View Full Version : Media Roger Mitchell takes a swipe at Hibs and Heckingbottom

26-06-2019, 11:12 AM
https://t.co/u3obaHk87B

26-06-2019, 11:13 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1143808847070605312

26-06-2019, 11:18 AM
Comparing signing Doidge to when we signed George Best (in a negative way). What an attention seeking dinosaur living in the past.

Barman Stanton
26-06-2019, 11:19 AM
Is he not part of the regime that completely f**** up Scottish football by ballsing up the tv deal? If so then the irony is high with this one.

26-06-2019, 11:20 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/acceptance-of-drivel-former-spl-chief-in-astonishing-twitter-criticism-of-hibs-1-4954341

I’ll tell what was drivel Roger - your tenure of SPFL and forcing clubs to unnecessarily rip up terraces and install a minimum of 10,000 seats to play in top flight, and the less said about tour great idea in throwing out a perfectly good SKy TV deal the better. :clown:

26-06-2019, 11:23 AM
An obnoxious moron who thinks Celtic and Rangers are the only two clubs in Scotland. Not worth getting worked up about he's as irrelevant now as he was then.

26-06-2019, 11:28 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/acceptance-of-drivel-former-spl-chief-in-astonishing-twitter-criticism-of-hibs-1-4954341

I’ll tell what was drivel Roger - your tenure of SPFL and forcing clubs to unnecessarily rip up terraces and install a minimum of 10,000 seats to play in top flight, and the less said about tour great idea in throwing out a perfectly good SKy TV deal the better. :clown:
He's a knob and about as relevant to Hibs and Scottish football today as Ernie Walker. His tenure was filled with disasters from start to finish. He is an expert in drivel though

26-06-2019, 11:30 AM
The guys a moron.

His comparison of us spending £250K on a player now to signing an over the hill George Best 40 years ago is just bizarre.

Did he not essentially accuse Leigh Griffiths of making up his mental health issues fairly recently?

26-06-2019, 11:30 AM

Roger Who?

26-06-2019, 11:31 AM
Naw, he’s right, until we sign De Gea it’s all drivel.

What a complete roaster.

26-06-2019, 11:34 AM
Yep he did remark re Griffiths problems think he insinuated that he was at it.The man is a twat of the highest degree.

26-06-2019, 11:35 AM
An attention seeking no mark?

What were his statements of intent when he was involved with the SPL and how well did they work out?

McSwanky
26-06-2019, 11:36 AM
Best ignored. From the Piers Morgan school of saying something controversial in the hope it gets you some publicity.

vuefrom1875
26-06-2019, 11:37 AM
An obnoxious moron who thinks Celtic and Rangers are the only two clubs in Scotland. Not worth getting worked up about he's as irrelevant now as he was then.

A nonentity, and a failed one,best ignored.

26-06-2019, 11:41 AM
Is he not part of the regime that completely f**** up Scottish football by ballsing up the tv deal? If so then the irony is high with this one.

As well as bankrupting clubs making them have 10k capacity stadiums.

26-06-2019, 11:42 AM
Never heard of the guy - worrying if he was supposed to be leading the way forward for Scottish Football.

26-06-2019, 11:43 AM
Anyone currently or previously involved in Scottish football administration's views shouldn't be taken seriously.

delbert
26-06-2019, 12:01 PM

The man who turned down £51 million from Sky in order to accept £6 million from Setanta, yes let’s listen to him !! ****ing cockwomble !!

26-06-2019, 12:06 PM
Who is he ? A nobody, yesterday's man. A complete clown. Who asked him for us opinion anyway? No mark.

26-06-2019, 12:39 PM
The guys is an attention seeking nobody.

Best ignored. He talks some utter drivel!

26-06-2019, 12:47 PM
What team does that dildo support I wonder?

Didn't Rangers sign some young centre back from Oldham recently? Where will the demeaning madness end!?!

wpj
26-06-2019, 01:09 PM
No doubt knocking one out in a darkened room after reading replies to his cutting edge comments on twatter

26-06-2019, 01:30 PM
Guys a complete dick

26-06-2019, 01:30 PM
Embarrassing. Is it any wonder Scottish football became such a mess with idiot incompetents like this at the helm?

Never heard of a club in the English football league?Never heard of a guy who managed in the Championship? Showing exactly the sort of ignorance and contempt English fans usually show to the Scottish game. What's more the man was an unmitigated disaster during his involvement in our league.

egb_hibs
26-06-2019, 01:37 PM
Hard to believe he could be quoted on that without any challenge based on transfer fees and thus targets being determined by TV revenue. And the size of that revenue is to this day a bequest of...

7 Up
26-06-2019, 01:44 PM
Clown.

HFC93
26-06-2019, 01:48 PM
“All from the team that once brought us George Best. Which WAS a real statement.”

I love that George Best and the fact he was a Hibs player but did we not end up relegated?

Robinho08
26-06-2019, 01:51 PM
He blocked me on Twitter. 😂

26-06-2019, 01:55 PM
So, we just do what Old Co. did and starve the NHS of funds by not paying the due tax on salaries or what Hertz did by signing players they could nof afford and get a High Ranking politician, now under investigation, to worm their way out of finnancial ruin, and all is alright. No, this club lives within its mean. So Rodger and out ya clown. Away and join Boris' team he needs more buffoon's.

26-06-2019, 02:20 PM
I genuinely couldn't remember who this guy was until I read thus thread. He's an absolute nobody these days.

EI255
26-06-2019, 02:24 PM
What a size 10 twat.

Stay away from Hibs you muppet.

26-06-2019, 02:28 PM
I recognise him now.

So that's what Mrs. Doubtfire looks like without the wig.

26-06-2019, 03:14 PM
When the split was introduced he assured a press conference that no club would ever get a 20/18 away/home split of games. Anyone with any prowess at arithmetic could see that was not so. The man's a failure. I assume he's out of work and trying to get attention?

26-06-2019, 03:27 PM
He's best ignored. Just trying to be controversial to be noticed

26-06-2019, 03:32 PM
Who.

26-06-2019, 03:40 PM
Prize roaster.

26-06-2019, 04:16 PM
He's irrelevant. Best ignored.

ben johnson
26-06-2019, 04:21 PM
It really does show up the what standard of professionals run our game in this country
Here we have an ex top of the tree admin man ignoring a very basic rule of marketing
Talk up your product and enthuse your customer base
Barry Hearn was correct in his summing up of the jokers who get a cushy job and don’t do enough to justify the money they receive.
We are trying to fill our stadium and why someone should come along and put a negative spin on Hibs actions is hard to understand

26-06-2019, 04:24 PM
He's irrelevant. Best ignored.

Is he the wee guy that looks like Leo Sayer with glasses

ben johnson
26-06-2019, 04:27 PM
Is he the wee guy that looks like Leo Sayer with glasses
Funnily enough Leo Sayer started out wearing a full clowns face and costume so they have a lot in common

ben johnson
26-06-2019, 04:52 PM
Michell tweeted this after watching CL
Juve v Barca

Magnificent game. Some absolute touches of class. I've never understood how people can be satisfied by their local fare after watching this.

26-06-2019, 04:57 PM
Roger Who?

Not kidding, my first thought was 'who the sweary word is Roger Mitchell?'

hibbydog
26-06-2019, 05:05 PM
Best ignored. From the Piers Morgan school of saying something controversial in the hope it gets you some publicity.

Excellent point. File him next to Piers Morgan and Katie Hopkins

HFC93
26-06-2019, 05:09 PM
It really does show up the what standard of professionals run our game in this country
Here we have an ex top of the tree admin man ignoring a very basic rule of marketing
Talk up your product and enthuse your customer base
Barry Hearn was correct in his summing up of the jokers who get a cushy job and don’t do enough to justify the money they receive.
We are trying to fill our stadium and why someone should come along and put a negative spin on Hibs actions is hard to understand

Absolutely, the fact that this guy was Chief Executive of the SPL is depressing.

26-06-2019, 05:13 PM
The real problem is that drivel like him were executives.

26-06-2019, 05:14 PM
Michell tweeted this after watching CL
Juve v Barca

Magnificent game. Some absolute touches of class. I've never understood how people can be satisfied by their local fare after watching this.

Absolutely, the fact that this guy was Chief Executive of the SPL is depressing.

Giving big jobs to people who think like this is a huge part of why the game in Scotland isn't doing better.

I say isn't doing better - it does appear to be improving, but it seems to be in spit of erses like this.

Anyone seen the photo of Doncaster and the Tunnocks tin pot trophy draw? It is pretty funny.

26-06-2019, 05:23 PM
Who's Roger Mitchell and why should I care what he says?

26-06-2019, 05:33 PM

We should care what he says, because this is what we in Scotland promote to the top job in the country, and are continuing now to this very day.

We never learn.

26-06-2019, 05:37 PM

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/exclusive-scottish-football-no-longer-10130604

26-06-2019, 05:50 PM
Well, if the blazers had managed to negotiate a decent TV deal, we would all have more money to compete at the top of the transfer market. If they had put in place a decent coaching network we would be developing more Scottish talent as well.

The clubs can only do so much.

26-06-2019, 05:59 PM
He's ranting away now about apathy, fans wanting European runs and lack of ambition.

Firstly there is no apathy at Hibs; if he had a clue about what was going on he'd be well aware Hibs fans are as engaged as they have been for decades. Secondly the inability to compete in Europe beyond Christmas is at least in part because of the financial crisis he had a major hand in creating. It's also worth making the point that when we allow people who actively talk down our game and encourage people to turn their back on their local teams to reach the upper echelons of power in our game then it's little wonder apathy and lack of ambition can creep in.

26-06-2019, 06:11 PM
Roger let his club die and then watched Hibs David Gray the reincarnation.

Seems a bitter man.

26-06-2019, 06:17 PM
The only man whose character on "only an excuse" was more competent and believable than the real thing. ****ing Dickleburgh who still is unwilling to accept that he is one of the main reasons why even the OF can't compete financially with English championship clubs and the rest of us struggle to compete with clubs below that. Does he even have a real job now? If so christ knows how with his previous track record

26-06-2019, 07:18 PM
Attention Deficit Disorder

Tomsk
26-06-2019, 09:08 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/exclusive-scottish-football-no-longer-10130604

Roger Mitchell and Richard Keys in the same room at the same time - the needle on the ********ometer must have been off the dial.

Keys doesn't know what Rangers were so guilty off that they were sent down to the bottom tier. Nobody can tell him. Eh, Dick - is it ok if I call you Dick - maybe nobody can tell you because it never happened. Rangers ceased to exist and then another team called Rangers was fast-tracked into the league to take their place.

Oh, and by the way the old Rangers were only guilty of one thing - industrial level cheating for about 10 years. Happy to help, Dick.

sauzee=legend
26-06-2019, 10:06 PM
Make it simple...

The guy is just a d*ck!!!

26-06-2019, 10:09 PM
What a prick. Best ignored.

26-06-2019, 10:15 PM
We won't fall further than having a trumpet like this in charge. It must have a gas bill due.

26-06-2019, 10:15 PM
He was an arse when he was in charge of Scottish football and he’s still an arse now. ****ing clown.

27-06-2019, 08:33 AM
Roger Who?

I think it was Daltrey. Funny looking guy; big eyes, big nose and curly blondish hair.

27-06-2019, 09:12 AM
Scary to think this guy was runing the SPL. Who gave him the gig? He should be brought to task and caned on a gantry in the middle of St Andrews square

27-06-2019, 10:38 AM
Forest Green Rovers have been one of the most high profile clubs in the UK outside of the usual suspects in the last 5 years because of the way they operate off the pitch and yet this guy who at one time helped run a national football organisation allegedly hasn't heard of them … that's all anybody needs to know when assessing his suitability for the job he was in or his right to comment on Scottish football, or Hibs for that matter, in 2019.

Our game has slowly begun to recover from the insanity it went through with the likes of him in charge. Its precisely because we don't spend stupid money we don't have in luxury players that so many clubs made it through the last 10 years … its why a relatively modest sum of £250,000 is worthy of comment these days, because if Hibs are spending that its because we can afford to, not because we have begged, borrowed or stolen the money.

Thankfully Scottish football doesn't need any input from failures like Roger Mitchell.

27-06-2019, 11:24 AM
So he's basically saying the best players in the world have to start out their careers at Barcelona and such like.

27-06-2019, 11:38 AM
He must have been incandescent when we signed Ivan Sproule from Institute.

"Never 'eard of 'em. He's sheite"

27-06-2019, 11:55 AM
It's even more baffling that he uses George Best as a good example

27-06-2019, 04:15 PM
It's even more baffling that he uses George Best as a good example

He’s going to be raging when Killie don’t sign Neymar.

Green_one
27-06-2019, 06:36 PM
He’s going to be raging when Killie don’t sign Neymar.

So I have gone from - who is he? To

He is a knob.

Not really worth my time A nonentity wrapped in a turd

27-06-2019, 06:41 PM
He was an utter, utter failure with the SPL; I would have run a long way away from Scottish footie if I'd been him, but clearly the man has
no self-awareness or contrition whatsoever.
By definition, we are way better off without him.
Meybes he's raging because he's now a nothing.

27-06-2019, 09:15 PM
Before now I didn’t know who Roger Mitchel was and he does seem like a prize bell end.

That said, I am slightly concerned about our signings so far.

I’m just not convinced that league two and below players can cut it in the SPL.

27-06-2019, 09:18 PM
Before now I didn’t know who Roger Mitchel was and he does seem like a prize bell end.

That said, I am slightly concerned about our signings so far.

I’m just not convinced that league two and below players can cut it in the SPL.

Roger, Roger.

27-06-2019, 09:26 PM
Scary to think this guy was runing the SPL. Who gave him the gig? He should be brought to task and caned on a gantry in the middle of St Andrews square

Yes this idiot run our game. We still need to clear decks

AZhibee
27-06-2019, 09:28 PM
Who is Roger Mitchell?
Rhetorical question, don’t know who he is and don’t care.

27-06-2019, 11:38 PM
Who is Roger Mitchell?
Rhetorical question, don’t know who he is and don’t care.

He was the the CEO of the SPL back
In the early 2000s. Infamous for turning down what looked like a fantastic Sky deal for Setanta. Died by his sword. Only to resurface with this irrelevant pish.