View Full Version : Arbroath vs Yams friendly

29-06-2019, 03:50 PM
Arbroath 2 up with only a few mins to go.

My yam mate who is at the game messaged me saying Levein has been getting dogs abuse and nothing looks like it has changed. Same old hoofball tactics.

29-06-2019, 03:53 PM

My yam mate who is at the game messaged me saying Levein has been getting dogs abuse and nothing looks like it has changed. Same old hoofball tactics.Would expect that to be a hearts team full of youth players

thegaffer12
29-06-2019, 03:54 PM
Would expect that to be a hearts team full of youth players

They started with about 7 first team regulars

29-06-2019, 03:55 PM
They started with about 7 first team regularsSo mostly youth players then ? 😆

29-06-2019, 03:57 PM
They started with about 7 first team regulars

Wonder if many of these started?
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/transfer-news/craig-leveins-hearts-signings-rated-16505241

29-06-2019, 03:58 PM
Lets be honest friendlies mean bugger all

29-06-2019, 04:00 PM
How many games in a row have they lost now?

29-06-2019, 04:05 PM
Lets be honest friendlies mean bugger all

Agree, its just a kick about, we night get a surprise there on Wednesday. :agree:

29-06-2019, 04:10 PM
Agree, its just a kick about, we night get a surprise there on Wednesday. :agree:

G, can you not just let The Jambo's get a bit of a ribbing ffs! 🤨

29-06-2019, 04:18 PM
The wee team in maroon.

29-06-2019, 04:25 PM
Friendly or not they had a relatively strong team out and lost.

They could have played their under 10s and I'd still have found it funny.

29-06-2019, 04:26 PM
Hertz losing to anyone has a funny side.

29-06-2019, 04:26 PM
Good times for Arbroath, and they must be really excited about playing in the Championship next season.

29-06-2019, 04:27 PM
Hope it is a sign of things to come. I like when we start the season scoring a few goals and although there is nothing at stake for the team there is for players trying to cement a place in the 11. I also think you won't get a better opportunity to try out formations and synergy between players than friendlies so to me I want us treating it like a competitive match. Yes there are injuries to consider but they happen in training so lets use the friendly to make sure we are spot on for teh start of teh competitive matches.

29-06-2019, 04:47 PM
Nothing should be read into these pre-season friendlies. Arbroath probably fielded a mixture of youth and fringe players and were just trying to build up their match fitness.

29-06-2019, 04:49 PM
I wonder if they deliberately booted the ball off the park at their 3 kick offs? 😁

29-06-2019, 05:03 PM
Friendly or not getting beat by Arbroath is a very poor result, what is Arbroath's fitness levels like, pretty sure they'll be around the same as Hearts.

29-06-2019, 05:03 PM

Still absolutely hysterical. :greengrin

29-06-2019, 05:04 PM
Friendly or not getting beat by Arbroath is a very poor result, what is Arbroath's fitness levels like, pretty sure they'll be around the same as Hearts.

Are Arbroath part time?

29-06-2019, 05:06 PM
Are Arbroath part time?

Can't remember but these early season friendlies are for getting game fitness up and scoring a good few goals.

29-06-2019, 05:08 PM
I see Alex Harris scored for Edinburgh C versus St J today in a 2 0 win. Good luck to him.

29-06-2019, 05:10 PM
Can't remember but these early season friendlies are for getting game fitness up and scoring a good few goals.

They’re not important games and the result doesn’t matter really.

It can effect confidence though and if there’s already negativity towards Levein results like this won’t help, especially as a toxic atmosphere can creep in with fans getting edgy and on players backs for every small mistake.

Plus it’s arbroath, the day I don’t have a wee smile at Hearts losing to them is the day I give up.

29-06-2019, 05:21 PM
I’m sure we lost a friendly against Cowdenbeath when Mixu was in charge (or was it Yogi?)

Remember thinking that had an impact on our form and mood of the place going into the season, hopefully this has a similar impact.

29-06-2019, 05:38 PM
I’m sure we lost a friendly against Cowdenbeath when Mixu was in charge (or was it Yogi?)

Remember thinking that had an impact on our form and mood of the place going into the season, hopefully this has a similar impact.

You are correct, every win is important imho Bingo.

I must however admit I asked what the score was (knowing fine what the score was) and all I got was 1-5 blah blah

Hurting like!

29-06-2019, 05:47 PM
I'd expect a side of our fringe/reserve/squad players to beat Arbroath. Pretty embarrassing

29-06-2019, 05:51 PM
Couldn't resist having a look at Kickback...this comment is a cracker :greengrin:faf::faf:

"l prefer it when we have a rubbish preseason and getting beat most games as is usually means a good season when it matters. Players learn more from getting beat and preseason is to get rid of the rustiness and iron out any deficiencies. Actual results mean very little at this stage but then everyone knows that........! "

"Players learn more from getting beat" The Jambos must have learned a lot at the end of last season then :greengrin

That's on a par with "Conceding the first goal takes away the fear of conceding the first goal"

Hibernian32
29-06-2019, 05:56 PM
Did they not have a mix bag of results last pre season? Mind them scrapping through the group stage of the league Cup.

Still tremendous hahahahahahahahaha

Sioux
29-06-2019, 06:07 PM
Did they not have a mix bag of results last pre season? Mind them scrapping through the group stage of the league Cup.

Still tremendous hahahahahahahahaha

Yip, they were poor in the LC. But soon after that got their act together and won the league.

29-06-2019, 06:15 PM

It can effect confidence though and if there’s already negativity towards Levein results like this won’t help, especially as a toxic atmosphere can creep in with fans getting edgy and on players backs for every small mistake.

Plus it’s arbroath, the day I don’t have a wee smile at Hearts losing to them is the day I give up.

The Hertz fans got to see a team wear maroon win today. Whats to be negative about?😉

29-06-2019, 06:32 PM
Couldn't resist having a look at Kickback...this comment is a cracker :greengrin:faf::faf:

"l prefer it when we have a rubbish preseason and getting beat most games as is usually means a good season when it matters. Players learn more from getting beat and preseason is to get rid of the rustiness and iron out any deficiencies. Actual results mean very little at this stage but then everyone knows that........! "

"Players learn more from getting beat" The Jambos must have learned a lot at the end of last season then :greengrin

That's on a par with "Conceding the first goal takes away the fear of conceding the first goal"

You definitely do learn alot more from losing, that is true.

29-06-2019, 06:36 PM
A wee bit of unexpected joy for the weekend, love it.

29-06-2019, 06:44 PM

Nah, only stupid wee diddy teams lose to the likes of Arbroath.

29-06-2019, 06:49 PM
To be fair its a nothing game but good to see hearts getting off to a flyer 😂

29-06-2019, 06:53 PM

absolutely

29-06-2019, 06:57 PM

Agree and also making sure you don't lose to diddy teams. :greengrin

29-06-2019, 07:10 PM
All the goals on here, for the neutral, Arbroath are in maroon

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/11751524/arbroath-beat-hearts-in-friendly

29-06-2019, 07:42 PM
Somewhere in Bulgaria there will be an Arbroath fan on a balcony
crying tears of joy right now.

29-06-2019, 07:45 PM
They will be about 6th or 7th next season.

Their squad is better than that but Levein is a loser of a manager they will end up struggling to make the top 6.

I think their first competitive game of the season is home to Dundee Utd. If they lose that the wheels could come off for Levein and it won't be pretty.

29-06-2019, 07:46 PM

Always remember Rangers used to go up north to play 3-4 friendlies against weaker teams, reasons given if I remember was that it allowed the team to win games for confidence and let the striker bag a good few goals so as when the league started they were full of confidence

29-06-2019, 08:00 PM
Somewhere in Bulgaria there will be an Arbroath fan on a balcony
crying tears of joy right now.

I'm heading down to Tynecastle now.

Just to stand on that Piazza and show my appreciation for another loss. Just to clap. Alone.

29-06-2019, 08:08 PM

Just to stand on that Piazza and show my appreciation for another loss. Just to clap. Alone.

Is it possible to clap with one hand while admiring the glass ex goldbergs

29-06-2019, 09:19 PM
They're just getting the fear of being beaten by a wee team in maroon out of the way early by getting beat by a wee team in maroon.

Doctor football knows what's going on, he'll be blinding Mrs. Doctor Budge with a technical explanation of it all now. Bloody hope so, we need him on the inside.

Weegreenman
29-06-2019, 09:44 PM
There’s no such a thing as a nothing game. I want Hibs to win every game we play and if we don’t then I’m miserable about it no matter if it’s a kick about friendly or not. Get it right round those big time charlies! Hopefully this is the first of many daggers to the heart for them this season :cb :flag:

29-06-2019, 09:51 PM
Hearts were so unlucky they hit the bar you know :greengrin

29-06-2019, 09:56 PM
The day I stop taking pleasure from that mob losing is the day I draw my last breath. ****ing Arbroath hahahahahahahahahahaha Arbroath for **** sake.

29-06-2019, 09:59 PM
Pre-season friendly results are generally meaningless but if the Duncans have been getting on Levein’s back then that is deeply satisfying.

dchibs
29-06-2019, 10:11 PM
Pre-season friendly results are generally meaningless but if the Duncans have been getting on Levein’s back then that is deeply satisfying.

Yip they Duncaned it😂

29-06-2019, 10:35 PM
The Duncan’s do seem to have been getting on his back and going by the photos in today’s paper it looks like Dr football has had a blue rinse put in his hair.
https://twitter.com/record_sport/status/1144850483707817994?s=21

30-06-2019, 05:45 AM
Is it possible to clap with one hand while admiring the glass ex goldbergs[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]knew it reminded me of somewhere

30-06-2019, 07:04 AM
You definitely do learn alot more from losing, that is true.

You learn how deluded the Yams are

jax67
30-06-2019, 07:05 AM
Nothing should be read into these pre-season friendlies. Arbroath probably fielded a mixture of youth and fringe players and were just trying to build up their match fitness.

Geez!! In that case if Arbroath had played a full strength eleven, it might have been 7-0

30-06-2019, 07:34 AM
We'd be embarrassed and annoyed at losing like that irrelevant of what team was out. To try and say it's fitness,as a few of the yams have should have them worried. Arbroath fitter than Hertz. It is only s kickabout after all but funny neverless.

30-06-2019, 07:45 AM
To be fair, pre-season games are just about the players getting their fitness levels up to where they should be, so we shouldn't be too harsh on Arbroath for only scoring 2.

30-06-2019, 07:46 AM

Yep. Arbroath will be relieved not to have lost to this particular diddy team

30-06-2019, 10:21 AM
I think folk are being a wee bit disrespectful towards Arbroath.

They're not a glamorous club but they won their league at a canter last season. We've lost a few competitive fixtures to teams from that league.

If it was Falkirk, Raith, Dunfermline or one of the bigger teams who have been in that league then it wouldn't be as funny.

I mean, it is funny. But they've had a good few results worse than that in recent years. It was a pre-season kick about away to a team from the league below. The most ridiculous thing about it is the over-reaction from a good few of them the same week that they've signed some good players.

30-06-2019, 11:05 AM
Apparently the solo plaza clapper has moved on

30-06-2019, 11:07 AM
What do you actually learn when you lose a game against a team from the lower leagues?

It gets spouted out as a cliche all the time it happens, but i'm ****ed if i know what i'd learn from it other than we were pish and had not prepared or taken them serious enough?

30-06-2019, 11:07 AM
Is it just me that, upon hearing the name Arbroath, immediately thinks of Francie and Josie (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vK65dPpbVs)?

30-06-2019, 12:09 PM
What do you actually learn when you lose a game against a team from the lower leagues?

It gets spouted out as a cliche all the time it happens, but i'm ****ed if i know what i'd learn from it other than we were pish and had not prepared or taken them serious enough?

I learned that hearts continue to be ****ing hilarious.

30-06-2019, 12:46 PM
Hearts were so unlucky they hit the bar you know :greengrin

Was that before or after they lost to Arbroath?

elevengoats
30-06-2019, 01:11 PM
The 'Bust' part of Hearts Boom-Bust Cycle has started early this season I see. :D

Todi114
30-06-2019, 04:16 PM
Declaration of Arbroath
hearts are *****

30-06-2019, 04:37 PM

😂😂😂👏

I remember that quote. Right after the heroic performance in the Scottish cup final (which they lost, again). Hickey was the new Tierney and some of the yams were asking in the players were coming back to the stadium so they could show appreciation for a cup final loss, relegation form in this calendar year and 6th place finish (technically 7th as less points than St Johnstone).

Kiwidoug on kickback was beside himself with pride and emotion, so proud, very very proud 😂😂😂😂

Losers, every single one of them 🏆

30-06-2019, 04:46 PM
What a shower of Duncans

30-06-2019, 04:58 PM
What a shower of Duncans

:agree: Proper Duncans.

HibbyDave
30-06-2019, 05:08 PM
Duncan make yer gairden grow.

01-07-2019, 12:05 AM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/applications/core/interface/imageproxy/imageproxy.php?img=https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/48163469296_16fb5ae0af_b.jpg&key=fd554b544b00aff440def4961579b56f149b500cc876d5 d9a668af351a72236a

Levein raging.

01-07-2019, 12:54 AM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/applications/core/interface/imageproxy/imageproxy.php?img=https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/48163469296_16fb5ae0af_b.jpg&key=fd554b544b00aff440def4961579b56f149b500cc876d5 d9a668af351a72236a

Levein raging.

Look at the state of them 😂😂😂

01-07-2019, 03:19 AM

My yam mate who is at the game messaged me saying Levein has been getting dogs abuse and nothing looks like it has changed. Same old hoofball tactics.

I'm getting to the stage now where I really hate seeing bad news for Potter - obviously I accept that he will leave them at some point but right now when it comes to him and them, I'm like a bairn at Christmas - I just never want it to end !! He's given us so many special/golden moments thanks to his mouth and his team's performances, he'll be really hard for them to replace ..............................

01-07-2019, 06:00 AM

Levein raging.

"Hoof!"

01-07-2019, 06:04 AM

Levein raging.

I like these photos because they remind me of 'what the beautiful people are wearing this summer'

Check out the 2 rows of fans behind the dug out to see what I mean

01-07-2019, 06:09 AM

Levein raging.

The fans above the dugout look well impressed with the new look Hearts team!

01-07-2019, 06:33 AM
That photo reminded me of this:

01-07-2019, 07:51 AM
Just another bunch of haddies getting smoked in Arbroath.

01-07-2019, 08:03 AM

The woman in the pink top is clearly thinking to herself "what the **** is this"? :greengrin

01-07-2019, 08:58 AM

levein raging.

"What's the hibs score?"

01-07-2019, 09:42 AM
Just another bunch of haddies getting smoked in Arbroath.
Memories of good times had in Arbroath. Fingers smelling of fish for days after.

01-07-2019, 09:58 AM
The DR has a full page on Hawrts today. The Arbroath game isn't mentioned. Airbrushed from history already!

01-07-2019, 10:53 AM

That picture of Brown is brilliant. :faf:

01-07-2019, 11:21 AM

There is no fruit or sunlight in Gorgie and here are the results.

01-07-2019, 01:19 PM
even the wee laddie in the second row with the glasses is thinking, WTF am I doing here? could be readin ma dads scud mags.

01-07-2019, 01:21 PM
I like these photos because they remind me of 'what the beautiful people are wearing this summer'

Check out the 2 rows of fans behind the dug out to see what I mean

Aye, the lass with a guy's head attached to her shoulder - like some mutant out of futurama.

01-07-2019, 01:26 PM
That pishy Foulkes in the sunglasses?

01-07-2019, 01:32 PM

Levein raging.

Never knew Boris Yeltsin’s sister was a Yam either......😄

01-07-2019, 02:54 PM
The woman in the pink top is clearly thinking to herself "what the **** is this"? :greengrin

You did better than I did at figuring that one out.

01-07-2019, 02:59 PM
If Naismith gets injured early doors this season. Dr football could be out a job. Without him in the team they are useless.

01-07-2019, 03:00 PM

Levein raging.

Austin McPhee hoping a passing truck will stop and give him a lift home. Anyone, even Rutger Hauer, would be a more enjoyable journey.

01-07-2019, 03:10 PM
If Naismith gets injured early doors this season. Dr football could be out a job. Without him in the team they are useless.

Craig Leveins future in football management depends on a injury prone player in his mid 30s you say? It’s all a bit of a laugh really isn’t it?

01-07-2019, 05:24 PM

Has he signed for them yet?

01-07-2019, 05:29 PM
Shelbourne 5/1 v Leveins Losers tonight.

01-07-2019, 05:30 PM

They play in Ireland's second tier which you would imagine is probably about League 2 / Lowland League standard in Scotland.

Would be absolutely hilarious if it happened but i can't see it.

01-07-2019, 05:31 PM

Its the kind of thing I usually put on then get doubly pissed off when they win. Much rather the pleasant surprise of Arbroath. (Still got a fiver on at 5s mind)

01-07-2019, 05:31 PM

That's still one of my favourite photos.

01-07-2019, 05:34 PM

No. Read today it could be August before he signs as Norwich are still due him a months wages.

01-07-2019, 05:58 PM
No. Read today it could be August before he signs as Norwich are still due him a months wages.

He must have signed a pre contract for them to be so sure? No pre season training until aug to get a few quid as a millionaire also when injury prone sounds brutal too.

01-07-2019, 05:59 PM
They play in Ireland's second tier which you would imagine is probably about League 2 / Lowland League standard in Scotland.

Didn’t the beat Aberdeen and play the huns about 10 years ago?

wallpaperman
01-07-2019, 06:09 PM

Nah, he seems to be holding off due to some extra payment or other due from Norwich, or he could be playing them for chumps.

01-07-2019, 06:15 PM
Memories of good times had in Arbroath. Fingers smelling of fish for days after.

What was her name?

Probably one to avoid on Wednesday 😉

Kavinho
01-07-2019, 08:46 PM
Didn’t the beat Aberdeen and play the huns about 10 years ago?

Pretty sure they got quite far in the Europa League back then.

Maybe a game against a Spanish top flight side? Depor maybe ?

01-07-2019, 08:53 PM
Finished 7-0 unfortunately it was for hearts.

01-07-2019, 09:05 PM

0-7 Has a better ring to it!

😁👍🏾⚽️🏆🇳🇬

01-07-2019, 09:12 PM

I never got involved, it was the 5/1 that would've made it comical. I was quite happy to pile onto Algeria just short of EVS HT-FT.

Backed Senegal HT-FT too, what a shocking effort of a pen in the first half (just realised it was Mane), probably justice though. Backed Senegal @ EVS for the same stake in the 2nd half so, nae harm done.

01-07-2019, 09:14 PM
What was her name?

Probably one to avoid on Wednesday 😉

Johanna West. 😀

01-07-2019, 10:12 PM

wonder if the travelling jambos struck up any wee friendly ditties about being up to their knees in fenian blood

01-07-2019, 10:14 PM

Meaningless friendly.

1875godsgift
01-07-2019, 11:47 PM
I'm getting to the stage now where I really hate seeing bad news for Potter - obviously I accept that he will leave them at some point but right now when it comes to him and them, I'm like a bairn at Christmas - I just never want it to end !! He's given us so many special/golden moments into his mouth and his team's performances, he'll be really hard for them to replace ..............................

Who? Gary Locke?

03-07-2019, 11:19 PM

A few posters looking a tad silly now eh.

03-07-2019, 11:27 PM

Good job you’re here to bump the thread and call them out eh?

I know it’s boring not when folk call you a Jambo on here, and we know you’re not, but you don’t do yourself any favours bumping threads like this.

03-07-2019, 11:36 PM
Good job you’re here to bump the thread and call them out eh?

I know it’s boring not when folk call you a Jambo on here, and we know you’re not, but you don’t do yourself any favours bumping threads like this.

If I didn't bump it another one of our resident cynics would have. I was saving them the trouble. :aok:

03-07-2019, 11:38 PM
If I didn't bump it another one of our resident cynics would have. I was saving them the trouble. :aok:

Hooray.

03-07-2019, 11:40 PM
Hooray.

Hib Hib Hooray!

04-07-2019, 12:27 AM
We'll still finish above that lot again by a decent few points.

Mr Grieves
04-07-2019, 06:38 AM

If I'm not mistaken, you called someone out for attention seeking nonsense on another thread and yet here you are with this crap.

04-07-2019, 07:02 AM
If I'm not mistaken, you called someone out for attention seeking nonsense on another thread and yet here you are with this crap.

The best part is when he acts all indignant when someone calls him out on it.

Barman Stanton
04-07-2019, 07:26 AM

Which your gutted about i'm sure :rolleyes:

04-07-2019, 08:46 AM
Persistent abject trolling. And boring.

04-07-2019, 08:51 AM

To quote you from another thread.

What do you want? A big fat congratulations? Look at me look at me!