View Full Version : Arbroath vs Hibs

Pages : 1 [2]

03-07-2019, 08:32 PM
If I'm honest I literally don't care about this game. It's a warm up, nothing more.

If we lose 2-1 are still better than Hearts :greengrin

My aspirations of the new regime extend beyond losing to Arbroath by less than Hearts, but I suppose we have to start somewhere, why not with a positive?

Who is this keeper? 😂

Sounds like Virtanen 2.0, is Dabrowski not our up and coming keeper why is he not on?

Oh, well done!

supermcginn
That goalie needs released tonight.

He's absolutely dreadful.

03-07-2019, 08:33 PM

Aw naw we are worse :greengrin

3-2 Moon, header from a corner.

Laddie had a good season out on loan last year but seems like he has had an absolute mare tonight.

Hopefully a few of the senior pros have a word in his ear and put an arm round his shoulder.

03-07-2019, 08:34 PM
Is he our 3rd or 4th choice keeper? If 3rd he must down to 4th now.

3-2. Both our goals from corners. South African trialist with a header. He has been very good

Hope the Martins confidence hasn't taken to much of a knock

03-07-2019, 08:35 PM
Silly little game for silly little men. petrie out

duffers
Did we not just give him an extension?

Lads confidence gone completely

Slim Shady
Kamberri, Shaw and Moon have not been good enough.

And they’re not good enough to start up front for us come August 3rd

03-07-2019, 08:36 PM
Friendlies don’t tend to matter but that’s worrying.

Pathetic display.

03-07-2019, 08:37 PM

Yep.

He's just turned 19 so I'm not sure anyone needs to be writing him off after one 1st team game. (I'm not suggesting you have done that BTW)

03-07-2019, 08:37 PM

Pathetic display.

Meh.

03-07-2019, 08:38 PM

By the sound of it he’s not given any of us one.

03-07-2019, 08:38 PM
Laddie had a good season out on loan last year but seems like he has had an absolute mare tonight.

Hopefully a few of the senior pros have a word in his ear and put an arm round his shoulder.

It’s a fairly brutal audience for him on here tonight.

Young guy made a couple of mistakes in a pre-season bounce game, hopefully he’s given the opportunity to learn from tonight.

Bob Box Fish
03-07-2019, 08:39 PM
Acht it’s just a practice game it’s not as if we have done most of our business already and signed our first choice targets.

03-07-2019, 08:40 PM
Is Jonnyboy doing his “This is how it feels!”?

rebhar
What formation did we play second half?

Still one month to go before our first League game of the season.

Let’s not wet the bed peeps and read too much into tonight’s game.

Pre season is about fitness and game time.

Need to hit League Cup running in 10 days though.

03-07-2019, 08:41 PM

Pathetic display.

Friendly results never matter. If we are still playing as badly come the first few games of the season then I’ll worry. Two different teams in each half in our first game of pre season is all about getting game time for the whole squad.

We have Marciano in goals and the Mallan/Allan combo which was very good in midfield and we are decent.

Concerned with Doidge.

Well done the Lichties!

What a team

Goalie at fault for the 3

03-07-2019, 08:42 PM
We have Marciano in goals and the Mallan/Allan combo which was very good in midfield and we are decent.

Concerned with Doidge.

Concerned with 45 minutes of a pre season game?

03-07-2019, 08:42 PM

Concerned with Doidge.

How did he look?

03-07-2019, 08:43 PM
sigh

I’ll grudgingly accept it was a fairly meaningless warm up for us tonight but credit to the wily old goat, Dick Campbell and Arbroath with two good scalps in their pre-season preparations.

Reading the comments on here, the GK was the difference between the two sides?

03-07-2019, 08:44 PM
Is that full time?

How did he look?

Easy really, he just opened his eyes and saw everything he looked at.

I'm cancelling my ST until Petrie comes back.

03-07-2019, 08:45 PM
Large number of new signings plus youngsters playing.

Not taking a dig at the young goalkeeper but people stressing over the performance while our goalkeeper has made 2 horrendous mistakes is a bit much. Some players in that team haven't played a game of football in months and some are not long in the door.

Friendlies are pointless for determining how well you will do in the league/when it matters.

03-07-2019, 08:46 PM
Doidge? Thoughts

03-07-2019, 08:47 PM
Doidge? Thoughts

Really poor. Willing to give benefit of the doubt but needs to improve for league cup games.

03-07-2019, 08:47 PM
I had a laugh at Hearts fans after they lost on Saturday, I daresay they'll have a wee pop back now. That's football.

I have seen nothing of the game so can't comment on performance but a lot of youngsters, players who have never played together before and 10 subs suggests the result and reported poor performance weren't unexpected. As long as we look a step further forward on Saturday and there's no repeat of tonights result in the cup then I'm not too concerned.

03-07-2019, 08:48 PM
If pre seasons friendlies were an indicator, Arbroath are looking at 4th spot in the top league.

But they are not, its a kickabout to get Boyle etc game time - always want to win and annoying to lose tonight, but I remember watching us v Lithgae Rose last year and getting the fear.

Robbo6-2
03-07-2019, 08:48 PM
Did we not draw with Berwick 0 0 last year?

Not a great result but no need to panic, very short in centre midfield its quite scary tho..

03-07-2019, 08:50 PM
People can joke about it but there’s a real lack of quality

03-07-2019, 08:53 PM
I liked Tom James and Newell. Mallan and Allan a good combination. Lots went through our trialist. Oli Shaw a thorn in their side but struggled for an end product.

Sounds like we are greatly in need of Ojo or someone similar, Hecky knows this and will address I'm sure. Still need a number one striker in the door asap too.

For those who were there, what was so poor about Doidge's performance other than the pen miss?

People can joke about it but there’s a real lack of qualityCalm down

03-07-2019, 08:55 PM
Heckingbottom on the phone to Ron right now

https://media2.giphy.com/media/B0dqvPg0rFW0M/giphy.gif

Crazyhorse
03-07-2019, 08:55 PM
3-2 Moon, header from a corner.

Sounds like he eclipsed everyone else on our team tonight.

SideBurns
03-07-2019, 08:56 PM
Losing to Arbroath in a friendly takes away the fear of losing to Arbroath in the League Cup.

Big Tel would've summed it up thus, and we would all relax.

03-07-2019, 08:58 PM
People can joke about it but there’s a real lack of quality

No worries

03-07-2019, 08:58 PM
All big teams lose to Arbroath.

03-07-2019, 08:59 PM
Sounds like we are greatly in need of Ojo or someone similar, Hecky knows this and will address I'm sure. Still need a number one striker in the door asap too.

For those who were there, what was so poor about Doidge's performance other than the pen miss?

Just looked very clumsy. May just be match fitness I hope.

03-07-2019, 09:00 PM
A different team for each half, players playing an actual game together for the first time, a couple of goalie errors plus a missed penalty.

Main things to focus on - Boyle came through 45 mins unscathed, every first-teamer got a run-out and there were no obvious injuries.

Roll on Saturday.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

JDT
I wasn't there tonight and I know it's hard to judge on 45 mins but does Moon look any good? Would he be better than what we have or should we look elsewhere?

Gloucester Hibs
Losing to Arbroath in a friendly takes away the fear of losing to Arbroath in the League Cup.

Big Tel would've summed it up thus, and we would all relax.

Hehe! 😂

03-07-2019, 09:01 PM
I wasn't there tonight and I know it's hard to judge on 45 mins but does Moon look any good? Would he be better than what we have or should we look elsewhere?

He did score, and I’d maybe give him a run-out against the Pars, but he didn’t look any better than what we’ve already got IMO.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

03-07-2019, 09:01 PM

The lad wasn't great, but I didn't think he was poor. Let's wait and see.

HFC93
03-07-2019, 09:03 PM
They should really play these games behind closed doors.

03-07-2019, 09:05 PM
Announce Turnbull.

barcahibs
03-07-2019, 09:06 PM
Sometimes I wonder if it'd be more fun supporting Hibs without the actual football bit - be a bit like being a hearts fan I suppose, they dont do football at all as far as I can tell.

Just when the board is getting interesting it's all doom and gloom again.

It's a pre-season warm up match, I think we can probably hang fire on getting the razor blades out just yet.

JimboHibs
03-07-2019, 09:07 PM

Ojo a player that hasnt kicked a ball for us and id hazard a guess the vast majority of the support hadnt heard of him yet were greatly in need of Ojo ... fantastic.

03-07-2019, 09:08 PM
They should really play these games behind closed doors.

:agree: I don’t know why folk put themselves through it. £14 to watch at best a training match.

No point complaining or worrying about it - we’ll have all forgotten the result long before Christmas.

03-07-2019, 09:09 PM
Is there a lot of bedwetting going on?

Maybe I'm missing it. A few isolated posts but there's hardly a mass despair. There's an equal amount of tongue in cheek stuff, measured appraisals and folk just laughing it off.

I think people just see what they want to see sometimes

03-07-2019, 09:10 PM
Good to get a couple of goals second half, but sounds like shocking goals to lose, and another penalty missed.

03-07-2019, 09:12 PM

Maybe I'm missing it. A few isolated posts but there's hardly a mass despair. There's an equal amount of tongue in cheek stuff, measured appraisals and folk just laughing it off.

Correct.

Happens all the time, one person says something daft, 10 people call out the dafty and before you know it you’ve got a full thread of people complaining about one daft comment as if it’s the whole forum that is saying it.

03-07-2019, 09:13 PM
Announce Turnbull.

Wow look at me I’m hilarious

03-07-2019, 09:14 PM
So are we grabbing the pitchforks and storming the stadium? I've got a day off tomorrow so I'm game......

DTS
03-07-2019, 09:14 PM
A missed penalty, new players not all hitting it off immediately, one poor goal and 2 terrible goals conceded, a few missed chances and youngsters that struggled to make an impact. All thrown in to the first time half the players on each team hadn’t played together. Sounds about right for our first pre season game. I’ll start really caring a week on Saturday in Stirling , I’d imagine a better result will come Saturday with a stronger starting 11

03-07-2019, 09:15 PM
Two goals away from home and a missed penalty against the country's form team surely can't be classed as a disaster

03-07-2019, 09:16 PM

That's where I am at the moment too. 👍

Here’s Lucy!
03-07-2019, 09:18 PM
Should we not have shut up about the Hearts score until after tonight?

Yams will be loving this now.

Shouldn't give the tossers the ammo they so crave.

Gorgie *****e.

03-07-2019, 09:19 PM
Scott Allan was good. Nicely taken goal and didn’t look as if he’d not been in a first team game for a year.

Newell has great footwork in confined situations.

HFC93
03-07-2019, 09:20 PM
So are we grabbing the pitchforks and storming the stadium? I've got a day off tomorrow so I'm game......

9am outside the West Stand. I'll bring a Peruvian and US flag to burn.

Gorgie *****e.

Is anybody that bothered on either side? It's just a wee bit banter 're early pre-season games. Not to be taken too seriously.

Ojo a player that hasnt kicked a ball for us and id hazard a guess the vast majority of the support hadnt heard of him yet were greatly in need of Ojo ... fantastic.

Calm down man, just another way of saying we're in need of a defensive mid with a bit of composure/energy about him. Thought it was easier to say "Ojo or similar".

For the record, I'm not wetting the bed after today's result, it's a friendly.

03-07-2019, 09:21 PM
Really feel for Paddy Martin, boy had a mare tonight but he has done well for the under 21s. Hope we is given a chance to bounce back at some point and not be written off completely

03-07-2019, 09:22 PM
Put it this way, if Doidge had taken a better penalty and we didn’t have Zibi’s less talented son in goals we’d be pretty cheery.

03-07-2019, 09:23 PM
Put it this way, if Doidge had taken a better penalty and we didn’t have Zibi’s less talented son in goals we’d be pretty cheery.

Exactly, chalk of the two goalkeeping howlers and it's 2-1 happy days

03-07-2019, 09:24 PM
I'm not going to pretend that I'm ecstatic about tonight's result but there were a number of players involved tonight who are unlikely to play any more than a handful of league games this season. Then there was Boyle playing his first match in about 6 months after injury and all the new guys who were making their debuts for their new team.

No Marciano or Porteous tonight either who will surely be first choice picks.

I do think we need more players brought in, particularly up front, however I'm not going to push the panic button after we've lost one game, a game where it seem we lost because the goalkeeper had a nightmare at all three goals that we conceded. If Marciano had been in goal, maybe we would have won 2-0.

Looking forward to Saturday.

03-07-2019, 09:25 PM
:agree: I don’t know why folk put themselves through it. £14 to watch at best a training match.

No point complaining or worrying about it - we’ll have all forgotten the result long before Christmas.

It could be worse. You could be paying double to watch a meaningless game of fitbaw at the hame of rugby.

03-07-2019, 09:27 PM
Is anybody that bothered on either side? It's just a wee bit banter 're early pre-season games. Not to be taken too seriously.

It's only banter now, as we got pumped by Arbroath.

portyfelly
03-07-2019, 09:28 PM
ahhhh see:agree:

Here’s Lucy!
03-07-2019, 09:29 PM

Plenty folk on here were ‘bothered’ when the gimps lost 2-0.

Why is it just ‘banter’ now?

‘Keeping ones powder dry’ is an apt expression!

03-07-2019, 09:31 PM
20 outfield players get 45 minutes match practice, Hecky gets to see a trialist in action, nobody injured, result irrelevant

hughio
03-07-2019, 09:31 PM
Really feel for Paddy Martin, boy had a mare tonight but he has done well for the under 21s. Hope we is given a chance to bounce back at some point and not be written off completely

Agree..Boy works so hard for a debut and then it goes so wrong so quickly.Who'd be a goalie?Another chance deserved

03-07-2019, 09:32 PM
Just checked my coupon - Hibs cost me £660

It's only banter now, as we got pumped by Arbroath.

Or some people are adults and can give and take a bit of a slagging when it comes to the football. Football rivalry is generally cyclical and no one remains on top forever. Remember when Man Utd fans had the banner counting up the years since City last won a trophy? That probably doesn't seem as funny now but it's an inevitability when you engage in banter in football.

I had a wee laugh at the Hearts fans in my work on Monday, I'm certain I'll get it back tomorrow. I'll live.

ferry hibby

Concerned with Doidge.

Thought he won a good few challenges in the air and tried to hold the ball up but Horgan and Boyle seemed to stick to their wings and nobody else interested in getting close to support him. Mind you it was a poor penalty

JimboHibs
03-07-2019, 09:34 PM
Calm down man, just another way of saying we're in need of a defensive mid with a bit of composure/energy about him. Thought it was easier to say "Ojo or similar".

For the record, I'm not wetting the bed after today's result, it's a friendly.

Ok you stay calm.

03-07-2019, 09:34 PM

Gorgie *****e.

Is this a joke post?

03-07-2019, 09:36 PM
Or some people are adults and can give and take a bit of a slagging when it comes to the football. Football rivalry is generally cyclical and no one remains on top forever. Remember when Man Utd fans had the banner counting up the years since City last won a trophy? That probably doesn't seem as funny now but it's an inevitability when you engage in banter in football.

I had a wee laugh at the Hearts fans in my work on Monday, I'm certain I'll get it back tomorrow. I'll live.

I laughed at the Hearts when they lost, and I laughed at the result tonight. Anyone taking these games seriously - or worrying about what other people will say about them - need their head read.

03-07-2019, 09:40 PM

Gorgie *****e.

That'd make it a bit dull if we can't laugh at them until we see how we get on. All just banter as far as I'm concerned. Agree with your description of them though.

03-07-2019, 09:40 PM
I'm intensely relaxed about the result. This is basically a glorified training match.

League Cup games aren't far away though and we need to make sure everyone is up to scratch by them.

03-07-2019, 09:44 PM
Plenty folk on here were ‘bothered’ when the gimps lost 2-0.

Why is it just ‘banter’ now?

‘Keeping ones powder dry’ is an apt expression!

It takes some doing but you are by far and away the worst wind up merchant on this place. Try a bit harder eh or I'll need to block you as these efforts are dire.

angus hibby
03-07-2019, 09:44 PM
Just back from game. Hibs had a lot of possession throughout the game and created several half chances, particularly 2nd half.

Played 4-3-3 in both halves with plenty rotation from the central midfield three. Ben Stirling played mainly as the central holding midfielder in 1st half and thought he looked very good on the ball, probably the pick of our players 1st half.

Thought Moon did well, played right side of a front three, has a good touch and has pace too. I know Boyle has been out for a while but Moon was more of a threat than Boyle tonight. Same with Shaw, got himself in good positions but final ball/finish not there tonight.

Poor Martin had a night to forget, schoolboy errors for 2nd and 3rd goals and thought he should have dealt with ball over the top for the 1st.

All the new players were neat and tidy, that’s about all you could say. Allan looked sharp, and always looking to get on ball and create things.

03-07-2019, 09:48 PM

Gorgie *****e.

Who cares if they will be loving this result.

We were smiling after hearing about them losing to Arbroath at the weekend and rightly so we took the mickey out of them. They will obviously do the same back to us as well now. It’s what fans of rival teams do to each other when their neighbours lose.

BlackSheep
03-07-2019, 09:50 PM
Goals about to be shown on sky sports news

03-07-2019, 09:57 PM
Wasn't there tonight but was hoping Hibs TV had the full match replay. After the result I'm not sure if I'd bother watching it now, lol.

What were the positives from the match? From listening to the live audio and some of the posts here it seems like Scotty scored a good goal and had a decent game. We're there any other positives?

DTS
03-07-2019, 09:58 PM
Just seen the goals on SSN, keeper should have done better with all 3 goals IMO. Can’t believe quite how bad the 2nd and 3rd were though.

03-07-2019, 09:59 PM
I laughed at the Hearts when they lost, and I laughed at the result tonight. Anyone taking these games seriously - or worrying about what other people will say about them - need their head read.

Yup. Both games passed me by completely. Effectively meaningless training run outs.

03-07-2019, 10:01 PM
Is this a joke post?

You missed out the "er" from the end of the last word.

03-07-2019, 10:05 PM
Can’t say I’m overly fussed, but friendly or not we should be beating them.

03-07-2019, 10:06 PM

I was there tonight and all you could do was laugh at the errors.
I’ve always said these games should really be played behind closed doors because they are far removed from proper competitive football.

03-07-2019, 10:08 PM
If the last few days have taught me anything, it’s that Arbroath are better than both Hibs and Hearts who are both as crap as each other.

Anyone coming to any other conclusion doesn’t understand football.

Tomsk
03-07-2019, 10:38 PM
I’ve always said these games should really be played behind closed doors because they are far removed from proper competitive football.

Good wee pay day for Arbroath I would have thought.

03-07-2019, 10:44 PM

Was really nice to chat to Arbroath fans.

03-07-2019, 10:49 PM

Gorgie *****e.

Why on earth would we pass up on the chance to have a go at Hearts? That’s football, it’s no biggy.

03-07-2019, 10:50 PM

**** them. They play in maroon. :greengrin
Fair point though.

03-07-2019, 10:52 PM

how many would you say were at the game tonight?

03-07-2019, 10:55 PM

Attendance given as 1036 I think

03-07-2019, 10:56 PM

Total crowd was announced as 1034 .. I think. We made up a significant part of that.

03-07-2019, 10:57 PM
It's fine, we'll win the game v them that matters.

Glad I didn't make the trek home for this now...

03-07-2019, 11:00 PM
Exactly, chalk of the two goalkeeping howlers and it's 2-1 happy days

100%. Marciano in goals, McGregor for Jackson, Scotty and Stevie playing the whole game and Mallan on pens.

A win by 2 or 3 clear goals

03-07-2019, 11:02 PM
Attendance given as 1036 I think

Perth, Dundee and Aberdeen Hibbies plus a sprinkling of Fifers and other Northeast fans. Only a handful from Auld Reekie I reckon

Tobias Funke
03-07-2019, 11:03 PM
Why on earth would we pass up on the chance to have a go at Hearts? That’s football, it’s no biggy.

The poster is without doubt a Hearts canute. Won’t last long here.

03-07-2019, 11:35 PM
To think we have to pay these buggers again in a few weeks, I hope Hecky and the team learn from this defeat tonight! Embarrassing performance.

:worried:

Play**

03-07-2019, 11:38 PM
To think we have to pay these buggers again in a few weeks, I hope Hecky and the team learn from this defeat tonight! Embarrassing performance.

Do you think they might not make as many chances in the real game?

03-07-2019, 11:40 PM

Now you know fine well that is a tongue firmly in cheek post.

03-07-2019, 11:41 PM

Dont raise to it lol, I’m sure when we put the best from the first and second half teams together we we’ll be just fine. It’s just fitness and game time at this stage

03-07-2019, 11:45 PM
I’ll be surprised if we don’t win by three clear in the cup.

03-07-2019, 11:47 PM
Now you know fine well that is a tongue firmly in cheek post.

Likewise! :greengrin

03-07-2019, 11:56 PM

Do you think we should just stop paying them cos we’ve got new owners?

04-07-2019, 12:34 AM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1146573529745248256?s=21
Goals for anyone interested.

04-07-2019, 12:51 AM

Oh dear the poor goalie … Clearly just having a one off nightmare because surely nobody capable of errors like that on anything like a regular basis can have a professional contract.

Never worry about pre season games, but we should remember its Arbroath's pre season as well and we should seriously not be letting them put 3 past us.

04-07-2019, 12:53 AM

All 3 goals are howling errors, one from Mackie I think it was for the first, playing Dorris well onside and then the keeper for the second and third - oh my goodness. Thrown in a poor penalty miss from Doidge as well and you have one very bad day at the office. Scott Allans goal is the only highlight for me.

04-07-2019, 01:13 AM
I thought all the first team players were ok. Horgan and Boyle played well first half, Allan and Mallan played well second half. Hanlon, Jackson, McGregor and Gray were all solid. All the new signings looked like they were settling in well as well. The younger players all struggled though.
What was missing was a holding mid and a threat up front. None of the strikers looked like they were going to score and that’s a bit of a worry.

Robbo6-2
04-07-2019, 05:53 AM
Diodge running style is very similar to Brian Graham.

04-07-2019, 05:55 AM
Decent run out. 3-2 defeat.. meh

04-07-2019, 06:00 AM
Jesus they’re shocking goals to concede, thought it was Hanlon that played him inside from that clip.

The other two are laughable and puts the result into perspective a bit.

Nice play from Newell and Allan for the goal.

Who is number 33 for us? Great pass for the goal.

04-07-2019, 06:05 AM

Poor lad, totally exposed by his defence for the first one, it happens. The other two were due to him taking risks with a high line. I'm sure he'll come back from it.

04-07-2019, 06:09 AM
I thought all the first team players were ok. Horgan and Boyle played well first half, Allan and Mallan played well second half. Hanlon, Jackson, McGregor and Gray were all solid. All the new signings looked like they were settling in well as well. The younger players all struggled though.
What was missing was a holding mid and a threat up front. None of the strikers looked like they were going to score and that’s a bit of a worry.

How was Kamberi?

04-07-2019, 06:28 AM

only good thing in that footage, apart from Allan’s goal, is the new strip. Looking well.

04-07-2019, 06:30 AM

Great player! :greengrin

04-07-2019, 06:31 AM

That first goal is classic Hanlon. Two howlers from the young keeper

04-07-2019, 06:34 AM

Classic Hanlon? Really?

04-07-2019, 06:35 AM

He’s definitely partial to getting caught out with a long ball over the top. Shocker for the first goal.

BlackSheep
04-07-2019, 06:48 AM
Classic Hanlon? Really?

Hanlon has a habit of selling himself... when Doris cuts back inside for his first goal, Hanlon rushes past him and takes himself out of the game. He did this a few times last season too... needs to keep a cooler head, if he was reckless he would probably give away a lot of penalties doing what he does, by adding an attempted tackle to the situation.

Let’s hope Hecky notices this and encourages him to keep calm in these situations.

04-07-2019, 06:57 AM

Now I am nervous!

malcky
04-07-2019, 07:07 AM
Poor lad, totally exposed by his defence for the first one, it happens. The other two were due to him taking risks with a high line. I'm sure he'll come back from it.

I’m sure Adam Bogdan got slaughtered by many on here on his first few games and he didn’t turn out too bad.

04-07-2019, 07:10 AM
Just a bounce game

The real hard work starts today

The futures bright the futures green and white!

Edit:

Reinforcements required. :greengrin

04-07-2019, 07:16 AM
Just back from game. Hibs had a lot of possession throughout the game and created several half chances, particularly 2nd half.

Played 4-3-3 in both halves with plenty rotation from the central midfield three. Ben Stirling played mainly as the central holding midfielder in 1st half and thought he looked very good on the ball, probably the pick of our players 1st half.

Thought Moon did well, played right side of a front three, has a good touch and has pace too. I know Boyle has been out for a while but Moon was more of a threat than Boyle tonight. Same with Shaw, got himself in good positions but final ball/finish not there tonight.

Poor Martin had a night to forget, schoolboy errors for 2nd and 3rd goals and thought he should have dealt with ball over the top for the 1st.

All the new players were neat and tidy, that’s about all you could say. Allan looked sharp, and always looking to get on ball and create things.

Agree with this. Boyle looked keen and keen but you could tell he hasn't played for a long time as his timing was miles out when passing. Moon looked dangerous and put in a really good shift scoring a deserved goal. I was never as big a fan of Scot Allen as some on here but he looked very good last night. Stirling good and liked the way he swapped and dropped in to Centre half to allow them to get forward. Shaw looked hungry but end product was poor and the pick of the new signings was James. Good in the air for height, passed well and difficult to get round. Dodge was in and out with some very poor play but also some promising hold up play and knock-downs. We were poor overall and an inability to defend a long ball needs addressed sharpish.

04-07-2019, 07:19 AM
Agree with this. Boyle looked keen and keen but you could tell he hasn't played for a long time as his timing was miles out when passing. Moon looked dangerous and put in a really good shift scoring a deserved goal. I was never as big a fan of Scot Allen as some on here but he looked very good last night. Stirling good and liked the way he swapped and dropped in to Centre half to allow them to get forward. Shaw looked hungry but end product was poor and the pick of the new signings was James. Good in the air for height, passed well and difficult to get round. Dodge was in and out with some very poor play but also some promising hold up play and knock-downs. We were poor overall and an inability to defend a long ball needs addressed sharpish.
How was Flo?

smithy_hibees
04-07-2019, 07:21 AM
Thought Jackson didn't look overly comfortable at times.. Flo had a very good chance that can't see mentioned plus thought he looked lively? Moon on the right offered more than Boyle plus Newell looks like could be a player, think Moon is worth a deal if not asking for to much think he offers something different and a better option than Shaw for me, maybe needs a loan deal (Shaw).. Keeper looked nervous from the start two very poor goals unsure can blame him for the first surely Hanlon needs to do better, James looked ok at LB not much to do to judge, new boy up top seems ermmm hard to judge, missed a pen but overall done ok in a young team first half..

Its pre season we played 2 teams each half, 2nd half alot better than the first, 2 first team keepers still come in plus young Porto, Onto Saturday

04-07-2019, 07:24 AM
We swapped almost everyone bar the keeper? Was Kevin not fit either?

smithy_hibees
04-07-2019, 07:28 AM
We swapped almost everyone bar the keeper? Was Kevin not fit either?

He warmed up very well at half time, looked sharp working with Combe unsure why wasn't used maybe heckie didnt want pull the young lad off

04-07-2019, 07:42 AM
I thought that the South African trialist had a decent 45 minutes. Looks to have a good first touch.

04-07-2019, 08:35 AM
Starting XI

Martin, Gray, Jackson, Hanlon, Mackie, Stirling, Campbell, Murray, Boyle, Doidge, Horgan

Bench

Dabrowski, Whittaker, Newell, Mallan, James, Kamberi, Allan, McGregor, Trialist, Shaw, Sadiki

How far away is Porteous from a comeback and how did Sadiki look during the last 25 mins?

04-07-2019, 09:34 AM
How far away is Porteous from a comeback and how did Sadiki look during the last 25 mins?

Sadiki looked solid but didn't have a huge amount to do.

04-07-2019, 09:53 AM
How was Flo? He started very brightly but his touch let him down a few times. Quite a similar performance to Doidge as he was patchy with some really nice stuff and some very poor touches. I was sat right behind the Hibs bench, nearest I've ever been to getting a game and there was a nice atmosphere with the subs. It was a poor performance last night but the players look very fit and there was good signs of camaraderie between the players too. I don't rate Scottie A as much as many on here but he was very good and seems a really good character when he was blethering to Mallan and Ollie on the bench. Hopefully Heck will start to play a team closer to his starting 11 in the next week so we can see how they all gel.

angus hibby
04-07-2019, 09:54 AM
He warmed up very well at half time, looked sharp working with Combe unsure why wasn't used maybe heckie didnt want pull the young lad off

I just assumed both goalies would get 45 minutes each. With Dabrowski not getting on, makes me think he’ll be playing on Saturday. Marciano just back and Maxwell obviously not ready yet so maybe both young goalies knew they’ll get a game each?

04-07-2019, 09:54 AM
Sadiki looked solid but didn't have a huge amount to do. I thought he looked a big strong lad too and very good with the ball at his feet. As you say not too much to do but he didn't look a mile away from making the next step

04-07-2019, 09:55 AM
We'll get more of an idea of where we are when we play Arbroath competitively

04-07-2019, 09:58 AM
Taking my gf to her first game and she’s commented that big Daz is “dishy”.

She’s a woman of good taste.

Apparently Stevie Mallan also has a "tremendous arse".

She did enjoy the game though and is coming back :greengrin

BlackSheep
04-07-2019, 10:01 AM

Might get in trouble for that!

04-07-2019, 10:03 AM
Apparently Stevie Mallan also has a "tremendous arse".

She did enjoy the game though and is coming back :greengrin

Sexist

04-07-2019, 10:04 AM
How was Kamberi?

Missed a sitter, clean through and shat it.

04-07-2019, 11:26 AM
Missed a sitter, clean through and shat it. Not sure I'd want him going in for a 50:50 at best, in a friendly, with a big fully committed goalie. The ball was running away from him from my angle

04-07-2019, 12:47 PM
Not sure I'd want him going in for a 50:50 at best, in a friendly, with a big fully committed goalie. The ball was running away from him from my angle

Nah imo he went to shoot but delayed then pulled out of it at the last second, the groans around the terracing told a story. He had a chance just to lift it over the keeper.

04-07-2019, 12:56 PM
Nah imo he went to shoot but delayed then pulled out of it at the last second, the groans around the terracing told a story. He had a chance just to lift it over the keeper.

That there is a lot of bell-ends in our support?

04-07-2019, 12:59 PM
Might get in trouble for that!

He might have been less nervous tbh.

04-07-2019, 12:59 PM
He started very brightly but his touch let him down a few times. Quite a similar performance to Doidge as he was patchy with some really nice stuff and some very poor touches. I was sat right behind the Hibs bench, nearest I've ever been to getting a game and there was a nice atmosphere with the subs. It was a poor performance last night but the players look very fit and there was good signs of camaraderie between the players too. I don't rate Scottie A as much as many on here but he was very good and seems a really good character when he was blethering to Mallan and Ollie on the bench. Hopefully Heck will start to play a team closer to his starting 11 in the next week so we can see how they all gel.
👍🏾

04-07-2019, 01:02 PM

Nice try. :fishin:

04-07-2019, 01:04 PM

Indeed.

green with envy
04-07-2019, 03:56 PM

Spot on!

Robbo6-2
04-07-2019, 07:02 PM
Tom James looks really comfortable at left back. Looks two footed which is a good sign.

04-07-2019, 08:26 PM
Elgin 6 Aberdeen 1 :greengrin

04-07-2019, 08:27 PM
Now

Elgin 7
Aberdeen 1

04-07-2019, 08:29 PM
Correction

ELGIN CITY 8
Sheep 1

ShetlandHibby
04-07-2019, 08:36 PM
Feel bad for laughing at hearts now

04-07-2019, 09:08 PM
Just watched Hecky's post match interview. I'm trying to retrain my brain here that it's all about fitness and ok to lose.

See the amount of times I switched off Championship and Football manager back in the day because of one bad pre season result.

04-07-2019, 09:12 PM
Correction

ELGIN CITY 8
Sheep 1

It was an Aberdeen XI side that was playing tonight.

Aberdeen XI for tonight's 125th Anniversary match at Elgin.
Cerny, Ramsay, Booth, Robertson, Bollan, Turner, Linden, S Ross, Ruth, Anderson, F Ross.
Substitutes:- Shanks, Mykyta, Duncan, Dalling, Barry, Hanratty, M Dangana, Barron, Jackson (GK). #StandFree

04-07-2019, 09:14 PM
This was the Aberdeen team tonight and I don’t know any of them other than Cerny & Ruth

Cerny, Ramsay, Booth, Robertson, Bollan, Turner, Linden, S Ross, Ruth, Anderson, F Ross.
Substitutes:- Shanks, Mykyta, Duncan, Dalling, Barry, Hanratty, M Dangana, Barron, Jackson

04-07-2019, 09:21 PM
Correction

ELGIN CITY 8
Sheep 1

Probably shouldn't laugh until they've played Peterhead, they won't care though.

04-07-2019, 09:35 PM
We've got to play Elgin! :paranoid: :sofa:

04-07-2019, 10:09 PM
Just watched the game on hibs tv as I couldn’t attend last night. Anyway here’s my opinion from what I could tell from watching a game with not the best camera and no commentary :greengrin

We dominated the game start to finish, looking very comfortable on the ball however failed to create many chances which is disappointing. The young goalie had a nightmare and if it wasn’t for him gifting goals too would imagine we would have came out comfortable winners.

Tactically I thought it was interesting to see how high and wide our wingers were staying, practically touching the byline. Imo we never lacked a defensive midfielder last night like many mentioned although going forward, it’s undoubtedly an area we need to improve.

On defensive midfielders, Young Ben Stirling really caught my eye, keeping possession, winning or back and looking very comfortable on and off the ball. I would like to see him get opportunities over the course of the season based on his 45. He can be happy with how he played.

Ryan Moon is another to catch the eye, I wasn’t really sure what to expect but he also seemed happy to take the ball in tight areas and his first touch was exceptional, a couple of times he plucked it out the sky to within an inch of his foot. He also seems pacey and sharp, would like to see him being more direct. His style, left foot and centre of gravity reminds me a bit of GMS/ Greg Stewart. Also delighted to see a striker finally score a header from a corner for us!!!!:greengrin

New signings all looked fine, Newell is a big lad and was quite happy to see him centrally, got a good left foot, touch, composure and has vision. Doidge was nowhere near as bad as some made out, couple of really good bits of hold up play however very poor pen.

Kamberi looked more back to his old self last night imo, trying turns and more interested in the ball than the big centre half’s. Looked a lot sharper also. The chance he has was also nowhere near as bad as I imagined, the pace on the ball with an on rushing goalie makes it difficult, he just ran out of space.

Oli Shaw, for me he has potential and will score goals but is not a winger. Again, his missed chance was a lot more difficult than some seem to have gave him credit for.

Overall good to see the team back and get minutes under our belt, excited by the players we already have in and it’s the start of July. To think we’re still a couple of signings away from our end squad, the fact Ofir, Maxwell, Slivka and Gullan weren’t in the squad and we still managed to put out more or less 2 teams with a lot of quality in it is exciting.

The new strip also looked fantastic:top marks

05-07-2019, 06:44 AM
Just watched the game on hibs tv as I couldn’t attend last night. Anyway here’s my opinion from what I could tell from watching a game with not the best camera and no commentary :greengrin

We dominated the game start to finish, looking very comfortable on the ball however failed to create many chances which is disappointing. The young goalie had a nightmare and if it wasn’t for him gifting goals too would imagine we would have came out comfortable winners.

Tactically I thought it was interesting to see how high and wide our wingers were staying, practically touching the byline. Imo we never lacked a defensive midfielder last night like many mentioned although going forward, it’s undoubtedly an area we need to improve.

On defensive midfielders, Young Ben Stirling really caught my eye, keeping possession, winning or back and looking very comfortable on and off the ball. I would like to see him get opportunities over the course of the season based on his 45. He can be happy with how he played.

Ryan Moon is another to catch the eye, I wasn’t really sure what to expect but he also seemed happy to take the ball in tight areas and his first touch was exceptional, a couple of times he plucked it out the sky to within an inch of his foot. He also seems pacey and sharp, would like to see him being more direct. His style, left foot and centre of gravity reminds me a bit of GMS/ Greg Stewart. Also delighted to see a striker finally score a header from a corner for us!!!!:greengrin

New signings all looked fine, Newell is a big lad and was quite happy to see him centrally, got a good left foot, touch, composure and has vision. Doidge was nowhere near as bad as some made out, couple of really good bits of hold up play however very poor pen.

Kamberi looked more back to his old self last night imo, trying turns and more interested in the ball than the big centre half’s. Looked a lot sharper also. The chance he has was also nowhere near as bad as I imagined, the pace on the ball with an on rushing goalie makes it difficult, he just ran out of space.

Oli Shaw, for me he has potential and will score goals but is not a winger. Again, his missed chance was a lot more difficult than some seem to have gave him credit for.

Overall good to see the team back and get minutes under our belt, excited by the players we already have in and it’s the start of July. To think we’re still a couple of signings away from our end squad, the fact Ofir, Maxwell, Slivka and Gullan weren’t in the squad and we still managed to put out more or less 2 teams with a lot of quality in it is exciting.

Great to hear Ben did well, played nearly every defensive position for Hibs over last few years, got a great shot on him too!

smithy_hibees
05-07-2019, 07:48 AM
Great to hear Ben did well, played nearly every defensive position for Hibs over last few years, got a great shot on him too!

He had good pop from around 25 yards on Wednesday night, keeper done well push it around the post.. him and moon we're my two pick outs

05-07-2019, 07:53 AM

I wish I had started to read this thread from this post onwards ! It puts an entirely different perspective on the pattern of play.

05-07-2019, 08:05 AM

Did you watch the full game or highlights?

05-07-2019, 08:06 AM
Did you watch the full game or highlights?

Just realised full match is on Hibs TV

05-07-2019, 11:12 AM

I like your posts on the Dev games as it gives us a great insight into the younger lads development and Ben is one you always talk up, he could be great cover for us in the DM department.