy”.

She’s a woman of good taste.

Sexist! 😁

Callum7
03-07-2019, 06:53 PM
Have we scored yet?

03-07-2019, 06:54 PM
Any shots at goal yet? 🤔😁

03-07-2019, 06:55 PM
No video coverage for the overseas viewers

From HibsTV

AUDIO WARNING:

Unfortunately, the audio quality may be poorer than usual as we do not have guaranteed access to an ISDN line – we apologise in advance for this.

joe_hfc
03-07-2019, 06:57 PM
Any streams?

03-07-2019, 06:58 PM
Scott Allan looks outstanding. I know he's on the bench but he just does

03-07-2019, 07:00 PM
With that many on the bench we'll be occupying the front two rows of the Gayfield stand.

I dont have audio

I need a stream 😢😢😢

St Pauli Hibee
03-07-2019, 07:01 PM
1-0 Arbroath 😟😟

Liam_Hibs
1 nil Arbroath

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

I need a stream 😢😢😢
So do I but that's probably just my old age......

Bright start by the look of hibs Twitter feed.

12 | ARB 0-0 #HIBS

Close from Stirling. Nwat build-up play saw the ball worked to the midfielder and he let fly from 30 yards out. Gaston got down well and tipped his shot round the post to deny him what would have been an excellent goal.

Correction - yes !!!!

Liam_Hibs
Correction... Nil nil

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

St Pauli Hibee
03-07-2019, 07:02 PM
VAR at Gayfield 0-0 👍👍

speedy_gonzales
03-07-2019, 07:03 PM
1-0 Arbroath 😟😟

Did it go to VAR? Popped up on Flashscore 1-0 to Arbroath, 30 seconds later, came up with CORRECTION 0-0,,,,

wtf is it 0-0 or 1-0

Bright start by the look of hibs Twitter feed.

12 | ARB 0-0 #HIBS

Close from Stirling. Nwat build-up play saw the ball worked to the midfielder and he let fly from 30 yards out. Gaston got down well and tipped his shot round the post to deny him what would have been an excellent goal.

Is Nwat the trialist?

03-07-2019, 07:04 PM
Did it go to VAR? Popped up on Flashscore 1-0 to Arbroath, 30 seconds later, came up with CORRECTION 0-0,,,,

VAR......at Arbroath?

03-07-2019, 07:04 PM
VAR at Gayfield 0-0 👍👍

Lol

03-07-2019, 07:05 PM
wtf is it 0-0 or 1-0

It’s 0-0

03-07-2019, 07:06 PM
Pen Hibs,

wee hay
penalty to hibs

Missed, poor pen

03-07-2019, 07:07 PM
Pen missed

Who took it?

That was a soft award and a shocking attempt.

Missed, poor pen

Hecky out.

Abysmal penalty. Gordon!!!!

Missed, poor pen

Who took it?

aljo7-0
Missed or saved. Who took it?

Doidge. It was saved.

03-07-2019, 07:08 PM
Heckington needs to take a look in the mirror and ask himself if the Hibs gig is really for him

In all seriousness, that was a shocker of a penalty attempt.

Doidge. It was saved.

That’s good

Gets it out of his system for the season to come!

mon the Hibs

03-07-2019, 07:09 PM
This Doidge guy is pish, bring back McNulty. :wink:

03-07-2019, 07:09 PM
Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

03-07-2019, 07:10 PM
Hanlon should take pens. It’s not hard.

03-07-2019, 07:11 PM
Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

20 minutes into his first game (first game of pre season too). Nothing like giving a player a good chance eh?

AugustaHibs
Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

25 minutes in..

Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

Signs of things to come

Supporters judging too soon

Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

Lol

Hanlon should take pens. It’s not hard.Surprised its not, the way you go on about him 😆

I agree by the way 😆

03-07-2019, 07:12 PM
Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

Deary me

Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

Please tell me you meant "very poor" Penalty... and not him as a player.:confused:

That’s good

Gets it out of his system for the season to come!

mon the Hibs

Ahhh I see, the old" miss the penalty & it removes the fear of missing the first penalty" adage.

Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor
Wish I could tell how a season is going to go after 10 minutes of the first friendly game. What an expert you must be.

Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

Maybe he had a doidgey curry, give him atleast an hour.

03-07-2019, 07:13 PM
**** this, I thought we were loaded now. Missing penalties v Arbroath ffs.

I'm off to the Etihad.

So many woosh’s

Sign of things to come

Doidge very poor

You’re gonna need a bigger boat..

03-07-2019, 07:14 PM
You’re gonna need a bigger boat..

So many people jumped on that, thought it was pretty obvious myself😉

03-07-2019, 07:17 PM
Why can none of our strikers take a consistently good penalty? Agree RE letting Hanlon take them come the real season.

03-07-2019, 07:17 PM
Petrie out. :fuming:

03-07-2019, 07:18 PM
Wonder if Ron's at the game....

1-0 Arbroath. Didn’t deal with the long ball over the top.

Jesus suffering.

St Pauli Hibee
1-0 Arbroath

Good goal for Arbroath.

Shocking defending.

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-07-2019, 07:19 PM
arbroth 1-0

Doris

1-0 Arbroath Doran. Simple ball through middle CF between Centre Backs cool finish

Big Ron out

03-07-2019, 07:20 PM
The Arbroath scorer makes Grant Holt look like a Weight Watchers pin up.

Bring back Lennon.

**** this, I thought we were loaded now. Missing penalties v Arbroath ffs.

I'm off to the Etihad.

Augero missed one to knock them out of champs league, City just don't have enough money to consistently score pens :wink:

03-07-2019, 07:21 PM
Jesus suffering.

When did we sign him?

Arbroath - the slayers of the Edinburgh giants.

And Hearts.

“If we lose at least we learn more from it.”

Some Jambo

Sack the Board

03-07-2019, 07:22 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/z9AUvhAEiXOqA/giphy.gif

1875Sean
03-07-2019, 07:22 PM
Get Allan on FFS!

03-07-2019, 07:23 PM
No correction? 🙏

Centre of midfield is weak this half. Young lads not controlling the game.

This isn't particularly great

Writings been on the wall for a while now.

OUT

03-07-2019, 07:24 PM
I'm outraged

03-07-2019, 07:24 PM
Are you able to cancel season ticket and get a refund. Anyone know the number for the Hearts ticket office. Cheers.

03-07-2019, 07:25 PM
Are you able to cancel season ticket and get a refund. Anyone know the number for the Hearts ticket office. Cheers.

62 7070

03-07-2019, 07:25 PM
Season is over already. Total shambles from top to bottom 😡

03-07-2019, 07:26 PM
Arbroath have destroyed us as a club

03-07-2019, 07:26 PM
I'm outraged

Hello outraged, I'm John. Pleased to meet you.

03-07-2019, 07:28 PM
Hopefully Big Ron is there, decides this isn't good enough and gets the cheque book out. He's been here over 24 hours now so no more excuses.

03-07-2019, 07:29 PM
Hopefully Big Ron is there, decides this isn't good enough and gets the cheque book out. He's been here over 24 hours now so no more excuses.

We need more attackers in the end zone.

03-07-2019, 07:29 PM
Make light of it all you want, Hibernian FC should never be losing to Arbroath, seasons up in smoke already.

03-07-2019, 07:30 PM
I'm outraged

Hi outraged, my name is Steve.

Big Ron’s gone home and invoked his 7 day cooling off period.

Big Rod is back.

Hibs twitter feed is abysmal for updates tonight.

03-07-2019, 07:31 PM
Make light of it all you want, Hibernian FC should never be losing to Arbroath, seasons up in smoke already.

Seen what you did there

03-07-2019, 07:32 PM
At least we are holding them to 1-0

03-07-2019, 07:32 PM

You’ve done us up like a kipper with that post.

03-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Come on hibs

We’re playing like a bunch of Duncans!!

portycabbage
03-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Big Ron’s gone home and invoked his 7 day cooling off period.

Big Rod is back.

**** you Petrie, this score line is unacceptable.

03-07-2019, 07:34 PM
Had them down to score first after they beat Hearts. A game ahead of us in prep too, made it seem like a sound bet.

Scott Allan to come on in the second half and set up the 3 goals I'm looking for now.

03-07-2019, 07:35 PM
Yikes

03-07-2019, 07:35 PM
Doidge looks decent in the air, holds ball up ok. Crap at taking penalties.
Jackson is a big lad and plays the ball out well.
Overall pretty poor. Horgan and Boyle doing ok.

murray26
03-07-2019, 07:36 PM
I’m heading down to ER tonight to protest.. unacceptable

03-07-2019, 07:36 PM
Midfield is looking extremely weak. Young boys getting a chance need to show a bit more.

03-07-2019, 07:37 PM
Allan and Mallan will come on and get on the ball second half.

Young lads in the middle of the park didn’t show up very well. Stirling tried to get on the ball. Maybe tried a wee bit too hard sometimes.

03-07-2019, 07:38 PM

Despite the penalty miss, Doidge looks like he’ll give us something different up top.

HFC93
03-07-2019, 07:40 PM
Son's crying, cheers.

03-07-2019, 07:44 PM
Son's crying, cheers.

Is he on a balcony

03-07-2019, 07:45 PM
A clever ploy, luring them into a false sense of security for the cup tie. Heckingbottom playing 5d chess while all others playing snap.

03-07-2019, 07:45 PM
I’ve got 1-3. So happy with first half.

03-07-2019, 07:46 PM
We're never winning this bloody cup

03-07-2019, 07:46 PM
Son's crying, cheers.

Get him a Bridie 👍🏻

Silky
03-07-2019, 07:47 PM
We're never winning this bloody cup

What cup are they playing for? I had no idea.

03-07-2019, 07:48 PM

Can't really judge his penalties on just one. McNulty missed a pen last season and apart from that his pens were good

03-07-2019, 07:48 PM
Im making my Petrie out placard as we speak, ****ing sick of this **** !!

03-07-2019, 07:50 PM
Nine substitutions for Hibs at half-time:

OFF ⬅ Gray, Jackson, Mackie, Stirling, Campbell, Murray, Boyle, Doidge, Horgan.
ON ➡️ Whittaker, Newell, Mallan, James, Kamberi, Allan, McGregor, Trialist, Shaw.

03-07-2019, 07:52 PM
2-0
Goalie had a shocker

Pub league stuff.

Dearie me 2-0, Doris. Hump through middle, goalie missed header

That one will make the Christmas Howlers DVD.

Nine substitutions for Hibs at half-time:

OFF ⬅ Gray, Jackson, Mackie, Stirling, Campbell, Murray, Boyle, Doidge, Horgan.
ON ➡️ Whittaker, Newell, Mallan, James, Kamberi, Allan, McGregor, Trialist, Shaw.

kinell, whats the formation :rolleyes:

[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji85]

03-07-2019, 07:53 PM
melt down incoming

03-07-2019, 07:54 PM

sounds like Marciano hasn’t got much to be worried about

03-07-2019, 07:54 PM
Jokes aside, should be putting 3/4 past these sides. Pretty poor.

03-07-2019, 07:55 PM
Can we sub the goalie

PH91

"Goalie missed header". What the *****? Haha.

Young keeper not doing himself any favours!

:brickwall

To think we were slagging hearts as well

03-07-2019, 07:56 PM
Pressure must be on Hecky soon

That thread hasn't aged well

supermcginn
sounds like Marciano hasn’t got much to be worried about

Its not maxwell in goals

Poor paddy has had a howler.

03-07-2019, 07:58 PM

That’s the annoying thing! Plenty time yet tho

Surely we’ll manage a goal or two? Know it’s only Arbroath and I know it’s our first friendly but have to create something

We're off to a flyer this season then.

Hard to take the boy off now too.

Woeful goalkeeping for both goals really

Just thinking that

Oops

03-07-2019, 07:59 PM
Kamberri’s first touch still brutal

Put Hanlon in goals.

dunno why anyone is so surprised, was on the cards, well mine atleast

03-07-2019, 08:00 PM
dunno why anyone is so surprised, was on the cards, well mine atleast

Why?

03-07-2019, 08:00 PM
Banter years off to an incredible start here

03-07-2019, 08:01 PM
Arbroath doing us a favour by taking off their best two players....

Screamer Allan!

Goal for Scott Allan. [emoji3][emoji106]

03-07-2019, 08:02 PM
That was class

Great goal, he's back Scottie Allen

Tha Cabbage Kid
SCOTTY ALLAN!!!! Welcome back son!:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

We havent really played any games, the players dont even know each other, Arbroath want another scalp and are up for it, I also predicted 2-0.

03-07-2019, 08:03 PM
Comeback is on.

03-07-2019, 08:03 PM
Superb Scotty Allan 😀

Weegreenman
03-07-2019, 08:04 PM
That’ll be the feel good factor gone then :greengrin ST sales are bound to suffer :agree:

03-07-2019, 08:04 PM
Champions league dream is alive

03-07-2019, 08:06 PM
Nice one Scotty, didn't take long.

03-07-2019, 08:07 PM
Cracking strike

What was the goal like?

bugger 1-2, oh ah mean yeeeaaaah:thumbsup:

03-07-2019, 08:09 PM
That lad is pretty decent eh

03-07-2019, 08:10 PM
What was the goal like?

Mallan picks out Allan from a corner and he screams it into top corner

03-07-2019, 08:10 PM
That lad is pretty decent eh

Celtic will be after him soon enough

03-07-2019, 08:11 PM
Site's really struggling right now, are we able to bin the guests for now please?

03-07-2019, 08:12 PM
Come on Arbroath, get another one!

:duck:

03-07-2019, 08:14 PM
How's Moon doing?

03-07-2019, 08:14 PM
Hanlon off, Sadiki on

03-07-2019, 08:15 PM
Stuck a fiver on hibs at 8/1 at 0-2. 2 more goals please

Bob Box Fish
03-07-2019, 08:16 PM
Moon is out of this world sign him up.

03-07-2019, 08:20 PM
Moon is out of this world sign him up.

He's a fool.

Topographic Hibby
03-07-2019, 08:21 PM
How's Moon doing? An enigma, only comes out at night. Has a dark side........

Hibs1969
03-07-2019, 08:22 PM
How's Moon doing? Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkKeith, Keith, Keith, Keith

03-07-2019, 08:24 PM
Do we look like we are going to score an equaliser or not?

03-07-2019, 08:25 PM
This result is a brilliant tactic to make Ron put his hand deeper into his pocket

Well played Hecky and Dempster

03-07-2019, 08:25 PM
Kamberri, Shaw and Moon have not been good enough.

03-07-2019, 08:26 PM
Shaw just missed from 8 yards out.[emoji35]

03-07-2019, 08:29 PM
Shaw just mossed from 8 yards out.[emoji35]

Sent from my Wee Phone using my fingers

Petrie!!!