View Full Version : Climate change protests

AugustaHibs
17-06-2019, 05:11 PM
****ing idiots. Doesn’t do anything to help the cause. Half of them are students who were born with a silver spoon up their arse.

17-06-2019, 05:19 PM
****ing idiots. Doesn’t do anything to help the cause. Half of them are students who were born with a silver spoon up their arse.And blocking an ambulance that was attending an emergency, ****ing muppets 🤬

17-06-2019, 05:23 PM
Why the **** don’t the police arrest them? Aresholes.

17-06-2019, 05:27 PM
Why the **** don’t the police arrest them? Aresholes.

That’s what I couldn’t work out. The vids on the forth1 Twitter, looks like they could easily have been moved. Chained arm to arm, but not to anything else. Move the two of them at once. Easy.

AugustaHibs
17-06-2019, 05:32 PM
Imagine it was football fans causing that much f an inconvenience to the public....

17-06-2019, 05:33 PM
Long time until they're back at uni, hope their protests aren't the cause of a tragedy.

17-06-2019, 06:35 PM
Absolute bell ends, send in the riot polis to baton charge them and give them a good kicking.

17-06-2019, 06:54 PM
Nothing encourages folk to use public transport like disrupting folk's use of public transport.

17-06-2019, 07:52 PM
Ask yourself this guys... if there was an asteroid on course to hit the planet in 2050 and government(s) were indifferent to finding a solution... would you support protesters causing maximum disruption to raise awareness?

Most climate change research suggests runaway climate change is on track to hit the threshold at this point. The devastation will be comparable.

I'm not a member of Extinction Rebellion or protesting myself but I understand and ultimately support what they are doing. I think what you see today is the tip of the iceberg and in the coming years these type of protests will only become bigger and more frequent.

17-06-2019, 07:54 PM
Ask yourself this guys... if there was an asteroid on course to hit the planet in 2050 and government(s) were indifferent to finding a solution... would you support protesters causing maximum disruption to raise awareness?

Most climate change research suggests runaway climate change is on track to hit the threshold at this point. The devastation will be comparable.

I'm not a member of Extinction Rebellion or protesting myself but I understand and ultimately support what they are doing. I think what you see today is the tip of the iceberg and in the coming years these type of protests will only become bigger and more frequent.I ask you this, if you had a relative that was critically ill and the ambulance was held up by these brainless ****wits how would you feel ?

17-06-2019, 08:04 PM
I ask you this, if you had a relative that was critically ill and the ambulance was held up by these brainless ****wits how would you feel ?

I'd feel the same as anyone else in that situation. Doesn't change the facts though. Any large scale protest or road closure for any other reason could ultimately create a delay in someone receiving treatment.

17-06-2019, 08:04 PM
I agree with their message but their means of getting it out there appear to be having the opposite effect from what their aim should be.

They are just making themselves targets for peoples ire and as such there is a general air of '****ing idiots, I'm not listening to them.'

17-06-2019, 08:08 PM

I'm not a member of Extinction Rebellion or protesting myself but I understand and ultimately support what they are doing. I think what you see today is the tip of the iceberg and in the coming years these type of protests will only become bigger and more frequent.

I have a certain amount of sympathy with their cause, despite being delayed twice today.

However in protesting about climate change have they considered the extra pollution the protest is causing? Own goal?

They're protesting about oil companies. How many oil company people are based in Edinburgh? I'm not sure there's any. So effect on oil companies nil, effect on the population of Edinburgh - enough to turn many against their cause. Own goal at best, probably a sending off too.

The representatives I've heard on the radio don't have local accents, not even Scottish. How did these people get here? I hope it wasn't courtesy of fossil fuels! Another own goal?

It's a protest that fails on so many levels. They're lucky they achieved nil!

17-06-2019, 08:11 PM
I agree with their message but their means of getting it out there appear to be having the opposite effect from what their aim should be.

They are just making themselves targets for peoples ire and as such there is a general air of '****ing idiots, I'm not listening to them.'

I think the people behind the protests have concluded there is no good way of getting the message out there... peaceful protest wouldn't create any attention and hasn't worked until now. I don't think there is an alternative form of protest at this critical stage.

17-06-2019, 08:13 PM
I'd feel the same as anyone else in that situation. Doesn't change the facts though. Any large scale protest or road closure for any other reason could ultimately create a delay in someone receiving treatment.Of course it doesn't change the facts but acting like selfish ****ing tits doesn't garner support either and just creates anger, bearing in mind that they are more than likely pissing off folk that actually support their cause. Why didn't they protest outside the Scottish parliament ?

17-06-2019, 08:18 PM

If protest of this kind continue then more and more people will turn against these people and away from the cause they’re championing. If they try it again I hope the police wade in and arrest and charge every single one of them. There’s ways to try and change government policy and this isn’t one of them. The Scottish government has already declared a climate emergency and plans to be carbon neutral in the near future. What more do these people want?

17-06-2019, 08:19 PM
I hear Venus doesn't have any issues with traffic. Perhaps all of the angry dads in their cars should move there instead, seeing as extreme global warming isn't an issue for them.

whiskas
17-06-2019, 08:32 PM
I had to take a detour on my bicycle, the irony was t completely lost on me!
Also the “protest” appeared to be a handful of middle-aged Hippies joined together with loo roll

17-06-2019, 08:34 PM
How do you get the government to change things?

You get the people angry.

Are people angry about climate change and joining in? No really. A wee bit, but not really.

Will people get angrier and angrier with the protesters if it keeps happening? Absolutely.

How do you stop the protestors?

Make the government wake up and realise the reality and change their ways.

Then you have happy protestors and a happy population.

So far peaceful and non disruptive movements haven’t achieved anything.

So what are people’s suggestions in terms of changing things?
Because the status quo is not working.

People say, ‘it’s not the way to get people on board with your message’

No it’s not. But neither is what has come before.
So does it matter if folk are getting on board? Not really.

People just want them gone.

Declaring a climate emergency whilst simultaneously allowing Total to start ripping oil/gas out of the north sea doesn’t seem like the govt are taking things seriously.

17-06-2019, 08:47 PM
I hear Venus doesn't have any issues with traffic. Perhaps all of the angry dads in their cars should move there instead, seeing as extreme global warming isn't an issue for them.

Earth will end up exactly the same as Venus if not worse. Nothing the human race do will be able to stop that.

17-06-2019, 08:48 PM
If they had protested outside the parliament with a little banner and chanted a bit nobody would have paid a blind bit of notice of them.
Their protests over the last few weeks have been a runaway success if forcing climate change up the agenda.
Good on them I say.

17-06-2019, 08:51 PM
If they had protested outside the parliament with a little banner and chanted a bit nobody would have paid a blind bit of notice of them.
Their protests over the last few weeks have been a runaway success if forcing climate change up the agenda.
Good on them I say.We (NHS) protested outside the parliament with our wee flags and banners and chanted and got our 9% wage rise, we didnt act like ****ing muppets by sitting on the road though

17-06-2019, 09:53 PM
Earth will end up exactly the same as Venus if not worse. Nothing the human race do will be able to stop that.

I agree it will happen eventually. But it hardly needs our help speeding the process up. Why make something happen in 100 years when it can take a billion years instead?

17-06-2019, 09:54 PM
We (NHS) protested outside the parliament with our wee flags and banners and chanted and got our 9% wage rise, we didnt act like ****ing muppets by sitting on the road though

There were considerably more people involved and the media were all over it like a rash. Which is a sad state of affairs really, when people care far more about obtaining paper rectangles than they do about sustaining life on this planet for generations to come.

17-06-2019, 09:57 PM
Whilst I sympathise with the cause, they're only alienating people from it.

17-06-2019, 09:59 PM
Whilst I sympathise with the cause, they're only alienating people from it.

What's worse. Raising awareness through alienation? Or not raising awareness at all?

If they have to force people to pay attention, then so be it.

17-06-2019, 10:08 PM
What's worse. Raising awareness through alienation? Or not raising awareness at all?

If they have to force people to pay attention, then so be it.

I think most folks are well aware that there is a big discussion on climate change. Some think it's man made, some think it's a naturally occurring warming up cycle, some think it's a mixture of both and some deny it completely. The Scottish government have even declared a climate emergency, a handful of attention seeking ****ers aren't going to win people over to the cause by chaining themselves together and disrupting traffic in the capital city of one of the countries leading the fight against climate change.

17-06-2019, 10:16 PM
I think most folks are well aware that there is a big discussion on climate change. Some think it's man made, some think it's a naturally occurring warming up cycle, some think it's a mixture of both and some deny it completely. The Scottish government have even declared a climate emergency, a handful of attention seeking ****ers aren't going to win people over to the cause by chaining themselves together and disrupting traffic in the capital city of one of the countries leading the fight against climate change.

I don't think they can win people over anyway, regardless of what they do. So the best they can do is piss people off about it until real changes are made. They're not trying to make friends here. They've tried that already and it hasn't worked. All they can do is try and force it through pressure instead. Nothing else has worked.

17-06-2019, 10:30 PM
I don't think they can win people over anyway, regardless of what they do. So the best they can do is piss people off about it until real changes are made. They're not trying to make friends here. They've tried that already and it hasn't worked. All they can do is try and force it through pressure instead. Nothing else has worked.

I think you may be overestimating the value of pissing people off to win them over for your cause. In fact I'd go as far as to say that logic makes no sense whatsoever.

17-06-2019, 10:32 PM
The suffragettes pissed a lot of people off, but if they hadn't, when would they have been given a vote?

Women in Portugal weren't allowed to vote until 1976! Saudi Arabia women voted for the first time in 2015!

When the UK would have changed the legislature if it wasn't for the suffragettes and Emily Davidson killing herself under the king's horse is anyone's guess.

Direct action is sometimes the only way to get heard.

17-06-2019, 10:33 PM
I think you may be overestimating the value of pissing people off to win them over for your cause. In fact I'd go as far as to say that logic makes no sense whatsoever.

My point is, they're not winning people over anyway, regardless of what they do. So why is it going to matter to them if they anger people now? It literally makes no difference what approach they take now.

I know you don't like it from the perspective of someone stuck in the traffic, but try seeing it from their perspective. They've got nothing else left that they can try.

17-06-2019, 10:45 PM
The suffragettes pissed a lot of people off, but if they hadn't, when would they have been given a vote?

Women in Portugal weren't allowed to vote until 1976! Saudi Arabia women voted for the first time in 2015!

When the UK would have changed the legislature if it wasn't for the suffragettes and Emily Davidson killing herself under the king's horse is anyone's guess.

These were all causes seeking recognition. The vast majority of people in Scotland already agree that there needs to be change and have voted in a government that is proactive in achieving that. In Scotland at least were beyond the need for recognition, education, law change and compliance is the way forward. All in my own opinion of course.

17-06-2019, 10:51 PM
These were all causes seeking recognition. The vast majority of people in Scotland already agree that there needs to be change and have voted in a government that is proactive in achieving that. In Scotland at least were beyond the need for recognition, education, law change and compliance is the way forward. All in my own opinion of course.

Women were 50% of the population so I think the issue was widely recognised.

Politicians are paying lip service to the climate change issue. They're too scared to make any meaningful changes because it will be costly.

My hope is that it's a natural cyclical phenomenon which will correct itself before it's too late for humanity because we're not going to do anything to remedy it until it's too late.

18-06-2019, 01:49 AM
I agree it will happen eventually. But it hardly needs our help speeding the process up. Why make something happen in 100 years when it can take a billion years instead?
The human race could never create a runaway greenhouse effect. We’d all be dead before we could get to within 10% of a runaway greenhouse effect and the planet would recover naturally without us. There’s an enormous difference between man made climate change and a runaway greenhouse effect. The planet can recover fairly easily from one and not the other.

18-06-2019, 01:54 AM

That would be relevant if the government wasn’t already taking action on the issue. Scotland could well be one of the first carbon neutral countries in the world. The suffragettes were fighting the government for something that was being unfairly denied to them.

18-06-2019, 06:02 AM
That would be relevant if the government wasn’t already taking action on the issue. Scotland could well be one of the first carbon neutral countries in the world. The suffragettes were fighting the government for something that was being unfairly denied to them.

Pretty much the point I made but I threw in some extra pish for effect.

18-06-2019, 06:56 AM
I have a certain amount of sympathy with their cause, despite being delayed twice today.

However in protesting about climate change have they considered the extra pollution the protest is causing? Own goal?

They're protesting about oil companies. How many oil company people are based in Edinburgh? I'm not sure there's any. So effect on oil companies nil, effect on the population of Edinburgh - enough to turn many against their cause. Own goal at best, probably a sending off too.

The representatives I've heard on the radio don't have local accents, not even Scottish. How did these people get here? I hope it wasn't courtesy of fossil fuels! Another own goal?

It's a protest that fails on so many levels. They're lucky they achieved nil!

Climate change is bigger than a few cars idling.

The effects of climate change will be the cause of the Wars our grandchildren will be fighting and dying in.

We have the technology now (wind, wave, tidal, solar, biomass), just no political will. This is our home we are talking about.

18-06-2019, 07:29 AM

Are they really taking it seriously?

This a government who wants indy, and as far as the last time went, based a huge proportion of their economic argument on selling oil and gas.

18-06-2019, 08:23 AM
There is no way we are taking this seriously enough. The Scottish govt is doing better than most but there is a lot more they can do. If it takes a bit of disruption to peoples lives then so be it.

18-06-2019, 08:46 AM
The human race could never create a runaway greenhouse effect. We’d all be dead before we could get to within 10% of a runaway greenhouse effect and the planet would recover naturally without us. There’s an enormous difference between man made climate change and a runaway greenhouse effect. The planet can recover fairly easily from one and not the other.

What difference does it make if we’re all dead? This isn’t about preventing runaway green house effects. It’s about preventing extinction.

18-06-2019, 09:21 AM
Surprised they're allowed to camp in the park.

18-06-2019, 09:23 AM
Wait till they block Eastfield road when everyone is trying to get to their summer holidays. [emoji23]

18-06-2019, 09:25 AM
Wait till they block Eastfield road when everyone is trying to get to their summer holidays. [emoji23]

It’ll be summer all year round soon enough so they can always choose another time.

18-06-2019, 10:11 AM

We're being denied a clean, healthy planet which has a future, and votes for women will be irrelevant if we don't stop killing it.

I know that some action is being taken, but I believe that because it's not seen as an immediate threat, people just aren't serious enough about the subject.

Slavers
18-06-2019, 11:51 AM
It’ll be summer all year round soon enough so they can always choose another time.

How will that be possible when we are about to enter a solar minimum? Less sun activity as recorded by NASA suggests were about to go into a new ice age.

18-06-2019, 11:56 AM
What difference does it make if we’re all dead? This isn’t about preventing runaway green house effects. It’s about preventing extinction.
You’re right, but using Venus as a comparison isn’t being helpful to the debate. People need to be given cold hard facts, but as is always the case in this sort of debate we have experts from every side of the argument giving wildly differing opinions to try and scare/reassure the general public in order to gain support for their own particular cause.

18-06-2019, 12:04 PM
We're being denied a clean, healthy planet which has a future, and votes for women will be irrelevant if we don't stop killing it.

I know that some action is being taken, but I believe that because it's not seen as an immediate threat, people just aren't serious enough about the subject.
When you say people are serious enough about it, which people do you mean? We live in a small country that’s doing more than most, while the biggest polluters on the planet bash on regardless doing practically nothing. We will eventually live in a carbon neutral country in Scotland and no matter how quickly we get there, without the will from the likes America and China were basically pissing against a hurricane.

18-06-2019, 12:11 PM
Are they really taking it seriously?

This a government who wants indy, and as far as the last time went, based a huge proportion of their economic argument on selling oil and gas.
I think they are. We can’t just stop selling oil and gas, but proceeds can be used to diversify into cleaner forms of energy.

18-06-2019, 12:13 PM

[emoji122]

Brexit? Meaningless.
Women’s votes? Meaningless
Men’s votes? Meaningless.
Hibs? Meaningless.

Nothing matters unless we ensure survival. It is a simple as that.

18-06-2019, 12:22 PM
If climate change doesnt get us something else will . The dinosaurs didnt have cars and electricity .. where are they now ?

18-06-2019, 12:29 PM
If climate change doesnt get us something else will . The dinosaurs didnt have cars and electricity .. where are they now ?

Running the country?

18-06-2019, 12:48 PM
When you say people are serious enough about it, which people do you mean? We live in a small country that’s doing more than most, while the biggest polluters on the planet bash on regardless doing practically nothing. We will eventually live in a carbon neutral country in Scotland and no matter how quickly we get there, without the will from the likes America and China were basically pissing against a hurricane.

I understand all that and you're right.

Climate change/the environment ranks well down the list of issues facing the country which the electorate think are the most important.

In this politico survey (https://www.politico.eu/article/poll-brexit-distracted-tories-lose-voter-trust-on-core-issues/), 17% of those polled in London listed it as one of the 3 most important issues, only 14% in Scotland did so.

Our politicians will focus their attention on the issues higher up the list and we've also got climate change deniers, so that's why I wish people thought it was more serious.

18-06-2019, 12:51 PM
You’re right, but using Venus as a comparison isn’t being helpful to the debate. People need to be given cold hard facts, but as is always the case in this sort of debate we have experts from every side of the argument giving wildly differing opinions to try and scare/reassure the general public in order to gain support for their own particular cause.

I’m not sure there are two sides of this debate anymore, if there is a second side it is tiny, and a lot smaller than before.

The issue is that people are aware, but they just don’t care.
Or they don’t care enough, if they did then we wouldn’t be talking about protestors

18-06-2019, 12:52 PM
I think they are. We can’t just stop selling oil and gas, but proceeds can be used to diversify into cleaner forms of energy.

Why can we not?

Because money talks.

18-06-2019, 01:00 PM
Why can we not?

Because money talks.
Because it would collapse the economy, leaving less money to bring in environmental changes.

18-06-2019, 01:15 PM
Climate change is bigger than a few cars idling.

The effects of climate change will be the cause of the Wars our grandchildren will be fighting and dying in.

We have the technology now (wind, wave, tidal, solar, biomass), just no political will. This is our home we are talking about.

Every little helps as they say.

In the same light you could say as an insignificant player in the global scheme of things and already doing more than most in the west, indeed almost anywhere, demonstrating in Edinburgh/Scotland is wasting everyone's time.

18-06-2019, 02:53 PM
Drove past them last night in my gas guzzling 3 litre diesel and gave them a wave. There was a mini stage set up and some sort of festival of music going on. Quite big on site police presence as well.

What did surprise me though was the sight of Oor Wullie sitting on his bucket planted right outside the Parliament building. Always was a wee rebel that one!!

19-06-2019, 11:13 AM
Because it would collapse the economy, leaving less money to bring in environmental changes.

Aye so money talks...

19-06-2019, 11:15 AM
For all those complaining about the protestors. Here is a petition petitioning the Scot Govt to make changes faster https://t.co/3OHU1vhFEz

19-06-2019, 11:17 AM
Aye so money talks...
Sadly it does.

19-06-2019, 12:24 PM
Imagine it was football fans causing that much f an inconvenience to the public....

That was my thoughts as well. If that was football fans it would be total outrage, front page headlines, jail sentences, brought up in parliament, new punishment laws proposed, arrests etc etc.

It would be headline scandal for weeks.

Get these absolute ****ing clowns to ****. Not only are they stopping ordinary folk going about there day to day business, they're stopping emergency services save lives. Clowns.

19-06-2019, 12:29 PM
Are we honestly comparing people who want to protect the planet with pished up football fans? :rolleyes:

19-06-2019, 02:07 PM
Are we honestly comparing people who want to protect the planet with pished up football fans? :rolleyes:

Looks like it. Absolutely astounding.

Fwiw football fans do hold up traffic regularly.