View Full Version : The "WTF, FFS," thread

07-06-2019, 07:06 PM
Most, if not all, of us balk at senseless violence, cruelty, sexual assault and paedophilia, but occasionally there are incidents which defy all logic, usually criminal, but not necessarily, which I think need further examination.

I'll start the ball rolling with the following example.

He defended himself too. Mental.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-48560270

07-06-2019, 07:16 PM
This was the big story during the elections. This is after her party talking about making a stand on outlandish insurance claims.

https://www.herald.ie/news/courts/td-had-items-in-both-hands-when-she-fell-off-swing-hotel-claims-38131916.html

08-06-2019, 07:58 AM
Saw this one yesterday.

WTF?!?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-48555889

(edit, just seen there’s a whole thread on this particular WTF).

10-06-2019, 11:07 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-48581327

10-06-2019, 12:15 PM
This is my favourite from Bristol.

We’ve all been there.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-bristol-41167296

10-06-2019, 12:29 PM

We’ve all been there.

10-06-2019, 01:13 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/woman-claims-spice-girl-fan-pooed-in-her-garden-on-way-to-concert-in-edinburgh-1-4943975

10-06-2019, 02:07 PM
Most, if not all, of us balk at senseless violence, cruelty, sexual assault and paedophilia, but occasionally there are incidents which defy all logic, usually criminal, but not necessarily, which I think need further examination.

I'll start the ball rolling with the following example.

He defended himself too. Mental.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-48560270

This was a personal WTF moment a few years ago. Last time I saw John was in a snowhole in arctic Norway where he was defrosting one of his size 12's under my right armpit. He must be going through some personal issues because he was an exemplary soldier of above average intelligence and best described as a gentle giant. Didn't know whether to laugh or cry when I first read this story.

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/FREE+AS+A+BIRD%3B+Sex+swap+SAS+soldier+cheats+jail +term+after+hammering...-a060819234

10-06-2019, 03:05 PM
Justin Bieber has challenged Tom Cruise to a UFC fight, via Twitter apparently 🤣🤣

10-06-2019, 05:16 PM
Justin Bieber has challenged Tom Cruise to a UFC fight, via Twitter apparently 🤣🤣

I'm no lover of Tom Cruise but I hope he gives Bieber a dn good thrashing!

10-06-2019, 05:25 PM
I'm no lover of Tom Cruise but I hope he gives Bieber a dn good thrashing!

This doesn't sound right: I'm in camp Cruise too 😁

10-06-2019, 05:40 PM
Just knowing that they'll both get hurt makes it worth a watch.

10-06-2019, 07:59 PM

We’ve all been there.

"After the fire service had composed themselves .." :faf:

17-06-2019, 12:30 PM
I had a "WTF" moment the other day when I saw Neymar being used to advertise a fragrance called "Spirit of the Brave"; I'm genuinely struggling to think of anyone who epitomises bravery less than him.

17-06-2019, 12:40 PM
This was a personal WTF moment a few years ago. Last time I saw John was in a snowhole in arctic Norway where he was defrosting one of his size 12's under my right armpit. He must be going through some personal issues because he was an exemplary soldier of above average intelligence and best described as a gentle giant. Didn't know whether to laugh or cry when I first read this story.

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/FREE+AS+A+BIRD%3B+Sex+swap+SAS+soldier+cheats+jail +term+after+hammering...-a060819234

I love that story!

It's bizarre from start to finish and I can't work out what made the judge acquit him.

17-06-2019, 09:19 PM
I think maybe someone with the right school tie might have had a word in his shell-like.

17-06-2019, 09:37 PM
I think maybe someone with the right school tie might have had a word in his shell-like.

Gotcha.

25-06-2019, 11:31 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-48714321

26-06-2019, 02:12 AM

We’ve all been there.

https://media.giphy.com/media/hGwvzBNwXDwlO/giphy.gif

The greatest headline I've ever seen :greengrin

28-06-2019, 11:05 AM
This doesn't sound right: I'm in camp Cruise too 😁

God vs Scientology

06-08-2019, 04:47 PM
http://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/handcuffed-man-is-led-by-rope-down-street-by-cops-on-horseback/ar-AAFqnDy?ocid=AMZN

06-08-2019, 04:51 PM
http://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/handcuffed-man-is-led-by-rope-down-street-by-cops-on-horseback/ar-AAFqnDy?ocid=AMZN

I saw that.

It really does beggar belief.

wpj
06-08-2019, 08:52 PM
What next, lynchings?

Cataplana
07-08-2019, 09:49 AM
Dundee dog walker furious as grass too tall for him to see his Jack Russell (https://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/fp/grass-is-worst-ever/)

07-08-2019, 01:14 PM
https://metro.co.uk/2019/08/07/women-used-muslim-garments-steal-asda-flashed-staff-10532449/

25-09-2019, 02:07 PM
Oh dear! (https://www.scotsman.com/news/people/scottish-porn-star-said-she-would-murder-unfamous-officers-at-edinburgh-train-station-1-5008946)

27-09-2019, 02:59 PM
This popped up on my Facebook from a few years ago.

Jesus Christ!

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/man-s-*****-amputated-after-viagra-overdose-8835146.html

Fuzzywuzzy
27-09-2019, 07:40 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/blackface-entirely-acceptable-bit-of-fun-says-tory-mp-sir-desmond-swayne-11820863

🤯🤯🤯

27-09-2019, 07:58 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/blackface-entirely-acceptable-bit-of-fun-says-tory-mp-sir-desmond-swayne-11820863

🤯🤯🤯

He looks absolutely mental, reminds me of Freddy Star on LSD.

16-10-2019, 10:19 AM
Oh wow. A woman too :confused:

(https://metro.co.uk/2019/10/14/female-jogger-caught-repeatedly-pooing-cars-morning-runs-10916096/?ito=article.desktop.share.top.link)
https://metro.co.uk/2019/10/14/female-jogger-caught-repeatedly-pooing-cars-morning-runs-10916096/?ito=article.desktop.share.top.link

16-10-2019, 04:14 PM
Oh wow. A woman too :confused:

(https://metro.co.uk/2019/10/14/female-jogger-caught-repeatedly-pooing-cars-morning-runs-10916096/?ito=article.desktop.share.top.link)
https://metro.co.uk/2019/10/14/female-jogger-caught-repeatedly-pooing-cars-morning-runs-10916096/?ito=article.desktop.share.top.link

This may come as a shock to you, but women need to defecate too. Quite often, as it happens. 💩💩💩

16-10-2019, 06:09 PM
This may come as a shock to you, but women need to defecate too. Quite often, as it happens. 💩💩💩

Not between parked cars. I would have said that's something only a bloke would do :greengrin

16-10-2019, 08:40 PM
Not between parked cars. I would have said that's something only a bloke would do :greengrin

You've led a sheltered life. :greengrin

Cataplana
17-10-2019, 11:05 AM
If you want to gather honey, don't kick over the beehive.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/furious-commuters-drag-extinction-rebellion-protester-from-top-of-tube/ar-AAIUIEH?ocid=spartanntp

17-10-2019, 12:08 PM
If you want to gather honey, don't kick over the beehive.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/furious-commuters-drag-extinction-rebellion-protester-from-top-of-tube/ar-AAIUIEH?ocid=spartanntp

Is that a metaphor? If so, I've been whooshed.

Cataplana
17-10-2019, 12:11 PM

Is that a metaphor? If so, I've been whooshed.

No, it means if you want to convert people to your point of view, then you don't go noising them up - it would appear. They are much more likely to respond to a less confrontational approach.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/summary-you-want-gather-honey-dont-kick-over-na-desh-mba-edd (https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/summary-you-want-gather-honey-dont-kick-over-na-desh-mba-edd)

Edit: actually it is a metaphor.

17-10-2019, 12:21 PM
No, it means if you want to convert people to your point of view, then you don't go noising them up - it would appear. They are much more likely to respond to a less confrontational approach.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/summary-you-want-gather-honey-dont-kick-over-na-desh-mba-edd (https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/summary-you-want-gather-honey-dont-kick-over-na-desh-mba-edd)

Edit: actually it is a metaphor.

I thought it was a metaphor which is why I was confused it was on this thread.

That same metaphor can be used in relation to a good few posters on this forum. I've never felt more inclined to oppose independence than when I read some of the nasty aggressive pish that gets posted.

Cataplana
17-10-2019, 12:25 PM
I thought it was a metaphor which is why I was confused it was on this thread.

That same metaphor can be used in relation to a good few posters on this forum. I've never felt more inclined to oppose independence than when I read some of the nasty aggressive pish that gets posted.

I just feel the climate protestors are adapting the wrong approach. If nothing else, tube users are not the people needlessly burning fossil fuel.

I am maybe missing the point. That's why I thought it was a good example of WTF.

Cataplana
18-10-2019, 12:33 PM
Does anybody else have a tragic floral tribute story?

https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/17976669.upset-awful-sky-tv-remote-floral-tribute/?fbclid=IwAR01mweB1Ozcm229odeK7WGNZWiid0KSy51In86Q s4hTvz25eGJPCuudM48

05-11-2019, 08:28 PM
This is next level WTF!!!

https://www.ladbible.com/news/viral-bizarre-video-shows-woman-spraying-breast-milk-around-at-festival-20191105?source=facebook

Slavers
06-11-2019, 06:24 AM

https://www.ladbible.com/news/viral-bizarre-video-shows-woman-spraying-breast-milk-around-at-festival-20191105?source=facebook

She is no conservative!

06-11-2019, 10:49 AM
Ouch!

https://metro.co.uk/2019/11/05/kitchen-porter-impaled-backside-broom-chefs-prank-went-wrong-11046764/?ito=article.desktop.share.top.link

06-11-2019, 10:53 AM

'She then carries on twerking and dancing before one festival-goer appears and crouches near her in an attempt to catch some of the milk in her mouth':confused::confused::confused:

07-11-2019, 02:13 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-50329597

Unbelievable! :boo hoo:

Cataplana
07-11-2019, 02:20 PM
I think this might be a FFS. Certainly sounds like the most extreme case of blaming your training shoes for your poor performance.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/i-was-the-fastest-girl-in-america-until-i-joined-nike/ar-BBWpIeP?ocid=spartanntp

Makes me think of Alan Wells famous statement that the wind was blowing harder in his lane than it was in Meneah's.

07-11-2019, 02:20 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-50329597

Unbelievable! :boo hoo:

Can't help thinking there's far more to this story than what we're being presented with here. What an earth would motivate hundreds of people each and every day to send death threats to an old lady online? Something isn't being told here.

Cataplana
07-11-2019, 02:34 PM
Can't help thinking there's far more to this story than what we're being presented with here. What an earth would motivate hundreds of people each and every day to send death threats to an old lady online? Something isn't being told here.

Can't think what isn't being told here. She's a jew, they are Nazis, she spoke out against them.

07-11-2019, 04:57 PM
Can't think what isn't being told here. She's a jew, they are Nazis, she spoke out against them.

It's such a lazy narrative. I mean really? Hundreds of people for no other reason than some old lady online being jewish gang up on her on a daily basis to send her death threats? :confused:

Why her specifically? I'm sure she's not the only jewish person on twitter to have spoken out about the holocaust. Why would hundreds of people specifically target her?

As I said. Something isn't being told here.

07-11-2019, 07:26 PM
It's such a lazy narrative. I mean really? Hundreds of people for no other reason than some old lady online being jewish gang up on her on a daily basis to send her death threats? :confused:

Why her specifically? I'm sure she's not the only jewish person on twitter to have spoken out about the holocaust. Why would hundreds of people specifically target her?

The something not being told is that it appears you didn’t even read the story?

She not just ‘some old lady online’. She’s an Italian Senator who has received the abuse after she proposed a commission to combat all forms of racism, anti-Semitism, incitement to hatred and violence on ethnic and religious grounds.

Not quite the same as some old lady putting out a few tweets about the Holocaust that you seem to have somehow interpreted the story to be.

But then again maybe it’s just a case of another woman moaning about stuff that everyone else just puts up with?

07-11-2019, 08:01 PM

Add anti-semitism to your sexism and anti-english racism.

07-11-2019, 08:30 PM
Add anti-semitism to your sexism and anti-english racism.

You really have no shame do you?

You have absolutely zero basis for making such claims, but peddle them out anyway. I'm particularly amused that you chose to throw "anti-english" into the mix. Because you know, being a Scottish Independence supporter, obviously makes me "anti-english". Supporting a nationalist stance (which isn't really nationalistic at all) obviously makes me anti-semitic and of course daring to criticize politicians regardless of their gender obviously makes me sexist as well.

Why not just go the full stretch and claim that I hate black people as well? Because there's as much evidence of that on here as there is for all of your other nonsensical claims about me.

07-11-2019, 08:45 PM
You really have no shame do you?

You have absolutely zero basis for making such claims, but peddle them out anyway. I'm particularly amused that you chose to throw "anti-english" into the mix. Because you know, being a Scottish Independence supporter, obviously makes me "anti-english". Supporting a nationalist stance (which isn't really nationalistic at all) obviously makes me anti-semitic and of course daring to criticize politicians regardless of their gender obviously makes me sexist as well.

Why not just go the full stretch and claim that I hate black people as well? Because there's as much evidence of that on here as there is for all of your other nonsensical claims about me.

I support Independence like many others here and unlike you we aren’t anti-english. All the evidence is here. You declared that you hated English culture and when pulled up for it went on to define English culture of consisting only of traits you found objectionable. That’s racist.
You tried to prove that anti semitism didn’t exist by re- defining it (There is a pattern here.) Then went on to make blatantly anti Semitic statements which several posters pulled you up for.
Your sexism speaks for itself. (You re-defined that as well ) A quick search of your recent posts proves it.

07-11-2019, 09:14 PM
I support Independence like many others here and unlike you we aren’t anti-english. All the evidence is here. You declared that you hated English culture and when pulled up for it went on to define English culture of consisting only of traits you found objectionable. That’s racist.
You tried to prove that anti semitism didn’t exist by re- defining it (There is a pattern here.) Then went on to make blatantly anti Semitic statements which several posters pulled you up for.
Your sexism speaks for itself. (You re-defined that as well ) A quick search of your recent posts proves it.

Ok, well for starters. It's not racist to dislike a culture. Culture and race are not the same thing. So lets get that right. People are well within their right not to like certain cultures. I bet you don't like the culture of modern day nazis right? It doesn't make you a racist though. It doesn't make you racist towards Germans or any other race. I've never once claimed to hate anybody just because they happpen to be English, not once.

You're claim that i'm trying to prove that anti-semitism doesn't exist is also completely untrue. I don't feel like i'm the one trying to change the definition, i'm trying to stay true to the real definition, not the modern revisioned version used to silence people who criticize the Israeli lobby and the way they're trying to manipulate political outcomes in the UK along with the US. These people are spitting on the graves of those who suffered in the war and I take great issue with that.

Same with the sexism claims. I've never onced claimed that my criticism of certain political leaders had anything to do with their gender. It's you and MA that's making those associations, not myself. For the posters that make these kind of claims about me, there are other posters who are quick to defend me and denounce such claims.

I shouldn't have to defend myself like this. It's your job as an admin of this board to know the difference between what really constitutes as sexism/racism/anti-semitism or any other form of bigotry and what doesn't. That doesn't however give you a free reign to make it up as you see fit.

I've said what I want to say.

08-11-2019, 05:08 AM
a

I shouldn't have to defend myself like this. It's your job as an admin of this board to know the difference between what really constitutes as sexism/racism/anti-semitism or any other form of bigotry and what doesn't. That doesn't however give you a free reign to make it up as you see fit.

I've said what I want to say.

Let me make it clear I'm expressing my own views here and not representing the Admin team in any way. I've made nothing up.

08-11-2019, 07:29 PM
Anyway chaps.

Back to the WTF hilarity of this thread. Plenty of other threads that are a bit more serious to have a ding-dong.

Fuzzywuzzy
10-11-2019, 06:25 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/woman-accuses-man-trying-herd-20835473?utm_source=whatsapp.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

The world actually seems ****ed

- excuse me you've dropped your purse money
- you nearly stepped in front of that car

If a woman had don't it would she still have tweeted
If a good looking guy had done it would it have been a different style of tweet
If someone famous msle had done it she'd be tweeting that **** positively

Cataplana
10-11-2019, 06:35 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/woman-accuses-man-trying-herd-20835473?utm_source=whatsapp.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

I hate when someone wants past you at the football, and instead of saying "excuse me", they move you to the side without a word.

10-11-2019, 06:21 PM

Disagree. There's no reason to be touching strangers, unless you're pushing them out of the way of a maniac driving up on the pavement trying to take them out (etc).

10-11-2019, 09:35 PM
Disagree. There's no reason to be touching strangers, unless you're pushing them out of the way of a maniac driving up on the pavement trying to take them out (etc).

What if you keep calling their attention over and over again and they still don't move? I think tapping somebody on the shoulder to get their attention when that fails is a pretty natural reaction.

Anybody trying to brand this as some kind of sexism, or sexual assault is pathetic to be honest.

At worst, it's rude to tap somebody on the shoulder if you don't attempt to get their notice through words first. But that's all it is.

Cataplana
11-11-2019, 07:35 AM

No need, but no harm either. I doubt if this is a big problem for the majority of people - yet.

CloudSquall
11-11-2019, 08:09 AM
I think she's the type that deep down loved being tapped on the shoulder because it gave her an excuse to go balls to the walls with mock outrage on Twitter.

The other stories on the article I understand, I wouldn't be touching someone's knee or lower back, but a tap on the shoulder? Mon tae...

12-11-2019, 07:15 PM
She's had better days

https://metro.co.uk/2019/11/12/homeless-man-threw-huge-bucket-of-hot-diarrhea-all-over-womans-face-11084860/?ito=article.desktop.share.top.link

12-11-2019, 09:09 PM
She's had better days

https://metro.co.uk/2019/11/12/homeless-man-threw-huge-bucket-of-hot-diarrhea-all-over-womans-face-11084860/?ito=article.desktop.share.top.link

That’s ****

29-11-2019, 06:56 AM
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-50597405

Unbelievable.

05-12-2019, 02:49 PM
Ouch. “Degloving” that’s a new one on me.

https://www.iflscience.com/health-and-medicine/teenager-degloves-*****-and-inverts-scrotum-in-bike-crash/

On a serious note about kids getting abdominal injuries through not having rubber handle bar protectors, the exact thing happened to me as a kid. Had a bike crash, broke my arm and got stabbed by my own handlebars.

05-12-2019, 03:22 PM
Ouch. “Degloving” that’s a new one on me.

https://www.iflscience.com/health-and-medicine/teenager-degloves-*****-and-inverts-scrotum-in-bike-crash/

On a serious note about kids getting abdominal injuries through not having rubber handle bar protectors, the exact thing happened to me as a kid. Had a bike crash, broke my arm and got stabbed by my own handlebars.

-degloves-*****-and-inverts-scrotum-in-bike-crash

What's the ***** ? (Link won't work.)

Edit: oh aye, got it now.

18-12-2019, 08:24 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-50839639

19-12-2019, 07:36 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-50839639

Is that not how you would "cry for help"? :confused:

19-12-2019, 08:08 AM

Depends on what you want help with.

19-12-2019, 08:23 AM

Certainly seems like he could do with a hand! 😱

Cataplana
22-12-2019, 10:27 AM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/entertainment/celebrity/olympic-medallist-sharron-davies-compares-drag-queens-to-blackface/ar-BBYe5vX?ocid=spartanntp

Reminds me of the guy from Crass when he said they had to break up the band because the fighting was getting too much. It reached a crescendo when the vegetarians were fighting the vegans one night.

Cataplana
10-03-2020, 02:33 PM
Isn't it time the rest of the world started to question human rights in the USA. This guy was executed, even although he didn't kill anybody.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/chemically-burned-at-the-stake-inside-the-execution-of-a-man-who-killed-no-one/ar-BB10WRTT?ocid=spartanntp

10-03-2020, 03:38 PM
Isn't it time the rest of the world started to question human rights in the USA. This guy was executed, even although he didn't kill anybody.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/chemically-burned-at-the-stake-inside-the-execution-of-a-man-who-killed-no-one/ar-BB10WRTT?ocid=spartanntp

Joint Venture is appropriate. If you plan a killing you should be held culpable.

Do not agree with the death penalty though.

Cataplana
10-03-2020, 06:55 PM
Joint Venture is appropriate. If you plan a killing you should be held culpable.

Do not agree with the death penalty though.

It was the fact they executed him that stood out for me.

10-03-2020, 07:02 PM
It was the fact they executed him that stood out for me.

Ok, I don't agree with the death penalty either.

But is is so unreasonable that if you want people killed and you yourself arrange the killings that you should face an equal penalty to those who carried out the actual killings?

IMO it should be life imprisonment for all of them but if you've got the death penalty (as Alabama has) then I don't think this is all that unreasonable.

Is it a huge "human rights violation" that someone who does this faces the same justice as those who pulled the trigger?