View Full Version : Official Site: JOE NEWELL SIGNS ON

RSS Bot
09-06-2019, 05:20 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10025)

09-06-2019, 05:21 PM
Another signing I don't know a lot about but a bringing in a naturally left sided midfielder seems a decent move.

Welcome Joe.

wallpaperman
09-06-2019, 05:22 PM
I trust the manager as I know nothing of him. Good luck Joe.

09-06-2019, 05:23 PM
Customary YouTube video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0b176AbjBE

I'm calling a song to the tune of Jolene already :faf:

He played 31 times last season in the championship, so must be of a good standard

09-06-2019, 05:25 PM
261 career appearances by 26. Sounds like he’s been able to keep himself fit most of the time aswell which is good news.

09-06-2019, 05:26 PM
Played with Scott Allen at Rotherham too

MagicSwirlingShip
09-06-2019, 05:27 PM
Nice, left sided midfielders are hard to come by, seems to have good experience at Championship level too.

Excited to see the lad in action.

09-06-2019, 05:29 PM
“Joe can carry the ball up the park ".

Yep, we need a bit of that.

Looking forward to seeing him play.

09-06-2019, 05:30 PM
The new SJM?

Customary YouTube video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0b176AbjBE

Aye looks $1m

At least he brings a wee bit height and goal scoring nous to our midfield

He played 31 times last season in the championship, so must be of a good standard

Rotherham wanted to keep him . Also had other clubs trying to sign him .
Welcome ‘ Joe ,Joe super Joe “ Too soon .lol .

09-06-2019, 05:31 PM
I know absolutely nothing about him so will reserve judgement for now.

yerauldda
09-06-2019, 05:34 PM
#rufc and Joe Newell part company after four years. Millers offered him a new deal but the winger has decided on a new challenge. Manager Paul Warne called him the "League One Messi".

Sounds good..

nellio
09-06-2019, 05:34 PM
Didn't pay a fee either. Turned down a new contract so Rotherham clearly wanted to keep him.

Last few seasons has played quite a few games in the Championship and did well in league one as well so looking forward to seeing this lad.

09-06-2019, 05:36 PM
Some real numpties on that Hibs twitter feed honestly some of the comments are beyond embarrassing...some.folk shouldn't be allowed in the internet. Welcome to the Hibees Joe

09-06-2019, 05:37 PM
#rufc and Joe Newell part company after four years. Millers offered him a new deal but the winger has decided on a new challenge. Manager Paul Warne called him the "League One Messi".

Sounds good..

https://twitter.com/paulm_davis/status/1136261586195222528?s=19

The comments underneath the tweet don't sound as good..

09-06-2019, 05:40 PM
Unveiling a player on a Sunday evening. Tekkers.

09-06-2019, 05:42 PM
A singing no one expected with no rumours beforehand. Love it.

09-06-2019, 05:44 PM

The comments underneath the tweet don't sound as good..

I'll wait and see what he does before taking note of twitter idiots.

09-06-2019, 05:45 PM

The comments underneath the tweet don't sound as good..This does sound promising tho ...22139

09-06-2019, 05:48 PM
Not sure if it’s just because he’s a leftie but when I see his you tube reel I just think Stephen Glass.

09-06-2019, 05:50 PM
Cover for Horgan? Or to take Horgans spot

Lee Marvin
09-06-2019, 05:54 PM
Cover for Horgan? Or to take Horgans spot

He has certainly not come up here to be cover for horgan. Can play centre midfield too whilst horgan can also play on right.

Most encouraging thing I've read is what newell said about hecky in the interview.

09-06-2019, 06:10 PM
We definitely needed another option out wide so pleased at this. Never heard of the guy so will reserve judgement but comes with a very decent pedigree.

09-06-2019, 06:13 PM
He will be like a Newell signing for us :greengrin

Welcome Joe!

Really good to hear how good an impression he got of us.

09-06-2019, 06:13 PM
I certainly did not see that coming! Didn’t even know we were linked with him!

Welcome to Hibs!

09-06-2019, 06:16 PM
Good luck.

Newell, Newell, Newell newell born as the kind of something something.

(Always likes Mike Newell)

09-06-2019, 06:18 PM
Heckingbottom isn't ******g about anyway. Interesting times.

09-06-2019, 06:35 PM
Liking the sound of him a lot.

09-06-2019, 06:36 PM
I hate 2 year deals.

09-06-2019, 06:37 PM
Left of a diamond?

Robbo6-2
09-06-2019, 06:37 PM
Looks a right good signing.

Brilliant to get the players in early too.

Get a centre mid and we will be flying..

09-06-2019, 06:43 PM

The manager knows about him. I'll take his judgement.

09-06-2019, 06:46 PM
Looks like a talent. Always a good sign when the fans of a player's previous club are sad to see them leave. Welcome, Joe.

Overwhelmingly attacking midfield we seem to be building. Interesting times ahead.

Sioux
09-06-2019, 06:46 PM

What a pretentious pile of ..........

I'm quite sure you know absolutely nothing about most players, and I'm sure the forum can wait for your expert assessment.

HFC93
09-06-2019, 06:52 PM

Per your username, how much did you know about David Gray before he signed for us?

09-06-2019, 06:53 PM
Seems like a great bit of business, well done Hecky and co. Welcome to the club Joe.

Good to see we're getting players in early like PH said.

09-06-2019, 06:54 PM
I thought this was a difficult time of year to get signings in?

It looks like you can get players in at this stage if you offer them what they're looking for and have a manager who sells the club to the player.

I'm delighted with the early transfer business we are doing.

09-06-2019, 06:55 PM
Seems a likeable fella who's looking for a new challenge.

For every punter giving him a bit jip on twitter there also a fair amount of folk that are sad too see him him leave. If he was as bad or as average as some of them are making out then you'd think they'd be universally happy at his departure.

Welcome to the Hibs Joe.

09-06-2019, 06:58 PM
Tall for a midfielder too, we need a bit of height in our team

09-06-2019, 06:58 PM
Some real numpties on that Hibs twitter feed honestly some of the comments are beyond embarrassing...some.folk shouldn't be allowed in the internet. Welcome to the Hibees Joe

You do tend to get the wallies on there at times 😁

09-06-2019, 07:00 PM

Reminds me a bit of Chris Erskine.

Always thought he looked quite ungainly but strangely effective.

09-06-2019, 07:02 PM
Welcome lad. :aok:

09-06-2019, 07:05 PM

I'm quite sure you know absolutely nothing about most players, and I'm sure the forum can wait for your expert assessment.

Steady. Let’s all be delighted or disgruntled then?

09-06-2019, 07:05 PM
Good to see some early signings. 30+ championship games on paper looks a good signing.

09-06-2019, 07:07 PM
Per your username, how much did you know about David Gray before he signed for us?

He was one of the best if not the best youth player at his level before leaving hearts to join Man Utd?

We don’t know a lot about our new boy, nobody is saying he’s brilliant or *****. DG like the majority of us will pass judgement when lads in a hibs too playing.

09-06-2019, 07:08 PM
Good to see some early signings. 30+ championship games on paper looks a good signing.

The fact they wanted to keep him is a very positive thing.

09-06-2019, 07:09 PM
Always better to get players in early, although I've no idea how good Newell is. So I'm currently whelmed, with an edit in October to reveal whether that whelm is over- or under-.

09-06-2019, 07:10 PM

What a strange massively over aggressive reply to a pretty normal post.

09-06-2019, 07:10 PM

Angry fella

Hibernian32
09-06-2019, 07:11 PM
I hate 2 year deals.

Agree

09-06-2019, 07:11 PM
What a strange massively over aggressive reply to a pretty normal post.

Very strange.

09-06-2019, 07:13 PM
Looks useful. I likes to get forward and he can head the ball.

09-06-2019, 07:33 PM
Agree

Better than 0 year deals

09-06-2019, 07:35 PM
Better than 0 year deals

Better than Didier Agathe type deals

09-06-2019, 07:38 PM
Agree

What’s the problem with 2 year deals?

Gives us a bit security if he’s brilliant but not too much commitment if he turns out rubbish.

Stokesy's on fire
09-06-2019, 07:43 PM

That one still cheeses me off

09-06-2019, 07:50 PM

Was that not our fault though, as we wanted to see how he played?

09-06-2019, 07:55 PM
Some stats on Joe

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/joe-newell/leistungsdatendetails/spieler/185342/wettbewerb/GB2/saison/2018

09-06-2019, 07:56 PM
I'll wait and see what he does before taking note of twitter idiots.

Absolutely Dave. A lot if bitter fans hacked off that he didn’t sign a new contract. And they seemed to think he was on his way to their South Yorkshire rivals.

09-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Welcome to Hibs Joe [emoji1184][emoji1184][emoji1184]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Benjeloon
09-06-2019, 08:00 PM
I find it fascinating that we're able to attract a number of League One / Championship players on our budget just now.

Not only does it show that we're an attractive option for them, but it also shows we're (assumedly) able to pay them what they want.

When you look at the likes of McGeough and Cummings leaving Hibs for the promised land of League One / the Championship, it's interesting that players such as Newell and Jackson are moving in the opposite direction to Hibs for a new challenge having established themselves as players in those leagues.

To be fair to Cummings and McGeough, they had played at Hibs for a number of years and moved to big clubs who could pay them far more than we could. Hopefully this means that we won't see our top players leaving for the likes of arguably smaller clubs like Rotherham for a big pay rise in the near future.

09-06-2019, 08:00 PM

McLeish’s biggest mistake here.

09-06-2019, 08:01 PM
The manager knows about him. I'll take his judgement.

That's fine by me I wasn't being critical.

I have absolutely no idea what you're talking about.

Come down off your high horse eh? :bye:

Nothing, I've absolutely no idea why I'm being slated for my comment. I was simply saying that I know nothing about him and wouldn't be jumping on the bandwagon of criticising the signing of someone without seeing him play.

This place is unreal at times.

Niffy
09-06-2019, 08:04 PM
We got Gareth Evans from there and he turned out ‘alright’ :)

09-06-2019, 08:10 PM

Nothing, I've absolutely no idea why I'm being slated for my comment. I was simply saying that I know nothing about him and wouldn't be jumping on the bandwagon of criticising the signing of someone without seeing him play.

This place is unreal at times.Ignore them mate, more of the easily offended brigade, not worth bothering about 👍

09-06-2019, 08:16 PM
Ignore them mate, more of the easily offended brigade, not worth bothering about 👍

It's honestly unreal on here at times, it really is.

Plenty of people criticising this signing online and I make what i thought was a harmless post saying that I would reserve judgement until I see him for myself. I don't think it's fair to judge people until you see a player in the flesh.

The personal slurs on myself are really disappointing.

09-06-2019, 08:25 PM
We got Gareth Evans from there and he turned out ‘alright’ :)

Diving header goal on his debut against Dundee if I remember correctly

09-06-2019, 08:30 PM
It's honestly unreal on here at times, it really is.

Plenty of people criticising this signing online and I make what i thought was a harmless post saying that I would reserve judgement until I see him for myself. I don't think it's fair to judge people until you see a player in the flesh.

The personal slurs on myself are really disappointing.
You also get folk delighted about an unknown signing which I’ve never understood. The best example being big Dave the Lithuanian

Seriously looking forward to this season

Yes. We got him from Raith. His agent used to watch us train too. Eck with Diddy and Mowbray taking away Riordans contract have to go down as two of the worst... until you can say Bobby Mann.

09-06-2019, 08:31 PM
McLeish’s biggest mistake here.

I’ll raise you...The Tank. 😂

09-06-2019, 08:59 PM
In regards to the negative tweets from Rotherham fans, the majority are from a few days ago when he was rumoured to joining local rivals Doncaster.

Robbo6-2
09-06-2019, 09:00 PM
The majority of the tweets are saying we have a player on our hands

Niffy
09-06-2019, 09:09 PM

I mind versus Dundee Utd ( I think ) we were 2-0 down, Evans gets sent on from the bench and I said to my mate “what’s that headless chicken going to do ?!”

He scored 2 and we won 3-2

rotherhamrob
09-06-2019, 09:09 PM
I've spoken to a couple of Rotherham fans tonight and they rate him.
They say he is good on the ball with an excellent delivery but he seemed to lose a bit of form/confidence this season also seems to flit in and out of games but apparently when he's on it he is really good.

They think he'll be a good signing for us.

09-06-2019, 09:25 PM
I don't know how this compares with the Agathe deal at all, and also don't see how McLeish was in any way to blame for the situation. Agathe had originally said he was more than happy to stay with Hibs, and an agent was used to try and agree terms with Hibs on a longer deal. I believe the agent was none other than Allan Preston. Meanwhile, his girlfriends family in Kirkcaldy had not seemingly been happy about him signing for Hibs, and ANOTHER agent was used, negotiating terms with Celtic at the same time as the Hibs negotiations were going on.

That was the story that was doing the rounds, and it might be complete nonsense for all I know, but I'm surprised nobody on here has even mentioned it, even though this is not a thread about Agathe.

09-06-2019, 09:34 PM
good that we are getting signings in early and by all accounts they seam decent enough, a good pre-season with the players we want will lead to a good kick off to the season i hope. welcome aboard :aok:

09-06-2019, 09:41 PM
I hate 2 year deals.

Same but we may have an option for +1 after 1..

Good luck Joe

percy veer
09-06-2019, 09:47 PM
I’ll raise you...The Tank. 😂

Dropping latapy for the final

Austinho
09-06-2019, 10:01 PM
One of my good mates is a Rotherham fan. Here’s what he had to say about Joe:

“On his day, he’s great - decent on the ball and good passer”

“Can be hugely frustrating just running into trouble and giving it away and lacks effort sometimes. But he's equally likely to be the best player on the pitch. Well obviously not so much in the Championship, but definitely in League 1”.

“10 minute spells you wonder how he's only playing in league one. Then he gives it away 5 times in a row. Mercurial”.

09-06-2019, 10:03 PM
I don't know how this compares with the Agathe deal at all, and also don't see how McLeish was in any way to blame for the situation. Agathe had originally said he was more than happy to stay with Hibs, and an agent was used to try and agree terms with Hibs on a longer deal. I believe the agent was none other than Allan Preston. Meanwhile, his girlfriends family in Kirkcaldy had not seemingly been happy about him signing for Hibs, and ANOTHER agent was used, negotiating terms with Celtic at the same time as the Hibs negotiations were going on.

That was the story that was doing the rounds, and it might be complete nonsense for all I know, but I'm surprised nobody on here has even mentioned it, even though this is not a thread about Agathe.

Signing him on a three month “trial” was his mistake.

09-06-2019, 10:04 PM

“Can be hugely frustrating just running into trouble and giving it away and lacks effort sometimes. But he's equally likely to be the best player on the pitch. Well obviously not so much in the Championship, but definitely in League 1”.

“10 minute spells you wonder how he's only playing in league one. Then he gives it away 5 times in a row. Mercurial”.

Sounds like the type of player that could make a difference...maybe not every game but that’s why you have a squad!

Also maybe a fresh start and a new challenge might just see him focus a bit more and look to get consistency into his game.

We are never going to sign ‘complete’ players so ones with the skills already but with the potential to improve sounds like a smart way to go...here’s hoping we have a good one here [emoji106][emoji106]

09-06-2019, 10:50 PM
Welcome to Hibs Joe.

From what I'm reading he seems like a bit of a hot and cold player … it better be hot 90% of the time or me n' the boo boys will be rubbing our hands :aok:

tonyrougier123
09-06-2019, 11:11 PM
Delighted with this signing,type of player our midfield needs.and sounds a top lad as well.good business hibs and hecky! 👍.whos next I wonder??😶

09-06-2019, 11:22 PM

In off the underside of the bar ?

09-06-2019, 11:46 PM
In off the underside of the bar ?

That's the one, sure he dived through bodies tk get his head on the ball. Or maybe that goal has just got better in my head over all these years 😂😂

10-06-2019, 12:56 AM
Reading between the lines on the various Rotherham supporters forums, Newell is your typical winger i.e. inconsistent.
Having said that they state he has great ability and hopefully the new challenge will see him burn more hot than cold.
Importantly he has played over 30 games in each of the last 5 season so we are not bringing in a treatment room dweller.
I think he will provide us with some great moments and a little frustration.
All things considered, a thumbs up from me.

Strikers and combative midfielder signings next please.

10-06-2019, 01:18 AM

Yeah, good point.

dmc1875
10-06-2019, 01:33 AM
Definitely has a bit more height which the team does need, he’s not exactly quick which I think in this league is what as a winger you need to be, so maybe he’s going to play inside.

10-06-2019, 02:04 AM
Ignore them mate, more of the easily offended brigade, not worth bothering about 👍

I certainly wasn't offended by the comment. I'm not really sure what your point is?

jax67
10-06-2019, 04:55 AM
Welcome aboard Joe.

10-06-2019, 05:27 AM
Reading between the lines on the various Rotherham supporters forums, Newell is your typical winger i.e. inconsistent.
Having said that they state he has great ability and hopefully the new challenge will see him burn more hot than cold.
Importantly he has played over 30 games in each of the last 5 season so we are not bringing in a treatment room dweller.
I think he will provide us with some great moments and a little frustration.
All things considered, a thumbs up from me.

Strikers and combative midfielder signings next please.

Hibs will be more dominant in games in the Premiership than Rotherham were in the English Championship so will get more time on the ball to impress. Im looking forward to seeing him play.

sean04
10-06-2019, 05:59 AM
Hibs will be more dominant in games in the Premiership than Rotherham were in the English Championship so will get more time on the ball to impress. Im looking forward to seeing him play.

100% true!

10-06-2019, 08:09 AM
I've never heard of this guy either, but, with over thirty appearances in the English Championship, there is cause for optimism in his ability. Looking forward to seeing what he brings to the party.

Hibernian32
10-06-2019, 09:10 AM
Derek riordan absolutely slaughter him on instagram 30 games 0 goals 4 assists.

We can't all be deek can we

10-06-2019, 09:23 AM

I wonder who is better placed to judge. Heck and the recruitment team, who work with this squad and know what we need, or deek.. Personally, I'd like to see him kick a ball in anger for the hibees before getting the knives out.

10-06-2019, 09:25 AM

Wonder what Newell would make of Deek's stats at Celtc.

10-06-2019, 09:55 AM

Or anywhere that wasn't hibs or semi pro.

10-06-2019, 10:11 AM

Strange from Deek. Will he have seen the guy play or even heard of him before?

10-06-2019, 10:32 AM

Don't think we are signing this guy as a striker to be fair … in fact he said himself Heck looked at him as a link between defence and attack.

10-06-2019, 10:44 AM

True. But at this point the aim should be to sign and retain players who can win games we don't usually dominate. In the last two seasons we have played 10 post split matches and won 2 of them, which is consistent with this club's quite frankly woeful top 6 record over the years.

That's the next level for us … not simply making the top 6 which we should be able to do most seasons, its winning games when we get there.

10-06-2019, 10:46 AM
Strange from Deek. Will he have seen the guy play or even heard of him before?

Was thinking the same. He’s not usually one to slaughter Hibs players either on social media.

10-06-2019, 11:08 AM
Was thinking the same. He’s not usually one to slaughter Hibs players either on social media.

I wonder what his stats were like at St. Johnstone (nae goals), Bristol Rovers (nae goals) Alloa (nae goals) Brechin (nae goals) York City (nae goals) etc.

Scored at East Fife and Edinburgh City but.

10-06-2019, 11:10 AM
I wonder what his stats were like at St. Johnstone (nae goals), Bristol Rovers (nae goals) Alloa (nae goals) Brechin (nae goals) York City (nae goals) etc.

Scored at East Fife and Edinburgh City but.

Like our new guy I’ll only care what he does when here - like Riordan.

Or perhaps when we sell him next summer with a massive transfer clause 😆

10-06-2019, 11:13 AM
Looks like he did indeed have strong options to go elsewhere before joining us:

https://www.portsmouth.co.uk/sport/football/portsmouth-fc/portsmouth-boss-kenny-jackett-misses-out-on-hibernian-new-boy-joe-newell-1-8958172

10-06-2019, 11:45 AM

This place is unreal at times.

You never said anything wrong at all.

I said practically the same thing in the 1st reply on the thread. I know literally nothing about the guy, I've never seen him play and have no idea what type of player he is so I'm not going to hail him as a great signing or decry him as rubbish.

The 'I'll trust the managers judgement' stuff thrown at you is something I've never understood either. Do we have any other choice? We trusted a manager when he signed Liam Henderson, David Gray, Liam Fontaine and Scott Allan. We also had to trust the managers who signed Matt Thornhill, Junior Agogo, Sean O'Hanlon and Danny Haynes. Trusting the manager doesn't exclude us from having our own opinion or even disagreeing with their decisions at times. If we all just sat and agreed with the manager then forums like this and the pubs after the game would be far more boring places.

10-06-2019, 12:09 PM

Fingers crossed with the expert coaching he will get here he will progress his game up another level.

10-06-2019, 12:18 PM
In regards to the negative tweets from Rotherham fans, the majority are from a few days ago when he was rumoured to joining local rivals Doncaster.

Plus anyone who chooses to live in Rotherham is pretty much proving that they have poor judgement.

rotherhamrob
10-06-2019, 12:37 PM
Plus anyone who chooses to live in Rotherham is pretty much proving that they have poor judgement.

Thanks😁

10-06-2019, 12:54 PM

Came off the bench and scored a peach of a header.

Was a hibs kids game :greengrin

Anyway welcome to the new fellae :aok:

Hibiza
10-06-2019, 01:17 PM
Some stats on Joe

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/joe-newell/leistungsdatendetails/spieler/185342/wettbewerb/GB2/saison/2018
W fr e
Welcome joe

Hibernian32
10-06-2019, 01:49 PM
I wonder who is better placed to judge. Heck and the recruitment team, who work with this squad and know what we need, or deek.. Personally, I'd like to see him kick a ball in anger for the hibees before getting the knives out.

I agree dunno why he's digging him out, I'm more than happy with him tbh seems a very good addition

BradtheMiller
10-06-2019, 06:21 PM
Hi guys, Ian, Rotherham fan here. I like Joe as a player & a guy & I'm sorry he's going but he's given us some wonderful memories & leaves with our good wishes. As a player he's more effective out wide left but can play as a left sided central midfielder. His right foot is for standing on only. His set piece delivery is generally excellent, he has a turn of pace & can beat a man. You won't get much out of him defensively & he couldn't tackle a cooked dinner but that's not what you've recruited him for. I'm sure you have a good aquisition in Joe & he'll do very well in the SPL. All good wishes for the forthcoming season.:aok:

10-06-2019, 06:23 PM
Hi guys, Ian, Rotherham fan here. I like Joe as a player & a guy & I'm sorry he's going but he's given us some wonderful memories & leaves with our good wishes. As a player he's more effective out wide left but can play as a left sided central midfielder. His right foot is for standing on only. His set piece delivery is generally excellent, he has a turn of pace & can beat a man. You won't get much out of him defensively & he couldn't tackle a cooked dinner but that's not what you've recruited him for. I'm sure you have a good aquisition in Joe & he'll do very well in the SPL. All good wishes for the forthcoming season.:aok:

Thanks for the info. Quite excited to see him play. All the best for the coming season.

10-06-2019, 06:28 PM
Hi guys, Ian, Rotherham fan here. I like Joe as a player & a guy & I'm sorry he's going but he's given us some wonderful memories & leaves with our good wishes. As a player he's more effective out wide left but can play as a left sided central midfielder. His right foot is for standing on only. His set piece delivery is generally excellent, he has a turn of pace & can beat a man. You won't get much out of him defensively & he couldn't tackle a cooked dinner but that's not what you've recruited him for. I'm sure you have a good aquisition in Joe & he'll do very well in the SPL. All good wishes for the forthcoming season.:aok:Cheers mate 🇳🇬👍

10-06-2019, 06:29 PM

Thanks for the post Ian

10-06-2019, 06:35 PM

Hibernian32
10-06-2019, 06:37 PM

Sorry about stubbsy

10-06-2019, 07:21 PM
We’ve been crying out for a genuine wide left attacking midfielder for years imo. I like Horgan but he is another who likes to cut inside - useful sometimes but can make our play too predictable.

10-06-2019, 07:34 PM

They were surprisingly good if I recall, goals scored to minutes on pitch was fine He even scored against us.

10-06-2019, 07:39 PM
We’ve been crying out for a genuine wide left attacking midfielder for years imo. I like Horgan but he is another who likes to cut inside - useful sometimes but can make our play too predictable.

I think Horgan is much more effective on the left than right and he’s capable of going either side which makes us less predictable. He rarely goes past a man on the outside when playing on the right.

Sweet Left Peg
10-06-2019, 07:48 PM
Unpredictability is good. Underlapping, overlapping, cutting inside keeps the defence guessing. I'd like to see Scotland do more of it by playing Tierney at LB with Robertson in front of him. They would terrify teams. Fraser on the right.

10-06-2019, 09:04 PM
They were surprisingly good if I recall, goals scored to minutes on pitch was fine He even scored against us.

How about his minutes on the pitch versus minutes at the club? :greengrin

10-06-2019, 10:05 PM

Cheers mate .. your 'turn of pace' comment is interesting because everything I've read so far suggested he didn't have much pace about him. We'll see I suppose.

For the Hibbies looking in …. If its true the guy isn't much good defensively and if he fits into a midfield with Scott Allan and Stevie Mallan where the hell is our defensive cover in midfield given that Milligan, Bartley and probably Omeonga have left the club :confused:

DetroitHibs
10-06-2019, 11:05 PM
Deeks should keep shtum. His record in England was even worse.

11-06-2019, 01:04 AM
The new SJM?that is not gonnae happen.

11-06-2019, 01:21 AM
True. But at this point the aim should be to sign and retain players who can win games we don't usually dominate. In the last two seasons we have played 10 post split matches and won 2 of them, which is consistent with this club's quite frankly woeful top 6 record over the years.

That's the next level for us … not simply making the top 6 which we should be able to do most seasons, its winning games when we get there.did not realise our record was so bad. we should not be cannon fodder for those above. we should be at least on the verge of Euro games, in fact in those positions regularly .!

11-06-2019, 12:19 PM
Signing him on a three month “trial” was his mistake.

Seems a bit like the Killen situation. He was double dealing as well.

11-06-2019, 12:26 PM

So we get to laud him as the messiah... then scream abuse at him for five minutes.

Covers all the bases.

11-06-2019, 06:45 PM
Looks to be of a good calibre having played more English Championship than anything else - welcome Joe and may your Hibees career be long and fruitful :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

patlowe
12-06-2019, 06:49 PM

Sounds like the archetypal cult Hibs player TBH - with our budget I'd take that every day of the week over your consistently 6/10 clogger. We're not going to win the league so bring on the mercurial entertainers.

12-06-2019, 07:12 PM
Cheers mate .. your 'turn of pace' comment is interesting because everything I've read so far suggested he didn't have much pace about him. We'll see I suppose.

For the Hibbies looking in …. If its true the guy isn't much good defensively and if he fits into a midfield with Scott Allan and Stevie Mallan where the hell is our defensive cover in midfield given that Milligan, Bartley and probably Omeonga have left the club :confused:

I thought the exact same when reading that. We need some solidity in midfield, but not a carbon copy of Milligan. We need someone a bit younger who can drive us up the park and help us remain a solid unit. Like a less expensive version of Kenny McLean's role for Scotland the other night.

13-06-2019, 10:45 AM
I thought the exact same when reading that. We need some solidity in midfield, but not a carbon copy of Milligan. We need someone a bit younger who can drive us up the park and help us remain a solid unit. Like a less expensive version of Kenny McLean's role for Scotland the other night.

We do but there was also a need for another wide attacking midfielder.

With Spike and Marv both leaving I have no doubt that we will strengthen in central midfield as well as a few other positions.