View Full Version : Hibs sold?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

14-06-2019, 10:06 AM
I am reading on twitter a few tweets saying Hibs have been sold. Anyone heard anything or just made up garbage?

14-06-2019, 10:11 AM
I am reading on twitter a few tweets saying Hibs have been sold. Anyone heard anything or just made up garbage?

See the rumours thread.

sean04
14-06-2019, 10:16 AM
Will it no just be rod petries shares that are bought out? Not sure how much of the club he has

14-06-2019, 10:17 AM
Will it no just be rod petries shares that are bought out? Not sure how much of the club he has

It was 10%, but that will have been diluted with the share issue to supporters.

sean04
14-06-2019, 10:20 AM
It was 10%, but that will have been diluted with the share issue to supporters.

How much does sir tom own?

14-06-2019, 10:21 AM

RP has 10% of the shares in HFC Holdings, which in turn has the majority shareholding in the club.

Any new investor would either be buying some or all of the shares from the holding company or possibly even new shares (but that would definitely require an EGM).

14-06-2019, 10:22 AM
Welcome our new overlords. Please be sheiks with billions. Replace Hull bound Hecky with Guus Hiddink and the world is our oyster.

14-06-2019, 10:26 AM

Link?

14-06-2019, 10:32 AM
Some rumour page on Facebook were claiming an 'American Consortium' were preparing a bid for Hibs the other day, probably stemmed from that 'Rumour'

14-06-2019, 10:33 AM
Welcome our new overlords. Please be sheiks with billions. Replace Hull bound Hecky with Guus Hiddink and the world is our oyster.

GUUSY'S AT THE WHEEL
TELL ME HOW, HOW DOES IT FEEL?....

Yeah that works

14-06-2019, 10:34 AM
I'm hearing JK Rowling. Apparently got fed up with the hubby going on and on about 'the famous' and glass curtains … final straw was him getting blood on a jersey she bought him for Christmas and her anger at it being dismissed because according to him 'its maroon hen, blood wont show on it'

Buying Hibs to teach him a lesson :greengrin

14-06-2019, 10:37 AM
GUUSY'S AT THE WHEEL

Yeah that works

😂😂 amazing.

sean04
14-06-2019, 10:39 AM
GUUSY'S AT THE WHEEL

Yeah that works

To have neymar, mbappe and gray, pogba and Leo messi

14-06-2019, 10:44 AM
If our new sponsor turns out to be Yodel then we've definitely been sold to the Barclays.

jax67
14-06-2019, 10:45 AM

All but Neymar! He’s no Hibs class.

14-06-2019, 10:46 AM
If our new sponsor turns out to be Yodel then we've definitely been sold to the Barclays.

Is that a Swiss consortium?

14-06-2019, 10:46 AM

Quality 😁

14-06-2019, 10:48 AM

:tee hee:.

14-06-2019, 10:51 AM
Tam McManus:

For the Hibs fans messaging me about potential big investment in the club from the 🇺🇸. Hearing it’s an Edinburgh businessman based over there. I heard the same thing a few days ago. I hope it is true as can only kick the club on.🤞🏻💚

14-06-2019, 10:53 AM
Tam McManus:

For the Hibs fans messaging me about potential big investment in the club from the 🇺🇸. Hearing it’s an Edinburgh businessman based over there. I heard the same thing a few days ago. I hope it is true as can only kick the club on.🤞🏻💚

Tam pretending to be in the know again, right on cue.

Heard about it a few days ago, only mentions it now though.

tonyrougier123
14-06-2019, 10:53 AM
Its true people the consortium is made up of myself,90+2,speedway and is fronted by hermit crab.I used my domino winnings to be a part of this amazing project.couldnae keep it to myself any longer 😉

Bleeds green
14-06-2019, 10:56 AM
Its true people the consortium is made up of myself,90+2,speedway and is fronted by hermit crab.I used my domino winnings to be a part of this amazing project.couldnae keep it to myself any longer 😉

People can mock and will mock about this info as much as they like but the fact is there is truth in this which we will all find out about in the weeks to come

The goalie
14-06-2019, 11:03 AM
It’s the Barclay brothers. Seen elsewhere.

14-06-2019, 11:04 AM
FTA the new owner …. we need:

1) The average wage we pay players upped to £7000 a week.

2) A full sized enclosed pitch at East Mains

3) All 4 corners at Easter Road filled in with the roofs of all 4 stands extended by at least 3 meters.

4) A fancy pitch like what Arsenal have got.

5) 2 jumbo screens

6) A new PA system

7) A helipad.

If you cant deliver that what's the point of you? :rolleyes:

14-06-2019, 11:04 AM
Tam McManus:

Global Hibee?

sean04
14-06-2019, 11:07 AM

3) All 4 corners at Easter Road filled in with the roofs of all 4 stands extended by at least 3 meters.

5) 2 jumbo screens

6) A new PA system

7) A helipad.

Cheerleader squad and disco lights

madsen5
14-06-2019, 11:07 AM
Tam pretending to be in the know again, right on cue.

Heard about it a few days ago, only mentions it now though.

Global hibby?

14-06-2019, 11:08 AM

5) 2 jumbo screens

6) A new PA system

7) A helipad.

An escalator, a glass curtain and a view of the castle too.

bigswissstriker
14-06-2019, 11:10 AM

I don’t know if I’m missing a joke here or not... but who are the Barclay brothers?

14-06-2019, 11:10 AM

Would prefer if they just moved the castle to Leith.

14-06-2019, 11:11 AM

That’s the plans I’m hearing 😂

14-06-2019, 11:11 AM
People can mock and will mock about this info as much as they like but the fact is there is truth in this which we will all find out about in the weeks to come

Where’ve you been hiding?

14-06-2019, 11:12 AM

I can see the advert now ………… Its Yodel to deliveeeeeeeer :greengrin

tonyrougier123
14-06-2019, 11:13 AM
I don’t know if I’m missing a joke here or not... but who are the Barclay brothers?

84yr old billionaires.twins.and apparently keen to invest in hibs 🙌

14-06-2019, 11:13 AM

Owners of the Daily Telegraph. Reclusive twins who live on their own Channel Island.

ionahibby
14-06-2019, 11:15 AM

Haven’t they tried to invest before years back but were knocked back by farmer?

tonyrougier123

Are you the real bleeds green 😱

PapillonVert
Owners of the Daily Telegraph. Reclusive twins who live on their own Channel Island.

Thereby avoiding all UK tax.

14-06-2019, 11:16 AM
I won't believe it until this is blasted from Easter Road the moment they sign the deal on the table. Even at 2 o'clock in the morning!

https://youtu.be/HMuYfScGpbE

bigswissstriker
14-06-2019, 11:17 AM

A quick google says they are worth £7.2bn....

14-06-2019, 11:17 AM

According to Wikipedia net worth 7.2 billion quid :hyper

AugustaHibs
14-06-2019, 11:19 AM
Done deal. 100% complete

That’s McNulty had it then. When is Messi due at East Mains? 😊

I won't believe it until this is blasted from Easter Road the moment they sign the deal on the table. Even at 2 o'clock in the morning!

https://youtu.be/HMuYfScGpbE

Change of plans with the new manager.

https://media.tenor.com/images/f672288582caae06e80c77d775e0b2a0/tenor.gif

14-06-2019, 11:20 AM
Hopefully we sign Celtic and rangers best players and bench them for 3 years :greengrin

Don’t believe you, you didn’t end it with FACT

But can you imagine if there is any truth in this

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

bigswissstriker
If its them where are the American links coming from?

14-06-2019, 11:21 AM
Hopefully we sign Celtic and rangers best players and bench them for 3 years :greengrin

Let's buy them, merge them and send them to England. Like they deserve!

tonyrougier123
14-06-2019, 11:22 AM
Done deal. 100% complete

Complete........? 😂

PapillonVert
14-06-2019, 11:24 AM
A quick google says they are worth £7.2bn....

You don't get to be that rich by throwing money around willy-nilly. Any money going out needs to bring even more money in.

These people are hard-headed businessmen. What's in this investment for them?

(If true, of course.)

14-06-2019, 11:25 AM
Done deal. 100% complete

:troll:

AugustaHibs
14-06-2019, 11:25 AM
:troll:

We’ll see:)

14-06-2019, 11:26 AM

Must be true then...:rolleyes:

madsen5
Haven’t they tried to invest before years back but were knocked back by farmer?

Correct.

I'm turning off Hibs.net for the weekend, it's going to be a ****ing circus 😂

14-06-2019, 11:27 AM
Bout time we got some large investment. We've suffered for years cutting cloth. Would be well deserved.

14-06-2019, 11:27 AM
We’ll see:)

Ok then, I'll bite. Who is investing in the club? Why have shareholders not been advised and how have none of the media picked it up?

14-06-2019, 11:29 AM
Correct.

If that's the case then why would farmer suddenly let them back into the fold?

And also, see if you're worth £7.2 billion, why would you invest in a Scottish club?

14-06-2019, 11:29 AM
Rocky

Gray
Ramos
De Ligt
Stevenson

Mbappe
Allan
Modric
De Bruyne

Suarez
Salah

Exciting times. Might need someone for the Bartley role though.

14-06-2019, 11:30 AM
We’ll be winning the champions league by 5 years and moving to an 80,000 seat stadium in Princes St gardens.

14-06-2019, 11:31 AM
Ok then, I'll bite. Who is investing in the club? Why have shareholders not been advised and how have none of the media picked it up?

You didnt ask for sauce with that either

14-06-2019, 11:31 AM
We’ll be winning the champions league by 5 years and moving to an 80,000 seat stadium in Princes St gardens.

And never lose 5-0 again...:greengrin:wink:

Fuzzywuzzy
14-06-2019, 11:32 AM

And also, see if you're worth £7.2 billion, why would you invest in a Scottish club?

Has farmers mental and physical health not been in decline for a number of years now and the his estate looked after by others?

WestStandWillie
14-06-2019, 11:32 AM
Hmmm

For every Man City and Bournemouth, there's a Blackpool and Bury. I'll be sharpening my axe, hidden since the FTB days.

14-06-2019, 11:33 AM
Hmmm

For every Man City and Bournemouth, there's a Blackpool and Bury. I'll be sharpening my axe, hidden since the FTB days.

Gretna anyone? :paranoid::sofa:

14-06-2019, 11:34 AM
We’ll be winning the champions league by 5 years and moving to an 80,000 seat stadium in Princes St gardens.We could buy those boxes of drawings that Romanov used for the megasuperhotelstadium project. And get chips and two red coos.

I can't wait, I'm selling all my shares, if only the buyer would give me a call.

Barman Stanton
14-06-2019, 11:34 AM
Hmmm

Ach we could always just do a Hearts and take a wee relegation and wipe the debt if it goes t*ts up.

14-06-2019, 11:35 AM
I'm away to buy an apartment in Bulgaria with a balcony so I can shed tears on it

14-06-2019, 11:36 AM
Has farmers mental and physical health not been in decline for a number of years now and the his estate looked after by others?

If you mean is he getting older, yes he is.

14-06-2019, 11:37 AM
I'm away to buy an apartment in Bulgaria with a balcony so I can shed tears on it

Would be cheaper to go down to E.R and stand outside the stand clapping with a pizza? on a pizza? leaning against 'piza'? something like that :wink:

14-06-2019, 11:37 AM
I'm away to buy an apartment in Bulgaria with a balcony so I can shed tears on itWould you be interested in a shed in Lincolnshire?

Ripe for investment and already painted in Hibs colours.

Leith_Hibee
14-06-2019, 11:38 AM

And chips.

14-06-2019, 11:38 AM

I just got email from the potential investor, asking me to sell my house and send them money or something. Or course I didn't hesitate and have been in touch with purple bricks. :aok:

14-06-2019, 11:39 AM
I just got email from the potential investor, asking me to sell my house and send them money or something. Or course I didn't hesitate and have been in touch with purple bricks. :aok:

Link?

14-06-2019, 11:40 AM

I'm away to solo clap at outside an empty Easter Road

Hibernian32
14-06-2019, 11:41 AM
What's going on????

Is RP selling his share or is someone buying a % of STF stake? I'm confused AF and find this pretty sudden

14-06-2019, 11:43 AM
Link?

Dear Hibs fanatic:

I am planning to invest heavily in your club but I need your help. Please help me to help you by selling all your assets then pledge everything you have to me so I can get the ball rolling. Oh aye, don't tell anyone.:aok:

Yours faithfully
Author Anon

Rocky

Gray
Ramos
De Ligt
Stevenson

Mbappe
Allan
Modric
De Bruyne

Suarez
Salah

Exciting times. Might need someone for the Bartley role though.

:faf: Would prefer Hanlon to Ramos to be fair.

Fuzzywuzzy
Can't wait to see what the tabloids scrape together as an exclusive from this thread. EEN doesn't even hide it and just posts quotes

Barman Stanton
14-06-2019, 11:44 AM
What's going on????

Is RP selling his share or is someone buying a % of STF stake? I'm confused AF and find this pretty sudden

No one has a clue. Its all just rumour which will more than likely amount to nothing.

Capt Mainwaring
14-06-2019, 11:44 AM

If true, it’s likely to be the sale of the parent company (HFC Holdings Ltd) - the holding company that owns the controlling interest (62%) in Hibernian Football Club Limited.
So only STF and RP are shareholders and need to be involved in the offer

14-06-2019, 11:48 AM
Wasn't an American consortium interested in us in 2014?

Torto7
Kenny Miller is on his hols just now but he did reply to a guy on twitter asking if he would confirm/deny. He did reply about his holiday choice but didn't rule out/confirm anything about a sale/talks. Therefore....

I'm taking this as confirmation that Bill Gates is the American and he wants to invest a billion or so. :flag:

tonyrougier123
What's going on????

Business as usual 👍😉

14-06-2019, 11:50 AM
Can't wait to see what the tabloids scrape together as an exclusive from this thread. EEN doesn't even hide it and just posts quotes

At least they credit their sources.

tonyrougier123
14-06-2019, 11:51 AM
Wasn't an American consortium interested in us in 2014?

Well a consortium fronted by richard skellet.with american investors amongst others.👍

Andymac85
14-06-2019, 11:51 AM
There is something in this.

14-06-2019, 11:53 AM
Well a consortium fronted by richard skellet.with american investors amongst others.👍

Was he the Celtic guy that wanted us for a pound or something?

Sounded like an absolute slaver.

14-06-2019, 11:53 AM
There is something in this.

Go on..

tonyrougier123
14-06-2019, 11:55 AM

I think he is a hibs supporter skellet.

14-06-2019, 11:55 AM

Sigh!! … how often do I have to explain this.

To make worldwide headlines with an EPL or La Liga team you have to spend about half of your 7.2 billion quid. To make worldwide headlines ( and you would ) by being behind the club that breaks the worlds longest lasting sports duopoly, now monopoly, you would only have to spend a fraction of that.

What better club to choose as your vehicle than one that already has a decent stadium, its own training centre and most importantly a growable fan base?. All that and its based in one of the worlds most internationally high profile cities, at least in a cultural sense.

Given all of that its far from outlandish that we might be a target from someone with pots of cash and with the sense to see an opportunity that all of the others cant see staring them in the face.

14-06-2019, 11:57 AM
So is it Global Hibby up to his tricks again? :greengrin

14-06-2019, 11:58 AM

Still in the cream puff apparently. :greengrin

14-06-2019, 12:01 PM

That's the guy whose name I was trying to remember. Well done BH (Broxburn not Blackpool)

greenlad
14-06-2019, 12:01 PM

That was David Low - yes an absolute slaver.

A regular at Easter Road when he lived in Edinburgh, but only when “Celtic were playing away from home”.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/david-low-on-why-he-is-fronting-bid-to-buy-hibs-1-3506348

Torto7
14-06-2019, 12:02 PM

To make worldwide headlines with an EPL or La Liga team you have to spend about half of your 7.2 billion quid. To make worldwide headlines ( and you would ) by being behind the club that breaks the worlds longest lasting sports duopoly, now monopoly, you would only have to spend a fraction of that.

What better club to choose as your vehicle than one that already has a decent stadium, its own training centre and most importantly a growable fan base?. All that and its based in one of the worlds most internationally high profile cities, at least in a cultural sense.

Given all of that its far from outlandish that we might be a target from someone with pots of cash and with the sense to see an opportunity that all of the others cant see staring them in the face.

I agree with this. There's also the chance that the football landscape will change. If you had an Edinburgh team in the English system(who knows what will happen in the next 10 years+) then you've got a potential goldmine. The Lothian and Borders/Fife region has a lot of potential customers in it for a successful football team to potentially entice.

14-06-2019, 12:04 PM
Kenny Millar's aversion to the question is certainly interesting. He's usually quick to quell false info.

14-06-2019, 12:05 PM
Kenny Millar's aversion to the question is certainly interesting. He's usually quick to quell false info.

Someone posted on the thread saying he is out the country just now.

ManlyOz
14-06-2019, 12:07 PM
No deal done yet , been talked about in ER last few weeks, American based business man putting £5 million in to club structure. Good news if deal is done.

Even if this is all a load of old tosh its good fun to speculate … we need more of these rumours during the close season :greengrin

He is, I don't think that effects my point though.

hibsforeurope
14-06-2019, 12:09 PM
No deal done yet , been talked about in ER last few weeks, American based business man putting £5 million in to club structure. Good news if deal is done.

Could this be linked to the delay in announcing a sponsor?

14-06-2019, 12:09 PM

Thought this aswell, just ignored the rumour part instead of saying that’s not the case etc.

Also find it funny how Tam McManus is trying to make out he is itk again.

Heedersnvolleys
14-06-2019, 12:10 PM
Would you be interested in a shed in Lincolnshire?

Ripe for investment and already painted in Hibs colours.

As in Wild Bill Bostonhibby?

14-06-2019, 12:10 PM
Was going to mention this, then thought it would make me look mental. Glad you said it lol

14-06-2019, 12:11 PM

All reasonable points.

I would add that there is a strong desire for extended European competition amongst the big hitters in football. An Edinburgh team would be an asset to an expanded Europa League. I suspect the next decade will see changes to domestic and international football competition. Using my powers of divination, and my crystal ball, I predict Qatar will see a revolution that the games governing bodies will be powerless to stop.

Aside from all of that STF will not be here forever. The future of the club is up for grabs and change will happen, sooner or later.

14-06-2019, 12:11 PM
Can I be the first to point out that there's a lot of long standing members with low post counts all over this :greengrin

hibsforeurope
14-06-2019, 12:14 PM
Was going to mention this, then thought it would make me look mental. Glad you said it lol

Haha, i'm still hoping for Rockstar/ Rockstar North to be unveiled soon...

14-06-2019, 12:15 PM
We could win a couple of Scottish cups if this comes off.

14-06-2019, 12:15 PM
Could we get our dream move to an enormodome at Straiton at last?????

14-06-2019, 12:16 PM
Thought this aswell, just ignored the rumour part instead of saying that’s not the case etc.

Also find it funny how Tam McManus is trying to make out he is itk again.

Tam reminds me of a couple of posters on here actually 🤣

14-06-2019, 12:18 PM
I heard this rumour early this morning, it came via London media types.

From the little I know of the Barclay brothers I am distinctly uneasy about this.

HFC93
14-06-2019, 12:18 PM
I for one welcome our new American overlords. I'd like to remind them that as a trusted season ticket holder, I can be helpful in rounding up others to toil in their underground sugar caves.

14-06-2019, 12:21 PM
Make hibs great again 🇳🇬🇺🇲

Hibernian32
14-06-2019, 12:22 PM
I heard this rumour early this morning, it came via London media types.

From the little I know of the Barclay brothers I am distinctly uneasy about this.

More likely to be the boy skellet he's had interest in us before. the times headline here " burning desire to buy hibs" back from 2018

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/messenger-to-mogul-with-a-burning-desire-to-buy-hibs-g6v23fdx7

14-06-2019, 12:24 PM

Tam McManus on Twitter 🤔

Bleeds green
14-06-2019, 12:25 PM
Where’ve you been hiding?

I’m bleeds green not ‘bleed green’ a completely different member who I’ve been accused of being on numerous occasions now. I’ve been a member on this for 5-10 years

14-06-2019, 12:25 PM
Color me surprised about this rumour.

Seems like hot garbage to me and should be put in the trash where it belongs.

Mississippi

Bleeds green
14-06-2019, 12:26 PM
Are you the real bleeds green 😱

And again

tonyrougier123
14-06-2019, 12:26 PM
I’m bleeds green not ‘bleed green’ a completely different member who I’ve been accused of being on numerous occasions now. I’ve been a member on this for 5-10 years

Tomaeto tomato 😉

BegbieHSC
14-06-2019, 12:28 PM
Announce Griffiths/Messi upfront partnership.

14-06-2019, 12:28 PM
https://youtu.be/8lcUHQYhPTE

14-06-2019, 12:29 PM
£5m investment with probably £4.99m for building the indoor pitch.....

14-06-2019, 12:31 PM
STF tried to ensure that Hibs would have a secure future by trying to sell it to the fans but there is clearly not enough money around for that to succeed. If he decides to sell his share then it will happen without any warning and to someone that he is satisfied would be good for the club and its long term future.

When he sold Kwik-Fit to the Ford Motor Company it was to ensure just such a future although things did not work out when there was a reversal of Ford expansion strategy. The contact with Ford was through Sir Jackie Stewart who STF knew through his charitable work. The negotiations were only known by a very small group of people and the announcement came out of the blue.

So, we know that STF has contact in the USA, amongst other areas in the world, and it is conceivable that he could do a deal with wealthy American backers. Now would be a good time to do it with Rod otherwise engaged in his SFA President duties.

But, in my opinion, we shall only know when it is made public.

14-06-2019, 12:31 PM
£5m investment with probably £4.99m for building the indoor pitch.....

To be fair, if the investment is to go in the indoor pitch then that’s still great news.

It needs to be built for Project Brave and therefore it needs to be paid for, if it’s not from an outside investment like this then it’ll come from the playing budget.

14-06-2019, 12:41 PM
In three years Celtic will be borrowing players from us.

14-06-2019, 12:42 PM
In three years Celtic will be borrowing players from us.

Scott Alan won’t know what day of the week it is at this rate.

14-06-2019, 12:44 PM

Ah ****, apologies man

14-06-2019, 12:45 PM
As in Wild Bill Bostonhibby?Delighted to say I only go there for the beer and football. The TV show really should be in Yorkshire. Where all the accents are from!

14-06-2019, 12:46 PM
I've already booked hotels in Munich and St Petersburg in preparation for the 2021 Champions League Venue being announced in September. :smug:

Leith_Hibee
14-06-2019, 12:47 PM
when we buy John McGinn back, do we get a share of the sell on from Villa?

14-06-2019, 12:48 PM
I've already booked hotels in Munich and St Petersburg in preparation for the 2021 Champions League Venue being announced in September. :smug:

I would get the flights booked before the official announcement as it will rocket in price.

14-06-2019, 12:49 PM
I would get the flights booked before the official announcement as it will rocket in price.

Flights unavailable until about 6 months before the date of the game. :I'm waiti

14-06-2019, 12:49 PM
To return to serious mode. Whatever the case, if it does turn out there is something to this we simply cant have a situation where any money injected by a new owner is shown as a debt on the club's books …. therein lies madness.

14-06-2019, 12:51 PM
Flights unavailable until about 6 months before the date of the game. :I'm waiti

Club funded Charter Plane it is then 👍

14-06-2019, 12:54 PM
Announce Griffiths/Messi upfront partnership.

No height

14-06-2019, 12:57 PM
Richard Skellett was serious about his investment back in 2014.

But it was a crazy time post relegation with Petrie Out, Kano, Kenny McLean, BuyHibs, Supporters Direct, Jim Adie, HSA and others all with different ideas on the way forward.

We ended up with a transition model of future fan ownership which is a more sustainable strategy into the future. Hearts had their Romanov experience which few Hibbies would welcome at Easter Road.

I think a new investor is always welcome but can’t see an outright sale of Sir Tom’s shares being on the cards.

14-06-2019, 12:58 PM
To return to serious mode. Whatever the case, if it does turn out there is something to this we simply cant have a situation where any money injected by a new owner is shown as a debt on the club's books …. therein lies madness.

Don't think you can have debt when it comes from an investor. Think you just owe it to yourself so it doesn't count?

Looking forward to the new Piazza.

14-06-2019, 01:01 PM

Any idea what "putting it into the club structure" entails?

That makes it sound like its money towards infrastructure like East Mains upgrades or stadium redevelopment (filling a corner, installing safe standing etc).

14-06-2019, 01:06 PM
Any idea what "putting it into the club structure" entails?

That makes it sound like its money towards infrastructure like East Mains upgrades or stadium redevelopment (filling a corner, installing safe standing etc).

I mentioned it on Twitter that I'd assume if there is anything in this it would be investment in HTC and the idoor training pitch re project brave

sadtom
14-06-2019, 01:07 PM
Hope to hell its not the Barclay bros.
Horrible, tax dodging, Tory sc*mbags.
Would sell their granny for a ha'penny bun.
Cut from the same greedy cloth as David Rowland Rat.

14-06-2019, 01:10 PM
Richard Skellett was serious about his investment back in 2014.

But it was a crazy time post relegation with Petrie Out, Kano, Kenny McKean, BuyHibs, Supporters Direct, Jim Adie, HSA and others all with different ideas on the way forward.

We ended up with a transition model of future fan ownership which is a more sustainable strategy into the future. Hearts had their Romanov experience which few Hibbies would welcome at Easter Road.

I think a new investor is always welcome but can’t see an outright sale of Sir Tom’s shares being on the cards.

There’s going to come a time when STF isn’t around, is it not conceivable he’ll want to sell his shares while he’s in a position to do so and is happy with who they are being sold too?

14-06-2019, 01:10 PM
why would someone invest 5m in a training centre, how would they get any return on that investment :confused:

14-06-2019, 01:11 PM
why would someone invest 5m in a training centre, how would they get any return on that investment :confused:

Sponsorship?

14-06-2019, 01:12 PM

Sponsorship? Rename the training centre and have their business plastered over our strips/the stadium?

14-06-2019, 01:14 PM
Sponsorship?

Sponsorship? Rename the training centre and have their business plastered over our strips/the stadium?

that's a heck(no pun intended)of a lot of money for sponsorship

14-06-2019, 01:15 PM
that's a heck(no pun intended)of a lot of money for sponsorship

Rangers got £10m for 3 years for similar.

14-06-2019, 01:16 PM
Rangers got £10m for 3 years for similar.

is that murray park, or something like that

14-06-2019, 01:17 PM

He is,but he was kind enough to reply to an email from me a couple of days ago.

Torto7
14-06-2019, 01:17 PM
I could be imagining this but didn't LD say that money had already been ring fenced to build the full size indoor pitch and wasn't it 1.5 million ish to build?

14-06-2019, 01:20 PM
is that murray park, or something like that

Yeah they scrapped that name after oldco went bust. Now called Hummel Park or something.

14-06-2019, 01:20 PM
Sponsorship?

5m would be about a 20 year deal.

14-06-2019, 01:32 PM
Yeah they scrapped that name after oldco went bust. Now called Hummel Park or something.

It’ll no be Hummel park, it’ll be hummen park or hunnel park.

Greenworld
14-06-2019, 01:32 PM
You don't get to be that rich by throwing money around willy-nilly. Any money going out needs to bring even more money in.

These people are hard-headed businessmen. What's in this investment for them?

(If true, of course.)

And also, see if you're worth £7.2 billion, why would you invest in a Scottish club?Well of you 84 and gone die why not fling some cash about

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

14-06-2019, 01:34 PM
Well of you 84 and gone die why not fling some cash about

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

That took a few minutes ...

14-06-2019, 01:52 PM

Probably will want to pay a massive amount for sponsorship so we can evade the FFP rules.

14-06-2019, 01:59 PM
Don't think you can have debt when it comes from an investor. Think you just owe it to yourself so it doesn't count?

Looking forward to the new Piazza.Somewhere between the Glazier man U model where the club buys itself for them and the yam Romanov model where no one has to worry about funding anything because Mr Romanov, sir, owned a whole bank apparently.

14-06-2019, 02:04 PM
Somewhere between the Glazier man U model where the club buys itself for them and the yam Romanov model where no one has to worry about funding anything because Mr Romanov, sir, owned a whole bank apparently.

One of them owns a dealership in Newport Beach where I get my car serviced. I told the manager to ask him to buy Hibs and use Man Utd as a feeder club.

14-06-2019, 02:12 PM
One of them owns a dealership in Newport Beach where I get my car serviced. I told the manager to ask him to buy Hibs and use Man Utd as a feeder club.That's it then, now we know the inside story.

Hopefully they'll need consultant or to to educate them in our ways[emoji16]

14-06-2019, 02:47 PM
That was David Low - yes an absolute slaver.

I follow him on twitter, but only to check where he is in the race to become the most pompous Celtc fan ever. It's exciting 'cos he's got stiff competition.

14-06-2019, 02:49 PM
Somewhere between the Glazier man U model where the club buys itself for them and the yam Romanov model where no one has to worry about funding anything because Mr Romanov, sir, owned a whole bank apparently.

He owned a thing which he called a bank but it was really just a building with the word "Bank" on it.

14-06-2019, 02:54 PM
He owned a thing which he called a bank but it was really just a building with the word "Bank" on it.

You put your money in it, but couldn’t get any out

14-06-2019, 02:55 PM

Yes but the word bank was there before he bought it.

14-06-2019, 03:07 PM
Yes but the word bank was there before he bought it.

Clever see. Did you know he captained a submarine?

14-06-2019, 03:25 PM
Clever see. Did you know he captained a submarine?

It started off as a frigate.

14-06-2019, 03:28 PM
You put your money in it, but couldn’t get any out

Sounds like the TSB.

14-06-2019, 03:41 PM
He owned a thing which he called a bank but it was really just a building with the word "Bank" on it.Hobo

14-06-2019, 04:00 PM
I heard it was the brother of the owner of the Minnesota Timberwolves...! :-O

14-06-2019, 04:00 PM
Hobo

Is that Lithuanian for something?

14-06-2019, 04:06 PM
Is that Lithuanian for something?Touche'

[emoji16]

14-06-2019, 04:13 PM
So, is this just the post-season rumour mill? Where is CWG?

14-06-2019, 04:15 PM
So, is this just the post-season rumour mill? Where is CWG?

Heading up the negotiations??!!

Juice-Terry
14-06-2019, 05:11 PM
A very good source tells me it's not a takeover attempt but there's a decent probability of a serious investment from two people. One of which is either from Edinburgh or Edinburgh-based. My source wouldn't tell me more.

14-06-2019, 05:13 PM
A very good source tells me it's not a takeover attempt but there's a decent probability of a serious investment from two people. One of which is either from Edinburgh or Edinburgh-based. My source wouldn't tell me more.

Deep throat? That isn't an offer, I mean your source: "follow the money" :greengrin

14-06-2019, 05:16 PM

Jeez, I demanded confidentialty.

Need to speak to my lawyers.

Robbo6-2
14-06-2019, 05:26 PM

This is what Tam McManus is saying on twitter..

Must be true

14-06-2019, 05:27 PM
Wish someone had any info, even if it was "this is a lot of rubbish"...

It's the suspense that kills you. This sort of rumour comes with a lot of fear as well as excitement.

14-06-2019, 05:31 PM
If there is any truth in this rumour then Hearts fans will be cancelling their summer holidays and Christmas so they can pump more money into FOH

14-06-2019, 05:38 PM
If there is any truth in this rumour then Hearts fans will be cancelling their summer holidays and Christmas so they can pump more money into FOH

That’s Bulgaria balconies fkd

14-06-2019, 05:44 PM
If there is any truth in this rumour then Hearts fans will be cancelling their summer holidays and Christmas so they can pump more money into FOHMost of them have been maxed out on the giving for quite a while now, the cash hasn't been brilliantly managed, fair play to them for doing it but what next?

Tobias Funke
14-06-2019, 05:49 PM
Wish someone had any info, even if it was "this is a lot of rubbish"...

It's the suspense that kills you. This sort of rumour comes with a lot of fear as well as excitement.

Taking it all with a pinch of salt till we get some sort of announcement. Until then it’s not worth getting worked up about.

14-06-2019, 05:53 PM
Taking it all with a pinch of salt till we get some sort of announcement. Until then it’s not worth getting worked up about.

Yeah, that's the best approach. If it comes true and works out then we can enjoy it. If it's just a lot of rubbish then we can keep going as we are. Best not making a fool out of ourselves until something is confirmed/denied. It's sort of like a new signing rumour though, gets you intrigued.

14-06-2019, 06:03 PM
Bought my wife & i’s ST this afternoon but our seats were taken. Had to move 1 row down in West lower. Really busy.

14-06-2019, 06:07 PM
Yeah, that's the best approach. If it comes true and works out then we can enjoy it. If it's just a lot of rubbish then we can keep going as we are. Best not making a fool out of ourselves until something is confirmed/denied. It's sort of like a new signing rumour though, gets you intrigued.

If it is a lot of rubbish we can keep going as we are - and also enjoy it.... just saying...

14-06-2019, 06:11 PM
For those who think he was the oracle and super itk...

The cat has confirmed it's happening.

For those who think he was always slavering pish and jumped on other's rumours...

He's at it again.

14-06-2019, 06:13 PM
If it is a lot of rubbish we can keep going as we are - and also enjoy it.... just saying...

Of course, that's what I was meaning but was lazy with my words. Having a large investment would just heighten enjoyment.

14-06-2019, 06:16 PM
For those who think he was the oracle and super itk...

The cat has confirmed it's happening.

For those who think he was always slavering pish and jumped on other's rumours...

He's at it again.

Having seen his tweets your somewhat over egging the cake.

14-06-2019, 08:31 PM
Think if there was anything in this the media would have picked up on this story.

If your average punter on hibs.net has found out about it I’m sure football journalists with genuine contacts at the club would have found out.

No offence intended to the people who have passed on what they’ve heard, don’t doubt it’s all been done in good faith.

hibbydad
14-06-2019, 08:33 PM
There has been no denial which makes me wonder

14-06-2019, 08:35 PM
There has been no denial which makes me wonder

Correct.

Hibs haven’t came out to deny these reports which makes me think something must be happening.

If this was a load of bollocks, they would have said.

chippy
14-06-2019, 08:37 PM
Hint from Callum Kane implying the Begbie creator - a proper author fae Muirhoos

yonder1875
14-06-2019, 08:37 PM
Can’t see it being anything substantial tbh.

If it seems to good to be true, then it is.

14-06-2019, 08:38 PM
Correct.

Hibs haven’t came out to deny these reports which makes me think something must be happening.

Hibs would never come out and deny a rumour that hasn’t even made the media yet.

Kenny Miller might have but he was tweeting while on holiday so wouldn’t surprise me if the whole thing had passed him by when he was tweeting and didn’t realise how much people were talking about it on here.

14-06-2019, 08:39 PM
If they're investing in the training ground then surely that frees up the mcginn money :cb

hibbydad
14-06-2019, 08:39 PM
Yes hfcrd it does make you wonder thing I am not sure about is if you take a controlling interest in a private company is it the same as a listed company where you have to offer to buy the entire share capital

Jo McBride
14-06-2019, 08:42 PM
Barclay Brothers ✅

14-06-2019, 08:46 PM
Barclay Brothers ✅

Aren't they venture capitalists who own all kinds of businesses? What would they want with a football club?

Jo McBride
14-06-2019, 08:48 PM
A family connection with Hibernian FC apparently

14-06-2019, 08:53 PM
So it's happening?

14-06-2019, 08:58 PM
Aren't they venture capitalists who own all kinds of businesses? What would they want with a football club?

I really have no idea why they would want anything to do with Hibs, not convinced at all

eezyrider
14-06-2019, 09:00 PM
I doubt the rumours are true but you never know.

This is what Wikipedia has on them - I don't thing the residents of Sark are to enamoured by them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_and_Frederick_Barclay

EZ

14-06-2019, 09:01 PM
Hint from Callum Kane implying the Begbie creator - a proper author fae Muirhoos

https://twitter.com/irvinewelsh/status/1139622714573021184?s=21

That’ll be a no then :faf:

14-06-2019, 09:03 PM

Barclay Brothers ✅

Somebody is telling porkies. :hmmm:

greenlad
14-06-2019, 09:05 PM
Yes hfcrd it does make you wonder thing I am not sure about is if you take a controlling interest in a private company is it the same as a listed company where you have to offer to buy the entire share capital

No such rule for a private unlisted company.

14-06-2019, 09:12 PM

They have made a small fortune out of all their investments. But they did start with a large fortune. See the Scotsman newspaper.

14-06-2019, 09:20 PM

Will be an equity investment not a loan so no debt.

bigswissstriker
14-06-2019, 09:21 PM
Will be an equity investment not a loan so no debt.

I’ve googled them now and to have guys with that wealth on board would be exciting.. still don’t know what they would have to do with the American links this rumour initially started with? Or do they live in America now?

I_Love_Latapy
14-06-2019, 09:37 PM
when we buy John McGinn back, do we get a share of the sell on from Villa?

14-06-2019, 09:39 PM
I thought this was a lot of nonsense, but after a conversation at the bowling tonight I do think something could be happening.

Jo McBride
14-06-2019, 09:41 PM
Barclay Brothers where first up show intent, then the Americans came on the scene. Apparently something definitely happing.

14-06-2019, 09:42 PM
The craic on this thread defeats the jobbies.

Jo McBride
14-06-2019, 09:42 PM
Something Positive ✅

14-06-2019, 09:43 PM
I'm 50 and should know better but this has me quite excited. Only a matter of time before my bubble bursts.

14-06-2019, 09:43 PM

A hint from Kano. 😂😂😂

14-06-2019, 10:03 PM
I thought this was a lot of nonsense, but after a conversation at the bowling tonight I do think something could be happening.

That’s the confirmation required for me. How do you get the champions league ringtone on the iPhone 8?

14-06-2019, 10:10 PM
That’s the confirmation required for me. How do you get the champions league ringtone on the iPhone 8?

And a Nokia 3020 please.

14-06-2019, 10:16 PM
Think I just saw the Barclay brothers sitting upstairs at the back of the 26! It's happening.

Callum7
14-06-2019, 10:18 PM
Think I just saw the Barclay brothers sitting upstairs at the back of the 26! It's happening.

Liar.

14-06-2019, 10:19 PM
Wasn't going to elaborate but what the hell, I played in the same rink as James McDonagh and it was him who spoke about it quite openly after the game. James is a great guy (and a bloody good bowler as well) who still frequents East Mains, although it was when he was on Edinburgh City business that he was told about it earlier today.

Did he indicate whether it was a takeover or a one off investment? That seems to be the main point of contention at the moment!

14-06-2019, 10:27 PM
June is such a s l o w month for football.

14-06-2019, 10:38 PM
He didn't say. One thing of note he did say was that there was a possibility of investment from the Lebanon a while ago but it never happened.

Lebanon? 25 rocket launchers & 100 hand granades.

14-06-2019, 10:44 PM
This is all going to turn out to be bollocks, isn't it.

AugustaHibs
14-06-2019, 10:46 PM
This is all going to turn out to be bollocks, isn't it.

Can categorically confirm it’s not bollocks

7Hero
14-06-2019, 10:48 PM
We might not have been sold but petries status as a soon to be ex employee of hibs combined with farmers lessening health may mean that their is a possibility hibs could be available for a sale... Its not beyond the realms of a possibility and definitely more possible now than ever before...

Hopefully the purchaser has deep pockets as Tom won't let it go cheap and we need a serious cash injection to stop 9 in a row and challenge Liverpool 😂

14-06-2019, 10:55 PM
Bought by the Lancashire Hibs consortium. Sorry fellas but we're moving to Blackpool.*

* which unofficially is in Scotland during summer months anyway.

Souter96Mac
14-06-2019, 10:57 PM
The barclay brothers are 84 yrs old, so doubt at that age they'd be looking to takeover a football club. Hopefully it's just one last big investment into a football they support? 😂 Clutching at straws big time

14-06-2019, 11:01 PM

Can you confirm anymore details? Like how much money is involved and who is behind this?

14-06-2019, 11:02 PM
Wasn't going to elaborate but what the hell, I played in the same rink as James McDonagh and it was him who spoke about it quite openly after the game. James is a great guy (and a bloody good bowler as well) who still frequents East Mains, although it was when he was on Edinburgh City business that he was told about it earlier today.

Thanks mate. James is a very good guy still loyal to us too so if he’s talking openly regarding this then it’s looking extremely plausible.

14-06-2019, 11:03 PM
Can you confirm anymore details? Like how much money is involved and who is behind this?

Mikey Forrester and Russian sailors.

14-06-2019, 11:06 PM
Loads of talk about, just hope it comes to fruition, we deserve something good like this to happen

14-06-2019, 11:08 PM

Any indication as to who it is?

14-06-2019, 11:10 PM
Any indication as to who it is?

Global Hibby. :wink:

14-06-2019, 11:17 PM
Loads of talk about, just hope it comes to fruition, we deserve something good like this to happen

You say that, knowing our luck it would get stopped at the last minute from some loophole 201632 of the sfas fit and proper criteria.

What? Rods now at the helm and we’re untouchable? 😁

14-06-2019, 11:20 PM
We might not have been sold but petries status as a soon to be ex employee of hibs combined with farmers lessening health may mean that their is a possibility hibs could be available for a sale... Its not beyond the realms of a possibility and definitely more possible now than ever before...

Hopefully the purchaser has deep pockets as Tom won't let it go cheap and we need a serious cash injection to stop 9 in a row and challenge Liverpool 😂
How is Petrie a soon to be ex-employee of Hibs? He’s just got the SFA gig and to retain that he needs a club. Is he moving to another club? Are you making things up?

Slim Shady
14-06-2019, 11:22 PM
Global Hibby. :wink:

100% not

14-06-2019, 11:22 PM

If you are referring to Barclay brothers then their father was born in Govan so very unlikely

Rattler
14-06-2019, 11:24 PM
Thanks mate. James is a very good guy still loyal to us too so if he’s talking openly regarding this then it’s looking extremely plausible.

Sorry, but why exactly would James know what was happening with regards to an alleged takeover/investment in Hibs 🤷🏻*♂️

FifeHibs
If you are referring to Barclay brothers then their father was born in Govan so very unlikely

There is a family connection to Hibs and not the Barclay brothers by all accounts

How is Petrie a soon to be ex-employee of Hibs? He’s just got the SFA gig and to retain that he needs a club. Is he moving to another club? Are you making things up?

Now he’s president he can leave us and still be in the job. If this was all to happen (in which I don’t think full takeover will happen) I would expect Rod, if not selling his shares to take an honorary role within the club just as McRae done with Cove.

14-06-2019, 11:29 PM
Sorry, but why exactly would James know what was happening with regards to an alleged takeover/investment in Hibs 🤷🏻*♂️

I’ve always been under the impression he’s still fairly tight with within the club.

Denverhibby
15-06-2019, 03:23 AM

5) 2 jumbo screens

6) A new PA system

7) A helipad.

You forgot about good pies

15-06-2019, 03:42 AM

SON OF PADDY
15-06-2019, 03:45 AM

Surely if the Yanks can land a man on the moon !🚀🌚
Moving the castle to Leith will be a doodle ? 😉

SON OF PADDY
15-06-2019, 03:48 AM
All but Neymar! He’s no Hibs class.

Aye but being his sister over!
The poor lassie need a break fi that dirty *******...😆

SON OF PADDY
15-06-2019, 04:05 AM
Could we get our dream move to an enormodome at Straiton at last?????

That would mean relocating the Castle yet again !
It's a no from me...

tonyrougier123
15-06-2019, 04:19 AM

Spill?? 😐

15-06-2019, 04:38 AM

Revenge investment ;)

telford hibbee
15-06-2019, 05:40 AM
Not happy with princes st gardens as our “new location” to be honest parking up there on a Saturday is a nightmare.

15-06-2019, 06:03 AM
Still nothing in media about it?

hibee316
15-06-2019, 06:34 AM
Not happy with princes st gardens as our “new location” to be honest parking up there on a Saturday is a nightmare.

Petrie out!!!!